View Full Version : Smoke Bomb

28-02-2023, 04:53 PM
Guy who threw a smoke bomb at the recent derby has been fined £520 and given and indefinite ban from ER. Was caught with the help of CCTV. You'd think this would be a deterrent for others but possibly not much. Might be more so if the club put it on social media.

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/east-lothian-dad-daughter-appear-26348293

28-02-2023, 05:01 PM
Guy who threw a smoke bomb at the recent derby has been fined £520 and given and indefinite ban from ER. Was caught with the help of CCTV. You'd think this would be a deterrent for others but possibly not much. Might be more so if the club put it on social media.

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/east-lothian-dad-daughter-appear-26348293

38 years old....wow.

28-02-2023, 05:12 PM
''Explosive Grenade'' :faf:

28-02-2023, 05:13 PM
I like the pyrotechnics unless they delay the game.

So don't chuck them on the pitch. Keep them close to you at all times.

Thanks.

wallpaperman
28-02-2023, 05:15 PM
38 years old....wow.

And his 19 year old daughter was arrested with him…..

28-02-2023, 05:28 PM
Silly ********, nearly 40 years old ffs 😂

Trinity Hibee
28-02-2023, 05:35 PM
😂 twat

28-02-2023, 05:46 PM
At the league cup final Celtic fans were letting off fireworks ( rockets) that were seen above the stadium after the 2nd goal.

28-02-2023, 06:38 PM
Take it you don't think they are dangerous?

ErinGoBraghHFC
28-02-2023, 06:56 PM
Take it you don't think they are dangerous?

Not in the same way a military grenade is, no

davemcbain
28-02-2023, 07:29 PM
At the league cup final Celtic fans were letting off fireworks ( rockets) that were seen above the stadium after the 2nd goal.

Was thinking exactly the same thing - could barely see the pitch for their 2nd with the smoke bombs. Would be interested how many charges are laid against both of those clubs - sure that wonderful CCTV that was used by the polis in 2016 will have a huge amount of footage. Or do rules not apply to the ugly sisters? :agree:

28-02-2023, 08:26 PM
Was thinking exactly the same thing - could barely see the pitch for their 2nd with the smoke bombs. Would be interested how many charges are laid against both of those clubs - sure that wonderful CCTV that was used by the polis in 2016 will have a huge amount of footage. Or do rules not apply to the ugly sisters? :agree:https://images.app.goo.gl/K6Z5VZAV8c1aKFnc9
Images of culprits released by Glasgow Polis

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

28-02-2023, 10:01 PM
Not in the same way a military grenade is, no

Described as explosive not military, but we are playing with words here, in my opinion they are dangerous.

28-02-2023, 10:31 PM
Tis the way of things in modern football ... unless you support the untouchable of course ... big fine and an indefinite ban by your club if you don't. What a shame Hibs didn't work as hard to identify and prosecute the 10 or more Rangers fans holding a pyro party in the upper deck of the south a while back ... I presume these folk dont have names and faces and Hibs don't have CCTV trained on the away fans.

This is fitba

https://youtu.be/PTtIo6mgyo8

28-02-2023, 10:41 PM
Maybe not quite the same as the grenade that was thrown on the pitch at a Brentford v Millwall game back in the 60’s..

“The dead shell of a hand-grenade was thrown onto the pitch behind the goalmouth at Griffin Park on Saturday during Brentford’s game against Millwall. Bees goalie Chic Brodie picked up the grenade from the pitch and threw it into the back of the net, where P.C. O’Connell saw it. The policeman, not knowing the grenade to be a dead one, put it in a bucket of sand”

ErinGoBraghHFC
28-02-2023, 11:12 PM
Described as explosive not military, but we are playing with words here, in my opinion they are dangerous.

Yep but “explosive grenade” usually means hand grenade, especially when smoke grenades aren’t designed to explode

PHeffernan
28-02-2023, 11:20 PM
Good.
I'm sick of the game being stopped for 5 minutes every time a half wit decides to throw a smoke bomb onto the pitch.
They are totally boring.

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-03-2023, 12:02 AM
Actually feel for the guy, madness that it’s illegal here (unless you support the OF clearly) but everywhere else in Europe it’s accepted. In the US, yes the “family friendly” sports experience capital of the world, they have bins at the front of the “terraces” to put your smoke bombs in to reduce risk. Now that’s a bit cringe imo but if even they are embracing it, surely we’re ripping the balls and wasting police resources to an extent?
No pyro no party.

01-03-2023, 01:04 AM

But Hibs are okay with them being let off at EM, why was no action taken against the ultra group who were invited to EM and were letting them off during a training session.

01-03-2023, 01:04 AM
Actually feel for the guy, madness that it’s illegal here (unless you support the OF clearly) but everywhere else in Europe it’s accepted. In the US, yes the “family friendly” sports experience capital of the world, they have bins at the front of the “terraces” to put your smoke bombs in to reduce risk. Now that’s a bit cringe imo but if even they are embracing it, surely we’re ripping the balls and wasting police resources to an extent?
No pyro no party.

It's mental eh .... never mind the sports experience capital of the world, the US has almost turned litigation into a national sport, you would think in an environment like that they wouldn't let smoke bombs or pyro within a hundred miles of their stadiums, but they don't seem to have a problem with smoke bombs at least, as you say all they do is control their use to keep them off the pitch.

As MLS grew most fans looked to Europe and especially the UK .... lets face it, England .... for a template on how to support their clubs and how to grow fan 'culture' but as time went on and especially in the last 5 years or so as they became more aware of the sanitised almost cinema like nature of most English stadiums they increasingly turned to South America for inspiration. Now there isn't a single 'soccer specific' stadium built in the US that doesn't have a safe standing area behind one goal for their ultras as an absolute requirement.

MLS ain't going away .... this weekend Charlotte FC V New England revolution had a crowd of 69,000 plus ..... Atlanta United v San Jose Earthquakes had 67,000 plus. That's better than the average of 13 NFL clubs and the league as a whole for the last few years has a better average than all but the very biggest European leagues.

The point here is that this isn't just a fad, the Yanks are taking this seriously and the only sad thing I can see about it is that these folk that so many disparage as Johnny come latelies are bringing enthusiasm colour noise and atmosphere to their games that we have simply allowed to be near enough eradicated from our stadiums.

It's why I could never understand why a club with American owners seems so reluctant to look at how things work in MLS .... they fully embrace the corporate side of things with hospitality big screens and the like, but seem absolutely blind to just how much even the owners of football teams in a country where the customer is king have been willing not only to simply accommodate, but actually actively embrace, fans who want to bring 'ultras' culture to their games.

Who would have thought the day would come where you could say, when it comes to football we have a lot to learn from America :confused:

01-03-2023, 06:12 AM
I quite like pyro.

Wish they would keep it for before the game though rather than chucking smoke bombs on the pitch after every goal.

It is another case of double standards though isn't it? Hibs and the authorities going all out to catch a guy throwing one smoke bomb yet you have a guy firing what looked like a rocket launcher throughout 90 minutes on Sunday, clearly and obviously in full view of Police and nothing was done. There's a video of him firing something right over the top of the stand at the Rangers end, about 200m away FFS.

Fuzzywuzzy
01-03-2023, 06:45 AM
Was there not someone killed years ago by a flare that fired at a Wales game years ago

01-03-2023, 08:36 AM
But Hibs are okay with them being let off at EM, why was no action taken against the ultra group who were invited to EM and were letting them off during a training session.

Maybe they recognised that there was a difference between randomly throwing them over the heads of a crowd and onto a pitch during a game and doing it outside where there was no crowd and no throwing over the heads of other people. :rolleyes:

01-03-2023, 09:33 AM

Is it not because there not illegal when outwith the stadium? Which is why police allow them on marches to ground etc

01-03-2023, 10:48 AM
Yep but “explosive grenade” usually means hand grenade, especially when smoke grenades aren’t designed to explode

Your avoiding the obvious, they are designed to burn, and burn very hotly, they can cause serious injury.

01-03-2023, 11:11 AM
Your avoiding the obvious, they are designed to burn, and burn very hotly, they can cause serious injury.

You still talking about smoke bombs, or the half time bovril?

Trinity Hibee
01-03-2023, 11:16 AM

Exactly. How anyone can honestly say these should be allowed at games is beyond me. Usually the folk who have them as well as pissed up so hardly got the best aim with these things either. It damages the pitch for one but imagine you or someone you went to the game with got hit with one of these either on back of head, in the face.

And folk still want alcohol brought back into football grounds!!

01-03-2023, 11:20 AM
Exactly. How anyone can honestly say these should be allowed at games is beyond me. Usually the folk who have them as well as pissed up so hardly got the best aim with these things either. It damages the pitch for one but imagine you or someone you went to the game with got hit with one of these either on back of head, in the face.

And folk still want alcohol brought back into football grounds!!

Bloody 'ooligans!

01-03-2023, 12:19 PM
Was there not someone killed years ago by a flare that fired at a Wales game years ago

Yes, but it wasn't a hand held one, more of a projectile like a ships flare. On that note, back in the day a couple of loonies attached to the Hibs casuals tried to fire a ship style flare from the main stand at Ibrox into the opposite stand, it only didn't happen because the flare went off in their bag as they went to fire it ..... it burned like a mother f'er in the main stand ... if they had succeeded it's very possible they could have killed at least one person ... now that is f'ing insanity.

01-03-2023, 12:34 PM
I'm glad action has been taken and hopefully it will deter others. The amount of time we score a goal and then that momentum is lost because a Hibs "supporter" wants to make it all about them and throw a smoke bomb. Absolutely brainless and horrendous for those of us who have asthma or who don't appreciate their kids being hit with them, that is me on both counts. A year ban for me would suffice with any further infraction meaning a lifetime ban from ER.

They do nothing for me in terms of the atmosphere just annoys me in terms of the safety aspect and the fact it sometimes ruins the view of teh game. Just sing a song and have a Hibees bounce. We never needed smoke bombs at AEK Athens games etc it was all about the noise.

Green-Hibee-7
01-03-2023, 12:47 PM
Whilst personally if I was in my late 30s I wouldn’t be looking to take pyrotechnics to the football, this guy having the book thrown at him whilst I’m sitting watching the bigot brothers from the West have a competition as to who can let off more smoke, firecrackers and fireworks at the weekend is a joke.

I seen a video of I guy holding a 4 foot pole firing rockets into the sky at Hampden ffs. The other year the orcs lighting the front row of the upper with flares. Never have I heard of any action, bans or arrests. One rule for two clubs and another rule for the rest.

01-03-2023, 01:19 PM
I'm glad action has been taken and hopefully it will deter others. The amount of time we score a goal and then that momentum is lost because a Hibs "supporter" wants to make it all about them and throw a smoke bomb. Absolutely brainless and horrendous for those of us who have asthma or who don't appreciate their kids being hit with them, that is me on both counts. A year ban for me would suffice with any further infraction meaning a lifetime ban from ER.

They do nothing for me in terms of the atmosphere just annoys me in terms of the safety aspect and the fact it sometimes ruins the view of teh game. Just sing a song and have a Hibees bounce. We never needed smoke bombs at AEK Athens games etc it was all about the noise.

The bottom line is that there is simply no way smoke bombs, never mind flares, will ever be tolerated in Scottish football grounds ... that obviously doesn't apply to two clubs whose fans are a law unto themselves, in the eyes of the SFA / SPFL and it appears Police Scotland.

People always cite the AEK Athens game in these arguments, but the fact is the circumstances were exceptional and the atmosphere that night has rarely if ever been matched at Easter Road since the big terrace was levelled. The truth is that most games at ER lack any kind of vibrant atmosphere unless something out of the ordinary happens like an on field flare up or a storming comeback from 0 - 2 down ... haven't seen that for a while TBF.

But if you cant create some sort of atmosphere with pyro and smoke bombs, all the more reason to create a standing section in the FF lower where the ultras have already proved they can significantly improve it with not a flare or smoke bomb to be seen.

01-03-2023, 01:28 PM
Whilst personally if I was in my late 30s I wouldn’t be looking to take pyrotechnics to the football, this guy having the book thrown at him whilst I’m sitting watching the bigot brothers from the West have a competition as to who can let off more smoke, firecrackers and fireworks at the weekend is a joke.

I seen a video of I guy holding a 4 foot pole firing rockets into the sky at Hampden ffs. The other year the orcs lighting the front row of the upper with flares. Never have I heard of any action, bans or arrests. One rule for two clubs and another rule for the rest.

https://twitter.com/lisamargaret_x/status/1630687421229662210?s=46&t=03KvtapbemQQWjh_HZzAeA

It’s 100% plain in clear sight that Rangers and Celtic supporters are held to different laws than the rest.

Sectarianism, racism, hate speech, pyrotechnics etc - all permissible and without consequence for Old Firm fans, but punishable by the strictest terms for everyone else.

A baffling state of affairs. The laws appear to be determined by what scarf you have round your neck.

01-03-2023, 04:22 PM
https://twitter.com/lisamargaret_x/status/1630687421229662210?s=46&t=03KvtapbemQQWjh_HZzAeA

It’s 100% plain in clear sight that Rangers and Celtic supporters are held to different laws than the rest.

Sectarianism, racism, hate speech, pyrotechnics etc - all permissible and without consequence for Old Firm fans, but punishable by the strictest terms for everyone else.

A baffling state of affairs. The laws appear to be determined by what scarf you have round your neck.

That is surely jail time if that idiot is caught. The tweet makes a fair point about what you are not allowed to bring into grounds and throwing any object isn't bright and stops the decent fans bringing in a bottle of juice for their kid etc.

I totally agree regarding the Uglies fans. They seem to be able to do anything and the media, authorities and Police treat them completely differently. The only way Scottish football will improve is a level playing field and each year the slop gets slightly worse

01-03-2023, 04:45 PM
That is surely jail time if that idiot is caught. The tweet makes a fair point about what you are not allowed to bring into grounds and throwing any object isn't bright and stops the decent fans bringing in a bottle of juice for their kid etc.

I totally agree regarding the Uglies fans. They seem to be able to do anything and the media, authorities and Police treat them completely differently. The only way Scottish football will improve is a level playing field and each year the slop gets slightly worse

Should be jail time for the police standing watching the boy firing it without bothering to intervene!

Pyros don’t particularly bother me personally but how the **** do you get something like that in to a game?! I got a Fruit Shoot taken out the bairns bag going in to ER a few months back!

01-03-2023, 04:59 PM

Will no doubt be an organised pyro display in the away end at Easter Road next week, as there was last time we played them under the lights. No attempt will be made to prevent it, to apprehend anyone, or to prevent the overcrowding that always occurs when they come to town. Hibs won't even make a comment on it. Yet someone who throws a smoke canister is prosecuted and banned by the club - laughable.

01-03-2023, 05:40 PM

They're banned from football stadiums. Not sure they are from training grounds.

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-03-2023, 05:44 PM
Will no doubt be an organised pyro display in the away end at Easter Road next week, as there was last time we played them under the lights. No attempt will be made to prevent it, to apprehend anyone, or to prevent the overcrowding that always occurs when they come to town. Hibs won't even make a comment on it. Yet someone who throws a smoke canister is prosecuted and banned by the club - laughable.

I’ve made my point re pyro, however the bit about ur statement that rings especially true and bothers me is the overcrowding. Hibs should be calling this out because god forbid something awful DOES happen, it’d be hibs getting hauled into court to explain why there was overcrowding in the Dunbar end and how this was allowed to happen. Gross negligence imo

Hibiza
01-03-2023, 05:53 PM
You still talking about smoke bombs, or the half time bovril?
😂😂😂

01-03-2023, 06:11 PM
They're banned from football stadiums*. Not sure they are from training grounds.

*subject to which clubs fans are igniting them.

01-03-2023, 07:26 PM

Sounds like a fire risk to me so we need to switch the sprinklers on in the South to keep everyone safe.

01-03-2023, 07:34 PM
They're banned from football stadiums. Not sure they are from training grounds.

If you want to do smoke bombs in a public area you need to get the correct permission to use them.

Possession of a smoke bomb or flare is itself a crime if you even enter attempt to enter a stadium and that can include possession en route to a game.

If a game of football is being played at the training ground then it might be illegal if you are a football fan.

02-03-2023, 04:00 AM

Agreed - I do wonder if we’d be seeing some of the more lenient view in the era around Bradford fire…

02-03-2023, 04:30 AM
No time for them in football. You must have something wrong with you if you think it’s ok to chuck one onto the pitch.

They add nothing and don’t even look good, so before the match is unacceptable too.