Donegal Hibby
13-02-2023, 12:49 PM
I found a couple that I forgot played for us and one I don't remember at all
Janos matyus .
Charalampos Mavrias .
Allan smart :dunno:

13-02-2023, 01:13 PM
Janis matyus was a Hungarian left back, who was here for a season early 00s?

Mavrias came in under lennon for 6 months. Greek left sided player.

Allan smart was on loan from Watford, maybe about 98,99, turn of the millennium.

13-02-2023, 01:17 PM
Fabian Yantorno. Someone mentioned him the other day. Had completely forgotten about him. Was excited when we signed him as well.

Donegal Hibby
13-02-2023, 01:28 PM

Allan smart was on loan from Watford, maybe about 98,99, turn of the millennium.
Think Mavrias was at Sunderland and had moved for big money though I might be wrong on that , Allan smart is the one I don't remember being at us at all .

13-02-2023, 01:28 PM

We signed Matyus and Zambernardi in the same window I think?

13-02-2023, 01:34 PM
There's been loads in the last 10 years that are instantly forgettable.

I'd list them, but I don't remember who they are.

Guessing this will be a short thread :wink:

13-02-2023, 01:46 PM
Freddie Daquin is one I can never really remember being at Hibs. Worse still he was here twice.

I can remember him at Dunfermline but can't really recall a thing about his time at Hibs.

13-02-2023, 01:49 PM
Keith Watson. 9 games as well. Another of these solid but unspectacular defensive cover loans.

Donegal Hibby
13-02-2023, 01:50 PM
Craig Rocastle played 13 times for Hibs and wasn't a bad player if I remember correctly, think he was around the mowbray era which was a time we were playing really good football.

13-02-2023, 01:53 PM
Always remember Allan Smart as he’s still on loan at us when you start the greatest computer game of all time.

13-02-2023, 01:55 PM
always remember allan smart as he’s still on loan at us when you start the greatest computer game of all time.

cm01/02?

13-02-2023, 01:55 PM
cm01/02?

The very same 👍

13-02-2023, 01:59 PM
Always remember Allan Smart as he’s still on loan at us when you start the greatest computer game of all time.

Fantasy World Dizzy?

Edina Street
13-02-2023, 02:06 PM
I don't think I have forgot any players that played for Hibs. I actually think I have the opposite problem. I think I have a false memory of reading somewhere that Stanley Matthews made some guest appearances for Hibernian during the war years. However I may have made a complete fool of myself, as I have argued the toss about this on a few platforms, and when I went racing to get the links, the links no longer existed. I was sure I also read this in Gordon Smith's book written by his son, but I am beginning to suspect I might have just dreamt this up, as his Wikipedia page only mentions Airdrieonians, Morton and Rangers.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stanley_Matthews

West Upper
13-02-2023, 02:06 PM
Tried to come up with most forgotten Hibs eleven with a couple of guys from work.

Klepton Perntreou

Neal Eardley
Keith Watson
Brian McLean
Miquel Nelom

Gael Birgrimania
Denes Rosa
Dan Carmichael

Islam Feruz
Frank Dja Djedje
Steve Pinau

13-02-2023, 02:12 PM
Tried to come up with most forgotten Hibs eleven with a couple of guys from work.

Klepton Perntreou

Neal Eardley
Keith Watson
Brian McLean
Miquel Nelom

Gael Birgrimania
Denes Rosa
Dan Carmichael

Islam Feruz
Frank Dja Djedje
Steve Pinau

Rosa played one of the most impressive passes I've seen at Easter Road, chested the ball then volleyed it to the opposite side of the pitch switching they play, was glorious from memory

13-02-2023, 02:13 PM

Klepton Perntreou

Neal Eardley
Keith Watson
Brian McLean
Miquel Nelom

Gael Birgrimania
Denes Rosa
Dan Carmichael

Islam Feruz
Frank Dja Djedje
Steve Pinau

I remember 8 of those names. I'm doing this wrong.

13-02-2023, 02:21 PM
The very same 👍

Is it free to play these days? I might dig it out tonight.

13-02-2023, 02:26 PM
Lots of people will have forgot about Juha Rippa and Thorsten Smugge but I had the privilege of seeing them both play

13-02-2023, 02:26 PM
Paul Dalglish

13-02-2023, 02:59 PM
I don't think I have forgot any players that played for Hibs. I actually think I have the opposite problem. I think I have a false memory of reading somewhere that Stanley Matthews made some guest appearances for Hibernian during the war years. However I may have made a complete fool of myself, as I have argued the toss about this on a few platforms, and when I went racing to get the links, the links no longer existed. I was sure I also read this in Gordon Smith's book written by his son, but I am beginning to suspect I might have just dreamt this up, as his Wikipedia page only mentions Airdrieonians, Morton and Rangers.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stanley_MatthewsAre you mixing him up with Matt Busby?

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Edina Street
13-02-2023, 03:14 PM
Are you mixing him up with Matt Busby?

It is hard to say where this false memory comes from. But I don't think it is getting mixed up with Matt Busby, as I have been aware of Matt Busby's appearances for Hibs ever since I read it in the Wee Red Book in my late teens.

I suspect someone else on the internet has discovered that Stanley Matthews once played for Hibernians, and not realising that it was actually Hibernians of Malta, wrongfully assumed that it must have been during the war years, and included this in their Stanley Matthews wartime article, before realising their error and removing it. But I am almost 100% certain that I read this in a rather reputable looking article.

13-02-2023, 03:15 PM
Michael Stewart

Donegal Hibby
13-02-2023, 03:20 PM
Keith Watson. 9 games as well. Another of these solid but unspectacular defensive cover loans.
Another one I don't remember to be honest . Jonathan Spector is one I found , he signed a short term deal and only made one appearance coming on for Hibs in a 2-1 win for us at tiny .

13-02-2023, 03:21 PM
Another one I don't remember to be honest . Jonathan Spector is one I found , he signed a short term deal and only made one appearance coming on for Hibs in a 2-1 win for us at tiny .

Good player was Spector, one I hoped we may sign for longer.

13-02-2023, 03:41 PM
Craig Rocastle played 13 times for Hibs and wasn't a bad player if I remember correctly, think he was around the mowbray era which was a time we were playing really good football.Missed him when he left, he was on loan. Meant Boozy had to drop back a bit and get involved in the churn of midfield whereas Rocastle relished that position.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

13-02-2023, 03:47 PM
Good player was Spector, one I hoped we may sign for longer.

Retired after that one game

13-02-2023, 03:48 PM
Michael Stewart
😆

13-02-2023, 04:02 PM
Mikey Devlin

13-02-2023, 04:08 PM
Abderouf Zarabi

Shana haji

Klaus Dietrich

Dave mckellar

Rab Shannon

Donegal Hibby
13-02-2023, 04:12 PM
Missed him when he left, he was on loan. Meant Boozy had to drop back a bit and get involved in the churn of midfield whereas Rocastle relished that position.

From what I remember the Hibs fans liked him and thought he was a good player , he ended up injured at us and signed for Sheffield Wednesday on a free i think . Didn't know he was back at us a second time for a trial but Mixu didn't offer him a contract , he also had one at Aberdeen were he played one game for them also.

13-02-2023, 04:16 PM
From what I remember the Hibs fans liked him and thought he was a good player , he ended up injured at us and signed for Sheffield Wednesday on a free i think . Didn't know he was back at us a second time for a trial but Mixu didn't offer him a contract , he also had one at Aberdeen were he played one game for them also.

Didn't know the Mixu detail. On loan from Chelsea while at us.

leith lynx
13-02-2023, 04:51 PM
Humphrey Rudge, Tom Carson (GK) Eric Pringle.

13-02-2023, 04:52 PM
Does Scott Bain count?

HFC93
13-02-2023, 04:55 PM
Daniel Mackay and Dylan Tait

13-02-2023, 04:59 PM
Is it free to play these days? I might dig it out tonight.

There is a way of downloading and playing about with your settings/downloading something that acts as a pretend cd rom or something. There’s YouTube explanations.. I also had to download something to make it so it would think I had enough space to save games properly. Bit of a faff and frustrating until it works 😁

Fortunately I found a copy online for a fair price last year and gave up on the dodgy downloads 👍

Mikey_1875
13-02-2023, 05:08 PM
Phil Airey, loan from Newcastle. Can’t remember if he actually played but remember him signing.

13-02-2023, 05:13 PM
This is the kind of thread my therapist loves

13-02-2023, 05:24 PM
Phil Airey, loan from Newcastle. Can’t remember if he actually played but remember him signing.

Think he played about 50 mins of a televised game at Killie. He was mince.

Lendo
13-02-2023, 05:57 PM
Craig Rocastle played 13 times for Hibs and wasn't a bad player if I remember correctly, think he was around the mowbray era which was a time we were playing really good football.

Was he loaned from Chelsea or am I miss remembering that?

Edit: answered above.

13-02-2023, 06:00 PM

He was certainly loaned but I thought it was from Arsenal.

13-02-2023, 06:02 PM
Marc Libbra. What a talent.

13-02-2023, 06:06 PM
He was certainly loaned but I thought it was from Arsenal.

Chelsea

www.fitbastats.com

13-02-2023, 06:13 PM
Alex Scott, brother of Jim Scott

13-02-2023, 06:16 PM
Rosa played one of the most impressive passes I've seen at Easter Road, chested the ball then volleyed it to the opposite side of the pitch switching they play, was glorious from memory

And played one of the best throw ins IIRC, we’ve always been brutal at them!

13-02-2023, 06:40 PM
What's his name ... you know, thingy ... was a few years ago however so I don't actually remember him.

Clarence
13-02-2023, 06:41 PM
Short lived trialists:

Juha Riippa
Thorsten Schmugge
Andy McLaren
Jermaine Pennant

Couple of short lived signings

Hakim Sar Temsoury
Peter Guggi

13-02-2023, 06:45 PM
Then the Spanish guy the left winger oh! what was his name, ****tifanno great wee player.

13-02-2023, 06:46 PM
Alex Scott, brother of Jim Scott

Now he could cross a ball, some great European games with Alex on the wing.

Clarence
13-02-2023, 06:46 PM
Short lived trialists:

Juha Riippa
Thorsten Schmugge
Andy McLaren
Jermaine Pennant

Hakim Sar Temsoury
Peter Guggi

I see someone already mentioned the first two trialists so I’ll add Fabrice Henry and Torben Joneleit as two short lived loan players.

Donegal Hibby
13-02-2023, 06:55 PM
No cheating now ! What other Scottish club did Libbra play for ?

13-02-2023, 07:01 PM
No cheating now ! What other Scottish club did Libbra play for ?
Livvy

Donegal Hibby
13-02-2023, 07:19 PM
Livvy
Well done BH . He played 11 times for Livvy I think it was .
Otso Virtanen is another one.

13-02-2023, 07:52 PM
The other Showumni brother

13-02-2023, 07:54 PM
Jim Thomson QOS

13-02-2023, 07:58 PM
Oh and Kevin Nesbitt, Elie Johannes, Christian Doig and Josh Doidge, not to mention Derek O'Riordan...

13-02-2023, 09:43 PM
John Brogan, scored a great goal doon the slope but couldn't make a deal as he only wanted a part time contract.

13-02-2023, 09:55 PM
Abderouf Zarabi

Shana haji

Klaus Dietrich

Dave mckellar

Rab Shannon

Had a couple of beers with Rab Shannon when he was playing out here in Oz.

Donegal Hibby
13-02-2023, 10:13 PM
Had a couple of beers with Rab Shannon when he was playing out here in Oz.
Wikipedia said he was at Hibs 2 years but only made 6 appearances . Hope he was buying the beer btw:greengrin

13-02-2023, 10:57 PM
Chris Maxwell

13-02-2023, 10:59 PM
Matt Thornhill
Edwin De Graaf
Valdas Trakys
Rowan Vine
Geroge Francomb
Barry Prenderville
Roy O'Donovan
David Stephens
Michael Hart
Martin McIntosh

This is the list we came up with, I can honestly only remember De Graaf and Vine from this list, due to how terrible they were. I can remember quite a few more that were hooching but 5 or 6 on that list I've no memory of. The dark days indeed.

14-02-2023, 10:52 AM
Matt Thornhill
Edwin De Graaf
Valdas Trakys
Rowan Vine
Geroge Francomb
Barry Prenderville
Roy O'Donovan
David Stephens
Michael Hart
Martin McIntosh

This is the list we came up with, I can honestly only remember De Graaf and Vine from this list, due to how terrible they were. I can remember quite a few more that were hooching but 5 or 6 on that list I've no memory of. The dark days indeed.

I quite liked prenderville, didn't think mcintosh was that bad either

14-02-2023, 11:47 AM
Short lived trialists:

Juha Riippa
Thorsten Schmugge
Andy McLaren
Jermaine Pennant

Hakim Sar Temsoury
Peter Guggi
Was Peter Guggi no class?

Donegal Hibby
14-02-2023, 11:56 AM
One that's probably not forgotten though was only briefly at Hibs was Didier Agathe was really annoyed at the time when we lost him .

14-02-2023, 11:58 AM
Was Peter Guggi no class?

He was played in euro final for Rapid

But made headlines with a nurse lol

HarpOnHibee
14-02-2023, 12:03 PM
Shefki Kuqi

Mango Man
14-02-2023, 12:05 PM
Akpo Sodje
Junior Agogo
Osbourne.
Thornhill.

14-02-2023, 01:07 PM
Joe Keenan.

14-02-2023, 01:21 PM

He went to Ferencvaros after leaving us. I was at an Ujpest Ferencvaros derby a few months after he left and he was playing. Ujpest won 6-0. That game was mental. One of the best football games I've ever been to.

14-02-2023, 01:22 PM

He was. 3 month loan iirc under Mowbray. He was excellent

14-02-2023, 01:26 PM

I was sure he never kicked a ball for us, was the story not that he was too far away from his mum age couldn't settle as he still lived at home or am I making that up?

Regarding some of the other names raised, I thought Rosa was class, gutted he never made a big impact. Same with Grzegorz Szamotulski when he signed.

Watson I thought did absolutely fine and would have had no problem had he stayed, seek to remember it was when we had a few players who played the position though so wasn't a top requirement.

I'm fairly certain Ryan Gauld will feature on this list in a few years time. Still think he could have been a good player for us.

14-02-2023, 02:51 PM

We were lucky he got homesick (and so close to home as well). Leigh Griffiths was his replacement.

14-02-2023, 02:52 PM
Freddie Daquin is one I can never really remember being at Hibs. Worse still he was here twice.

I can remember him at Dunfermline but can't really recall a thing about his time at Hibs.

I can remember him the first time round. Have no recollection of him signing the second time!

14-02-2023, 02:56 PM
Joe Ward 😮💩

14-02-2023, 02:56 PM
Rowan Vine, Shefqi Kuqi, and many more but I am fortunate that I have a wonderful hypnotist who has helped me forget....

14-02-2023, 03:21 PM
Joe Ward 😮💩

Unfortunately I'll never forget seeing him doing a terrible impersonation of a striker after his much anticipated arrival from Villa.

14-02-2023, 03:31 PM
Antonio Murray
Elias Wagner
Sean Widera

BurtonOnTrent
14-02-2023, 05:09 PM
Adam Eckersley

14-02-2023, 05:24 PM
Tom Smith. Great footballer. Shame his knee problems shortened his career.

JamesHFC
14-02-2023, 05:31 PM
Lewis Horner
Martin Canning
Alan Gow

14-02-2023, 05:43 PM
Tom Tawio

Went to Falkirk and turned into a thug

LewysGot2
14-02-2023, 05:45 PM
Tom Tawio

Went to Falkirk and turned into a thug

Interestingly was in the Hibs end when we played them in the league cup most recently...surprised to see him.

14-02-2023, 06:37 PM

Was interested to see that he seems to have settled in Kansas and is coaching - some sort of career developer and also associated with Borussia Dortmund.

I wonder if he regrets not joining us permanently? He was ideally suited to Scottish football and looked the part. 2 or 3 seasons playing for us regularly might have been a great springboard for a career, a career that looks a wee bit disappointing written down relative to the careers some of the players he played with had?

14-02-2023, 06:49 PM
When it was announced that Demetri Mitchell had returned to the squad a month or so back I`d actually forgot he was still with us. With the squad as bloated as it was he wasn't the only one if truth be told.

leith lynx
14-02-2023, 07:13 PM
Rikki Fleming, Derek Spalding, and goalkeepers Eddie Price, Ally Donaldson, David Huggins,Roddy Mckenzie, Roy Baines, Thomson Allan, Hugh Whyte (RIP)

14-02-2023, 07:32 PM
Earl Jean

leith lynx
14-02-2023, 07:39 PM
Earl Jean

Always thought he looked a bit loist at times tho!

14-02-2023, 07:41 PM
Lewis Horner
Martin Canning
Alan Gow

We gave Lewis Horner a longish contract after him not playing much
Think he was sent to someone like Caley and never seen again
Something strange about his signing

14-02-2023, 07:42 PM
Who was the Irish guy that was always injured?

pepe
14-02-2023, 07:42 PM

Klepton Perntreou

Neal Eardley
Keith Watson
Brian McLean
Miquel Nelom

Gael Birgrimania
Denes Rosa
Dan Carmichael

Islam Feruz
Frank Dja Djedje
Steve Pinau

I remember non of these, well done 👏

14-02-2023, 07:43 PM

Right back, maybe Clancy

ehf
14-02-2023, 08:34 PM
Kyle Magennis

14-02-2023, 09:07 PM
Daryl Duffy

14-02-2023, 09:08 PM

Richie Towell

leith lynx
14-02-2023, 09:16 PM
World Cup star Mark Caughey.

14-02-2023, 09:20 PM
Kyle Magennis

Be fair. He has never been fit long enough for anyone to remember him as a player!

Just_Jimmy
14-02-2023, 09:24 PM
Brian Graham
Tom soares

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

14-02-2023, 09:44 PM
Right back, maybe Clancy

Tim Clancy. Think we got him from Kilmarnock.

leith lynx
14-02-2023, 09:48 PM
Gerry O'Brien,Hugh Hammil(good player)

15-02-2023, 05:46 AM
Lillian Martin, RB with champions league experience signed by Sauzee

15-02-2023, 05:51 AM

He’s one of the main football pundits on French tv and newspapers these days. Carved out quite the career for himself in the end.

DJ HIBBY
15-02-2023, 06:57 AM
Michael Hart

15-02-2023, 07:09 AM
Joe Ward 😮💩

The make weight in the Des Bremner deal. Terrible Player

15-02-2023, 08:38 AM
Bjarni Larusson

15-02-2023, 10:31 AM
Cammy Bell

15-02-2023, 11:05 AM
Grzegorz Szamotulski. Good keeper actually.

15-02-2023, 11:44 AM
He’s one of the main football pundits on French tv and newspapers these days. Carved out quite the career for himself in the end.

Which is quite the thing as I'm sure he said he didn't actually like football and it was just a job to him. I would imagine it would be quite difficult to be an engaging pundit if you don't actually like football. Saying that, Steven Thompson hasn't been held back not liking football either.

I think that was the reason he gave when asked why he always looked so miserable, especially after scoring.

Roxyhibee
15-02-2023, 12:00 PM
Rab Kilgour - stayed opposite me as a kid. Good player but not even the best player in the street or when playing knock out.!

Only played a few games for us, was he brought in as short term cover for Bobby Smith going.? I cannot recall that time very well as I missed a few games back then - just started drinking, girls and punk had arrived and Hibs were getting poor to watch.

BurtonOnTrent
15-02-2023, 01:16 PM
Oumar Konde
Jonathan Grounds
Abderraouf Zarabi

BurtonOnTrent
15-02-2023, 01:22 PM
Jakub Divis
David Grof

15-02-2023, 02:07 PM
Morten Hyldgaard

15-02-2023, 02:07 PM
Jonatan Johansson

leith lynx
15-02-2023, 02:15 PM
Bobby Mathieson, John Grant, John Murphy, Chris Shevlane.

15-02-2023, 02:27 PM
Patrick Noubissie

15-02-2023, 02:46 PM
Canny remember any players I've forgotten.

15-02-2023, 03:26 PM
Edwin De Graaf was so ridiculously overhypedit was hilarious.

That winger we signed who played in the 4-2 Scottish Cup win against Killie when Griffiths scored a hat-trick.

JamesHFC
15-02-2023, 03:45 PM
Kyle Magennis

🤣

JamesHFC
15-02-2023, 03:46 PM
Tim Clancy. Think we got him from Kilmarnock.

Remember him holding his nose to confirm that hearts fans stink 😂

JamesHFC
15-02-2023, 03:47 PM
Edwin De Graaf was so ridiculously overhypedit was hilarious.

That winger we signed who played in the 4-2 Scottish Cup win against Killie when Griffiths scored a hat-trick.

Matt Done? Think he actually went on to do well after us.

Roy O'Donovan was another, scored a screamer at Killie.

Saint Hibee
15-02-2023, 03:52 PM
Short lived trialists:

Juha Riippa
Thorsten Schmugge
Andy McLaren
Jermaine Pennant

Hakim Sar Temsoury
Peter Guggi
Did Jermaine Pennant ever actually play for us? I thought it was just a rumour that never materialised.

15-02-2023, 03:59 PM
Henri Anier

DJ HIBBY
15-02-2023, 03:59 PM
Can add Ian Cameron and Brian Grant to the list

15-02-2023, 04:02 PM
The 2 Norwegian guys we brought over one was Mathesen I think and dont remember the other guys name, decent players as well but we never got the best of then due to some Gov laws at the time. Sure one of the players passed away.

15-02-2023, 04:10 PM
The 2 Norwegian guys we brought over one was Mathesen I think and dont remember the other guys name, decent players as well but we never got the best of then due to some Gov laws at the time. Sure one of the players passed away.

Isaacs Refvic

15-02-2023, 04:20 PM
Side topic here. But anyone remember the Icelandic manager who was due to takeover from williamson who then changed his mind because he didn't get his soup or something 😂

15-02-2023, 04:27 PM
The 2 Norwegian guys we brought over one was Mathesen I think and dont remember the other guys name, decent players as well but we never got the best of then due to some Gov laws at the time. Sure one of the players passed away.Icelandic? Isak Refvik was the other one, very decent player, scored a few before we were to release then both.

leith lynx
15-02-2023, 04:36 PM
Did Jermaine Pennant ever actually play for us? I thought it was just a rumour that never materialised.

Played in a pre season friendly then disappeared.

leith lynx
15-02-2023, 04:41 PM
Icelandic? Isak Refvik was the other one, very decent player, scored a few before we were to release then both.

Isak Refvik was a great wee centre forward, sure he had a brief spell at Rangers later on.

Clarence
15-02-2023, 05:11 PM

He had a trial when Lennon was in charge.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/jermaine-pennant-praises-good-guy-25411097.amp

15-02-2023, 05:26 PM
Isak Refvik was a great wee centre forward, sure he had a brief spell at Rangers later on.

Are you getting confused with Robert Prytz ?

A Scandinavian import that was allowed a Work Permit and played for Rangers at the same time

No record of Isak Refvik having played for Rangers

15-02-2023, 05:31 PM
Bobby Mathieson, John Grant, John Murphy, Chris Shevlane.

You maybe thinking of Sven Mathisen?

15-02-2023, 05:53 PM
Davie Nicholls.

davy67 +
15-02-2023, 05:58 PM

I saw his debut against Morton , cracking wee player . I'm not sure about him but I'm sure the other guy who came over with him signed for Rangers

Bridge hibs
15-02-2023, 06:08 PM
Alex Marinkov

15-02-2023, 06:10 PM
Paul Holsgrove

leith lynx
15-02-2023, 06:57 PM
You maybe thinking of Sven Mathisen?

No, Bobby Mathieson was a full back in the early seventies, didn't play many games.

15-02-2023, 07:06 PM
No, Bobby Mathieson was a full back in the early seventies, didn't play many games.

Yeah I thought I remembered his name as well but he's not mentioned here

https://fitbastats.com/hibs/player_list_az.php?page=M

leith lynx
15-02-2023, 07:08 PM
Are you getting confused with Robert Prytz ?

A Scandinavian import that was allowed a Work Permit and played for Rangers at the same time

No record of Isak Refvik having played for Rangers

Think Prytz came along a bit later, something sticks in my memory regarding Refvik and Rangers, maybe as a trialist?... would have to ask an Ibrox anorak, but I'm glad I don't know any!

15-02-2023, 07:22 PM
Think Prytz came along a bit later, something sticks in my memory regarding Refvik and Rangers, maybe as a trialist?... would have to ask an Ibrox anorak, but I'm glad I don't know any!Refvik certainly trained with Rangers a few years after he played for us.

15-02-2023, 07:33 PM
Think Prytz came along a bit later, something sticks in my memory regarding Refvik and Rangers, maybe as a trialist?... would have to ask an Ibrox anorak, but I'm glad I don't know any!

No mention of Refvik The Hun playing a competitive game on fitba stats for Der Hun

Might have had a trial

I remember a full back Bobby Mathieson playing for Hibs but looks like he never actually played a competitive game according to fitba stats

Robert Prytz was indeed a few years after our failed experiment but got a Work Permit because he was a full international

www.fitbastats.com

15-02-2023, 07:36 PM
Ronny Rosenthal

15-02-2023, 07:37 PM
Jordi Cryuff.

15-02-2023, 08:30 PM
Fabián Yantorno

EHZERO7
15-02-2023, 08:33 PM
Hakan Sar-Temsoray

Might no be correct spelling😊

15-02-2023, 08:34 PM
Alex Marinkov

Was he brought in to translate for Franck?

15-02-2023, 08:45 PM
Joe McLaughlin

Conrad Gray
15-02-2023, 08:56 PM
Paul Hartley.......

Conrad Gray
15-02-2023, 08:57 PM
Eamonn Bannon

MagicSwirlingShip
15-02-2023, 09:14 PM
Darryl Duffy. What a dissapointment

Hibeesforever
15-02-2023, 09:19 PM
Ronny Rosenthal

I looked that up, we had an option on him after a trial...didnt invest what a surprise...

15-02-2023, 09:26 PM
I looked that up, we had an option on him after a trial...didnt invest what a surprise...

It’s not true though .. he already had a lot of interest in him ..Liverpool , amongst others, keen to sign him. He only came up on trial because he had made the commitment . By then we had little chance to sign him ..

15-02-2023, 09:27 PM
Fabrice Henry anyone? Think it was around 2000.

15-02-2023, 09:33 PM
It’s not true though .. he already had a lot of interest in him ..Liverpool , amongst others, keen to sign him. He only came up on trial because he had made the commitment . By then we had little chance to sign him ..
I think there was a transfer fee of £500k or thereabouts to be paid, will always be remembered by Liverpool fans for missing a sitter.I am sure the is a picture of him in a Hibs strip.

15-02-2023, 09:37 PM
I think there was a transfer fee of £500k or thereabouts to be paid, will always be remembered by Liverpool fans for missing a sitter.I am sure the is a picture of him in a Hibs strip.https://images.app.goo.gl/2MYQsyqbReYLxfoz5

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
15-02-2023, 09:47 PM
I think there was a transfer fee of £500k or thereabouts to be paid, will always be remembered by Liverpool fans for missing a sitter.I am sure the is a picture of him in a Hibs strip.
I remember that miss it was unbelievable at the time , think I'm in shock after watching it again 😂
https://youtu.be/ISdK2sZjMnw

16-02-2023, 06:46 AM
Alex McGregor, joined Hibs in the summer of 1973, following a free transfer from Ayr United, around the same time as Iain Munro joined from St Mirren.

Iain's time at Hibs was clearly far more successful, as Alex left Hibs a year later without playing a first team game.

This was in an era when transfers were few and far between and any deals done, brought even greater interest from the fans, than today, due to their infrequent manner.

In the same summer, Johnny Hamilton, the usual substitute in the TT's famous 1972/3 season, wasn't offered a new deal by Hibs and he moved to rangers on a free transfer, where he won a league title medal, a couple of years later.

16-02-2023, 07:11 AM
Alex McGregor, joined Hibs in the summer of 1973, following a free transfer from Ayr United, around the same time as Iain Munro joined from St Mirren.

Iain's time at Hibs was clearly far more successful, as Alex left Hibs a year later without playing a first team game.

This was in an era when transfers were few and far between and any deals done, brought even greater interest from the fans, than today, due to their infrequent manner.

In the same summer, Johnny Hamilton, the usual substitute in the TT's famous 1972/3 season, wasn't offered a new deal by Hibs and he moved to rangers on a free transfer, where he won a league title medal, a couple of years later.

Others around about that time Rab Kilgour and Tam Stevens

Willie Paterson who scored on his debut against Hearts with a diving header

Paul McGlinchey 1980 and free scoring centre forward Jim McKay from Brora that we couldn’t agree a fee on

The Baldmans Comb
16-02-2023, 07:31 AM
There used to be lots of spare goalies around Scott Gallagher and Cammy Bell spring to mind as does Darnell Johnston who might as well have been a goalie for all the use he was.

16-02-2023, 07:47 AM
Others around about that time Rab Kilgour and Tam Stevens

Willie Paterson who scored on his debut against Hearts with a diving header

Paul McGlinchey 1980 and free scoring centre forward Jim McKay from Brora that we couldn’t agree a fee on

I remember Tam Stevens debut, he was highlighted in the Friday edition of the evening news, with a picture displaying long flowing hair, as was the rage in 1973. It was a bit of a shock when the teams came out the following afternoon.

Paterson, yip, a really good start for him personally, although the draw wasn't regarded as a good result in the seventies, he made around 14 appearances, including a used sub.

Far more high profile, but with a combined total of just 10 appearances, Isak Refvik & Svein Mathisen, with the former being refused a work permit. Isak made a storming start, against, then, high flying, Morton, scoring the 2 goals in the return leg, that overturned Moron's narrow 1st leg lead. This put us in the semi against Aberdeen. Isak made 7 appearances, but I'm sure his brace was the only goals he scored for Hibs and Svein only played three times, one of them was where he starred in the 2-2 draw with Celtic, a few days after the Morton game, Isak didn't play in that game because of the work permit dispute, that ended with Tom Hart being rebuked by the home office [we know who's side the hibs fans were on].

16-02-2023, 08:20 AM
I remember Tam Stevens debut, he was highlighted in the Friday edition of the evening news, with a picture displaying long flowing hair, as was the rage in 1973. It was a bit of a shock when the teams came out the following afternoon.

Paterson, yip, a really good start for him personally, although the draw wasn't regarded as a good result in the seventies, he made around 14 appearances, including a used sub.

Far more high profile, but with a combined total of just 10 appearances, Isak Refvik & Svein Mathisen, with the former being refused a work permit. Isak made a storming start, against, then, high flying, Morton, scoring the 2 goals in the return leg, that overturned Moron's narrow 1st leg lead. This put us in the semi against Aberdeen. Isak made 7 appearances, but I'm sure his brace was the only goals he scored for Hibs and Svein only played three times, one of them was where he starred in the 2-2 draw with Celtic, a few days after the Morton game, Isak didn't play in that game because of the work permit dispute, that ended with Tom Hart being rebuked by the home office [we know who's side the hibs fans were on].

I was at Tam’s only game for HIBS versus Motherwell a 0-1 loss

I thought he played well

He was a good player but he never really got a chance at Hibs even although he was on the books from 1971-1974

He went on to become a Head Coach at Cowdenbeath and Edinburgh City

16-02-2023, 08:32 AM

I thought he played well

He was a good player but he never really got a chance at Hibs even although he was on the books from 1971-1974

It was difficult for him, with Onion, just 19 in 1971 and already a full internationalist & then Des Bremner coming in towards the end of 1972, just in time to take the right back position, following JB's horrific injury. Shame his debut was during the slump in the second half of the 72/3 season, the final game, the 0-3 loss, against Celtic, there was a number of young lads that had been brought in. Bobby Smith & Tony Higgins were amongst the ones that made an impact on the first team.

16-02-2023, 08:52 AM

I thought he played well

Remember Tam when he played with Ormiston Primrose cracking player

16-02-2023, 01:37 PM
Grzegorz Szamotulski. Good keeper actually.

Szamotulski was a good keeper at a time when we seemed only capable of signing terrible Keepers

Donegal Hibby
16-02-2023, 03:07 PM
Don't know if he was mentioned earlier though didn't we have a guy called Roland Edge at one time ? No absolutely nothing about him btw

16-02-2023, 03:40 PM
There used to be lots of spare goalies around Scott Gallagher and Cammy Bell spring to mind as does Darnell Johnston who might as well have been a goalie for all the use he was.

As I posted on another thread a few weeks ago, I don't get why Darnell Johnson gets stuck in the pish English young centre back category. He signed when we were managerless. He came on as a sub in the 65th minute at Celtic Park at 2-0 down. Did OK (we didn't concede) and was unluckily retrospectively sent off. Heckingbottom came in, did well initially so stuck with the players that were getting him results, meaning he didn't get another game. So 25 mins + injury time of game time after which the team were performing well, so he didn't get a chance.

17-02-2023, 12:01 AM
Chris Maxwell, and that wasn’t that long ago !

ErinGoBraghHFC
17-02-2023, 12:12 AM
Matt Done, Richie Towell, Chris Dagnall, Zarabi, Miquel Nelom, Fabian Yantorno, Martin Canning, Brian Graham

ErinGoBraghHFC
17-02-2023, 01:46 AM
Matt Kennedy, El Alagui, Henri Anier, Jordan Sinclair, Danny Haynes and Abdellah Zoubir

percy veer
17-02-2023, 02:16 AM
Mike franks

17-02-2023, 05:25 AM
Newman

A N Other

Trialist

Junior

17-02-2023, 06:46 AM
Matt Done, Richie Towell, Chris Dagnall, Zarabi, Miquel Nelom, Fabian Yantorno, Martin Canning, Brian Graham

I know he's probably the last of the group to spring to mind, but I'd struggle to forget a hibs player who has a scottish cup medal.

17-02-2023, 07:38 AM
Terry Wilson
Mike Wilson

17-02-2023, 07:42 AM
Humphrey Rudge, Tom Carson (GK) Eric Pringle.

Alex Pringle

17-02-2023, 07:48 AM
Martin Henderson

17-02-2023, 11:17 AM
Matthew hoppe.

Totally forgot we'd signed him when thinking about this weekends team.

17-02-2023, 12:30 PM
Isaacs Refvic

Thanks I could not remember his name and he was a good wee player I do remember that.

17-02-2023, 12:32 PM
Alex Pringle

He was a fine hard sweeper (he may have left Scotland) stepped in for Sloop and remember him having a great game against the hun at Hampdump in the cup, may have been the game when whatshisname said Rankers are rubbish.
:flag::flag:

17-02-2023, 12:57 PM
He was a fine hard sweeper (he may have left Scotland) stepped in for Sloop and remember him having a great game against the hun at Hampdump in the cup, may have been the game when whatshisname said Rankers are rubbish.

Good player he played in both semi ties I was at both

Remember his blonde thinning locks

Think he ended up stateside after a spell with Dundee

Had the wanderlust as he was off to SA at one point then changed his mind

17-02-2023, 01:34 PM
Eric Paton

Absolutely brilliant in Training apparently

17-02-2023, 06:28 PM

Dave Ewing was the manager who said that about Huns RIP.

A comment to match Malonga's interest in Sevco.

17-02-2023, 06:36 PM
Ricardo Vaz Te

17-02-2023, 07:12 PM
Ricardo Vaz Te

That’s a belter. Scored against Hearts as well.

17-02-2023, 07:20 PM

Some pedigree as well. Don't think he was anywhere near fit enough at us.

17-02-2023, 07:37 PM
Some pedigree as well. Don't think he was anywhere near fit enough at us.

Did pretty well with (I think) west ham in the championship afterwards too!

Willis1875
17-02-2023, 08:00 PM
Chris Humphrey

portycabbage
17-02-2023, 08:07 PM
Paul Holsgrove.

17-02-2023, 08:08 PM
Lee Bailey

leith lynx
17-02-2023, 09:43 PM
Antonio Murray

18-02-2023, 12:29 AM
Malcolm Robertson

leith lynx
18-02-2023, 08:02 AM
John McGachie

18-02-2023, 08:20 AM
Earl Jean

SideBurns
18-02-2023, 08:31 AM
Pat McKirdy. Scored a hat-trick in a reserve derby win, then made his debut for the first team and scoring in an 8-1 thrashing of Killie. Cannae mind seeing him again!

18-02-2023, 09:02 AM
John McGachie

Can remember his brilliant celebration at Pittodrie :greengrin

18-02-2023, 09:03 AM
Did pretty well with (I think) west ham in the championship afterwards too!

Pretty sure he scored a winnng goal in a play off final may have been versus Bolton

18-02-2023, 09:18 AM
Can remember his brilliant celebration at Pittodrie :greengrin

Aye that was quality. Open goal and he nearly fluffed it!

18-02-2023, 10:01 AM
Tommy Craig

18-02-2023, 11:13 AM
Don't know if he was mentioned earlier though didn't we have a guy called Roland Edge at one time ? No absolutely nothing about him btw

Yip played early 2000s if I remember correctly, no idea where we signed him from though or where he went after

18-02-2023, 11:21 AM
Kenny Davidson was going to be the next Peter Marinello great winger think he got a bad injury. Alex McGee as well good wee centre moved on to Dundee.
Colin Grant as well, never really made it as well as expected.

18-02-2023, 01:45 PM
Noticed on Livescores we had a player called Tikito that played for a couple of seasons. Had to look him up 🤣

deludedfool
19-02-2023, 12:04 PM
Dave Ewing was the manager who said that about Huns RIP.

A comment to match Malonga's interest in Sevco.

I think that was my first ever away game on a Wednesday night and it was 0-0 , unfortunately after Dave Ewing calling Rangers rubbish in true Hibs fashion we got pumped in the replay .
On the plus side it was the first hibs game I heard the Hibs supporters singing the Jimmy, jimmy O’rourke everyone knows his name song.

19-02-2023, 12:47 PM
Mark Venus

19-02-2023, 12:49 PM
Robert Pires

19-02-2023, 12:57 PM

That was a great three minutes.

BS44
19-02-2023, 02:28 PM
Tom Carson goalkeeper played two games for us on loan from Dundee sometime in the 80s, one game we got beat 2 0 at Celtic the other match I can't remember opponent or score

Svengali
19-02-2023, 03:31 PM
Lilian Martin
Derek Anderson
Barry Prenderville
Eamon Bannon
Peter Guggi

Svengali
19-02-2023, 03:32 PM
Stephen Raynes
The Dempsie sisters

19-02-2023, 03:34 PM
Roddy McKenzie great goalie for Airdrie gash for us

19-02-2023, 06:44 PM
Don't know if anyone has mentioned
Clayton Donaldson

19-02-2023, 07:21 PM
Rab Shannon
Jim Farmer
Stuart McCaffrey

19-02-2023, 07:38 PM
Don't know if anyone has mentioned
Clayton Donaldson

Nah he was half decent for us , A million players before him to forget

19-02-2023, 07:41 PM
Found an evening news in the attic the other day , story about Chris Jackson signing a new contract for hibs . I'd long forgotten him but it jogged the memory and I did see him play a couple of times

19-02-2023, 07:44 PM
Found an evening news in the attic the other day , story about Chris Jackson signing a new contract for hibs . I'd long forgotten him but it jogged the memory and I did see him play a couple of times

Knocked us oot the Scottish in a replay if i remember , Also scored against Brazil in a 2-1 loss

cameronw-hfc
19-02-2023, 08:05 PM
I know he's probably the last of the group to spring to mind, but I'd struggle to forget a hibs player who has a scottish cup medal.

Always felt for Dagnall at Hibs. Worked his backside off and sure there was a spell where he seemed to have shots cleared off the line, off the post or ruled out every week. Just couldn't get a goal for some reason
Don't think he was ever as bad as some said, his overall play was always decent, just horrible luck in front of goal

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-02-2023, 08:14 PM
Always felt for Dagnall at Hibs. Worked his backside off and sure there was a spell where he seemed to have shots cleared off the line, off the post or ruled out every week. Just couldn't get a goal for some reason
Don't think he was ever as bad as some said, his overall play was always decent, just horrible luck in front of goal

Wasn’t saying he was a bad player, thought he brought a lot to the team. Just forgot he played for us

cameronw-hfc
19-02-2023, 08:16 PM
Wasn’t saying he was a bad player, thought he brought a lot to the team. Just forgot he played for us

Apologies wasn't meaning you were, just most of the take I see him mentioned it's in a bad light and always thought he was decent just criminally unlucky .

ErinGoBraghHFC
20-02-2023, 10:11 AM
Apologies wasn't meaning you were, just most of the take I see him mentioned it's in a bad light and always thought he was decent just criminally unlucky .

Was brutally unlucky in the semi at PBS vs St Johnstone, could’ve had a hat trick but didn’t get any of them

20-02-2023, 06:16 PM
Has Chris Humphries or Jermaine Pennant been mentioned yet (the latter as a trialist in Lewie's testimonial)?

20-02-2023, 06:20 PM
Kenny Dalglish

20-02-2023, 06:25 PM
[QUOTE=A Hi-Bee;7288044]Kenny Dalglish[/https://i.ibb.co/fY3gL4z/E7-D57-D13-CE5-C-49-B6-8929-742-E0-DEC7-C08.jpg (https://ibb.co/qMHSVk3)

Lendo
20-02-2023, 06:27 PM
Sam Morrow was someone who had completely left my mind until I started looking back at only squads on Wikipedia

20-02-2023, 06:52 PM
[QUOTE=A Hi-Bee;7288044]Kenny Dalglish[/https://i.ibb.co/fY3gL4z/E7-D57-D13-CE5-C-49-B6-8929-742-E0-DEC7-C08.jpg (https://ibb.co/qMHSVk3)

Ha,ha nice one Billy, pretty sure he laid on 4 goals or so for Keith Wright as well in this game.
Or could be getting mixed up wi Joe Baker.

20-02-2023, 06:54 PM
Jakub Divis.

20-02-2023, 07:01 PM
Joe Jordan

20-02-2023, 07:28 PM
[QUOTE=BILLYHIBS;7288053]

Ha,ha nice one Billy, pretty sure he laid on 4 goals or so for Keith Wright as well in this game.
Or could be getting mixed up wi Joe Baker.

And without leaving the centre circle either :greengrin

20-02-2023, 07:42 PM
Jakub Divis.

Greatest keeper we’ve ever signed.

leith lynx
20-02-2023, 09:21 PM
Patrick Vieira

ErinGoBraghHFC
21-02-2023, 02:20 AM
Greatest keeper we’ve ever signed.

Can’t remember him at all tbh

HendoDelivered
23-02-2023, 02:57 PM
Adam Eckersley
Tom James
Fraser Mullen

23-02-2023, 03:01 PM
Darren Dods.

Svengali
23-02-2023, 05:47 PM
Has anyone mentioned Juha Rippa? Played in a 0-0 derby at Tynie. Was game Yogi was sent off for patting Paillie on the head

Svengali
23-02-2023, 05:48 PM
Bryan Gunn

ErinGoBraghHFC
23-02-2023, 06:30 PM
Has anyone mentioned Juha Rippa? Played in a 0-0 derby at Tynie. Was game Yogi was sent off for patting Paillie on the head

She no a singer? [emoji16]

25-02-2023, 07:17 AM

Had forgotten all about him playing in that game :agree:

25-02-2023, 11:56 AM
David Elliot

25-02-2023, 12:56 PM
Zarabi, Algerian left back. I only remember him playing in a cup game at Ibrox and he looked like he had been plucked from the stands.

HarpOnHibee
25-02-2023, 01:30 PM
Thierry 'Hong Kong' Gathuessi

25-02-2023, 01:35 PM
Faycal Rherras looked and played like a Hearts player wearing a Hibs strip

😀

25-02-2023, 02:46 PM
Knocked us oot the Scottish in a replay if i remember , Also scored against Brazil in a 2-1 loss

"Scored against Brazil in a 2-1 loss" Shirley you mean John Collins ?!?

bringbackbenny
25-02-2023, 03:16 PM
Mike Conroy

25-02-2023, 03:26 PM
Ryan Gauld.

25-02-2023, 04:02 PM
Mike Conroy Bllurrrggh.