View Full Version : Things that make you feel old - Hibs edition

04-02-2023, 10:34 AM
Obviously some of us this board are more venerable in years than others, but we're all inevitably getting older but I only ever *feel* old when either some body part gets sorer than it used to (looking at you lower back) or a reminder of some sort pops up than thing X happened Y years ago, the Y number is disturbingly high

Today I have been reminded that it was SEVENTEEN years ago b that we scudded Rangers 3-0 in the SC at Ibrox, an absolute domination and probably in my top 3 away days ever.

Any other Hibs related facts/milestones that make you feel old if you ever dare ponder them for too long?

04-02-2023, 10:35 AM
The fact one of the goal scorers that day has a son who was on the pitch on tuesday, really doesn't help!!

OldEast
04-02-2023, 10:43 AM
Obviously some of us this board are more venerable in years than others, but we're all inevitably getting older but I only ever *feel* old when either some body part gets sorer than it used to (looking at you lower back) or a reminder of some sort pops up than thing X happened Y years ago, the Y number is disturbingly high

Today I have been reminded that it was SEVENTEEN years ago b that we scudded Rangers 3-0 in the SC at Ibrox, an absolute domination and probably in my top 3 away days ever.

Any other Hibs related facts/milestones that make you feel old if you ever dare ponder them for too long?

Any time I see mention of the 2013 Malmo debacle I always think back fondly to us scudding them 6-0 in 1970, then I remember that was over 50 years ago! 😮

Bridge hibs
04-02-2023, 10:45 AM
I used to go 90 minutes without needing a pee, and that was after sinking a few beers, now Im hitting approx 09 minutes, ****ing old pissy drawers ******* 🤬

Groathillgrump
04-02-2023, 10:45 AM
The fact that I've now witnessed the careers of both of the players who will be first and second on the list of the record number of league appearances for Hibs after today. Lewis Stevenson and Arthur Duncan :dizzy:

04-02-2023, 11:11 AM
Following the Scottish Premier league scores on my phone as the game goes on and then getting a half time and full time announcement always makes me think of the scoreboard in the corner of the stadium with guys scrrying up steps at half time to put wee boards with numbers on them to show the half time scores. Remember watching with baited breath as the Hearts number would go up.:greengrin

04-02-2023, 11:14 AM
Beating Rangers on penalties in the LC semi always feels just like yesterday to me. Whenever the highlights appear on social media I am always amazed that I was still at school when the game took place.

The Scottish Cup win was 7 years ago this May ffs. I've had 2 children come along since then.

Green Reaper
04-02-2023, 11:20 AM
Knowing I will see the highlights of the the game that night and remembering the great feeling you got walking along Albion Rooad and spotting the camera in the East Stand... " yes, we're on telly the night!"

OldEast
04-02-2023, 11:29 AM
I used to go 90 minutes without needing a pee, and that was after sinking a few beers, now Im hitting approx 09 minutes, ****ing old pissy drawers ******* 🤬

Oh jings aye. I couldn't think of having a few pints before a game now 😒

Still Smiling
04-02-2023, 11:39 AM
The fact one of the goal scorers that day has a son who was on the pitch on tuesday, really doesn't help!!

And he took the huff at being subbed!!

Still Smiling
04-02-2023, 11:43 AM
Celebrating winning the Dryborough Cup victories in the 70s, playing darts at the Mayfair pub before home games. Last orders 9.50! Happy days!

Conj
04-02-2023, 11:48 AM
And he took the huff at being subbed!!

He didn’t get subbed in the Cup game.

Just_Jimmy
04-02-2023, 11:58 AM
And he took the huff at being subbed!!That was ivans hatrick game in the same season. The cup game was the 2nd time we pumped them at ibrox That season. Glory days.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

04-02-2023, 11:59 AM
Josh O’Connor playing for Hibs has to be the main one at the moment.

Feels like yesterday Gaz had him on the pitch at Easter road as a kid.

04-02-2023, 12:08 PM
Either climbing into ER or trying to get a lift over

04-02-2023, 12:18 PM
Lewis Stevenson being on 450 appearances. Remember when he was a wee laddie breaking in to the team. Then all the years I've followed Hibs way before Lewis was on the scene. Hits home I'm not a laddie myself anymore.

ACLeith
04-02-2023, 12:20 PM
Beating Rangers on penalties in the LC semi always feels just like yesterday to me. Whenever the highlights appear on social media I am always amazed that I was still at school when the game took place.

The Scottish Cup win was 7 years ago this May ffs. I've had 2 children come along since then.
This is a perfect example for me. Whilst it's children for you PB, I've been blessed with 4 grandchildren since then!

Folk on here regularly mention their Dad and when I read the context I realise they are a lot younger than me.

OTOH, I have had the privilege to see Gordon Smith and his 4 henchmen, Joe Baker and Pat Stanton!

darwenhibby
04-02-2023, 12:24 PM
When the players started to be younger than you and nowadays the managers are younger

tynehibs
04-02-2023, 12:32 PM
Probably one for the Hibs programme collectors out there, but we tend to refer to late 60s and 70s as recent issues !

04-02-2023, 12:37 PM
When the players started to be younger than you and nowadays the managers are younger

That's a good one. People talk about Marshall and McGeady as if they are ancient and they are both, give or take, the same age as me. Pretty much all the rest are younger.

I think things like this happen in all walks of life though. I was back in my old school a few weeks back and kept expecting to see mates or acquaintances round every corner. It hit me like a ton of bricks when I realised the kids in 6th year wouldn't have been born when I left in 2004!

04-02-2023, 12:43 PM

When you start fancying footballers'mums as well as their wives

tynehibs
04-02-2023, 12:57 PM
You think Hertz last league cup win was only yesterday

04-02-2023, 01:02 PM
That's a good one. People talk about Marshall and McGeady as if they are ancient and they are both, give or take, the same age as me. Pretty much all the rest are younger.

I think things like this happen in all walks of life though. I was back in my old school a few weeks back and kept expecting to see mates or acquaintances round every corner. It hit me like a ton of bricks when I realised the kids in 6th year wouldn't have been born when I left in 2004!

We must be pretty much the same age. None of the kids at my high school that I see walking about town were even born when I left, they weren't even a twinkle in their dad's eye.

Bridge hibs
04-02-2023, 01:03 PM
When you start fancying footballers'mums as well as their wivesBrilliant 🤣

04-02-2023, 01:23 PM
Taking my best pals wee brother to his first Hibs game and making him hold my hand as we crossed London Road.

He turned 50 last year and has two kids of his own :confused: .... he still goes to games and his oldest daughter goes with him, I blame myself :greengrin

Bridge hibs
04-02-2023, 01:26 PM
Taking my best pals wee brother to his first Hibs game and making him hold my hand as we crossed London Road.

He turned 50 last year and has two kids of his own :confused: .... he still goes to games and his oldest daughter goes with him, I blame myself :greengrinDo you still yearn to hold his hand when crossing London Road ? 😀

04-02-2023, 01:33 PM
Do you still yearn to hold his hand when crossing London Road ? 😀

How dae ye mean?

darwenhibby
04-02-2023, 01:38 PM
Last season before Christmas I was at Paisley with my youngest who was 18 at the time
Ended up in a bar where the young team were belting out their songs and I was joining in with a few!
It was when one of them asked if I was ok and it wasn’t too much for me!

Bridge hibs
04-02-2023, 01:44 PM
How dae ye mean?

Joking mate, I did same with my bairns, they are aw grown up now but if we are out my automatic reaction is to reach out for their hands, only to get the death stare 🫣

04-02-2023, 01:52 PM
Last season before Christmas I was at Paisley with my youngest who was 18 at the time
Ended up in a bar where the young team were belting out their songs and I was joining in with a few!
It was when one of them asked if I was ok and it wasn’t too much for me!

How is Damien? :greengrin

Wakeyhibee
04-02-2023, 01:55 PM
Was at Cappielow earlier this season as a neutral v Bonnyrigg. My earliest memory of seeing Hibs with my old man at the same ground. I stood in the cow shed where I remember the Hibs fans were that day. 49 years ago and a lots changed but not Cappielow :)

heidtheba
04-02-2023, 01:57 PM
My first ever game was Hibs v Rangers, just a few days over thirty years ago. A mate from uni got me tickets for my 18th birthday. The score was 3-4, but what a game. I was in love. Different era. Different ground in many ways. A very different me. If I could sit down and talk to that 18 year old... Ah. Almost makes you a wee bit maudlin'.

04-02-2023, 02:17 PM
Joking mate, I did same with my bairns, they are aw grown up now but if we are out my automatic reaction is to reach out for their hands, only to get the death stare 🫣

I know you were mate :aok:

Given I'm in my 60s now I do wonder how long it's going to be before he does have to hold my hand to get me across the road :greengrin

Bridge hibs
04-02-2023, 02:19 PM
I know you were mate :aok:

Given I'm in my 60s now I do wonder how long it's going to be before he does have to hold my hand to get me across the road :greengrin

Funny you say that, I used to hold my Wifes hand when crossing the road in our early years of marriage, nowadays I dont, for insurance purposes obviously 🫣

04-02-2023, 02:31 PM
My first ever game was Hibs v Rangers, just a few days over thirty years ago. A mate from uni got me tickets for my 18th birthday. The score was 3-4, but what a game. I was in love. Different era. Different ground in many ways. A very different me. If I could sit down and talk to that 18 year old... Ah. Almost makes you a wee bit maudlin'.

Different world really. No social media, limited access to the internet, no smartphones.....

The season after that I remember being at Firhill when we won the league. Fans were listening to the Falkirk game on portable radios and relaying the score along the stand. Must be one of the last times that happened. Great day though.

Know what you mean about talking to your 18 year old self. It's why I'm never too harsh on the young team when everyone is indulging in a pile on about their behaviour. I don't regret much about my late teens and early to mid 20s, things happen and you can drive yourself mad fixating on it or you can deal with it and move on. With hindsight and experience I'd do a lot differently though and would love a chance to tell my 18 year old self that.

04-02-2023, 02:55 PM
Funny you say that, I used to hold my Wifes hand when crossing the road in our early years of marriage, nowadays I dont, for insurance purposes obviously 🫣

04-02-2023, 02:58 PM
Different world really. No social media, limited access to the internet, no smartphones.....

The season after that I remember being at Firhill when we won the league. Fans were listening to the Falkirk game on portable radios and relaying the score along the stand. Must be one of the last times that happened. Great day though.

Know what you mean about talking to your 18 year old self. It's why I'm never too harsh on the young team when everyone is indulging in a pile on about their behaviour. I don't regret much about my late teens and early to mid 20s, things happen and you can drive yourself mad fixating on it or you can deal with it and move on. With hindsight and experience I'd do a lot differently though and would love a chance to tell my 18 year old self that.

Jeezo mate according to your profile your only 36, that's some lie if you were there when we won the league :confused:

04-02-2023, 03:01 PM
At Christmas the wife had the kids old photos out including them in their Hibs gear for a Hibs Kids day out. Yesterday the boy had his 29th birthday. Nae farcking wonder I feel auld.

Bridge hibs
04-02-2023, 03:03 PM
At Christmas the wife had the kids old photos out including them in their Hibs gear for a Hibs Kids day out. Yesterday the boy had his 29th birthday. Nae farcking wonder I feel auld.

🤣

04-02-2023, 03:29 PM
Jeezo mate according to your profile your only 36, that's some lie if you were there when we won the league :confused:

1st division season 98/99 against Hamilton.

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-02-2023, 03:30 PM

Well it is A league… but is it winning THE league?

04-02-2023, 03:48 PM

My first, and so far, only trip to Ibrox, ranks as one of my top 10 days as a Hibs fan.

Still remember the epic bounce from that day.

04-02-2023, 03:58 PM

Guessed that mate :greengrin

WeAreHibs
04-02-2023, 04:55 PM
Remembering Lewis's debut!

Congratulations wee man. What a player!

Roxyhibee
04-02-2023, 05:27 PM
Remembering Arthur Duncan’s debut.!!!

heidtheba
04-02-2023, 05:47 PM

Such is the way of getting older and more mature.

One thing that got me thinking about your 'no social media and internet' comment was something I took a guilty pleasure in - the "Sports Pink"! Life wasn't complete until you read their take on a match you'd just been to. And the pun type headling - Heart-ache, High-Bees, Hib-Hib-Hooray. I think I saw each of them used multiple times.

hibbydog
05-02-2023, 07:01 AM
Skol Cup 1991. First time we’d won a trophy in my lifetime

Thousands of Hibs fan locked outside of hampden. To think that PATG was available for a cup final is mental and definitely makes it seem like a different age completely

Bridge hibs
05-02-2023, 07:33 AM
Skol Cup 1991. First time we’d won a trophy in my lifetime

Thousands of Hibs fan locked outside of hampden. To think that PATG was available for a cup final is mental and definitely makes it seem like a different age completelyTotally underestimated the size of the hibs support that day, the hibs end looked absolutely jammed, I was there but cant remember how many hibs fans were in the ground and moreso how many didnt get in

In fact I was almost at the identical spot at Hampden for both the 91 final (terrace) and 2016 Scottish cup & League cup finals

Newcastlehibby
05-02-2023, 09:57 AM
Chanting “Big John” at corners. If you’re old enough, you’ll know.

Hibees1973
05-02-2023, 01:13 PM
When I go to Hibs games and can't help thinking about some people i used to go with who are no longer here.

In particular with my Dad. He was a Jambo and in the 70s & 80s we regularly went to Easter Road and Tynecastle alternate weeks.

Really enjoyed a pre match pint at The Diggers or The Hoppy/Bunch O' Roses with him.

Just not the same now as he died 3 years ago.

j'adorehibs
05-02-2023, 04:26 PM
watching Hibs get relegated twice and being 47 when hibs won the scottish cup and that was 7 years ago!!!

Hibhibhooray
05-02-2023, 08:29 PM
The Pink was essential reading, remember waiting for it arriving at thepaper shop, half 5 the bundle would be dropped inside the door of the shop…. Those were the days lol

Such is the way of getting older and more mature.

One thing that got me thinking about your 'no social media and internet' comment was something I took a guilty pleasure in - the "Sports Pink"! Life wasn't complete until you read their take on a match you'd just been to. And the pun type headling - Heart-ache, High-Bees, Hib-Hib-Hooray. I think I saw each of them used multiple times.

darwenhibby
05-02-2023, 08:59 PM
How is Damien? :greengrin

He said he’s fine
He asks how is the guy that makes Nade look anorexic these days!
Told him lapping up the Tenerife sun in his budgie smugglers

05-02-2023, 09:03 PM
Radio Hibs!

ErinGoBraghHFC
05-02-2023, 09:05 PM
Radio Hibs!

Radio Hertz is still on the go it’s just been rebranded to BBC radio Scotland

Edina Street
05-02-2023, 09:09 PM

Remembering back to being so young and thin that I could go from The Cowshed to the East Terracing and back by squeezing between two railings not only makes me feel old, but also fat.

05-02-2023, 09:29 PM
Remembering back to being so young and thin that I could go from The Cowshed to the East Terracing and back by squeezing between two railings not only makes me feel old, but also fat.Being so young and thin and there being no fence there to squeeze through....I still miss the top terrace in the East despite maybe stuggling to get up there these days

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Bridge hibs
06-02-2023, 05:47 AM
Ceefax and waiting a week on the page loading to get the results

OldEast
06-02-2023, 06:06 AM
Remembering back to being so young and thin that I could go from The Cowshed to the East Terracing and back by squeezing between two railings not only makes me feel old, but also fat.

No railings in my day

06-02-2023, 06:12 AM

He turned 50 last year and has two kids of his own :confused: .... he still goes to games and his oldest daughter goes with him, I blame myself :greengrin

Brilliant :greengrin

06-02-2023, 06:33 AM
He said he’s fine
He asks how is the guy that makes Nade look anorexic these days!

Meeeooowwww. :greengrin

06-02-2023, 06:43 AM
When I realised my heroes were now the same age as me, that was a thought. I’m now 30 and I remember being a young teenager and obviously the players were older than me.

OldEast
06-02-2023, 08:22 AM
When I realised my heroes were now the same age as me, that was a thought. I’m now 30 and I remember being a young teenager and obviously the players were older than me.

People less than half my age saying they feel old 😂😂😂

06-02-2023, 09:11 AM

I remember doing that with my wee cousin. He’s 31 this year!

Stewboy
06-02-2023, 09:55 AM
Not fully Hibs related but as a kid leaving ER, bus back to the darkside of town with my dad to get a Pink News to study that for hours before Sportscene on later!

06-02-2023, 10:57 AM

😳

06-02-2023, 12:14 PM
Not fully Hibs related but as a kid leaving ER, bus back to the darkside of town with my dad to get a Pink News to study that for hours before Sportscene on later!

Yeh :agree:

Back in the day I had to run up to the bus station at New Street to catch my bus back to Innerleithen and a few years later Galashiels. The Eastern Scottish buses were always bloody freezing and I sure as hell don't miss huddling under my coat hoping I could sleep most of the near 90 minute journey home.

I'll remember that next time I'm sitting in my cozy car moaning about the traffic as I head home from ER :greengrin

06-02-2023, 12:20 PM

Back in the day I had to run up to the bus station at New Street to catch my bus back to Innerleithen and a few years later Galashiels. The Eastern Scottish buses were always bloody freezing and I sure as hell don't miss huddling under my coat hoping I could sleep most of the near 90 minute journey home.

I'll remember that next time I'm sitting in my cozy car moaning about the traffic as I head home from ER :greengrin

The x62/95 were quite chilly recently when Borders Buses insisted on the windows being open during Covid restrictions.

06-02-2023, 12:52 PM

This!!
and looking in a mirror

MKHIBEE
07-02-2023, 01:34 PM

Reading this made me feel old as I remembered doing much the same to get back to Peebles.

07-02-2023, 04:29 PM
Sitting in the pub just now reminds me of the great European nights of the 70s.

You youngsters will never appreciate what you missed out on.

uwxm07
07-02-2023, 05:03 PM
Sitting in the pub just now reminds me of the great European nights of the 70s.

You youngsters will never appreciate what you missed out on.

Beating Liverpool 1-0 at ER and only missing out 3-1 at Anfield after 1-1 at half time

07-02-2023, 05:11 PM
Beating Liverpool 1-0 at ER and only missing out 3-1 at Anfield after 1-1 at half time

And a missed Pen ! (Iirc)

cameronw-hfc
07-02-2023, 05:16 PM
Took my best pal, a big rangers man whilst I was selling programmes at Hibs as he needed an extra bit of cash so brought him down to sell for a game. Was 14/15 at the time, he's now a season ticket holder, has a Mrs that's a Hibs fan and raising his kid as a Hibby. Seen the Light eventually.

HibeeSince85
07-02-2023, 07:04 PM
For Hibs related it has to be watching both Gaz and Josh make their Hibs debuts. Honestly doesn't feel so long ago Broony, KT, Deeks and Gaz were running about ER, then you watch one of their kids play for Hibs.

07-02-2023, 07:25 PM
The Pink was essential reading, remember waiting for it arriving at thepaper shop, half 5 the bundle would be dropped inside the door of the shop…. Those were the days lol

I'm old enough to remember the Green 'Un. The Evening Dispatch. I always thought it was for Hibs fans and the Pink for Hearts.

The Pointer
07-02-2023, 08:50 PM
At a Stranglers gig a few years ago leaping around like a radge and realising I was the only one close to the age of the band by about 30 years.

The Pointer
07-02-2023, 08:55 PM
I'm old enough to remember the Green 'Un. The Evening Dispatch. I always thought it was for Hibs fans and the Pink for Hearts.

I vaguely remember the Dispatch but it was the Pink we got, running down and joining the queue outside Walter Lyall's at Buckstone shops.

There was a 'Stop Press' at the right hand side in tiny wee letters which had the results of games which had finished later.

07-02-2023, 09:31 PM
At a Stranglers gig a few years ago leaping around like a radge and realising I was the only one close to the age of the band by about 30 years.

What makes me feel old is not being able to leap around like a radge at gigs.

Nowadays I'm still getting out of my seat to celebrate a goal when the game kicks off again.

Valencia
10-02-2023, 02:40 PM
2/- (10p) to get in when I startes going - was in hopspitality recently £190

11-02-2023, 07:58 AM

A sad fact of getting old.

Bridge hibs
11-02-2023, 08:08 AM
A sad fact of getting old.

Totally mate, my fitness was pretty good for years, played football for a long time and trained twice weekly without many bad injuries. Now I get out of my bed in instalments every morning and every joint creaks like an old rusty door hinge 😵

11-02-2023, 08:17 AM

I’ll add watching OConners son running about. I remember when he got rhe ‘Josh’ tattoo.

11-02-2023, 01:15 PM
Being able to get a lift over and getting a programmes for 3pence old money.
Seen some fantastic results including Hibs scoring 11 goals a couple of times, them was the days my friend...

11-02-2023, 01:55 PM
The first time I referred to players as 'son' was that moment for me. That wasn't yesterday either.

11-02-2023, 02:15 PM
Joe Baker scoring up hill against Aberdeen, I was still an apprentice!!!

11-02-2023, 03:31 PM
The first time I referred to players as 'son' was that moment for me. That wasn't yesterday either.

I think you're only a few years older than me. That'll be a sad day tbh, although debatable whether "son" is better or worse than "you useless ****"

12-02-2023, 06:07 PM
Totally mate, my fitness was pretty good for years, played football for a long time and trained twice weekly without many bad injuries. Now I get out of my bed in instalments every morning and every joint creaks like an old rusty door hinge 😵

I feel your pain

12-02-2023, 06:12 PM
The acceptance I probably won't play the game competitively again.

I got asked to sign for a team the other day until the end of the season. Decent amateur side but with a Hibs ST, 2 children and a hefty workload I had to say no. None of that is going to change anytime soon so it looks like I'm done.