View Full Version : Hibs 150th Anniversary Strip
Torto7062
11-02-2023, 06:51 AM
After the New Scotland top being announced I wondered what Hibs 150th strip would be like and if the club would let the fans have a say....
Obviously these four would be winners but I've seen some beauty's made up by fans over the years
Can anyone post some suggestions/mock ups ?
Stairway 2 7
11-02-2023, 07:07 AM
If its 150 years it shouldn't be anything to do with cool strips we liked from 70's, 90's ect.
I'd say it either has to be all white like our first ever strip or make that the away and do all green top with white shorts like our strips from 1879 until 1938. Hoops could be a third kit
Here's the strips through the ages
http://www.historicalkits.co.uk/Scottish_Football_League/Hibernian/hibernian.htm
Torto7062
11-02-2023, 08:01 AM
If its 150 years it shouldn't be anything to do with cool strips we liked from 70's, 90's ect.
I'd say it either has to be all white like our first ever strip or make that the away and do all green top with white shorts like our strips from 1879 until 1938. Hoops could be a third kit
http://www.historicalkits.co.uk/Scottish_Football_League/Hibernian/hibernian.htm
Fair shout maybe they would have the all white as the away strip....
Bugger washing that back in the day after a muddy game lol
hibby67
11-02-2023, 08:02 AM
The 1955 to Dec60 is the one for me .. nice and simple and the correct colour
11-02-2023, 08:19 AM
I used to want the hoops but I agree. It has to be the original kit.
The hoops as a third kit would be interesting for a first season.
It’s important that ‘they’ know their history, the smelly Celtic *******s.
Will Joma still be the designers when we are 150?
11-02-2023, 08:40 AM
All white with the original harp badge for the home.
Maybe run a poll with mock ups based on popular home and away kits down the years to decide the away and 3rd. Say one based on the 20s, 50s, 70s and 90/00s for a green option and a purple, black and yellow respectively for the 3rd.
If there was a simple green with white round collar, green sleeves (not shoulders) and green cuffs on the long sleeve similar to the early 0-7/6-2 strip and a green and purple stripe option then they would each have my vote.
11-02-2023, 08:56 AM
Said this on the Scotland strip thread and I still stand by it.
Our 150th should be white top, white shorts and green socks. Like the first strip we wore, I think that would look classy. All green as an away strip, with green with white sleeves as the third. Would take us through all the major stages of our strips development from first ever strip, to all green, to white sleeves. I know we wore hoops for one year but imo they just don't look right so I'd not touch them. There may be a clash when we play celtic but as its our 150th year and the biggest thing in their history I'm sure we could work something out
11-02-2023, 09:09 AM
It has to be close to our first kit, anything else, no thanks.
11-02-2023, 09:48 AM
1927-29 was outstanding!
11-02-2023, 10:06 AM
Our 150th should be white top, white shorts and green socks. Like the first strip we wore, I think that would look classy. All green as an away strip, with green with white sleeves as the third. Would take us through all the major stages of our strips development from first ever strip, to all green, to white sleeves. I know we wore hoops for one year but imo they just don't look right so I'd not touch them. There may be a clash when we play celtic but as its our 150th year and the biggest thing in their history I'm sure we could work something out
We have our winning suggestion.
hibstag
11-02-2023, 10:19 AM
1927-29 was outstanding!
Would have like liked the 2014 15 strip we had out to have used black shorts This could have helped the poor ‘it’s not a Nike park II template it to do with the famous five honest’ marketing a bit
11-02-2023, 12:04 PM
I'm just going to say this again because I keep hoping that if I carry on repeating it then at some stage maybe someone at the cub will realise how good it would look.
The Peru strip of all white with the red diagonal stripe would look absolutely outstanding if we changed the red stripe to a bottle green.
11-02-2023, 12:18 PM
Need to go back to the original kit. Anything else doesn't really make sense considering we are celebrating 150 years of the club.
11-02-2023, 12:24 PM
I'm just going to say this again because I keep hoping that if I carry on repeating it then at some stage maybe someone at the cub will realise how good it would look.
The Peru strip of all white with the red diagonal stripe would look absolutely outstanding if we changed the red stripe to a bottle green.
There's an Argentinian team that has that strip. Can't remember their name but there was an article in When Staurday Comes a few years back about them being Eva Peron's team. They wore blue shorts, which worked really well somehow.
11-02-2023, 01:06 PM
For it to be a 150th anniversary strip then it would have to be the same as was worn 150 years ago.
poulton hibs
11-02-2023, 01:41 PM
There's an Argentinian team that has that strip. Can't remember their name but there was an article in When Staurday Comes a few years back about them being Eva Peron's team. They wore blue shorts, which worked really well somehow.
That's River Plate.
11-02-2023, 01:54 PM
I’m assuming this would be for the 2025/26 season rather than 2024/25?
Trinity Hibee
11-02-2023, 02:37 PM
I’m assuming this would be for the 2025/26 season rather than 2024/25?
You would think so
Helensburghhibs
11-02-2023, 02:45 PM
How good would it be if we play all white for the 150th ,, then the 1876 strip the year after then 1877 they year after.... I know we probably didn't have new strips every year but you get the jist
11-02-2023, 02:46 PM
White with green trim harp badge white shorts and socks with green trim
Hoops with a black HFC across the chest white shorts hooped socks
Green with white sleeves harp badge white shorts and green socks with white tops
We were first to wear the green and the hoops
If it wisnae for the Hibees you’d be Huns !
Trinity Hibee
11-02-2023, 02:51 PM
Looks like Joma deal runs up to end of 23/24 season. Adidas next please.
11-02-2023, 03:01 PM
I just want a hoop kit to piss off celtc fans.
11-02-2023, 03:02 PM
That's River Plate.
Just had a wee look up - it's Banfield
The Peru strip of all white with the red diagonal stripe would look absolutely outstanding if we changed the red stripe to a bottle green.100% agree. That would look superb.
Sent from my moto g(30) using Tapatalk
Renfrew_Hibby
11-02-2023, 05:06 PM
River Plate, one of the worlds greatest sides. They dont wear blue shorts though and Perons team was Racing Club, not Los Millionarios.
PS I realise you meant a green sash. Yes Banfield have had that kit in the past.
Bianfield are green and their local rivals are Lanus who wear maroon. The only other local rivalry I can think of that's Hibs/hearts colour wise.
11-02-2023, 05:54 PM
All white with the original harp badge for the home.
Maybe run a poll with mock ups based on popular home and away kits down the years to decide the away and 3rd. Say one based on the 20s, 50s, 70s and 90/00s for a green option and a purple, black and yellow respectively for the 3rd.
If there was a simple green with white round collar, green sleeves (not shoulders) and green cuffs on the long sleeve similar to the early 0-7/6-2 strip and a green and purple stripe option then they would each have my vote.
Yep, can't be anything else. The club would make a fortune from it.
11-02-2023, 06:33 PM
What about a green and purple hooped Jersey for the away strip.
ErinGoBraghHFC
11-02-2023, 06:51 PM
What about a green and purple hooped Jersey for the away strip.
Nah, away strip should be as much like the purple bukta from 1977 as possible. Home strip should be like the original kit with the original harp badge and a third kit should be the hoops or the early 1970s classic strip with the green cuff on the sleeves. Would be weird the home strip not being green but for one year it needs to happen imo
11-02-2023, 07:01 PM
whatever strip is chosen i think all players should grow moustaches as well seeing as most men seemed to sport one back then
baby-faced players and those that can't grow one should receive dispensation :greengrin
Renfrew_Hibby
11-02-2023, 07:09 PM
I can see us doing what Rangers did. They had a fairly basic but very traditional home kit so for us think a Tornados or F.Five number.
They also had their 'pioneers' kit which only got a couple of outings so that may well mean a white or a hooped kit but it wouldn't be our home kit in 25/26
11-02-2023, 07:45 PM
I'd go for a mock up of the first strip, The 50s strip for the famous five period and probably a Purple Bukta Homage as that strip was so different and in many ways represents football changing into the modern commercial era. The first strip we played in has to be at least part of the set of strips we bring out.
12-02-2023, 10:01 AM
https://images.app.goo.gl/RjhMijAn8JTUyzsm8
This one with a gold badge and no sponsor.
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
12-02-2023, 10:58 AM
Fair shout maybe they would have the all white as the away strip....
Bugger washing that back in the day after a muddy game lol
Probably boiled it in mercury or whale tallow.
12-02-2023, 11:00 AM
whatever strip is chosen i think all players should grow moustaches as well seeing as most men seemed to sport one back then
baby-faced players and those that can't grow one should receive dispensation :greengrin
And wear knickerbockers tucked into their socks.
Trinity Hibee
12-02-2023, 12:42 PM
Would be stunning
Trinity Hibee
25-03-2023, 02:16 PM
Should Hibs be taking inspiration from the new Scotland strip for 150th anniversary? A season without a shirt sponsor although that would be a commercial hit.
Surely could agree players shirts have the sponsor but fans ones don't?
25-03-2023, 05:04 PM
I adore that kit but this will be our 150th anniversary … I’m not sure recreating a kit from the 1970s (however glorious it was) is the way to go
Stairway 2 7
25-03-2023, 05:20 PM
I adore that kit but this will be our 150th anniversary … I’m not sure recreating a kit from the 1970s (however glorious it was) is the way to go
Agreed
25-03-2023, 06:27 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/ZKPtX9sh/penalty-banfield-camiseta-2016-17-home-e1477483827573.png
Trinity Hibee
25-03-2023, 06:28 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/ZKPtX9sh/penalty-banfield-camiseta-2016-17-home-e1477483827573.png
Very nice
Green Reaper
25-03-2023, 07:01 PM
That is cracking, not for an anniversary strip, but would be great as an away top.
chippy
25-03-2023, 07:42 PM
Good ideas, but if we’re in Europe that year - special effort please . We should go with the famous five 1950s strip - money spinner - white raised and folded collar- my favourite of all time
Clarence
25-03-2023, 08:20 PM
Like it. Would be nice to have a green version of the Peru strip in memory of Ron.
25-03-2023, 11:29 PM
Like it. Would be nice to have a green version of the Peru strip in memory of Ron.
Great point!
25-03-2023, 11:40 PM
That would be great.
hibsjersey
26-03-2023, 09:20 AM
As something different : Hibs tartan body and white sleeves
30-03-2023, 04:39 PM
Is there anything stopping the club producing 4 strips for the 150th?
Suggestions so far seem to based on today’s standards of 3 kits.
An extra ‘special’ one off 4th kit with season ticket holders names, similar to the HSL yellow strip from a couple of years ago, would be a good memento. And dare I suggest, the club make it part of the season ticket ‘early bird’ deal for season 150. I would buy it!!
30-03-2023, 08:18 PM
Liverpools new away kit is nice, I’ve always fancied a Hibs away top with the quadrangle thing but maybe a bit similar to our home top. Very nice with the black trims
Trinity Hibee
09-12-2023, 07:51 AM
The club will have some plans in the pipeline you’d think.
Really hoping we move to adidas end of this season when Joma deal ends
Renfrew_Hibby
09-12-2023, 08:45 AM
Adidas yes... Umbro anyone?
09-12-2023, 08:50 AM
Green and white hoops :duck:
09-12-2023, 08:57 AM
Green and white hoops :duck:
Hoops wasn't our first strip though
Stairway 2 7
09-12-2023, 09:03 AM
I'd go with these 3 strips, belt optional
09-12-2023, 09:07 AM
Home strip as per the first, white top/shorts green socks. Away strip dark dark green. Third strip some monstrosity
09-12-2023, 09:20 AM
I've asked this before but why would our 150 years be celebrated next season? We were founded in August 1875 so surely season 25/26 is more appropriate?
09-12-2023, 09:36 AM
Doesn’t matter, imagine the seethe
09-12-2023, 09:47 AM
Doesn’t matter, imagine the seethe
And we need three strips options for Europe 😉
Let’s do it Hibs
09-12-2023, 09:56 AM
I've asked this before but why would our 150 years be celebrated next season? We were founded in August 1875 so surely season 25/26 is more appropriate?
I'm not really grasping this myself. It will be 150 years during 2025-2026 season
Trinity Hibee
09-12-2023, 10:00 AM
Regardless they’ll surely have this in their thoughts.
Think hearts have played a blinder bringing out their white shirt this season and no doubt they’ll bring their 150th home out next season. Hopefully we do the same
Trinity Hibee
09-12-2023, 10:00 AM
Adidas yes... Umbro anyone?
Umbro are also decent so wouldn’t mind them.
Argylehibby
09-12-2023, 10:32 AM
White with green trim harp badge white shorts and socks with green trim
Hoops with a black HFC across the chest white shorts hooped socks
Green with white sleeves harp badge white shorts and green socks with white tops
We were first to wear the green and the hoops
If it wisnae for the Hibees you’d be **** !
I could be completely wrong with this, (it's happened many times before) but I don’t think you can have the same colour shorts and maybe socks too on any of the 3 strips. I.e. if you have white shorts with first kit you can’t have white shorts with kits 2 or 3.
09-12-2023, 10:35 AM
I could be completely wrong with this, (it's happened many times before) but I don’t think you can have the same colour shorts and maybe socks too on any of the 3 strips. I.e. if you have white shorts with first kit you can’t have white shorts with kits 2 or 3.
What possible reason could they have for that? :confused:
09-12-2023, 11:52 AM
What possible reason could they have for that? :confused:
I think it's so there is a full change kit available that avoid clashes of shorts and socks as well as tops. As an example Sunderland and Newcastle both wear their home tops when they play each other but they can't also both wear their traditional black shorts so one has to have an alternative colour available (usually white). Or Brighton couldn't have blue away shorts along with home as that would still be deemed a clash with Chelsea.
Referees make the final decision though so if we released an all white home kit and an all green away kit if we requested to wear green with white shorts and green socks then the ref could allow it if he deemed no colour clash.
09-12-2023, 12:07 PM
I think it's so there is a full change kit available that avoid clashes of shorts and socks as well as tops. As an example Sunderland and Newcastle both wear their home tops when they play each other but they can't also both wear their traditional black shorts so one has to have an alternative colour available (usually white). Or Brighton couldn't have blue away shorts along with home as that would still be deemed a clash with Chelsea.
Referees make the final decision though so if we released an all white home kit and an all green away kit if we requested to wear green with white shorts and green socks then the ref could allow it if he deemed no colour clash.
09-12-2023, 12:16 PM
Regardless they’ll surely have this in their thoughts.
Think hearts have played a blinder bringing out their white shirt this season and no doubt they’ll bring their 150th home out next season. Hopefully we do the same
It looks bloody awful though! Hoping we can get it right 🤞
Coach Jon
09-12-2023, 01:40 PM
Teams can wear the same colour of shorts as the opposition, there is no rule against it. Shirts and socks have to be contrasting with the opposition though.
10-12-2023, 11:56 PM
I'm not really grasping this myself. It will be 150 years during 2025-2026 season
Next season will be our 150th year. 2025-26 will be our 151st year.
badabing67
11-12-2023, 12:09 AM
Club Atlético Sarmiento
11-12-2023, 02:11 AM
On the same lines...I said this at the start of the Argentinian leagues this year when I saw the Banfield strip (Looks better 'live')
or a similar stlye to Southamptons
Of course these have no connection to our original all white, which I must confess did not think was our first strip. I thought it was the hoops.
11-12-2023, 05:55 AM
2024 is Hearts’ 150 th anniversary and noticed their away strip on Saturday looked like a throw back to their Meadows strip white with a maroon heart
Must have been been before one of the player’s wife’s stuck their St Andrews red white and blue horizontal stripes on at too high a wash :greengrin
Renfrew_Hibby
11-12-2023, 07:17 AM
Both Bournemouth and Lorient sporting Umbro...
11-12-2023, 07:19 AM
Next season will be our 150th year. 2025-26 will be our 151st year.
You don't celebrate your silver wedding on your 24th wedding anniversary because it's the start of the 25th year though.
We could end up in the bizarre situation where we kick off a game in August 2025 on the actual 150th anniversary of the clubs foundation and the main bulk of the celebrations have already finished.
25/26 makes far more sense. Had our foundation been in January 1875 then 24/25 would be more logical.
mcohibs
11-12-2023, 07:30 AM
Can’t see anyone on this thread suggesting it should be next season. Have the club hinted at anything?
Renfrew_Hibby
11-12-2023, 07:50 AM
What was the length of the Bevvy sponsorship? If it was for 2 years then fine but 3 years would mean any kits would be plastered with that monstrosity.
11-12-2023, 08:30 AM
What was the length of the Bevvy sponsorship? If it was for 2 years then fine but 3 years would mean any kits would be plastered with that monstrosity.
Don’t think kids strips have the sponsor if drink related. I will put out the proviso I may be totally wrong in that regard :greengrin
11-12-2023, 09:21 AM
Don’t think kids strips have the sponsor if drink related. I will put out the proviso I may be totally wrong in that regard :greengrin
You are correct, the kids strips have utilita if I remember correctly. The Bevvy.com sponsorship is for 2 years with the possibility of longer
11-12-2023, 09:47 AM
Presumably if one of the tops is a retro effort reproducing one of our early kits then it won't have a sponsor on it anyway. Obviously we'd lose a little in the value of the shirt sponsorship, but it would be completely pointless to reproduce an 1870s kit and slap a sponsor on it. You'd hope we'd make up some of the difference in increased sales for an anniversary shirt as well.
Mcbizz1998
11-12-2023, 10:30 AM
Hearts 150th kit has no sponsor.
11-12-2023, 10:59 AM
Have Hearts shot their load a year early then? Surely they should be celebrating 150 years next season?
Blackfordhibby
11-12-2023, 11:14 AM
That'll do nicely.
11-12-2023, 11:33 AM
Have Hearts shot their load a year early then? Surely they should be celebrating 150 years next season?
I think they have, they are having a full itinerary of events this season.
Others seem to feel differently though and think we should be celebrating next year, both on this thread and a previous one.
Not that it's that big a deal, it would just seem odd to me to have the majority of the events and a commemorative strip the season before (24/25) the one in which the actual 150th anniversary takes place (6th August 2025). Iirc we changed the badge to the current one in season 00/01 which was part of the 125th anniversary celebrations and would seem to tie in with doing it in line with season 1875/76 being our first season.
11-12-2023, 11:43 AM
It looks bloody awful though! Hoping we can get it right 🤞
Indeed. The Jambos were gushing over it, but on the pitch it looked minging :greengrin
Dan Sarf
11-12-2023, 11:49 AM
We could always have a "mash-up" strip like Brentford and "pay homage to the iconic kits worn by the Brentford squad in the 1980s and 90s... This design incorporates eleven kits from the 1980s and 90S for an eye-catching but unmistakably retro look. Combined with the era-appropriate club crest on the chest and button collar with colour tipping...
Or not!
Slim Shady
11-12-2023, 01:08 PM
The club will have some plans in the pipeline you’d think.
Really hoping we move to adidas end of this season when Joma deal ends
Problem with Adidas is that you dont get to choose the design. They have templates and you get to choose one.
Joma see Hibs as an 'elite' club status and allow us to design and choose our strips from a blank canvas.
Also the Joma deal is a big £££ spinner for the club.
Trinity Hibee
11-12-2023, 01:11 PM
Problem with Adidas is that you dont get to choose the design. They have templates and you get to choose one.
Joma see Hibs as an 'elite' club status and allow us to design and choose our strips from a blank canvas.
Also the Joma deal is a big £££ spinner for the club.
Ye you are right but I don’t see that being an issue. Adidas and Hibs could be very classic looking.
Aberdeens kits have been pretty good in my view and the training gear is also nice even if it is template. Understand that sort of deal might not bring in the most money for the club though.
11-12-2023, 01:24 PM
I think they have, they are having a full itinerary of events this season.
Others seem to feel differently though and think we should be celebrating next year, both on this thread and a previous one.
Not that it's that big a deal, it would just seem odd to me to have the majority of the events and a commemorative strip the season before (24/25) the one in which the actual 150th anniversary takes place (6th August 2025). Iirc we changed the badge to the current one in season 00/01 which was part of the 125th anniversary celebrations and would seem to tie in with doing it in line with season 1875/76 being our first season.
I'm with you on this.
Our centenary season was celebrated in 1975/76 (proof: https://www.grelly.uk/itm/hibernian-v-ayr-united-scottish-premier-league-13th-september-1975-395041492804)
So it has to be 2025/26.
11-12-2023, 01:29 PM
Indeed. The Jambos were gushing over it, but on the pitch it looked minging :greengrin
Hearts fans also moaning the kit is nearly see through so fans need to wear a top underneath it.
When players wear the black GPS vests it looks poor too.
11-12-2023, 01:31 PM
Ye you are right but I don’t see that being an issue. Adidas and Hibs could be very classic looking.
Aberdeens kits have been pretty good in my view and the training gear is also nice even if it is template. Understand that sort of deal might not bring in the most money for the club though.
100 percent agree. Having a bespoke ugly kit ( see macron home tops) is far less desirable than having a standard template that is a good design ( majority of Adidas kits). As you say Aberdeen have managed it well - and I think their kits have been unique to them. The Hibs kit will always be unique anyway as noone has green with white sleeves.
The Fulham home Adidas kit is brilliant this year. Would look brilliant in Hibs colours:
11-12-2023, 02:03 PM
that sounds ideal!
TamHibs
12-12-2023, 03:02 AM
The centenary kit will be bottle green and used in season 25/26
TrinityHFC
12-12-2023, 05:36 AM
The centenary kit will be bottle green and used in season 25/26
The centenary was nearly 50 years ago.
TamHibs
12-12-2023, 07:01 AM
The centenary was nearly 50 years ago.
[emoji23][emoji23] that’s what I get for typing half asleep. If you need me to clarify though the 150th strip will be bottle green and used for season 25/26 [emoji23]
12-12-2023, 07:07 AM
[emoji23][emoji23] that’s what I get for typing half asleep. If you need me to clarify though the 150th strip will be bottle green and used for season 25/26 [emoji23]
And a gold harp badge?? :pray:
Renfrew_Hibby
12-12-2023, 08:39 AM
and a gold harp badge?? :pray:
wow 👌
McHibby
12-12-2023, 10:59 AM
If we absolutely had to have a sponsor maybe we could do something similar to Denmark in Qatar, to keep it as subtle as possible.
https://store.fifa.com/en-us/product/fifa-replica-denmark-white-jersey-mens
12-12-2023, 11:15 AM
That decision doesn't make any sense as we never wore a bottle green strip until 1879.
The original white strip with harp was the way to go.
12-12-2023, 11:22 AM
is it just me or is the Hearts retro strip they currently wear absolutley ugly as sin ?
12-12-2023, 12:02 PM
is it just me or is the Hearts retro strip they currently wear absolutley ugly as sin ?
Seems to be the sentiment of quite a few.
Personally, I quite like it
Trinity Hibee
12-12-2023, 12:03 PM
I like the simplicity of it. Imagine that but dark green and a green/gold harp on it. Lovely
12-12-2023, 12:42 PM
Don't remember what it looks like but if they are wearing it then yes.
12-12-2023, 02:32 PM
Don't remember what it looks like but if they are wearing it then yes.
https://i2-prod.aberdeenlive.news/incoming/article8966095.ece/ALTERNATES/s1200c/0_Shankland-Donsjpeg.jpg
12-12-2023, 02:39 PM
Personally I would have us playing in an all white top with a green Peru style sash, grandad collar, the current badge and a 150 year message embroidered round it. Shorts white with a green stripe and green socks. So basically the original strip with a nice sash, and the current badge.
Anyone who is good at this stuff care to mock that up for me ?
We should also ask Lewis if he has his original shirt from 150 years ago..when he first played :greengrin
12-12-2023, 02:56 PM
Easy one this, it has to be all white (Real Madrid copied us) with Golden harp badge.
With **** the hertz written on the front.
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin
12-12-2023, 02:57 PM
I don't mind it either.
It's white and maroon so never going to win any prizes for sartorial elegance but it's pretty faithful to their first strip and having the current badge inside a bigger maroon heart resembling their first badge is quite clever. The long sleeve version is much better than the short sleeve but then that's true of about 99.99% of football strips.
12-12-2023, 03:01 PM
I don't mind it either.
It's white and maroon so never going to win any prizes for sartorial elegance but it's pretty faithful to their first strip and having the current badge inside a bigger maroon heart resembling their first badge is quite clever. The long sleeve version is much better than the short sleeve but then that's true of about 99.99% of football strips.
They have no heart, this is a soul less club, a charity club, irrelevant nothing about them of any appeal.
Crazyhorse
13-12-2023, 02:38 PM
I would agree on both counts and would probably buy both. Has to be those hoops with the HFC lettering though!
Greenio
13-12-2023, 02:56 PM
https://i2-prod.aberdeenlive.news/incoming/article8966095.ece/ALTERNATES/s1200c/0_Shankland-Donsjpeg.jpg
Why is it so see through? Looks like it's made of kitchen roll.
Slim Shady
13-12-2023, 03:04 PM
Is that a guess or heard from decent source?
TamHibs
13-12-2023, 05:30 PM
Is that a guess or heard from decent source?
Heard from a decent source bud, obviously can’t say who but it’s come from within the club
Why is it so see through? Looks like it's made of kitchen roll.It's because vests don't show through a white jersey or something.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Fuzzywuzzy
13-12-2023, 07:31 PM
I saw a clip from a game from years ago against Killie today. Have no recollection of the strip at all. Yellow with a black shoulder patch. Griffith's scored and crabbies was the sponsor. Really never seen he strip before
Trinity Hibee
13-12-2023, 07:35 PM
I saw a clip from a game from years ago against Killie today. Have no recollection of the strip at all. Yellow with a black shoulder patch. Griffith's scored and crabbies was the sponsor. Really never seen he strip before
Wasn’t worn much as we had the puma/crabbies dark green home with white sleeves and a white away with dark green shorts. The game you mention is my favourite ever away game. 2013 in SC
Fuzzywuzzy
13-12-2023, 07:39 PM
Wasn’t worn much as we had the puma/crabbies dark green home with white sleeves and a white away with dark green shorts. The game you mention is my favourite ever away game. 2013 in SC
cheers!!👍
13-12-2023, 07:43 PM
Why is it so see through? Looks like it's made of kitchen roll.
Wet tshirt competition.
13-12-2023, 08:21 PM
What a day out that was. Griffiths was unplayable. Think Matt Done got the other one for us.
Hibs end was absolutely bouncing.
14-12-2023, 08:36 AM
This thread is the hibs.net equivalent of travelling to Waverley but getting off at Haymarket :greengrin
30-06-2024, 04:03 PM
Just a quick thought,I reckon we should be playing hertz for the 150th.
Since they were the first to play us all them years ago (if I'm not mistaken), and maybe half the price of the tickets and play it at Murrayfield.
30-06-2024, 04:32 PM
Just a quick thought,I reckon we should be playing hertz for the 150th.
Since they were the first to play us all them years ago (if I'm not mistaken), and maybe half the price of the tickets and play it at Murrayfield.
On Christmas Day 2025
30-06-2024, 05:00 PM
On Christmas Day 2025
Down the meadows.
BlackSheep
30-06-2024, 06:57 PM
On Christmas Day 2025
Hibs were formed in August 1875…. Would we wanna wait til December to celebrate that lol
Trinity Hibee
11-01-2025, 07:31 AM
Anyone know anything about this? The Villa one last night looked nice. A bottle green shirt with gold harp would look great. Got to old fashioned numbers on the back too
Mcbizz1998
11-01-2025, 07:52 AM
I was at that game and it’s also one of my favourite ever away days. Griffiths hattrick!
Bizarrely I couldn’t have told you Hibs were wearing that kit. Just watched highlight and now vaguely remember it.
hibsfan7
11-01-2025, 07:54 AM
we should wear the green and white hoops all sesaon **** celtic
WeAreHibs
11-01-2025, 07:56 AM
Why?
11-01-2025, 08:12 AM
Why?
Original top was hoops was it not?
WeAreHibs
11-01-2025, 08:17 AM
Wasn't mate!
11-01-2025, 08:22 AM
Plain white I think. We did wear thin hoops a few years later before Celtic were even thought of though.
11-01-2025, 08:23 AM
No. Our first strip was all white.
11-01-2025, 08:23 AM
That would be horrific. Was our original jersey not a very dark green?
11-01-2025, 08:25 AM
Wasn't mate!
True, but the reason Celtic wear hoops is because of us. We should definitely reclaim them at some point. They still owe us.
11-01-2025, 08:32 AM
No. Our first strip was all white.
I've seen that on a historical kits website but is it anywhere else, all I've ever seen as a first kit is the black and white one showing the hoops, would be quite cool to see some older photos, the hibs historical trust IG page doesn't have that many old photos
11-01-2025, 08:35 AM
That would be horrific. Was our original jersey not a very dark green?
White, with white shorts and green socks (stockings!). That's how I understand it and what I've heard but truth be told no one really knows what Hibs were wearing on that Christmas Day just over 149 years ago.
If only someone had realised the significance of the event and taken a photograph. It was probably played in front of 8 people and a dog.
11-01-2025, 08:36 AM
Each to their own but I’ve nae desire to see Hibs in a Celtc strip, at all.
Aye we had the hoops first, but so what? A hooped strip for a couple of years in the 19th century means nothing to me. Hoops are a Celtc thing, no a Hibs thing.
If we’re doing an anniversary strip it should be white.
11-01-2025, 08:38 AM
https://www.toffs.com/hibernian-1902-03-scottish-cup-and-league-champions
Was thinking this bad boy. Maybe not our first but one of great significance.
11-01-2025, 08:40 AM
White, with white shorts and green socks (stockings!). That's how I understand it and what I've heard but truth be told no one really knows what Hibs were wearing on that Christmas Day just over 149 years ago.
If only someone had realised the significance of the event and taken a photograph. It was probably played in front of 8 people and a dog.
Don't forget the brown leather belt.
11-01-2025, 08:40 AM
Each to their own but I’ve nae desire to see Hibs in a Celtc strip, at all.
Aye we had the hoops first, but so what? A hooped strip for a couple of years in the 19th century means nothing to me. Hoops are a Celtc thing, no a Hibs thing.
If we’re doing an anniversary strip it should be white.
The idea it would 'piss off Celtic' makes no sense. The hoops are synonymous with them even if it wasn't their first kit. If we wore hoops I think the reaction from across the board would be bemusement and mirth rather than annoyance. Also doing something for such a significant anniversary just to **** off another fanbase is about the most tinpot thing I can think of.
The anniversary top should be a recreation of our first top or something else that is special to Hibs. Not hoops because we wore them for 3 years and because in some people's heads it would annoy Celtic.
Fergos
11-01-2025, 08:47 AM
The idea it would 'piss off Celtic' makes no sense. The hoops are synonymous with them even if it wasn't their first kit. If we wore hoops I think the reaction from across the board would be bemusement and mirth rather than annoyance. Also doing something for such a significant anniversary just to **** off another fanbase is about the most tinpot thing I can think of.
The anniversary top should be a recreation of our first top or something else that is special to Hibs. Not hoops because we wore them for 3 years and because in some people's heads it would annoy Celtic.
Totally agreed. Our anniversary is more significant & important than pissing another club off.
🇳🇬
11-01-2025, 08:52 AM
Totally agreed. Our anniversary is more significant & important than pissing another club off.
🇳🇬
I don't think it would even annoy them anyway.
How many people on here have been in any way annoyed on the 2 or 3 occasions Dundee Utd have had emerald green kits to acknowledge significant anniversaries?
11-01-2025, 08:56 AM
Agree we would just make ourselves look foolish and get ripped by other fans
11-01-2025, 08:58 AM
I don't think it would even annoy them anyway.
How many people on here have been in any way annoyed on the 2 or 3 occasions Dundee Utd have had emerald green kits to acknowledge significant anniversaries?
Dundee Hibernian came after our club and were inspired by it (and numerous other 'Irish' teams). I get a wee bit of pride when I see United wear the green again.
Agree totally with your point though. With so much to celebrate from our own anniversary it would be absolutely pathetic to waste it with a kit (which wasn't even our first) just to piss off celtic (which it won't anyway).
Plus, aesthetically, I don't like the hoops. I never have. White shirt (with golden harp), white shorts, and green socks. That would be lovely.
WeAreHibs
11-01-2025, 09:06 AM
Hopefully a half decent sponsor logo to avoid spoiling the whole thing.
11-01-2025, 09:08 AM
Dundee Hibernian came after our club and were inspired by it (and numerous other 'Irish' teams). I get a wee bit of pride when I see United wear the green again.
Agree totally with your point though. With so much to celebrate from our own anniversary it would be absolutely pathetic to waste it with a kit (which wasn't even our first) just to piss off celtic (which it won't anyway).
Plus, aesthetically, I don't like the hoops. I never have. White shirt (with golden harp), white shorts, and green socks. That would be lovely.
This is what a gold badge on a white shirt could look like
https://i.ibb.co/9h8y3ht/Screenshot-20250111-100603.png (https://ibb.co/QkbYjkd)
11-01-2025, 09:09 AM
I don't like hoops either.
I always think of them as being primarily rugby whilst stripes are more football (and block colours with white sleeves are perfection).
11-01-2025, 09:10 AM
1. All white with green trim
2. Hoops
3. Bottle green white shorts black socks
May we continue for another 150 years
11-01-2025, 09:11 AM
Picture from the link
https://i.ibb.co/RHq8wQT/2416-4.webp (https://ibb.co/Qm40wYv)
Renfrew_Hibby
11-01-2025, 09:14 AM
Hopefully a half decent sponsor logo to avoid spoiling the whole thing.
I'd imagine the anniversary shirt will be sponsorless like the Hearts effort from a year back? Rangers brought out their Ibrox anniversary kit recently and while it is a cracking kit it's got their horrific bookies sponsor all over it. Rangers fans I know were gutted and didn't get it as a result.
I think we will have a regular home and away kit with bevvy or whoever and the anniversary kit will be the third kit.
11-01-2025, 09:50 AM
I can't believe this comes up every time. The hoops belong to celtic. No matter that we wore them first. Theyvare associated world wide with them. It will look like we are doing some kind if tribute to them. Our fisrts strip was white, that's what we should have as our 150th strip.
11-01-2025, 10:00 AM
Only Hibs strip I’ve bought for myself in over fifty years. It’s great quality and v smart even on a clinically obese pensioner.
11-01-2025, 10:13 AM
The best part of the Villa kit was you couldn’t see the kit manufacturer logo or any sponsor.
It the Joma logo is visible it will ruin it. Has to be the same colour as the top and blend in.
Also any kit can’t be see through like the Hearts effort.
He's here!
11-01-2025, 10:19 AM
Did we have a centenary kit in 1975 or is this a new money-making opportunity that clubs have started to exploit when an anniversary comes round?
Would it be the first choice strip for next season or just a replica kit that would maybe get an airing in a commemorative friendly?
11-01-2025, 10:22 AM
Picture from the link
That looks smart. :top marks
11-01-2025, 11:57 AM
Did we have a centenary kit in 1975 or is this a new money-making opportunity that clubs have started to exploit when an anniversary comes round?
Would it be the first choice strip for next season or just a replica kit that would maybe get an airing in a commemorative friendly?
Centenary scarf, Hundred Years of Hibs book (still got mine, minus the outer cover), centenary dinner and a match v Derby County to commemorate the event. No centenary strip that I recall.
11-01-2025, 12:13 PM
Kits over the years for reference.
snedzuk
11-01-2025, 12:16 PM
Picture from the link
I've got this shirt from toffs. It's excellent quality.
He's here!
11-01-2025, 12:32 PM
Centenary scarf, Hundred Years of Hibs book (still got mine, minus the outer cover), centenary dinner and a match v Derby County to commemorate the event. No centenary strip that I recall.
Yes, I've got a second hand copy of that book (including a merry Christmas message from an auntie and uncle to the boy it was bought for).
Re the kit I'm just unclear whether we're talking about something the team will wear all season? Was that white one with the big heart on it the Hearts centenary strip? It looked terrible if so.
If we're really going to honour an original kit do we not need to wear long shorts or even breeches tucked into the socks?
Bridge hibs
11-01-2025, 12:36 PM
That looks smart. :top marks
Smart if you are trim, on me it would look like a burst couch 🫨