View Full Version : Lewis on 450 League Games Today
Percy Vere
04-02-2023, 07:53 AM
What a player and legend for Hibs.
04-02-2023, 08:13 AM
An amazing achievement, and under appreciated by some parts of our support.
04-02-2023, 08:16 AM
Great player for us, won both cups, and an actual legend when that word is thrown about too easily these days.
scuttle
04-02-2023, 08:24 AM
Fantastic achievement for him, will be considered a legend once he retires if not already
hibeejeebies
04-02-2023, 08:27 AM
Sexy wee radge.
04-02-2023, 08:30 AM
Living legend. Love Lewis
Stuarty1875
04-02-2023, 08:32 AM
Amazing achievement. Club legend :flag:
wallpaperman
04-02-2023, 08:34 AM
What am amazing accomplishment to break Arthur Duncan’s all time league appearance record.
I never thought that this record would ever be broken, with it becoming rarer for players to stay at one club for their career.
I know Paul Hanlon is not all that far behind, but I don’t think he would overtake Lewis, so it’s very possible that Lewis’ record (and there’s no reason to suggest he’s finished just yet) will last forever.
What a legend.
04-02-2023, 08:52 AM
Sexy wee radge.
That's where I am.
04-02-2023, 08:54 AM
Sexy wee radge.
That's where I am.
Perverts!
04-02-2023, 09:44 AM
He’s a dreamboat.
04-02-2023, 09:48 AM
Fantastic achievement. He's still playing well and gives his all every time he pulls on the jersey.
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2023, 09:50 AM
Doubt we will ever see such loyalty and commitment again . Guys a absolute legend . Well done lewy .
:flag::flag:
Doh Rae Me
04-02-2023, 09:51 AM
Go'on yer sell wee man
04-02-2023, 10:38 AM
Is that him now our all time leading league appearance holder?
wallpaperman
04-02-2023, 10:50 AM
Is that him now our all time leading league appearance holder?
Will be when he plays next league game, presumably today, level with Arthur Duncan on 449 at the moment.
CL0762
04-02-2023, 11:26 AM
I remember seeing him for the first time in Dublin on the Ireland tour back in 04?
I’ll see him again today breaking the record.
unbelievable servant to the club. Only player to win both domestic cups and now going to be our all time league appearance holder.
Congrats Lewis.
04-02-2023, 11:42 AM
Very, very few greater Hibees than him.
04-02-2023, 12:09 PM
According to the bloke who sits a few rows in front of me, Lewis isn’t good enough. Sometimes I wonder why folk go to games
04-02-2023, 12:13 PM
Great servant
04-02-2023, 01:05 PM
Will be when he plays next league game, presumably today, level with Arthur Duncan on 449 at the moment.
Absolutely incredible, what a servant to the club. Never let the team down when so many around him did in the darker periods of the last 15 years. He's got a role to play for a season or 2 yet with his ridiculous fitness levels
04-02-2023, 01:24 PM
450 games and a winners medal for both cups . Proper hibs legend .
04-02-2023, 01:29 PM
He’s amazing, what an achievement that is.
He won’t be fully appreciated until he’s no longer playing.
We’re so lucky he’s ours 💚
04-02-2023, 01:33 PM
Thirteen Hibs managers. One Lewis Stevenson.
Bridge hibs
04-02-2023, 01:47 PM
Thirteen Hibs managers. One Lewis Stevenson.13 ? ****ing wow 😵
04-02-2023, 01:50 PM
What an achievement 450 games for 1 club!
I wonder how many he would have got if it was up to posters on here?
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2023, 05:37 PM
What a great achievement :flag:.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/stevenson-proud-of-landmark-achievement
HendoDelivered
04-02-2023, 05:38 PM
Love you Lewy 💚
04-02-2023, 05:53 PM
What an achievement 450 games for 1 club!
I wonder how many he would have got if it was up to posters on here?
bordergreen
04-02-2023, 06:02 PM
What a player and legend for Hibs.
Deserves every accolade he gets. Not just for his football ability, for his humility as well.
Great guy, always gives his all.
04-02-2023, 06:03 PM
Legend. End of.
Percy Vere
04-02-2023, 06:04 PM
Another assured display today
Thanks for being a Hibby
04-02-2023, 06:12 PM
Loving the fact he played (plays) for Hibs in my lifetime and watched him numerous times in the flesh , A proper hibs legend that will be talked about in a 100 years time from now
We will miss him when he's gone for sure
Lewy's got two
Liam978
04-02-2023, 06:13 PM
Deserves every accolade he gets. Not just for his football ability, for his humility as well.
Great guy, always gives his all.
How the hell can many contributers on here want rid of oor Lewy, totaly escapes me, he is and always be a one club legend GG2TH.
Cheshire Hibby
04-02-2023, 06:36 PM
Scottish Cup Winner
Scottish League Cup Winner
Most league games for the club.
What a great treble.
Well done Lewis
DinkyTwo
04-02-2023, 06:40 PM
Legend. Delighted for him
Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
04-02-2023, 06:53 PM
A wonderful achievement from Stevenson. Someone I wod have would have happily seen leave a few times in the past, which confirms (as if it needed confirming) that I know diddly squat about football.
Btw, who is the guy on crutches who gives Johnson the top in the clip.
04-02-2023, 06:58 PM
What he’s achieved may never be repeated at the club.
An icon of the club.
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2023, 07:01 PM
Another good performance by Stevenson ( Hanlon too ) and a clean sheet today . LEGENDS both or them .They are definitely proving the anti Stevenson and Hanlon brigade wrong once again :greengrin
angus hibby
04-02-2023, 07:39 PM
Gets better the older he gets.
An absolute legend and the fact he is loved by almost everyone who has been a team mate of his, speaks volumes. Have never heard anyone say a bad word about him and he should have a role at the club for life.
hibby rae
04-02-2023, 07:49 PM
Craig Telfer said he's his favourite guest they've had on A View from the Terrace.
Obviously because he's such a genuinely nice guy but he said when he was listening to him describe 2016 it was giving him goosebumps and that genuine emotion was what football is about
jakedance
04-02-2023, 07:57 PM
So with Lewis (35) on 564 appearances and Hanlon (33) on 522 what’s the chances of either of them surpassing Gordon Smith’s 636?
Stevenson needs 72 games and Hanlon needs 114.
[Stats from https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_records_overall.php]
04-02-2023, 07:59 PM
So with Lewis (35) on 564 appearances and Hanlon (33) on 522 what’s the chances of either of them surpassing Gordon Smith’s 636?
I can see Stevenson lasting longer at the club than Hanlon. , even though Lewis is 2 years older.
kentao
04-02-2023, 08:44 PM
Love a wee Lewie Stevenson goal, how many can say they have witnessed all his goals in the flesh. I've only witnessed the ones in bold.
13/12/2017 vs Rangers (A)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y867uKt-o6A&t=13s
21/01/2017 vs Bonnyrigg Rose (N)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1G0JsjW887A (3:26s)
04/11/2015 vs Dundee United (H)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoC3NAKGgbY&t=181s (2:41s)
17/01/2015 vs Cowdenbeath (H)
Cant find the highlights :(
13/02/2015 vs Rangers (A)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6oP9xs--e4o(30s)
08/03/2015 vs Berwick (H)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gjTm_udg1R8 (1:35s)
29/12/2013 vs Kilmarnock (H)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6BhGKKSVMOk (4:25s)
26/02/2011 vs ICT (H)
Pick of the bunch for me is the volley vs Rangers in 2015.
04-02-2023, 08:51 PM
[Stats from https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_records_overall.php]
Hanlon, in theory, should have 4 years to do it. But I don't see it happening.
Don't think Lewis will make 72 more either. That's another 2 full seasons.
04-02-2023, 09:06 PM
Hanlon, in theory, should have 4 years to do it. But I don't see it happening.
Don't think Lewis will make 72 more either. That's another 2 full seasons.
Barring an injury, that 72 will be down to 59 by the end of this season. With a minimum of 42 games a season which will realistically be around 46 games with cup progression. Good chance Lewis does it in my opinion.
04-02-2023, 09:09 PM
An absolutely astonishing feat in modern football, kept his place under a ton of managers and seen off every challenge for his place in the team.
The very epitome of a model professional, 100% effort all the time every time, never seen the guy shirk a 30/70 never mind a 50/50, hardly ever seen him stay down after a challenge, when he does you absolutely know he's hurt and on that note, the guy must be made of steel, how often is he out injured? Never boasts, in fact happy to admit he's an average footballer.
How many players with real ability have we seen in Scottish football who could have done so much better if they'd had a 10th of Lewis determination, guts and attitude.
A true legend of this club, two cup winners medals and a championship medal are scant reward for his effort and dedication, he deserves so much more, hopefully he'll get a shot at one more medal before he retires.
Oh and 3 under 19 caps, 8 under 21 caps and 1 full cap. You know it's an unfair world when you see players you got the feeling didn't really care with so many more full caps than him.
Puddocky
04-02-2023, 09:50 PM
Another remarkable stat amongst them all. A guy who's played way over 500 games, nearly all of them as a defender, has been sent off only twice, ever. (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/lewis-stevenson/leistungsdaten/spieler/42547/plus/0?saison=ges)
Both were second yellows, not once a straight red. When you consider how many ridiculous cards are waved by referees these days, that's some record. A genuine example of a player who's hard, but fair.
04-02-2023, 10:11 PM
https://twitter.com/Kenny_Millar/status/1621995818256420866?t=0G7Ac9CByv7lZWFMk3tcMQ&s=19
Think almost all of his goals are on here. Especially some of the missing ones.
04-02-2023, 10:13 PM
Barring an injury, that 72 will be down to 59 by the end of this season. With a minimum of 42 games a season which will realistically be around 46 games with cup progression. Good chance Lewis does it in my opinion.
I hope you're right.
Legend … he would have some stories tho … been through the highs and the very lows
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2023, 10:45 PM
Honestly I think he's worth keeping another year . He's still got plenty to offer imo .
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/12803651/lewis-stevenson-wants-new-hibernian-deal-after-breaking-club-appearance-record
04-02-2023, 11:46 PM
He's absolutely earned another year for me. Still our best left back. Aye we might sign better/give McIntyre a chance. But I can't think of a better person to mentor that person. And let's be honest, he'll probably still be better than them. I absolutely love the guy.
04-02-2023, 11:57 PM
Mr Hibs.
The legend of Hibs. :flag:
05-02-2023, 01:31 AM
I've said it before but I'd love to see him end his career at Hibs so we can put him forward for the Athletic Bilbao one club man award. Would love to see that.
05-02-2023, 06:52 AM
Lewis is a legend, and a lovely guy as well.
His gesture in giving part of his testimonial fund to charity was typical of the man.
vercol36
05-02-2023, 07:21 AM
Was just reading an article on Lewis’ achievement, and have to say I feel very privileged having had the chance to see his career from the beginning right through to now. An able servant and a great guy. Well done Mr Hibs!!
05-02-2023, 07:26 AM
Retire the number 16 when he calls it a day
05-02-2023, 07:36 AM
Honestly I think he's worth keeping another year . He's still got plenty to offer imo .
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/12803651/lewis-stevenson-wants-new-hibernian-deal-after-breaking-club-appearance-record
:agree: I can’t think of many mistakes he makes, if ever. He’s contributing every week.
05-02-2023, 07:49 AM
No. Rubbish tradition.
05-02-2023, 08:01 AM
Well done Lewis
Richly deserved and the perfect reward for your consistency, outstanding service and loyalty to our great club over all these years
Lewy’s got two
Absolute legend
:not worth
https://i.ibb.co/NLgykzs/9534-A293-FC59-494-D-9-AE2-E3-EF1-D6-A4-E02.jpg
05-02-2023, 08:06 AM
Rename part of HTC - particularly if it’s weighted towards youth development- the Lewis Stevenson Training Centre.
Set it as a timely reminder to any young player pulling on the green and white that if they display the attitude, effort, commitment to improvement, and humility then they will be far more likely to be successful in the game of football and that it’s the minimum expectation of anyone at the club.
05-02-2023, 08:53 AM
Rename part of HTC - particularly if it’s weighted towards youth development- the Lewis Stevenson Training Centre.
Set it as a timely reminder to any young player pulling on the green and white that if they display the attitude, effort, commitment to improvement, and humility then they will be far more likely to be successful in the game of football and that it’s the minimum expectation of anyone at the club.
Decent shout that :agree:
05-02-2023, 10:09 AM
Abdolutely love that man.
LewysGot2
05-02-2023, 10:17 AM
It’s now getting harder to think of a time he wasn’t around. He’s Mr Hibs.
05-02-2023, 10:34 AM
Will be a said day and a bit of an end of an era when he gives it up.
Hibs Legend. Still love watching him play.
05-02-2023, 10:40 AM
Love a wee Lewie Stevenson goal, how many can say they have witnessed all his goals in the flesh. I've only witnessed the ones in bold.
13/12/2017 vs Rangers (A)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y867uKt-o6A&t=13s
21/01/2017 vs Bonnyrigg Rose (N)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1G0JsjW887A (3:26s)
04/11/2015 vs Dundee United (H)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoC3NAKGgbY&t=181s (2:41s)
17/01/2015 vs Cowdenbeath (H)
13/02/2015 vs Rangers (A)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6oP9xs--e4o(30s)
08/03/2015 vs Berwick (H)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gjTm_udg1R8 (1:35s)
29/12/2013 vs Kilmarnock (H)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6BhGKKSVMOk (4:25s)
26/02/2011 vs ICT (H)
Pick of the bunch for me is the volley vs Rangers in 2015.
Was there for all of them except the Ibrox volley :not worth
05-02-2023, 10:41 AM
Mr Hibs.
The legend of Hibs. :flag:
Absolutely agree. The man is immense.
I just said in a chat, when he retires it’ll be to Hibs what it feels like for the whole of football when Messi gives his boots up.
What a legend
05-02-2023, 10:49 AM
I've got tears in my eyes watching that wee video.
The big cheer and cries of "Oh yeah" when LJ starts and Lewy's brilliant speech, "Just get the win for me"! :hilarious
A more unassuming hero you'll never meet.
Wilbur
05-02-2023, 10:54 AM
Legend!
Crunchie
05-02-2023, 05:38 PM
In modern day football a quite phenomenal achievement :not worth.
05-02-2023, 05:52 PM
A true legend and a Gentleman.....
Lewy's got two..........:flag::flag::flag:
GreenArmy1875
05-02-2023, 06:07 PM
Is there a display fans could do?
LewysGot2
05-02-2023, 06:11 PM
A true legend and a Gentleman.....
Lewy's got two..........:flag::flag::flag:
Why, thank you 👍🤣
05-02-2023, 06:18 PM
Will be a said day and a bit of an end of an era when he gives it up.
Hibs Legend. Still love watching him play.
Oh. The thought of that day makes me feel emotional. I can see me greetin when it happens!
Svengali
05-02-2023, 06:34 PM
If I caught Lewis Stevenson in bed with my wife, I would have a cup of tea and bacon roll ready for him wakening up
hibby rae
05-02-2023, 07:12 PM
If I caught Lewis Stevenson in bed with my wife, I would have a cup of tea and bacon roll ready for him wakening up
Or kick her out the bed and get in yourself, I think we all know he will be a considerate lover
06-02-2023, 09:13 AM
FFS Newell refers to him as Stevo!
Silver will be delighted!
06-02-2023, 09:19 AM
FFS Newell refers to him as Stevo!
Silver will be delighted!
His nickname : Bebo
Donegal Hibby
06-02-2023, 11:42 AM
I've got tears in my eyes watching that wee video.
The big cheer and cries of "Oh yeah" when LJ starts and Lewy's brilliant speech, "Just get the win for me"! :hilarious
A more unassuming hero you'll never meet.
Seems to be a very humble and nice guy . A credit to his family and our football club.
Edina Street
06-02-2023, 11:47 AM
He has been a loyal servant to the club. Very rare in today's game. He even done a stint at right-back under Pat Fenlon and done a half decent job. Deserved his Scotland cap and deserves his place in Hibernian's history books.
Donegal Hibby
06-02-2023, 11:52 AM
I wonder how many left backs we have signed over the years that he has beat in keeping his place ?
06-02-2023, 11:54 AM
What are the record league and general appearances for all Scottish teams? How far off is he?
I expect he’ll be far off total appearances but I’d love to see him go on to be the record league appearance holder in Scotland.
Green Man
06-02-2023, 12:23 PM
An absolute Hibs legend. I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Lewis a couple of times, first at the sponsors’ evening last season, then earlier this season when my son was a mascot. When we saw him the second time he instantly said “nice to see you again” - he must have met thousands of fans over his time but for him to recognise my son and I speaks volumes about him.
Godsahibby
06-02-2023, 01:00 PM
What are the record league and general appearances for all Scottish teams? How far off is he?
I expect he’ll be far off total appearances but I’d love to see him go on to be the record league appearance holder in Scotland.
Way off!!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_footballers_in_Scotland_by_number_of_leagu e_appearances
Shocked me the number of appearances some players made.
06-02-2023, 01:21 PM
Way off!!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_footballers_in_Scotland_by_number_of_leagu e_appearances
Shocked me the number of appearances some players made.
Perhaps he would need another 80 to beat the only one I can see from the modern day record which is Rankin
06-02-2023, 01:24 PM
I see there have been no contract talks.
No way should lewis be freed up at the end of the season. Sort out a new year deal Hibs!
Godsahibby
06-02-2023, 01:25 PM
Perhaps he would need another 80 to beat the only one I can see from the modern day record which is Rankin
If he wants to and can stay injury free no reason why he couldn’t do at least another 5 seasons taking him over 600.
06-02-2023, 02:32 PM
If he wants to and can stay injury free no reason why he couldn’t do at least another 5 seasons taking him over 600.
Can't see him playing for Hibs at 40.
Godsahibby
06-02-2023, 02:46 PM
Unfortunately neither can I but no reason why another team wouldnt want him.
Although never say never i dont think wny of us would have thought he would be here at 35!
06-02-2023, 04:34 PM
Quite honestly, if he was up and down that wing aged seventy whilst people on here said he was past it, it wouldn't shock me.
06-02-2023, 05:11 PM
Hope the club is finalising a new contract for him right now. He wants to stay so get it done Hibs.
06-02-2023, 05:32 PM
According to the bloke who sits a few rows in front of me, Lewis isn’t good enough. Sometimes I wonder why folk go to games
Was a whipping boy for a while on here.
06-02-2023, 05:38 PM
Was a whipping boy for a while on here.
He still is when we get beat!
06-02-2023, 05:47 PM
He still is when we get beat!
When we win, retire the shirt, when we lose, retire the player :)
06-02-2023, 05:59 PM
He deserves all the Accolades he gets Will there ever be another hibs player who wins both Cup Competitions .Probably not
But he gives his all snd is as got as he can be for 35 Also rarely injured Been invaluable to us
started off as a Striker for his school team back in The Lang Toun An un assuming Fifer who is totally committed to Hibs
Defo should get another year with the club
17-02-2023, 11:13 AM
With the announcement of Campbell getting a contract extension, surely we should talks to see a one year extension of Lewis’ (It’ll be sad if we don’t)
17-02-2023, 12:07 PM
With the announcement of Campbell getting a contract extension, surely we should have talks to see a one year extension of Lewis’ (It’ll be sad if we don’t)
17-02-2023, 12:14 PM
https://i.ibb.co/k83rgX6/3-E8-CE4-A2-EF1-C-468-F-BBBC-D70-FC00-D8-AD2.jpg (https://ibb.co/Fwsfbzq)
17-02-2023, 12:19 PM
https://i.ibb.co/k83rgX6/3-E8-CE4-A2-EF1-C-468-F-BBBC-D70-FC00-D8-AD2.jpg (https://ibb.co/Fwsfbzq)
Just over 8 years ago that goal , Scary how time flies
Love wee Lewy , Give him anar contract :aok:
Donegal Hibby
17-02-2023, 01:13 PM
Just over 8 years ago that goal , Scary how time flies
Love wee Lewy , Give him anar contract :aok:
Hard to believe it's 8 year's ago now . A totally great player in every way.
https://youtu.be/6oP9xs--e4o
17-02-2023, 01:43 PM
So long ago that David Gray had hair!
DIXIHIBS
17-02-2023, 02:13 PM
Packed out ibrox i see....
17-02-2023, 02:15 PM
Of course it was, they dont do walking away. :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
17-02-2023, 04:14 PM
Learning to walk away that day :greengrin . Great goal by lewy , 8 passes and boom!