View Full Version : RIP Dickie Davis - World of Sport host

20-02-2023, 06:01 AM
Sad news. 94 but. Good innings after a stroke nearly 30 years ago. You couldn't not like him. And no skeletons like Frank Bough on the other side. Sportscene presenters should be forced to watch reruns of World of Sport for a week to see how it should be done.

20-02-2023, 06:04 AM
World of Sport was great. The ITV seven racing and the wrestling. And Dickie Davis was a great presenter. Immortalised by Half Man Half Biscuit as well in the song “She’s got Dickie Davis Eyes”!

20-02-2023, 06:06 AM
Legend

20-02-2023, 06:17 AM
Legend

Trying to remember who the main protagonists were around 1970. My bro and I used to pick our favourites to see who would win or place highest.

20-02-2023, 06:19 AM
Trying to remember who the main protagonists were around 1970. My bro and I used to pick our favourites to see who would win or place highest.
That was about your scrambling comment Billy which you must have edited out after I started replying!

20-02-2023, 06:25 AM
That was about your scrambling comment Billy which you must have edited out after I started replying!
Was on the other channel BBC Grandstand

Apologies

Used to sit watching it with my Dad waiting on the final scores

Loved it

Crunchie
20-02-2023, 06:26 AM
Sad news. 94 but. Good innings after a stroke nearly 30 years ago. You couldn't not like him. And no skeletons like Frank Bough on the other side. Sportscene presenters should be forced to watch reruns of World of Sport for a week to see how it should be done.
A great presenter and a role model for these charlatans posing as presenters today. RIP Dickie

20-02-2023, 06:43 AM
Another TV icon gone. From Saint and Greavsie to Kent Walton for the grapple fans. Consumate professional.

20-02-2023, 07:11 AM

Apologies

Loved it
So it was.
Al Zymer and Dave Dee Mensha come to mind.

20-02-2023, 07:16 AM

Apologies

Loved it

I used to sit in front of ceefax or oracle watching the scores change.
You made your own entertainment in them days.

20-02-2023, 07:24 AM
So it was.
Al Zymer and Dave Dee Mensha come to mind.

The Wrestling was on WoS at the same time IIRC

Auld wifies hitting Big Daddy and Mick McManus with their handbags

Great stuff

20-02-2023, 09:13 AM
RIP, was a Saturday mainstay, also got to see many sports never covered anywhere else like Wrestling, rally cross, speedway etc.

20-02-2023, 09:14 AM
I'm of a generation of Viz readers who sees his name and immediately thinks "the wheelbarrow".

20-02-2023, 09:28 AM
Saint and Greavsie were good tae

Funny as ….

20-02-2023, 11:46 AM
World of Sport was great. The ITV seven racing and the wrestling. And Dickie Davis was a great presenter. Immortalised by Half Man Half Biscuit as well in the song “She’s got Dickie Davis Eyes”!
It was great loved the program.

20-02-2023, 01:44 PM
RIP had the Mallan streak.

20-02-2023, 02:46 PM
Wasn't World of Sport a kind of tacky version of Grandstand, featuring obscure stuff like British wrestling and motorbike racing?

20-02-2023, 02:48 PM
RIP had the Mallan streak.

Is that the wee strand of white hair at the forehead? I believe it's a genetic trait that passes through the generations of males.

20-02-2023, 03:06 PM
Is that the wee strand of white hair at the forehead? I believe it's a genetic trait that passes through the generations of males.
Yes there was a drama the Mallens around the time and the lead character had the same.

20-02-2023, 03:07 PM
Wasn't World of Sport a kind of tacky version of Grandstand, featuring obscure stuff like British wrestling and motorbike racing?Sort of. Uk Wrestling. Never a sport in yer nelly. A circus act. The football coverage was a lot better and way less pompous than Grandstand.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

He's here!
20-02-2023, 03:44 PM
Wasn't World of Sport a kind of tacky version of Grandstand, featuring obscure stuff like British wrestling and motorbike racing?

Yes, the era of Big Daddy and Giant Haystacks. World of Sport was big on the wrestling. IIRC Grandstand used to show live rugby league. Always opted for the Grandstand vidiprinter when it came to the final scores.

20-02-2023, 04:06 PM
Yes, the era of Big Daddy and Giant Haystacks. World of Sport was big on the wrestling. IIRC Grandstand used to show live rugby league. Always opted for the Grandstand vidiprinter when it came to the final scores.

When I was a kid Grandstand also showed live British ice hockey, featuring the likes of Fife Flyers and Nottingham Panthers. I used to love that.

20-02-2023, 04:57 PM

Yea a bit, had more down to earth sports like rugby league, wrestling, dog racing, speedway, whereas BBC had things like the Badmington Horse trials, rugby union, cricket etc.

20-02-2023, 05:04 PM
Grandstand showed rugby league with Eddie Waring commentating. Clashed with the wrestling panto on World of Sport. Dickie Davis was a great anchorman. RIP.

20-02-2023, 05:46 PM
World of Sport was the only place you could see stock car racing. Used to go to Cowdenbeath as a lad and the World Championship at the likes of Ipswich and other south east venues was the only time you saw the top Scottish drivers on the telly. RIP Dickie. Legend.

20-02-2023, 08:12 PM
Grandstand showed rugby league with Eddie Waring commentating. Clashed with the wrestling panto on World of Sport. Dickie Davis was a great anchorman. RIP.

Oh aye that's right, getting my rugby mixed up, it was many many moons ago :greengrin

20-02-2023, 08:38 PM
I was too young to understand that the wrestling was just a show. Giant Haystacks was up there with the OF for me back then.

20-02-2023, 08:41 PM
I was too young to understand that the wrestling was just a show. Giant Haystacks was up there with the OF for me back then.

My favourite wrestler from back in the day was pantomine villan Mick McManus. Decent entertainment waiting for the results to come through.

20-02-2023, 08:55 PM
My favourite wrestler from back in the day was pantomine villan Mick McManus. Decent entertainment waiting for the results to come through.

My favourite entertainment was listening to my Nana shouting at the Telly everything he forearm smashed the "good guy" behind the referees back! I'm pretty sure most of Lorne St must have heard her !

20-02-2023, 09:11 PM

Histrionics and pre-determined outcomes aren’t really my thing.

Like VAR era Scottish football only everyone’s in their pants.

20-02-2023, 09:17 PM

If I remember right Big Daddy was Shirley Crabtree in his early days at the Eldorado.

20-02-2023, 09:59 PM
RIP Dickie ... a true legend of sports broadcasting and one of the world's great tache men right up there with Tom Selleck and Rod Petrie :greengrin

20-02-2023, 10:11 PM
Broadcasting legend and a very decent host.

The bulk of Grandstand and World of Sport was horse racing. Bored the t*ts off me then and now, Ice hockey was great to watch without uderstanding a thing other than the paggers. UHD tv can barely pick up the puck now never mind 640 lines tv. World of sport would show things like Evil Kneval leaping busses, river canyons and lines of nuns. Powerboat racing, water skiing jumping always finishing with the wrestling. Mainly from Walthemstow. Life was simpler then...

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

20-02-2023, 11:48 PM

The bulk of Grandstand and World of Sport was horse racing. Bored the t*ts off me then and now, Ice hockey was great to watch without uderstanding a thing other than the paggers. UHD tv can barely pick up the puck now never mind 640 lines tv. World of sport would show things like Evil Kneval leaping busses, river canyons and lines of nuns. Powerboat racing, water skiing jumping always finishing with the wrestling. Mainly from Walthemstow. Life was simpler then...

Sent from my SM-T580 using TapatalkI'm sure WoS was first to show American Football too.

ozwoody
21-02-2023, 01:55 AM
[QUOTE=Kato;7288466]I'm sure WoS was first to show American Football too.

Channel 4 were first to show NFL.
RIP Dickie , a great presenter and consumate professional.

21-02-2023, 06:14 AM
[QUOTE=Kato;7288466]I'm sure WoS was first to show American Football too.

Channel 4 were first to show NFL.
RIP Dickie , a great presenter and consumate professional.I was talking about before Channel 4 even began, bud. WoS featured it rather than had it on week after week.

21-02-2023, 06:16 AM

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
They used to do an enthralling round up of the week's action in the Tour de France in the days of Eddie Merckx. A magical window into the world of pro cycling, albeit one we now know was riddled with drug taking.

21-02-2023, 06:37 AM
Good information here on wiki including the theme tune

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_of_Sport_(British_TV_programme)

21-02-2023, 08:41 AM
Loved world of sport and the wrestling as a kid.
Big Daddy
Giant Haystacks
Mick McManus
Rollerball Rocco
Kendo Nagasaki
The mighty Quinn
The Royale Brothers
Chris Adama
Steve Walsh
Marty Jones

RIP Dickie

21-02-2023, 08:55 AM
Loved world of sport and the wrestling as a kid.
Big Daddy
Giant Haystacks
Mick McManus
Rollerball Rocco
Kendo Nagasaki
The mighty Quinn
The Royale Brothers
Chris Adama
Steve Walsh
Marty Jones

RIP DickieThe comedy genius that wad Les Kellet too.

21-02-2023, 03:21 PM
Was there not a faux pas from Dickie on it will be alright on the night when he had to say cup soccer.