View Full Version : Most disliked Hibs players

Edina Street
13-02-2023, 07:40 PM
I have been a member of Hibs.net long enough to gather that Gary Caldwell and Kevin Thomson are disliked by many. Even one of my boyhood idols Andy Goram came in for a lot of criticism in the Andy Goram thread. I personally can't say I dislike any of them.

I did for a while have reservations regarding Derek Riordan and his almost public spat with John Hughes, which I believed was detrimental to team performance, and I chose to take John Hughes's side. I had similar reservations with the invincible Rob Jones when he allegedly lead a player revolt against another of my boyhood idols John Collins. I even temporarily had reservations with undisputed Hibs legend Pat Stanton when I learned that he did not get on with Eddie Turnbull whom I hold in even greater esteem. So it seems if there is ever a fall out between a player and a manager I will usually side with the manager. But, I still can't say I dislike any of the above mentioned.

I was even at Ibrox for the Ivan Sproule hat-trick and personally witnessed Ian Murray give us the one finger salute at the end of the game. I still can't say that made me dislike him.

If there was a Hibs player I did dislike, then it would have to be Martin Scott for seriously assaulting Sean Welsh, and leaving the lad on the sidelines for eight weeks with a fractured cheekbone.

However it would be interesting to hear which Hibs players you actually "dislike" and your reasoning for it.

13-02-2023, 07:43 PM
Have you heard Kevin Thomson co-commentating? That sealed the deal for me.

13-02-2023, 07:44 PM
Owain Tudur Jones.

That 'tackle' in the Hamilton play off still makes me angry.

Donegal Hibby
13-02-2023, 07:47 PM
Florian Kamberi for me with his rotten attitude and comments about sevco which was quite sickening at the time . I was glad we got shot of him.

13-02-2023, 07:49 PM
Andy Walker.

13-02-2023, 07:52 PM
Michael Stewart

Bad guy Good guy now back to Bad Guy again

Hearts have goat Celtic next round so hopefully we won’t have to suffer his fawning over the maroon balloons much longer

13-02-2023, 07:53 PM
Simon Brown

13-02-2023, 07:56 PM
Andy Walker.
Clueless.

13-02-2023, 07:56 PM
Matt Doherty

13-02-2023, 07:59 PM
Not a player but the mention of him gets my hackles up - Terry Butcher (my hackles are now up)

13-02-2023, 08:01 PM
Sylvester Jasper. Never seen a player down tools like he did at Dens last season.

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-02-2023, 08:03 PM
Matt Doherty can away and take a flying **** to himself, ****

Edina Street
13-02-2023, 08:04 PM
Florian Kamberi for me with his rotten attitude and comments about sevco which was quite sickening at the time . I was glad we got shot of him.

Yes. I should have mentioned him in my OP along with Derek Riordan, Rob Jones and Pat Stanton.

I have reservations with Florian for slightly different reasons, with my reasons being his part in Neil Lennon leaving Hibs.

Edina Street
13-02-2023, 08:06 PM
Matt Doherty

Good call.

13-02-2023, 08:11 PM
Philippe Morias. Could never take to him for some reason. Didn’t hate him just a great dislike.

13-02-2023, 08:12 PM
I could never take to Garry O’Connor, I’ve no idea why I just did not like him.

13-02-2023, 08:14 PM
Thierry Gathuessi. A crap,lazy liability. Matt Doherty a close 2nd

Paulie Walnuts
13-02-2023, 08:14 PM
Sylvester Jasper. Never seen a player down tools like he did at Dens last season.

A truly god awful player.

13-02-2023, 08:15 PM
John Rankin and Colin Nish.
Irrational and no wish to defend myself. Just found them annoying.

13-02-2023, 08:15 PM
Thierry Gathuessi. A crap,lazy liability. Matt Doherty a close 2nd

Gathuessi did score against Celtic tbf.

13-02-2023, 08:17 PM
Matt Doherty and Kevin Thomson. Kamberi a close third after his comments when joining Rangers.

Zibi Malkowski is bar none the worst player I have ever seen for us but wouldn't say I dislike him, he just could not cope under pressure which isn't really his fault.

13-02-2023, 08:17 PM
Michael Nelson - a true huddy of a player

13-02-2023, 08:19 PM
I took a real dislike to Stevie Crawford, more than could be justified.

Scott Allan in his first spell used to annoy the hell out of me for costing us possession trying to hit a sublime pass that went astray, when there was an equally effectve simpler pass. He seemed to cut that side out when he returned, still made the sublime passes but with a higher completion rate and also played the simpler ones. I reckon Lewis Stevenson had probably took him aside and had a quiet word.

Edina Street
13-02-2023, 08:24 PM

Garry O'Connor broke my heart when he left for Lokomotiv Moscow. I was proud of him though when he donated his signing on fee to Hibernian. However my heart was broken again when it was pointed out to me that this was a tax scam. I refused to believe it at first, just like I once refused to believe that Puff the Magic Dragon was anything other than a friendly dragon that lived by the sea, but slowly I began to accept it. Then we resigned him and allegedly he was bragging that he was away to Rangers at the end of the season, he could not even out run a police officer, but I was hardened to him by now. Funnily enough though, I still can't say I dislike him. I just wish Hibernian were able to keep players like him.

EricM
13-02-2023, 08:25 PM
Paul Hartley

Remember him being a nobody when he played for us then being frustratingly good when he was at Hearts and Celtic

I’ve also just remembered him goading the hibs away support when he scored a penalty for Aberdeen, that’s just sealed it for me

13-02-2023, 08:27 PM
Paul Hartley

Booked whilst still a sub lol

1875Sean
13-02-2023, 08:28 PM
Paul Hartley

Agreed, rat face pr1ck

DJ HIBBY
13-02-2023, 08:28 PM
Surprised Joe Newell hasn’t mentioned yet 😂

13-02-2023, 08:30 PM

Jason Cummings, never took to him at all

Surprised Joe Newell hasn’t mentioned yet 😂

We all love Joe, don’t be silly.
Socrates had better hair but only just.

DJ HIBBY
Pretty much most of Duff Jimmys signings for me.

leftpeg
13-02-2023, 08:31 PM
Andy Walker.
Clueless.Absolutely,missed a barrowload of chances the year we got relegated

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

Edina Street
13-02-2023, 08:32 PM
I took a real dislike to Stevie Crawford, more than could be justified.

Scott Allan in his first spell used to annoy the hell out of me for costing us possession trying to hit a sublime pass that went astray, when there was an equally effectve simpler pass. He seemed to cut that side out when he returned, still made the sublime passes but with a higher completion rate and also played the simpler ones. I reckon Lewis Stevenson had probably took him aside and had a quiet word.

Stevie Crawford would have been handy to have around when we lost Kenny Miller.

heidtheba
13-02-2023, 08:34 PM
The goalie in the Motherwell 6-6 game.

13-02-2023, 08:35 PM
Jeez, I love a good positive hibs.net discussion.
ffs.

Forgot about Liam Craig.

Never liked Ihun Murray, cant believe he ever warranted a testimonial. I did laugh though when all his fans turned up for it. :faf:

Of this lot, i am finding it really hard to like Ewan Henderson.

Edina Street
13-02-2023, 08:37 PM
Paul Hartley

Remember him being a nobody when he played for us then being frustratingly good when he was at Hearts and Celtic

I’ve also just remembered him goading the hibs away support when he scored a penalty for Aberdeen, that’s just sealed it for me

I don't dislike Paul Hartley. I just wish that it was Alex McLeish that had the vision to see his potential in a more central midfield position. Alex McLeish was not perfect.

DJ HIBBY
13-02-2023, 08:38 PM
The goalie in the Motherwell 6-6 game.

Graeme Smith

Edina Street
13-02-2023, 08:40 PM
Jason Cummings, never took to him at all

I think he left Hibs too soon. I would have liked to have seen him prove himself with Hibs in the SPL first.

13-02-2023, 08:42 PM
I have been a member of Hibs.net long enough to gather that Gary Caldwell and Kevin Thomson are disliked by many. Even one of my boyhood idols Andy Goram came in for a lot of criticism in the Andy Goram thread. I personally can't say I dislike any of them.

I did for a while have reservations regarding Derek Riordan and his almost public spat with John Hughes, which I believed was detrimental to team performance, and I chose to take John Hughes's side. I had similar reservations with the invincible Rob Jones when he allegedly lead a player revolt against another of my boyhood idols John Collins. I even temporarily had reservations with undisputed Hibs legend Pat Stanton when I learned that he did not get on with Eddie Turnbull whom I hold in even greater esteem. So it seems if there is ever a fall out between a player and a manager I will usually side with the manager. But, I still can't say I dislike any of the above mentioned.

I was even at Ibrox for the Ivan Sproule hat-trick and personally witnessed Ian Murray give us the one finger salute at the end of the game. I still can't say that made me dislike him.

If there was a Hibs player I did dislike, then it would have to be Martin Scott for seriously assaulting Sean Welsh, and leaving the lad on the sidelines for eight weeks with a fractured cheekbone.

However it would be interesting to hear which Hibs players you actually "dislike" and your reasoning for it.

i thought there was gonna be a modern twist on this recurring thread - the Hibees other teams love to hate… so on a more positive spin…

Derek Riordan
Leigh Griffiths
Darren Jackson
Ryan Porteous

thats better… down with the self loathing…

LewysGot2
13-02-2023, 08:47 PM
Some obvious ones - Doherty being right up there and Kevin Broken Glass M8 likewise who, if he were chocolate, would eat himself.

Poor Rankin, Nish and Craig getting it from folk for probably no reason other than their mediocrity :greengrin

Hartley was a weasel at us but sadly went on to a pretty decent career, to be fair.

Derek Rodier anyone. :confused::greengrin

13-02-2023, 08:48 PM
Actually quite liked Paul Harley at Hibs. Just struggled to get in to a really good side.

13-02-2023, 08:49 PM
Actually quite liked Paul Harley at Hibs. Just struggled to get in to a really good side.

He scored a cracker against Dunfermline. He was a bit lightweight.

13-02-2023, 08:54 PM
Rowan Vine - never a footballer

GRA
13-02-2023, 09:13 PM
When we got rid of two decent defensive midfielders and signed Josh Vela... Closely followed by Fraser Mullen.

Edina Street
13-02-2023, 09:15 PM

I felt the same about both Rowan Vine and James Collins. I actually believe that it was James Collins whom ultimately lead to Pat Fenlon resigning. Had Leigh Griffiths been playing when the Aberdeen goalkeeper fell on his backside at Easter Road on 26/10/2013 and passed the ball straight to him he would simply pass the ball into the empty net with his left foot for 1-1, but not James Collins. He first had to control the ball with his left foot, then switch it to his right foot, and then try and curl the ball around the keeper from an impossible position. Instead, we went on to lose 2-0 and I am pretty sure Pat Fenlon pretty much resigned straight after that game.

However as people I still can't say I disliked them.

13-02-2023, 09:21 PM
Tudor Jones was the worst. Poundland Bale more interested in golf than football.

13-02-2023, 09:29 PM
Surprised no one has mentioned Pa Kujabi yet…

13-02-2023, 09:29 PM
Hate is a strong word, dislike maybe.

Thomson for his broken glass comments and latterly his Hun love in when commentating.

Kamberi for all the bloody step overs thinking he was Ronaldo and his comments when he went to the Hun.

Craig for all the pointing instead of just being a better player

Rowan Vine and Tudor Jones for basically just being ***** players.

13-02-2023, 09:32 PM
The vast majority of the 2013/14 team.

13-02-2023, 09:33 PM
Oh I forgot about Jamie McQuilken! Hateful attitude and shocking player and really didn't like playing for Hibs

Green Reaper
13-02-2023, 09:36 PM
Ray Wilkins, still boils my blood.

Shefki kujki (sp?) has to be one of our worst signings

heidtheba
13-02-2023, 09:41 PM
Oh I forgot about Jamie McQuilken! Hateful attitude and shocking player and really didn't like playing for Hibs

Didn't we sell Crunchie to bring in him and some guy (Elliot was in his name?)

Malonga's Cat
13-02-2023, 09:53 PM
The vast majority of the 2013/14 team.

Absolutely this. So many complete charlatans. Makes Ian Gordon's recruitment look pretty good.

13-02-2023, 10:07 PM
I find it hard not to like anyone bleesed enough to pull on our jersey. That said. Ryan McGivern.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

13-02-2023, 10:09 PM
Didn't we sell Crunchie to bring in him and some guy (Elliot was in his name?)

David Elliot?

That was really an awful team, with Andy Dow and many others I can't bear to think about

13-02-2023, 10:16 PM
Surprised I'm the first to mention David Beaumont.

stu in nottingham
13-02-2023, 10:33 PM
Going back a bit, struggled with Joe Harper.

DetroitHibs
13-02-2023, 10:37 PM
Brian Hamilton. Useless prick.

13-02-2023, 10:41 PM
I really dislike Glenn Middleton for some reason.

Paul1642
13-02-2023, 10:42 PM
i thought there was gonna be a modern twist on this recurring thread - the Hibees other teams love to hate… so on a more positive spin…

Derek Riordan
Leigh Griffiths
Darren Jackson
Ryan Porteous

thats better… down with the self loathing…

Whilst I don’t hate him Derek Riordan frustrates the hell out of me. He had more natural talent in one bone than most SPL footballers have in their whole body and done nothing with it.

He should have been the best Scottish player for a generation IMO but unfortunately didn’t have the professionalism or work effort to match his ability and ended up with one SPL winners medal / Scottish cup medal as a Celtic benchwarmer and 3 Scotland caps to show for his career.

Lee Griffiths didn’t also didn’t make as much of hiscareer as he could have but gave it a much better shot than Riordan did.

13-02-2023, 11:05 PM
This - while he was part of the 91 cup winning side, he besmirched that honour by defecting to the Jambos and coming out with some pish in the press about rather being a postie than play for Hibs. I remember tearing his image out of the Hibs calendar and ceremonially burning it in the ashtray such was my ire at the prick!

13-02-2023, 11:09 PM
Ray Wilkins

This is the only Hibs player I've actively disliked. The rest can't help being pash, Wilkins was just a total welt.

13-02-2023, 11:09 PM
I don't hate anyone who played for Hibs. That's a strong word which has lost its force down the years due to overuse.
I didn't much like the players who took us down in that ghastly match against Hamilton. Butcher got the blame but they really were a feckless bunch.

MagicSwirlingShip
13-02-2023, 11:25 PM
Paul Tosh.

13-02-2023, 11:36 PM
This is the only Hibs player I've actively disliked. The rest can't help being pash, Wilkins was just a total welt.

He was too old when he came to us. Played 16 times for us but didn't play many games after that. If our current recruitment team signed such a player it would be carnage on here.

I have some sympathy for players like Wilkins or Kuqi or Johansson. They don't want to stop but their time has come - at least at our level. We shouldn't sign them.

Anyway, Wilkins holds legendary status at some big clubs and his passing was well respected. He wasn't the player for us but may he rest peace all the same.

The Baldmans Comb
14-02-2023, 12:19 AM
Whilst I don’t hate him Derek Riordan frustrates the hell out of me. He had more natural talent in one bone than most SPL footballers have in their whole body and done nothing with it.

He should have been the best Scottish player for a generation IMO but unfortunately didn’t have the professionalism or work effort to match his ability and ended up with one SPL winners medal / Scottish cup medal as a Celtic benchwarmer and 3 Scotland caps to show for his career.

Lee Griffiths didn’t also didn’t make as much of hiscareer as he could have but gave it a much better shot than Riordan did.

7 SPL titles, 3 Scottish Cup Winners medals and 4 League Cup winners medals would kind of suggest Leigh's career was more of a different stratosphere to Riordans.��

Where did it all go wrong.?

Auckland Hibs
14-02-2023, 12:33 AM
He was too old when he came to us. Played 16 times for us but didn't play many games after that. If our current recruitment team signed such a player it would be carnage on here.

I have some sympathy for players like Wilkins or Kuqi or Johansson. They don't want to stop but their time has come - at least at our level. We shouldn't sign them.

Anyway, Wilkins holds legendary status at some big clubs and his passing was well respected. He wasn't the player for us but may he rest peace all the same.

Wilkins was supposedly a really nice guy, I heard from a few players at the time that he couldn't do enough to assist the younger guys in the dressing room. When he left ER he gave them all his mobile and said that he'd always be on the end of the line if they needed any help on or off the field.

It wasn't his fault his legs had gone when we brought him to ER.

s2hart
14-02-2023, 01:05 AM
This - while he was part of the 91 cup winning side, he besmirched that honour by defecting to the Jambos and coming out with some pish in the press about rather being a postie than play for Hibs. I remember tearing his image out of the Hibs calendar and ceremonially burning it in the ashtray such was my ire at the prick!

Hamilton was my number one thought when I read this thread.

On a side note, I'm trying to think the last player our filthy neighbours signed that (previously or directly) played for us. We've certainly signed a few in the past few years that have had history with them, including the current manager.

Hamilton was before Darren Jackson, surely must be one more recent.

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-02-2023, 01:58 AM
Hamilton was my number one thought when I read this thread.

On a side note, I'm trying to think the last player our filthy neighbours signed that (previously or directly) played for us. We've certainly signed a few in the past few years that have had history with them, including the current manager.

Hamilton was before Darren Jackson, surely must be one more recent.

Michael Stewart

Edina Street
14-02-2023, 04:58 AM

He done a lot of unseen work, according to Alex Miller.

Edina Street
14-02-2023, 05:04 AM
Ray Wilkins, still boils my blood.

Shefki kujki (sp?) has to be one of our worst signings

Can't blame Wilkins for being too old, though I think it was inappropriate that he went over and applauded the Rangers fans at the end of a 0-7 thrashing at Ibrox, but I am sure he still tried his hardest for Hibs during the game.

P.S

I was not at Ibrox for the 0-7, thank goodness, so apologies if Ray Wilkins did not applaud the Rangers fans after the final whistle. It is second hand information.

14-02-2023, 05:30 AM
I really dislike Glenn Middleton for some reason.

Same.

14-02-2023, 05:30 AM
Same.

Thirded. Wee weirdo. Absolutely gash for us. Plays against us like it's the world cup final.

Edina Street
14-02-2023, 05:31 AM
Going back a bit, struggled with Joe Harper.

I was still dead during Joe Harper's days, so don't know much about it. But I did read in a Hibs book that Eddie Turnbull's decision to sign Joe Harper puzzled many Hibs fans that were already in love with Jimmy O'Rourke, whom got relegated to the bench, with many Hibs fans arguing that Jimmy O'Rourke was the more prolific goalscorer.

Bridge hibs
14-02-2023, 05:50 AM
Kris Commons, delighted when we signed him but like Andy Walker, just seemed to have a dislike for us when he left, pricks

14-02-2023, 06:16 AM
Brian Hamilton. Hopeless player and when he left, worked in a post office and said he’d rather lick stamps than play for Hibs IIRC. Never forgotten that after nearly 40 years. Good job I don’t bear grudges…

May21/05/216
14-02-2023, 06:27 AM
Joe Harper nothing personal against him but ned made a massive mistake in replacing jimmy o'Rourke with Joe as it changed the mood in the dressing room I'm not blaming Joe for signing as he did score some great goals for us
But jimmy was a far better player for hibs

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

14-02-2023, 06:40 AM

Really nice guy by all accounts

He was only trying to help us out

Was great with the youngsters

14-02-2023, 06:48 AM
surprised i'm the first to mention david beaumont.

half him! Half that ****!!

14-02-2023, 07:05 AM
Always disliked Tony Higgins aka The Hulk for some weird reason as a Hibs player

Legs like tree trunks slower than a week in the jail twinkle toed and strangely nimble on the ball

I guess I was spoilt by the class that went before

Scored a barrow load for us and always comes across as a funny guy

Was pleased he was part of the SFA party that handed over the holy grail to us

14-02-2023, 07:34 AM
Ryan McGovern. Looked great when he came up from Man City on loan. Once he had a permanent deal he was utter ****.
His dreadful pass in the play off game against Hamilton which led to their first goal was typical of his performances. He never played for Hibs again thank ****.

14-02-2023, 08:00 AM
Alan Maybury
Van Zanten

Who was the other RB we got from Killmarnock, I think, Clancy? I remember him being dire whenever he wasn’t injured.

14-02-2023, 08:04 AM
Jorge Claros. His 2012 cup final "performance" still annoys me to this day. 2013 he wasn't much better. I know some liked him but couldn't stand the guy. Pitbull my arse.

14-02-2023, 08:17 AM
Kevin Thomson. Nae contest for me. Rangers bum sook.

14-02-2023, 08:17 AM
Kris Commons, delighted when we signed him but like Andy Walker, just seemed to have a dislike for us when he left, pricks

:agree: Commons is without doubt the worst pundit Scottish Football has ever seen. No idea how he has managed to get paid for his slavering opinions.

kentao
14-02-2023, 08:18 AM
Always had a dislike for Brian Hamilton, although i would only be aged 10 when he left Hibs i always remember being pissed off when hearing on the radio he had just scored on his Hearts debut.

Liam Craig is another I couldn`t stand, looked a no bad player at Saints then came to Hibs and felt he was an imposter, never captain material and a heart of a mouse. Bumped into him and his family at the Falkirk Wheel before the week of the play off clash with Rangers and he was actually a really nice guy.

hibbybob
14-02-2023, 08:25 AM
Can’t say I dislike any Hibs player as long as they give 100% when playing. Unfair to boo any player due to a lack of skill - that’s the fault of whoever signed or chose to play them.

That said Mike Conroy was a lazy bar steward that I dislike to this day and Billy Broon is a disgrace of a man who can GTF. His attitude and comments in 2012 were disgraceful.

14-02-2023, 08:26 AM
Can’t say I dislike any Hibs player as long as they give 100% when playing. Unfair to boo any player due to a lack of skill - that’s the fault of whoever signed them.

That said Mike Conroy was a lazy bar steward and Billy Broon is a disgrace of a man who can GTF. His attitude and comments i2012 were disgraceful.

I dinnae blame Billy Broon…I blame the absolute clowns at Hibs who allowed him to be employed here. Terrible decision. An obviously terrible decision.

14-02-2023, 08:26 AM
Genuinely, I have never hated a Hibs player. Rated some, didn’t rate many others but can’t think of any Hibs player I have a burning hatred for. Even all the Thomson transfer stuff, it’s just noise.

Edina Street
14-02-2023, 08:32 AM

It is always disappointing when a player leaves, but at least he signed a new contract and pocketed us £2m.

It is not Kevin Thomson's fault that Hibernian attendances are not 40,000 per week, thus not big enough to pay his wages.

Svengali
Kevin Thomson by some distance for me.

They way he constantly refers to us as “Hibees” & says “footy” (instead of football) does my box in.

We could dedicate an entire thread about his cringeworthy co-commentary on The Rangers TV

OldEast
Genuinely, I have never hated a Hibs player. Rated some, didn’t rate many others but can’t think of any Hibs player I have a burning hatred for. Even all the Thomson transfer stuff, it’s just noise.

Yes, bit of a weird thread really. We've had some shockers but never hated any of them.

Edit: the thread title is "dislike" not hate which waters it down a bit. Still I'll keep these emotions for those who negatively impact my life.

14-02-2023, 08:42 AM
I used to defend him on here til I was blue in the face - no Blue in the same way as he is now. A 100%, bonafide Hun

Just_Jimmy
14-02-2023, 09:02 AM
7 SPL titles, 3 Scottish Cup Winners medals and 4 League Cup winners medals would kind of suggest Leigh's career was more of a different stratosphere to Riordans.��

Where did it all go wrong.?It didn't. He was brilliant for Hibs. I couldn't give a flying what tin pot two horse race medals, players pad their stats with.

Browns got loads but they were 'won' with celtic so they're worth next to nothing.

Riordan smashed the ball in the net for Hibs from pretty much anywhere in the other teams half and was part of one of the best Hibs teams I've seen. He's also one of us.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

14-02-2023, 09:04 AM
Kevin Thomson by some distance for me.

They way he constantly refers to us as “Hibees” & says “footy” (instead of football) does my box in.

We could dedicate an entire thread about his cringeworthy co-commentary on The Rangers TV

Aye it's a bit weird. Thought he was a class player though. In my opinion the best of that lads that broke through and if it wasn't for injury would have gone further. He's very much a hun now though.

14-02-2023, 09:19 AM
It is always disappointing when a player leaves, but at least he signed a new contract and pocketed us £2m.

It is not Kevin Thomson's fault that Hibernian attendances are not 40,000 per week, thus not big enough to pay his wages.

I’ve never grudged any Hibs player moving on to better their career. Regardless of who they sign for.

There’s a way to go about it though, and as far as I’m concerned he went about it like a wee gimp.

He’s Rangers as **** nowadays tae. Probably cried when the queen died, sitting beside his picture of her on his bedside table.

badabing67
14-02-2023, 09:20 AM
I don't think hate is the right word, but I do think that there have been players at the club that to me seemed to draw really vitriolic emotions from the support while playing for us. I mean players like Ally Brazil, Joe Tortolano and at times even Steven Whittaker in his second spell. I always thought those guys got treated really poorly by sections of the support. Genuinely felt sorry for them, some of the abuse they had to put up with was shocking. imo.

HarpOnHibee
14-02-2023, 09:29 AM
Matt Doherty. No other player comes close.

Edina Street
14-02-2023, 09:37 AM
Matt Doherty. No other player comes close.

It is actually a shame that he made the comments he did after the 2012 Scottish Cup Final, because he would have actually been a terrific signing for us and pocketed us a fair amount.

Had Matt Doherty been at right-back against Malmo we probably would never have suffered that 0-7 mauling caused by ex Jambo Fraser Mullen. We also would never have had to replace Mullen with Lewis Stevenson at right-back.

14-02-2023, 09:50 AM
Jorge Claros. His 2012 cup final "performance" still annoys me to this day. 2013 he wasn't much better. I know some liked him but couldn't stand the guy. Pitbull my arse.

He was our best player behind Leigh the following season

snedzuk
14-02-2023, 09:52 AM
Christian Doidge for me

Bushwoof
14-02-2023, 09:55 AM
It is actually a shame that he made the comments he did after the 2012 Scottish Cup Final, because he would have actually been a terrific signing for us and pocketed us a fair amount.

Had Matt Doherty been at right-back against Malmo we probably would never have suffered that 0-7 mauling caused by ex Jambo Fraser Mullen. We also would never have had to replace Mullen with Lewis Stevenson at right-back.

Only if he had tried a leg. That's why I dislike him. He so obviously had ability but couldn't be bothered even pretending to try to use it.

14-02-2023, 10:07 AM
Brian Hamilton seemed to be disliked by many as I recall.

14-02-2023, 10:20 AM

He never caught the eye when playing but when he was injured or suspended he was missed IMO.

Edina Street
14-02-2023, 10:20 AM

My father used to call him a headless chicken.

Whilst Brian Hamilton was not my favourite player, his sentiments were not shared by me. There is no resemblance whatsoever between Brian Hamilton and a headless chicken.

14-02-2023, 10:25 AM
I liked Brian Hamilton

Very much a water carrier that did much of the unseen work

All Hibs players that played with him speak highly of him including Lexo

Met him once in Hospitality seemed a decent bloke as well

Halmyre Hibee
14-02-2023, 10:28 AM
Never really disliked any Hibs player even though many moved to other clubs. Of course a few engineered moves away but that’s life. Even my favourites like Pat Stanton & Jimmy O’Rourke left but given the chance they would have stayed put.

14-02-2023, 10:57 AM
I thought Hamilton was a good player and liked him at Hibs. Only started to dislike him when he moved to Hearts, obviously. Was young at the time but remember being really pissed off at him!

14-02-2023, 10:58 AM
Another vote for Matt Doherty, closely followed by Kevin Thomson.

Doherty, though a decent player was a welt for his comments throughout his time with us. I don't just mean the Cup Final comments either. In his interview when he first signed, it was clear he had no idea who he had just signed for. I'm sure he said something in it as well which implied he thought we were Hearts.

My dislike of Thomson is more for his post-playing career as a Rangers fan boy.

s2hart
14-02-2023, 11:35 AM
Michael Stewart

Good shout, thanks.

14-02-2023, 11:59 AM
Matt Doherty can away and take a flying **** to himself, ****

Still surprised he got a move to Atletico 😅

Manxhibs
14-02-2023, 12:02 PM
Matt Doherty by a distance

JimboHibs
14-02-2023, 12:05 PM
Ray Wilkins

14-02-2023, 01:59 PM
Should really distinguish between duff players whose skill level/performance you thought was not good enough for Hibs (it was Ally Brazil for me back then) and those you did not take to while playing for Hibs, even if they were half decent. Kamberi for me me me, although I did like him at first.

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-02-2023, 02:03 PM

No chance, Jorge was a good player in a really poor team imo

14-02-2023, 02:06 PM
Gary Caldwell.

GreenGray
14-02-2023, 02:16 PM
Demitri Mitchell?

I also have a bit of ill feeling towards Jackson Irvine, wouldn’t call it dislike though. Felt he used us to put himself in the shop window (fair enough I suppose) and don’t think he was particularly great when he was here, missed a sitter in the final too. Dislike would be harsh on him though as seems a nice enough guy.

14-02-2023, 02:18 PM
No chance, Jorge was a good player in a really poor team imo

Stood out in that midfield in 2012-13 season, masterclass in the 2-1 win at the piggery at the end of the season. Can't believe a anyone could have him down as their most disliked player.

Bushwoof
14-02-2023, 03:32 PM
Never liked Freddy Arpinon either, with his Cantona-like turned up collar and absence of Cantona-like skill. Set the bar for Florian 'Ronaldo' Kamberi.

ShinyFantastic
14-02-2023, 03:47 PM
Ian Murray- Testimonial? Absolute joke.
Liam Craig- Captain coward.
Michael Nelson- HOOOOF.

Edina Street
14-02-2023, 03:53 PM
Gary Caldwell.

I thought Gary Caldwell was a very good defender for Hibs. My only regret is that we never got to see the Caldwell brothers in central defence. Though It was frustrating when he left Hibernian on a free transfer.

14-02-2023, 03:56 PM
Stood out in that midfield in 2012-13 season, masterclass in the 2-1 win at the piggery at the end of the season. Can't believe a anyone could have him down as their most disliked player.

Only the 83 caps for Honduras laughable folk don’t rate him on here

Guy was a class act

A joke he came right into the 2012 Cup Final side after a lengthy spell out injured but that was more down to Fenlon

big gogs
14-02-2023, 04:00 PM
I thought Hamilton was a good player and liked him at Hibs. Only started to dislike him when he moved to Hearts, obviously. Was young at the time but remember being really pissed off at him!
If I remember correctly,hearts paid us £300,000,I forgave him immediately.

14-02-2023, 04:02 PM
Never liked Freddy Arpinon either, with his Cantona-like turned up collar and absence of Cantona-like skill. Set the bar for Florian 'Ronaldo' Kamberi.

I loved Freddie Arpinon! Would have done very well in a better team.

14-02-2023, 04:06 PM
Only the 83 caps for Honduras laughable folk don’t rate him on here

Guy was a class act

A joke he came right into the 2012 Cup Final side after a lengthy spell out injured but that was more down to Fenlon

He didn't have a lengthy spell out before the final.

14-02-2023, 04:21 PM
He didn't have a lengthy spell out before the final.

Yip

Picked up a knock in the 4-0 home win versus Dunfermline

Missed Caley away 0-2 but Hibs rested a few anyway

Hooked in the final after only 42 minutes obviously not fit should never have started

My recollection was that he was left out of the original Cup Final team but his name miraculously appeared in the final 11 before kick off ( hear say )

Memory of this game a bit hazy has been wiped from the Billyhibs Memory Bank

WestStandWillie
14-02-2023, 04:34 PM
Chris Mueller. Arrived with a fanfare, spouted motivational quotes and done precious little. Shameful that he’s remembered for posing with an owl rather than on the field. Long may his career be crap.

14-02-2023, 05:23 PM
Yip

Picked up a knock in the 4-0 home win versus Dunfermline

Missed Caley away 0-2 but Hibs rested a few anyway

Hooked in the final after only 42 minutes obviously not fit should never have started

My recollection was that he was left out of the original Cup Final team but his name miraculously appeared in the final 11 before kick off ( hear say )

Memory of this game a bit hazy has been wiped from the Billyhibs Memory Bank

I heard he was fit, he just didn't have a clue where he was supposed to be playing after PF and BB changed the plan an hour before kick off. He was raging when he came off. Anyway enough of that game!

14-02-2023, 05:27 PM
I heard he was fit, he just didn't have a clue where he was supposed to be playing after PF and BB changed the plan an hour before kick off. He was raging when he came off. Anyway enough of that game!

👍

14-02-2023, 06:24 PM

Not as raging as I was at him for making Ian Black look like Iniesta.

14-02-2023, 06:44 PM
I loved Freddie Arpinon! Would have done very well in a better team.

Arpinon was scuppered by injury, also by there being a fairly high bar set by the likes of Latapy around that time.

Excellent player though, who we never saw the best of. I knew a French guy around that time who said he was a superb player in France and was in no doubt he’d have done better for us if he hadn’t been injured so much. Seemingly he was on whopping wages so we shelled out a fair whack for little footballing return though and pound for pound he was a bit of a disaster.

leith lynx
14-02-2023, 06:53 PM
Always disliked Tony Higgins aka The Hulk for some weird reason as a Hibs player

Legs like tree trunks slower than a week in the jail twinkle toed and strangely nimble on the ball

I guess I was spoilt by the class that went before

Scored a barrow load for us and always comes across as a funny guy

Was pleased he was part of the SFA party that handed over the holy grail to us
Big Tony Higgins is a great guy, always sticks up for us and was proud to play for the jersey, despite him being a Glaswegian!

leith lynx
14-02-2023, 06:55 PM

Couldn't agree more, did he ever score a goal for us?

leith lynx
14-02-2023, 07:01 PM
Brian Hamilton. Hopeless player and when he left, worked in a post office and said he’d rather lick stamps than play for Hibs IIRC. Never forgotten that after nearly 40 years. Good job I don’t bear grudges…

Stuart Turnbull, he was a player that made Brian Hamilton look like Lionel Messi.

14-02-2023, 10:31 PM
Alan Maybury
Van Zanten

Who was the other RB we got from Killmarnock, I think, Clancy? I remember him being dire whenever he wasn’t injured.

I think there's a relationship between expectation and performance that leads us to dislike. Certainly with Maybury I think there was an expectation of him being a fairly solid back-up player, with a wealth of experience. He actually played more often than I care to remember but didn't live up to our hopes and expectations.

David Van Zanten I think is too easily dismissed. Firstly, he has the sort of name you could associate with a globally-successful 80s American rock guitarist - I'm thinking big hair, stadium sell-outs, dry ice, lasers the lot. You don't get players like that very often.

Secondly, when he was at Hibs I reckon the two best wingers in the league were probably McGeady and Andy Driver. My memory is that Van Zanten always looked comfortable with either of them, to the extent that at least once McGeady had to change wings. I do recall a game from then when McGeady had scored twice but I don't think he was matched up against DVZ.

pepe
14-02-2023, 11:41 PM
He never caught the eye when playing but when he was injured or suspended he was missed IMO.

he told Graham Speirs "hibs fans don’t understand Brian Hamilton" and I think we do not understand a defensive midfielder

15-02-2023, 08:04 AM
Ryan Porteous

Saint Hibee
15-02-2023, 05:13 PM
I’m certainly not claiming he was great, but I really don’t get the vitriol Liam Craig gets on here!

Edina Street
15-02-2023, 05:27 PM
I’m certainly not claiming he was great, but I really don’t get the vitriol Liam Craig gets on here!

During the 2013/14 season he was just about the only player that was capable of scoring.

Donegal Hibby
15-02-2023, 08:44 PM
Ryan Porteous
Agree with this 👍

16-02-2023, 07:17 AM
Another vote for Jackson Irvine

Just did not get him and I don’t think he got us

It is like we were just a stop gap for him

Pretty meh about his contribution at Hibernian FC tbh

Really liked him at Ross County and I thought he had a very good World Cup

We move on

whiskas
16-02-2023, 12:17 PM
Pa-Kujabi for me for being utterly crap, the 'Gambian Roberto Carlos' wouldn't even make the starting 11 for a Sunday league team. His part in the 5-1 result. Also his comically bad attempts at free kicks.
Also noticeable mentions for the rogues gallery of rubbish Hibs keepers over the years. Simon Brown, Zibi Malkowski and Oli Gotskalksson in particular.

16-02-2023, 12:19 PM

I'm the exact same. My mate hates him as well and I just don't get it.

16-02-2023, 12:43 PM
Stuart Turnbull, he was a player that made Brian Hamilton look like Lionel Messi.

I never hated him, he was just not a particularly good football player who got picked at a time when we were awful. He was probably the worst of the bunch

16-02-2023, 12:44 PM
I'm the exact same. My mate hates him as well and I just don't get it.

Yeah it's strange. Scored the winner against Hearts and an absolute peach in a drubbing of Rangers. Not sure why he gets such a hard time.

16-02-2023, 12:51 PM
Harry McKirdy. Just can't take to him.

16-02-2023, 01:22 PM
Yeah it's strange. Scored the winner against Hearts and an absolute peach in a drubbing of Rangers. Not sure why he gets such a hard time.

By all accounts he was one of the hardest working captains we’ve had in terms of non-footballing duties as well.

16-02-2023, 02:20 PM
Sean Dennis

GreenGray
16-02-2023, 02:22 PM
Agree with this [emoji106]

Why? Genuinely curious

Edina Street
16-02-2023, 02:23 PM
Harry McKirdy. Just can't take to him.

Perhaps he just needs that goal to get going.

16-02-2023, 02:32 PM

He was captain when we were relegated, a lot of fans understandably won't be able to see past that.

I thought he was ok.

hibs69
16-02-2023, 04:49 PM
Matt Doherty by a distance

Scotty Leither
16-02-2023, 05:04 PM
Owain Tudor-Jones. Signed for us while knowing he was finished, **** out of a 70-30 tackle in his favour in the Hamilton game that directly led to their goal.

An utter charlatan and piss poor player who should never have been within a hundred miles of Easter Road.

supermcginn
16-02-2023, 06:23 PM
Owain Tudor-Jones. Signed for us while knowing he was finished, **** out of a 70-30 tackle in his favour in the Hamilton game that directly led to their goal.

An utter charlatan and piss poor player who should never have been within a hundred miles of Easter Road.
Couldn't agree more. He was an absolute disgrace.

16-02-2023, 06:28 PM

Even did a podcast about it

Seemed quite proud of himself

Lowlife

s2hart
16-02-2023, 07:51 PM
Arpinon was scuppered by injury, also by there being a fairly high bar set by the likes of Latapy around that time.

Excellent player though, who we never saw the best of. I knew a French guy around that time who said he was a superb player in France and was in no doubt he’d have done better for us if he hadn’t been injured so much. Seemingly he was on whopping wages so we shelled out a fair whack for little footballing return though and pound for pound he was a bit of a disaster.

I recall him scoring a cracker at Tannadice, I was with my xgf at the game at the time, she was more amused at some balloon blowing up the line (an actual balloon, not a former player, lino etc..😜) than the game it self!

I think he came with a bit of fanfare but injury prevented him kicking on at us.

16-02-2023, 07:53 PM
There is probably some sort of buyers' remorse going on with Liam Craig, for some people.

A good few people were calling on us to sign him for at least a couple of windows before we did.

17-02-2023, 08:38 AM

Can't really blame the player. I blame whoever signed him. Guy wasn't going to turn down what was likely a very good contract if he knew his career was about done. That one is on us as a club unfortunately.

17-02-2023, 08:42 AM
Can't really blame the player. I blame whoever signed him. Guy wasn't going to turn down what was likely a very good contract if he knew his career was about done. That one is on us as a club unfortunately.

Terry Butcher

Scotty Leither
17-02-2023, 08:44 AM

He shouldn’t have boasted about pulling the wool over our eye’s thought as another poster above has alluded to.

Edina Street
17-02-2023, 08:46 AM
Terry Butcher

I'm sure it was Pat Fenlon.

I was very disappointed when Pat Fenlon resigned however. So I don't blame him either.

17-02-2023, 08:51 AM
I'm sure it was Pat Fenlon.

I was very disappointed when Pat Fenlon resigned however. So I don't blame him either.
Correct made his debut Malmo away 0-2

Had him down as being one of Butcher’s favourites at Caley

Still a lowlife

As the man says if someone gonna offer you a final payday……

17-02-2023, 12:38 PM
Jim Blair, never disliked him, just disappointing that he never showed for Hibs what he did for St Midden, even when he went back to them he started banging in goals again. Some players just dont fit. (He did get a couple against the hun, but just not enough)

17-02-2023, 01:59 PM
I could never take to Dominique malonga. I thought he had a very poor attitude which was well demonstrated at Saint mirren away when he went in the huff after not being allowed to take a penalty that James Keatings completed a hattrick with.

17-02-2023, 02:01 PM
I could never take to Dominique malonga. I thought he had a very poor attitude which was well demonstrated at Saint mirren away when he went in the huff after not being allowed to take a penalty that James Keatings completed a hattrick with.

What?! Slanderous! One of my favorite Hibs players of all time.

17-02-2023, 02:42 PM
What?! Slanderous! One of my favorite Hibs players of all time.

That is the standard response!

Saint Hibee
17-02-2023, 03:32 PM

How can you dislike somebody who "doesn't care about ze Rangers"!

17-02-2023, 03:38 PM
If King Dom didnae fancy it he didnae fancy it

I remember 2-6 versus The Rangers in the Tinpot Cup early season it wisnae for him

Subbed after 24 minutes

That was King Dom

Still 22:54 appearances you cannae complain and some great memories

Hail The King

17-02-2023, 04:41 PM

I remember 2-6 versus The Rangers in the Tinpot Cup early season it wisnae for him

Subbed after 24 minutes

That was King Dom

Hail The King

Subbed because he was injured, when we were winning the match. What a dreadful example. He and Hibs were playing well before that. Something like 9 players missed that game injured. Really a bit ridiculous to imply he just didn't fancy it.

17-02-2023, 05:05 PM
That is the standard response!

Aye he took the huff once or twice but that was far outweighed by scoring in a Derby and these goals against the sheep and Raith. Plus plenty other magic moments.

Compare that to the likes of Vine and Tudur Jones who basically disgraced the jersey.

17-02-2023, 05:06 PM
Subbed because he was injured, when we were winning the match. What a dreadful example. He and Hibs were playing well before that. Something like 9 players missed that game injured. Really a bit ridiculous to imply he just didn't fancy it.

Remember that game vividly as it was the first game of the season and the Huns were sniffing around Scott Allan and were up for it

‘ He’s one of our own etc’

King Dom’s body language was off from the start not helped by the fact that he had missed an early open goal when he ballooned the ball over the crossbar from close range when it looked easier to score and just did not look in the mood and could not wait to come off

I agree with the OP King Dom could be petulant and had to be in the mood and not too cold

His attitude was not the best

Brilliant never the less

I remember he lined up on the right wing that day maybe he wanted to play on the left or through the middle?

Who knows ?

My post is full of praise for this flawed genius

Hail The King

Do you actually watch the games ?

duffers
17-02-2023, 06:32 PM
Fraser Mullen

Edina Street
17-02-2023, 06:35 PM
Ryan Mullen

I've heard of Fraser Mullen.

duffers
17-02-2023, 06:35 PM
I've heard of Fraser Mullen.

Aye, him 🤣

17-02-2023, 06:39 PM
Remember that game vividly as it was the first game of the season and the Huns were sniffing around Scott Allan and were up for it

‘ He’s one of our own etc’

King Dom’s body language was off from the start not helped by the fact that he had missed an early open goal when he ballooned the ball over the crossbar from close range when it looked easier to score and just did not look in the mood and could not wait to come off

I agree with the OP King Dom could be petulant and had to be in the mood and not too cold

His attitude was not the best

Brilliant never the less

I remember he lined up on the right wing that day maybe he wanted to play on the left or through the middle?

Who knows ?

My post is full of praise for this flawed genius

Hail The King

Do you actually watch the games ?

We weren't up for that game at all. We had 9 players injured. Rangers had a new manager and new team and were actually up for it. We started well but got well pumped with a reserve side really. Malonga was injured. That is why he came off.

Do you actually understand paragraphs?

17-02-2023, 06:41 PM
Dom had some serious talent. Some of his goals were spectacular. I actually found his "casual" style pretty funny.

17-02-2023, 06:51 PM
We weren't up for that game at all. We had 9 players injured. Rangers had a new manager and new team and were actually up for it. We started well but got well pumped with a reserve side really. Malonga was injured. That is why he came off.

Do you actually understand paragraphs?

Read my post again Rangers were up for it not us

They had a brand new team

Tav etc

Maybe Dom started with a niggle and had to come off

Who knows ?

He had 54 appearances 12 as a sub so was obviously not relied upon as a starter maybe as an impact sub

As others have said known to be huffy and temperamental

Prima Donna

Hail The King

Onto tomorrow

Edina Street
17-02-2023, 06:58 PM
I don't dislike Dominique Malonga, but I hate the song that is dedicated to him. Soo cheesy.

Doo, Doo, Doo, come on and do the conga, Choo, Choo, Choo, Dominique Malonga.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w42i-qBGw4c

17-02-2023, 07:11 PM
Ryan McGivern.

17-02-2023, 07:25 PM
Jim Blair, never disliked him, just disappointing that he never showed for Hibs what he did for St Midden, even when he went back to them he started banging in goals again. Some players just dont fit. (He did get a couple against the hun, but just not enough)Struggled to even see those goals through the fog.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

17-02-2023, 07:27 PM

Graeme Smith

Both horrendous but did try, as did the likes of Pa Kujabi, another terrible footballer.

Horrendous and didn't try, which is criminal.

Edina Street
17-02-2023, 07:46 PM
Anthony Stokes is a very controversial character. He was one of my favourites from the Yogi Hughes 2009/10 season, and I was gutted when he left for Celtic. Became a hero with his two goals in the Scottish Cup Final against Rangers. But as a firm believer in "the Golden Rule" of do unto others, I simply can't condone his assault conviction, and the horrific nature of it. His stalking conviction sounds bad as well. The witness not turning up at court for his headbutting case is also a bit suspect. Very sad indeed.

17-02-2023, 07:59 PM
Read my post again Rangers were up for it not us

They had a brand new team

Tav etc

Maybe Dom started with a niggle and had to come off

Who knows ?

He had 54 appearances 12 as a sub so was obviously not relied upon as a starter maybe as an impact sub

As others have said known to be huffy and temperamental

Prima Donna

Hail The King

Onto tomorrow

What part of he was injured and got substituted as you struggling with? It was our first competitive match, you think a small injury and taking him off is less likely than him faking an injury?

So he started like, 80% of games while he was here? Yes, obviously not relied upon as a starter...

17-02-2023, 08:08 PM

Subbed after 24 minutes

That was King Dom

Hail The King

Apropos of nothing.

It was linlithgowhibee who made the draw for that game. Won it in a competition or something like that.

17-02-2023, 08:12 PM
Apropos of nothing.

It was linlithgowhibee who made the draw for that game. Won it in a competition or something like that.

He must never do another yin! :greengrin

17-02-2023, 08:26 PM
What part of he was injured and got substituted as you struggling with? It was our first competitive match, you think a small injury and taking him off is less likely than him faking an injury?

So he started like, 80% of games while he was here? Yes, obviously not relied upon as a starter...

We had a barren squad

It was early into the season

We had injuries and missing players down to the bare bones

Maybe he started with a niggle ?

As I said he did not look comfortable from the off

I do not remember him sustaining any injury as a result of a heavy or bad tackle during the match so maybe a pull

Looking at the footage he looks heavy legged and uncomfortable throughout

King Dom will be the first to tell you he would have hoped to have started more games at Hibernian FC

Other players probably preferred

Probably saw himself as a starter

Still a hero to me

Will it be easier for you to understand if I put all of this into one paragraph for you ?

17-02-2023, 08:34 PM
He doesn't care about The Rangers

17-02-2023, 08:51 PM
We had a barren squad

I do not remember him sustaining any injury as a result of a heavy or bad tackle during the match so maybe a pull

King Dom will be the first to tell you he would have hoped to have started more games at Hibernian FC

Still a hero to me

Will it be easier for you to understand if I put all of this into one paragraph for you ?

Who was preferred instead of him when he was here? He started the majority of matches when fit. We played 2 strikers, he was one of them.

17-02-2023, 09:00 PM
Who was preferred instead of him when he was here? He started the majority of matches when fit. We played 2 strikers, he was one of them.

Keatings Cummings Boyle Anier El Alagui and Dagnall

I am guessing Stokes replaced King Dom January 2016

Win win

17-02-2023, 09:02 PM
Keatings Cummings Boyle Anier El Alagui and Dagnall

I am guessing Stokes replaced King Dom January 2016

Win win

None of those players were preferred over Dom. Anier and Dagnall ffs. He played up front with Cummings majority of the time. Keatings played in behind.

Stokes obviously a better player than Malonga and came into to replace him as his form went a bit. He was unquestionably a starter for 18 months, though, and we were a better side because of it.

17-02-2023, 09:09 PM
None of those players were preferred over Dom. Anier and Dagnall ffs. He played up front with Cummings majority of the time. Keatings played in behind.

Stokes obviously a better player than Malonga and came into to replace him as his form went a bit. He was unquestionably a starter for 18 months, though, and we were a better side because of it.
Did not start one fifth of the games in his time here

You do the math

Probably looking to move on in any case

Took Stokesy four months to get up to speed

17-02-2023, 09:11 PM
We had a barren squad

Still a hero to me

I'm confused as to why you think he was used more as a sub when he started 4 times as many games as he came on as a sub. Jason Cummings has 124 appearances and 24 times on as a sub, was he preffered as a sub too?

17-02-2023, 09:17 PM
Did not start one fifth of the games in his time here

You do the math

Probably looking to move on in any case

Took Stokesy four months to get up to speed

So he started 80% of games in his time here, then? I'm doing the math. Clearly a first choice. Would imagine he made more appearances than most others in that time. Only Cummings played more of the forwards. When you consider he joined on deadline day and missed 5/6 games with injury in his first season, he actually played almost every week when he was fit.

17-02-2023, 09:32 PM
So he started 80% of games in his time here, then? I'm doing the math. Clearly a first choice. Would imagine he made more appearances than most others in that time. Only Cummings played more of the forwards. When you consider he joined on deadline day and missed 5/6 games with injury in his first season, he actually played almost every week when he was fit.

Like I said I am sure King Dom would have wanted to start 54:54

He was a confidence player and it is all about ego

17-02-2023, 09:34 PM
I'm confused as to why you think he was used more as a sub when he started 4 times as many games as he came on as a sub. Jason Cummings has 124 appearances and 24 times on as a sub, was he preffered as a sub too?
Where did I say he was used more as a sub when it is clearly 12 from 54 ?

I am confused

17-02-2023, 11:29 PM
Where did I say he was used more as a sub when it is clearly 12 from 54 ?

I am confused

I'll rephrase. I'm confused as to why you don't see how he was mainly a starter for Hibs when he made 4 times as many appearances from the start than he did from the bench. As I said before, was Jason Cummings not seen as a starter either seeing he had a similar appearance ratio

17-02-2023, 11:54 PM
Eamonn Bannon….

How did he ever get a game for us, mental.

And the Miller brothers, both just garbage.

Loved the 90’s [emoji23]

18-02-2023, 07:08 AM
I'll rephrase. I'm confused as to why you don't see how he was mainly a starter for Hibs when he made 4 times as many appearances from the start than he did from the bench. As I said before, was Jason Cummings not seen as a starter either seeing he had a similar appearance ratio

Both were starters in my eyes but any player that is not likely to start 20% of the games is clearly not a starter

I would expect a starter to be 90-100 % first pick

Stand by my original post Malonga was hot and cold

Great player on his day

Kevin Nisbet for example 90 games 9 as a sub : starter

Percy Vere
18-02-2023, 09:04 AM
Personally I think there’s enough player slagging on this forum without further encouragement by starting a thread about Hibs players you dislike.
But since I’m here, Stokes…loved him on the pitch but dislike his off field behaviour.
Off to start a new thread