View Full Version : Injury updates

w pilton hibby
10-02-2023, 07:21 AM
From the EEN

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-injury-update-on-harry-mckirdy-kevin-nisbet-kyle-magennis-and-jake-doyle-hayes-4021661

McGruber
10-02-2023, 09:53 AM
Not much of an update there! Just letting us know that they know about McKirdy but not letting us know what it is they know!

Nisbet to be ready for Killie.. if he's ready..

No decision yet on Devlin, decision still to be made.

The rest will be back in training when they are ready to be back in training.

👍

10-02-2023, 10:14 AM
Not much of an update there! Just letting us know that they know about McKirdy but not letting us know what it is they know!

Nisbet to be ready for Killie.. if he's ready..

No decision yet on Devlin, decision still to be made.

The rest will be back in training when they are ready to be back in training.

👍

Not quite. It also tells us that Magennis is close to returning to full training, as is JDH and that Newell's injury issue isn't really an issue

Donegal Hibby
10-02-2023, 10:29 AM
Not quite. It also tells us that Magennis is close to returning to full training, as is JDH and that Newell's injury issue isn't really an issue
Would be good to get a few players back specially with the injuries we have had , delighted Nisbet's isn't to serious really need him fit for the remainder of the season

10-02-2023, 11:04 AM
4-6 weeks out for Mckirdy

10-02-2023, 11:10 AM
4-6 weeks out for Mckirdy

Real shame that, thought he was looking more promising of late.

10-02-2023, 11:24 AM

Magennis has been 'close to returning to full training ' for the majority of the last 3 years.

10-02-2023, 11:24 AM
Would be good to get a few players back specially with the injuries we have had , delighted Nisbet's isn't to serious really need him fit for the remainder of the season

Yep, we need more choices, the squad is running very thin just now. No mention of Myko's situation though. Would love to see him and Nisbet playing together.

Donegal Hibby
10-02-2023, 11:36 AM
Yep, we need more choices, the squad is running very thin just now. No mention of Myko's situation though. Would love to see him and Nisbet playing together.
Nisbet and Mykola would be on paper the best two striker pairing in the league imo ( outside the old firm of course) .

10-02-2023, 11:53 AM
Nisbet and Mykola would be on paper the best two striker pairing in the league imo ( outside the old firm of course) .

Add Boyle and Youan into that mix and it's damn shame we haven't been able to get our best players onto the pitch together this season.

badabing67
10-02-2023, 12:02 PM

But kukharevych is an issue no update on him.

10-02-2023, 12:08 PM
But kukharevych is an issue no update on him.

Yes, I mentioned that about four posts ago :wink:

10-02-2023, 12:25 PM
Magennis close to a return is probably the most used phrase on .net for the past few years. It's just been a crap signing.

10-02-2023, 12:43 PM
Magennis close to a return is probably the most used phrase on .net for the past few years. It's just been a crap signing.

His 5 year contract has to be one of the worst bits of business we’ve ever done, horrendous return on our investment thus far. My patience with him was exhausted long ago, if there was any way to get rid in the summer I hope we do, however, what other club would take him on🙄 Wasn’t he even injured when we bought him?🤔

Paulie Walnuts
10-02-2023, 12:45 PM
His 5 year contract has to be one of the worst bits of business we’ve ever done, horrendous return on our investment thus far. My patience with him was exhausted long ago, if there was any way to get rid in the summer I hope we do, however, what other club would take him on🙄 Wasn’t he even injured when we bought him?🤔

He wasn’t. He had been injured the previous season but he had played a few pre season games etc for St Mirren before we signed him.

Donegal Hibby
10-02-2023, 02:01 PM
Add Boyle and Youan into that mix and it's damn shame we haven't been able to get our best players onto the pitch together this season.
Luck's definitely not been with us on the injury front this season that's for sure . Since the start of the season as you say we haven't been able to field our strongest 11 . Its been said on another thread that it's time LJ and his staff found a consistent run which is true though must be hard to do that when we are constantly losing our better players to injury.

18-02-2023, 05:44 PM
As things stand, injured players are:
Newell
Nisbet
Devlin
McKirdy
Bushiri
McGeady
Boyle
Kuharevich

Stevenson didn't start, but not sure if that was down to fitness or tactical.

1875Sean
18-02-2023, 08:54 PM
Newell
Nisbet
Devlin
McKirdy
Bushiri
McGeady
Boyle
Kuharevich

Devlin Isn’t injured is he? Why would he sign him, he’s been training

Donegal Hibby
18-02-2023, 09:05 PM
Newell
Nisbet
Devlin
McKirdy
Bushiri
McGeady
Boyle
Kuharevich

That's some serious talent missing from our team ,.5 or 6 would definitely be playing in our team .

18-02-2023, 09:19 PM
He’s never done his hamstring before but he felt it pop quite badly, he said it’s a bad one.

LJ on McGeady injury. Not good. Further down the article it says Myko and Nizzy back for livi

19-02-2023, 08:07 AM
He’s never done his hamstring before but he felt it pop quite badly, he said it’s a bad one.

LJ on McGeady injury. Not good. Further down the article it says Myko and Nizzy back for livi

Yeah, it sounded like a bad hamstring injury for McGeady from what Johnson said in his post match interview. At least it's not his knee again though I suppose.

This 2 week break before our next game might actually work in our favour.

19-02-2023, 08:17 AM

A bad hamstring is normally about 6 weeks. Potentially back around the split then, same as Rocky hopefully.

I’ve said it before but I can’t remember a season for injuries like this, ever.

McGruber
19-02-2023, 08:42 AM
Newell
Nisbet
Devlin
McKirdy
Bushiri
McGeady
Boyle
Kuharevich

Will only be this by the Livi game with any luck though

McKirdy
Bushiri
McGeady
Boyle

Bushiri wouldn't get in just now if fit and with Youan, Nisbet, Hoppe and Myko fit McKirdy be sub at best. Could be offset by Laidlaw on the bench.

By Livi game it could just be Boyle and McGeady missing from our starting line up. 2 good players but we have cover

19-02-2023, 08:57 AM
Devlin Isn’t injured is he? Why would he sign him, he’s been training

That's news to me. I wonder where it came from?

Injuries have defined this season. The loss of key players for large chunks (Boyler, Nisbet, Magennis, Rocky, Myko, McGeady) of the season has been a huge blow to our ambitions.

20-02-2023, 01:11 PM
A bad hamstring is normally about 6 weeks. Potentially back around the split then, same as Rocky hopefully.

I’ve said it before but I can’t remember a season for injuries like this, ever.

Aye the fact he could hardly walk would suggest it wasn't great.

20-02-2023, 01:35 PM
My worry is the players returning will be playing on that horrendous pitch at Livingston

21-02-2023, 02:07 AM
Maybe overly simplistic - but can our long list be out down to simply bad luck or is there something in the way we train (with instensoty?) / conditioning ? Honesty of player rushing back? Signing injured ******g players…

PHeffernan
23-02-2023, 01:16 AM
Maybe overly simplistic - but can our long list be out down to simply bad luck or is there something in the way we train (with instensoty?) / conditioning ? Honesty of player rushing back? Signing injured ******g players…

The problem Hibs have had is that it's been our best players who have been long time injured.
Player injuries are not unique to Hibs, Hearts have had Baningime out with a knee injury for over a year, Gordon out with a double leg break, Halkett out with an assortment of leg injuries, Mackay-Steven out with a foot injury and Kingsley out with hamstring injuries & a concussion.
Most clubs have a handful of players out at any one time and most will have players out long term. Celtic are the only team I can think of in our league that don't have many injured players and that may be something to do with having a large squad which allows them to leave out players carrying knocks.

ACL and other knee injuries seem to be the No1 long term injury, probably ankle injuries after that and then hamstring injuries. Basically leg and groin injuries.

By the time of the Livingston game our injury list will be down to 4 players which will be pretty average in our league and by the time next season comes along McGeady and Nisbet will have moved on and hopefully Boyle and Bushiri will have fully recovered.
Hopefully we can then stay clear of bad injuries for a while.

07-03-2023, 09:44 AM
McKirdy back for Celtic game if not tomorrow.

Seems that the three midfielders are still put which is a concern numbers wise

07-03-2023, 09:47 AM

Who is the three midfielders? Newell, Magennis and who else?

Seekyit
07-03-2023, 09:48 AM
who is the three midfielders? Newell, magennis and who else?

jdh ?

07-03-2023, 09:54 AM
who is the three midfielders? Newell, magennis and who else?

jdh

07-03-2023, 10:16 AM

I cant imagine McKirdy getting close to the starting 11 now. Maybe bench ahead of Jair.

19-03-2023, 12:10 PM
Any updates on Newall, Magennis or Rocky? It's a bit early for an update on the severity of Will Fish's injury but hopefully not to bad.

Tully
19-03-2023, 12:11 PM
Magennis out for another 6 weeks

19-03-2023, 12:25 PM

Feel for the guy but time to give him a free

19-03-2023, 12:34 PM
Feel for the guy but time to give him a free

For Hibs there will be nothing free about it.

19-03-2023, 12:45 PM

Really? I just can't see him being here next season, may be a case of early retirement if he can't stay fit.

19-03-2023, 12:59 PM

That's effectively the season, has this been reported/confirmed?

19-03-2023, 01:03 PM
We have given Mcgennis lots of medical support and several opportunities to ease him back but it’s clear that it’s just not going to work out for any sustained period No one will tske him in the summer so he will probably get next preseason to see if he can then stay injury free but at some point it needs to get called and a decision made
Feel sorry fir the player but this situation is no use to us if it continues into next season

19-03-2023, 01:12 PM
Good player, but hes been an awful signing, we’ve nobody to blame but ourselves.

Signed him when out long term injured, and the season before he’d had a long injury tae

Absolute waste of our budget.

Tully
19-03-2023, 05:43 PM
That's effectively the season, has this been reported/confirmed?

Was told at away season ticket event

Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2023, 05:44 PM
Probably one of our most expensive signings ever when you consider the fee, the wage he’ll be on and the fact he got a 5 year deal. We won’t have commited as much money to many players ever as we have to Magennis when we signed him.

Absolutely dreadful signing.

19-03-2023, 05:48 PM

It’s a joke. So disappointing. You can tell he’s class when he’s fit.

19-03-2023, 05:50 PM
Probably one of our most expensive signings ever when you consider the fee, the wage he’ll be on and the fact he got a 5 year deal. We won’t have commited as much money to many players ever as we have to Magennis.

Absolutely dreadful signing.

Prior to his injury he was the St Mirren captain and one of the brightest young players in the league, we took a real chance he'd recover and become the player expected of him but his body just hasn't allowed this. I think he may be paid up and allowed to leave in the summer.

19-03-2023, 05:56 PM
Prior to his injury he was the St Mirren captain and one of the brightest young players in the league, we took a real chance he'd recover and become the player expected of him but his body just hasn't allowed this. I think he may be paid up and allowed to leave in the summer.

So it's been a bad signing then right?

Other than a wee spell at the start or last season he's been average when played, occasionally out of position mind you.

Aye a huge factor in that will be down to his injuries. I do genuinely feel sorry for the guy but his body just can't cope with the demands of professional football by the looks of it.

19-03-2023, 07:46 PM
Was told at away season ticket event

This deserves a thread of its own. Couldn’t make Thursday night, but heard the bones of it at the game yesterday!

McGruber
20-03-2023, 06:54 AM
Kyle Magennis was a very good signing at the time he was signed. Turns out he couldn't sustain playing football due to injuries. His signing has proven to be a bad one due to that. Took a gamble with him and glad we did, good player. It would have been a calculated gamble given he was back fit at St Mirren before move and would have had our medical to pass.

We signed Boyle during his rehab on his ACL knee injury. Gamble again but paid off that time. Done the same with Porteous.

You win some, you lose some - just unfortunate for everyone

McGruber
20-03-2023, 06:59 AM
Talking about gambles, if Fish is out for a period we are down to Devlin - a player with a CV that has Magennis looking a picture of health 😬

20-03-2023, 07:19 AM
Kyle Magennis was a very good signing at the time he was signed. Turns out he couldn't sustain playing football due to injuries. His signing has proven to be a bad one due to that. Took a gamble with him and glad we did, good player. It would have been a calculated gamble given he was back fit at St Mirren before move and would have had our medical to pass.

We signed Boyle during his rehab on his ACL knee injury. Gamble again but paid off that time. Done the same with Porteous.

You win some, you lose some - just unfortunate for everyone

Others calling him an awful/dreadful signing and a waste of money maybe think Mystic Meg was employed by the recruitment team (RIP Meg) and we could/should have foreseen all his injuries.

Ah, hang on a minute........

Paulie Walnuts
20-03-2023, 07:26 AM

Others calling him an awful/dreadful signing and a waste of money maybe think Mystic Meg was employed by the recruitment team (RIP Meg) and we could/should have foreseen all his injuries.

He’d missed plenty games every season of his career. It didn’t take Mystic Meg to tell us a guy who was frequently injured at his previous club was likely to carry on that way.

20-03-2023, 07:57 AM

Mystic Meg couldn’t really see the future by the way, but even she could’ve taken a look at his injury record, looked at the fact he hadn’t even returned from his current long term injury, and thought…I’d not go spending much money here.

Rather than, 5 year contract sounds about right.

Highwayman
20-03-2023, 09:48 AM
I’ve noticed that three of the serial absentees through injury when they were at Hibs are now featuring regularly for the teams they joined.

Namely Jamie Murphy (St Johnstone) Demetri Mitchell (Exeter City) and Sean Mackie (Falkirk).

Taking Hibs record with injuries it wouldn’t surprise me if Hibs found some way to offload Kyle Magennis,he would go to a club where he would be injury free,win honours and become captain of Scotland.

20-03-2023, 10:01 AM
I’ve noticed that three of the serial absentees through injury when they were at Hibs are now featuring regularly for the teams they joined.

Namely Jamie Murphy (St Johnstone) Demetri Mitchell (Exeter City) and Sean Mackie (Falkirk).

Taking Hibs record with injuries it wouldn’t surprise me if Hibs found some way to offload Kyle Magennis,he would go to a club where he would be injury free,win honours and become captain of Scotland.

Mitchell has played 9 games for Exeter. He was available here at the end if we wanted to use him, but we didn't.

Jamie Murphy has played 20 mins of football in the last 7 St Johnstone games, so "now featuring regularly" is a push.

Sean Mackie is *****. injury or not, never a good enough player for Hibs.

I like Magennis as a player, and wouldn't be surprised to see him do pretty well elsewhere in between injuries...he'll never captain Scotland though :faf:

Sergio sledge
20-03-2023, 10:30 AM
He’d missed plenty games every season of his career. It didn’t take Mystic Meg to tell us a guy who was frequently injured at his previous club was likely to carry on that way.

I don't know if that's totally right, after making his debut at 18 he played in all but 2 of the remaining games St Mirren had that season (16/17).

He then missed 15 games at the start of the 17/18 season (can't see why) before playing in every remaining game for St Mirren except the last game of the season.

His injury issues really started the next season and the one after where he missed significant time with injuries including his cruciate ligament injury. At the time they could all be put down to unrelated "bad luck" injuries and no real sign of a pattern. They all involved long periods out but no sign of the repeated comebacks then breakdown then comeback then breakdown cycle that we've seen. It's been a disaster for him and us since then, but I don't necessarily think that anyone could have forseen it given his injury history at the time.

He's a good player when fit and would make a real difference to our midfield but I think we need to be trying to cut our losses at the end of the season unfortunately.

20-03-2023, 10:32 AM
Did we not sign John McGinn when he was injured? He'd missed the last 5 games for St Mirren or something like that. Sometimes taking a chance works. Magennis is a cracking player but unfortunately seems really injury prone. I'm still glad we took a chance on a young gifted Scottish player.

20-03-2023, 10:35 AM
Did we not sign John McGinn when he was injured? He'd missed the last 5 games for St Mirren or something like that. Sometimes taking a chance works. Magennis is a cracking player but unfortunately seems really injury prone. I'm still glad we took a chance on a young gifted Scottish player.

Was McGinn not still recovering from Stephen Thompson throwing a training pole at him piercing his thigh

20-03-2023, 10:35 AM
Was McGinn not still recovering from Stephen Thompson throwing a training pole at him piercing his thigh

That might have been it.

20-03-2023, 10:37 AM

Ffs :greengrin

20-03-2023, 10:38 AM

That wasn't a football related injury... well it was in the sense it happened on the training ground... but I don't think we can compare Magennis' injuries to McGinn getting assaulted by a team mate with a spike.

20-03-2023, 10:47 AM
What exactly is the nature of his injury(s), I've never seen anything specific mentioned in all the time he's been out.

PHeffernan
20-03-2023, 12:05 PM
This deserves a thread of its own. Couldn’t make Thursday night, but heard the bones of it at the game yesterday!

I don't usually worry but Magennis has made one substitute appearance in the last two months and there has been no mention of the nature of his injury.
Not expected back until the end of next month which is code for not sure when he will be back.
I had hoped he would be playing every week by this stage but he obviously still has issues that are holding him back.

PHeffernan
20-03-2023, 12:16 PM
What exactly is the nature of his injury(s), I've never seen anything specific mentioned in all the time he's been out.

Exactly why I am concerned. I'm away for a wee search to see if we were told in January when this latest injury period began.
The poor guy must be gutted.

Hopefully Newell is back fully fit for the Motherwell game.

20-03-2023, 12:16 PM
It’s a joke. So disappointing. You can tell he’s class when he’s fit.

Yup. A fully fit Magennis, Boyle and Nisbet and we're 3rd

20-03-2023, 12:39 PM
Still another two years on his contract.

PHeffernan
20-03-2023, 12:46 PM
Before the Kilmarnock game a month ago LJ stated that Magennis was in a good place and training well.
He came on and played the last 27 minutes against Kilmarnock on the 18th February and we haven't seen him since.
Looks like he was injured in training between the Kilmarnock and Livingston games and there has been no mention of him in match previews by the manager or his assistants. All very concerning and no chance of an update for another 11 days.

The Sundance Kid
20-03-2023, 01:39 PM
Before the Kilmarnock game a month ago LJ stated that Magennis was in a good place and training well.
He came on and played the last 27 minutes against Kilmarnock on the 18th February and we haven't seen him since.
Looks like he was injured in training between the Kilmarnock and Livingston games and there has been no mention of him in match previews by the manager or his assistants. All very concerning and no chance of an update for another 11 days.

There have been a couple of passing mentions of Magennis during the pre-match press conferences in recent weeks.

During the pre-match press conference for Livingston, Johnson was asked if Magennis was out and he stated ‘Yeah, Magennis is out. He’s had an injection and we’ll see how that settles down’

Then in the press conference ahead of the Celtic game, Jamie McAllister said ‘We’re just waiting on a few things for Joe Newell and Kyle Magennis. Kyle seen someone the other day so hopefully it will progress quite quickly with that one.’

20-03-2023, 01:56 PM
There have been a couple of passing mentions of Magennis during the pre-match press conferences in recent weeks.

During the pre-match press conference for Livingston, Johnson was asked if Magennis was out and he stated ‘Yeah, Magennis is out. He’s had an injection and we’ll see how that settles down’

Then in the press conference ahead of the Celtic game, Jamie McAllister said ‘We’re just waiting on a few things for Joe Newell and Kyle Magennis. Kyle seen someone the other day so hopefully it will progress quite quickly with that one.’

We seem to be treating an awful lot with “injections”.

I’d have thought that might be a useful short term measure to get someone to play through the pain barrier before being able to rest or carry out more definitive treatment but at risk of aggravating a pre-existing problem?

20-03-2023, 02:43 PM

I’d have thought that might be a useful short term measure to get someone to play through the pain barrier before being able to rest or carry out more definitive treatment but at risk of aggravating a pre-existing problem?
"Injections" does not necessarily mean local anaesthetic to get through the pain barrier which I'd be very surprised would be as common now as maybe 20-30 years ago. Ethically immoral. Probably more likely an anti-inflammatory - more direct and a tad more effective than a couple of ibuprofen.

PHeffernan
20-03-2023, 03:15 PM
"Injections" does not necessarily mean local anaesthetic to get through the pain barrier which I'd be very surprised would be as common now as maybe 20-30 years ago. Ethically immoral. Probably more likely an anti-inflammatory - more direct and a tad more effective than a couple of ibuprofen.

Agreed

20-03-2023, 04:28 PM

Mystic Meg couldn’t really see the future by the way, but even she could’ve taken a look at his injury record, looked at the fact he hadn’t even returned from his current long term injury, and thought…I’d not go spending much money here.

Rather than, 5 year contract sounds about right.
Mystic Meg actually passed away last week. I wonder if she knew her time was up?
I see she is still doing the horoscopes in the sun even now. I don’t know if that’s spooky or impressive. :greengrin

21-03-2023, 05:56 AM

Has it not not been regular hamstring injuries ? Think the one last season was more of an abdominal injury but kept him out for months. Really feel for the guy but also us as he is an excellent player and fit he would imo hugely improve our team. We do seem to be having a fair number of hamstring injuries recently

21-03-2023, 06:00 AM

Was surprised when Johnson mentioned that though caveat that with I have no idea how injuries are generally treated. :greengrin

21-03-2023, 06:48 AM
Looks like we’ll have no choice but to just let Magennis see out his contract as no club will take a chance on him unless it’s very low wages. Pity as he’ll be costing our club plenty ££££ in wages/medical costs for very little return!

Donegal Hibby
24-03-2023, 09:07 AM
Latest on our injured players.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/injury-update-on-five-key-players

24-03-2023, 09:23 AM

Didn’t realise McGeady needed surgery, must have been a bad one

Donegal Hibby
24-03-2023, 10:00 AM
Didn’t realise McGeady needed surgery, must have been a bad one
Neither did I to be honest though even at Mcgeady's age I still think he can come back from his injury and play for us next season . One that has me more worried is Kyle Magennis, for a young player he seems to be constantly picking up injuries.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/kyle-magennis/verletzungen/spieler/399258

24-03-2023, 11:23 AM

Positive news to hear Joe Newell is nearing a return to fitness, he’ll provide good cover in case we are without Jeggo, Egan-Riley, Campbell or JDH.

24-03-2023, 11:28 AM
Positive news to hear Joe Newell is nearing a return to fitness, he’ll provide good cover in case we are without Jeggo, Egan-Riley, Campbell or JDH.
Good cover? Is that a sly dig at JN?

24-03-2023, 11:38 AM
Best news is Fish will be in the team for the Motherwell game

24-03-2023, 12:12 PM
Good cover? Is that a sly dig at JN?

Newell goes straight back in the team if available.

24-03-2023, 12:18 PM
KM is pretty much never going to be fit again.

Still 4 weeks away. Not good.

24-03-2023, 12:21 PM

Who do you drop of Egan-Riley, Jeggo and Campbell and why?

24-03-2023, 12:31 PM

Reckon ER will drop out, but I don't think he should. No chance we're dropping Campbell or Jeggo in my opinion.

24-03-2023, 12:36 PM

None of those 3 should be dropping out.

Paulie Walnuts
24-03-2023, 12:45 PM

Who for?

24-03-2023, 12:55 PM
Reckon ER will drop out, but I don't think he should. No chance we're dropping Campbell or Jeggo in my opinion.

He'll go to right back if JN comes back in.

Those who are surprised that Newell would go straight back in have quickly forgotten the Rangers game where be was a massive miss. Nobody got their foot on the ball that night in the way he and JDH do.

24-03-2023, 12:56 PM
It will be horses for courses. Good to have options, especially if the positive noises around JDH continue.

Garymcl
24-03-2023, 12:57 PM
It’s Motherwell we’re playing at home simple we need the most attack minded midfielders keeping in mind Elie is suspended no need for any defensive mids

24-03-2023, 01:03 PM

Those who are surprised that Newell would go straight back in have quickly forgotten the Rangers game where be was a massive miss. Nobody got their foot on the ball that night in the way he and JDH do.

Where was that “foot on the ball” in Newell’s previous 3 games against the old firm in which we conceded 13 goals?

Paulie Walnuts
24-03-2023, 01:53 PM

Was he a massive miss? He was in the team for the 4-0 and 6-1 against Celtic earlier this season, he was in it for the 3-0 skelping by Hearts in the league, in the team for an absolute horsing up at Pittodrie.

The rangers game was a horror show for everyone. To suggest it was because we didn’t have Newell in the team to put his foot on the ball is a bit of a stretch imo.

24-03-2023, 02:02 PM
Whether Newell comes in or not it’s good to have more options in midfield with him and JDH back.

24-03-2023, 02:47 PM

Newell wouldn’t have made much noticeable difference in that Rangers game IMO. The whole team were so far off it. We’ve seen that kind of performance multiple times before, was a fairly common occurrence out of the blue under Ross. Newell has his attributes but dragging a struggling team back into the game isn’t one IMO. To be fair there’s not been many who could, Super John was really good in those times.

24-03-2023, 03:17 PM
It’s Motherwell we’re playing at home simple we need the most attack minded midfielders keeping in mind Elie is suspended no need for any defensive mids

So drop Jeggo and Egan Riley?

24-03-2023, 03:43 PM
Egan Reilly is less comfortable in midfield and better suited to RB I think.

Don't get me wrong he's done a great job in Midfield for us but I think we drop Cadden, shift Reilly over the RB then midfield of Jeggo, Campbell and either JDH or Newell.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

24-03-2023, 03:48 PM

Don't get me wrong he's done a great job in Midfield for us but I think we drop Cadden, shift Reilly over the RB then midfield of Jeggo, Campbell and either JDH or Newell.

Then that's harsh on Miller who played well and was many folks man of the match against Celtic. Think Miller needs a run of games in the team.

24-03-2023, 03:53 PM
Good news for Rocky hopefully back for a couple games before the end of the season, the guy seems a warrior and he was on good form.

Another setback for Kyle is disappointing but nothing new.

Regarding team selection for Motherwell it's a good headache for LJ as would be harsh for Miller to get dropped at right back maybe he played well due to the set up.

24-03-2023, 03:55 PM
Was he a massive miss? He was in the team for the 4-0 and 6-1 against Celtic earlier this season, he was in it for the 3-0 skelping by Hearts in the league, in the team for an absolute horsing up at Pittodrie.

The rangers game was a horror show for everyone. To suggest it was because we didn’t have Newell in the team to put his foot on the ball is a bit of a stretch imo.

Aye well Josh C played in all of those games as well as the Rangers game so maybe he should drop out? ;-)

I'm only kidding and I actually don't want to get involved in a Joe Newell debate!

24-03-2023, 04:00 PM

Egan Riley and jeggo are both very poor when under any sort of pressure in possession.

When everyone is fit only one of them should be starting in centre mid, I'd like to see CJ at right back with either JDH or Newell partnering him.

Campbell had been playing as a 10 so isn't really competing with Newell for a place in the team right now

24-03-2023, 04:05 PM
Newell wouldn’t have made much noticeable difference in that Rangers game IMO. The whole team were so far off it. We’ve seen that kind of performance multiple times before, was a fairly common occurrence out of the blue under Ross. Newell has his attributes but dragging a struggling team back into the game isn’t one IMO. To be fair there’s not been many who could, Super John was really good in those times.

No way of knowing for sure but our biggest weakness that game was the inability of our midfield to retain the ball when pressed. That's Newell's biggest strength imo so while I don't think the result would be different I think we'd have given them a better game had he been playing.

Jeggo and CJ were both utterly hopeless in tight spaces or under pressure that night. Neither of them are ever going to dribble out through a tight press, or play a line breaking reverse pass, so when we're playing a double pivot only one of them should be starting.

Donegal Hibby
24-03-2023, 04:08 PM

It would be very harsh to drop Lewis Miller after the good game he had against Celtic , for me he should keep his place as our right back . I wouldn't drop Cadden either as he's more suited to right midfield than our other midfielders and he has a good attacking threat and puts in good crosses .

24-03-2023, 04:23 PM
Good news for Rocky hopefully back for a couple games before the end of the season, the guy seems a warrior and he was on good form.

Another setback for Kyle is disappointing but nothing new.

Regarding team selection for Motherwell it's a good headache for LJ as would be harsh for Miller to get dropped at right back maybe he played well due to the set up.
Can’t say I agree re Rocky. He has improved but I don’t rate him overly in truth

24-03-2023, 06:44 PM
Can’t say I agree re Rocky. He has improved but I don’t rate him overly in truth

For me Rocky would be on the bench instead of Devlin if he was fit, we are not dropping Hanlon or Fish

24-03-2023, 06:56 PM

Yep Fish is on a different level as far as I'm concerned.

24-03-2023, 07:21 PM
Yep Fish is on a different level as far as I'm concerned.

Yip, Fish is higher up on the perch than Rocky.

ChilliEater
24-03-2023, 09:29 PM
Yip, Fish is higher up on the perch than Rocky.

Play them both - Fish would sit in behind the Rock, then dart out to claim any scraps that drifted past him.