View Full Version : Referee Abuse - BBC Report

AltheHibby
14-02-2023, 11:19 AM
It makes scary reading.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64584541

Pete70
14-02-2023, 11:44 AM
Makes for some interesting reading, why would anyone want to be a ref?

Also interesting that the SFA declined to take part. I wonder why.

14-02-2023, 11:46 AM
A mate of mine took up refereeing here in Edinburgh.

He got 3 games in before canning it and tbh it sounded terrifying. Constant threats of violence from players and spectators before one person actually followed through on their threat.

Since then he's spent the last couple of decades coaching in Arizona and loves it.

I've played a lot of amateur games at a very low level, I don't want to make the referees out to be all innocent and I've played games with some very good referees and some very poor. The good communicators and those who don't tolerate intimidation and violence are great. It's not a surprise that some attract more abuse than others though. Without wanting to say they bring it on themselves, those who carry an aloofness and those who don't realise they can stamp out dissent and violence and that they've got the tools to do so will inevitably end up with tempers lost and games out of control.

Unfortunately we have an awful lot of bams who play football in this country. Becoming a referee has never been something I have even considered, when it should probably have been something that appealed more to someone who has such a keen interest in the game, spends plenty time watching, discussing and playing it but was a pretty pish player.

Trinity Hibee
14-02-2023, 12:13 PM
A mate of mine took up refereeing here in Edinburgh.

He got 3 games in before canning it and tbh it sounded terrifying. Constant threats of violence from players and spectators before one person actually followed through on their threat.

Since then he's spent the last couple of decades coaching in Arizona and loves it.

I've played a lot of amateur games at a very low level and I don't want to make the referees out to be all innocent and I've played games with some very good referees and some very poor. The good communicators and those who don't tolerate intimidation and violence are great. It's not a surprise that some attract more abuse than others though. Without wanting to say they bring it on themselves, those who carry an aloofness and those who don't realise they can stamp out dissent and violence and that they've got the tools to do will inevitably end up with tempers lost and games out of control.

Unfortunately we have an awful lot of bams who play football in this country. Becoming a referee has never been something I have even considered, when it should probably have been something that appealed more to someone who has such a keen interest in the game, spends plenty time watching, discussing and playing it but was a pretty pish player.

Agree with the bams part. A lot of folk who want to take their life frustrations out on others who just want to enjoy a game of football and still make it into work on the Monday morning with limbs in tact. No idea why I continued playing amateurs as long as I did now I look back on it. Some folk were just tossers.

You do wonder how many of todays youths would even consider becoming a ref. I’d like to bet not many.

14-02-2023, 12:44 PM
With some of the bizzare (technology assisted!) decisions witnessed this season its a wonder refs don't get more abuse.
Case in point being the brazen cheat that awarded Ross County's recent equaliser v Hibs. Any Hibs fans NOT giving that ******* dogs abuse should be in line for canonisation.

14-02-2023, 12:49 PM
It’s not surprising at all.

Read what some have to say about refs every game on here. It’s no wonder it spills out into actual abuse and violence.

There are plenty folk on here that are forever claiming refs are corrupt and biased without giving a single thought to the effect that has on the refs or their families.

14-02-2023, 01:02 PM
I used to know a referee who at the time refereed the Juniors and whatever incarnation the SPL reserve/under21 was at the time.

I asked if refereeing the Juniors was as scary as some stories would have you believe.

He said it was nothing compared to when he refereed youth football. He said the amount of abuse from the parents was unreal.

14-02-2023, 01:06 PM
It’s not surprising at all.

Read what some have to say about refs every game on here. It’s no wonder it spills out into actual abuse and violence.

There are plenty folk on here that are forever claiming refs are corrupt and biased without giving a single thought to the effect that has on the refs or their families.

Match fixing is a criminal offence. If you were calling someone out for being a burglar would you pause for thought about the repercussions for the burglar or their family?

14-02-2023, 01:35 PM
I used to know a referee who at the time refereed the Juniors and whatever incarnation the SPL reserve/under21 was at the time.

I asked if refereeing the Juniors was as scary as some stories would have you believe.

He said it was nothing compared to when he refereed youth football. He said the amount of abuse from the parents was unreal.

I’ve got a friend who referees women’s football and officiates at the women’s champions league and some men’s juniors games. Think her experience has been quite positive. She’s a good official, but also probably been helped by her Dad being a prominent official.

Her husband dipped his toe into refereeing. Did the courses and did some kids games for SPL clubs, he soon gave it up though. The abuse, mainly from the parents, just wasn’t worth the hassle.

14-02-2023, 01:58 PM
I was a serial moaner at referees when I played. Almost never abusive but I was in their ear from 1st whistle to last. The good refs would give a bit back, explain decisions and if I crossed a line they would make sure I knew I had done it, usually by telling me to 'shut the **** up'. I could take a telling so was rarely booked. I've met a few guys out and about who reffed me down the years and they'll have a laugh and a joke about it and take a slagging about dodgy decisions etc. You got the odd guy who spoke to you like a naughty schoolboy and carried an aloofness and they rarely got the respect the guys who would let a bit go and gave a bit back got. As I dropped down the levels you started to get the guys who were obviously just doing it for beer money for the weekends. No disrespect to them because without them there was no game but these were guys who barely left the centre circle and never got above walking pace for 90 minutes, there was no point moaning at them because they just didn't care.

There a pretty clear line though. Having a moan at the ref is part and parcel of the game and I think most people who get into refereeing expect and accept it to a point. Threatening violence or actually acting on it is a totally different ball game and there should be a zero tolerance approach. To go back to my previous point, without the ref there is no game. I'd make it a rule that only a coach can talk to the referee in all youth games. One instance of abuse form a parent should be a warning, happens again and it should be game abandoned with the offending team incurring a 3-0 loss. That happens a couple of times and clubs would soon get the message and make sure offending parents either behaved or were removed from the environment permanently.

Torto7
14-02-2023, 02:29 PM
Football culture gives me the boak in general. This doesn't surprise me at all. Some of the parents in kids football beggar belief.

14-02-2023, 02:38 PM
I went into kids football with a lot of enthusiasm, made an effort to learn good practice, good coaching principles and treating everyone I met with respect. It was all about continuous improvement, never just winning.

I left completely exhausted with the stress of dealing with complete bellend parents. A surprising amount of misogyny and racism seems to be tolerated too. I would consider reffing because I understand the importance of having a good one, but there would have to be a complete culture change which isn’t happening anytime soon.

Silky
14-02-2023, 02:47 PM
It's a sad indictment on society when folk actually think it's OK to be violent against a referee. Yes, decisions can be questionable at times and, indeed, downright baffling, but to actually lamp someone, or worse, for giving or not giving a penalty is just silly. My son plays under 12's and most of the refs are fine. There are one or two who make some strange decisions. But it's part of the game. Players and coaches make mistakes, and make wrong decisions. Nobody wants to see them after the game!

14-02-2023, 02:51 PM
Football culture gives me the boak in general. This doesn't surprise me at all. Some of the parents in kids football beggar belief.

Was at a kids 9th birthday football party where there was a round robin tournament. No ref so to stop it getting out of hand I got involved, more informally really. One of the kids got fouled innoculously, gave a free kick. Only for mother of the player fouled to shout he punch the boy who mistimed the challenge in the face. Its a kick about at a 9 year old's birthday party. Some of those parents need to have a long hard look at themselves.

My son and daughter aren't so bothered for football but they both practice taekwondo and have done for years. Much more physical than football, full combat and despite the fact they are kicking and punching opponents competitively there is absolutely no way a parent would behave like this in those classes or competitions. It's all about respect. You'd be asked immediately to leave, barred or (worse case scenario) knocked out in a matter of seconds if you threatened someone with physical violence. Football does seem to bring the worst out in some players, parents and fans at lower level when there isn't security or segregation in place and it's embarrassing.

14-02-2023, 03:08 PM
Match fixing is a criminal offence. If you were calling someone out for being a burglar would you pause for thought about the repercussions for the burglar or their family?

I wasn’t aware of a ref in Scotland being found guilty of this. When did it happen?

Mostly I just see fans moaning about corrupt refs following a defeat. It never gets mentioned when we win.

Point is, it all contributes to the abuse refs get and you should stop doing it.

14-02-2023, 03:11 PM
Some good points on here.

Hopefully you’ll be more understanding when decisions go against us in future or when discussing VAR.

Some of the chat on here about refs in Scotland is disgusting.

14-02-2023, 03:17 PM
Some good points on here.

Hopefully you’ll be more understanding when decisions go against us in future or when discussing VAR.

Some of the chat on here about refs in Scotland is disgusting.

I fully understand why some of them blatantly cheat and as a result it makes me hate them, doesn't mean I'm going to run onto a lower league pitch and knock out a ref or encourage anyone else to do the same

14-02-2023, 03:42 PM

Theft and burglary are criminal offences, would you accuse someone and make their lives hell without concrete evidence?

Torto7
14-02-2023, 04:00 PM
Was at a kids 9th birthday football party where there was a round robin tournament. No ref so to stop it getting out of hand I got involved, more informally really. One of the kids got fouled innoculously, gave a free kick. Only for mother of the player fouled to shout he punch the boy who mistimed the challenge in the face. Its a kick about at a 9 year old's birthday party. Some of those parents need to have a long hard look at themselves.

My son and daughter aren't so bothered for football but they both practice taekwondo and have done for years. Much more physical than football, full combat and despite the fact they are kicking and punching opponents competitively there is absolutely no way a parent would behave like this in those classes or competitions. It's all about respect. You'd be asked immediately to leave, barred or (worse case scenario) knocked out in a matter of seconds if you threatened someone with physical violence. Football does seem to bring the worst out in some players, parents and fans at lower level when there isn't security or segregation in place and it's embarrassing.

Exactly. Football encourages ****ty behaviour, its a culture issue. Look at the way players all crowd around refs.

Torto7
14-02-2023, 04:03 PM
I went into kids football with a lot of enthusiasm, made an effort to learn good practice, good coaching principles and treating everyone I met with respect. It was all about continuous improvement, never just winning.

I left completely exhausted with the stress of dealing with complete bellend parents. A surprising amount of misogyny and racism seems to be tolerated too. I would consider reffing because I understand the importance of having a good one, but there would have to be a complete culture change which isn’t happening anytime soon.

I don't blame you mate. Its a shame we lose so many good people who want to help the game like you.

14-02-2023, 04:46 PM
The SFA wont be able to respond to this report as they will make themselves look like idiots.

There are a massive number of these Grade 1 guys reffing the Premiership from associations in Glasgow and the West of Scotland.

We all know that, even unconsciously, that creates bias as many of them grew up supporting huns and tic.

Add that to the sectarian bile that emerges from (primarily) those two clubs which also places refs under pressure.

Maybe - crazy idea, I know - they could promote refs from the East of Scotland who are less impacted by this stuff?

Until the SFA deal with their own nonsense, any crap they come out with relating to this report can be filed in the bin.

14-02-2023, 05:45 PM
Football needs to change from the top down. The top leagues need to impose tough as **** sanctions on players who swear, dive, scream abuse or show disrespect towards the match officials.

If a team crowds the ref every one of them should be yellow carded and if it happens again red carded. Actual changes to the game at the top level will filter through eventually.

I’ve banged on about this before but they need to take a leaf or 3 out of rugbys book and look at the way players and match officials conduct themselves.

14-02-2023, 07:07 PM
i know i've said it before but when you get several players in the top league surrounding referees to remonstrate it's no surprise whatsoever the lack of respect shown to referees in other leagues further down the chain, in Rugby the captain is called by the referee to explain decisions, any back chat and they're moved back 10 yards, i think it is, now the top league has Var there's absolutely no need for overpaid footballers trying to put pressure on the referee to see things their way, it's really not a good look a lot of times

14-02-2023, 07:08 PM
Football needs to change from the top down. The top leagues need to impose tough as **** sanctions on players who swear, dive, scream abuse or show disrespect towards the match officials.

If a team crowds the ref every one of them should be yellow carded and if it happens again red carded. Actual changes to the game at the top level will filter through eventually.

I’ve banged on about this before but they need to take a leaf or 3 out of rugbys book and look at the way players and match officials conduct themselves.

Yeah but there's a culture divide and it's no use denying it.

Donegal Hibby
15-02-2023, 11:16 AM
No referee's should be threatened or hit with objects even the abuse side of it isn't nice but maybe if there was better refereeing going on in the game the abuse would be significantly less than it is now which would be great for not only referee's but fans to.

If referee's are getting abuse then it's a problem that needs sorted though it's not the only problem needing fixed on the the refereeing side of the game . Take Hibs this year how many awfully wrong decision's have went against us this year alone and yet other teams are getting penalties galore and clear cut decision's not giving against them .

Is it a case of referee's not being very good at there job in which they shouldn't be doing it or something more sinister in our game which brings us to Nick Walsh and John Beaton again . Nick Walsh has a association with sevco which can't be denied and yet gets to ref and do VAR in there games against other teams. Beaton was supposedly drinking in a Hun pub after a old firm game with Hun fans . This was never really investigated probably which it should have been. He did give sevco a last minute penalty against us at ER were he was seen laughing pointing to the spot in what was a dubious penalty which didn't imo show that he was neutral.

I will own up and admit if I had been at Ibrox ( handball not given) , Dingwall GBH on Marshall for there goal , I would have most definitely have been hurling abuse at the officials for these decisions . I'm not condoning abuse of referee's or official's though at times they bring it on themselves too

15-02-2023, 11:33 AM
Yeah but there's a culture divide and it's no use denying it.

You can still change the game.

Because footballs a working class sport it's incapable of change?

15-02-2023, 12:58 PM

Exactly - they have no excuse and the governing body should be taking the lead.

Bam culture doesn’t do Scottish football any favours.

SickBoy32
15-02-2023, 01:55 PM
Scotland would be a better place with more Douglas Ross banners, not less

The refs and their undeniable cheating tendencies brings a lot of the hassle on themselves

Nobody would condone violence of course but their corruption should always be called out

15-02-2023, 03:24 PM
Scotland would be a better place with more Douglas Ross banners, not less

The refs and their undeniable cheating tendencies brings a lot of the hassle on themselves

Nobody would condone violence of course but their corruption should always be called out

Decades the corruption angle has been touted and not one single shred of evidence that referees are corrupt in this country has ever come to light.

Incompetent? Thats a different story.

OstKurve Hibs
15-02-2023, 03:30 PM
Decades the corruption angle has been touted and not one single shred of evidence that referees are corrupt in this country has ever come to light.

Because theres never been an investigation, shock horror ! Its blatantly obvious the cheating that goes on in scotland by match officials, proving it is the hard part.
Only having refs from the west coast for a start lol, that's a form of cheating in itself, they're only gonna support one of two clubs.

15-02-2023, 03:39 PM
Because theres never been an investigation, shock horror ! Its blatantly obvious the cheating that goes on in scotland by match officials, proving it is the hard part.
Only having refs from the west coast for a start lol, that's a form of cheating in itself, they're only gonna support one of two clubs.

There's lots of clubs in the west of Scotland that they might support.

If there was cause for concern there would have been an investigation. Referees, though handsomely paid for the job they do, are still only part time. If we are serious about referee improvement they should be offered full time contracts to train as referees as their actual job. Any who don't get demoted.

If you want to attract people in to what is a profession, not just a part time job, then you need to pay them, give them contracts and train them.

Bobby Madden was one of these West Coast referees we talk about so much, and he was corrupt he went to the English system because they treat it as a job rather than a weekend activity.

SickBoy32
15-02-2023, 03:45 PM

😂😂😂

I despair if you actually believe that

15-02-2023, 03:55 PM
Not an easy job refereeing,much harder to do on a public park. The parents and others on the sidelines who shout abuse need to remember that without a ref there is no game.My dad once sent off two subs and two committee members of a team who were shouting abuse at him and told them if they didn't move away from the vicinity of the pitch he would abandon the game. By the way The guys who were shouting abuse were leading 5 nil at the time.

15-02-2023, 03:59 PM
Refs at the top level continue to make countless mistakes despite having replays from a dozen angles. Incompetent, arrogant fools.

Refs at grassroots level obviously quite different. Not the same experience or resources. Deserve some protection and genuine bans for players/punters who abuse them.

15-02-2023, 03:59 PM
Don't see the point in producing a report, as they are awe ****in blind anyway.

PHeffernan
15-02-2023, 05:03 PM

There has never been an investigation because there has never been a complaint and If it was as blatant and as obvious as you say it is it would have resulted in numerous complaints.
I take it you know who all the referees are and where they all come from or is that just another myth.
Any referee corruption throughout the world has always been about money not about bias, Scotland would be no different.

SickBoy32
15-02-2023, 05:15 PM
There has never been an investigation because there has never been a complaint and If it was as blatant and as obvious as you say it is it would have resulted in numerous complaints.
I take it you know who all the referees are and where they all come from or is that just another myth.
Any referee corruption throughout the world has always been about money not about bias, Scotland would be no different.

Interested to hear your view of the sevco penalty stats? Or how it appears that goldson can play the ball repeatedly with literally any part of his body ?

There are some refs, not all, at the elite level who are 100% cheats - and I really struggle to see how this is even up for debate !!

Donegal Hibby
15-02-2023, 08:38 PM
Wonder will Celtic ( not that I care for them either) kick up about this and some think there's no cheating and corruption in the game!:rolleyes: .
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10226293/rangers-celtic-referee-var-viaplay-cup-final/

Ron D Hibbie
15-02-2023, 09:36 PM
Hope everybodys on there best behaviour on sat as our friend mr Beaton is ref against killie. 🙄🙄

Donegal Hibby
15-02-2023, 09:43 PM
Hope everybodys on there best behaviour on sat as our friend mr Beaton is ref against killie. 🙄🙄
That is not good news at all ☹️

PHeffernan
15-02-2023, 10:21 PM
Interested to hear your view of the sevco penalty stats? Or how it appears that goldson can play the ball repeatedly with literally any part of his body ?

There are some refs, not all, at the elite level who are 100% cheats - and I really struggle to see how this is even up for debate !!

The stats are the stats but on their own they neither prove nor disprove any wrong doing by match officials.
Accusations without credible evidence is the bastion of the babbler.

SickBoy32
16-02-2023, 06:04 AM
The stats are the stats but on their own they neither prove nor disprove any wrong doing by match officials.

Aye I suppose if you ignore all the credible evidence then I’m just babbling

There are none so blind as those who will not see

16-02-2023, 06:07 AM

Oh dear, you remind me of another poster. The ‘bastion of the babbler’ is about the pompous thing I’ve ever read on here. And it doesn’t even make grammatical sense. Always a good idea to do if you’re going down the pompous route.

To be clear, there is plenty of credible EVIDENCE of ‘wrong doing’by officials , there is just no copper bottomed PROOF. This would require journalists and a sting operation, or in other words, people who had nothing to lose from exposing it. And of course, if the motive here is simply obtaining a favourable result for your favourite team, there may never be actual proof of anything.

16-02-2023, 06:31 AM
Wonder will Celtic ( not that I care for them either) kick up about this and some think there's no cheating and corruption in the game!:rolleyes: .
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10226293/rangers-celtic-referee-var-viaplay-cup-final/

Someone should really do a bit of digging and exposing of Nick Walsh’s other job.

16-02-2023, 06:37 AM
Oh dear, you remind me of another poster. The ‘bastion of the babbler’ is about the pompous thing I’ve ever read on here. And it doesn’t even make grammatical sense. Always a good idea to do if you’re going down the pompous route.

To be clear, there is plenty of credible EVIDENCE of ‘wrong doing’by officials , there is just no copper bottomed PROOF. This would require journalists and a sting operation, or in other words, people who had nothing to lose from exposing it. And of course, if the motive here is simply obtaining a favourable result for your favourite team, there may never be actual proof of anything.

Is it wrong doing or is it just being really **** at your job?

16-02-2023, 06:52 AM
Is it wrong doing or is it just being really **** at your job?

Like I said, it might be there isn’t any proof out there. Certainly I haven’t got any. Calciopolli in Italy was uncovered by wire taps, after years of fans complaining about the top clubs (but usually Juve) getting all the big decisions at the big times, and of course the fans were 100% right, why wouldn’t they be? They watch a lot of it) but Italy is apparently the most tapped country on Earth.

Silky
16-02-2023, 07:42 AM

Ahh, Brother Beaton. What could possibly go wrong??

Silky
16-02-2023, 08:24 AM

That's shocking. Walsh's day job teaching Rangers youngsters is widely known. But to top it off with Brother Beaton on VAR as well. That's just plain dodgy! Think I might put a bet on that one!

16-02-2023, 09:43 AM
I am not a big fan of rugby ref Wayne "me me" Barnes but here's how to deal with verbal abuse from players.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ft4UeODKNDo

16-02-2023, 09:59 AM
������

I despair if you actually believe that

I do believe. Thats why I said it.

Don't you think if referees were corrupt some evidence would have come to light?

Messages? Payments? Photographs of meetings?

Theres been nothing. Ever.

I think our refs are *****, thats all. Just really not at all good at being referees.

16-02-2023, 10:04 AM
I am not a big fan of rugby ref Wayne "me me" Barnes but here's how to deal with verbal abuse from players.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ft4UeODKNDo

Interesting that a lot of the complaints here are referees being aloof and condescending to the players, yet that clip has massive school boy, headteacher vibes to it.

Maybe because rugby is a private school thing?!

Stonewall
16-02-2023, 10:30 AM
Interesting that a lot of the complaints here are referees being aloof and condescending to the players, yet that clip has massive school boy, headteacher vibes to it.

I literally have no idea what your point is, if it's not that Wayne Barnes is a bit of a prat.

SickBoy32
16-02-2023, 10:36 AM
I do believe. Thats why I said it.

Don't you think if referees were corrupt some evidence would have come to light?

Messages? Payments? Photographs of meetings?

Theres been nothing. Ever.

I think our refs are *****, thats all. Just really not at all good at being referees.

Whose going to leak the messages and payments? The ref / club in question are hardly going to incriminate themselves - and not sure who else would have visibility of this, unless we start tapping phones?!

There is PLENTY of evidence on the park, going back decades, incompetency just doesn't wash - especially in the VAR era

Was the recent pen at ibrox vs thistle just an honest mistake? :rolleyes:

16-02-2023, 10:51 AM
I literally have no idea what your point is, if it's not that Wayne Barnes is a bit of a prat.

Almost all of the referees in that clip are aloof and condescending. Yet referees in rugby, usually get treated well.

Yet above we have examples of people saying that referees in football who are aloof and condescending get more abuse.

It seems to me therefore there must be a mentality difference between those who play the two sports and inwonder if this is in part, down to the schooling of those who play each game.

16-02-2023, 11:11 AM
Almost all of the referees in that clip are aloof and condescending. Yet referees in rugby, usually get treated well.

Yet above we have examples of people saying that referees in football who are aloof and condescending get more abuse.

It seems to me therefore there must be a mentality difference between those who play the two sports and inwonder if this is in part, down to the schooling of those who play each game.

Its because there are minimal consequences for players who behave like thugs in football. Occasional yellow cards are not doing the job.

16-02-2023, 11:12 AM

Dearie Me.

Tell that to Finn Russell.

16-02-2023, 11:12 AM
Whose going to leak the messages and payments? The ref / club in question are hardly going to incriminate themselves - and not sure who else would have visibility of this, unless we start tapping phones?!

There is PLENTY of evidence on the park, going back decades, incompetency just doesn't wash - especially in the VAR era

Was the recent pen at ibrox vs thistle just an honest mistake? :rolleyes:

Secrets come out, whistleblowers, journalists investigating etc etc. Happens everywhere.

16-02-2023, 11:44 AM
Secrets come out, whistleblowers, journalists investigating etc etc. Happens everywhere.Like the referee post retirement who said he was proud that Rangers never lost a game when he reffed them at Ibrox, can't remember his name.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

SickBoy32
16-02-2023, 12:13 PM
Secrets come out, whistleblowers, journalists investigating etc etc. Happens everywhere.

The journalists in this country are a huge part of the issue with Scottish football, expecting Keith Jackson etc to investigate this issue is a crazy shout imo

Again - the refs / club in question will not blow the whistle on their own wrongdoing?!

No thoughts on the hun pen last week either nah?

PHeffernan
16-02-2023, 12:59 PM

There has never been credible evidence of referee corruption in Scotland in the modern age.
This is despite the Glasgow pairs supporters 24/7 obsession with each other and their constant referee conspiracy theories.
Every referee corruption case in the World has always had money at it's root. Scotland would be no different.

Referees who supported a team are just the same as a player who supported Hibs playing against them for another team. In both cases it's about professional pride and integrity with both doing their chosen job to the best of their ability.

16-02-2023, 01:11 PM
There has never been credible evidence of referee corruption in Scotland in the modern age.
This is despite the Glasgow pairs supporters 24/7 obsession with each other and their constant referee conspiracy theories.
Every referee corruption case in the World has always had money at it's root. Scotland would be no different.

Referees who supported a team are just the same as a player who supported Hibs playing against them for another team. In both cases it's about professional pride and integrity with both doing their chosen job to the best of their ability.

Again, you are confusing Evidence and Proof. There isn’t much point discussing this further until you get the difference.

PHeffernan
16-02-2023, 01:42 PM
Again, you are confusing Evidence and Proof. There isn’t much point discussing this further until you get the difference.

Thanks for trumping me in the pompous stakes.
I fully understand what evidence and proof are.
What is your evidence?

16-02-2023, 01:42 PM
The journalists in this country are a huge part of the issue with Scottish football, expecting Keith Jackson etc to investigate this issue is a crazy shout imo

Again - the refs / club in question will not blow the whistle on their own wrongdoing?!

No thoughts on the hun pen last week either nah?

I didn't see it.

In the interest of balance, the penalty Partick got in their game against Rangers was a joke of a decision imo. I'd be fuming if that was given against Hibs.

I've seen the Goldson hand balls that should have been penalties as well, very similar to the decision given against them.

Hearts had a similar penalty not given against them as well.

Are you getting the theme here?

The one constant in all these incidents are ***** referees.

Keith Jackson is a well known hun and ******, there are literally hundreds of other journalists.

16-02-2023, 01:59 PM
I didn't see it.

In the interest of balance, the penalty Partick got in their game against Rangers was a joke of a decision imo. I'd be fuming if that was given against Hibs.

I've seen the Goldson hand balls that should have been penalties as well, very similar to the decision given against them.

Hearts had a similar penalty not given against them as well.

Are you getting the theme here?

The one constant in all these incidents are ***** referees.

Keith Jackson is a well known hun and ******, there are literally hundreds of other journalists.

Did you not read about how many journalists were only too willing to pander to Rangers during the succulent lamb years? Nothing has changed as far as I can see. Only journalist I can think of who had the backbone to call them out has been Spiers who was of course then blackballed.

16-02-2023, 02:04 PM
Did you not read about how many journalists were only too willing to pander to Rangers during the succulent lamb years? Nothing has changed as far as I can see. Only journalist I can think of who had the backbone to call them out has been Spiers who was of course then blackballed.

That was a David Murray thing was it not?

It was a bit before my time.

Now I'm in a position where I feel like I'm defending Rangers and journalists I can't stand, which is not exactly somewhere I want to be.

hhibs
16-02-2023, 03:09 PM
As far as I am concerned both referees and BBC deserve all the dogs abuse that can be put upon them IMHO

16-02-2023, 04:10 PM

He has eyes that's credible enough evidence

20-02-2023, 03:13 PM
Interesting for the penalty statistic enthusiasts out there that Livi, Aberdeen and Hearts have all had more penalties given for them this season than Rangers, Celtic and Hibs have had 3 each, joint second lowest in the league.

West coast refs eh?

20-02-2023, 03:33 PM
Interesting for the penalty statistic enthusiasts out there that Livi, Aberdeen and Hearts have all had more penalties given for them this season than Rangers, Celtic and Hibs have had 3 each, joint second lowest in the league.

West coast refs eh?

Rangers have had 7 penalties given to them, 2 less than Aberdeen and 1 less than the others, hardly the stat you are trying to make it out to be in all honesty

20-02-2023, 04:11 PM
I don't understand why grown men who play stuff like Sunday League take it so seriously. Why do they carry on like it's Champions League football? It should be a laugh with pals.

20-02-2023, 04:53 PM
Rangers have had 7 penalties given to them, 2 less than Aberdeen and 1 less than the others, hardly the stat you are trying to make it out to be in all honesty

The way it was being painted was as though rangers were way out in front of everyone else and that there’s some sort of west coast bias.

The three teams who have been given the most pens this season have been east coast.

It’s just an observation.

20-02-2023, 06:23 PM

Whats, the stats over the last 3 years as a few months is not very representative eh!
A hun is a hun is a hun, always.

20-02-2023, 07:37 PM
The way it was being painted was as though rangers were way out in front of everyone else and that there’s some sort of west coast bias.

The three teams who have been given the most pens this season have been east coast.

It’s just an observation.

The Rangers captain even has the word penalty in his double barrelled name. James Tavernier-Penalty. :greengrin