View Full Version : Josh Taylor - Boxing

BoyledEgg
11-02-2023, 07:05 PM
Josh Taylor vs Teofimo Lopez is reportedly now “close” to a done deal and being targeted for May 27th or June 3rd at Hibernian FC’s Easter Road stadium in Edinburgh. [According to @MikeCoppinger]

JamesHFC
11-02-2023, 07:36 PM
Better than Madison Square Garden.

11-02-2023, 07:40 PM
Josh Taylor vs Teofimo Lopez is reportedly now “close” to a done deal and being targeted for May 27th or June 3rd at Hibernian FC’s Easter Road stadium in Edinburgh. [According to @MikeCoppinger]

I assumed he would fight Jack Catterall again, even with the injury.

11-02-2023, 07:45 PM

Hope not.

11-02-2023, 07:46 PM
I assumed he would fight Jack Catterall again, even with the injury.

Jack had his number. I don't think it's a good fight for Josh. Probably pretty smart looking elsewhere although it looks like he's ducking Jack.

11-02-2023, 07:47 PM
Him fighting at Easter Road would be good. The state of the pitch might no be.

11-02-2023, 07:47 PM
Hope it doesn’t do as much damage to the pitch as Elton John did.

11-02-2023, 07:57 PM
Pity he's patching the Catterall fight. Will hang over him for a long time. Either way happy enough to take in a fight at Easter Road. Pitch is a **** mind.

Stairway 2 7
11-02-2023, 08:00 PM
Might relay the pitch with the money since its the end of season. Will be 10x the international interest in this fight compared to Catterall.

11-02-2023, 08:04 PM
Wonder if season tickets will be valid

LewysGot2
11-02-2023, 08:06 PM
Can I get my usual seat before a general sale? 🤣

CentreForward
11-02-2023, 08:12 PM

Pitch is so bad am not sure that much more damage can actually be done !

Bridge hibs
11-02-2023, 08:14 PM
Will the singing section be in the FF lower, hope so as it will look good on telly

ErinGoBraghHFC
11-02-2023, 08:26 PM
Will the singing section be in the FF lower, hope so as it will look good on telly

Make it happen

11-02-2023, 08:34 PM
Be able to get a beer in the stands that night which seems a bit ironic when there’s probably much higher chance of bother that night than you’d get at the vast majority of Hibs games

Stairway 2 7
11-02-2023, 08:41 PM
Be able to get a beer in the stands that night which seems a bit ironic when there’s probably much higher chance of bother that night than you’d get at the vast majority of Hibs games

Mad eh. The chance of bother here on a Saturday night or a Hibs Ross County at 3pm

11-02-2023, 08:47 PM
Would be absolutely superb. Nobody outside the UK (or should I say England) is particularly bothered about the Catterall re-match. Josh v Lopez would be huge world wide. Catterall is mouthy wee prick. I'd find it hilarious if Josh dingied him.

11-02-2023, 08:56 PM
Take it you'll only get in if you don't have a COVID passport?

LewysGot2
11-02-2023, 09:05 PM

I see what you did there 🤭

11-02-2023, 09:18 PM
So he's shat it from fighting Catterall then?

Hope it isn't at Easter Road, pitched looked pretty poor against Dundee United and any kind of event just makes it worse.

ErinGoBraghHFC
11-02-2023, 09:23 PM

Hope it isn't at Easter Road, pitched looked pretty poor against Dundee United and any kind of event just makes it worse.

In May/ June the pitch will be fine

11-02-2023, 09:24 PM
Get the proclaimers at ER in the same week. Has to happen.

Then re-lay the pitch!

MagicSwirlingShip
11-02-2023, 09:26 PM
Good extra revenue for the club.

LewysGot2
11-02-2023, 09:32 PM
Get the proclaimers at ER in the same week. Has to happen.

Then re-lay the pitch!

Proclaimers playing Leith Links in June already - SoL on Hanlon Hill

11-02-2023, 09:33 PM

I'm sure the extra zeros on the end of his pay cheque are more likely to be the reason than the fact he's "shat" it from Catterall

11-02-2023, 09:37 PM
In May/ June the pitch will be fine

Aye only if we relay the pitch afterwards. Anyone know if we're planning on or due a relay? I know we do it every few years and it ain't cheap

11-02-2023, 10:44 PM
Better than Madison Square Garden.

Cheaper for a pint as well.

Torto7
12-02-2023, 02:31 AM
Hes hanging around with Kelbie, Hughes and all the other **** these days. I dont want Hibs taking money that comes from the Kinahans ultimately.

12-02-2023, 06:04 AM
Prefer this to having to endure another fight v Catterall. It was a crap fight, their styles didn't really gel and the only reason anyone wants to see it again is because of the totally OTT 'robbery' stuff.

Stairway 2 7
12-02-2023, 06:52 AM
Hes hanging around with Kelbie, Hughes and all the other **** these days. I dont want Hibs taking money that comes from the Kinahans ultimately.

This is a Top Rank fight its the American Bob Arum and ESPN, hence they will have no interest in Catterall. Lopez is still big business in the US and Mexico, winner will get another big fight

12-02-2023, 06:55 AM

Ah but he’s a good Hibs man, ken?

12-02-2023, 07:11 AM
I’ve just been reading about the Kinehans. Quite incredible international scale they operate on.

12-02-2023, 07:14 AM
Are we not meant to be laying a brand new pitch this year. It was put off last summer due to the tail end of Covid.

MountcastleHibs
12-02-2023, 07:25 AM

Surely only the unvaccinated or the right wing conspiracy theorists he seems to constantly retweet/agree with on Twitter?

12-02-2023, 07:47 AM

The deal was all but done with Catterall for a rematch, his team failed to sign it. Which is a pity because I would have loved to see Josh take him apart.

12-02-2023, 08:06 AM
Big payday for Taylor if he gets that fight. Catterall, not so much. People dissing Taylor need to keep in mind that he's 33 (has a history of injury) and won't have too many big paydays ahead of him. Lopez is the big fight for the moneymen

Catterall would have been better off making other fights before now, shame he never (tough titty). For a guy of ambition, he's been too inactive

Renfrew_Hibby
12-02-2023, 08:45 AM
I'm sure the next phase of stadium improvements is a new hybrid pitch and this summer was earmarked for its installation.
So any events in late May/ start of June should tie in well with the plans.

12-02-2023, 09:42 AM

Fight can only go ahead if all woke LTN measures have been removed around the surrounding area too.

A fight night at ER sounds great, especially someone like Lopez.

Wonder if we'll relay the pitch THEN erect the stage/ring!?

12-02-2023, 11:17 AM
Big payday for Taylor if he gets that fight. Catterall, not so much. People dissing Taylor need to keep in mind that he's 33 (has a history of injury) and won't have too many big paydays ahead of him. Lopez is the big fight for the moneymen

Catterall would have been better off making other fights before now, shame he never (tough titty). For a guy of ambition, he's been too inactive

And he knows he's nowhere near as good as some think. He had his big chance and knows his one big payday is the re-match with Josh. There's a reason he's not interested in Prograis or Ramirez. Would be nice to see Josh shut him (and his English fans) up but also funny if Josh decides to take another route.

Paulie Walnuts
12-02-2023, 12:05 PM
Guys an ********.

12-02-2023, 12:14 PM
Do we get season ticket discounts for catering?

12-02-2023, 12:23 PM
Do we get season ticket discounts for catering?

Only if you're in the East stand and sometimes you may have to ask for it.

HIBS NUTS
12-02-2023, 12:30 PM
I would love to see josh fight at easter road, he’s been brilliant to watch and usually always has great fights, unfortunately his last fight was his worst, and he was clearly beaten.
However before this, other high profile boxers were avoiding him.
i just don’t think he was motivated enough by the Catterall fight.😞

12-02-2023, 12:46 PM
I would love to see josh fight at easter road, he’s been brilliant to watch and usually always has great fights, unfortunately his last fight was his worst, and he was clearly beaten.
However before this, other high profile boxers were avoiding him.
i just don’t think he was motivated enough by the Catterall fight.😞

I don’t think it was a motivation thing. When we saw him on the big screens before he walked out he didn’t look in great shape, making the weight had maybe taken too much out of him.
As an aside I was sat next to Catterall’s family and given some of the stuff they were shouting I was delighted to see them crushed by the verdict. :greengrin

MagicSwirlingShip
12-02-2023, 01:07 PM
I don’t think it was a motivation thing. When we saw him on the big screens before he walked out he didn’t look in great shape, making the weight had maybe taken too much out of him.
As an aside I was sat next to Catterall’s family and given some of the stuff they were shouting I was delighted to see them crushed by the verdict. :greengrin

He came back into camp much heavier than usual, and struggled after Covid and a chest infection. I honestly don’t think he will have more issues with the weight providing he comes back into camp healthy.

Also Caterrall can do one, hasn’t got one name on his record. He needs to get out there and beat other contenders.

12-02-2023, 01:14 PM
He came back into camp much heavier than usual, and struggled after Covid and a chest infection. I honestly don’t think he will have more issues with the weight providing he comes back into camp healthy.

Also Caterrall can do one, hasn’t got one name on his record. He needs to get out there and beat other contenders.

He had covid? I thought he was a “Pure Blood”. Surprised he contracted anything with him being invincible.

Torto7
12-02-2023, 01:24 PM
I’ve just been reading about the Kinehans. Quite incredible international scale they operate on.

They're all over the place. Scotland has a very long and established way of laundering money that the K's have been using for years. The fat Taxi guy in Perth being top of the chain. Ronan Cruise and the Fake bake lot are all linked to the K's, horses, football agencies, property and so on. Then you get tits like Kelbie and Hughes further down the chain living great lives whilst supposedly being bankrupt. Scotland is corrupt as f***. Jack McConnell's Mrs makes interesting reading as well with the Lyons family.

12-02-2023, 01:40 PM
Ah but he’s a good Hibs man, ken?

He’s a prick.

Wouldn’t say it to his face mind you.

12-02-2023, 04:14 PM
They're all over the place. Scotland has a very long and established way of laundering money that the K's have been using for years. The fat Taxi guy in Perth being top of the chain. Ronan Cruise and the Fake bake lot are all linked to the K's, horses, football agencies, property and so on. Then you get tits like Kelbie and Hughes further down the chain living great lives whilst supposedly being bankrupt. Scotland is corrupt as f***. Jack McConnell's Mrs makes interesting reading as well with the Lyons family.

But if I’m what I’m reading is correct, the main guys are living in the Middle East directing things and are essentially on the run from charges in the US, the UK and Ireland.

12-02-2023, 04:18 PM
He’s a prick.

Was sound when I seen him in the Mash Tun a few years back.

MagicSwirlingShip
12-02-2023, 04:58 PM
He’s a prick.

Everytime I’ve met him he’s been sound as. As opposed to his online persona

12-02-2023, 05:19 PM
Is this not a holy ground post? 🤷

NC1875
12-02-2023, 05:29 PM
He’s a prick.

Have you met Josh ? He’s anything but a prick. One of the nicest guys you could meet, even with strangers harassing him constantly.

cameronw-hfc
12-02-2023, 06:39 PM
Have you met Josh ? He’s anything but a prick. One of the nicest guys you could meet, even with strangers harassing him constantly.

Got some pretty poor views though. Consistently tweets some pretty poor stuff. I like Josh as a boxer, but his views leave a lot to be desired.

LunasBoots
12-02-2023, 07:38 PM

Got there fingers in alot of sports people sadly.

12-02-2023, 07:44 PM

Hearts held a we concert for a festival event a on their brand new pitch a couple of years back and ruined it for most of the following season

12-02-2023, 07:49 PM
Hearts held a we concert for a festival event a on their brand new pitch a couple of years back and ruined it for most of the following season

That has shows on the pitch last festival and their pitch is in pretty good shape, much better than ours.

12-02-2023, 07:52 PM
Re the debate around damaging the pitch, this fight would ne a couple of weeks after the end of the season so could very w eh ll tie in with laying a new hybrid pitch And go a long was to subsidising it.

12-02-2023, 08:20 PM
Got there fingers in alot of sports people sadly.

Sounds a bit kinky that does.

12-02-2023, 08:26 PM
Got some pretty poor views though. Consistently tweets some pretty poor stuff. I like Josh as a boxer, but his views leave a lot to be desired.

You can disagree with peoples views on stuff but still like the person.

A mate of mine voted for the Tory’s once.

cameronw-hfc
12-02-2023, 08:43 PM
You can disagree with peoples views on stuff but still like the person.

A mate of mine voted for the Tory’s once.

Yeah I didn't say I dislike him tbf, I enjoy him as a boxer and think he's brilliant to watch, just not keen on his views.

Torto7
12-02-2023, 08:54 PM
Yeah I didn't say I dislike him tbf, I enjoy him as a boxer and think he's brilliant to watch, just not keen on his views.

Nice people wouldn't get involved with the Kelbies of the world by choice. Maybe Josh is naïve to the way those types work as I've never met Josh.

12-02-2023, 09:33 PM

More of a general point as lots of people have said they don’t like him and I’m guessing a good number of them haven’t met him.

I’ve never met the guy but I think he comes across as a decent guy on the tele. On social media I disagree with most of his stuff but hey ho, he would probably disagree with a lot of stuff I think.

Probably loosely related but I’ve got sympathy for professional sportsman who don’t want to take vaccines. These guys have dedicated their lives to their bodies and monitor closely what they put into it. For them to be told just to trust the government and put whatever they say into it, when the government have been so untrustworthy I can understand the scepticism. That message of support falls down for the likes of Taylor when there’s been accusations of him taking coke but as a general point I get it. Probably stands more true for the likes of Djokovic than Taylor but even still, seems relevant.

12-02-2023, 09:44 PM
More of a general point as lots of people have said they don’t like him and I’m guessing a good number of them haven’t met him.

I’ve never met the guy but I think he comes across as a decent guy on the tele. On social media I disagree with most of his stuff but hey ho, he would probably disagree with a lot of stuff I think.

Probably loosely related but I’ve got sympathy for professional sportsman who don’t want to take vaccines. These guys have dedicated their lives to their bodies and monitor closely what they put into it. For them to be told just to trust the government and put whatever they say into it, when the government have been so untrustworthy I can understand the scepticism. That message of support falls down for the likes of Taylor when there’s been accusations of him taking coke but as a general point I get it. Probably stands more true for the likes of Djokovic than Taylor but even still, seems relevant.

Which is fair. But JT is constantly telling other folk not to, as well as ripping into those who do.

12-02-2023, 09:52 PM

I know Alex Arthur quite well, certainly stop in the street and chat level. He’s a lovely personable guy but I absolutely hated his tweets from a few years ago that painted him in a racist light, and I’m not a fan of his Alba party flirtations either. But you can only judge the person in front of you and people do sometimes change, learn and grow I suppose.

LewysGot2
17-02-2023, 10:36 AM
https://www.thenational.scot/news/23324992.josh-taylor-labels-nicola-sturgeon-absolute-monster/

Making headlines again...

17-02-2023, 11:05 AM
https://www.thenational.scot/news/23324992.josh-taylor-labels-nicola-sturgeon-absolute-monster/

Making headlines again...

He's entitled to his opinion, but someone really ought to tell him to just keep his mouth shut sometimes

Booker5time
17-02-2023, 11:13 AM
He's entitled to his opinion, but someone really ought to tell him to just keep his mouth shut sometimes

Hate to say it, but with this and what he retweets and tweets on twitter, he dose not help himself.

He not as famous and popular as he should be, cause of stuff like this. PR nightmare he is.

Paulie Walnuts
17-02-2023, 11:35 AM

Guys an utter roaster.

Edina Street
17-02-2023, 11:40 AM
Josh Taylor is an anti-vaxxer.

No doubt he is just a young man that believes every conspiracy theory and political propaganda piece he reads on the internet without question. There are millions of young men just like him.

17-02-2023, 11:46 AM
Wouldn’t open my curtains to see him fight.

17-02-2023, 12:00 PM
Anyone agreeing with GB News and Dan bloody Wootton needs their head severely examined.

17-02-2023, 12:02 PM
Anyone agreeing with GB News and Dan bloody Wootton needs their head severely examined.

At first glance I thought that read "head severed".....:greengrin

17-02-2023, 12:08 PM
The guys a twat, and not just for this. All his anti-vax stuff as well. Total roaster. Hope he gets put on his arse.

17-02-2023, 01:03 PM
The guys a twat, and not just for this. All his anti-vax stuff as well. Total roaster. Hope he gets put on his arse.

Nailed it.

Hibs should keep their distance from this bellend.

17-02-2023, 01:08 PM

No doubt he is just a young man that believes every conspiracy theory and political propaganda piece he reads on the internet without question. There are millions of young men just like him.

He's 32. Hardly a young man

BigKev
17-02-2023, 01:09 PM
There’s more folk on here I’d classify as a roaster than JT.

Most of them on this thread.

17-02-2023, 01:09 PM
GB News 😔? Just stick to the boxing Josh.

17-02-2023, 01:21 PM

I hope I'm one of them :na na:

hibeerealist
17-02-2023, 01:27 PM

The master has spoken

17-02-2023, 01:30 PM

His spouted views are questionable at best. Why does people disagreeing with his regurgitated pish class them as roasters?

17-02-2023, 01:34 PM
At first glance I thought that read "head severed".....:greengrin

and I don't think that it would have been an unreasonable statement if it had.

PHeffernan
17-02-2023, 01:42 PM

That covers it.
Pugilistic heavyweight but intellectual lightweight
Every time he opens his mouth about anything but boxing he messes up.
Best keeping his opinions to himself.

17-02-2023, 01:55 PM
I know he's a Hibs fan but i'd very much enjoy seeing Taylor get knocked out.

17-02-2023, 02:16 PM
Thankfully, I go to watch him box, not listen to his political views and social commentary.

17-02-2023, 02:19 PM
Thankfully, I go to watch him box, not listen to his political views and social commentary.

Well said, i think the Gallagher brothers are complete imbicilles, every time they open their mouth they talk sheite, but i like their music.

17-02-2023, 02:30 PM

Yup, totally opposed to the (imo) nonsense he spouts, but he's entitled to spout it.

Still like watching a hibs supporting Scotsmen be the best in the world at what they do.

17-02-2023, 02:30 PM
I know he's a Hibs fan but i'd very much enjoy seeing Taylor get knocked out.

I never see him at the games. Where is his seat?

MagicSwirlingShip
17-02-2023, 02:58 PM
I never see him at the games. Where is his seat?

His trains full time in Liverpool, previously Essex. Previously London. Has been in hospitality a few times, but not a season ticket holder

Torto7
17-02-2023, 03:55 PM

Folk on here are bigger roasters than a guy who takes his money from them in Dubai? I doubt it.

BigKev
17-02-2023, 04:16 PM
Folk on here are bigger roasters than a guy who takes his money from them in Dubai? I doubt it.

Sorry, forgot you were the font of all knowledge on our murky underworld so of course you’ll know where JT gets all his income from 🙄

So aye, my comment still stands.

Stairway 2 7
17-02-2023, 08:06 PM
Catterall needs to win to fight Taylor probably. Fancy Prograis to beat him though and Taylor doesn't have to fight Prograis again

Michael Benson
@MichaelBensonn
·
2s
‼️ Regis Prograis vs Jack Catterall is reportedly now in talks with Catterall wanting to challenge for Prograis' WBC super-lightweight world title. [According to
@MikeCoppinger
]

19-02-2023, 08:10 AM
Catterall needs to win to fight Taylor probably. Fancy Prograis to beat him though and Taylor doesn't have to fight Prograis again

Michael Benson
@MichaelBensonn
·
2s
‼️ Regis Prograis vs Jack Catterall is reportedly now in talks with Catterall wanting to challenge for Prograis' WBC super-lightweight world title. [According to
@MikeCoppinger
]

Great fight for Catterall. I agree Prograis will win. But I thought that when he fought Taylor tbh

23-02-2023, 06:57 PM
Fight signed for June 10th…..in New York.

23-02-2023, 09:24 PM
He’s a friend of a friend but never actually met him. Comes across pretty well in the documentary I seen of him (but I guess people often do).

Glad I’m not on Twitter. But I know plenty people that can talk utter ***** but aren’t really bad people. I reckon it’d be easy to dislike a lot more people I know if my only experience of them was their tweets.

The anti vax stuff annoys (and baffles) me. But again, I know one or two others who have come out with such havers that aren’t bad people.

ErinGoBraghHFC
23-02-2023, 09:25 PM
He’s a friend of a friend but never actually met him. Comes across pretty well in the documentary I seen of him (but I guess people often do).

Glad I’m not on Twitter. But I know plenty people that can talk utter ***** but aren’t really bad people. I reckon it’d be easy to dislike a lot more people I know if my only experience of them was their tweets.

The anti vax stuff annoys (and baffles) me. But again, I know one or two others who have come out with such havers that aren’t bad people.

We’re aw slavers, that’s fine. We’re no aw racists though [emoji2371]

24-02-2023, 07:30 AM
He is saying his dream would be to fight at ER so may be possible in the future

04-03-2023, 11:43 PM
Fight signed for June 10th…..in New York.Lovely for me!

Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk