View Full Version : Sportsound ( again!)

18-02-2023, 06:19 PM
Tuned in from 5pm on the drive home and listened to Packy, English and co waxing lyrical about Celtic for most of the trip and Willie Miller droning on about Aberdeen's woes. They did eventually get to Easter Road and MacInnes complaining about the red card which led to more waffle about VAR . Absolutely no mention of Hibs performance at all. We would have been better sticking a CD on instead of listing to that waste of an hour.

JimboHibs
18-02-2023, 06:20 PM
Tuned in from 5pm on the drive home and listened to Packy, English and co waxing lyrical about Celtic for most of the trip and Willie Miller droning on about Aberdeen's woes. They did eventually get to Easter Road and MacInnes complaining about the red card which led to more waffle about VAR . Absolutely no mention of Hibs performance at all. We would have been better sticking a CD on instead of listing to that waste of an hour.

Stick a CD on next time.

18-02-2023, 06:27 PM
From about 15:13 to 15:18 there was five minutes of the panel led by Michael Stewart on the relative merits of Craig Levein as a manager. Heard a few referee whistles and crowd roars behind them, but that was as much as any game got a look in during Open All Mics.

HarpOnHibee
18-02-2023, 06:27 PM

Was dreadful the whole day. They were happy to give updates on every other match with the exception of ours. They occasionally tuned into Michael Stewart to remind us that we've improved since Hearts knocked us out of the cup. A good 25 minutes was Michael Stewart waffling on about Craig Levein.

18-02-2023, 06:31 PM
There is literally no point in listening to it if you don’t support one of four teams.

Helensburghhibs
18-02-2023, 06:34 PM
Put it on out of habit in the car to listen to the manager interview... even that was missing today. Horrendous. Would be good if Forth would do a program on the local games.

GreenGray
18-02-2023, 06:35 PM
Did they even get a Johnson interview?

They just kept asking each panel member the same questions about Aberdeen and talking about how good Celtic were. Awful

#2 Double Tap
18-02-2023, 06:35 PM
Half time talk from Stewart was bad, gave Hibs no praise at all, made it sound like a scrappy game nout in it.

We bossed killie 1st half, not even a mention of how good Eli was or our play in general.

HarpOnHibee
18-02-2023, 06:37 PM
Half time talk from Stewart was bad, gave Hibs no praise at all, made it sound like a scrappy game nout in it.

We bossed killie 1st half, not even a mention of how good Eli was or our play in general.

He sounded utterly fed up being there.

18-02-2023, 06:37 PM

What's a CD? 😁

HarpOnHibee
18-02-2023, 06:41 PM
What's a CD? 😁

Cassette Deck?

18-02-2023, 06:41 PM
It’s just the same ***** each week.

About 10 days ago the BBC Scotland Sport website led with a story about Ann Busge saying women footballers should ge that same pay as the men. This was the same night Hibs U19 were only Scottish club left in any European football and zero mentions of this or even the result.

The “traffic” the Budge story got must have been a record low. A total non story by a clown who knows nothing about football.

This is what we are up against.

18-02-2023, 06:42 PM

Absolutely mate, had exactly the same experience. FFS there was only five fixtures today, how they could go a whole hour and barely even mention the club that won to go 4th in the table, never mind not even get somebody from the club on to talk about it is incredible, no bloody wonder fewer and fewr folk are tuning into sportsound.

I_Love_Latapy
18-02-2023, 06:54 PM
And meanwhile on BBC Website they still keep banging on about PLAYERS WE HAVE HEARD OF IN THE WEST rather than taking an interest in the new, emerging talent ... so we have "McGeady blow sours Hibs' day" and "Hibs without Kevin Nisbet" rather than "comfortable win with players who are starting to look like a team" and "great shift from homegrown Hibs star Campbell" and "Hibs centre backs cruising all game" and "created many chances..." Pfft it's exhausting.

18-02-2023, 06:56 PM
Michael Stewart said it was Hibs fans booing that got the Killie player sent off. What a load of bollocks.

18-02-2023, 06:57 PM
Michael Stewart said it was Hibs fans booing that got the Killie player sent off. What a load of bollocks.

If we boo loud enough can we get Michael Stewart to **** off?

18-02-2023, 07:05 PM

Did he? I thought he said even the Hibs fans were booing when VAR got involved which was a fairly accurate statement imo.

Stewart's antipathy towards Hibs is grating though. I think it's because deep down he knows he played the best football of his career here and that rankles with him.

18-02-2023, 07:07 PM

What a complete helmet he really is !

18-02-2023, 07:08 PM
From about 15:13 to 15:18 there was five minutes of the panel led by Michael Stewart on the relative merits of Craig Levein as a manager.

Surely that's a 10 second conversation.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

HarpOnHibee
18-02-2023, 07:08 PM
Did he?

He did, incredibly.

#2 Double Tap
18-02-2023, 07:12 PM
Surely that's a 10 second conversation.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk.

18-02-2023, 07:14 PM
Was dreadful the whole day. They were happy to give updates on every other match with the exception of ours. They occasionally tuned into Michael Stewart to remind us that we've improved since Hearts knocked us out of the cup. A good 25 minutes was Michael Stewart waffling on about Craig Levein.

Where does Mikey sit with Levein these days? I remember a few years back before the demotion etc and before CL got a full-time gig on Sportsound that he was super critical of him and put the blame solely on him - possibly fairly enough - for the mess that club were in at the time.

Willis1875
18-02-2023, 07:17 PM
There is literally no point in listening to it if you don’t support one of four teams.

Yep the show is for a target audience of which we are not the targets.

Don’t know why anybody bothers with it anymore

18-02-2023, 07:19 PM
Did he? I thought he said even the Hibs fans were booing when VAR got involved which was a fairly accurate statement imo.

Stewart's antipathy towards Hibs is grating though. I think it's because deep down he knows he played the best football of his career here and that rankles with him.
This what I thought he said too but confess I was only half listening.

18-02-2023, 07:22 PM
This what I thought he said too but confess I was only half listening.

Aye I had a 5 year old screeching in my ear so I thought I had maybe misheard.

18-02-2023, 07:26 PM
Anyone hear the bit about The Rangers fans putting up a banner protesting about their Manager ordering their team to let Partick Thistle score ( All but Mad McGregor that is ) ?

Horrible club

HarpOnHibee
18-02-2023, 07:31 PM
Anyone hear the bit about The Rangers fans putting up a banner protesting about their Manager ordering their team to let Partick Thistle score ( All but Mad McGregor that is ) ?

Horrible club

Utterly detestable club.

https://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_2023_02/20230218_153122.jpg.c67b61d3f93678365c7cb6d2378792 77.jpg

18-02-2023, 07:45 PM

He did say at one point it was one way traffic but it was more a criticism of Killie. So obvious that he hates us.

hibstag
18-02-2023, 07:51 PM
Absolutely mate, had exactly the same experience. FFS there was only five fixtures today, how they could go a whole hour and barely even mention the club that won to go 4th in the table, never mind not even get somebody from the club on to talk about it is incredible, no bloody wonder fewer and fewr folk are tuning into sportsound.

He mentioned we had got closer to hearts in the post march sum up.. Turned it off

18-02-2023, 08:21 PM

He said, "When the game was stopped, the Hibs fans were booing and they ultimately had the opposition getting a man sent off."

Here's the clip.

http://sndup.net/5dsq

It felt to me that the Hibs fans were booing VAR and if anything, didn't think it was a red. So I think he's totally misrepresented us.

18-02-2023, 08:41 PM
He said, "When the game was stopped, the Hibs fans were booing and they ultimately had the opposition getting a man sent off."

Here's the clip.

It felt to me that the Hibs fans were booing VAR and if anything, didn't think it was a red. So I think he's totally misrepresented us.Yeah, right because whenever the Hibs fans want a decision they just boo and the ref gives us it.

18-02-2023, 09:10 PM

Here's the clip.

It felt to me that the Hibs fans were booing VAR and if anything, didn't think it was a red. So I think he's totally misrepresented us.

The self evident bias is now really, really laughable. There are some Hibs fans who still seem to be in denial about it.

18-02-2023, 09:41 PM
Yeah, right because whenever the Hibs fans want a decision they just boo and the ref gives us it.

Particularly when Beaton is the illegitimate in orange.

18-02-2023, 09:45 PM
No idea why it gets a thread

LewysGot2
18-02-2023, 09:51 PM

Horrible club

They did. On the TV version of Old Firm love in they showed it. Something about 2 trophies in 11 years - the expected standards to worry about

Sportscene interviewed Beale about it and he said something along the lines of "they pay their money they're entitled to their opinion"...

How dare anyone at Rangers care about common decency or fair play? Win at all costs. Classless entitled glory hunting mordor dwelling hordes.

Sportscene also played the usual Neil McCant game of undermining our win with "the sending off impacted the result of the game" **** and "poor Derek" routine. Predictable nonsense.

18-02-2023, 09:59 PM

100%

A fanzine for the few, out of the expense of the licence fee paying many.

Radge70
18-02-2023, 10:00 PM
Utterly detestable club.

https://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_2023_02/20230218_153122.jpg.c67b61d3f93678365c7cb6d2378792 77.jpg
They like picking and choosing those current buns, I have it at 6 trophies they have won in the last 11 years.

18-02-2023, 10:04 PM
They did. On the TV version of Old Firm love in they showed it. Something about 2 trophies in 11 years - the expected standards to worry about

Sportscene interviewed Beale about it and he said something along the lines of "they pay their money they're entitled to their opinion"...

How dare anyone at Rangers care about common decency or fair play? Win at all costs. Classless entitled glory hunting mordor dwelling hordes.

Sportscene also played the usual Neil McCant game of undermining our win with "the sending off impacted the result of the game" **** and "poor Derek" routine. Predictable nonsense.

He said ‘they’ll be here long after I’m gone’ …

As if to say they can get on with it but not on my watch

Sounds a decent spud

LewysGot2
18-02-2023, 10:07 PM

Sounds a decent spud

Yes, very much they'll do it, I'm not going to be drawn into a public battle with them over it - but you can guess he'd still do the same thing again. He'd better hope it's not next Sunday 😄

18-02-2023, 10:19 PM

Sounds a decent spud

Listened to Beale before and after our game today, he talks really well and gave Livi plenty credit. He’ll never fit in at Rangers.

18-02-2023, 10:26 PM
Utterly detestable club.

Good they recognise they're only 11 years old.

Mark1875
18-02-2023, 10:37 PM

Here's the clip.

He hasn’t misrepresented us at all imo. I think you’ve misinterpreted what he meant. To me he was saying the Hibs fans were booing VAR getting involved, despite the fact that it would only be to our advantage.

18-02-2023, 11:16 PM
He hasn’t misrepresented us at all imo. I think you’ve misinterpreted what he meant. To me he was saying the Hibs fans were booing VAR getting involved, despite the fact that it would only be to our advantage.

Agree. Having heard the clip he is saying (not in a particularly articulate way tbf) that we were booing the VAR involvement - and not saying that the fans played a part it the decision (which would have been completely untrue).

As for that banner that the Rangers fans held up - I did note that last week, when talking about allowing Thistle to score, Beale referenced Rangers being a club that held high standards, and how they needed to live up to them.

Nice to see their own supporters immediately demonstrate just now misguided a statement that was.

18-02-2023, 11:29 PM

I thought Killie probably looked one of the worst teams I’ve seen at Easter Road today. Despite the score line, I’d have them up there with the Aberdeen team a few weeks ago. Different reasons. Aberdeen didn’t look like they have a damn. Killie did but we’re just really poor in quality. If anything, the sending off probably stopped us giving them a real hammering. They perked up a bit, we probably took the foot off the gas

18-02-2023, 11:43 PM
I thought Killie probably looked one of the worst teams I’ve seen at Easter Road today. Despite the score line, I’d have them up there with the Aberdeen team a few weeks ago. Different reasons. Aberdeen didn’t look like they have a damn. Killie did but we’re just really poor in quality. If anything, the sending off probably stopped us giving them a real hammering. They perked up a bit, we probably took the foot off the gas

I thought it had the exact feel of the Aberdeen game and if we'd put a couple of our first half shots a metre to the left or right we'd have been well on our way to a repeat scoreline by half time.

Killie's weakness shouldn't take away from our performance though. We were solid all through the pitch. We look much more robust than we did pre-window. I've even almost let myself start looking up the table again!

19-02-2023, 12:35 AM

On the flip side how often have we been the team to let the strugglers get their badly needed points?

Motherwell, Aberdeen and now Killie all dispatched when some were suggesting we were their perfect opponents.

Very nice to see us not being that team any more and long may that continue.

19-02-2023, 12:37 AM
As for Sportsound…said it before. It’s not hard to make sure you have a ‘round the grounds’ 5-10 minute slot for each game after 5pm to make sure you cover the main points from all the games. Then finish off with the key take aways of the weekend (undoubtedly more often than not on the OF title race).

But they simply don’t care.

Cat Stanton
19-02-2023, 08:03 AM

Absolutely. He's clearly saying that the decision was so bad that even the Hibs fans were booing.

Stewart's a funny one. I don't buy into the "he just hates us" conspiracy gibberish round here. Over the years he has proved himself to be a good pundit and has praised Hibs highly. But there has definitely been a change of tone recently. Part of that is, I think, reasonable criticism of the way the club has been run (echoing what so many in here say). But I also wonder if he maybe just doesn't like Lee Johnson for some (personal) reason? He slagged off Hearts consistently when Levein (who he can't stand) was in charge; could there be something similar going on here? Did Johnson's time at Tynecastle overlap with Stewart's? Just guessing here obviously.

19-02-2023, 08:10 AM
Absolutely. He's clearly saying that the decision was so bad that even the Hibs fans were booing.

Stewart's a funny one. I don't buy into the "he just hates us" conspiracy gibberish round here. Over the years he has proved himself to be a good pundit and has praised Hibs highly. But there has definitely been a change of tone recently. Part of that is, I think, reasonable criticism of the way the club has been run (echoing what so many in here say). But I also wonder if he maybe just doesn't like Lee Johnson for some (personal) reason? He slagged off Hearts consistently when Levein (who he can't stand) was in charge; could there be something similar going on here? Did Johnson's time at Tynecastle overlap with Stewart's? Just guessing here obviously.

Lee Johnson was at Hearts in 2006. Michael Stewart was playing for Hibs during that time.

19-02-2023, 08:10 AM
On the flip side how often have we been the team to let the strugglers get their badly needed points?

Motherwell, Aberdeen and now Killie all dispatched when some were suggesting we were their perfect opponents.

Very nice to see us not being that team any more and long may that continue.

We never were that team. Never seen it actually backed up by anything.

19-02-2023, 08:55 AM
We never were that team. Never seen it actually backed up by anything.

We have been that team plenty times over the years. A team hasn’t scored away for 20 odd games. They play us. We know the script. A team hasn’t won away for so and so games. We know what happens. Its happened plenty times. A team on a bad run comes up against us and the run miraculously ends. To suggest otherwise is just wrong. And I’m not going to do any research for you. Its all there to find.

MartinfaePorty
19-02-2023, 09:19 AM
As for Sportsound…said it before. It’s not hard to make sure you have a ‘round the grounds’ 5-10 minute slot for each game after 5pm to make sure you cover the main points from all the games. Then finish off with the key take aways of the weekend (undoubtedly more often than not on the OF title race).

But they simply don’t care.

I used to love it in the late 80s/ early 90s on the way back from an away fixture when you got analysis of, and interviews from, all the top flight games, the 2nd tier and then at least details of all the games in the lower tiers. Then you had the Highland League round up where the reporter (who's name currently escapes me) would do a hilarious review of a game, interspersed with topical news references; followed by rugby; hockey; and then shinty. This stopped when they panicked after losing listeners to the likes of Clyde, when everyone thought having a phone in was the way to go forward, so they reduced the analysis drastically so that Old Firm fans could hurl abuse at each other, or the SFA! It's never really recovered.

19-02-2023, 09:25 AM
I used to love it in the late 80s/ early 90s on the way back from an away fixture when you got analysis of, and interviews from, all the top flight games, the 2nd tier and then at least details of all the games in the lower tiers. Then you had the Highland League round up where the reporter (who's name currently escapes me) would do a hilarious review of a game, interspersed with topical news references; followed by rugby; hockey; and then shinty. This stopped when they panicked after losing listeners to the likes of Clyde, when everyone thought having a phone in was the way to go forward, so they reduced the analysis drastically so that Old Firm fans hurling abuse at each other, or the SFA! It's never really recovered.

I had totally forgotten about that, but you’re right, and I remember the highland league round up fondly as well.

19-02-2023, 09:47 AM
Lee Johnson was at Hearts in 2006. Michael Stewart was playing for Hibs during that time.

Think Stewart is more that he likes Robbie who he gets on well with I think mouthpiece his pro Hearts propaganda along with all BBC sportsound to be fair was nauseating particularly when they were getting horsed in Europe. Hasn't said a positive thing about Hibs all season. Maybe on the same contract as Tom English

hibstag
19-02-2023, 09:53 AM
I had totally forgotten about that, but you’re right, and I remember the highland league round up fondly as well.

I just thinking about this guy the other day he would make references like `the officials debated the incident longer than a first ministers resignation speech`

19-02-2023, 09:57 AM
Think Stewart is more that he likes Robbie who he gets on well with I think mouthpiece his pro Hearts propaganda along with all BBC sportsound to be fair was nauseating particularly when they were getting horsed in Europe. Hasn't said a positive thing about Hibs all season. Maybe on the same contract as Tom English

That’s the way I see it.

He’s Robbie’s pal and he no longer has his arch nemesis in Levein at Hearts.

Stewart has previously been a superb pundit but something seems to have changed.

I’ve found it strange that Hibs haven’t received more credit for their performance yesterday. The football we played was sublime in places, even if it was against poor opposition and not relentless for 90 minutes.

hibstag
19-02-2023, 10:03 AM
Yesterday's big failing was how they talked about VAR mostly around the handball rule and let Hugh Dallas contradict himself a few times without pulling him up. Then I think someone said if its clear and obvious why does it take six minutes to find it are they then looking for it but they never followed that up. If anything I though the SFA are allowing officialscti hide behind handball interpretation rather than them making errors like the Duk penalty at aberdeen

19-02-2023, 10:09 AM
We have been that team plenty times over the years. A team hasn’t scored away for 20 odd games. They play us. We know the script. A team hasn’t won away for so and so games. We know what happens. Its happened plenty times. A team on a bad run comes up against us and the run miraculously ends. To suggest otherwise is just wrong. And I’m not going to do any research for you. Its all there to find.

As I thought. Nothing to actually prove it.

Happens to us no more or less than anyone else is my view.

19-02-2023, 10:14 AM

I suspect it's more that we remember those occasions because we expect to beat the team on a poor run but end up losing.

Yesterday's game could have been another example but because we won it won't stick in the memory to the same extent.

19-02-2023, 10:14 AM
I just thinking about this guy the other day he would make references like `the officials debated the incident longer than a first ministers resignation speech`

19-02-2023, 10:19 AM
I suspect it's more that we remember those occasions because we expect to beat the team on a poor run but end up losing.

Yesterday's game could have been another example but because we won it won't stick in the memory to the same extent.

I think it's something fans of every team believe to be true for exactly this reason.

We all remember the games when a team who hadn't won in 10 beat us but games when we tuck them away with minimal fuss don't live long in the memory unless we do something spectacular.

19-02-2023, 12:38 PM

Don't trust anyone called Mikey.

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-02-2023, 12:59 PM

Who inspired this value, Forrester or Stewart?

19-02-2023, 01:05 PM

Russian sailors

19-02-2023, 01:12 PM
Levein and Craigans take is that Hearts have too many good players that Robbie doesn’t know where to play them all. Clueless.

And now banging on about the ‘8 first team injuries’

19-02-2023, 06:28 PM
I used to love it in the late 80s/ early 90s on the way back from an away fixture when you got analysis of, and interviews from, all the top flight games, the 2nd tier and then at least details of all the games in the lower tiers. Then you had the Highland League round up where the reporter (who's name currently escapes me) would do a hilarious review of a game, interspersed with topical news references; followed by rugby; hockey; and then shinty. This stopped when they panicked after losing listeners to the likes of Clyde, when everyone thought having a phone in was the way to go forward, so they reduced the analysis drastically so that Old Firm fans could hurl abuse at each other, or the SFA! It's never really recovered.Wasn't it Hugh Dan MacLennan? Superb round ups

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

19-02-2023, 06:31 PM
Good they recognise they're only 11 years old.

🤣

19-02-2023, 06:33 PM
Levein and Craigans take is that Hearts have too many good players that Robbie doesn’t know where to play them all. Clueless.

So they’ve got too many good players and 8 injuries? Doesn’t one just cancel out the other?

Stewart is right to lay in to him whenever he can, the guys a fud.

19-02-2023, 06:43 PM
Most of the pundits seem to use their jobs which are supposed to be neutral and impartial, to fuel their own agendas.. Stewart is the best example , used to tear into Hearts constantly, whilst praising Hibs all the time when Levein was at Hearts. Mostly because of his hatred towards Levein. Now the roles are reversed because of who he likes , loves to stick the boot into Hibs because his pal Robbie is the new messiah.. Remember a few pundits having a similar outlook towards Hibs , because they were pals with Yogi and felt he was unfairly treated.. They reach a point where they cant bring themselves to be fair , or topical and more often than not sensationalise everything

MartinfaePorty
19-02-2023, 06:50 PM
Wasn't it Hugh Dan MacLennan? Superb round ups

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

He was the shinty guy. I think the Highland League chap was Bill McAllister. Pretty sure the Beeb told him to take the jokes out and the reports were never the same after that.

19-02-2023, 08:11 PM

I’m sure I heard Levein saying he liked when players were injured so he didn’t have to make a decision to pick them. ****ing weirdo.

20-02-2023, 06:23 AM
He was the shinty guy. I think the Highland League chap was Bill McAllister. Pretty sure the Beeb told him to take the jokes out and the reports were never the same after that.

Definitely Bill McAllister he was superb and always a laugh when driving home from the game.

Crunchie
20-02-2023, 06:35 AM
Most of the pundits seem to use their jobs which are supposed to be neutral and impartial, to fuel their own agendas.. Stewart is the best example , used to tear into Hearts constantly, whilst praising Hibs all the time when Levein was at Hearts. Mostly because of his hatred towards Levein. Now the roles are reversed because of who he likes , loves to stick the boot into Hibs because his pal Robbie is the new messiah.. Remember a few pundits having a similar outlook towards Hibs , because they were pals with Yogi and felt he was unfairly treated.. They reach a point where they cant bring themselves to be fair , or topical and more often than not sensationalise everything
Spot on imo, too many ex pros with agendas hence the amateur nature of the programme. Open all mics is mind bogglingly embarrassing at times.

Brunswickbill
20-02-2023, 07:14 AM

Well that’s Devlin condemned before kicking a ball😂

Stonewall
21-02-2023, 08:41 PM
He did, incredibly.

Okay. I’ll bet you a million pounds you’re wrong.

HarpOnHibee
21-02-2023, 09:01 PM
Okay. I’ll bet you a million pounds you’re wrong.

Here's the clip.

I'll collect my million pounds now. :cb

21-02-2023, 10:20 PM
I've met Amy Irons, she's a genuinely nice person and quite knowledgeable too, so I'll give her the benefit of the doubt, but the rest of them are a pretty one dimensional lot apart from Stewart who just loves to be controversial. Looks like somebody in the Hearts mafia that rule Sportsound has had a word in his ear about his balanced views in previous seasons.

22-02-2023, 06:56 AM

He was canned after making an ill-judged reference to a disaster in which people lost their lives… I won’t repeat it here.

22-02-2023, 07:29 AM

True. Williamson was an example with all his media buddies decrying Hibs, saying we'd never find better - only for Tony Mowbray to develop one of the most exiting young teams (not just Hibs) in Scotland. And yet, Williamson and his media lovies still tried to claim credit for all of that.

Crunchie
22-02-2023, 07:37 AM
True. Williamson was an example with all his media buddies decrying Hibs, saying we'd never find better - only for Tony Mowbray to develop one of the most exiting young teams (not just Hibs) in Scotland. And yet, Williamson and his media lovies still tried to claim credit for all of that.
Williamson deserves a huge amount of credit for the talent Mowbray inherited, they'd already played in a national final.

22-02-2023, 07:13 PM
Williamson deserves a huge amount of credit for the talent Mowbray inherited, they'd already played in a national final.

And he equally deserves criticism for attempting to offload whittaker and riordan to inverness in a swap deal for a more experienced bobby mann .. Thankfully our board pulled the plug on this actually coming to fruition, imagine we had actually swapped 2 of the best talents to ever come through our youth system for bobby ****ing mann .. Its just shows how blinded some managers are

Hibees1973
22-02-2023, 07:27 PM

Extraordinary.

He does get a bit of a hard time on here but on the whole I feel Michael Stewart talks a lot of sense. However, this is when he contributes alongside the likes on Bonner & Miller so it's difficult not to sound coherent and clear with those two around.

I didn't hear Stewart say that as I was at the game but that was a bit silly to say that. It was 100% down to VAR and Beaton.

22-02-2023, 07:30 PM
And he equally deserves criticism for attempting to offload whittaker and riordan to inverness in a swap deal for a more experienced bobby mann .. Thankfully our board pulled the plug on this actually coming to fruition, imagine we had actually swapped 2 of the best talents to ever come through our youth system for bobby ****ing mann .. Its just shows how blinded some managers are
I thought BW had set the record straight on that one and it was found to be a load of nonsense.

22-02-2023, 07:50 PM
Extraordinary.

He does get a bit of a hard time on here but on the whole I feel Michael Stewart talks a lot of sense. However, this is when he contributes alongside the likes on Bonner & Miller so it's difficult not to sound coherent and clear with those two around.

I didn't hear Stewart say that as I was at the game but that was a bit silly to say that. It was 100% down to VAR and Beaton.

Another poster pointed out that Michael Stewart was meaning the opposite. I've listened to it again and I suppose the way he's said it is a bit ambiguous, he could have worded it better. Here's the clip.

22-02-2023, 07:53 PM
I thought BW had set the record straight on that one and it was found to be a load of nonsense.

Could well be the case mate .. I honestly havent read anything more about it since the initial story of the proposed deal .. funny because along with his “if you want entertainment then go to the cinema” , its what i think of when I think of Bobbys time as Hibs manager

22-02-2023, 07:57 PM
Another poster pointed out that Michael Stewart was meaning the opposite. I've listened to it again and I suppose the way he's said it is a bit ambiguous, he could have worded it better. Here's the clip.

On the sunday sportscene he definitely alluded to Hibs fans booing at var getting involved again rather than booing the actual foul.. Somebody mentioned Stewarts opinion on the booing came across differently on the saturday , either on commentary on sportsound or saturday sportscene. On the Sunday sportcene though he definitely was saying we were booing var rather than attempting to get the player punished further

22-02-2023, 08:37 PM
Could well be the case mate .. I honestly havent read anything more about it since the initial story of the proposed deal .. funny because along with his “if you want entertainment then go to the cinema” , its what i think of when I think of Bobbys time as Hibs managerHe wasn't at Hibs when he said that either. He was Killie manager and said it after a game at ER.

22-02-2023, 08:43 PM
He wasn't at Hibs when he said that either. He was Killie manager and said it after a game at ER.

Im pretty sure i remember him coming out with that comment after a game when he was Hibs manager 2003/2004 …

22-02-2023, 08:52 PM
Im pretty sure i remember him coming out with that comment after a game when he was Hibs manager 2003/2004 …Honest, bud. Been through this discussion before. He was Killie manager. A few journos repeat the story and have him being at Hibs but he was still Killie manager. Post match interview at Easter Road, which might explain that impression.

22-02-2023, 08:55 PM
He wasn't at Hibs when he said that either. He was Killie manager and said it after a game at ER.

he had left killie when he said it according to the Google search I just seen

22-02-2023, 08:57 PM
Honest, bud. Been through this discussion before. He was Killie manager. A few journos repeat the story and have him being at Hibs but he was still Killie manager. Post match interveiw at Easter Road, which might explain that impression.

Ahll take ur word for it .. Was a long time ago , i just seemed to remember being raging at the time he came out with it. Only way id be raging was if he came out with it as Hibs manager. But 20 years is a long time so my memory could be hazy 🫣

22-02-2023, 08:57 PM
he had left killie when he said it according to the Google search I just seenDo you have a link? When this was gone through before all the articles which says he was with Hibs were come from well after the fact. Journalists aren't infallible.

22-02-2023, 09:12 PM
Ahll take ur word for it .. Was a long time ago , i just seemed to remember being raging at the time he came out with it. Only way id be raging was if he came out with it as Hibs manager. But 20 years is a long time so my memory could be hazy 🫣You might have been raging because he set-up Killie to time-waste and spoil the game from the first minute. I'm sure it finished a draw.

leith lynx
22-02-2023, 09:22 PM
Honest, bud. Been through this discussion before. He was Killie manager. A few journos repeat the story and have him being at Hibs but he was still Killie manager. Post match interveiw at Easter Road, which might explain that impression.

My memory also recalls he said that when he was at Killie.

22-02-2023, 09:48 PM
Could well be the case mate .. I honestly havent read anything more about it since the initial story of the proposed deal .. funny because along with his “if you want entertainment then go to the cinema” , its what i think of when I think of Bobbys time as Hibs manager

To see Kilnockie FC instead. 🤔

https://m.imdb.com/title/tt0193854/

04-03-2023, 06:07 PM
Had the misfortune to be tuned in from the car and hear the pundit who was at LIvingston very quickly agree with Mikey Stewart when he totally dismissed any chance of Hibs catching the Tarts for 3rd, despite saying Hibs were brilliant today. Huh? Five points boys. Hope you’re made to eat your bunnets come the end of the season.

Trinity Hibee
04-03-2023, 06:19 PM
Had the misfortune to be tuned in from the car and hear the pundit who was at LIvingston very quickly agree with Mikey Stewart when he totally dismissed any chance of Hibs catching the Tarts for 3rd, despite saying Hibs were brilliant today. Huh? Five points boys. Hope you’re made to eat your bunnets come the end of the season.

Stewart and Preston have a hearts bias. Got to be honest it is unlikely we’ll catch them this season. We’ll need to win both remaining derbies to give ourselves a good chance. Without wanting to sound negative, as there has been loads of positives this last month or so on the pitch, we could find ourselves 8 or 9 points behind once we’ve played both the OF.

It’s just a shame we’ve been hit so bad by injuries as we might have had a chance of 3rd as crazy as that sounds after what feels like a very average season

04-03-2023, 06:21 PM
Stewart and Preston have a hearts bias. Got to be honest it is unlikely we’ll catch them this season. We’ll need to win both remaining derbies to give ourselves a good chance. Without wanting to sound negative, as there has been loads of positives this last month or so on the pitch, we could find ourselves 8 or 9 points behind once we’ve played both the OF.

It’s just a shame we’ve been hit so bad by injuries as we might have had a chance of 3rd as crazy as that sounds after what feels like a very average season
They still have to play the old firm too. Winning both derbies is not out the question as is points off Rangers in particular. They will drop points along the way as will we. 3-0 flattered them today and that’s the caveman saying that. It’s on.

Trinity Hibee
04-03-2023, 06:25 PM
They still have to play the old firm too. Winning both derbies is not out the question as is points off Rangers in particular. They will drop points along the way as will we. 3-0 flattered them today and that’s the caveman saying that. It’s on.

Would be a huge achievement if it happens given what has gone on this season

04-03-2023, 06:53 PM
Did anyone hear the following bit of sportscene analysis this afternoon?

Tom English ‘Bournemouth scored against Arsenal after 9 SECONDS today! NINE SECONDS! How is that possible to score a goal after nine seconds?’

Leanne Crichton- ‘It must have been straight from the kickoff Tom. One pass, two pass, goal’.

04-03-2023, 07:06 PM
Would be a huge achievement if it happens given what has gone on this season

Not sure that whether we catch them or not is the issue. If folk buy into the narrative of them cementing third place, it doesn't really stack up when the difference between us is essentially the head to heads. We haven't done that badly for a basket case crisis club with no identity.

04-03-2023, 07:08 PM
Preston was very complimentary about us in his post-match. I was very disappointed!

05-03-2023, 01:13 AM
Not sure that whether we catch them or not is the issue. If folk buy into the narrative of them cementing third place, it doesn't really stack up when the difference between us is essentially the head to heads. We haven't done that badly for a basket case crisis club with no identity.

Indeed.

PPZPOL
05-03-2023, 07:02 AM

Maybe the recent head to heads are the reason folk are buying into narrative they have third cemented😜.

What we need to do is improve a hell of a lot in the Derby’s, potentially sneak a point (or 3) in the OF fixtures and keep getting the wins against other sides.

Simple really🤔😂

05-03-2023, 08:18 AM
Did anyone hear the following bit of sportscene analysis this afternoon?

Tom English ‘Bournemouth scored against Arsenal after 9 SECONDS today! NINE SECONDS! How is that possible to score a goal after nine seconds?’

Leanne Crichton- ‘It must have been straight from the kickoff Tom. One pass, two pass, goal’.

One of Leanne's more insightful comments.

05-03-2023, 08:26 AM
One of Leanne's more insightful comments.

When you watch the Arsenal highlights she was right, surprisingly enough :greengrin Straight from kickoff. This is how you score after nine seconds.

It was better than some of the Chick Young storytelling though, he was eulogising about someone who had just passed (not Ron) in the most boring way imaginable that might drive you to contemplate that death might be preferable than having to listen to it. And when biscuits started talking about what they wore to a fancy dress party :dunno: Lord give me strength they are actually simpletons.

Gloucester Hibs
05-03-2023, 08:44 AM
Thought Preston et al were quite complimentary of us, TBF I find Preston is pretty fair and balanced when covering us (for a Jambo). Sportscene on the other hand was a shocker, no praise given to us whatsoever. At least we didn’t have Mikey Stewart moaning about not being sure what Hibs identity is 😂

06-03-2023, 09:02 AM
Thought Preston et al were quite complimentary of us, TBF I find Preston is pretty fair and balanced when covering us (for a Jambo). Sportscene on the other hand was a shocker, no praise given to us whatsoever. At least we didn’t have Mikey Stewart moaning about not being sure what Hibs identity is 😂

Preston is the one on Sportsound who champions us the most.

When a deeply rooted Hearts man is your strongest ally on the programme it’s a great example of the real void of Hibs voices within our national media.

06-03-2023, 09:09 AM

When a deeply rooted Hearts man is your strongest ally on the programme it’s a great example of the real void of Hibs voices within our national media.

And maybe only because he's an agent so it's in his interests to be fair with his comments. (though I'm possibly doing him a disservice.

06-03-2023, 03:11 PM
And maybe only because he's an agent so it's in his interests to be fair with his comments. (though I'm possibly doing him a disservice.

At least he offers some genuine interest, and at times, enthusiasm.

Hibs appear to be a bit of a chore all round to rest of them.

06-03-2023, 03:12 PM

Apparently was a boyhood Rangers fan

06-03-2023, 03:13 PM

Wonder if he has any current Hibs players

ACLeith
06-03-2023, 03:14 PM
Apparently was a boyhood Rangers fan

Think that's right, when he was at Leith Academy

PHeffernan
06-03-2023, 03:27 PM

Hearts have already played Rangers in the 3rd round of fixtures.
Hibs to have any chance of finishing 3rd need to take 4 points from the remaining two derbies, beat Aberdeen and beat all the duffers.
As things stand we need to hope for a draw when Aberdeen play Hearts on the 18th March. That would help our fortunes against both teams.

06-03-2023, 03:29 PM
Hearts have already played Rangers in the 3rd round of fixtures.
Hibs to have any chance of finishing 3rd need to take 4 points from the remaining two derbies, beat Aberdeen and beat all the duffers.
As things stand we need to hope for a draw when Aberdeen play Hearts on the 18th March. That would help our fortunes against both teams.

I'm 100% hoping Aberdeen beat Hearts on the 18th.

06-03-2023, 04:12 PM
Wonder if he has any current Hibs players

Will be in amongst this lot.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/caa-stellar/beraterfirma/berater/190