View Full Version : How are folk feeling now?

19-02-2023, 01:42 PM
Trying to word this in a way that’s not condescending or confrontational because I’m not trying to wind anyone up but am genuinely curious as to folk’s thoughts on these types of phrases that were all over here during our awful run but have (as far as I can tell) been almost entirely absent while we’ve been winning (derby defeat aside).

If you recognise one of these as being how you felt at the time, has your opinion shifted?

- disconnected from the club
- too corporate
- too many loans
- Will Fish nowhere near good enough
- David Brent
- club rotten from top to bottom
- not renewing
- no strong leadership at the top

I am well aware that we've been here before this season - a good run was followed by a run so bad that pundits and fans expected Johnson to get the sack, so I'm not saying at all that anyone's opinion wasn't valid or justified based on what was happening at the time, I just genuinely want to know whether those opinions are still held by those that held them?

HarpOnHibee
19-02-2023, 01:51 PM
- Connected with the club
- Sound business management
- Sensible recruitment
- Will Fish to Man City for 70 million
- Elon Musk
- Club excelling from top to bottom
- 23/24 ST in the post
- True leadership at the top

19-02-2023, 01:52 PM
Most of the above are simply made better through winning more.

However, I felt/feel the disconnect thing certainly but that is improved by things such as the recent pods with Johnson, Kean and Kinsell. They aren't panacea's but they go a long way to involving the fans more and explaining the thought processes of our management.

But yeh, winning games definitely helps the most 😁

19-02-2023, 01:53 PM
My only opinion that has shifted is the sacking of LJ. I may feel like it again but I'm glad the club persevered for now. However, I still feel disconnected, I won't renew for the time being and I still feel for the moment, that the club is a bit of a cluster****** scattergun. Just saying how I feel and in my opinion only.

19-02-2023, 01:54 PM
My only opinion that has shifted is the sacking of LJ. I may feel like it again but I'm glad the club persevered fro now. However, I steel feel disconnected, I won't renew for the time being and I still feel for the moment, that the club is a bit of a cluster****** scattergun. Just saying how I feel and in my opinion only.

What is that makes you feel like that?

Trying to word this in a way that’s not condescending or confrontational because I’m not trying to wind anyone up but am genuinely curious as to folk’s thoughts on these types of phrases that were all over here during our awful run but have (as far as I can tell) been almost entirely absent while we’ve been winning (derby defeat aside).

If you recognise one of these as being how you felt at the time, has your opinion shifted?

- too corporate
- too many loans
- David Brent
- not renewing

I am well aware that we've been here before this season - a good run was followed by a run so bad that pundits and fans expected Johnson to get the sack, so I'm not saying at all that anyone's opinion wasn't valid or justified based on what was happening at the time, I just genuinely want to know whether those opinions are still held by those that held them?

I feel like a lot of the things you have listed above are still accurate.

As we saw yesterday, most of the teams in our league are absolutely honking. So even if you're bang average you can pick up a good few points. You can be absolute dug **** and still get 4th in our league.

I feel like a lot of the things you have listed above are still accurate.

As we saw yesterday, most of the teams in our league are absolutely honking. So even if you're bang average you can pick up a good few points. You can be absolute dug **** and still get 4th in our league.

What makes you say they're still accurate? What's it based on?

19-02-2023, 01:56 PM
What is that makes you feel like that?

I am finding it difficult to identify with the club re the team and the approach taken to buying players. Although this has improved slightly over the last month it is still weird.

19-02-2023, 01:59 PM
- too corporate
- too many loans
- David Brent
- not renewing

Agree with the ones in bold. Never felt any of the other ones.

I'm fine with loans if the players are decent and improve us. If they don't, don't bother bringing them in.

Rotten from top to bottom is too strong, but there are still huge issues behind the scenes. A few good results doesn't fix any of them.

Happy with LJ when we're picking up points, not so much when on huge, gash, winless runs.

Overall, things feel much better than in Dec / Jan. If the club continue to address the issues that a lot of fans have been highlighting, they will see the positivity return.

Will also add, that despite what you read on here about Hibs fans, the crowds at ER all season have been fantastic, even through the barren spells.

19-02-2023, 02:03 PM
We are in the land of milk and honey just now; things are wonderful. Obviously, the next time we lose I will want the board removed and the club sold.

19-02-2023, 02:04 PM

- too corporate
- too many loans
- David Brent
- not renewing

You just have to accept that some days you are the pigeon, and some days you are the statue... :wink:

19-02-2023, 02:24 PM

A few things. Too corporate - the fact behind the goals was removed and replaced with an alternative in the west stand that fans need to pay just to get access to. The bars look nice, but we should also have free access to some kind of bar for those that can't afford to pay.

David Brent - our manager talks absolute *****, we just don't focus on it as much when we win a couple games.

Too many loans - I can't remember there being too much criticism of this, but I'm not on here often. Most of the criticism I read was on the recruitment overall and I still think that's very valid. We knew we were losing our most valuable centre half all window (the club even came out and said as much early doors) and we spend the whole window farting about and then replace him with a crock that's just been punted by one of the worst teams in England's third tier.

Will Fish - he's done well recently and he deserves credit for that. But those games were against the dross in the league, so let's see how he does in the more challenging games.

Club rotten from top to bottom - that was always a bit of a drama queen comment for me, but the fact the son's owner remains head of recruitment is going to be an issue until either the recruitment drastically improves, or he is removed from the position.

19-02-2023, 02:33 PM
David Brent - our manager talks absolute *****, we just don't focus on it as much when we win a couple games.
:agree::agree::agree:

HarpOnHibee
19-02-2023, 02:38 PM
Will Fish - he's done well recently and he deserves credit for that. But those games were against the dross in the league, so let's see how he does in the more challenging games.

It's beating the dross in the league that has us in 4th and 5 points away from 3rd. Makes a refreshing change from only turning up for the few big games in the league.

19-02-2023, 02:39 PM
I’m more than happy to admit I’ve been proven wrong about Will Fish. Never thought he’d be good enough given he couldn’t get into a side shipping several goals every week. He’s come in and been very good so far.

19-02-2023, 02:44 PM
Far from convinced by Johnson. Those derby defeats were completely unacceptable, but beating them twice will go a long way to make up for it. And the absolute pish he spouts on a weekly basis annoys me more and more but credit where it is due and form has improved since.

Kensell can bolt. Says what people wants to hear. Didn't sack Johnson when he probably should have purely to save his own face. Luckily for him the upturn in form has worked out in his favour as there was a growing discontent.

19-02-2023, 02:49 PM
A few things. Too corporate - the fact behind the goals was removed and replaced with an alternative in the west stand that fans need to pay just to get access to. The bars look nice, but we should also have free access to some kind of bar for those that can't afford to pay.

Too many loans - I can't remember there being too much criticism of this, but I'm not on here often. Most of the criticism I read was on the recruitment overall and I still think that's very valid. We knew we were losing our most valuable centre half all window (the club even came out and said as much early doors) and we spend the whole window farting about and then replace him with a crock that's just been punted by one of the worst teams in England's third tier.

Club rotten from top to bottom - that was always a bit of a drama queen comment for me, but the fact the son's owner remains head of recruitment is going to be an issue until either the recruitment drastically improves, or he is removed from the position.

I don’t see WHY we should have free access to some kind of bar in the stadium. If you can afford it, give it to the club, if you can’t afford it, drink at home or in one of the many pubs outside.

‘Too corporate’… I’m afraid this ship has sailed. I’d love for football to be less commercial but we can’t compete without the ability to maximise income. And this has been working, the commercial tie ups benefit the club.

Johnson talks rubbish…yes he does, end of discussion :greengrin

The owners son doing the recruitment…some of the recruitment decisions have been proved more prescient than seemed likely at first. CJ and Fish being prime examples.

Everything feels better when it’s going right on the park. That’s how Ron will be judged and he knows that too.

19-02-2023, 02:51 PM
It's beating the dross in the league that has us in 4th and 5 points away from 3rd. Makes a refreshing change from only turning up for the few big games in the league.

Totally, and hopefully we can keep that going against Livingston. I suppose I just don't get too carried away either way, I wasn't hysterical when we were 7th/8th and I don't suddenly think we're great because we beat St Mirren and Killie. We've a long way to go IMO and we'll need to do major surgery on the squad yet again this summer.

Hibees1973
19-02-2023, 03:06 PM
The criticism aimed at Johnson for selecting Fish in the New Year derby, his first at the start of a game and McKirdy, was 100% justified. The cup performances this season have been demoralising and financially damaging. Under Ross & Lennon we were consistently in semi & cup finals.

Whether it was Johnson or Ron's son, some of the useless signings made over the last year or so have either left the club or been loaned out. There are still several more who have contributed nothing, for example Tavares and McKirdy that need to be moved on. It is also still unclear what is going to happen to several of these 'development' signings who have also been loaned out or have not made any appearances in the 1st team. I find it odd that the likes of Melkerson & Hauge, who I feel were development signings, were loaned out. Were these guys not signed for our coaching team to develop them ourselves. There is still a fair bit of mess to be cleared up which has been created by the recruitment team.

I will give Johnson credit for the last few games which has enabled us to climb the table. Well done.

There are some acid tests coming up, Livi away, the OF and Hearts which is going to define if we will be in the top 6 and potentially challenging for a European place.

At present I would just settle for a place in the top 6. After the split it will become clearer what our ambitions really are for the end of the season.

leftpeg
19-02-2023, 03:06 PM
Totally, and hopefully we can keep that going against Livingston. I suppose I just don't get too carried away either way, I wasn't hysterical when we were 7th/8th and I don't suddenly think we're great because we beat St Mirren and Killie. We've a long way to go IMO and we'll need to do major surgery on the squad yet again this summer.Definitely this.
I never thought we would be as bad as last season,but Ross County at home was a new low for me.
Yet there have been games I've enjoyed a lot more than last season.
I'll definitely renew our season tickets and hopefully most fans feel the same.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

19-02-2023, 03:10 PM
I’m more than happy to admit I’ve been proven wrong about Will Fish. Never thought he’d be good enough given he couldn’t get into a side shipping several goals every week. He’s come in and been very good so far.

Agree with this. Sometimes it’s as simple as a player just getting a chance in their actual position.

19-02-2023, 03:15 PM
Is there anything in the world more fickle than football fans? It's got to be bad for our health.

19-02-2023, 03:23 PM
Far from convinced by Johnson. Those derby defeats were completely unacceptable, but beating them twice will go a long way to make up for it. And the absolute pish he spouts on a weekly basis annoys me more and more but credit where it is due and form has improved since.

Kensell can bolt. Says what people wants to hear. Didn't sack Johnson when he probably should have purely to save his own face. Luckily for him the upturn in form has worked out in his favour as there was a growing discontent.

2 things - kensell would not have the singular say on what we do with a manager

Also, now it's been proven a good choice to stick with Lee it's just pure luck for Ben?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

19-02-2023, 03:27 PM
The David Brent chat is dire.

19-02-2023, 03:27 PM

- too corporate
- too many loans
- David Brent
- not renewing

No change here 😁

19-02-2023, 03:35 PM

Agreed, absolutely honking patter.

19-02-2023, 03:44 PM

Too corporate? That's some criticism. We're hardly Man Utd.

All the upgraded hospitality suites are sold out and bringing in much needed revenue to help close the financial gap with Hearts and Aberdeen. As have the many new partnerships and sponsorship deals. The current board can be criticised for a number of things but this I find ridiculous. Behind the Goal was gash. In recent years it needed a lot of investment and was not being used by anything like the number of fans recently. Service was poor, the product awful and the venue itself tired. It was allowed to get into a poor state by the previous board. The upgrades to the West Stand facilities are superb and the success will hopefully see something similar in the North, rumours are by next season. People need to remember that it is VERY difficult to make any profit from a regular, free to enter bar, that is only open for a few hours 20 time a year.

As for the David Brent stuff.....shan patter!

Nutmegged
19-02-2023, 03:48 PM
I think we were putting square pegs in round holes with a few players and the team was just so unbalanced, McGeady has been a big boost and we've seen how important Nisbet's goals are, can only imagine if he was around to score abothr5 8-10 in tjat first half of the season where we might've been.

Fish playing in a more natural position finally looks like a Man Utd prospect.

With Rangers and then Celtic in the next 3 games as well as a trip to Livingston I think it's too early to get ahead of ourselves, I do think we'll finish in the top six and if that happens I'd be disappointed to not land in a European spot.

timewilltell
19-02-2023, 03:56 PM
I am finding it difficult to identify with the club re the team and the approach taken to buying players. Although this has improved slightly over the last month it is still weird.

What does that even mean? :rolleyes:

19-02-2023, 04:02 PM
I do laugh at folk thinking Johnson is the one talking *****, and us fans don't.

David Brent chat utterly chronic. Interesting way to show support for Hibernian. Insult the manager and things he says. 10/10.

19-02-2023, 04:16 PM

Yep tortuous patter.

HarpOnHibee
19-02-2023, 04:17 PM
I do laugh at folk thinking Johnson is the one talking *****, and us fans don't.

David Brent chat utterly chronic. Interesting way to show support for Hibernian. Insult the manager and things he says. 10/10.

He does talk *****. But no more so than any other manager. When the team is winning games and getting up the table, the manager earns the right to talk *****.

19-02-2023, 04:18 PM
The criticism aimed at Johnson for selecting Fish in the New Year derby, his first at the start of a game and McKirdy, was 100% justified. The cup performances this season have been demoralising and financially damaging. Under Ross & Lennon we were consistently in semi & cup finals.

Whether it was Johnson or Ron's son, some of the useless signings made over the last year or so have either left the club or been loaned out. There are still several more who have contributed nothing, for example Tavares and McKirdy that need to be moved on. It is also still unclear what is going to happen to several of these 'development' signings who have also been loaned out or have not made any appearances in the 1st team. I find it odd that the likes of Melkerson & Hauge, who I feel were development signings, were loaned out. Were these guys not signed for our coaching team to develop them ourselves. There is still a fair bit of mess to be cleared up which has been created by the recruitment team.

I will give Johnson credit for the last few games which has enabled us to climb the table. Well done.

There are some acid tests coming up, Livi away, the OF and Hearts which is going to define if we will be in the top 6 and potentially challenging for a European place.

At present I would just settle for a place in the top 6. After the split it will become clearer what our ambitions really are for the end of the season.

Not good enough for them, but suddenly just making a challenge at 4th place is?

19-02-2023, 04:19 PM
I never quite get the 'disconnect from the club' bit. In the end the fans are the club, we are the one constant and for so long as that is the case no matter what routes owners, CEO's, recruitment teams or anybody else for that matter takes the club down we are what makes it the entity it is ... no fans no club.

Its in that context I do my moaning and griping and to a degree what gives me the absolute right to do it, the idea that I would withdraw my support from Hibs because I was in the huff about the way an owner chooses to run it or because it wasn't winning on the pitch is utterly foreign to me. I'm not saying it could never happen, but it would take a hell of a lot more than a ***** recruitment policy.

There are so many things you can pick up on if you have a mind to and from the point of view that we all want the best for the club everybody has a right to air their grievances or ideas for the club, whether folk share their point of view is another matter of course :greengrin

For example. Further up the thread somebody asked why fans should expect to have a bar in the stadium with free access. The answer to that question can be found at the Edinburgh City social club every time Hibs are at home, the place is absolutely rammed with Hibs fans in a bar that is literally less than 5 minutes walk from the stadium ... why Hibs feel the money they are spending is better in their pocket than ours is a bit baffling to be honest.
Not everybody can afford the £100 or whatever to book a place in the new hospitality areas and I have always been of the opinion that a bar in the stadium fans can use very much helps to foster that connection between club and fans folk are always looking to improve ... it's something we need IMO.

19-02-2023, 04:20 PM

Couldn't agree more. Lazy pathetic patter. Don't mind at all how he communicates. Genuinely sounds like he enjoys being our manager.

19-02-2023, 04:23 PM
Guardedly optimistic is as positive as I can be at this stage in the season.

Crunchie
19-02-2023, 04:26 PM

:agree: No Hibernian manager/player should ever take the abuse or name calling by so called supporters of the club. Some of the stuff on the LJ thread is brutal patter.

19-02-2023, 04:44 PM
I still feel pretty disconnected from the club and I'm still in two minds about renewing my ST.

Reading between the lines I don't think the ST campaign is too far away so I'll see how I feel in a week or 3.

I can't even specify why I feel disconnected and there is no point in trying to explain because it's what I feel, not what others do so you either get it or you don't.

19-02-2023, 04:47 PM
:agree: No Hibernian manager/player should ever take the abuse or name calling by so called supporters of the club. Some of the stuff on the LJ thread is brutal patter.

19-02-2023, 04:47 PM
The answer is I don’t know. We recruited better in the winter and have seen positive results since.

However we still have a lot of dead wood and it’s a problem. Melkersen isn’t getting a game on loan so we can probably expect him back in the summer picking up a wage when he’s far short of the level required, rinse and repeat for Tavares, Tait, Mackay, Hauge, and a few more.

We also somehow are lacking depth in key areas.

I do feel a bit better about LJ again after being mostly defensive of him, but he can’t afford another bad run like the one he had.

I still despise things like the bronze/silver/gold tickets. Can’t ever see myself being accepting of that.

I’d need to see long term lasting benefit of all the commerciql
upgrades because if we go back to being wasteful or slipping down the league it’ll show a lack of mid to long term plan.

19-02-2023, 05:41 PM
Looks like Hibs are launching next years season tickets tomorrow with the Within Us All campaign on Twitter.

I hope they have listened to fans and made the changes to FF lower with safe standing.

I believe the next phase is hospitality in FF stand also after the sold out success of the West Stand hospitality.

Regarding the team..I want consistency and last few weeks are exactly what should be happening more often than not.

Loans players are doing well but wi hope we have a plan for when they leave in summer.

I also think a derby result win is needed in next derby or if we make top 6 final derby. Would give LJ some credit.

Considering the mess we were in last few weeks we have improved and look more together without Porto, Rocky and Newell…

Johnson’s teams have been know for his winning or losing streaks and I hope we can be more consistent as yesterday I was impressed and made it an enjoyable game to watch.

19-02-2023, 05:47 PM
Looks like Hibs are launching next years season tickets tomorrow with the Within Us All campaign on Twitter.

I hope they have listened to fans and made the changes to FF lower with safe standing.

I believe the next phase is hospitality in FF stand also after the sold out success of the West Stand hospitality.

Regarding the team..I want consistency and last few weeks are exactly what should be happening more often than not.

Loans players are doing well but wi hope we have a plan for when they leave in summer.

I also think a derby result win is needed in next derby or if we make top 6 final derby. Would give LJ some credit.

Considering the mess we were in last few weeks we have improved and look more together without Porto, Rocky and Newell…

Johnson’s teams have been know for his winning or losing streaks and I hope we can be more consistent as yesterday I was impressed and made it an enjoyable game to watch.

Yesterday being the first match Newell missed.

He played 90 at Motherwell, we won.
90 vs United, got an assist, we drew
90 vs Aberdeen, 2 assists, we won
90 vs Ross County, we got robbed by the ref
70 vs St Mirren, we won

He was injured yesterday I assume. Not really sure Newell missing is the reason for our good form, are you?

We'd have heard by now I think if safe standing or moving the singing section was happening. They'd have had to contact current FF lower ST holders to speak to them at the very least.

19-02-2023, 05:51 PM

Love how you criticise the manager for talking crap and then go on to say that the son's owner is head of recruitment. :hilarious

19-02-2023, 06:03 PM

- too corporate
- too many loans
- David Brent
- not renewing

Apart from the not renewing line, I've never felt any of those things.

My connection to the club has never changed, I love Hibs and always will regardless of the level of success we achieve.

I don't know what too corporate means.

Our loans have been excellent.

Will Fish was my MoM yesterday.

I understand what the manager says, even if he doesn't speak in tired clichés and uses words and expressions that some folk don't seem to grasp.

Rotten from top to bottom is as dramatic and inaccurate an analogy as I can think of. It's utter nonsense.

I live in York.

How can there be no strong leadership if they're making all these changes and decisions that they're being criticised for?

19-02-2023, 06:18 PM

Stuff answering the opening post if you are gonna follow up with the third degree. I couldn’t take the pressure.
Tell Ben I still want him gone though. :greengrin

19-02-2023, 06:20 PM
Stuff answering this the opening post you are gonna follow up with the third degree. I couldn’t take the pressure.
Tell Ben I still want him gone though. :greengrin

Why’s that? :greengrin

19-02-2023, 06:28 PM
Why’s that? :greengrin

Garymcl
19-02-2023, 06:29 PM
Can honestly say I was consistent in saying LJ must be given time which I think should be a given for any manager but he has had to deal with shocking injuries to key players nearly all season that in itself was a reason for being patient it’s not been a roller coaster of a season without doubt but I genuinely have confidence in our manager and think IF we employ a good DOF all will be fine let’s just keep this positive mood going and you never know we could be heading off to another few trips to European piss ups keep the faith first and foremost next Livi away get the tickets snapped up and turn Almondvale a sea of green and white ggtth

19-02-2023, 06:36 PM
I’d have happily seen Johnson go after the derbies but was very “meh” about it.

Delighted he’s turned it around for now. Hopefully keep the upwards trajectory going and finish the season strongly. A derby double would fantastic, especially if it meant beating them to third.

I’d argue that if Johnson were to nick third place it would be grounds for our best ever third place finish, if you consider where we’ve been this season.

19-02-2023, 06:45 PM
*- Past performance of Hibernian Eurobonds is no indicator of future performance. The relative value of Hibs points against other teams' can go up and not just down. Jambos should take independent advice before investing their hopes.

19-02-2023, 07:05 PM
Such is life in the world of football I guess, overreaction abound when things are going good or bad.

Thankfully the club kept a cooler head at our lower ebb and didn't sack LJ and leave looking for new management and the subsequent transition period.

19-02-2023, 07:15 PM
Still feel disconnected, probably started under Ross where I simply didn’t enjoy the football even when we finished 3rd and the connection hasn’t come back. Probably as much to do with things outwith Hibs, like having a young family and being time poor as a result, as it is for football reasons.

I’ve definitely become more of a customer than a fan as the years have gone on and football has become less important than it once was. I’m desperate to buy into an upward trajectory from the ground up, like Mowbray & the golden generation, culminating in Collins’ cup win. Or Stubbs team, culminating in that 6 months under Lennon. That’s why I’m always banging on about giving youth a chance and the current U19 team. It never felt like we were building anything special under Ross, even when we finished 3rd. Same with the upturn in this season. The league the last few years is more about being less average than all the other teams to finish 3rd, rather than looking back fondly on a successful season or building any real foundations. Case in point, I look back at the season in 4th with a lot of fondness, the 3rd under Ross, not a great deal of fondness.

I will acknowledge that I’m more positive for this season since January. Moving players on and the youngsters beginning to feature has peaked my interest, more so than the upturn in results and recruitment looking a lot more sensible, but very early days.

Think the nature of Scottish football, and particularly Hibs. Where it’s a short term existence. Finally build a bit of success and the team then breaks up and it’s back to transition and mediocrity before another fleeting period of success.

19-02-2023, 07:37 PM
Im enjoying the football and looking forward eagerly to the next time Hibs play. Its half the battle when you have that sense of anticipation rather than the dread and feeling like you're having to drag yourself along to the games.

Feel we're on the right path and while there will be a few wobbles along the way, I'm quite confident the restructure behind the scenes at East Mains when it comes, along with the action taken to reduce the squad while adding a couple of quality additions will be hugely positive for the club.

Crunchie
19-02-2023, 07:49 PM
Apart from the not renewing line, I've never felt any of those things.

My connection to the club has never changed, I love Hibs and always will regardless of the level of success we achieve.

I don't know what too corporate means.

Our loans have been excellent.

Will Fish was my MoM yesterday.

I understand what the manager says, even if he doesn't speak in tired clichés and uses words and expressions that some folk don't seem to grasp.

Rotten from top to bottom is as dramatic and inaccurate an analogy as I can think of. It's utter nonsense.

I live in York.

How can there be no strong leadership if they're making all these changes and decisions that they're being criticised for?
Cracking post and I agree with everything you say. I don't live in York though :agree:

19-02-2023, 07:56 PM
Cracking post and I agree with everything you say. I don't live in York though :agree:

I also don’t live in York and like the post.

Stonewall
19-02-2023, 08:16 PM
I also don’t live in York and like the post.

I don't live in York either although I did for a while.

Don't really have a view on the post.

Donegal Hibby
19-02-2023, 08:22 PM
As a Hibs fan I never feel disconnected to our club even when things are going badly , they are to much apart of my life to feel like that .

I don't really know what being too corporate means to be honest.

I don't mind having a lot of players on loan specially if they are good players and improve our team .

Will Fish started off poorly and I wasn't sure about him though was willing to give him time to settle in and he's looked a quality signing since . Think us Hibs fans should be more patient with new players . Prime example of this is ' Youan , Campbell and Fish .

Calling our manager ' David Brent ' is something I think is what hertz fans would say , like Hibsing it and there is no need for it from our own supporters just like saying he's a slaver and so on . Personally think the guy talks as well as any other manager and better than some like Martindale , McInnes who some of our fans wanted as our new manager, he also comes across as a decent enough guy .

Don't believe our clubs rotten from top to bottom at all , we undoubtedly have had problems though there's alot to be positive about fantastic stadium , training facilities some excellent players and a lot of good young player's coming through as well .

Live in Donegal .

I don't believe that Ron Gordon , Ben kensell and the Hibs board haven't strong leadership though do think they have made mistake's and i found it cause for optimism that Johnson and Kinsell admitted they had and I am hopeful we will now improve the situation with a good DOF . GGTTH 🇳🇬

19-02-2023, 08:29 PM
Disconnect from the club ? No.
A feeling that the current owners don’t really understand the fans relationship with the club. Yes.

19-02-2023, 08:30 PM
On some of the points in the OP.

Not renewing was never an issue for me, always do.

Being disconnected, there was an element of that. Moments like the goal at St Mirren and celebrations that followed start to fix that. Can’t remember a goal away to St Mirren sparking that kind of celebration. Liked it.

Never been fussed about loans as long as the player is good and contributes. Would rather have a good player for a short time than an average one for longer. Too early to consider any of the loan players a proper success for me. We have Youan and Fish playing well just now, Youan since the World Cup really, but the first half of the season where we had little from them can’t be ignored. Need the current form to continue between now and end of the season. Both currently looking like good players though.

Bottom line I’m happier because we’re winning games at the moment. That’s all we need to do for me to be happy(ish) really.

Paulie Walnuts
19-02-2023, 08:32 PM
I still feel pretty disconnected from the club and I'm still in two minds about renewing my ST.

Reading between the lines I don't think the ST campaign is too far away so I'll see how I feel in a week or 3.

I can't even specify why I feel disconnected and there is no point in trying to explain because it's what I feel, not what others do so you either get it or you don't.

Same here. Like you I can’t even specify why but I really can’t be arsed with Hibs just now. Not enjoyed anything much about us since RG came in.

I’ve said it before on here but the problem for me is the wins are just all a bit ‘meh’ to me just now (even if I know that shouldn’t be the case) but I still get annoyed by the defeats. It’s not really ideal so I’m probably packing it in in the summer.

19-02-2023, 08:53 PM

- too corporate
- too many loans
- David Brent
- not renewing

As someone that backed Johnson from the start I was not one to leap on the bandwagon of negativity as soon as we hit a rocky patch. That said we had a pretty horrific run and I was starting to harbour some doubts, even if the majority of games on that run the team still played pretty well.
It would be pretty nonsensical to try and make out that all is perfect at our football club and some of the criticism has had justification - but in the midst of a bad run that criticism became amplified - almost to the point of hysteria in some quarters. No surprises really - this is FOOTBALL we are talkiing about!
Here's my take on the points you raised:

- disconnected from the club - I have honestly never really felt this way and not really sure what fans mean by it.
- too corporate - Once again I don't feel this way. Leane Dempster was a great COE for Hibs but I thought she was a bit weak in a commercial respect - good example being the two seasons we had no commercial shirt sponsor. The club managed to turn this into something of a positive by supporting the Community Foundation and NHS respectively over two seasons, but lets face it - this ammounted to lost revenue running into 6 figure sums. Needed improvement and glad to see evidence of that.
- too many loans - Loans are part of the modern game and we should be using them to our advantage. Criticism of our recruitment has sometimes been justified in terms of signing too many "project" players for example. Think we have used the loan system quite well though - both to supplement the squad and to get game time for developing talents.
- Will Fish - Has demonstrated just how easy it can be to jump to wrong conclusions re a player's abilities. Don't think he'll ever be a full back and blame LJ more for his gaffe at Tynie as he played him at rightback where he looked a "Fish out of water" (:duck:). Has looked very good in central defence since Porto's departure though - doing the simple things very well such that, if anything, we've actually looked a wee bit more solid in that department over the last few games!
- David Brent - show me a football manager that doesn't talk in cliches! OK LJ sometimes takes this to almost comical heights - but if he's getting his message across in the dressing room such that the players do his talking on the field of play then I couldn't give a monkey's.
- club rotten from top to bottom - Nonsense. There have been changes at the club under the Gordons and some mistakes have been made along the way. I see no evidence of corruption or foul play that would justify this kind of smear though.
- not renewing - I didn't get a ST this season but that was to do with cash flow. Have still been to plenty of matches though. Will review the situation once again in the near future and right now there's a great chance I'll get another ST.
- no strong leadership at the top. Big Ron was a bit quiet for the most part over the past year, but now we know this has most likely been down to health issues. Best wishes to RG - I truly hope he makes a full and speedy recovery. In the meantime I think some that have been shouting NEPOTISM from the rooftops re Ian Gordon's involvement with the club, should pause for thought and consider there may have been a large element of contingency and succession planning in his appointment.

Keepthefaith
19-02-2023, 08:55 PM
As a Hibs fan I never feel disconnected to our club even when things are going badly , they are to much apart of my life to feel like that .

I don't really know what being too corporate means to be honest.

I don't mind having a lot of players on loan specially if they are good players and improve our team .

Will Fish started off poorly and I wasn't sure about him though was willing to give him time to settle in and he's looked a quality signing since . Think us Hibs fans should be more patient with new players . Prime example of this is ' Youan , Campbell and Fish .

Calling our manager ' David Brent ' is something I think is what hertz fans would say , like Hibsing it and there is no need for it from our own supporters just like saying he's a slaver and so on . Personally think the guy talks as well as any other manager and better than some like Martindale , McInnes who some of our fans wanted as our new manager, he also comes across as a decent enough guy .

Don't believe our clubs rotten from top to bottom at all , we undoubtedly have had problems though there's alot to be positive about fantastic stadium , training facilities some excellent players and a lot of good young player's coming through as well .

Live in Donegal .

I don't believe that Ron Gordon , Ben kensell and the Hibs board haven't strong leadership though do think they have made mistake's and i found it cause for optimism that Johnson and Kinsell admitted they had and I am hopeful we will now improve the situation with a good DOF . GGTTH 🇳🇬

this reflects my views too - we all make mistakes in our jobs, why are those running Hibs not allowed to make any? the important part is admitting them and learning from them, which is what it looks like we're doing.

there's a section of our fanbase who will never want to admit their own mistakes and pounce on any chance to be negative- so many wanted rid of Campbell and Youan for instance. I also believe that folk think there's some correlation between us improving corporate facilities and poor form... yet those folk also harp on how we need to be competing with hearts and Aberdeen and their's no long term strategy. improving income sources IS part of the long term strategy to help us compete!

for me, the style of play is really important. this was an area of criticism I couldn't argue against too much as there wasn't enough pressing / attacking / goals as Lee promised. however I do feel the tide is turning, we're good to watch and getting better each game. point in fact was one break way on Saturday led by Youan had another 5 Hibs players busting a gut to get up in attack with him. I was bored to tears at times with Ross, and he had Boyle to help him out of a hole.

so yeah, feeling much more positive, only 5 points behind that mob and with players coming back from injury it could be a good end to the season. if only we had Boyle coming back, what a cracking finale it could be!

19-02-2023, 09:48 PM
You know, it's threads like this one that that have me yearning for the days when the only sign you got of somebody packing it in was the one person gap on the terraces where they used to be, a gap that was only noticed by the folk they used to go to games with and the £5 missing from the club's coffers.

In all my years following Hibs I never heard anybody say 'am no goin' back coz I feel disconnected from the club' until relatively recently .... I'm not trying to be disrespectful to anybody but in reality what does it even mean?

I mean, if you don't like the quality of football then say that.

If you don't like the signings we are making say that.

If the lack of good results are the problem then fine, but say that.

If the truth is that you have simply fallen out of love with football or the thought of going to games is too much to bother with any more and you would rather play golf or go bird watching then that's a shame, but say that.

But FFS .... 'disconnect' .... what do you want, a cuddle from the owner when you arrive at the stadium, a birthday card from the manager, your personal opinion asked before the club decide to do any of the things any modern football club is doing like subscription hospitality areas or big screens?

Disconnect .... jeezo.

19-02-2023, 11:08 PM
I don't get the disconnected thing either. Sounds to me like a David Brent way of someone saying they're unhappy. Probably started from somebody's phone auto-correcting "discontented".

19-02-2023, 11:10 PM
You know, it's threads like this one that that have me yearning for the days when the only sign you got of somebody packing it in was the one person gap on the terraces where they used to be, a gap that was only noticed by the folk they used to go to games with and the £5 missing from the club's coffers.

In all my years following Hibs I never heard anybody say 'am no goin' back coz I feel disconnected from the club' until relatively recently .... I'm not trying to be disrespectful to anybody but in reality what does it even mean?

If the truth is that you have simply fallen out of love with football or the thought of going to games is too much to bother with any more and you would rather play golf or go bird watching then that's a shame, but say that.

But FFS .... 'disconnect' .... what do you want, a cuddle from the owner when you arrive at the stadium, a birthday card from the manager, your personal opinion asked before the club decide to do any of the things any modern football club is doing like subscription hospitality areas or big screens?

Disconnect .... jeezo.

👍

20-02-2023, 06:25 AM

Disconnect .... jeezo.

Brilliant :greengrin

Crunchie
20-02-2023, 06:30 AM

Disconnect .... jeezo.
A great post :agree:

20-02-2023, 07:37 AM

Disconnect .... jeezo.

20-02-2023, 08:04 AM
The answer is I don’t know. We recruited better in the winter and have seen positive results since.

However we still have a lot of dead wood and it’s a problem. Melkersen isn’t getting a game on loan so we can probably expect him back in the summer picking up a wage when he’s far short of the level required, rinse and repeat for Tavares, Tait, Mackay, Hauge, and a few more.

We also somehow are lacking depth in key areas.

I do feel a bit better about LJ again after being mostly defensive of him, but he can’t afford another bad run like the one he had.

I still despise things like the bronze/silver/gold tickets. Can’t ever see myself being accepting of that.

I’d need to see long term lasting benefit of all the commerciql
upgrades because if we go back to being wasteful or slipping down the league it’ll show a lack of mid to long term plan.

I can't understand this. At every other entertainment venue it is perfectly normal to pay according to where you are seated.

Why should I pay the same to sit behind the goals as the person with a perfect view on the half way line does?

20-02-2023, 08:10 AM
I can't understand this. At every other entertainment venue it is perfectly normal to pay according to where you are seated.

Why should I pay the same to sit behind the goals as the person with a perfect view on the half way line does?

I think you're entirely right. Selfishly however, I've sat almost bang centre of the East since it was built and didn't have to pay extra until recently. Coincidentally, that coincided with a downturn in me going to the games anyway so I'm paying a premium for a seat I hardly use (and why I'd have liked the online streams to stay as an option).

Are CatB STs still a thing?

20-02-2023, 08:14 AM

Disconnect .... jeezo.

And if fans don’t feel any of these things, and maybe feel a wee bit disconnected from the club, they can say that instead. Which they did!!

I remember getting birthday cards form the club as a kid, I loved it and it made me feel special. Bite me.

20-02-2023, 08:20 AM
I think you're entirely right. Selfishly however, I've sat almost bang centre of the East since it was built and didn't have to pay extra until recently. Coincidentally, that coincided with a downturn in me going to the games anyway so I'm paying a premium for a seat I hardly use (and why I'd have liked the online streams to stay as an option).

Are CatB STs still a thing?

That makes me wonder how much money the previous regime missed out on...

20-02-2023, 08:27 AM
That makes me wonder how much money the previous regime missed out on...

Indeed, us fans should be bled dry at every opportunity at the earliest. :agree:

Paulie Walnuts
20-02-2023, 08:32 AM
Indeed, us fans should be bled dry at every opportunity at the earliest. :agree:

I think this is what’s got me losing interest in Hibs a bit just now.

I used to enjoy going to hospitality every season. Now they’ve hiked the prices up to a ridiculous level that I simply wouldn’t pay, so one of my pleasures of watching Hibs is gone. I used to sit bang in the middle of the East. Now if I want to sit there I have to pay significantly more to do that etc.

I completely get that as a business it makes sense to do these things but they impact me negatively and make me less inclined to keep going.

20-02-2023, 08:43 AM
I used to do hospitality twice a season. Once at Xmas and once around my birthday.

Too expensive now. Gonna try Gouchos and make use of the 25% discount instead in future.

20-02-2023, 08:48 AM
I used to do hospitality twice a season. Once at Xmas and once around my birthday.

Too expensive now. Gonna try Gouchos and make use of the 25% discount instead in future.

Agree more costly however think significantly improved in my experience

20-02-2023, 08:49 AM
Disconnected 😂

Its a football club not your wife

20-02-2023, 09:25 AM
Agree more costly however think significantly improved in my experience

And I think it's full every week.

20-02-2023, 09:51 AM
And I think it's full every week.

Which is great for the club and those who can afford it.

Previously when I went, I met players after the game along with folk like George Craig, Leanne Dempster, Rod Petrie....

You could have a wee chat about the game and you know, it kinda felt like a wee connection with the club :duck:

Paulie Walnuts
20-02-2023, 09:57 AM
Which is great for the club and those who can afford it.

Previously when I went, I met players after the game along with folk like George Craig, Leanne Dempster, Rod Petrie....

You could have a wee chat about the game and you know, it kinda felt like a wee connection with the club :duck:

Just cause it’s full every week it doesn’t mean folk need to be happy about it.

I like to go and eat at certain restaurants. If they put their prices up by a huge amount I probably wouldn’t go anymore but they might still manage to pack the place out every service. I’m still allowed to be disappointed they done it though, much the same as folk can be disappointed that Hibs have chosen what feels like a much more corporate route to go down.

I can now no longer justify hospitality a couple times a season and I’m toiling to even justify a season ticket in the middle of the east when there’s cheaper areas. That’s great for Hibs if it means more money but it’s not great for me. I’m not sure how folk can’t see how a ‘disconnect’ can occur in these sort of situations.

20-02-2023, 10:05 AM

I like to go and eat at certain restaurants. If they put their prices up by a huge amount I probably wouldn’t go anymore but they might still manage to pack the place out every service. I’m still allowed to be disappointed they done it though, much the same as folk can be disappointed that Hibs have chosen what feels like a much more corporate route to go down.

Your restaurant analogy would make sense if the restaurant hadn’t changed at all. The hospitality setting is better, the service is better and most importantly the food is better. To improve your restaurant analogy - a restaurant you used to go to has closed down and now a better one has opened in its place with new chefs, new hosts and a complete refurbishment of the dining room.

20-02-2023, 10:06 AM

I can now no longer justify hospitality a couple times a season and I’m toiling to even justify a season ticket in the middle of the east when there’s cheaper areas. That’s great for Hibs if it means more money but it’s not great for me. I’m not sure how folk can’t see how a ‘disconnect’ can occur in these sort of situations.

I was never one for hospitality or the like but there are other little things that just feel to me like the club don't really 'get' a lot of fans now and that leads to a disconnect, for me.

Someone like Sue McLernon not meriting any recognition after leaving the club with decades of service under her belt or there being no game day tribute or acknowledgment when Tom McNiven passed away but we had a flowery tribute to Prince Philip and a minutes applause for Walter Smith (no disrespect to the latter, a good servant to Scottish football but nothing to do with Hibs). I also didn't like the change to player sponsorship that priced families and the like out who had been doing it for years. Even more so because the replacement has hardly been a roaring success.

As I said earlier in the thread I'm only talking for myself. If other people feel that these things don't matter or they don't care about them then that's their view and they are entitled to that opinion. As I'm entitled to mine and you are entitled to yours. I feel how I feel and if others don't get that then fine, it's not going to change what I think though.

20-02-2023, 10:24 AM
I was never one for hospitality or the like but there are other little things that just feel to me like the club don't really 'get' a lot of fans now and that leads to a disconnect, for me.

Someone like Sue McLernon not meriting any recognition after leaving the club with decades of service under her belt or there being no game day tribute or acknowledgment when Tom McNiven passed away but we had a flowery tribute to Prince Philip and a minutes applause for Walter Smith (no disrespect to the latter, a good servant to Scottish football but nothing to do with Hibs). I also didn't like the change to player sponsorship that priced families and the like out who had been doing it for years. Even more so because the replacement has hardly been a roaring success.

As I said earlier in the thread I'm only talking for myself. If other people feel that these things don't matter or they don't care about them then that's their view and they are entitled to that opinion. As I'm entitled to mine and you are entitled to yours. I feel how I feel and if others don't get that then fine, it's not going to change what I think though.

Spot on!

53 years supporting Hibs and even in the dark days of the AM tenure, I could relate to the players on the pitch and the effort they were putting in. If folk want to think there is no 'disconnect' then so be it! It is my opinion and right now, I feel very little for a club I loved and this is due to recent years of mismanagement and a horrendous on field product with very few players I can identify or connect with in terms of effort. So, maybe you can view my disconnect through love, product and players - if you like!

Garymcl
20-02-2023, 10:44 AM
The one thing really got me was the lack of acknowledgement of the great service of Tom Mcniven when we talk of statues etc we think of obviously greats like Pat Stanton which I don’t disagree with but Tom was probably one of the greatest servants to our club I genuinely don’t remember much made of his service when he was alive or of his passing great man

20-02-2023, 10:54 AM
The last thing you can have a go at Hibs for is the Hospitality. At all levels its improved massively. But you can't improve the product without paying for it.

I still can't take to Lee Johnson, that's a personal thing but as long as he keeps winning enough games I've no issue with him staying. You don't have to like the manager to support the club.

The bottom line is when the team is winning no one really cares about the other stuff. I'll be disconnected again when we go on a losing streak.

Paulie Walnuts
20-02-2023, 10:56 AM
Your restaurant analogy would make sense if the restaurant hadn’t changed at all. The hospitality setting is better, the service is better and most importantly the food is better. To improve your restaurant analogy - a restaurant you used to go to has closed down and now a better one has opened in its place with new chefs, new hosts and a complete refurbishment of the dining room.

It’s the same ‘restaurant’ run by the same company at Easter Road so it’s a refurb rather than a closed down and something completely new coming in really. Regardless though, the analogy still works. I can be disappointed that the old restaurant shut down, even if they refurbed the place and in theory made it better but more pricey.

HarpOnHibee
20-02-2023, 10:58 AM
Disconnected 😂

Its a football club not your wife

Exactly. Wives come and go. Your football club is for life.

20-02-2023, 11:00 AM

You can’t say you agree with the principle then tell us the club bleed fans dry.

Which one is it?

20-02-2023, 11:41 AM

😁

Paulie Walnuts
20-02-2023, 11:44 AM
The last thing you can have a go at Hibs for is the Hospitality. At all levels its improved massively. But you can't improve the product without paying for it.

To be fair I don’t think many folk would argue with that. It doesn’t change the fact that it’s made some folks experience of watching Hibs less enjoyable though.

I used to go at least once often twice a season. Was two of my favourite days out of the year. Now I just couldn’t justify it, so it’s made my experience of watching Hibs poorer. It’ll be the same when we inevitably get to the point of pricing people out of certain areas of the stadium with the pricing structure we’ve introduced. Again, you can’t blame Hibs for it, but when I inevitably end up having to leave my seat because it’ll inevitably become a ‘premium seat’ with a premium price tag then my experience watching Hibs will again be poorer for it when I’m sat in a ***** seat behind the goals.

20-02-2023, 11:52 AM
To be fair I don’t think many folk would argue with that. It doesn’t change the fact that it’s made some folks experience of watching Hibs less enjoyable though.

I used to go at least once often twice a season. Was two of my favourite days out of the year. Now I just couldn’t justify it, so it’s made my experience of watching Hibs poorer. It’ll be the same when we inevitably get to the point of pricing people out of certain areas of the stadium with the pricing structure we’ve introduced. Again, you can’t blame Hibs for it, but when I inevitably end up having to leave my seat because it’ll inevitably become a ‘premium seat’ with a premium price tag then my experience watching Hibs will again be poorer for it when I’m sat in a ***** seat behind the goals.

I’m in the same boat as you in terms of the hospitality but I think you’re making too big a deal of it.

Me and my mates can’t justify it any more so we’ll just get a good day out going for a scran somewhere close by before going to the game. Hospitality better but can’t always get what you want.

When you look at the increased costs for the business, energy costs in particular then it’s lucky we got our act together when we did or we could be in bother. If that means disappointing a few folk like us then so be it.

Paulie Walnuts
20-02-2023, 12:00 PM
I’m in the same boat as you in terms of the hospitality but I think you’re making too big a deal of it.

Me and my mates can’t justify it any more so we’ll just get a good day out going for a scran somewhere close by before going to the game. Hospitality better but can’t always get what you want.

When you look at the increased costs for the business, energy costs in particular then it’s lucky we got our act together when we did or we could be in bother. If that means disappointing a few folk like us then so be it.

To be fair, it’s down to each individual how theyre feeling about things so I’m not sure you can say I’m making too big a deal of something. If two days at hospitality were two of the best days out of the year then that’s for me to decide how much poorer my Hibs supporting life is because of it, not anybody else.

As I said, I get why Hibs are doing it. It doesn’t mean it can’t make peoples Hibs supporting life worse for it though.

20-02-2023, 12:13 PM
To be fair, it’s down to each individual how theyre feeling about things so I’m not sure you can say I’m making too big a deal of something. If two days at hospitality were two of the best days out of the year then that’s for me to decide how much poorer my Hibs supporting life is because of it, not anybody else.

As I said, I get why Hibs are doing it. It doesn’t mean it can’t make peoples Hibs supporting life worse for it though.

Aye but sometimes you need a bit encouragement to give yersel a shake if something like that is causing you to have a disconnect with the club.

Stop being so dramatic man, it’s a meal before the game, it’s who you’re with that’s important. If the club can make more money doing it a different way suck it up, tuck your bottom lip in and get on with it.*

*please take this post in the light hearted spirit it’s intended, no offence is meant 😜

HibeeHibernian4
20-02-2023, 12:29 PM
Still feel disconnected, probably started under Ross where I simply didn’t enjoy the football even when we finished 3rd and the connection hasn’t come back. Probably as much to do with things outwith Hibs, like having a young family and being time poor as a result, as it is for football reasons.

I’ve definitely become more of a customer than a fan as the years have gone on and football has become less important than it once was. I’m desperate to buy into an upward trajectory from the ground up, like Mowbray & the golden generation, culminating in Collins’ cup win. Or Stubbs team, culminating in that 6 months under Lennon. That’s why I’m always banging on about giving youth a chance and the current U19 team. It never felt like we were building anything special under Ross, even when we finished 3rd. Same with the upturn in this season. The league the last few years is more about being less average than all the other teams to finish 3rd, rather than looking back fondly on a successful season or building any real foundations. Case in point, I look back at the season in 4th with a lot of fondness, the 3rd under Ross, not a great deal of fondness.

Understand where you're coming from and I have felt the same thing but do wonder if us not being able to watch plenty of the Ross era in person has something to do with it. Hard to feel a connection with anything if you're sitting at home on your laptop watching players kick it about in an empty stadium.

20-02-2023, 12:32 PM

Buy a sausage roll from Greggs on your way to ER and tuck it under your arm to keep it warm until half time as someone on here once suggested!

20-02-2023, 12:34 PM
Although the hospitality is now more than I'm prepared to pay for some nice grub I am delighted the club are beginning to maximise the income from such revenue streams. I am more than happy to forego the occasional slap-up meal to see the transfer budget increased and improve our chances of getting players like Youan, Fish and CJ on permanent contracts. If that means gripes about recruitment are replaced by gripes about top quality but pricey hospitality then so be it.

20-02-2023, 12:43 PM
You can’t say you agree with the principle then tell us the club bleed fans dry.

Which one is it?

A bit of both, and a bit of neither.

20-02-2023, 12:50 PM

I still can't take to Lee Johnson, that's a personal thing but as long as he keeps winning enough games I've no issue with him staying. You don't have to like the manager to support the club.

The bottom line is when the team is winning no one really cares about the other stuff. I'll be disconnected again when we go on a losing streak.

Pretty much where I’m at. Will never like the guy, but if the team performs then he’ll stay in the job. I’m still not convinced we are that good, more the rest of the league bar the OF are utter pish, even the Georgie Galacticos aren’t that far ahead of us despite the OTT plaudits they receive. In saying that you can only beat the opposition you are faced with, so if we continue to pick up points against the non OF teams and finish 3rd/4th then Johnson has met his targets (although the two cup exits are still big negatives for me.)

Crunchie
20-02-2023, 01:02 PM
Pretty much where I’m at. Will never like the guy, but if the team performs then he’ll stay in the job. I’m still not convinced we are that good, more the rest of the league bar the OF are utter pish, even the Georgie Galacticos aren’t that far ahead of us despite the OTT plaudits they receive. In saying that you can only beat the opposition you are faced with, so if we continue to pick up points against the non OF teams and finish 3rd/4th then Johnson has met his targets (although the two cup exits are still big negatives for me.)
If he gets us into Europe will you like the guy? if he wins us a trophy will you like the guy? Is there a particular reason you'll never like the guy?

GreenGray
20-02-2023, 01:08 PM
If he gets us into Europe will you like the guy? if he wins us a trophy will you like the guy? Is there a particular reason you'll never like the guy?

Success doesn't translate into likeability

20-02-2023, 01:10 PM
Why does anyone need to like him though? I didn't like Lennon either.

Crunchie
20-02-2023, 01:10 PM
Success doesn't translate into likeability
I'm finding it hard as to any reason to turn around and say you'll never like the guy, each to their own.

Stonewall
20-02-2023, 01:12 PM
I am cautiously optimistic. The way I see it is that once the decision was taken not to sack the manager they had no choice but to follow his wishes to trim the squad and we appear to have had a decent January window. The recruitment policy had lost credibility and With Ron temporarily out of the way and a dof to be appointed it has strengthened LJs hand at least in the short term.

At least we are now in a position to partially salvage the season, the next few games are vital for us and I’m looking forward to them with a lot more enthusiasm than a couple of months ago.

We’ve also had a terrible time with injuries and it’s no coincidence that since this eased we’ve looked a lot better.

Brent, too corporate, disconnection with the club etc is mostly just meaningless noise I think. I generally have little interest in what any manager has to say and I can’t get too upset about initiatives to raise more money for the benefit of the team. My feeling towards the club tend to be a factor of whether we’re winning games or not but do admit that things like whether we’re bringing through young players and are being run “properly” definitely feed into it.

Crunchie
20-02-2023, 01:14 PM
Why does anyone need to like him though? I didn't like Lennon either.
Being our manager is good enough for me. You didn't seem to be against him at first,what's your reason then, although I've a pretty good idea.
I didn't particularly like Lennon but he had a long history in Scottish football and there was lots to dislike.

20-02-2023, 01:26 PM
Being our manager is good enough for me. You didn't seem to be against him at first,what's your reason then, although I've a pretty good idea.
I didn't particularly like Lennon but he had a long history in Scottish football and there was lots to dislike.

Why wasn’t Lennon being our manager good enough for you then?

I don’t dislike LJ, but if some of our fans do because they think he comes across as a personality they wouldn’t like then fine. I don’t think for the poster your replying to its because he played a few minutes for hearts if that’s what you’re insinuating.

They can still support him and the club despite thinking he’s not someone they could be mates with.

Crunchie
20-02-2023, 01:36 PM
Why wasn’t Lennon being our manager good enough for you then?

I don’t dislike LJ, but if some of our fans do because they think he comes across as a personality they wouldn’t like then fine. I don’t think for the poster your replying to its because he played a few minutes for hearts if that’s what you’re insinuating.

They can still support him and the club despite thinking he’s not someone they could be mates with.
I never like Lennon from his playing days, I didn't say anything about not being good enough for me, it's not about me who becomes our manager.
I wasn't insinuating that at all, I wouldn't think Brightside is as shallow as that, I wouldn't put it past some others mind you.
Your last sentence is not what I said either, you having a bad day Russ?

20-02-2023, 01:41 PM
I never like Lennon from his playing days, I didn't say anything about not being good enough for me, it's not about me who becomes our manager.
I wasn't insinuating that at all, I wouldn't think Brightside is as shallow as that, I wouldn't put it past some others mind you.
Your last sentence is not what I said either, you having a bad day Russ?

Hibs won and Hearts lost, I’m having a great day.

You said being our manager is good enough for you to like LJ. But then said you didn’t like Lennon, hence my question.

What was Brightside’s reason you had a pretty good idea about in that case? And if you have no concerns about people supporting the manager, why are you so bothered if people like him personally or not?

Crunchie
20-02-2023, 01:46 PM
Hibs won and Hearts lost, I’m having a great day.

You said being our manager is good enough for you to like LJ. But then said you didn’t like Lennon, hence my question.

What was Brightside’s reason you had a pretty good idea about in that case? And if you have no concerns about people supporting the manager, why are you so bothered if people like him personally or not?
I'm not that bothered, I just find it odd someone could never like him for no apparent reason. Chill out Russ :aok: I'll let the man know himself why I think he doesn't like him now.
I could be wrong but he didn't have that opinion of him at first.

20-02-2023, 01:51 PM
I'm not that bothered, I just find it odd someone could never like him for no apparent reason. Chill out Russ :aok: I'll let the man know himself why I think he doesn't like him now.

I’m perfectly relaxed. You’re being very defensive over some quite innocent questions to clarify a couple of things that don’t quite add up.

I’ll save any further uncomfortable exchanges for you by reverting to my original assessment of why you post on here and leave it to others to humour you 👍👋

Crunchie
20-02-2023, 01:57 PM
I’m perfectly relaxed. You’re being very defensive over some quite innocent questions to clarify a couple of things that don’t quite add up.

I’ll save any further uncomfortable exchanges for you by reverting to my original assessment of why you post on here and leave it to others to humour you 👍👋
Not defensive at all Sherlock, sorry if my answers don't meet your rigorous questioning. if it was you I was talking about I'd let you know :agree:.

I'm not uncomfortable at all buddy :greengrin and I'd love to know your opinion on why i post on here :aok:

20-02-2023, 02:19 PM
So now you're asking for reasons why folk don't like LJ?

That''s really going to help lift the mood and positivity around this place eh!!

He lists 5 reasons why he doesn't like LJ and you can start a pile on against him, telling him he's wrong, and keeping the thread going another page or 2.

Tremendous!!

20-02-2023, 02:22 PM

He just annoys me. I don't like his chat. I don't like how he quickly blamed others when he made mistakes. For me he makes it too much about the me rather than the we. (and that even sounds like something he would say! :greengrin ) But as you say it really doesn't matter if I like him or not.

Why do you think I suddenly didn't like him? BTW my irrational dislike appeared pretty much right after his entry interview.

20-02-2023, 02:53 PM

I see you have your priorities in order.

Crunchie
20-02-2023, 02:56 PM
He just annoys me. I don't like his chat. I don't like how he quickly blamed others when he made mistakes. For me he makes it too much about the me rather than the we. (and that even sounds like something he would say! :greengrin ) But as you say it really doesn't matter if I like him or not.

Why do you think I suddenly didn't like him? BTW my irrational dislike appeared pretty much right after his entry interview.
I thought it was because he dropped yer pal, apologies if I assumed wrongly. I think he was spot on to call out the players, he stuck up for them long enough and individual errors were costing us. In any case he's turned it around that'll do for me :greengrin

It's not like you to dislike anything Hibs so I assumed you liked him from the off :aok: He's no Tony Mowbray in his interview skills but then again not many are. Jack wasn't blessed in that dept either.

Crunchie
20-02-2023, 03:03 PM
So now you're asking for reasons why folk don't like LJ?

That''s really going to help lift the mood and positivity around this place eh!!

He lists 5 reasons why he doesn't like LJ and you can start a pile on against him, telling him he's wrong, and keeping the thread going another page or 2.

Tremendous!!
A pile on, give it a rest. I'd call a pile on what you lot on the LJ thread were doing. I won't post on the thread again if it's upsetting you :aok:

I've been on here too long today and probably have been a tad negative to some posters, I'll bow out knowing I was right :na na:

20-02-2023, 03:07 PM
A pile on, give it a rest. I'd call a pile on what you lot on the LJ thread were doing. I won't post on the thread again if it's upsetting you :aok:

I've been on here too long today and probably have been a tad negative to some posters, I'll bow out knowing I was right :na na:

Fair play :thumbsup:

20-02-2023, 03:21 PM
I thought it was because he dropped yer pal, apologies if I assumed wrongly. I think he was spot on to call out the players, he stuck up for them long enough and individual errors were costing us. In any case he's turned it around that'll do for me :greengrin

It's not like you to dislike anything Hibs so I assumed you liked him from the off :aok: He's no Tony Mowbray in his interview skills but then again not many are. Jack wasn't blessed in that dept either.

my pal was injured. :wink::thumbsup: Jack was like watching Kevin Costner compared to LJ.

20-02-2023, 03:21 PM

Nope I’ll never like him. Will praise him if he does well, but as others have posted that doesn’t equate to him being likeable. I’m not going to go over old ground, but I’ve already posted why I dislike him.

20-02-2023, 10:19 PM
And if fans don’t feel any of these things, and maybe feel a wee bit disconnected from the club, they can say that instead. Which they did!!

I remember getting birthday cards form the club as a kid, I loved it and it made me feel special. Bite me.

Well if you want, but I have to warn you I'm a smoker :greengrin

20-02-2023, 10:57 PM
I think when people say they're feeling disconnected from the club and start listing ways we've become more professional as a negative, that suggests what went before was the problem and they were just comfortable with it. Behind the Goals for example - lost money, horrendous service and mostly just for people to stay warm before kickoff. Shambolic

I done hospitality for the first time a few weeks ago. I'd advise anyone who can afford it to do it, even once. It was a great day, great food, fantastic staff and a nice atmosphere. Me and my mates (of various football colours) plan on doing it every year now.

21-02-2023, 06:11 AM
7 games left before the split.

Hibs as a minimum need to make top 6.

You could even say 7 games for LJ to remain manager next season.

He also has another derby in amongst those 7 games.

Hibs have targets for managers and progressing in the cups and making top 6 are minimum expectations. Of course you could get drawn to the old firm away in both cups but the league cup issues and a home defeat to rivals stings more.

21-02-2023, 10:36 AM
Things was looking very grim during our bad spell of results but credit to the club for finally acknowledging things ain't been going right and deciding to try and fix it.

The bloated squad has been trimmed with Youth players getting promoted and some players in good form with reports today of a very happy camp.

The Derby results in 2023 was unacceptable but im optimistic we will finish top 5.

Trinity Hibee
21-02-2023, 10:48 AM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/tam-mcmanus-backs-hibs-finish-26289641

Jesus why is anyone coming out saying this. Crazy talk

21-02-2023, 11:00 AM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/tam-mcmanus-backs-hibs-finish-26289641

Unlikely maybe. But not crazy.

It’s only 5 points having been a lot more less than a month ago. I don’t think it’s that ridiculous for McManus to come out with it even if I don’t necessarily agree with his ‘tip’.

21-02-2023, 11:01 AM
Folk need to keep their **** together if we lose the next 3 matches. Livingston away is always tough but one we would hope to get at least a point from. A defeat doesn't mean the end of the world though. Anything from the OF games are a bonus. It's what we do after these 3 that will determine where we finish. If we lose them in whatever fashion the team isn't automatically then bad and in need of a complete overhaul.

21-02-2023, 11:09 AM

He's saying it coz he gets £50 every time he "writes" one of his daft articles. It wasn't long ago he said he'd only keep 3 of our current squad.

21-02-2023, 11:27 AM

- too corporate
- too many loans
- David Brent
- not renewing

I am certainly a lot more positive that I've been in recent months.

I was frustrated about the direction that we were heading. It was obvious to many that the buying young players in the hope that they be the next big thing wasn't working. To make things worse, the parts of the team that many could see needed improvement 18 months ago (e.g. midfield and central defence) wasn't addressed. At a time when we should have been building on 3rd place in the league, we went backwards because of our recruitment policy then made it worse. Error after error after error.

To make things even worse, we did this at a time when the rest of the league outside of the Old Firm is very poor.

As someone who always looks forward, I'll put the past behind me and hope that we're following a new strategy and we can build on the last few weeks. Harder games follow with the Old Firm and the Hertz to play, but I am a lot more confident than I was at the start of the year.

Basildon Hibs
21-02-2023, 12:59 PM
We're still papering over the cracks imo.

Too many loan players who, when they return back to their clubs, will reveal the problems still haven't gone away.

I hope I'm wrong.

21-02-2023, 01:48 PM

Too many loan players who, when they return back to their clubs, will reveal the problems still haven't gone away.

I hope I'm wrong.

That's what a loan signing is. We have the summer to sort the root issues.

21-02-2023, 04:22 PM

I hope I'm wrong.

We will always have loans, those that leave may sign permanently like Youan may. And we'll bring in new ones. Clubs our size will always bring in loans, how many and of what quality is key.

21-02-2023, 04:32 PM
Football is easy in that sense. When your team are winning, all is pretty good. When we’re not it’s inevitable that we become fixated on finding negativity.

HarpOnHibee
21-02-2023, 04:37 PM

I hope I'm wrong.

Never really understood the negativity around loan signings. They serve a purpose. Like helping us to lift the cup in 2016.

Fanforlife
24-02-2023, 04:25 PM

Disconnect .... jeezo.👍👍👍

25-02-2023, 10:27 AM
I really don’t think this stop start season is doing us any favours. No wonder our form is a bit up and down.
It’s not helped that we’ve had no Europe and been gubbed out of both cups so early though. That has to change for so many reasons