View Full Version : Couldn't make it up ... 'Ugly Sisters'

25-02-2023, 02:42 PM
Was having a tit for tat with a Sticky Bun on Facebook and in response to one of his comments I said "what a typical Ugly Sisters response that is"

I now find that not only has my post been removed by Facebook because it goes against their policy on bullying and harassment but I'm banned from commenting for 24 hours ...... because I referred to the Glasgow duopoly as the Ugly Sisters :faf:

25-02-2023, 02:44 PM
Was having a tit for tat with a Sticky Bun on Facebook and in response to one of his comments I said "what a typical Ugly Sisters response that is"

I now find that not only has my post been removed by Facebook because it goes against their policy on bullying and harassment but I'm banned from commenting for 24 hours ...... because I referred to the Glasgow duopoly as the Ugly Sisters :faf:

The easily offended club are taking over the world.:rolleyes:

25-02-2023, 02:50 PM
It always makes me laugh when somebody has a go at the OF collectively and Sevco and Celtc fans circle the wagons together.

25-02-2023, 02:54 PM

When you consider what Facebook turns a blind eye to in terms of insults, and more sickening, criminal scamming by bogus ‘companies’ ( usually Chinese Mafia ), this is diabolical.

HarpOnHibee
25-02-2023, 02:56 PM
Left the far right platform years ago. Haven't missed it for a moment.

25-02-2023, 03:00 PM

Facebook is far right?

25-02-2023, 03:00 PM
When you consider what Facebook turns a blind eye to in terms of insults, and more sickening, criminal scamming by bogus ‘companies’ ( usually Chinese Mafia ), this is diabolical.

Yeh, the joke is I've seen comments the most recent today referring to Hibs as 'junkies' and AIDS ridden .... not a contravention of FB's bullying policy apparently.

25-02-2023, 03:01 PM
Probably a couple of pantomime performers took exception to being compared to two deeply sectarian and bigoted institutions and rightly complained to facebook.

25-02-2023, 03:04 PM
Probably a couple of pantomime performers took exception to being compared to two deeply sectarian and bigoted institutions and rightly complained to facebook.

Stanley Baxter is a Queen................'s Park fan. :greengrin

Brummie_Hibs
25-02-2023, 03:14 PM
Facebook is doing you a favour - social media is the septic tank of society.

HarpOnHibee
25-02-2023, 03:15 PM
Facebook is far right?

Their moderation team isn't exactly impartial.

25-02-2023, 03:22 PM

Please expand.

25-02-2023, 03:45 PM

Yes and no mate. It brings out the worst, the absolute worst, in some people and no doubt it attracts some folk who should be in locked up or under psychiatric treatment ... sometimes both. But it also has many positive uses as well, charity appeals and the like ... you just have to be careful to question everything you read or see on it.

25-02-2023, 04:18 PM
So we have to call them facially challenged sisters now on Facebook

25-02-2023, 04:48 PM
No one likes us we don't care......

The most thin skinned fans going. Total roasters.

25-02-2023, 06:10 PM
Facebook is far right?

They certainly seem to pander to the far right these days, ignore blatant scams and fraud, and punish random indiscretions.

There’s money in keeping angry idiots engaged, after all.

Quadrophenia
25-02-2023, 06:18 PM
Yeh, the joke is I've seen comments the most recent today referring to Hibs as 'junkies' and AIDS ridden .... not a contravention of FB's bullying policy apparently.

Can't believe you are still on there mate .

25-02-2023, 06:26 PM
Can't believe you are still on there mate .

Just so ah kin keep an eye on weird folk fae Selkirk :greengrin

richard_pitts
25-02-2023, 06:59 PM
Just so ah kin keep an eye on weird folk fae Selkirk :greengrin

I replied to a thread on GB News with "I'm sure it's all the fault of those woke asylum seeking trannie vegan Scottish Muslim lefty lawyers" as a joke and people actually agreed with it. It appears irony is what one does to a shirt. :confused:

25-02-2023, 08:21 PM
It always makes me laugh when somebody has a go at the OF collectively and Sevco and Celtc fans circle the wagons together.

They’re not keen on the Old Firm tagline, Celtic in particular. As a result I use it at every opportunity.

Celtic, Rangers, Rangers, Celtic - same thing ultimately and more in common with each other than with the rest of us.

Box 17
25-02-2023, 09:09 PM
Doubt it's anything to do with the Old Firm. It's because you used 'ugly sister' and that might offend some snowflake.

WestCoastHibby
26-02-2023, 06:04 AM
After the tirade of absolute bile against the unfortunate lady who tragically died lately(and her man) from uninformed idiots I’ve stepped right back from FB
God help me if I’m ever up in front of a jury if that’s what society has become

Rottenstink
26-02-2023, 06:29 AM

Facebook far right? Are you serious?

26-02-2023, 06:57 AM
Facebook far right? Are you serious?

Facebook tolerates hate speech, so yeah it has become a natural home for some very dodgy groups that you’d expect to be on the dark web.

26-02-2023, 11:31 AM
Doubt it's anything to do with the Old Firm. It's because you used 'ugly sister' and that might offend some snowflake.

The only way to test that is to put up a comment saying ... I went to a pantomime last Christmas, the folk playing the ugly sisters were great and see if they take it down :greengrin

I made a post a few months ago that got flagged up as against their policy, so I went in to amend it and remove the 'offensive' word. I swear I had to change about 5 words before I got the right one and believe me I don't use any words I consider will offend folk as a rule .... I can't remember what the actual word was now, but it was a pretty innocuous one as I recall.

26-02-2023, 11:36 AM
They'll probably try to get this site shut down for the use of the phrase "sticky bun".

26-02-2023, 11:37 AM
They’re not keen on the Old Firm tagline, Celtic in particular. As a result I use it at every opportunity.

Celtic, Rangers, Rangers, Celtic - same thing ultimately and more in common with each other than with the rest of us.

Indeed, for all their boasting about being the worlds most bitter rivals historically that hasn't stopped the wee scamps becoming bedfellows when it's in their mutual interest, usually at the expense of everybody else in Scottish fitba.

Two cheeks o' the same erse without a doubt and 'the Ugly Sisters' is an entirely appropriate collective term when it comes to them :greengrin

26-02-2023, 06:06 PM
Indeed, for all their boasting about being the worlds most bitter rivals historically that hasn't stopped the wee scamps becoming bedfellows when it's in their mutual interest, usually at the expense of everybody else in Scottish fitba.

Two cheeks o' the same erse without a doubt and 'the Ugly Sisters' is an entirely appropriate collective term when it comes to them :greengrin

Personally, and I use the term myself, I think the term ‘Ugly Sisters‘ is a bit mild and ‘meh’. They are beyond frivolous terminology and should be condemned as social pariahs and v****n. I often feel quite bitter on this site, to be censored for referring to them as v*****n and s**m, terms they deservedly live up to week in week out.

26-02-2023, 06:54 PM

The franchise is sectarian bigotry. They work hard together to protect it.

26-02-2023, 10:31 PM
The franchise is sectarian bigotry. They work hard together to protect it.

Correct. Each arse absolutely loves the bile they hear………… it allows them to respond with their own bigoted trash.

26-02-2023, 10:38 PM
Personally, and I use the term myself, I think the term ‘Ugly Sisters‘ is a bit mild and ‘meh’. They are beyond frivolous terminology and should be condemned as social pariahs and v****n. I often feel quite bitter on this site, to be censored for referring to them as v*****n and s**m, terms they deservedly live up to week in week out.

Who am I to disagree :greengrin :top marks

27-02-2023, 08:55 AM
Hello, Hello, we are the Silly Boys,
Hello, Hello, we throw out all our toys,
When you call us the Ugly Sisters,
...it really makes us cry,
Cos' we are the childish Silly Boys