View Full Version : Ewan Henderson
06-02-2023, 06:13 AM
As one of Ewan’s biggest critics of late I think it’s only right to start a thread in praise of him for his appearance on Saturday.
Thought he was really good when he came on. Won the ball back, battled well and used the ball really well with some good passes, touches and he brought a bit of composure in horrible conditions.
I think part of my frustration with him is that it’s clear he’s got the technical ability - touch, passing, shooting etc but his decision making or something else which I can’t quite put my finger on it let’s him down.
Saturday is exactly what we need from him in games like that and if he does that more often than not will be a very good player to have around.
That’s him now 4 goals and 4 assists in all competitions this season.
He’s a player that I always feel will create or have a chance of a goal when he comes on no matter how he’s playing.
Well done Ewan, onwards and upwards from here!
06-02-2023, 06:20 AM
As one of Ewan’s biggest critics of late I think it’s only right to start a thread in praise of him for his appearance on Saturday.
Thought he was really good when he came on. Won the ball back, battled well and used the ball really well with some good passes, touches and he brought a bit of composure in horrible conditions.
I think part of my frustration with him is that it’s clear he’s got the technical ability - touch, passing, shooting etc but his decision making or something else which I can’t quite put my finger on it let’s him down.
Saturday is exactly what we need from him in games like that and if he does that more often than not will be a very good player to have around.
He’s a player that I always feel will create or have a chance of a goal when he comes on no matter how he’s playing.
Agree always thought he was a good sub been a number of games he has come on and contributed. Seems to have a thing for St Mirren two goals and one assist he has had. Glad he didn't leave and just hope he gets some consistency and confidence as the talent is there. No doubt though he has mostly been poor this season.
06-02-2023, 06:29 AM
I thought he was excellent when he came on.
06-02-2023, 06:32 AM
I don’t think his technical ability has ever been in doubt.
For me it’s the heart and desire at times that goes missing when the going gets a bit tough.
Did very well on Saturday when he came on
06-02-2023, 07:22 AM
Important to give credit when it's deserved. I've also been hugely critical of him but he did well on Saturday.
Tarrahib
06-02-2023, 07:26 AM
Important to give credit when it's deserved. I've also been hugely critical of him but he did well on Saturday.
I have to agree,thought he was excellent when he came on. Maybe the position he was playing in had a lot to do with it.
McGruber
06-02-2023, 07:46 AM
Yeah, credit where it's due. Coming on as a sub you need to impact the game. Great ball for the assist but even without had us playing more on the front foot and got stuck in. He can be happy with that. Also credit to Johnson for the sub when every Hibs fan watching collectively swore when he was about to come on.
06-02-2023, 08:14 AM
I thought he looked like he had put on a bit of weight (not a bad thing for him). Then I read on the match day thread someone say that he still looked about 15 and thought it must have been my eyes playing tricks.
Roxyhibee
06-02-2023, 08:15 AM
Definitely a good footballer with a great touch and turn - Liam always said he was the player in the family. I think it doesn’t do ‘lighter’ players like him any favours to get 4 year deals at Celtic when they’re in their teens. He’s protected there, hardly plays and never encounters the tougher side of the game during that crucial senior development time. Better playing for a couple seasons at Falkirk or somewhere to give more match time before trying to make your mark in the SPL. But who’s going to refuse a contract at Parkhead at that age.? Hopefully he can kick on and show us more consistency.
Radge70
06-02-2023, 08:29 AM
I'm glad someone has pointed this out. For me it was him who changed the game when he came on. His game management was excellent at the end as well when we needed to keep the ball in the corner (something Hibs aren't always that great at)
06-02-2023, 09:01 AM
He’s obviously popular in the dressing room, nearly whole team congratulated him when he made the pass for Youan’s goal
06-02-2023, 09:02 AM
His pass to Youan was insightful and it’s good to give him credit, but on the other hand he was only on for 20 minutes. I’d want to see that sustained for a long period stood of time before I’d be comfortable with him as a regular starter. He’s had loads more game time this season than his play has merited and has been mostly stinking, I’m afraid to say.
But happy to give credit where it’s due.
Halmyre Hibee
06-02-2023, 12:24 PM
I think with players like Henderson it’s more difficult for them as not a regular starter and we expect them to make an impact when coming on. Done well on Saturday but like others need their A game when given game time.
06-02-2023, 12:28 PM
Said it at the game, we were toiling before he came on. He changed the game, well done Hendo.
Mainstandman
06-02-2023, 01:00 PM
I was at the game on Saturday and when Youan scored at least 3 players went over to Henderson to congratulate him and say well done, seems the culture is good, working and pleased for each other
08-02-2023, 07:52 PM
i'm just glad too see the spelling of his name not mixed up with the heartz player Euan Henderson :greengrin
08-02-2023, 08:19 PM
i'm just glad too see the spelling of his name not mixed up with the heartz player Euan Henderson :greengrin
Good they don't get Elie Ewan and Youan Henderson mixed up.
RMQ1967
08-02-2023, 08:48 PM
I know what you're saying - often he seems to float around the pitch with no real drive or direction. Also eased off the ball & goes over far too easily looking for fouls when he needs to be strong and aggressive.
Saturday was a welcome change although he's had the odd good game in the past but not followed it up in subsequent games. I'm hoping the mass departures have given him a shake and he realises he needs to massively up his game if he's to make it at Hibs and we see a more focussed LH in the weeks ahead.
08-02-2023, 09:19 PM
Good they don't get Elie Ewan and Youan Henderson mixed up.
08-02-2023, 09:44 PM
I was really pleased for him, I wouldn't have been disappointed if we'd moved him on in January and I'll admit my reaction when he was subbed on was "ah FFS" but I was delighted to be made to look stupid again thanks to his performance.
PHeffernan
08-02-2023, 09:49 PM
Said it at the game, we were toiling before he came on. He changed the game, well done Hendo.
I agree, had a great game when he came on.
LewysGot2
08-02-2023, 09:56 PM
I think Hendo is what Brendan Rodgers would describe as a technician. He’s a gifted player. Possibly more technically gifted than Liam. However, his brother is more streetwise and combative than him. That’s what’s missing. I do like watching him in full flight though :thumbsup:
09-02-2023, 08:02 AM
Far from great this season but nowhere near as bad as a lot of his criticism makes out. Hope he can kick on from here.
09-02-2023, 09:10 AM
Far from great this season but nowhere near as bad as a lot of his criticism makes out. Hope he can kick on from here.
I think he's been every bit as bad as the criticism makes out. Coming on and doing well against St Mirren just shows that he is capable of performing at this level, but he's been a liability when he's played this season most of the time.
09-02-2023, 12:36 PM
I think he's been every bit as bad as the criticism makes out. Coming on and doing well against St Mirren just shows that he is capable of performing at this level, but he's been a liability when he's played this season most of the time.
Sadly I have to agree with this.
09-02-2023, 01:16 PM
Slightly what I was meaning without articulating it very well. A lot of critics seem to suggest he isn't good enough - I think he definitely has the ability.
Hasn't performed near how any of us would like this season, obviously. Still think much of it has been OTT (particularly those writing him off) especially given how poor his teammates have been for the majority alongside him.
If he could find regular form he could be just the sort of player we need to kick-on as a team.
09-02-2023, 01:31 PM
Slight bit of revisionism going on on this thread imo after a decent performance against st mirren
He’s been rotten for the majority of his time here albeit in a struggling team.
I’m still not convinced his level is much better than lower premiership/higher championship but understandable not everyone will agree
If he puts in more performances like he did against st mirren when he was on I’d be more than happy to change my opinion on him but realistically they performances are one in ten
Still be one of many I’d be looking to try move on in the summer/let him know his playing time is going to be severely limited next season
09-02-2023, 01:39 PM
Slight bit of revisionism going on on this thread imo after a decent performance against st mirren
I’m still not convinced his level is much better than lower premiership/higher championship but understandable not everyone will agree
If he puts in more performances like he did against st mirren when he was on I’d be more than happy to change my opinion on him but realistically they performances are one in ten
Yes - too early to say either way. No revisionism from me though as I've never joined in with the "pish" and "gash" type comments as I maintain he can certainly come good for us.
Perhaps won't be any coincidence if Hendo's form does come to life as the team start to put in more solid and consistent performances though. It's only weeks since people were writing off Youan and wanting rid of him.. there's now talk of paying whatever fee it takes to tie him down and folk worrying that he's a level above us etc.
That's how it tends to work though.
09-02-2023, 01:42 PM
He's still a player i'd be keen to move on if possible. He'll have the odd decent game but they are too few and far between for me and we can't afford passengers. Still have huge reservations.
09-02-2023, 02:05 PM
Yes - too early to say either way. No revisionism from me though as I've never joined in with the "pish" and "gash" type comments as I maintain he can certainly come good for us.
Perhaps won't be any coincidence if Hendo's form does come to life as the team start to put in more solid and consistent performances though. It's only weeks since people were writing off Youan and wanting rid of him.. there's now talk of paying whatever fee it takes to tie him down and folk worrying that he's a level above us etc.
That's how it tends to work though.
I reckon Youan’s situation is different cause he’s shown more than henderson has for us
Dont get me wrong he seems a very likeable character and it’s not a personal dig at him but I’m not overly convinced he’s a lot better than a dundee/ross county
I’ll be pleasantly surprised and delighted if he proves that’s not the case and turns into a big player for us.
09-02-2023, 02:21 PM
Still be one of many I’d be looking to try move on in the summer/let him know his playing time is going to be severely limited next season
Don't see any revisionism. Most of the posts still reference that folk don't think he's good enough or has done well this season.
People simply giving him credit for one game. Pretty much just the same as you've done here.
09-02-2023, 02:26 PM
I reckon Youan’s situation is different cause he’s shown more than henderson has for us
Dont get me wrong he seems a very likeable character and it’s not a personal dig at him but I’m not overly convinced he’s a lot better than a dundee/ross county
I’ll be pleasantly surprised and delighted if he proves that’s not the case and turns into a big player for us.
Perfectly reasonable stance Stuart, and you may well be right.
Let’s both hope not though 👍
Musselbound
09-02-2023, 05:19 PM
Agree always thought he was a good sub been a number of games he has come on and contributed. Seems to have a thing for St Mirren two goals and one assist he has had. Glad he didn't leave and just hope he gets some consistency and confidence as the talent is there. No doubt though he has mostly been poor this season.
This balanced view pretty much sums it up for me. I think Henderson is a decent squad player to have around. I'm not sure why people are so keen to get rid of him given the length of contract. That works both ways though and my main criticism would be Hibs have dished out too many long contracts - 3 or 4 years in his case I think - rather than letting players prove they are worth it first.
I think it's clear Henderson is struggling and Celtic were not bothered that he left for nowt. He did the square root of nothing in his 2 loan spells and apart from the odd glimpse has been a waste of a wage for a year now. He isn’t a starter and if we had better he wouldn't even be on the bench. I honestly think they tried moving him on but either ran out of time or couldn't get someone to take him. It once again shows just how badly our signing policy has been recently.
11-02-2023, 12:25 PM
I think it's clear Henderson is struggling and Celtic were not bothered that he left for nowt. He did the square root of nothing in his 2 loan spells and apart from the odd glimpse has been a waste of a wage for a year now. He isn’t a starter and if we had better he wouldn't even be on the bench. I honestly think they tried moving him on but either ran out of time or couldn't get someone to take him. It once again shows just how badly our signing policy has been recently.
Correct. He’ll never make it at Hibs.
11-02-2023, 03:32 PM
Correct. He’ll never make it at Hibs.
Indeed. Enjoy the sporadic assist and long range ping when they happen, because I don't think he's got it to make it long term here
Donegal Hibby
15-02-2023, 09:26 PM
He had the option to go out on loan in January but rejected the chance too . Think he's one we will move on in the summer .
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/ewan-henderson-rejected-hibs-loan-26250196
16-02-2023, 07:23 AM
He had the option to go out on loan in January but rejected the chance too . Think he's one we will move on in the summer .
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/ewan-henderson-rejected-hibs-loan-26250196
Can't move players on if they don't want to go. He won't get better wages anywhere else so he will see his contract out unless paid off or signed up outside Scotland. Can't blame him, I would do the same unless/until offered the same or better elsewhere. That's the trouble with long contracts. Great if the signing works out/stays fit but if things don't work out it's a bit of a millstone for the club.
16-02-2023, 07:58 AM
Encouraging that LJ also realises Henderson needs to up his game.
16-02-2023, 08:23 AM
Elie Youan was written off on here only a matter of weeks ago and now we hear podcasters telling the CEO to pay whatever the fee is to keep him.
Elie is 23 so if he can improve to the extent that he's now a favourite player worth hundreds of thousands of pounds, surely we shouldn't be writing 22 year old Henderson off, particularly after he's had an excellent substitute appearance.
I know he's not impressed often enough to date, but if he can gain confidence and impose himself more on games, then he's got a chance.
16-02-2023, 08:31 AM
Elie Youan was written off on here only a matter of weeks ago and now we hear podcasters telling the CEO to pay whatever the fee is to keep him.
Elie is 23 so if he can improve to the extent that he's now a favourite player worth hundreds of thousands of pounds, surely we shouldn't be writing 22 year old Henderson off, particularly after he's had an excellent substitute appearance.
I know he's not impressed often enough to date, but if he can gain confidence and impose himself more on games, then he's got a chance.
Agree with that still some hope for him imo
16-02-2023, 08:36 AM
The difference between Elie and Ewan is that Elie had obvious talent when arrived but was taking time to adapt to playing in a different country. Ewan has spent his career in Scotland and failed to make an impression at any of his clubs including lower league ones.
16-02-2023, 08:58 AM
The difference between Elie and Ewan is that Elie had obvious talent when arrived but was taking time to adapt to playing in a different country. Ewan has spent his career in Scotland and failed to make an impression at any of his clubs including lower league ones.
You're probably right, but since 2016, I have developed a soft spot for the name Henderson so I live in hope.
He must have had ability to have won the contract with Celtic so maybe it's the mental side of the game that holds him back. LJ talks about "pitch personality" which I think means imposing yourself on the game and that's exactly what Ewan needs to practice and learn.
If he continues to get chances and nothing changes, then I'll likely join the "never going to make it" group, but for now I'm being patient.
To be honest, I'm still hoping Brian Kerr ups his game!
18-02-2023, 05:36 PM
Played well again today.
I wonder if trimming the squad is allowing more one on one coaching with certain players.
18-02-2023, 05:37 PM
He was very good today. Another who may well benefit from a proper no nonsense defensive midfielder.
18-02-2023, 05:39 PM
Much better today.
LewysGot2
18-02-2023, 05:40 PM
Good performance today. He's a gifted player. He just needs to find the physicality and a bit more street wise stuff. Patience is important.
18-02-2023, 05:45 PM
Much better today and the good thing i there's still plenty more to come from him. More so than most I think he looks like a huge confidence player, so he can be pleased with the past two games and hopefully he kicks on now.
Mikey_1875
18-02-2023, 05:58 PM
Looked a lot more determined and aggressive in chasing the ball down today. No doubting he has something on the ball but it’s this part of the game he needs to work on. Hopefully he kicks on from a more encouraging display today.
Flying the nest and becoming a fully grown adult has maybe helped :greengrin
18-02-2023, 06:02 PM
Thought he had a very good game today, that's down to both himself and LJ for performances like that, hopefully he can kick on from here. If he had another yard of pace he could be a very good player.
18-02-2023, 06:03 PM
I've been a critic like others on here but I thought he was excellent in the first half. He wasn't as effective after McGeady went off and the shape of the team changed but full marks to him for a good performance.
GreenPJ
18-02-2023, 06:14 PM
Henderson is technically a good player but he needs to prove it consistently and be able to last 90 mins. If he doesn't do it through to the summer window I would regrettably look to move him on.
18-02-2023, 06:18 PM
Incredible. I had honestly given up all hope in him. The Law of 2nd Chances again.
18-02-2023, 06:53 PM
Hopefully another player Johnson and the coaching team can improve. I was impressed with him today.
Saint Hibee
18-02-2023, 07:09 PM
I thought he did okay, but I’m still not completely convinced to be honest. Against any decent opposition he wouldn’t have had half the time or space he had today.
18-02-2023, 07:14 PM
Did well today. He has obvious talent. Has the ability to be a top player for us. It's all about confidence. Go for it Ewan.
JamesHFC
18-02-2023, 07:39 PM
I thought he was a lot better today. Obviously put in a shift at training to be selected today too. Hopefully he can kick on and prove people wrong like others have.
HarpOnHibee
18-02-2023, 07:43 PM
Worked exceptionally hard today and even carved out a couple of chances for himself. Definitely a step up from what we've been seeing from him previously. Don't know what Lee Johnson is feeding these lads during training, but long may it continue.
Bronson
18-02-2023, 09:47 PM
Played well first half but was absolutely blowing out his arse 10 mins after HT. That doesn’t cut it for me, the laddie is 22/23 years old he should have far more in the tank than that.
I can excuse a lack of match sharpness and toiling at 75 mins onwards but 55th min and he was struggling to run. He needs to address that.
18-02-2023, 09:52 PM
Thought he played well was braver on the ball
Got clipped just before half time and it seemed to take the wind out of his sails
No surprise when subbed
Proved he did the right thing in staying maybe something to offer going forward
LewysGot2
18-02-2023, 09:56 PM
Thought he played well was braver on the ball
Got clipped just before half time and it seemed to take the wind out of his sails
No surprise when subbed
Proved he did the right thing in staying maybe something to offer going forward
Yup, he clearly got injured towards the end of the first half and took some time to run it off. Quite possibly it was impacting o his contribution as the game progressed. Looked a sair yin
Whataball
18-02-2023, 11:32 PM
Thought he was 2 season away from being a decent player. He might come good but hard to wait for it. Campbell is along with Youan our most improved player. Henderson still not there yet.might never be.
18-02-2023, 11:43 PM
Played well first half but was absolutely blowing out his arse 10 mins after HT. That doesn’t cut it for me, the laddie is 22/23 years old he should have far more in the tank than that.
I can excuse a lack of match sharpness and toiling at 75 mins onwards but 55th min and he was struggling to run. He needs to address that.
Took a sore one late first half and struggled second half trying to run it off until subbed. Much improved performance from him today IMO.
19-02-2023, 06:35 AM
I was disappointed that he didn't leave in the transfer window as I think he offers nothing. However, I was very impressed with him yesterday. It's now up to him to continue that level of effort and skill.
19-02-2023, 09:07 AM
He looks like he’s bulked up slightly and he doesn’t get so easily pushed off the ball as much as he did.
19-02-2023, 09:11 AM
Had an excellent first half, thought he tailed off 2nd half but he can’t be up to full match fitness given his lack of minutes recently. Can’t say I was particularly pleased when I seen her name in the starting XI but if he can contribute as well as he did in the first half it’ll bring some welcomed depth to the squad. I do think the I introduction of a proper sitting midfielder has helped guys like Henderson and Campbell.
19-02-2023, 11:20 AM
He was one of the 4 stand outs today for me (CJ/Fish and Jeggo the others)
Written off by most of us after an underwhelming time with us so far. Same again next match please
GGTTH07
19-02-2023, 11:40 AM
I thought he was excellent In the semi v hearts last year and had gotten me excited to see him this season. Hope he kicks on.
19-02-2023, 11:55 AM
He looks like he’s bulked up slightly and he doesn’t get so easily pushed off the ball as much as he did.
Thought the same. Far stronger on the ball.
ChilliEater
19-02-2023, 11:57 AM
I thought he was excellent In the semi v hearts last year and had gotten me excited to see him this season. Hope he kicks on.
He was also one of the few bright spots in the League Cup games. I think we can pretty much all agree that he has talent, the issue is whether or not he can display it consistently. Hopefully he kicks on from here and we're soon talking about him the same way we are about Josh Campbell.
19-02-2023, 12:17 PM
He is Talented think he is one of they players lack wee bit self belief run of games might help him
19-02-2023, 01:24 PM
With the right backing he will be fine, so much class, he was hurt just before half time and you could see he was trying to run this off, but he still done well.