View Full Version : European Super League 2.0

09-02-2023, 08:38 AM
I see there’s an update doing the rounds regarding a new proposal for another European Super league. This time it will be one that will probably include the ugly sisters.

I can’t be bothered reading into it too much but a brief summary is in the tweet linked below

https://twitter.com/henrywinter/status/1623616002129895429?s=46&t=wI7rSxrDnpU5kqSrTwYQQA

Looks like this will run in conjunction with domestic leagues but it’s hard to see how that can be possible. Is this just the start? Will this be the way to finally get rid of Rangers and Celtic from our league?

Anyone able to put more meat on the bones for lazy folk like me that can’t be arsed reading all about it?

09-02-2023, 08:48 AM
Naw like you cannae be arsed reading anything about Celtic and The Rangers

Sick o the sight o them tbh

OldEast
09-02-2023, 08:51 AM
Get them to ****. Any way possible.

09-02-2023, 09:07 AM
If it includes Celtic and Rangers then I withdraw all my previous opposition to a super league.

:bye::bye: Don't let the door hit you on the a**e on the way out.

09-02-2023, 09:34 AM
If it includes Celtic and Rangers the I withdraw all my previous opposition to a super league.

:bye::bye: Don't let the door hit you on the a**e on the way out.

I doubt it would mean they'd go completely. They'll probably want a "B" team to remain in the SPFL. The money from a Super League would enable them to have a massive squad to be able to compete in both. The remaining clubs would have to vote to keep them out and I'm not convinced enough necessarily would. It would get very messy.

OldEast
09-02-2023, 09:37 AM
I doubt it would mean they'd go completely. They'll probably want a "B" team to remain in the SPFL. The money from a Super League would enable them to have a massive squad to be able to compete in both. The remain clubs would have to vote to keep them out and I'm not convinced enough necessarily would. It would get very messy.

Bring it on

09-02-2023, 09:37 AM
I doubt it would mean they'd go completely. They'll probably want a "B" team to remain in the SPFL. The money from a Super League would enable them to have a massive squad to be able to compete in both. The remain clubs would have to vote to keep them out and I'm not convinced enough necessarily would. It would get very messy.

That is my concern too.

I worry we would end up having to keep all their baggage but lose all the benefits that come from them in terms of the TV deal.

09-02-2023, 09:40 AM

There's no chance the other clubs would vote them out. They'd see it as financial suicide because TV money would pretty much disappear.

Plus the smaller clubs would miss the revenue from their 4 games every season.

09-02-2023, 09:47 AM
If it's 60/80 clubs is it really a "super" league? Also not a closed shop if it's that many clubs.

Sounds more like an expanded Champions and Europa League.

HibsGW
09-02-2023, 09:48 AM
There's no chance the other clubs would vote them out. They'd see it as financial suicide because TV money would pretty much disappear.

Spot on, it’s been seen too many times already most of the teams in this league are reliant on the money the old firm provide. I agree I’d love them to get tae as well but clubs wouldn’t vote for it.

09-02-2023, 09:54 AM

The TV money would disappear anyway if we were being left with effectively the B teams. The tv money would go towards their games in the European league.

09-02-2023, 10:01 AM
Rangers and Celtic needing massive squads to compete in a Super League and the SPFL would mean they'd hoover up even more of the best young players and look to other SPFL rivals to poach their top players, more than they have done of late. IMO it could be pretty disasterous.

09-02-2023, 10:19 AM
The TV money would disappear anyway if we were being left with effectively the B teams. The tv money would go towards their games in the European league.

I don't think it would disappear to be honest. Hibs v Rangers and Hearts v Celtic, even in a B team format, is still going to bring large TV audiences within the country.

09-02-2023, 10:55 AM
All for it but i wouldn't want any old firm B teams playing in the SPFL. Get rid of them properly once and for all. If it ment reduced TV income for a period of time for Premiership clubs then so be it. Short term pain for long term gain. The crowds would soon return if there was a chance for teams to win the league and then the TV deal would take care of itself.

09-02-2023, 11:01 AM
All for it but i wouldn't want any old firm B teams playing in the SPFL. Get rid of them properly once and for all. If it ment reduced TV income for a period of time for Premiership clubs then so be it. Short term pain for long term gain. The crowds would soon return if there was a chance for teams to win the league and then the TV deal would take care of itself.

We'd never get the same TV deal we have now without Celtic and Rangers. They make up a huge percentage of the viewers in Scotland, you can't replace 2 clubs who probably have close to half a million active supporters in Scotland alone.

I'm not saying them leaving would a bad thing overall, but the idea we'd get the same kind of TV deal after a short while is wrong IMO.

09-02-2023, 11:18 AM
I see there’s an update doing the rounds regarding a new proposal for another European Super league. This time it will be one that will probably include the ugly sisters.

I can’t be bothered reading into it too much but a brief summary is in the tweet linked below

https://twitter.com/henrywinter/status/1623616002129895429?s=46&t=wI7rSxrDnpU5kqSrTwYQQA

Looks like this will run in conjunction with domestic leagues but it’s hard to see how that can be possible. Is this just the start? Will this be the way to finally get rid of Rangers and Celtic from our league?

Anyone able to put more meat on the bones for lazy folk like me that can’t be arsed reading all about it?

It's all about channelling more cash to Juve, Barca and Real Madrid who are all in a financial mess, and instead of trying to tackle their own negligence and dodgy dealings they are trying to bring in more cash to support their habits.

They are desperately scrambling around to make this super league nonsense work to save their own skins and this is nothing to do with improving the football in Europe.

"The foundations of European football are in danger of collapsing," said their guy at A22 Sports Management. Are they? Maybe it's about time teams who spend over and above their capacity face the music instead of trying to rearrange the deck chairs.

Dmas
09-02-2023, 11:23 AM
Sick of it already it’s a desperate attempt to cash grab now, clubs in Italy Spain france and Germany are struggling to compete now with pretty much all EPL teams, AC Milan where gazumped by Bournemouth during the transfer window there it’s a cash grab now as the only way to try and even the playing field is to hijack the European competitions and market the best v the best weekly they don’t care about fans like us it’s not going to improve football it’s just going to make these giant clubs financially sustainable whilst trying to close the gap English clubs carry in the transfer market

09-02-2023, 11:25 AM
I doubt it would mean they'd go completely. They'll probably want a "B" team to remain in the SPFL. The money from a Super League would enable them to have a massive squad to be able to compete in both. The remaining clubs would have to vote to keep them out and I'm not convinced enough necessarily would. It would get very messy.
Not that it would matter a damn in the big scheme of things, but if that did happen and the other clubs were willing to keep Glasgow B teams in the league, I'd be done with Scottish football. I've wanted that pair gone for decades and them using the SPL as a B league would be a step too far for me.

09-02-2023, 11:39 AM
Let them start at the bottom tier then.

09-02-2023, 11:42 AM
This just sounds like a replacement for the current European structure, a multi division ‘league’ instead of the CL, EL and EC.

Participants stay in their domestic leagues and get games in whatever super league division they qualify for. Not really clear on how there’s no automatic entry, but you can move up / down these divisions? All sounds a bit odd.

Basically instead of a breakaway, they now just want to replace UEFA’s club competitions.

Donegal Hibby
09-02-2023, 12:20 PM
If they do leave it will cost us and the other clubs a lot of money even the four games we play them at ER you must be looking at possibly near £500,000 lost in revenue alone , the money we are getting off SKY would massively decrease and that's if they would want our league at all without the two old firm.

Though on the plus side the league would become more exciting with different teams winning the league and cups each year which you would think might encourage more fans to come back and watch more games .If they do decide to leave Scottish football then it has to be a clean break , no B teams ,youth teams or anything left in our league from them and they should be told once your out , your out !

09-02-2023, 12:24 PM
Whilst the SPFL may suffer in the short term, mid to long term the leagues would prosper.
Imagine a league every season whereby half a dozen clubs could win the league? Almost unrivalled across Europe. That’s a selling point for any league body.

09-02-2023, 12:30 PM
Whilst the SPFL may suffer in the short term, mid to long term the leagues would prosper.
Imagine a league every season whereby half a dozen clubs could win the league? Almost unrivalled across Europe. That’s a selling point for any league body.
Exactly right. Hibs having a genuine shot at a league title would have the stadium full every week.

ACLeith
09-02-2023, 12:45 PM

And if the OF could persuade them to take some of our refs then a double whammy. Imagine a league where its a fair competition

PHeffernan
09-02-2023, 12:48 PM
If they do leave it will cost us and the other clubs a lot of money even the four games we play them at ER you must be looking at possibly near £500,000 lost in revenue alone , the money we are getting off SKY would massively decrease and that's if they would want our league at all without the two old firm.

Though on the plus side the league would become more exciting with different teams winning the league and cups each year which you would think might encourage more fans to come back and watch more games .If they do decide to leave Scottish football then it has to be a clean break , no B teams ,youth teams or anything left in our league from them and they should be told once your out , your out !

All revenue streams would plummet if the OF leave.
Sky wouldn't be interested in showing our football so the TV deal would go. The BBC would still give coverage but pay buttons.
As you say we would lose £500k in gate money from our 4 OF games,
Sponsorship revenues would plummet,
Season ticket and walk up prices would have to be far lower to reflect the standard of the league so that income would drop.
Media coverage would drop off
Our league would become league of Ireland standard
Infrastructure projects would be impossible to finance and the existing infrastructure would struggle to be maintained.
I don't like the OF anymore than anyone else but their high profile drives Scottish football revenues.

PHeffernan
09-02-2023, 12:54 PM
Exactly right. Hibs having a genuine shot at a league title would have the stadium full every week.

We would be the the new OF, steam rollering over the wee clubs with a fraction of our reduced budget and congratulating ourselves on what a great team we are yet unable to get past the preliminary rounds in Europe every season.

09-02-2023, 01:44 PM
This just sounds like a replacement for the current European structure, a multi division ‘league’ instead of the CL, EL and EC.

Participants stay in their domestic leagues and get games in whatever super league division they qualify for. Not really clear on how there’s no automatic entry, but you can move up / down these divisions? All sounds a bit odd.

Basically instead of a breakaway, they now just want to replace UEFA’s club competitions.

Exactly. It's the top clubs looking to elbow Uefa out, so they can get a bigger slice of the profits.
And it almost certainly won't happen...
Behemoths like Uefa and Fifa ain't going to roll over.

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-02-2023, 01:46 PM
We would be the the new OF, steam rollering over the wee clubs with a fraction of our reduced budget and congratulating ourselves on what a great team we are yet unable to get past the preliminary rounds in Europe every season.

100%, only real difference is we’d have less money and there’d be 3 teams that can realistically win the league rather than 2

Greenio
09-02-2023, 02:00 PM
Not sure how much joy there is from winning a league that's minus the biggest scalps. Would feel pretty hollow imo

Hibeesforever
09-02-2023, 02:06 PM
Idea seems ridiculous, just another Champions league, why would teams leave the status quo. No guarantee it will be a success....Big clubs just want a bigger share of the TV and sponsorship cake...

09-02-2023, 02:28 PM

Link doesn’t work

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-02-2023, 02:31 PM
Not sure how much joy there is from winning a league that's minus the biggest scalps. Would feel pretty hollow imo

Nah, Celtic fans seem to enjoy it every year and other than the currants they’ve no real big scalps to take. I want a bit of that for us.

09-02-2023, 02:34 PM
If we had a genuine chance of winning the league it would be interesting to see how many season tickets we would sell. Same with Hearts, Aberdeen, Dundee United etc. Stadia would rapidly become too small. I think it would be a fantastic. It certainly wouldn't feel like a hollow win to me. TV money wouldn't concern me at all. I would much rather see Celtic and Rangers liquidated never to be seen again but you can't have everything.

hibsboy07
09-02-2023, 02:47 PM
Look at the size of crowds Hibs and Hearts attracted in the championship against "smaller"clubs.
Im sure attendances would rise with all clubs that had a chance of winning the league,and the likes of Hibs,Hearts and Aberdeen would take large crowds to away games.

09-02-2023, 02:47 PM
Winning a league among your equals which in theory should really be Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen and Dundee United (more if others raised their game) in a more level playing field, far far exceeds anything the uglies accomplish by winning a two horse race year in year out.

09-02-2023, 03:09 PM
If it's choosing between what I want to **** off more - 'Super leagues' or 'The old firm' then I think I'll bow out and not get involved. Too difficult a decision to bother about :greengrin

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-02-2023, 03:17 PM
Winning a league among your equals which in theory should really be Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen and Dundee United (more if others raised their game) in a more level playing field, far far exceeds anything the uglies accomplish by winning a two horse race year in year out.

Hypothetically, DU should only win the league in that situation if hibs hertz and the sheep collectively **** themselves

ACLeith
09-02-2023, 03:20 PM
If we had a genuine chance of winning the league it would be interesting to see how many season tickets we would sell. Same with Hearts, Aberdeen, Dundee United etc. Stadia would rapidly become too small. I think it would be a fantastic. It certainly wouldn't feel like a hollow win to me. TV money wouldn't concern me at all. I would much rather see Celtic and Rangers liquidated never to be seen again but you can't have everything.
Agreed👍 we know it won't happen but it's a lovely dream to hold on to

09-02-2023, 03:20 PM
Let them start at the bottom tier then.Don't let them do it all. If an avenue opens which sees them leave its bye-bye.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

09-02-2023, 03:23 PM

That's what I said. I think.

09-02-2023, 03:26 PM
The uglies bolt off to a Super League, no B teams in the SPL and to cap it all we'd get to see their crowds shrink when the their fans got tired of seeing their beloved being b****slapped by superior European teams. Oh, per chance to dream. :greengrin

09-02-2023, 05:15 PM

I’d be inclined to agree. I’m not quite sure what we’d be champions of by winning such a league but it certainly couldn’t be Scotland.

of course the status quo isn’t exactly attractive either. And if we ended up with old firm B teams then football’s done for me.

crap situation all round.

Donegal Hibby
09-02-2023, 05:38 PM
Finishing a long league campaign of 38 games and winning the league over our rivals hertz and Aberdeen would be extremely joyous imo:big grin:

09-02-2023, 06:12 PM
Get rid of them!

09-02-2023, 06:14 PM
Get rid of them!

Any Super League is irrelevant to me anyway.

09-02-2023, 06:18 PM
I’d be inclined to agree. I’m not quite sure what we’d be champions of by winning such a league but it certainly couldn’t be Scotland.

of course the status quo isn’t exactly attractive either. And if we ended up with old firm B teams then football’s done for me.

crap situation all round.

I suppose the options are never winning the league with Celtic and Rangers in it or winning it without them in it.

What would be better out of those scenarios?

Edina Street
09-02-2023, 06:25 PM

We need something that helps the struggling clubs as well, rather than only focusing on the already rich clubs. I personally have no issues with a European Super League. A World Super League would be even more exciting.

However I wish there was also more talk about a British league (BPL), British and Irish league (BIPL) or even just a Scottish and Irish league to help out the poorer clubs that exist in less populated countries without the lucrative SKY deals that England currently have.

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-02-2023, 06:27 PM
We need that helps the struggling clubs as well, rather than only focusing on the already rich clubs. I personally have no issues with a European Super League. A World Super League would be even more exciting.

However I wish there was also more talk about a British league (BPL), British and Irish league (BIPL) or even just a Scottish and Irish league to help out the poorer clubs that exist in less populated countries without the lucrative SKY deals that England currently have.

A British league spells the end of the SNT, no thanks

Donegal Hibby
09-02-2023, 07:29 PM
Scotsman article on the super league .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/celtic/super-league-will-never-go-away-celtics-and-rangers-antennae-will-twitch-as-will-hearts-hibs-and-aberdeens-4021778

09-02-2023, 08:20 PM

St Mirren's highest crowds this season have been v the Dons, us and the Yams: https://twitter.com/CairtersSMFC/status/1621962682113921025

I think an SPL without the ugly sisters would certainly lose sponsors, tv cash etc but it would be nowhere league of Ireland bad as some have claimed.

EGL2000
09-02-2023, 08:35 PM
Anyone who thinks the current champions league isn't this is having themselves on. For years now the Europa has been the much more enjoyable tournament in my eyes. Really enjoyed the conference league aswell. Different teams, great fans and way more variety. Pretty sure from 2024 onwards teams get in on reputation if they didn't qualify from league position ridiculous. Eg Liverpool and juve would get in while being pretty honking in the league.

09-02-2023, 08:36 PM

How's that gonna work after independence 😎😉

Edina Street
09-02-2023, 09:25 PM
How's that gonna work after independence ����

By snipping the bureaucratic red tape which prevents it.

I am pretty sure that not that long ago Ron Gordon had visions of some sort of Northern Atlantic league, which would involve the amalgamation of Scottish and Scandinavian clubs.