View Full Version : Ban The Rangers From The Next Home Game?

26-02-2023, 04:04 PM
I'm absolutely sick and tired of what the **** that follow The Rangers are continually allowed to get away with against our club, and our supporters... to complete silence from our Club.

This time they've surely crossed a line and the club need to show the level of displeasure, and the lack of trust in them to actually show some respect at our next home game, by banning them completely.

p.s. I said this in another thread but want to repeat it here...

If the club want to start a fund to raise money to make up for any unsold tickets, I pledge to donate £500

26-02-2023, 04:07 PM
Ban them from all home games at ER. I'll gladly pay my part to make up the difference.

26-02-2023, 04:08 PM
Can't vote on my phone but I am 100% for a ban. Happy to donate cash to help as well

BegbieHSC
26-02-2023, 04:11 PM
Yes. Get them to **** (can’t vote on my phone.)

26-02-2023, 04:12 PM
Said on another thread that we should announce there's going to be a minutes silence and that if there is any repeat of them disrespecting it then their future allocation will be cut significantly.

26-02-2023, 04:13 PM
Can't vote on my phone but I am 100% for a ban. Happy to donate cash to help as well
Click default style at bottom of page

Won’t happen so a bit of a pointless poll.

but for the record, yes I’d be in favour

HarpOnHibee
Said on another thread that we should announce there's going to be a minutes silence and that if there is any repeat of them disrespecting it then their future allocation will be cut significantly.

We shouldn't even be giving them the chance here.

26-02-2023, 04:15 PM
Click default style at bottom of page

Now voted. Every day is a school day. Glad to see that we are at 100% agreement so far to stop them coming to ER

26-02-2023, 04:16 PM
4 season tickets in our household and would happily ban them and sell the tickets to Hibs fans for £1

Scotty Leither
Wonder if our illustrious media will call them out over this?

Won’t happen so a bit of a pointless poll.

but for the record, yes I’d be in favour

I get what you;re saying but I honestly don't think it's pointless.

We, as supporters, have to make it clear in every possible way how strongly we feel.

26-02-2023, 04:17 PM
Now voted. Every day is a school day. Glad to see that we are at 100% agreement so far to stop them coming to ER

26-02-2023, 04:17 PM
Get them to ****.

Some things are more important than money. Should have been done years ago.

26-02-2023, 04:19 PM
I get what you;re saying but I honestly don't think it's pointless.

We, as supporters, have to make it clear in every possible way how strongly we feel.

Time to make a stand.

26-02-2023, 04:20 PM
Come on Hibs .. Lets make a stand here

Svengali
26-02-2023, 04:23 PM
I wish the club came out and said we’re doing a minute silence at next home game which we expect to be disrupted by the visiting fans who will no doubt sing their sectarian bile and the Scottish media to say nothing.

SFA should fine them, ban them and give the clubs the money for lost revenue

big gogs
26-02-2023, 04:26 PM
Get them to ****.

Some things are more important than money. Should have been done years ago.
How many on here sang songs about mercer and the queen.why are we surprised,did anyone expect any respect from them.we can’t ban them from Easter road,to much money involved.they will never change ,and there is nothing anyone will do to change it.

HarpOnHibee
26-02-2023, 04:27 PM
I wish the club came out and said we’re doing a minute silence at next home game which we expect to be disrupted by the visiting fans who will no doubt sing their sectarian bile and the Scottish media to say nothing.

SFA should fine them, ban them and give the clubs the money for lost revenue

More chance of them fining us for banning them.

26-02-2023, 04:42 PM
How many on here sang songs about mercer and the queen.why are we surprised,did anyone expect any respect from them.we can’t ban them from Easter road,to much money involved.they will never change ,and there is nothing anyone will do to change it.

why do people (mainly hearts fans and rangers fans) continuously bring up Mercer in relation to this?

it’s not exactly a like for like situation is it?

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-02-2023, 04:45 PM
why do people (mainly hearts fans and rangers fans) continuously bring up Mercer in relation to this?

**** all like the queen situation either, no need for a minutes silence for a monarch at a football match in the 21st century. Least Ron Gordon had something to do with Scottish football

26-02-2023, 04:45 PM

Speaking as someone who didn't respect Mercer's applause it is pretty much the same thing really.
I was a dick for doing what I did then and they are dicks now.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-02-2023, 04:46 PM
Speaking as someone who didn't respect Mercer's applause it is pretty much the same thing really.

Must’ve missed the part where RG launched a hostile takeover bid for Rangers mkII, not the same situation let’s be realistic

26-02-2023, 04:47 PM
Mercer tried to kill us to benefit our rivals.
Gordon didn't do anything of the sort towards rangers or hearts. Infact worked with them both for the benefit of Scottish football.

Not the same thing at all. The illness may be but one was a disgusting human being the other was a good human being.

26-02-2023, 04:49 PM
Must’ve missed the part where RG launched a hostile takeover bid for Rangers mkII, not the same situation let’s be realistic

Not exactly but still concerns a dad, husband son etc.

I know the Rangers fans are erses so am not remotely surprised at their antics.

26-02-2023, 04:51 PM

not the same thing at all

26-02-2023, 04:52 PM
not the same thing at all

Yeah so several other people have said already.

26-02-2023, 04:56 PM
Still disgusting to sing about a dead person in my opinion. Hated the guy at the time and still hate what he tried to do but most folk who sing about mercer weren’t probably born at the time

Svengali
26-02-2023, 04:57 PM
When Hearts held a minutes silence for Mercer at a derby in 2006, If memory serves me correctly, we didnt boo or sing through it. We were well behaved.

Some (like me) turned their back to the pitch but remained quiet. For
Me that’s fair enough for a guy who tried to end Hibs.

Never a like for like with Gordon

26-02-2023, 05:00 PM
When Hearts held a minutes silence for Mercer at a derby in 2006, If memory serves me correctly, we didnt boo or sing through it. We were well behaved.

It was a minutes applause and there was a mixture of responses in our end of which the turning backs was one.

26-02-2023, 05:07 PM

I turned my back and held up an old Hands Off Hibs T shirt. Others stood silent and others sang Hibs songs throughout or booed. Iirc the Hibs players didn't join in the applause and instead stood with their arms around each other.

It was an emotive situation and people reacted as they felt. There was a direct attack on us from Mercer that didn't exist with RG and Rangers and that shouldn't be totally forgotten.

In saying all that if this is the moment the Mercer song is retired for good then it can only be a good thing. It's had it's day and needs put to bed.

26-02-2023, 05:07 PM
There will be The Rangers fans at ER and I think we will likely go for an applause rather than silence.

26-02-2023, 05:08 PM
I turned my back and held up an old Hands Off Hibs T shirt. Others stood silent and others sang Hibs songs throughout or booed. Iirc the Hibs players didn't join in the applause and instead stood with their arms around each other.

It was an emotive situation and people reacted as they felt. There was a direct attack on us from Mercer that didn't exist with RG and Rangers and that shouldn't be totally forgotten.

In saying all that if this is the moment the Mercer song is retired for good then it can only be a good thing. It's had it's day and needs put to bed.

Spot on 👍

26-02-2023, 05:29 PM
I haven’t bought a season ticket yet, but I can 100% guarantee I will if this happens. Hun *****.

RMQ1967
26-02-2023, 05:30 PM
I'm absolutely sick and tired of what the **** that follow The Rangers are continually allowed to get away with against our club, and our supporters... to complete silence from our Club.

This time they've surely crossed a line and the club need to show the level of displeasure, and the lack of trust in them to actually show some respect at our next home game, by banning them completely.

If the club want to start a fund to raise money to make up for any unsold tickets, I pledge to donate £500

They're **** but take their money and hope we shut them up with a win - the best possible response to it.

26-02-2023, 05:32 PM
I can't go £500 but i'd buy a couple of their tickets.

26-02-2023, 05:38 PM
Whack their tickets up to £50 a pop. If they go a couple of games with no sectarian chanting then it can be reduced back down to standard.

Hard lines on those who don’t partake in such bile? Ultimately it’s the overwhelming vast majority so very few could claim to be hard done by.

26-02-2023, 05:38 PM
Missed the game, what happened?

BegbieHSC
26-02-2023, 05:40 PM
Here’s the video of the ****.

40 seconds into the video. It’s actually quite upsetting how loud they were. Absolutely disgrace

https://twitter.com/jasonmcateer7/status/1629876358359678979?s=46&t=7x4aN4EaX2CAtIZhFmnqxA

The Baldmans Comb
26-02-2023, 05:42 PM
Hibs will do nought, zilcho, sweet fck all and a big fat zero as that's what they always do when asked by supporters to face down either of the evil twins.

26-02-2023, 05:45 PM
Did it even get the whole minute or was it cut short?

26-02-2023, 05:46 PM

40 seconds into the video. It’s actually quite upsetting how loud they were. Absolutely disgrace

https://twitter.com/jasonmcateer7/status/1629876358359678979?s=46&t=7x4aN4EaX2CAtIZhFmnqxA

hideous.

thankfully that was as good as their Sunday got.

BegbieHSC
26-02-2023, 05:46 PM

It wasn’t cut short. See the video above. Billy boys is at its loudest when the camera zooms in on Ron’s face.

26-02-2023, 05:49 PM

We got a 40 second silence. The ref blew the whistle early to cut short the embarrassment if you watch it again.

26-02-2023, 05:51 PM
It wasn’t cut short. See the video above. Billy boys is at its loudest when the camera zooms in on Ron’s face.

…Which is about 30 seconds after the players started applauding. The ref pew the whistle shortly after so it definitely WAS cut short.

26-02-2023, 05:51 PM
We got a 40 second silence. The ref blew the whistle early to cut short the embarrassment if you watch it again.

It wasn't a silence though. It was an applause. I couldn't get the clip to show me elapsed time when the ref whistled but it seemed less than a minute given the duration of the clip (1'14?).

Edit - sorry, I'm sure silence was not what you meant.

26-02-2023, 05:53 PM
It wasn't a silence though. It was an applause. I couldn't get the clip to show me elapsed time when the ref whistled but it seemed less than a minute given the duration of the clip (1'14?).

Yes of course, stupid of me to say a silence it it WAS 40 seconds applause not 1 minute, I’ve timed it.

26-02-2023, 05:53 PM

Cheers. Awful club, ****** them

26-02-2023, 05:54 PM
Yes of course, stupid of me to say a silence it it WAS 40 seconds applause not 1 minute, I’ve timed it.

Chief, I tried to edit my post to add that I knew full well you didn't mean silence and apologise for that, but I got kicked out. Honest!

26-02-2023, 06:02 PM
Utter ****bags.

26-02-2023, 06:08 PM
Beale was lauded a few weeks back by a sycophantic Scottish media after his direction to his players to allow Partick to score an uncontested goal.

He was “upholding the standards of the club and what they stand for” by doing so. By that token, we should be hearing a strongly worded statement from him very soon condemning his supporters behaviour and offering a sincere apology.

Mind you, when said clubs “standards” are over a centuary of hate-filled sectarianism, bile and bigotry, then he may feel there is nothing to apologise for.

Forget all that, everyone back to as you were.

26-02-2023, 06:18 PM
Ban them, I’d rather have an empty South stand than listen to their bile.

Win on Saturday and we could fill ER full of Hibees for the 8th.

26-02-2023, 06:20 PM
I don’t quite understand it. If you behaved like that in normal day to day life, you’d lose your job, more than likely get very strong words if not more, and worse if you were to use a public funeral, moment of reflection, or similar to cause upset.

That it’s apparently gone unchallenged but even happened at all just isn’t something a functioning human does.

Absolutely baffles me.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-02-2023, 06:21 PM
Ban them, I’d rather have an empty South stand than listen to their bile.

Win on Saturday and we could fill ER full of Hibees for the 8th.

I’d give them 900 tickets like we get at their ****hole and hire 900 stewards for their section, or request riot polis for them. Ring of steel style escort for their fans from the second they get off their buses or trains, truncheon use encouraged.

Torto7
26-02-2023, 06:27 PM
Its the ****my nature of football where cowards get to act all hard and bloodthirsty from the comfort of their seats knowing they would run away if confronted with any real trouble. Cocaine is the ******s drug and it seems like all these little tits are on it.

Ron Gordon was a classy gentleman something a large amount of the idiots in Scottish society don't have the wits or discipline to ever come close to being. No one has a problem the size of the imperial poodles at Ibrox however. A bunch of backward rednecks who are so anti social they are now devoid of shame. They can't self police themselves as the majority of them are utter **** and resemble the worst in cult like thinking. Not that the media will ever go after them as its suits them to be like that and has been since the first lapdog was whipped into shape by their imperial masters in the days of yore.

Ban them like we should have done many moons ago. If it means we miss out on a player or two then so be it.

26-02-2023, 06:28 PM
I’d give them 900 tickets like we get at their ****hole and hire 900 stewards for their section, or request riot polis for them. Ring of steel style escort for their fans from the second they get off their buses or trains, truncheon use encouraged.

They should be allocated 360 tickets if they are to be allowed. It would be the same percentage of tickets we are entitled too at their dump (1.8%)

Don't want them here or their dole money.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-02-2023, 06:33 PM
Its the ****my nature of football where cowards get to act all hard and bloodthirsty from the comfort of their seats knowing they would run away if confronted with any real trouble. Cocaine is the ******s drug and it seems like all these little tits are on it.

Ron Gordon was a classy gentleman something a large amount of the idiots in Scottish society don't have the wits or discipline to ever come close to being. No one has a problem the size of the imperial poodles at Ibrox however. A bunch of backward rednecks who are so anti social they are now devoid of shame. They can't self police themselves as the majority of them are utter **** and resemble the worst in cult like thinking. Not that the media will ever go after them as its suits them to be like that and has been since the first lapdog was whipped into shape by their imperial masters in the days of yore.

Ban them like we should have done many moons ago. If it means we miss out on a player or two then so be it.

Cocaine is a hell of a drug, it’s the most confident you’ll ever feel, to the point you’d swear you could battle 10 men and come out without a scratch. Which is fine if you’re no a pure fanny that’ll be emboldened to do **** like this, or throw bottles, or run on the park to assault players. I’m all for “everything in moderation” etc if that’s what you want to do, but imagine it was (even) more readily available than it is now, every Friday and Saturday would be absolute chaos up and down the country cos ********s wouldn’t ken when to hud their water, or just no do something. It’s a shame but there’s no way we could follow the lead of the likes of Portugal and decriminalise all drugs and assist addicts rather than lock them up, just too many bams that’d cause other kinds of bother unfortunately.

MKHIBEE
26-02-2023, 06:33 PM
Unfortunately their antics do not come as a surprise. Lowest of the low. I would happily pay for a south stand ticket when their supposed to slither to ER, anything to keep them out.

26-02-2023, 06:34 PM
The self policing point above is an interesting one.

How did Hibs fans manage to self police the rebel songs out of ER? You'll still hear the odd one in a pub or on a bus but if it happened at a game it would be shouted down quick sharp. Hearts fans self policed the 'Hibees are gay' stuff out of Tynecastle and they could claim with something resembling a straight face that sectarianism is a minority issue there too.

I keep hearing about this majority of decent Rangers fans. If they exist why don't they do something about this *****? It seems the majority of them being decent is a myth or that so called decent majority would rather sit on their hands and give tacit approval to ****bags singing the Billy Boys because it's easier than being brave and saying 'this isn't on anymore'.

26-02-2023, 06:39 PM
The self policing point above is an interesting one.

How did Hibs fans manage to self police the rebel songs out of ER? You'll still hear the odd one in a pub or on a bus but if it happened at a game it would be shouted down quick sharp. Hearts fans self policed the 'Hibees are gay' stuff out of Tynecastle and they could claim with something resembling a straight face that sectarianism is a minority issue there too.

I keep hearing about this majority of decent Rangers fans. If they exist why don't they do something about this *****? It seems the majority of them being decent is a myth or that so called decent majority would rather sit on their hands and give tacit approval to ****bags singing the Billy Boys because it's easier than being brave and saying 'this isn't on anymore'.

My opinion is, the rebel chants at hibs were never installed at a young age. It's something you picked (pick up) on as a teen going to the games with your mates to act cool

Probably the same with the Gorgie mob and hibees are gay "chant"

The alarming thing is this, love the queen/king, fly union Jack's, rule brittania, ulster pish is a way of life for them. Their tops, their mugs, their lack of toilet roll possibly. So they grow into it and use it as an identity, I've never understood when today for example they score to make it 2-1 their fans automatically sing derry's walls to encourage players. How on gods earth would that even be the slightest bit of encouragement.

Enough is enough. Ban them. We don't want or need them and Ron wanted Easter Road to be a top family experience. I wouldn't take my daughters (when old enough) to see either rangers or celtic at Easter Road.

Torto7
26-02-2023, 06:53 PM
Cocaine is a hell of a drug, it’s the most confident you’ll ever feel, to the point you’d swear you could battle 10 men and come out without a scratch. Which is fine if you’re no a pure fanny that’ll be emboldened to do **** like this, or throw bottles, or run on the park to assault players. I’m all for “everything in moderation” etc if that’s what you want to do, but imagine it was (even) more readily available than it is now, every Friday and Saturday would be absolute chaos up and down the country cos ********s wouldn’t ken when to hud their water, or just no do something. It’s a shame but there’s no way we could follow the lead of the likes of Portugal and decriminalise all drugs and assist addicts rather than lock them up, just too many bams that’d cause other kinds of bother unfortunately.

I don't know what the answer is but I know I don't like people when they are on coke and its easy to tell when they are. Like you say some wee tit coked out of his nut and drinking buckfast is going to end up thinking he's Mel Gibson at the battle of Falkirk come derby days.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-02-2023, 06:55 PM
I don't know what the answer is but I know I don't like people when they are on coke and its easy to tell when they are. Like you say some wee tit coked out of his nut and drinking buckfast is going to end up thinking he's Mel Gibson at the battle of Falkirk come derby days.

Free cocaine and buckfast for everyone in the standing section!

Torto7
26-02-2023, 06:57 PM
Free cocaine and buckfast for everyone in the standing section!

Make our dafties dafter than their dafties. Maybe you're on to something there.

26-02-2023, 06:59 PM

Ultimately, because the majority fall into the territory of embracing sectarianism.

Sure some would be classed as 90 minute bigots, and some may even just save theirs for Celtic games.

The “living every minute of their lives as sectarian bigots” are very much the minority, but the culture of the club is such that most will fall in line with what is the identity of the club when in attendance. Some can leave it behind till the next game, but can guarantee that every single Rangers supporter out there is never going to be far away from saying something regrettable. The mask will always slip at some point.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-02-2023, 07:00 PM
Make our dafties dafter than their dafties. Maybe you're on to something there.

I’ll take the buckfast but leave the coke if it’s all the same, grown up a wee bit (no enough to pass on the hoose broon though!)

26-02-2023, 07:09 PM
We should make sure there are plenty of police/stewards at the turnstiles to stop them sneaking 2 through at a time, which is what we should be doing anyway but obviously don't.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-02-2023, 07:10 PM
We should make sure there are plenty of police/stewards at the turnstiles to stop them sneaking 2 through at a time, which is what we should be doing anyway but obviously don't.

Them and Celtic do it everywhere, including Hampden and their own stadiums. Madness how they get away with it.

26-02-2023, 07:16 PM
Them and Celtic do it everywhere, including Hampden and their own stadiums. Madness how they get away with it.

Was in the very top tier at last season's League Cup Final, the section right next to the Celtic fans and one of them asked if he could get through the turnstile with my son.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-02-2023, 07:18 PM
Was in the very top tier at last season's League Cup Final, the section right next to the Celtic fans and one of them asked if he could get through the turnstile with my son.

I was in the same section and one asked if he could get through with me (I’m no a big guy), got told to bounce obviously but the cheek of them is unbelievable

26-02-2023, 07:24 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZvjUXgwJP4&ab_channel=AntifaHibs

26-02-2023, 07:26 PM
I was in the same section and one asked if he could get through with me (I’m no a big guy), got told to bounce obviously but the cheek of them is unbelievable

Yeah, I said the same. Could have been the same guy (though was probably a lot of them trying it on). He was a bit pissed and with all the green he probably though we were Celtic fans.

26-02-2023, 07:32 PM
This would cost the club circa £100k. It would be some statement if the club did this.
A donation of £5.00 from all season ticket holders and other supporters would offset the cost.
#cancelthetickets

26-02-2023, 07:34 PM

Correct me if Im wrong .. But the commentary didnt even mention it as it happened did they? And subsequently nobody on the tv coverage during or after?

Thats a big part of the answer right there as to why they get away with it.. If the boot was on the other foot and we did exactly the same thing at the same occasion with say walter smiths passing, itd be all over the media and Rangers would have spoken out about their disgust etc and media all over us , problem here is everyone panders to them , instead of actually doing the decent thing and speaking out

26-02-2023, 07:43 PM
Whether it is a silence or an applause, we need to ignore what they do. We will pay our tribute. If they don't behave, ignore them. Don't boo them during the tribute. This is for Ron.

26-02-2023, 07:46 PM
Whether it is a silence or an applause, we need to ignore what they do. We will pay our tribute. If they don't behave, ignore them. Don't boo them during the tribute. This is for Ron.

Thats the exact stance and thinking that allows them to do whatever the hell they want.

26-02-2023, 07:49 PM
Thats the exact stance and thinking that allows them to do whatever the hell they want.

Not a bit. Us booinng them during the tribute - if they disrupt it - isn't us paying our tribute to Ron, is it? Like it would shut them up anyway.

26-02-2023, 07:52 PM
Not a bit. Us booinng them during the tribute - if they disrupt it - isn't us paying our tribute to Ron, is it? Like it would shut them up anyway.

Fair doos , but someone has to speak out at some point surely.. as someone posted on another thread, its almost a moral question you ask yourself when taking your wee kids to watch a game against them. They are absolute ****

Roxyhibee
26-02-2023, 07:53 PM
Total ban of the **** from our ground and our tribute night to Ron. I’ll happily donate extra ticket money.

BegbieHSC
26-02-2023, 07:58 PM
As much as I want us to, I doubt we’ll manage to ban them, since the tickets are already sold.

I have always thought instead of a minutes applause, it should be Sunshine on Leith belted out by everyone across the three home stands, with his picture on the big screens. That would drown out any of their bile.

26-02-2023, 07:59 PM
i hope we have a minutes silence, let everyone watching on TV see the s*um that they are, plaster it over social media as well

and hibs fans present not showing any anger :agree:

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-02-2023, 08:12 PM
Correct me if Im wrong .. But the commentary didnt even mention it as it happened did they? And subsequently nobody on the tv coverage during or after?

Thats a big part of the answer right there as to why they get away with it.. If the boot was on the other foot and we did exactly the same thing at the same occasion with say walter smiths passing, itd be all over the media and Rangers would have spoken out about their disgust etc and media all over us , problem here is everyone panders to them , instead of actually doing the decent thing and speaking out

100%… but we’re talking about going through turnstiles two at a time (getting in without a ticket) [emoji16]

CB Hibs 68
26-02-2023, 08:34 PM
As much as I want us to, I doubt we’ll manage to ban them, since the tickets are already sold.

I have always thought instead of a minutes applause, it should be Sunshine on Leith belted out by everyone across the three home stands, with his picture on the big screens. That would drown out any of their bile. I would love it if Hibs fans sang SOL before the Rangers game.I can just see sadly that being sabotaged by 3500 Rangers fans though .They are simply incapable of being respectful and would attempt to drown it out.There is only one club in this world who will deliberately undermine a teams supporters tribute to there recently deceased owner and that team is Rangers

26-02-2023, 08:39 PM
The custodians of our club are just as complicit as the media/SFA etc.

It should be called out by Hibs. Loudly. Every single time it happens. And each time we do call it out we should be asking why our media, SFA and Government navel gaze whilst sitting on their hands.

1875Sean
26-02-2023, 08:46 PM
Pretty sure we couldn’t ban all of them even if we wanted,
The league states an away team are entitled to allocation unless the league had a set and took action themselves which won’t happen

McSwanky
26-02-2023, 08:47 PM
I was surprised to hear that they were doing a tribute to Ron at this game. I think these sorts of things are overdone these days. Easter Road is the place for a tribute, I don't think we need any tributes from Rangers or Celtic. Maybe an unpopular view.

That said, the behaviour of these ****s was absolutely reprehensible. Completely expected though.

Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

26-02-2023, 08:53 PM
I was surprised to hear that they were doing a tribute to Ron at this game. I think these sorts of things are overdone these days. Easter Road is the place for a tribute, I don't think we need any tributes from Rangers or Celtic. Maybe an unpopular view.

That said, the behaviour of these ****s was absolutely reprehensible. Completely expected though.

Ron was very well thought of by the SPFL. It was their final.

26-02-2023, 08:58 PM
I would love it if Hibs fans sang SOL before the Rangers game.I can just see sadly that being sabotaged by 3500 Rangers fans though .They are simply incapable of being respectful and would attempt to drown it out.There is only one club in this world who will deliberately undermine a teams supporters tribute to there recently deceased owner and that team is Rangers

I agree with this completely. Sadly, I also think when they started to sabotage it a number of Hibs fans would then start booing them further adding to the issue.

26-02-2023, 08:59 PM

I'll happily pledge £28 right now to keep them out ... heard what happened about half an hour ago ... **** of the f'ing earth !!!

26-02-2023, 09:12 PM

Totally and utterly bang on mate.

26-02-2023, 09:12 PM
Ban them. No decent human being should have to listen to the filth they spew from their mouths nevermind pay 30 odd quid for the privilege. In what other walk of life would they get away with it? I wish Hibs and others would grow a back bone and ban the lot of them. It's 2023 for goodness sake.

26-02-2023, 09:20 PM

Me as well mate. But the fact is they did and it not being respected was utterly shameful .... I cannot envisage any circumstances in which I would not respect a minutes silence or applause for someone involved with another club, no matter who that club was. Folk have mentioned Mercer, but that was different, what he did went beyond football rivalry, he tried to finish Hibs as a club and that was unforgivable.

26-02-2023, 09:26 PM
Pretty sure we couldn’t ban all of them even if we wanted,
The league states an away team are entitled to allocation unless the league had a set and took action themselves which won’t happen

I'd ban them anyway and publicly state the reason why.

It would be a PR nightmare for the SPFL if they took any action against us.

26-02-2023, 09:42 PM
Just home from work and have read through this thread.

**** the huns, horrible club and fans.

Glad they lost.

26-02-2023, 09:43 PM
They should be banned, unquestionably.

26-02-2023, 09:43 PM
I'd ban them anyway and publicly state the reason why.

It would be a PR nightmare for the SPFL if they took any action against us.

Correct

26-02-2023, 10:05 PM
From a fan wrote rangers page.

We can always expect Celtic to let people down, but our fans in attendance should know better and do better too because it wasn’t acceptable or nice to hear.

Hopefully it won’t happen again in the future when other instances such as these occur, and we can learn from this mistake and improve on it.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-02-2023, 10:06 PM

We can always expect Celtic to let people down, but our fans in attendance should know better and do better too because it wasn’t acceptable or nice to hear.

Hopefully it won’t happen again in the future when other instances such as these occur, and we can learn from this mistake and improve on it.

Imagine grown adults having to learn not to sing bigoted songs, full stop, never mind during a minutes applause. The mind boggles.

26-02-2023, 10:17 PM

Aye, well by this point one sane voice in a decades long absolute avalanche of bile and moronic behaviour doesn't count for anything ... the so called 'mistakes' fans of that club have had to learn from are legion and if they haven't learned well before now it's beyond delusional to think they will after today ... they shouldn't be let anywhere near ER on the 8th of March .... time to make a stand !!!

What are we going to do if on the 8th of March the minutes applause / silence for Ron Gordon is once again disrupted by these absolute morons ... a statement expressing disappointment that a minority of Rangers fans disrespected it in the usual half hearted mealy mouthed manner?

Well screw that ... bad enough we've put up with decades of sectarian pish. Bad enough they crash the turnstiles to get more in with nothing being done. Bad enough they are allowed to get away with pyro displays our ultras would be chucked out of the stadium for if they even thought of attempting it .... They are no longer worth the money, some things are more important.

26-02-2023, 10:37 PM
Pretty pointless poll as the tickets for their next visit have already been sold.

The Rangers fans’ behaviour at Hampden was both disgraceful and predictable.

I expect their behaviour at Easter Road to be similar.

It’s just a shame for Ron’s family that the fixture list is what it is.

26-02-2023, 10:45 PM
Pretty pointless poll as the tickets for their next visit have already been sold.

The Rangers fans’ behaviour at Hampden was both disgraceful and predictable.

I expect their behaviour at Easter Road to be similar.

It’s just a shame for Ron’s family that the fixture list is what it is.

In this context you are correct, it's too late now. But perhaps that's no bad thing. The 8th of March should be a watershed for our dealings with that club, we should make it a minutes silence and if it is disrupted in any way that should be the final straw ... we got by just fine without a single one of them setting foot in Easter Road for two seasons not too long ago and we can do so again for just as long after the 8th of March if it comes to it ........ I mean, exactly when is enough enough FFS? Exactly when is the money they bring not enough to pay for the grief that goes with it !!!

27-02-2023, 12:42 AM
i hope we have a minutes silence, let everyone watching on TV see the s*um that they are, plaster it over social media as well

and hibs fans present not showing any anger :agree:

Exactly if we’re silent, all you will hear is their sectarian nonsense, and then ask and push the SPFL to commentate on it…

27-02-2023, 01:07 AM
Ban them from all home games at ER. I'll gladly pay my part to make up the difference.

Donegal Hibby
27-02-2023, 01:17 AM
Do you mean just Huns or Celtic too ?

27-02-2023, 01:37 AM
In this context you are correct, it's too late now. But perhaps that's no bad thing. The 8th of March should be a watershed for our dealings with that club, we should make it a minutes silence and if it is disrupted in any way that should be the final straw ... we got by just fine without a single one of them setting foot in Easter Road for two seasons not too long ago and we can do so again for just as long after the 8th of March if it comes to it ........ I mean, exactly when is enough enough FFS? Exactly when is the money they bring not enough to pay for the grief that goes with it !!!

Agree with the sentiment but wonder what the League rules are on excluding fans of other clubs.

Should be able to limit them though.

If Ian Gordon DOES take over the reins, I can’t see him NOT being totally pissed off with them disrupting his Dad’s tribute, if, as expected, they do at Easter Road.

Guess Rangers are like unruly pub customers…yes, they bring in money but there comes a time when their behaviour can no longer be tolerated and they are barred.

SFA will be silent on it, so we would have to act independently.

27-02-2023, 04:28 AM
An early squint at the main media outlets, and…apart from a The Sun piece which makes the story all about the ‘ex Hibs stars outburst’not at the fans behavior itself…

It looks like it didn’t really happen. Move along now. News suppression only happens in other countries after all.

27-02-2023, 05:29 AM
An early squint at the main media outlets, and…apart from a The Sun piece which makes the story all about the ‘ex Hibs stars outburst’not at the fans behavior itself…

It looks like it didn’t really happen. Move along now. News suppression only happens in other countries after all.

Ewan Murray mentions it in the Guardian. Not that many will read that.

27-02-2023, 06:38 AM

exactly it’s collusion and a reluctance to call out unacceptable behaviour Rangers are quick to put out statements as we know when they feel aggrieved
If they don’t put one out condemning g their fans for that behaviour it tells its own story

Will the SFA make a statement as it was one of their showcase occasions

i don’t know what the answer is but Silence and Collusion are not part of the Solution that's fir sure

27-02-2023, 06:43 AM
exactly it’s collusion and a reluctance to call out unacceptable behaviour Rangers are quick to put out statements as we know when they feel aggrieved
If they don’t put one out condemning g their fans for that behaviour it tells its own story

Will the SFA make a statement as it was one of their showcase occasions

i don’t know what the answer is but Silence and Collusion are not part of the Solution that's fir sure

It was the League Cup, its an SPFL occasion. The reason for the appreciation was that Ron Gordon was held in high regard by Doncaster and the SPFL.

On the general point of next Wednesday, we have already sold the tickets so cant "ban them" without getting into serious legal bother ourselves.

What might be helpful is for Hibs exec to release a statement on this, but we have form for saying little in public in these situations - and I genuinely dont see us releasing any statement ahead of Rons funeral, to do otherwise would be a bit disrespectful.

Hibs4185
27-02-2023, 07:02 AM
Not sure who has inherited Hibs in RG’s family but I’d be pretty annoyed if my father’s tribute was disrupted by some Neanderthals.

A ban or bare minimum of rangers fans might gain some traction after this game if they do interupt whatever is planned again.

I’d happily pay more to ban them this game but I just can’t see it happening unfortunately

27-02-2023, 07:25 AM
Huns moronic behaviour is endemic and totally predictable. Whoever thought a minutes silence / applause for anyone not connected to the Huns on a Sat afternoon cup final would work needs to be in another job. These moments of respect are turned into a circus by these morons and just gets everyone (other than the Huns (and their media appeasers) raging.

Until the club or SFA/SPFL are prepared to sanction fans, we should simply forget trying to mark these events when the Bigot Brothers are involved.

27-02-2023, 07:52 AM
Having to have a minutes applause because Rangers fans cant be trusted to observe a minutes silence is embarrassing enough. A decision was made to do that yesterday because they KNEW it would happen yet nothing is said or done about it. Not by them, not by the media, not by the club. I hope that Hibs insist on a minutes silence and if it is broken by them in the slightest i hope we condemn it publicly.

27-02-2023, 07:57 AM
If ever there was a time for Hibs to actually come out all guns blazing and stand up for ourselves then that time is now. Some things are quite simply more important than taking their dirty money. I’ll be beyond disappointed in the club if nothing is said and we just accept this pish. They’re bullies and it’s about time the whole of Scottish football collectively stood up to them but there are too many diddy no mark teams like St Johnstone and Livi happy to give them three stands for the sake of money, further fuelling their self entitlement and the we can do whatever we want attitude.

We can’t ban them I don’t think but why no cut their allocation to the bare minimum and stick them in a wee tiny corner and ask the polis to turn a blind eye to cups of juice and coins getting lobbed into their wee section and see how they like it.

I honestly despise the *****

27-02-2023, 08:20 AM
If ever there was a time for Hibs to actually come out all guns blazing and stand up for ourselves then that time is now. Some things are quite simply more important than taking their dirty money. I’ll be beyond disappointed in the club if nothing is said and we just accept this pish. They’re bullies and it’s about time the whole of Scottish football collectively stood up to them but there are too many diddy no mark teams like St Johnstone and Livi happy to give them three stands for the sake of money, further fuelling their self entitlement and the we can do whatever we want attitude.

We can’t ban them I don’t think but why no cut their allocation to the bare minimum and stick them in a wee tiny corner and ask the polis to turn a blind eye to cups of juice and coins getting lobbed into their wee section and see how they like it.

I’ve not seen anything official from Sevco condemning their fans….. no wait, silly me! Shoe on the other foot and their would be outcry from them!

27-02-2023, 08:35 AM
Not sure who has inherited Hibs in RG’s family but I’d be pretty annoyed if my father’s tribute was disrupted by some Neanderthals.

A ban or bare minimum of rangers fans might gain some traction after this game if they do interupt whatever is planned again.

I’d happily pay more to ban them this game but I just can’t see it happening unfortunately

Can you imagine? No Huns at ER would be absolutely tremendous.

27-02-2023, 08:36 AM

27-02-2023, 08:45 AM

Would it though?

Is the back and forth between two sets of supporters not a huge part of what makes the big games so special?

They are a horrible morally bankrupt shower and the best thing that could happen would be for a full Rangers support having to watch us tuck them away.

27-02-2023, 08:52 AM

I've read a few replies saying we've already given them the tickets but.... so what?

We should have a press conference and publicly announce the cancellation of all away end tickets, due to 1) Their disgusting behaviour yesterday, 2) The club feel they have no confidence that this will not be repeated, on what should be a sombre and respectful occasion.

27-02-2023, 09:13 AM
What is the minimum we can give them at ER? They give us 900 tickets in a 50k capacity stadium. What's that? Around 2%? So we could allocate them around 400 seats on that basis? 400 too many but i'd live with it.

27-02-2023, 09:16 AM
What is the minimum we can give them at ER? They give us 900 tickets in a 50k capacity stadium. What's that? Around 2%? So we could allocate them around 400 seats on that basis? 400 too many but i'd live with it.
There’s also circa 400 seats per block in the south so that works.. They can also get held back for half an hour at full time too

27-02-2023, 09:22 AM
Would it though?

Is the back and forth between two sets of supporters not a huge part of what makes the big games so special?

They are a horrible morally bankrupt shower and the best thing that could happen would be for a full Rangers support having to watch us tuck them away.

Agreed. I'd happily ban them for 1 game to make the point, but other than that, nah.

I regularly get stick on here for saying I enjoy going to games against them at ER as I enjoy the atmosphere but I think it would be pretty rubbish with only Hibs fans.

GRA
27-02-2023, 09:43 AM
Give them 400 seats and get them crammed into the corner if we'd sell out the rest of the stadium. Sadly, I can't see us doing that like we did in 2018. We'd just be wasting £ for no reason.

Some of their fans have no morals but we've known this for years. I could give numerous examples of their odious behaviour and yet we haven't banned them from ER. Not sure why it is a surprise now.

27-02-2023, 09:52 AM
Hibs will do nothing.

Still allow Gary McKay into Easter road when he racially abused a Hibs player

Still allow Huns in after sectarian abuse toward Lennon.

Never said a word against Rangers when he sung about killing Lennon. We're pathetic on this front and always have been.

27-02-2023, 10:14 AM
Having thought about this since yesterday I think we let next weeks game go as planned. What happened yesterday was outwith our control and it's really on the governing body who were responsible for yesterdays game to call out what happened and take action.

However it is absolutely within our control as to how we react to the events a week on Wednesday. We should push ahead with what we had planned regardless of the opposition and what happened yesterday. Imo that should mean a silence, it's far more appropriate than an applause in 99% of cases. We should announce our plans in advance so no one can give it the 'I arrived late and didn't know what was happening' line. Whatever the Rangers fans do during the silence we stay silent and pay our respects then let them know what we think AFTER the ref blows his whistle to end it. If one single Rangers fan interrupts a silence then is the time to come out all guns blazing. Release a statement publicly so the media can't ignore it, have Johnson mention it in his post match interview, have the players mention it and make it clear that all future fixtures against Rangers will see their allocation cut to one single block in the South Stand. Leave a block above them empty, have segregation then sell the rest to Hibs fans or offer an option for fans to contribute to cover the shortfall. If Rangers as a club, their supporters groups or their friendly journos and columnists complain we remind them exactly why we took the action we did.

Like others I am heartily sick of the free pass that lot get. It's time for more teams to take a stand. We have stood back and said nothing whilst at least 4 managers in recent years have been subjected to sectarian abuse both at Ibrox and Easter Road yet (rightly) jumped into line when they demanded we all did when Kamara was racially abused. We can't keep letting them away with their filth or they will keep doing it. Using a minutes applause to project your own inferiority and insecurity through the medium of sectarianism is just vile and frankly enough is enough.

27-02-2023, 10:39 AM
Having thought about this since yesterday I think we let next weeks game go as planned. What happened yesterday was outwith our control and it's really on the governing body who were responsible for yesterdays game to call out what happened and take action.

However it is absolutely within our control as to how we react to the events a week on Wednesday. We should push ahead with what we had planned regardless of the opposition and what happened yesterday. Imo that should mean a silence, it's far more appropriate than an applause in 99% of cases. We should announce our plans in advance so no one can give it the 'I arrived late and didn't know what was happening' line. Whatever the Rangers fans do during the silence we stay silent and pay our respects then let them know what we think AFTER the ref blows his whistle to end it. If one single Rangers fan interrupts a silence then is the time to come out all guns blazing. Release a statement publicly so the media can't ignore it, have Johnson mention it in his post match interview, have the players mention it and make it clear that all future fixtures against Rangers will see their allocation cut to one single block in the South Stand. Leave a block above them empty, have segregation then sell the rest to Hibs fans or offer an option for fans to contribute to cover the shortfall. If Rangers as a club, their supporters groups or their friendly journos and columnists complain we remind them exactly why we took the action we did.

Like others I am heartily sick of the free pass that lot get. It's time for more teams to take a stand. We have stood back and said nothing whilst at least 4 managers in recent years have been subjected to sectarian abuse both at Ibrox and Easter Road yet (rightly) jumped into line when they demanded we all did when Kamara was racially abused. We can't keep letting them away with their filth or they will keep doing it. Using a minutes applause to project your own inferiority and insecurity through the medium of sectarianism is just vile and frankly enough is enough.

Couldn't agree more with your last paragraph.

On a personal basis I've not been to a Rangers game since the one when someone went on to "confront" Tavernier. I was halfway down St Clair Street when a heard a sort of cheer but not one that suggested a goal had been scored. The truth is, my blood was boiling, the game had been a disaster, the atmosphere was poisonous and Morelos had a free pass to goad us after they'd scored. I felt like I was going to run on and chin someone.

I'm a ****ing adult now and I'd rather not feel like that so I just give these games a wide berth, sometimes watching if the games on the telly. I just find it too hard to reconcile being a paying and attending customer at stuff like that with the world I'd like my daughter to grow up in so whilst I'll still happily buy my season ticket I'm not going to set foot in a ground where Rangers and their "hordes" are until someone makes some sort of stand.

So under the circumstances you describe, I'd be back and I'd gladly pay for an additional ticket somewhere so someone could watch a game of football, possibly through some sort of initiative where free tickets get distributed to those who can't afford them.

And FWIW both my grandads were Rangers fans. I'm an atheist myself but my partner is church of Scotland and I expect my daughter will follow her path rather than mine. I don't so much find it abhorrent that the behaviour happens as it's always happened and we're not exactly short of numpties who do the occasional idiotic thing ourselves, but the widespread acceptance and normalising of it is what gets to me - such as the closest we've got to comment on it yesterday being a "Tam McManus said" story.

27-02-2023, 11:53 AM
My real concern is that good people finally snap and take the law in to their own hands and it's us left facing the consequences. We've had to put up with vile bigoted moronic crap from that lot for our whole lifetimes and nothing gets done. All swept under the carpet. It takes a lot for me to see the red mist but i did yesterday. I celebrated both Celtic goals like i was a season ticket holder at Parkhead. I can't speak for anyone else but i'm finding it increasingly difficult to keep quiet to the point i distance myself from Easter Road when we play them which is a crying shame. I wouldn't even entertain Ibrox. No fan should have to feel so disgusted that they can't go and watch their own team. Only in Scotland eh. They are knuckledragging **** in my opinion. The safest option for everyone concerned is to give them 400 tickets.

Helensburghhibs
27-02-2023, 11:59 AM

Bob on

The Baldmans Comb
27-02-2023, 12:05 PM
Have Hibs said even a dicky bird yet?

An absolute bunch of sapps though no different to any other previous Hibs regime and to be fair with USA owners and English management they probably didn't even notice.

HarpOnHibee
27-02-2023, 12:35 PM
Give them the bottom half of the south and open the top half for Hibs fans. It would still sell out no problem.

27-02-2023, 12:38 PM
Hibs, along with everyone else in Scottish football, will do absolutely nothing. Our silence can be bought with the blue pound which is almost as disgusting as the behaviour of the Sevco fans. It’s about time we grew a set and relentlessly called it out for what it is.

The Rangers won’t be embarrassed, but we can embarrass the media, SFA and the Government.

27-02-2023, 12:53 PM
One banner during the minutes silence that basically says.

“Are you listening SFA ?”

Because you know they’ll sing something… point it out.

hhibs
27-02-2023, 01:00 PM
This would cost the club circa £100k. It would be some statement if the club did this.
A donation of £5.00 from all season ticket holders and other supporters would offset the cost.
#cancelthetickets

Count me in and for a lot more than £5.

My question " How many more Hibs and neutrals would attend if they were banned or shrunk in allocation to the bare minimuim ?"

I am sure we all know people who will NEVER attend a game with their support omnipresent.

Garymcl
27-02-2023, 01:58 PM
It’s one game I would never take my kids to gonna be honest listening to their vile songs makes me wanna vomit absolutely hate them with a vengeance surely we must do our bit and get at least our three stands packed and for 90 mins just out sing them our club will give them the full stand totally agree with previous message I honestly think we would sell out the whole ground if we knew there was no **** in our stadium cmon Wednesday 8th march must be in honour of Ron Gordon let’s sell every seat and cheer our team on for the man (Does anyone know how many seats left )

27-02-2023, 02:13 PM
Every club needs to call it out and stick together before anything is done, but until we stop having leeches like St Johnstone suckling from the big blue tit and giving them three stands at their own stadium it'll never happen. What's a bit of casual sectarianism when a wee bit of coin is there to be had eh?

27-02-2023, 02:14 PM
I agree with the sentiment but it would mean every Hibs fan (man/woman/child) paying an extra £7 p/p roughly, in attendance on the night, to cover costs.

You just wont get that happening.

27-02-2023, 02:37 PM
Surprised to see 16 vote the other way, but its a democracy? unless you happen to be a sticky.

27-02-2023, 03:08 PM
Count me in and for a lot more than £5.

My question " How many more Hibs and neutrals would attend if they were banned or shrunk in allocation to the bare minimuim ?"

I am sure we all know people who will NEVER attend a game with their support omnipresent.

Nice thought. Sadly the “neutrals” would be very not neutral.

27-02-2023, 03:53 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/rangers/celtic-rangers-reaction-sectarian-marring-of-ron-gordon-tribute-racist-slurs-in-dear-seats-defence-of-michael-beales-quick-exit-4042407

In the scotsman at least

27-02-2023, 03:58 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/rangers/celtic-rangers-reaction-sectarian-marring-of-ron-gordon-tribute-racist-slurs-in-dear-seats-defence-of-michael-beales-quick-exit-4042407

In the scotsman at least

Good for Andrew Smith. Now the BBC please.

27-02-2023, 04:04 PM
Still waiting for a statement from the Club and the SPFL.

SPFL's total silence is no surprise but I have to admit to being (yet again) disappointed by the silence from Hibs.

27-02-2023, 04:05 PM

In the scotsman at least

27-02-2023, 04:11 PM

SPFL's total silence is no surprise but I have to admit to being (yet again) disappointed by the silence from Hibs.

Who would be the point of contact within Hibernian football club to email? Also arent the fans reps meant to address these kind of supporter issues? If so where are they and what do they say on the matter? Thats not an attack on fans rep btw , just a genuine question

Maybe one day the other clubs outwith the old firm will grow a backbone and demand more action is taken.

So much old firm bias in the game from the fixtures (never plying each other 1st fame) , to media (sky sports deal and radio coverage) always same ends at Hampden, nonsense with fans at away games.

That’s just a quick list.

Regarding the game - they will 100% interrupt it. Hibs fans will get annoyed and nothing will be done or said.

In the scotsman at least

Good on Andrew Smith.

Going further and condemning all the 'fenian this' and 'orange that' is important too when it comes to placing this in context.

The truth is no one is surprised by what happened yesterday. Anyone who has followed Scottish football for days, weeks, months or years knew it was coming. It's not a one off moment of madness.

Bridge hibs
27-02-2023, 04:34 PM
The more I read about those rangers ***** the more I utterly ****ing despise them, if thats even possible

They make my blood ****ing boil 🤬

27-02-2023, 05:02 PM

I’ll probably not word this correctly but I wonder if Hibs think it’s more respectful to Ron not to get involved in a public spat on this. Just to let the family complete their grieving process?

I think if it happens at our home on Wednesday they’ll say something

27-02-2023, 05:04 PM
I’ll probably not word this correctly but I wonder if Hibs think it’s more respectful to Ron not to get involved in a public spat on this. Just to let the family complete their grieving process?

I thought the same.

27-02-2023, 05:06 PM
I thought the same.

Absolutely

Peanut Shaz
27-02-2023, 05:17 PM
Hibs probably knew the Gordon family statement was being released today. Expect they wanted that to take precedence and rightly so. There is a time and place and Hibs maybe just didn't think today was the best day.

27-02-2023, 05:27 PM
Hibs probably knew the Gordon family statement was being released today. Expect they wanted that to take precedence and rightly so. There is a time and place and Hibs maybe just didn't think today was the best day.

Agree

27-02-2023, 05:28 PM

If there is a minutes silence at our game and it’s interrupted by a rendition of the Billy Boys, I don’t think they can avoid saying anything. I still think they’d do so reluctantly because as soon as they do there’ll be additional spotlight on every single indiscretion from our own support. That’s not me saying it shouldn’t be called out by the way. But we never have before and I don’t think we will now unless they feel forced in to a position where they have no choice.

27-02-2023, 05:57 PM
If there is a minutes silence at our game and it’s interrupted by a rendition of the Billy Boys, I don’t think they can avoid saying anything. I still think they’d do so reluctantly because as soon as they do there’ll be additional spotlight on every single indiscretion from our own support. That’s not me saying it shouldn’t be called out by the way. But we never have before and I don’t think we will now unless they feel forced in to a position where they have no choice.

Scottish football and indeed Scottish society is weird in situations like this. We'll just ignore sectarianism routinely.

Imagine some parallel universe where next Tuesday there is an incident in Jerusalem and on the Wednesday Hibs fans sung about being 'up to our knees in Hebrew blood'. There would be meltdown and it would be international news. That's an exceptionally crass example I've used but it hammers home the bizarreness of the whole situation. Rangers fans used a minutes applause yesterday to glorify the slaughter of a group based on their religion and/or nationality or that of their forefathers and it was, as is always the case, routinely ignored by almost every major news outlet and sport broadcaster in the country. We have organisations parading about the streets every summer for weeks at a time singing the same songs for broadly the same reasons and it's just a shrug of the shoulders and 'that's the way it is'.

Racism, sexism, homophobia etc. are all routinely called out in football nowadays and rightly so. Yet in Scotland we have this massive blindspot in which a weekly occurrence is almost never acknowledged let alone challenged. It's almost like it's an inbuilt part of the national psyche. 'Ach it's ok to have a go at the kafflicks and the Irish, it's just the way it is'. Even groups specifically designed to root out and challenge bigotry don't want to involve themselves in this stain on our country and either show disinterest, don't care or are scared to speak out. It's not even a religion issue, at leadership level the Church of Scotland and RC Church in Scotland have never been closer or on better terms, it's a societal issue borne of ignorance and passed down the generations with some half baked reasoning.

There are always moments that see us snap out this collective national stupor though, the death threats to Neil Lennon and bullets in the post to various others was one and next Wednesday could be another. Ron Gordon seemed to be a decent man who has done nothing whatsoever to harm Rangers or their fanbase in his short time in Scotland. When, not if, they behave inappropriately next week the club will have to say something and I trust they will. The reaction from elsewhere will be what is telling. I think we'll get some short term outrage and rightly so. Sadly I expect a return to form and more of the same soon after though and we'll be subjected to this normalisation of bigotry and xenophobia for decades to come.

Musselbound
27-02-2023, 06:02 PM

I haven't seen the incident as I didn't watch the game and don't follow social media. But
who on earth thought that was a good idea at an Old Firm game? As you say we don't need their tributes. I agree there are way too many of these generally speaking and a tribute of a minute's silence or applause would best be kept to a match at Easter Road or possibly at the next game against Livingston in this instance.

27-02-2023, 06:25 PM

I'd be okay with Barrie just announcing "Due to Rangers fans being a bunch of @rseholes at Hampden, and in general, we're leaving the minute's silence until the next home game".

27-02-2023, 06:29 PM
Here we are again.

Everything that is wrong with Scottish football - everything - is in consequence of the bile that flows from and fuels the supports of these clubs. The only reason they dominate the Scottish game is because they have a support drawn from a catchment area that covers the whole of Scotland. And the only reason they have that Scotland wide catchment area, which no other club does, is because uniquely their supports have been divided, sustained and emboldened by sitting in opposing religious camps. By now it is reduced to mindless habit and most of their supporters couldn't tell you the tenets of those faiths, let alone actually follow them. Yet casual sectarian behaviour is just widely tolerated and as has been posted elsewhere toleration in this context equals encouragement.

Media and football authorities turning blind eyes and deaf ears to this aren't just tolerating behaviour that would be called out and confronted in almost any other circumstances. They are also validating and encouraging the commercial model that got these twins dominance in the first place. Silence isn't just a passive act, in reality it is the active defence and promotion of an economic model.

The consequences have been these:

Referees favour them.
The football authorities act in their favour and on their behalf.
Financial institutions have cut them slack which no other clubs would have received.
They are allowed to benefit disproportionately financially from both TV money and gate revenues over other teams.
Their dominant position in the league has become self-reinforcing, ensuring that the lion's share of prize money and the lucrative revenues from Europe mostly fill their coffers.
While milking our domestic game dry they are on a ceaseless search for a parachute out into a more lucrative league.
They are able - and try to - poach the best players of other clubs at relatively paltry rates and then they complain they don't face good enough domestic competition to raise standards.
They benefit from a fawning and cowed media, evident in both matchday coverage and in broader media analysis of our game. Coverage of and reporting on their games is hyped up, while the microphones are turned down when they show their true selves.
Their fans behave in ways that would never be tolerated from fans of other clubs and it largely goes unremarked.
The media praises the winning of vast numbers of cups and league titles as though it were some kind of stunning achievement when in reality there are generally only two clubs seriously able to compete with one another. The winning of anything, by any other club, is the real triumph.

Should we ban fans from the next home game? Perhaps, if we are also prepared to confront the much bigger, much more fundamental issues that have continued to go unchallenged year after decade after century.

I don't know whether these two supports are a symptom of a sick Scotland or whether they are a cancer in an otherwise healthy body. But it is sickening and Ron Gordon deserved better.

Aldoo
27-02-2023, 06:55 PM
It’s astounding to me the level of literal forensic investigation that took place to try and catch that one idiot who abused Tavares yet tens of thousands on both sides sing sectarian bile every week and barely a finger is lifted.

This is in no way condoning the abuse Tavares received but it highlights the unreal difference in approach to the way abuse is treated by another name.

Garymcl
27-02-2023, 06:55 PM
I think it’s clear we have spoken as supporters to not having these vermin in our stadium not only on the 8th of march but I would definitely be up for banning them for good I know many hibbys who don’t take family members ie kids/wives when they come it’s so toxic I think we would sell out our own stadium knowing it’s safe so what if they do likewise to our support price well paying in my opinion can someone like KP take this up asap with the board

zitelli62
27-02-2023, 09:00 PM
Just do the correct thing and ban them they are just the s*** of the earth vermin the lot of them.

27-02-2023, 09:23 PM
Here we are again.

Everything that is wrong with Scottish football - everything - is in consequence of the bile that flows from and fuels the supports of these clubs. The only reason they dominate the Scottish game is because they have a support drawn from a catchment area that covers the whole of Scotland. And the only reason they have that Scotland wide catchment area, which no other club does, is because uniquely their supports have been divided, sustained and emboldened by sitting in opposing religious camps. By now it is reduced to mindless habit and most of their supporters couldn't tell you the tenets of those faiths, let alone actually follow them. Yet casual sectarian behaviour is just widely tolerated and as has been posted elsewhere toleration in this context equals encouragement.

Media and football authorities turning blind eyes and deaf ears to this aren't just tolerating behaviour that would be called out and confronted in almost any other circumstances. They are also validating and encouraging the commercial model that got these twins dominance in the first place. Silence isn't just a passive act, in reality it is the active defence and promotion of an economic model.

Referees favour them.
Financial institutions have cut them slack which no other clubs would have received.
They are allowed to benefit disproportionately financially from both TV money and gate revenues over other teams.
Their dominant position in the league has become self-reinforcing, ensuring that the lion's share of prize money and the lucrative revenues from Europe mostly fill their coffers.
While milking our domestic game dry they are on a ceaseless search for a parachute out into a more lucrative league.
They are able - and try to - poach the best players of other clubs at relatively paltry rates and then they complain they don't face good enough domestic competition to raise standards.
They benefit from a fawning and cowed media, evident in both matchday coverage and in broader media analysis of our game. Coverage of and reporting on their games is hyped up, while the microphones are turned down when they show their true selves.
Their fans behave in ways that would never be tolerated from fans of other clubs and it largely goes unremarked.
The media praises the winning of vast numbers of cups and league titles as though it were some kind of stunning achievement when in reality there are generally only two clubs seriously able to compete with one another. The winning of anything, by any other club, is the real triumph.

Should we ban fans from the next home game? Perhaps, if we are also prepared to confront the much bigger, much more fundamental issues that have continued to go unchallenged year after decade after century.

I don't know whether these two supports are a symptom of a sick Scotland or whether they are a cancer in an otherwise healthy body. But it is sickening and Ron Gordon deserved better.

Sky Sports and BT Sports need to have a word as well, they are basically promoting sectarian chants from both these clubs, a wee sweary word from the dugout and straight away we get an apology for the bad behaviour, take the boxing last night when Logan Paul called the Fury’s bi***es, BT were so quick to apologise and even put a notice up on the screen, but when the uglies are singing there crap nothing is said about it, sometimes they mute it out but most of the time they just let it sung by the hoardes and the commentators will tell us what a great atmosphere in the ground from fans when in fact they are promoting sectarian singing.

27-02-2023, 09:26 PM
Here we are again.

Referees favour them.

Great post

27-02-2023, 09:55 PM
Good on Andrew Smith.

Going further and condemning all the 'fenian this' and 'orange that' is important too when it comes to placing this in context.

The truth is no one is surprised by what happened yesterday. Anyone who has followed Scottish football for days, weeks, months or years knew it was coming. It's not a one off moment of madness.

Second time in a week Andrew Smith has raised this.Good for him. Also mentioned by Chris McLachlan on Reporting Scotland.

27-02-2023, 10:24 PM
I call on all supporters in the South end of the East and West stands to pee in a drinks cup and throw it into the away end.
They've been taking the piss out of Scottish football for too long.

27-02-2023, 10:31 PM
The statement released by the Gordon family today should be reproduced in the Orcs matchday programme so they can see what class looks like.

ErinGoBraghHFC
27-02-2023, 10:36 PM
I call on all supporters in the South end of the East and West stands to pee in a drinks cup and throw it into the away end.
They've been taking the piss out of Scottish football for too long.

And ***** in the wee pie trays

28-02-2023, 07:12 AM
Here we are again.

Referees favour them.

Whilst I don't disagree with your general point about both clubs, this is the Rangers fans in the dock here is it not? As far as I'm aware, Celtic fans didn't dishonor Ron's minutes applause by singing a racist song did they?

Whataboutery just deflects from holding these racist orks from being held to account for what they did on Sunday. The focus should be entirely on the supporters of that vile institution.

28-02-2023, 07:50 AM
I haven't read this entire thread so I don't know if it's been discussed, but how did our fans behave when the queen died?

28-02-2023, 07:57 AM
I haven't read this entire thread so I don't know if it's been discussed, but how did our fans behave when the queen died?

The Easter Road Liz tifo was slightly smaller than the one at Ibrox, which was so big it caused a partial eclipse, crossed two time zones and resulted in every gammon on the internet to actually wet themselves with pleasure. But other than that it passed off ok IIRC.

28-02-2023, 09:33 AM
The sickened, scunnered person in me wants us to have a minutes silence so that the whole world can see them ruining it with their vile behavior. No hiding place for them. The decent person in me hopes it's an applause so that their bile is somewhat drowned out and Ron's family aren't upset further. Sad state of affairs that even needs to be an option.

Stubbsy90+2
28-02-2023, 10:25 AM
The sickened, scunnered person in me wants us to have a minutes silence so that the whole world can see them ruining it with their vile behavior. No hiding place for them. The decent person in me hopes it's an applause so that their bile is somewhat drowned out and Ron's family aren't upset further. Sad state of affairs that even needs to be an option.

They had an applause at the weekend and ruined that as well. They’ll ruin it either way so we may as well have our silence. Hopefully our own fans don’t get caught up in booing back at them etc, I’d much prefer Hibs fans to observe the silence regardless of what they’re doing, it’s hardly like it’s going to stop them. Can boo them after.

28-02-2023, 11:03 AM
They had an applause at the weekend and ruined that as well. They’ll ruin it either way so we may as well have our silence. Hopefully our own fans don’t get caught up in booing back at them etc, I’d much prefer Hibs fans to observe the silence regardless of what they’re doing, it’s hardly like it’s going to stop them. Can boo them after.

Our fans will DEFINITELY boo back and lose the rag, it’s just human nature. It’s sadly going to be a really undignified moment that I hope the Gordon family won’t be paying much attention to. And completely caused by the classless hun hordes ability to be normal humans.

Helensburghhibs
28-02-2023, 11:12 AM
. It's not even a religion issue, at leadership level the Church of Scotland and RC Church in Scotland have never been closer or on better terms, .

This is the bit that annoys me. I was brought up in the church of Scotland. In our town the minister, rc priest, and episcopal church used to do Sundays where they would rotate around and do an away day. There were people in the congregation who would stand up and leave as soon as the priest began to talk. In my view.... these people are religious extremists and do not represent the faith of the church I attended. In my adult life I am more of an atheist and to be honest shrug off the songs from both sides, but there is no place for them whatsoever.

28-02-2023, 11:13 AM
I actually think a silence on this occasion would present less chance of disruption than a minutes applause.

It’s an easier decision to start chanting amidst the noise of an applause, but disrupting a silence would bring a lot more condemnation than we have seen so far to Sunday’s disgrace.
Given that Ron Gordon and Rangers have no history whatsoever, then should there be a disruption to a minutes silence the first question would have to be “Why exactly?”

Helensburghhibs
28-02-2023, 11:14 AM

It was pretty well respected, impeccably by most, respectfully by many and not by a small minority.

28-02-2023, 11:53 AM

I think the situations were and are entirely different mate. Some of us are fundamentally and morally opposed to the idea of rank, deference and privilege being given to anybody as a birthright and especially opposed to any idea that included with that is the position of head of state. That point of view has absolutely nothing to do with what football team I support. I did not make a noise during the minutes silence, but I did turn my back during it and shout "not my king" as soon as the ref blew his whistle to end the silence.

The disruption of the minutes silence at Hampden was simply because the guy on the screen was wearing a green and white scarf and therefor in the eyes of the knuckle draggers a Fenian *******.

The other thing I would add is that this topic might have been brought to a head by what happened on Sunday, but it's been bubbling under for years and it has taken this incident to put the tin lid on decades of sectarian bile and F knows what else spewing from the stands at Easter Road from these people .... I genuinely think folk are just sick enough of it to genuinely be calling for that lot to be banned from our stadium, not as a knee jerk reaction over Sunday but a considered reaction to decades of this of which Sunday was just the final straw ... it cant be just about money any more.

28-02-2023, 12:13 PM
Is the game on telly? Doesn't really matter but if it is, have the minutes silence and let the world see them for what they are.

PHeffernan
28-02-2023, 12:34 PM
Is the game on telly? Doesn't really matter but if it is, have the minutes silence and let the world see them for what they are.

The world doesn't watch Scottish football, they don't care about it and they don't talk about it.
Hibs fans have moaned about this issue for the almost 60 years I have been attending Easter Road but have never got beyond moaning, booing and now a poll on a supporters forum.
UEFA managed to stop the issue overnight yet our clubs, including Hibs, still allow it in our domestic game.
In short our clubs don't tackle it for financial reasons and our supporters don't force them to tackle it. Until we go down the UEFA route it will continue game after game and year after year.

28-02-2023, 12:35 PM
I think the situations were and are entirely different mate. Some of us are fundamentally and morally opposed to the idea of rank, deference and privilege being given to anybody as a birthright and especially opposed to any idea that included with that is the position of head of state. That point of view has absolutely nothing to do with what football team I support. I did not make a noise during the minutes silence, but I did turn my back during it and shout "not my king" as soon as the ref blew his whistle to end the silence.

The disruption of the minutes silence at Hampden was simply because the guy on the screen was wearing a green and white scarf and therefor in the eyes of the knuckle draggers a Fenian *******.

The other thing I would add is that this topic might have been brought to a head by what happened on Sunday, but it's been bubbling under for years and it has taken this incident to put the tin lid on decades of sectarian bile and F knows what else spewing from the stands at Easter Road from these people .... I genuinely think folk are just sick enough of it to genuinely be calling for that lot to be banned from our stadium, not as a knee jerk reaction over Sunday but a considered reaction to decades of this of which Sunday was just the final straw ... it cant be just about money any more.

Good post.

Green_one
28-02-2023, 12:37 PM
Just do the correct thing and ban them they are just the s*** of the earth vermin the lot of them.

Hard to argue with that :wink:

Mainstandman
28-02-2023, 12:40 PM
Just let them in at 7.46!!

28-02-2023, 12:55 PM
Just a suggestion, but if they do disrupt the minutes silence on the 8th at half time we should turn up the tannoy and play 'ZOMBIE' by the Cranberries .... the song doesn't quite fit, but the chorus sure as hell does ............. 'Whats in your head Zombie' ?

28-02-2023, 01:01 PM
Rangers have no history whatsoever

Good point.

PHeffernan
28-02-2023, 01:08 PM
Here we are again.

Referees favour them.

Great post.

28-02-2023, 01:29 PM
Whilst I don't disagree with your general point about both clubs, this is the Rangers fans in the dock here is it not? As far as I'm aware, Celtic fans didn't dishonor Ron's minutes applause by singing a racist song did they?

Whataboutery just deflects from holding these racist orks from being held to account for what they did on Sunday. The focus should be entirely on the supporters of that vile institution.

No. Go read the Andrew Smith article, both sides were giving out their usual crap at the game. They are two cheeks of the same ar5e.

Torto7
28-02-2023, 03:46 PM
Great post.

It's a good post let down by including Celtic in it. All clubs in Scotland have a ****my element only one club has a epidemic of ****bags and that's Rangers.

28-02-2023, 04:56 PM
No. Go read the Andrew Smith article, both sides were giving out their usual crap at the game. They are two cheeks of the same ar5e.

As they will every game. However this thread is about the morons who dishonored our owners minutes apllause by singing racists songs is it not?

28-02-2023, 05:56 PM
It's a good post let down by including Celtic in it. All clubs in Scotland have a ****my element only one club has a epidemic of ****bags and that's Rangers.

Not for me. While the main part of this thread is about the disrupting of Ron Gordon’s tribute, ODS is absolutely right to include Celtic in what he’s calling the two sides out for in general. There are bad elements to all our supports but Celtic don’t get to sit down here with the rest of us, they are far closer to their ugly sisters in the sectarian stakes than they are to any other Scottish clubs.

On another note - the term ‘Huns’ is now too good for rangers.

28-02-2023, 06:17 PM
Here we are again.

Referees favour them.

What he said. Just need to remember Rangers when they died, the rules were clear & they should have been removed from the Leagues; having to start in Division 2 was still hilarious but Doncaster et al screamed that Scottish Football
wouldn't survive if The Rangers didn't get to stay in the Premier League itself. As it happens it did, very successfully but there was no more blatant way of saying the Old Firm are special & don't have to abide rules which would be enforced on everybody else.
Two cheeks of the same erse, co-joined twins, they're a single problem and not separable.

28-02-2023, 06:18 PM
Not for me. While the main part of this thread is about the disrupting of Ron Gordon’s tribute, ODS is absolutely right to include Celtic in what he’s calling the two sides out for in general. There are bad elements to all our supports but Celtic don’t get to sit down here with the rest of us, they are far closer to their ugly sisters in the sectarian stakes than they are to any other Scottish clubs.

On another note - the term ‘Huns’ is now too good for rangers.

Understand there is an emotive part for Hibs because of what that lot interrupted. But they sung that song before, during and after that. As they do every single week. But in the same game we listened to songs about terrorists, getting the Brits out and orange people being sad from the other side. Again, something you listen to every week.

They both get away with doing whatever they want. Reading the other thread about the Hibs supporter and his daughter being lifted for setting of a pyro at the derby gave me a laugh. There were literally hundreds of pyros going off at Hampden on Sunday, wonder how many of them were or will be lifted for that.

They are both ****.

28-02-2023, 06:34 PM
Celtic can get to **** as well. Let's be honest. If it was Ann Budge that had died and the tribute was for her then Celtic would have been the ones disrupting it and Rangers fans booing. They are both **** and both as bad as each other. Scotland's shame the both of them.

Stonewall
28-02-2023, 06:43 PM
Understand there is an emotive part for Hibs because of what that lot interrupted. But they sung that song before, during and after that. As they do every single week. But in the same game we listened to songs about terrorists, getting the Brits out and orange people being sad from the other side. Again, something you listen to every week.

They both get away with doing whatever they want. Reading the other thread about the Hibs supporter and his daughter being lifted for setting of a pyro at the derby gave me a laugh. There were literally hundreds of pyros going off at Hampden on Sunday, wonder how many of them were or will be lifted for that.

They are both ****.

If you launch a pyro you know that you'll probably get away with it. You also know that if you're caught there will be sanctions.

The guy was 38 years old not 14.

No sympathy I'm afraid, and no whataboutary. I'm sick of people throwing pyros onto the pitch.

28-02-2023, 06:48 PM
Why does my young daughter get a bottle of juice confiscated at Easter Road yet Celtic and Rangers fans can take fireworks and cannons in to Hampden? Blind eye or incompetence?

Chorley Hibee
28-02-2023, 06:52 PM
Why does my young daughter get a bottle of juice confiscated at Easter Road yet Celtic and Rangers fans can take fireworks and cannons in to Hampden? Blind eye or incompetence?

Policed differently to every other set of fans in the country - same with their banners over sponsor boards etc.

It's no wonder they act like ****, when the authorities help facilitate it on a weekly basis.

ErinGoBraghHFC
28-02-2023, 06:52 PM
Celtic can get to **** as well. Let's be honest. If it was Ann Budge that had died and the tribute was for her then Celtic would have been the ones disrupting it and Rangers fans booing. They are both **** and both as bad as each other. Scotland's shame the both of them.

But Anne Budge didn’t die and Celtic didn’t disrupt it, whataboutery just deflects from them getting what they deserve imo

28-02-2023, 10:42 PM
Policed differently to every other set of fans in the country - same with their banners over sponsor boards etc.

It's no wonder they act like ****, when the authorities help facilitate it on a weekly basis.

What would you do mate ... pile into a set of fans your are, lets face it, afraid to take on or pick on the low hanging fruit.

Here's how it works .... As the Huns left ER after our last minute ( ish ) equaliser this season a bottle just missed me and a group of other fans who were leaving the west stand .. a fan shouted to the group of cops standing about at the gates "what are you gonna do about that?" .... The reply was 'you shouldn't have been goading them' .... That's how it works in this country.

01-03-2023, 05:30 PM
What would you do mate ... pile into a set of fans your are, lets face it, afraid to take on or pick on the low hanging fruit.

Here's how it works .... As the Huns left ER after our last minute ( ish ) equaliser this season a bottle just missed me and a group of other fans who were leaving the west stand .. a fan shouted to the group of cops standing about at the gates "what are you gonna do about that?" .... The reply was 'you shouldn't have been goading them' .... That's how it works in this country.Like the day we goaded them into spoiling our beautiful pitch invasion at Hamden. A thin skinned bunch.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

01-03-2023, 06:49 PM
Still waiting to hear any condemnation of that ****...

:tumble:

Chorley Hibee
02-03-2023, 06:11 AM
There was a minute's silence at the Hibs ladies fixture last night.

Surely the same at ER next week then?

Hope the club doesn't let those ****bags behaviour dictate what should be held.

02-03-2023, 10:02 AM
Still waiting to hear any condemnation of that ****...

:tumble:

Who from?

02-03-2023, 10:21 AM
Who from?
From anyone Flash. The silence is deafening from the media & authorities. No one wants to speak up and condemn both sets of fans actions during not only the tribute to Ron but the rest of their bigoted song sheets from Sunday.

Hopefully when the time is right Hibs will put out a strong worded statement or comment deploring the events that happened at the final on Sunday.

02-03-2023, 10:24 AM
From anyone Flash. The silence is deafening from the media & authorities. No one wants to speak up and condemn both sets of fans actions during not only the tribute to Ron but the rest of their bigoted song sheets from Sunday.

Hopefully when the time is right Hibs will put out a strong worded statement or comment deploring the events that happened at the final on Sunday.

Agree about the media etc but would imagine the club don't want to get into a messy argument at such a sad time.

02-03-2023, 10:38 AM
Agree about the media etc but would imagine the club don't want to get into a messy argument at such a sad time.
Totally agree mate. The club & supporters need time to process the devastating loss of Ron and now is not the time as you say.

Hopefully that day will come soon where we as supporters can go to a game and not have to listen to their abhorrent song book of shame.

02-03-2023, 12:58 PM
Totally agree mate. The club & supporters need time to process the devastating loss of Ron and now is not the time as you say.

Hopefully that day will come soon where we as supporters can go to a game and not have to listen to their abhorrent song book of shame.

Never going to happen unless some of those in charge at the very top of the game grow a set of balls.

And obviously the others change their views and actually stop agreeing and condoning them every time this happens.

Fear and compliance are the enemy, nothing is changing soon.

02-03-2023, 01:36 PM
Here we are again.

Referees favour them.

Terrific post though I would add that the silence of the other clubs (including Hibs) is aiding and abetting them year in year out. The poisoned coin from that pair is worth more than integrity it would seem and so we continue to play in a rigged game while the other owners turn a blind eye.

02-03-2023, 02:08 PM

Exactly.

The ongoing problem is that we never hear a word in condemnation of that lot's behaviour (or their ugly sisters). As has been said, the authorities, media and other clubs prefer to stick their fingers in their ears and pretend nothing happened.

A single incident of racism would (rightly) be called out by all and sundry, but everything the uglies engage in is not allowed to even be mentioned.

02-03-2023, 02:13 PM
Exactly.

The ongoing problem is that we never hear a word in condemnation of that lot's behaviour (or their ugly sisters). As has been said, the authorities, media and other clubs prefer to stick their fingers in their ears and pretend nothing happened.

A single incident of racism would (rightly) be called out by all and sundry, but everything the uglies engage in is not allowed to even be mentioned.

Can vividly remember we played a derby the same day as old firm game. End of old firm game camera zoomed in on Rangers fan clearly mouthing a sectarian obscenity. In our derby camera zoomed in on Hibs fan clearly mouthing a racist obscenity. Which one were the media interested in and which one not?

08-03-2023, 07:05 PM
If only the club had listened...

08-03-2023, 07:23 PM
They just couldn’t bring themselves to sit on their hooves for five ****ing minutes could they?

The Pointer
08-03-2023, 07:56 PM

Here's how it works .... As the Huns left ER after our last minute ( ish ) equaliser this season a bottle just missed me and a group of other fans who were leaving the west stand .. a fan shouted to the group of cops standing about at the gates "what are you gonna do about that?" .... The reply was 'you shouldn't have been goading them' .... That's how it works in this country.

Cops used to dive into a set of fans with no fear and a sense of duty (and a sense of enjoyment it has to be said), but they're not police any more and don't want anything 'difficult' to handle. Too many degrees and not enough policing.

Wee brother used to love it when the weegie plooks came to the capital.

08-03-2023, 09:17 PM
Were the orcs booing as the announcer was introducing the RG tribute, or was that our fans booing them singing their bile over the top?

I just listened on the radio and couldn’t think what Ron could possibly have done to make them want to boo a tribute to him…

08-03-2023, 09:19 PM
Were the orcs booing as the announcer was introducing the RG tribute, or was that our fans booing them singing their bile over the top?

I just listened on the radio and couldn’t think what Ron could possibly have done to make them want to boo a tribute to him…

They started singing or cheering, our fans booed them at first.

They were singing Billy Boys too but we drowned with out with Sunshine on Leith.

08-03-2023, 09:21 PM

They were singing Billy Boys too but we drowned with out with Sunshine on Leith.

Thanks 👍 yeah I heard the latter, was just curious where the boos came from. Absolutely unacceptable and typical on their part regardless.

08-03-2023, 09:48 PM
They were called **** when I first went to football matches nearly 60 years ago they are still **** it's seems to pass down the generations.

Why have my words been censored not a swear word but an accurate description

08-03-2023, 09:51 PM

90 mins of sectarian singing from them tonight, every one of their songbook belted out from start to finish
Absolute cretins the lot of them

08-03-2023, 09:52 PM
90 mins of sectarian singing from them tonight, every one of their songbook belted out from start to finish
Absolute cretins the lot of them

And fully ignored by all of the press that were there, especially the GBC.

CL0762
08-03-2023, 09:57 PM
Genuinely don’t care how much money we make from it.

Stop giving them the entirety of that stand.

Had my 12yr old ask me over and over “what’s a fenian” “who is Bobby sands” “why are they singing about a sash”.

I ****ing despise them, they are **** of the earth.

Give them the bare ****ing minimum and treat them with the contempt that they deserve.

08-03-2023, 09:59 PM
Can admin tell me why the word **** is not allowed.

08-03-2023, 10:02 PM
How did they get all their pyro in? Heard an announcement when I was in way in telling them to expect full searches. The stand wasn't full a few minutes before kick off and I wondered if (hoped) loads of them had been turned away, but a few minutes into the match the place was it's usual overloaded self and they had loads of pyro at the start of the second?

Banners over the ads as usual.

As for the songs...

08-03-2023, 10:04 PM
Surely to **** we need to have some respect for ourselves as a club and cut their allocation after that tonight? Booing and singing their **** through our tribute to Ron. Absolutely ****ing ****. Hate them.

08-03-2023, 10:12 PM
Utter utter ****. Get their allocation cut.

08-03-2023, 10:13 PM

Incredibly, or maybe not with them, they started booing when a picture of Ron was put on the big screens. ****

mcohibs
08-03-2023, 10:15 PM
Silence is acceptance. Time to act Hibs.

08-03-2023, 10:15 PM
If Hibs don’t grow some self respect regarding the way they deal with these ***** soon, they’ll lose the remaining respect I have for them.

Jay
08-03-2023, 10:17 PM
Can admin tell me why the word **** is not allowed.

We would but we don't know what your trying to say :greengrin

08-03-2023, 10:20 PM
We would but we don't know what your trying to say :greengrin

Ce sont de la racaille is the French words for what I was trying to say

Peanut Shaz
08-03-2023, 10:20 PM
They sunk to a new low even by there standards tonight. If they never set foot inside ER again it's too soon. Absolute bigoted morons.

bringbackbenny
08-03-2023, 10:22 PM
Just when you think they can't degrade themselves any lower and it wasn't a minority. Imagine desecrating a mark of respect for a 68 year old man who's just passed on from cancer.

You can dismiss some stuff as 'folk songs' or tradition or whatever.

It's just bizarre that we have a media that ignores the blatant bigotry of the Billy Boys though. Or worse the xenophobia of the Famine Song which got an airing tonight (and no it wasn't the '4 lads' song to the same tune).

Some things are more important than money. Get them and their 'blue pound' so far to ****.

yonder1875
The board should grow a backbone and ban them from ER if they are serious about bigotry.

Who wants to listen to them singing about killing Catholics? It’s insane how normalised it is and yet, nothing is ever said or done about it.

A club built on hatred has no place at Easter Road.

mcohibs
08-03-2023, 10:23 PM
If Hibs don’t grow some self respect regarding the way they deal with these ***** soon, they’ll lose the remaining respect I have for them.

Long overdue. I’m just not sure the people with the power to do anything about it at the club care as much as the fans do, or to be honest have much knowledge on the issue of sectarianism to know what it is they’re calling out.

08-03-2023, 10:23 PM
Good to see them being called out on it

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/rangers/rangers-fans-lacked-class-their-team-showed-in-4-1-win-over-hibs-as-easter-road-pays-tribute-to-ron-gordon-4056591

Jay
08-03-2023, 10:33 PM
Ce sont de la racaille is the French words for what I was trying to say

When I googled it came back as riff raff or rabble , both of which would be fine but I think I know where your going with it. In all seriousness we try to keep this board as family friendly as possible so don't allow or encourage certain words and that's one of them.

Cat Stanton
08-03-2023, 10:41 PM

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/rangers/rangers-fans-lacked-class-their-team-showed-in-4-1-win-over-hibs-as-easter-road-pays-tribute-to-ron-gordon-4056591

Well said, Moira Gordon.

As I said on another thread, they booed the memory, and pictures, of a man who had died. It just beggars belief.

LunasBoots
08-03-2023, 10:41 PM

Should be called out more, billy boys, famine song, sings about chapels, yet more flares despite police and stewards supposed to be more proactive in searching them coming in, hideous orcs that they are.

08-03-2023, 10:45 PM
Until our own fans don’t retaliate with their own songs we don’t have. A leg to stand on. And I say that from someone that wants it all banned and fines put in place.

When I googled it came back as riff raff or rabble , both of which would be fine but I think I know where your going with it. In all seriousness we try to keep this board as family friendly as possible so don't allow or encourage certain words and that's one of them.
Surely it depends in what context it is being used. I was mearly pointing out that their fans were called that name in the 1960s and even further back and their behaviour in the present day indicates that they have not changed. The apple does not seem to fall far from the tree when it comes to that group of individuals.

PS it can also mean **** or lowlife

Back to the bigoted, racist song book for the The Rangers fans. Billy Boys, Famine Song, Sash with add ons etc. Makes me sick. Just ban them from ER and take the hit.

mcohibs
08-03-2023, 10:52 PM
Surely it depends in what context it is being used. I was mearly pointing out that their fans were called that name in the 1960s and even further back and their behaviour in the present day indicates that they have not changed. The apple does not seem to fall far from the tree when it comes to that group of individuals.

Don’t think anyone would disagree with you but it’s not hard to see why that term is censored on (what’s meant to be) a family friendly forum. Wish we could censor that mob.

08-03-2023, 10:53 PM
There’s a more serious H&S issue with yet more overcrowding in upper tier and clearly over capacity. During the mass use of pyros at start time of second half you could see ignited residue dripping to the tier below.

Plus, if my business was paying for advertising g boarding space I’d be asking for a refund for the two games against Rangers this season. Clearly a club who are held to different rules to the rest.

08-03-2023, 10:56 PM
It seemed strange that 5 mins before KO the stand was barely half full, but rammed full by KO. We’re gates opens outside to let everyone in?

LewysGot2
08-03-2023, 10:56 PM

Wow. That’ll be her banned from Mordor.

Fair play though :top marks

08-03-2023, 11:00 PM
Don’t think anyone would disagree with you but it’s not hard to see why that term is censored on (what’s meant to be) a family friendly forum. Wish we could censor that mob.

Ah well it will be lowlifes then instead of the more accurate ****.

Jay
08-03-2023, 11:15 PM

PS it can also mean **** or lowlife

Unfortunately our swear filter doesn't do context yet but the day will come when we can sack the admins and put AI in place :greengrin

08-03-2023, 11:16 PM
Hibs say we have a zero tolerance approach to bigotry, so time to actually show it and ban Rangers fans from the stadium for the next match.

Was as bad as I can remember it tonight and Hibs are complicit if they do nothing about it.

You can shove the Show Racism The Red Card and taking the knee against discrimination up your arse if you allow what we heard tonight to pass.

JJP
08-03-2023, 11:19 PM
I didn’t think it would be possible, but after the disrespect they have shown to a recently deceased man who has caused them no harm what so ever (and in front of his recently bereaved family), I have even less respect for that rotten club. I just don’t know how otherwise decent people can look the other way and support a club like that. Every club has its idiots but they are on another level.

09-03-2023, 02:28 AM
There’s a more serious H&S issue with yet more overcrowding in upper tier and clearly over capacity. During the mass use of pyros at start time of second half you could see ignited residue dripping to the tier below.

Plus, if my business was paying for advertising g boarding space I’d be asking for a refund for the two games against Rangers this season. Clearly a club who are held to different rules to the rest.

Personally I thought the ignited residue dropping on the heads of those below was one of the highlights of the nightt 😉

All very predictable, and the Club will say nothing.

09-03-2023, 05:16 AM
Hibs say we have a zero tolerance approach to bigotry, so time to actually show it and ban Rangers fans from the stadium for the next match.

Was as bad as I can remember it tonight and Hibs are complicit if they do nothing about it.

You can shove the Show Racism The Red Card and taking the knee against discrimination up your arse if you allow what we heard tonight to pass.

It's zero tolerance when it's easy and doesn't cost money.

Should really ask the club how much it takes for bigotry to be okay.

09-03-2023, 06:09 AM
How long before these flares/fireworks really hurt someone too, it seems to be every single week. Celtic fans had actual fireworks at the final which just seems crazy

It’s seems like it’s a game of who can do better than who with flares just now which surely only has one outcome

09-03-2023, 06:17 AM

Totally agree.

09-03-2023, 06:32 AM
Re loss of revenue, I'd rather watch us use the u19s than have to listen to their bigotry (which is getting worse).

500 tickets max with a proper zero tolerance carried out. We sell the tickets direct and proof of ID required on entry. Then they might get the message (although I doubt it).

09-03-2023, 06:44 AM
Cut their allocation and gently increase it until they prove they can behave. As soon as they start their ***** again it resets. I’d start by giving them a single section and fill the rest of the away end with tickets gifted to the community.

We all know that they will never have a full capacity away stand again. The same goes for Celtic and their folk songs/oh ah up the RA *****.

09-03-2023, 06:51 AM
Once again no comment from that club those in charge are as complicit as those who showed disrespect last night. They are a club run by bigots and supported by bigots.