View Full Version : Var

dastardly8
31-01-2023, 08:23 PM
What an absolute joke , clear barge on Marshall I give up with it shocking decision

Trinity Hibee
31-01-2023, 08:23 PM
Baffling

OstKurve Hibs
31-01-2023, 08:25 PM
Its operated by masons and orange *******s what do you expect

Whats the point?! We've had what, one penalty given for us from var. Everything else has gone against us! Wish someone from the club would come out and say thats enough. These refs just cant do the job.

RoscoHibby
****ing outrageous decision. I always think keepers get too much protection…but WTF was that!?! Can you see that given against a weegie team?

Hibs should save these up, send to SFA and ask what is going on? Like really? Also this ref in general is a clown.

Unbelievable.

31-01-2023, 08:26 PM
We actually pay for this pish?

nellio
31-01-2023, 08:27 PM
Incredible decision. Cant believe they let it stand!!!

31-01-2023, 08:27 PM
Shocking decision.

LunasBoots
31-01-2023, 08:35 PM
Shocking, Marshall is getting that ball before he's barged into. What's the point.

GRA
31-01-2023, 08:36 PM
Said it all along... What is the point of VAR if you still have the same incompetent clowns in charge of running our game?

31-01-2023, 08:38 PM
Said it all along... What is the point of VAR if you still have the same incompetent clowns in charge of running our game?
Substitute "incompetent" for "cheating" and I'll agree 100%

Just_Jimmy
Some of us were aware it was still the same bent *******s running it before it came in.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

HendoDelivered
About as useful as the folk using it.

GreenGray
31-01-2023, 08:39 PM
Said it from the very start, should have never been brought in. Particularly up here when they’re all *****. Genuinely puts you off the game.

31-01-2023, 08:41 PM
Cheating c√nts

31-01-2023, 08:45 PM
I’ve only seen it twice but I think the ball is past Marshall and nearly in the net before the contact? Only thing that could influence it. Still a foul on the keeper tho.,

Edit - seen the stills. Clearly talking nonsense.

147lothian
31-01-2023, 08:46 PM
VAR Has to be stopped I thought goalies were meant to be protected it looked to me like Marshall was about to punch the ball away, goalies getting too much protection my arse

BegbieHSC
31-01-2023, 08:46 PM
Get it to ****. It’s actually made things worse, cause it’s a bunch of huns/incompetents getting together to vindicate each others awful decisions. We have seen zero benefit, or protection from diabolical decisions since it came in. We should genuinely make an inquiry to the SFA about it.

Tbf however, their goal shouldn’t have needed VAR to chop it off, given it was pretty blatant what happened.

BoyledEgg
31-01-2023, 08:47 PM
Wouldn’t have made a difference with or without VAR, the referee somehow didn’t blow for a foul anyway.

LunasBoots
Same cheating useless referees running it, fall back on this not clear and obvious bull crap and know thet they can get away with it.

McGruber
Absolute joke. Gets worse every time you see it.

VAR clowns in the studio - maybe thinking well, the Hibs keeper probably didn't think so, doesn't complain and no real outrage from the other players.

Helensburghhibs
With no var the ref gives that...... he doesn't give it because he relies on various but var reckons it's not clear and obvious enough..... farce

Never mind VAR, the ref was looking right at it.

Those incompetent clowns are making Scottish football a laughing stock.

JJP
31-01-2023, 08:48 PM
Sick of bad decisions costing us. Never seems to be to our benefit. Total corruption.

AL-Qaholik
31-01-2023, 08:48 PM
Genuinely makes me wonder what the point of watching Scottish football is any more.
Another, even more blatant/powerful, tool in the hands of the corrupt ****s at the top of Scottish football to ensure they always get the results they want.
Completely shameful - but nobody will ever call it out.

31-01-2023, 08:49 PM
Never wanted it up here. Posted many times that I thought that anyone thinking that it would some how wipe out injustices up here were off their heads.

Same idiot officials making decisions, regardless of the technology available.

Hibs really need to voice their displeasure over that scandal tonight. We can’t just sit on our hands and accept such disgraceful officiating. VAR is unworkable in Scotland and not fit for purpose. Questions need to be asked about its viability moving forward and whether or not we can continue to trust Scottish Football with it. The answer is clearly no.

Cheated out of three points.

pogo
Looked to me like Marshall had it covered, about to punch out, then taken out completely by 2 County players. Love to know how VAR officials think he ended up wrapped up in the back of his own net with no contact!

ErinGoBraghHFC
31-01-2023, 08:50 PM
Its operated by masons and orange *******s what do you expect

Correct

RoscoHibby
31-01-2023, 08:50 PM
Only decent one we had was Madden n he’s away down south.

Can we not just hire a raft of Spanish or Portuguese guys or something? It’s actually laughable now. I’m sure these jokers get about £1500 a match? Surely we could get some actual impartial refs for at least that? Preferably former players, that ref the night never played a game in his life, you can just see it.

Don’t want to go down the Celtic paranoid route, but off top of my head;

Broke their own rules to give hertz a pen

Aberdeen away penalty debacle

That the night

If you think back to big Myk’s goal chalked off at tannadice, then that is given…wow, just wow.

There are more I can’t think of just now, but VAR just seems to ensure we’re doubly ****ed over by these ‘referees’

Daydreamer
31-01-2023, 08:51 PM
Its about time Ron gordon or Kinsell had a meeting with whoever is in charge of the referees. This is just not on. This is blatant cheating and I am sick of all these decisions going against us.

Can we not get officials from abroad to operate VAR? Fed up with these corrupt cheats from the West wrecking the game in this country.

JammyDoidger

Can we not just hire a raft of Spanish or Portuguese guys or something? It’s actually laughable now. I’m sure these jokers get about £1500 a match? Surely we could get some actual impartial refs for at least that? Preferably former players, that ref the night never played a game in his life, you can just see it.

That the night

If you think back to big Myk’s goal chalked off at tannadice, then that is given…wow, just wow.

There are more I can’t think of just now, but VAR just seems to ensure we’re doubly ****ed over by these ‘referees’

Couple at rugby park too.

31-01-2023, 08:52 PM
Cheating *******s

18Craig75
31-01-2023, 08:52 PM
The first ref in history not to give a foul in that situation. Bottled it think VAR would pull him out the s***.

All that the introduction of VAR has done is promote poor referees beyond their capabilities. We’re part time refs ffs, where are they getting them from.

RoscoHibby
31-01-2023, 08:53 PM
Couple at rugby park too.

Cants.

31-01-2023, 08:55 PM

That the night

Foul in the build up to hearts second goal at ER, vital moment in the tie.

Radge70
31-01-2023, 08:55 PM

VAR clowns in the studio - maybe thinking well, the Hibs keeper probably didn't think so, doesn't complain and no real outrage from the other players.

Agree with that, where as county players were in the refs face the entire game and got a lot more than they should have as a result

RoscoHibby
31-01-2023, 08:57 PM

Oh aye, Nisbet got an elbow in the puss for the first as well….

31-01-2023, 09:01 PM
Levein on the radio saying Marshall with his experience doesn’t need to get boxed in like that. Completely straight face not challenged by anyone in the studio. Mental.

hibsdaft
31-01-2023, 09:02 PM
Levein on the radio saying Marshall with his experience doesn’t need to get boxed in like that. Completely straight face not challenged by anyone in the studio. Mental.

Our fault for not having a defender between Marsh and their attackers apparently. "Naive". Unbelievable stuff.

31-01-2023, 09:03 PM
Who was the ref on VAR tonight?

LunasBoots
31-01-2023, 09:04 PM

It's the BBC, only care about certain teams, its a foul in any other game on the planet

31-01-2023, 09:05 PM
It’s actually made the injustices against us even worse. There’s no team in the league that has been cheated by VAR more than us. Absolute joke.

31-01-2023, 09:05 PM
https://streamable.com/fmpafv

Its clearly a foul and an obvious one with Watson charging in

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

31-01-2023, 09:06 PM
Yet another week and another shocking decision against us. I seem to write this every week now but we are yet to have a single VAR decision rule in our favour. Must be around 6/7 decisions against and 0 for now.

31-01-2023, 09:14 PM
Will Hibs ever call it out or will we continue to have no backbone.

Also the players should be surrounding the referee, instead they just take their positions and wait for kick off

31-01-2023, 09:17 PM
It's. A baffling decision

Watson clearly just comes and barges into Marshall

Its about as easy a foul on the goalie you will see

White is probably fouling too but Watson is the clear one https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230131/5a8c5cbcf2cc456c5376636a97c5c944.jpg

31-01-2023, 09:17 PM
Just get it tae f***

31-01-2023, 09:18 PM
Will Hibs ever call it out or will we continue to have no backbone.

Also the players should be surrounding the referee, instead they just take their positions and wait for kick off

And shake thier heads.

HIBS NUTS
Awful decision again
We might go through the whole season not getting a decision, definitely cost us a lot of potential points.

Suprised no one knows who was on VAR???

31-01-2023, 09:21 PM
Whats the point?! We've had what, one penalty given for us from var. Everything else has gone against us! Wish someone from the club would come out and say thats enough. These refs just cant do the job.

Lee Johnston did speak out about it in his interview

Partyraiser
31-01-2023, 09:21 PM

The killie away "penalty" and goldsons handball in the box at ibrox too!

31-01-2023, 09:22 PM
Just get it tae f***

I actually agree. Week after week it just highlights there's literally no point in having it if the people using it are absolutely useless and not qualified to do their job.

Ron D Hibbie
31-01-2023, 09:23 PM

Alan newlands. Not even a regular premiership ref.

Alan Newlands

The killie away "penalty" and goldsons handball in the box at ibrox too!

Big Kuch at utd disallowed goal. When you compare the contact to this it is scandalous.

31-01-2023, 09:25 PM
Big Kuch at utd disallowed goal. When you compare the contact to this it is scandalous.

A good comparison. Lack of consistency in their decisions is wild.

31-01-2023, 09:26 PM
Video of the goal here.

Its an absolute SCANDAL.

https://twitter.com/Barlosthecat/status/1620540363126755328

Alan newlands. Not even a regular premiership ref.

Cheers. He's a joke.

If that is the Uglies that is a foul on the goalkeeper every time

No doubt about it

31-01-2023, 09:27 PM
Who was the ref on VAR tonight?

Alan Newlands

31-01-2023, 09:27 PM
Can we not get officials from abroad to operate VAR? Fed up with these corrupt cheats from the West wrecking the game in this country.
That's what I would go for as well as some of the VAR decisions or lack of decisions are now becoming a joke. I have seen numerous challenges on goalkeepers this season with minimal contact given as fouls.
Rangers seem to benefit from more decisions or lack of decisions from VAR than other clubs. Other clubs forums seem to echo the same opinion.

31-01-2023, 09:28 PM
It's. A baffling decision

Watson clearly just comes and barges into Marshall

Its about as easy a foul on the goalie you will see

White is probably fouling too but Watson is the clear one https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230131/5a8c5cbcf2cc456c5376636a97c5c944.jpg

The ref had to give it, it’s a free kick in every game. To then compound it by reviewing it back and still not giving it is unbelievable. We’ve been at the wrong end of a good few VAR decisions and never had a questionable one in our favour. When you look at the ones Rangers have escaped with it beggars belief. There has to be more in this than just bad luck, it’s actually added to the already harsh deal we get from officials.

31-01-2023, 09:28 PM
I actually agree. Week after week it just highlights there's literally no point in having it if the people using it are absolutely useless and not qualified to do their job.

They did do their job. VAR was always going to be as good as the people looking at it. Cheating, corrupt west coast ref’s got their dream Christmas present

Chorley Hibee
31-01-2023, 09:31 PM
Compare that foul tonight (that wasn't given) to the foul (penalty) awarded to Rangers at the weekend.

The more this continues the more I'm ready to chuck the game up here.

What is the point in propping up this farce.

31-01-2023, 09:32 PM
The ref had to give it, it’s a free kick in every game. To then compound it by reviewing it back and still not giving it is unbelievable. We’ve been at the wrong end of a good few VAR decisions and never had a questionable one in our favour. When you look at the ones Rangers have escaped with it beggars belief. There has to be more in this than just bad luck, it’s actually added to the already harsh deal we get from officials.

Agree about the ref. There's actually a point before play resumes where the camera is focussed on him with a few Hibs players around him complaining, he seems to mouth 'nothing to do with me, VAR is checking'. It's ****ing absolutely something to do with you, do your job and give the foul in the first instance.

If it's nothing to do with ref's then just get them to **** and let the game be run by VAR.

31-01-2023, 09:33 PM
Alan Newlands

This gimp. Surprised he is from Glasgow :fibber:

https://scottishcomedyfc.com/spfl-referee-alan-newlands/

31-01-2023, 09:35 PM
This gimp. Surprised he is from Glasgow :fibber:

https://scottishcomedyfc.com/spfl-referee-alan-newlands/

Absolute corrupt clown.

#2 Double Tap
31-01-2023, 09:35 PM
Compare that foul tonight (that wasn't given) to the foul (penalty) awarded to Rangers at the weekend.

The more this continues the more I'm ready to chuck the game up here.

What is the point in propping up this farce.

i think a lotta people are feeling that way.

HarpOnHibee
31-01-2023, 09:36 PM
Alan Newlands

The unholy spawn of Alan Freeland no doubt :grr:

31-01-2023, 09:36 PM
The best referees we had in this country was when the Scottish refs went on strike and we had foreign refs. R H Davidson would be proud of the refs today

31-01-2023, 09:37 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/var-cost-us-fourth-says-hibs-boss-lee-johnson-as-he-slams-ross-county-goal-and-speaks-on-kevin-nisbet-injury-4009042

31-01-2023, 09:47 PM
Opinion on VAR hasn’t changed since the first day it was introduced in world football.

Same **** decisions, now just takes longer to make them and ruins watching the game while they’re at it.

A constant ****ing nonsense.

31-01-2023, 09:52 PM
Serious question here - would it be appropriate for a member of the public to make a complaint to the Police over this incident? It's as clear an indicator of match fixing as you're ever likely to see - like the VAR guy has been nobbled or something. I know some naive types will give it the "it could never happen here" line - but match fixing DOES happen around the world and in multiple sports and I see no reason to believe that Scottish football refs are somehow immune to corruption - are they not always complaining about their pay afterall? In this case it's so blatant that I would have thought an arrest and confiscation of laptops/phones etc for investigation would be a reasonable step to take. How can someone possibly get something so incredibly wrong?

HarpOnHibee
31-01-2023, 09:53 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/bNXqPHng/VARcheck.gif

HibeeHibernian4
31-01-2023, 09:58 PM
Did we get asked if we wanted var by anyone at the club?

31-01-2023, 10:04 PM
Seems like it's only two teams that are benefiting from this farce and that's the huns and that maroon trash 😡💩

31-01-2023, 10:06 PM
Am I right to think that clubs are actually paying for VAR and the higher up you finish the more you pay for it ?

So guess who top 2 are..guess who pays the most for it..

Co-incidence ?

31-01-2023, 10:06 PM
Did anyone see the rangers game at the weekend? Don’t know why st Johnstone even bothered turning up

31-01-2023, 10:07 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/bNXqPHng/VARcheck.gifNah, malky McKay said there was no contact

And David Marshall said it was the wind made him off balance

31-01-2023, 10:09 PM
A good comparison. Lack of consistency in their decisions is wild.

The decisions are very consistent. We never get them.

31-01-2023, 10:11 PM
VAR just shows how bad are refs are and always have been.

Sooner we get a higher level of refs the better - not sure why we don’t open it to all and not just local Scottish refs ? Seems a bit backwards and closed shop.

HarpOnHibee
31-01-2023, 10:13 PM
not sure why we don’t open it to all and not just local Scottish refs ?

I am.

31-01-2023, 10:13 PM

Sooner we get a higher level of refs the better - not sure why we don’t open it to all and not just local Scottish refs ? Seems a bit backwards and closed shop.

We don’t even open it up to local Scottish refs… mostly just weegie refs

31-01-2023, 10:16 PM

We don’t even get “local Scottish refs”. Local if you’re in Glasgow/Lanarkshire. Opening it to Scottish referees from the East, North East, Tayside, Perth, Highlands etc would be a start. But as you say, it’s a closed shop.

31-01-2023, 10:16 PM
The decisions are very consistent. We never get them.In a nutshell.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

31-01-2023, 10:19 PM
Did anyone see the rangers game at the weekend? Don’t know why st Johnstone even bothered turning up

Saw the highlights - THREE highly questionable decisions in one game - all going Rangers' way - nothing to see here then...

HarpOnHibee
31-01-2023, 10:20 PM
Saw the highlights - THREE highly questionable decisions in one game - all going Rangers' way - nothing to see here then...

They weren't even questionable. It was three wrong decisions.

31-01-2023, 10:21 PM

I saw the ex Aberdeen player saying it should have been a pen to St Johnstone... The Jack foul was in the St Johnstone box 😂

hfc-1875
01-02-2023, 05:35 AM
What is the actual point of having var? The standard of refereeing has got worse since it come in!! Every game every week there’s at least 1 big mistake, penalty red card etc. absolute shambles cost us 2 points last night.

jakedance
01-02-2023, 06:06 AM
I can’t believe I was naive enough to think VAR would be a good thing for Scottish football.

Hibs have to be smarter though. Marshall is too quick to his feet and the players need to be outraged and swarming round the ref. Nothing I like to see but we’re getting nothing from them.

01-02-2023, 06:26 AM
Absolute joke.

Celtic had a goal chopped off at Tiny when Gordon ran into his own player and fell down. That last night was a foul no ifs no buts no maybes a definite foul on Marshall! I really don’t understand how VAR doesn’t give that!

It’s cheating plain and simple!

01-02-2023, 06:31 AM
I can’t believe I was naive enough to think VAR would be a good thing for Scottish football.

Hibs have to be smarter though. Marshall is too quick to his feet and the players need to be outraged and swarming round the ref. Nothing I like to see but we’re getting nothing from them.

At least you’re honest enough to admit it. I remember being lectured about how I was a dinosaur for predicting it would result in worse decisions and the delays would spoil the ‘product’.

01-02-2023, 06:32 AM
Kensell needs to come out and publicly demand a meeting with the head of refs.

Demand an explanation on this goal and start publicising 3 or 4 of the worse calls we’ve been the victim of. Johnson needs to mention it in every interview pre match.

Let’s make a massive issue of it and put more pressure on these cheats

01-02-2023, 06:37 AM
Aberdeen away dive penalty at 0v0
Huns handball at Ibrox
Last night foul on Marshall

Feel like I’ve missed others ?

This is only in a few months too - not even a full season.

01-02-2023, 06:38 AM
Kensell needs to come out and publicly demand a meeting with the head of refs.

Demand an explanation on this goal and start publicising 3 or 4 of the worse calls we’ve been the victim of. Johnson needs to mention it in every interview pre match.

Let’s make a massive issue of it and put more pressure on these cheats

Kensell did that last season and the decisions just got worse.

expresso
01-02-2023, 06:58 AM
Still raging at their equaliser last night.
Truly incredible how it was allowed the 2 County players targeted Marshall and were nowhere near the ball.
Without their challenge it was a routine save.
Not surprisingly Levein and co saw nothing wrong with goal on Sportsound.

SickBoy32
01-02-2023, 07:19 AM
Outrageous again last night, the club need to be publicly raising this with the SFA

Pointless even taking part in the charade of the SPL at this stage

01-02-2023, 07:55 AM
Just watched the replays again and I shouldn't have. That's the blood pressure high again. How between the referee at the game and the VAR official they saw nothing wrong with that last night I dont know. Whether incompetent or cheats it doesn't matter but we have been on the wrong end of VAR wrong decisions since it cane in. Hibs should be demanding a meeting regarding this. Celtic did it after a few bad decisions and we should too.
Aberdeen away
Huns away
Hearts two weeks ago
Dundee utd away
Last night
Pretty sure there have been other that I just can't remember at the moment. But between last night and Utd away that is 4 points it has cost us. Ibrox, a pen to go 3-1 up, arguably another 3 points. ****ing disgrace

01-02-2023, 08:27 AM
It was announced a few weeks back that refs will start to explain decisions during the game in future games.

Can’t wait for this to hear what the Glasgow refs are saying - at least they won’t be able to hide then.

01-02-2023, 08:43 AM
It was announced a few weeks back that refs will start to explain decisions during the game in future games.

Can’t wait for this to hear what the Glasgow refs are saying - at least they won’t be able to hide then.

Won’t make any difference at all, just like VAR hasn’t.

01-02-2023, 08:50 AM

People said the exact same when VAR was proposed for Scotland.

They’re not hiding now and still won’t be hiding when explanations are introduced.

So blatant it’s actually laughable.

01-02-2023, 08:51 AM
With no var the ref gives that...... he doesn't give it because he relies on various but var reckons it's not clear and obvious enough..... farce
Exactly. Ref copped out of a decision in favour of his safety net. Just about every match you see fouls given in favour of goalies which are miles weaker than that. Shocker.
We need a spare goalie who can be sacrificed at East Mains training sessions by having our biggest players repeatedly practise barging him off his feet and into the goals. Any volunteers?

01-02-2023, 08:55 AM

allyh1bs
01-02-2023, 09:04 AM
Once I’d calmed down last night, my first thought was that they really need to check the betting patterns on that game - it was so blatant!

01-02-2023, 09:48 AM
Nicky Clark wins his appeal over the red card at Ibrox.

Is that the second red card this season that a ref, and VAR, have given that’s been overturned on appeal?

Not fit for purpose.

01-02-2023, 09:50 AM
It's becoming so demoralising. All you have to do is sneeze next to a keeper and it's a foul. Unless of course it's the Hibs keeper who is fair game to be blocked and fouled by two opposition players. Cost us the three points.

01-02-2023, 09:53 AM

They used to do this previously it was called whistleblower on sfa site. It lasted about a month. They should be forced to explain all key var decisions especially the var guy who is probably sitting in his Rangers top. Should be like rugby where you can hear the discussion between ref and var guy. Not sure if that is only tv rather than crowd at the game.

Why was the decision not looked at for a decent time rather than an immediate wrong decision reached?

01-02-2023, 10:05 AM
To paraphrase Lincoln in a way that explains SFA Officiating;

It is better to be thought of as corrupt than to employ VAR and prove it beyond doubt.:agree:

MKHIBEE
01-02-2023, 10:08 AM

” Hibs have complained about the standard of refereeing”
“ Lets give them something to complain about”

01-02-2023, 10:16 AM
To paraphrase Lincoln in a way that explains SFA Officiating;

It is better to be thought of as corrupt than to employ VAR and prove it beyond doubt.:agree:

Got to say that pre-VAR I would thought it was my own bias that led me to think refs favour Rangers* but the evidence to the contrary is fairly stacking up. How many questionable decisions are going for Rangers? Practically every game. How many are going against them? Can't think of any at all. How many are going against the teams Rangers fans traditionally hate? Loads!

When you think about how the Old Rangers escaped all meaningful punishment for their years of tax fraud and how the New Rangers were rushed in to replace them, then add all this VAR/ref'ing stuff on top, I think it's actually pretty clear that Scottish football had and still has a massive Rangers problem running right through it.

Call me paranoid, but Occam's razor and me are agreed. :greengrin

* either version.

01-02-2023, 10:35 AM
Still raging at their equaliser last night.
Truly incredible how it was allowed the 2 County players targeted Marshall and were nowhere near the ball.
Without their challenge it was a routine save.
Not surprisingly Levein and co saw nothing wrong with goal on Sportsound.

We have two problems.

1. The corrupt officiating
2. The complicit Scottish sports media

01-02-2023, 10:51 AM
It's becoming so demoralising. All you have to do is sneeze next to a keeper and it's a foul. Unless of course it's the Hibs keeper who is fair game to be blocked and fouled by two opposition players. Cost us the three points.

Yep huge decision in our season. Do genuinely feel sorry for Johnson as he has been on the wrong end of a few shockers with last night simply ridiculous. Win would have given some feel good and confidence after Saturday and looking forward to a big game at the weekend. Do genuinely think we get the short end of the stick re decisions for some reason

01-02-2023, 10:53 AM

Yep they don't like to be told they are garbage

01-02-2023, 10:54 AM
Got to say that pre-VAR I would thought it was my own bias that led me to think refs favour Rangers* but the evidence to the contrary is fairly stacking up. How many questionable decisions are going for Rangers? Practically every game. How many are going against them? Can't think of any at all. How many are going against the teams Rangers fans traditionally hate? Loads!

When you think about how the Old Rangers escaped all meaningful punishment for their years of tax fraud and how the New Rangers were rushed in to replace them, then add all this VAR/ref'ing stuff on top, I think it's actually pretty clear that Scottish football had and still has a massive Rangers problem running right through it.

* either version.

Absolutely spot on.

01-02-2023, 10:58 AM

I see the Saintees' player won his appeal against the red card.

https://twitter.com/StJohnstone/status/1620722260318339072

01-02-2023, 11:04 AM
I can just about see how the ref could miss the barge on Marshall, there's always lots of stuff going on at corners, and he could have been looking at some other part of the goal area when it happened.

What i cant understand it VAR not over ruling the goal.

Just_Jimmy
01-02-2023, 11:07 AM
Scottish football is bent. We've know that forever.

I'm not even arsed about it anymore. What's the point? I will stop paying to support the corruption however.

01-02-2023, 11:08 AM
Scottish football is bent. We've know that forever.

I'm not even arsed about it anymore. What's the point? I will stop paying to support the corruption however.

Scottish Poundland VAR added to the other nonsense like Old Firm never play each other 1st game of the season.

Game is corrupt but everyone just accepts it.

01-02-2023, 11:16 AM

* either version.
How many penalties have The Rangers conceded this season 0
🤔🤔🤔🤔

01-02-2023, 11:28 AM
They used to do this previously it was called whistleblower on sfa site. It lasted about a month. They should be forced to explain all key var decisions especially the var guy who is probably sitting in his Rangers top. Should be like rugby where you can hear the discussion between ref and var guy. Not sure if that is only tv rather than crowd at the game.

Why was the decision not looked at for a decent time rather than an immediate wrong decision reached?

I think this is different. There's a trial so that what they are saying on the pitch (and I guess in the VAR room) is broadcast. Similar to rugby I think. No colluding on the pitch ("Dougie, Dougie") and then getting their story straight after the match.

01-02-2023, 11:35 AM
https://twitter.com/jameslu7980808/status/1620540157857497089?s=46&t=P45Ndj7nR4M2hJ59PJqRFw

Donegal Hibby
01-02-2023, 11:40 AM
🤔🤔🤔🤔
They did get one against St Johnstone at the weekend were the commentator on sky said it was James Taverniers 47 goal for sevco from the penalty spot and yet it must be over 40 games now since ones been given against them!

01-02-2023, 11:42 AM
Hearts have had eight penalties this season not including Europe and friendlies

01-02-2023, 12:07 PM
I can just about see how the ref could miss the barge on Marshall, there's always lots of stuff going on at corners, and he could have been looking at some other part of the goal area when it happened.

What i cant understand it VAR not over ruling the goal.

Yep giveaway was Marshall in the back of the net like a newly caught Trout. Guy didn't look at it long enough as seemed a quick decision. Incredible anyone looking at that fairly and given we aren't playing in the days of Nat Lofthouse could seriously consider that not a foul.

01-02-2023, 12:08 PM
I think this is different. There's a trial so that what they are saying on the pitch (and I guess in the VAR room) is broadcast. Similar to rugby I think. No colluding on the pitch ("Dougie, Dougie") and then getting their story straight after the match.

That would be good for that reason can't see it happen.

01-02-2023, 12:16 PM
Missed it at the weekend but caught the sportscene segment with Dougal(!?) And Foster. What frustrated me most was Dougal's complete contempt for an ex pro. His condescending tone that very clearly the ref got it right only for it to be overturned is laughable

We got shafted last night, we could be sittiny 4th with a bit of momentum. But the refs aren't good enough, are so out of touch with the players and continue to be pro rangers is extremely worrying

Watch the ref watch on sky sports on a Monday and see how engaging their ex ref is with whatever ex pro is on. Night and day

01-02-2023, 12:28 PM
https://twitter.com/jameslu7980808/status/1620540157857497089?s=46&t=P45Ndj7nR4M2hJ59PJqRFw
Not one of the Ross County players are looking at the ball,one of them has a flying elbow in Marshalls face. I remember watching an explanation from a ref about their directive, he said that if the goalkeeper is off the ground attempting to play the ball any physical contact will be penalised with a foul. The attacker would have to have played the ball before the goalkeeper and have their eye on the ball.

Helensburghhibs
01-02-2023, 12:29 PM
The var shouldn't need to think it's a mistake for him to tell the ref to check.

01-02-2023, 12:37 PM
��������

Just look at their record, this season 0, last season 2, Season 20/21 0 (lowest in league), Season 19/20 2 (lowest in league), Season 18/19 2 (Lowest in league)

There is no hiding the corruption, I've seen the argument that they don't have many attacks made against them so give away fewer, if that was the case Celtc would concede less than them but they usually sit mid-table for pens conceded.

01-02-2023, 12:43 PM
Every game now I’m expecting either the ref or var to give at least one game changing decision against us.

Sat against Aberdeen was a one-off, refreshing exception.

01-02-2023, 12:46 PM
Yep giveaway was Marshall in the back of the net like a newly caught Trout. Guy didn't look at it long enough as seemed a quick decision. Incredible anyone looking at that fairly and given we aren't playing in the days of Nat Lofthouse could seriously consider that not a foul.

A frankly outrageous decision, given nobody touched the ball how do they think Marshall ended up in the back of the net?

01-02-2023, 12:48 PM
Just look at their record, this season 0, last season 2 (lowest in league), Season 20/21 0 (lowest in league), Season 19/20 2 (lowest in league), Season 18/19 2 (Lowest in league)

There is no hiding the corruption, I've seen the argument that they don't have many attacks made against them so give away fewer, if that was the case Celtc would concede less than them but they usually sit mid-table for pens conceded.

I think VAR has laid bare the corruption. Before VAR, every one off game where the Rangers benifitted from dodgy decisions could be dismissed as (1) The ref making a mistake in a one off game and (2) Celtic getting the same dodgy decisions in their favour.

Now that VAR gives the officials the opportunity to correct wrong refereeing decisions and repeatedly they fail to do it and also Celtic getting shafted by VAR as well, the corruption is left exposed.

01-02-2023, 12:59 PM
A frankly outrageous decision, given nobody touched the ball how do they think Marshall ended up in the back of the net?
The Dingwall wind obviously.

01-02-2023, 01:16 PM
I think VAR has laid bare the corruption. Before VAR, every one off game where the Rangers benifitted from dodgy decisions could be dismissed as (1) The ref making a mistake in a one off game and (2) Celtic getting the same dodgy decisions in their favour.

Now that VAR gives the officials the opportunity to correct wrong refereeing decisions and repeatedly they fail to do it and also Celtic getting shafted by VAR as well, the corruption is left exposed.

Totally agree with this.

seanshow
01-02-2023, 01:18 PM
2012, don't forget the powers at be would have granted a new club a place straight into the top tier at any cost, reconstruction, kick out another club,whatever it takes.
The ultimate fk fair play eye opener that anyone would need.
And it would have happened too, if it wasn't for a collective response from the fans of the other clubs.(apart frm celtic boardroom)

It's been a cartel, dead league for knocking on 40 years.

01-02-2023, 02:19 PM
https://twitter.com/jamlang22/status/1620699263612383233

01-02-2023, 02:28 PM
Scottish Poundland VAR added to the other nonsense like Old Firm never play each other 1st game of the season.

Game is corrupt but everyone just accepts it.

This is the problem - everyone just accepts it - everyone should not accept it!
One thing that VAR is doing very successfully is demonstrating beyond a shadow of a doubt that our game in Scotland is irredeemably corrupt. In the past you could always say it was human error - or unconscious bias - or the crowd factor. Not one of these excuses hold any water with VAR in the mix - leaving only brazen unabashed corruption as the only feasible explanation.

01-02-2023, 02:34 PM
I posted earlier in the thread..but it’s totally bonkers the higher up the league you are the more you pay at end of the season for VAR.

Old firm always top 2 and pay more.

Surely it’s an equal payment if it’s done that way and if you can’t afford it you shouldn’t be in the top league.

Also get rid of substandard over used community pitches like Livi and Kilie.

01-02-2023, 02:36 PM
This is the problem - everyone just accepts it - everyone should not accept it!
One thing that VAR is doing very successfully is demonstrating beyond a shadow of a doubt that our game in Scotland is irredeemably corrupt. In the past you could always say it was human error - or unconscious bias - or the crowd factor. Not one of these excuses hold any water with VAR in the mix - leaving only brazen unabashed corruption as the only feasible explanation.
That's why we need at least a month's trial with non Scottish refs in the VAR booth. I doubt very much if the results would be the same. We need mote transparency as this will go on and on and on. The referees job on the pitch is difficult but the are no excuses for VAR getting things so wrong.

Fratelli
01-02-2023, 03:33 PM
We have two problems.

Totally agree but you could also add a 3rd problem and that is the way the Clubs themselves handle these types of situations.

The media in Scotland are rank amateurs, whether it’s the written press or the TV/radio and just will not have a proper grown-up debate at all about our officials, VAR and the obvious bias that one particular club seems to get. It’s all shouted down before any debate can start with the usual suspects saying ‘No, I don’t believe our officials are corrupt’ or ‘There is no need for referees in Scotland to publicly admit to having an allegiance to any team (unlike the vast majority of countries) as I don’t believe they are biased…’ They hide behind just calling them incompetent!

Last night, I would have liked LJ to say that ‘I’ve asked the Club to contact the SFA/Crawford Allan for an explanation on the RC goal and the decision making process around VAR…’ and thereby hopefully the debate starts - Hibs can also engage ‘off the record’ with sympathetic local journo’s and ex-players and maybe, just maybe we will not be seen as a soft touch.

I also think St Johnstone should have been more vociferous about the ridiculous decisions by Willie Collum and the VAR officials at the weekend.

If the Clubs stay silent, then the game is well and truly ****** and we are mugs for continuing to pay for the privilege of being sh*t on from a great height.

01-02-2023, 03:35 PM
Totally agree but you could also add a 3rd problem and that is the way the Clubs themselves handle these types of situations.

The media in Scotland are rank amateurs, whether it’s the written press or the TV/radio and just will not have a proper grown-up debate at all about our officials, VAR and the obvious bias that one particular club seems to get. It’s all shouted down before any debate can start with the usual suspects saying ‘No, I don’t believe our officials are corrupt’ or ‘There is no need for referees in Scotland to publicly admit to having an allegiance to any team (unlike the vast majority of countries) as I don’t believe they are biased…’ They hide behind just calling them incompetent!

Last night, I would have liked LJ to say that ‘I’ve asked the Club to contact the SFA/Crawford Allan for an explanation on the RC goal and the decision making process around VAR…’ and thereby hopefully the debate starts - Hibs can also engage ‘off the record’ with sympathetic local journo’s and ex-players and maybe, just maybe we will not be seen as a soft touch.

I also think St Johnstone should have been more vociferous about the ridiculous decisions by Willie Collum and the VAR officials at the weekend.

If the Clubs stay silent, then the game is well and truly ****** and we are mugs for continuing to pay for the privilege of being sh*t on from a great height.

Yes, agree on all points, and you are quite right, there are three problems not two.

wills
01-02-2023, 03:51 PM
Just pull the plug on VAR for games at ER. We’ve had nothing in our favour since it’s introduction.

MGmick
01-02-2023, 04:00 PM
I absolutely agree that the administration and media reporting of football in Scotland is corrupt. I would also add that I believe sectarianism/bigotry is involved.

We need to do something about it. But what can we do? What does Scottish football want from us? Our money? Easy then, stop giving them it. Problem is doing that hurts the clubs we support. But those clubs only exist to take part in Scottish football.

Catch 22.

Mcbizz1998
01-02-2023, 04:03 PM
We should send someone outwith the coaching staff, Kensall for now but eventually the DOF out to do the media interview after stuff like that happens.

Call out that VAR is farcical and only good for highlighting the cheating referees in this country. Will avoid the manager getting banned etc .

01-02-2023, 04:52 PM
Just get Tam McCourt back with a fake tash and sunny’s oan with a long Mac to turn off the plug at ER, they just play without it as demonstrated in the LC semi

02-02-2023, 01:37 PM
The award for the worst decision ever in a football match must go to the ref in the Ross County game.
Something that doesn't make sense is that a red card can be appealed an overturned even with VAR being in operation.
Surely the VAR refs can see a clear and obvious error. Calls into question the competence of the people in the VAR booth.

02-02-2023, 01:52 PM
We have two problems.

Last night STV lead the report on our game with "Hibs feel the goal should have been disallowed" Not it should have been, then moved onto something about a weegie buying/doing/saying something old firm related.

On Sportscene they didn't show half our attempts on goal, and not even a replay of the RC goal. They did say it should have been disallowed with smirks on their faces tho.

There is a real contempt for us in the media at the mo. The club and players need to grow a pair and start calling this out.

Donegal Hibby
02-02-2023, 11:20 PM
Lee Johnson speaks about VAR .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/am-i-signing-a-bouncer-lee-johnson-seeking-talks-with-sfa-as-hibs-boss-accuses-var-of-costing-his-team-points-4012415

02-02-2023, 11:26 PM
Lee Johnson speaks about VAR .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/am-i-signing-a-bouncer-lee-johnson-seeking-talks-with-sfa-as-hibs-boss-accuses-var-of-costing-his-team-points-4012415

Sounds to me that he is diplomatically saying that the people operating VAR are f***** useless. He's right too.

Donegal Hibby
02-02-2023, 11:49 PM
Sounds to me that he is diplomatically saying that the people operating VAR are f***** useless. He's right too.
Yeah , thats basically what I think he's saying too . Sad state of affairs when everyone can see this apart from the SFA ? then again maybe they don't want too !

03-02-2023, 06:03 AM

He speaks very well there.

03-02-2023, 06:10 AM
He speaks very well there.

He does however will probably ensure even less decisions go our way if possible. He should certainly be demanding an explanation for Tuesdays decision

McGruber
03-02-2023, 06:26 AM
He does however will probably ensure even less decisions go our way if possible. He should certainly be demanding an explanation for Tuesdays decision

I wouldn’t worry, I don't think it is possible, all decisions go against us anyway.

To say I'm not Johnson's biggest fan is an understatement, but I'm glad he's spoke up here. Kind of wish he would have listed some of the other bad calls against us aswell but at least he has made our point. Well said Lee

Crunchie
03-02-2023, 06:41 AM
Last night STV lead the report on our game with "Hibs feel the goal should have been disallowed" Not it should have been, then moved onto something about a weegie buying/doing/saying something old firm related.

On Sportscene they didn't show half our attempts on goal, and not even a replay of the RC goal. They did say it should have been disallowed with smirks on their faces tho.

There is a real contempt for us in the media at the mo. The club and players need to grow a pair and start calling this out.

Celtic did just that and got immediate results, mind you they seem to complain about decisions every year.

I think the players on the park should be more vocal, I don't like to see it personally but it's happening against us all the time.

The RC players were screaming at the ref after every tackle, had our players gone mad at the challenge on Marshall I'm convinced that goal would have been overturned.

Can you imagine if that challenge happened on Gordon? he would have been lying poleaxed in the goal with the Hearts players surrounding the ref.

Experienced pros like Hanlon and Stevenson in particular should have stepped up there. Porto damn well would and he's but a boy.

03-02-2023, 08:30 AM
Is it compulsory to have VAR for each game or can clubs say no.

03-02-2023, 08:38 AM

The "everyone is against us" siege mentality worked wonders for Fergie at Aberdeen. LJ has publicly said he's absolutely sick of calls going against us so i'm sure he's using it to motivate the players.

03-02-2023, 09:10 AM
Celtic did just that and got immediate results, mind you they seem to complain about decisions every year.

I think the players on the park should be more vocal, I don't like to see it personally but it's happening against us all the time.

The RC players were screaming at the ref after every tackle, had our players gone mad at the challenge on Marshall I'm convinced that goal would have been overturned.

Can you imagine if that challenge happened on Gordon? he would have been lying poleaxed in the goal with the Hearts players surrounding the ref.

Experienced pros like Hanlon and Stevenson in particular should have stepped up there. Porto damn well would and he's but a boy.
We do need to get streetwise. How the hell did 4 officals at the game and 3 in the VAR booth not see that as a foul. Says it all about the quality of the referees we have in this country. Would be good to get a referee to justify why that goal was awarded.

03-02-2023, 11:02 AM

Totally agree. Craig Gordon would’ve lain there until it was over turned.

03-02-2023, 11:08 AM

That bloody pair Hanlon and Stevenson again. If they weren’t so preoccupied with their foundation we’d be getting far more VAR decisions in our favour.

03-02-2023, 11:33 AM

Agree should have made much more of it. If that Hearts Gordon would have either rolled about or been screaming and chasing the ref. Don't think that helped however irrespective of that a horrible decision

GreenGray
03-02-2023, 06:36 PM
https://twitter.com/footballdaily/status/1621591793195274241?s=46&t=EwHlh5vod2B8C_qfbUDmmQ

Webb talking about how VAR is used in the Prem, as a safety net for errors. Whereas up here refs no longer make decisions as they know they have VAR, which then doesn’t even correct said errors.

03-02-2023, 07:32 PM
This is what I’m been wanting for ages..few days ago.

https://youtu.be/7dZ0alW0EAs

2 mins 45 seconds into this clip.

1st time it’s ever happened with VAR in club World Cup.

Ref explains decision to stadium and at home viewers - definitely progress.

03-02-2023, 07:35 PM
https://twitter.com/footballdaily/status/1621591793195274241?s=46&t=EwHlh5vod2B8C_qfbUDmmQ

Webb talking about how VAR is used in the Prem, as a safety net for errors. Whereas up here refs no longer make decisions as they know they have VAR, which then doesn’t even correct said errors.

What decisions do ref’s not make? It’s a foul or not a foul. If they think it’s foul they’ll give it if they don’t they won’t. Penalty or not a penalty. Handball or not handball. VAR corrects or otherwise. They still make decisions correctly or incorrectly. Your view is strange and doesn’t make sense.

03-02-2023, 07:42 PM

We need professional non Scottish based referees, the only way we can get an even playing field in Scottish football

Donegal Hibby
03-02-2023, 07:53 PM
This is what I’m been wanting for ages..few days ago.

https://youtu.be/7dZ0alW0EAs

2 mins 45 seconds into this clip.

1st time it’s ever happened with VAR in club World Cup.

Ref explains decision to stadium and at home viewers - definitely progress.
It would be good for fans to hear the referees explain decision's though I doubt it will change much when you have corrupt referee's like Walsh , Beaton in our game . Needs to be a complete overhaul with officials in the Scottish game or its going to keep happening with or without explanations.

03-02-2023, 08:19 PM
It would be good for fans to hear the referees explain decision's though I doubt it will change much when you have corrupt referee's like Walsh , Beaton in our game . Needs to be a complete overhaul with officials in the Scottish game or its going to keep happening with or without explanations.
An overhaul could happen quickly if the clubs (including Hibs) put their collective foot down. History has shown that they won't though, Scottish football is run in Glasgow for the benefit of the two Glasgow teams aided and abetted by the Lanarkshire Refereeing Association

Donegal Hibby
03-02-2023, 08:36 PM
An overhaul could happen quickly if the clubs (including Hibs) put their collective foot down. History has shown that they won't though, Scottish football is run in Glasgow for the benefit of the two Glasgow teams aided and abetted by the Lanarkshire Refereeing Association
It's what should be done , can't understand why clubs like ours , Aberdeen, Dundee Utd and the rest don't get together and at least try , old firm might be the big two and have all the power but if enough of the rest of us got together I think together we would have a strong voice and put some serious pressure on the SFA for change . Feels like clubs are frightened and don't want to rock the boat though.

03-02-2023, 10:15 PM
What decisions do ref’s not make? It’s a foul or not a foul. If they think it’s foul they’ll give it if they don’t they won’t. Penalty or not a penalty. Handball or not handball. VAR corrects or otherwise. They still make decisions correctly or incorrectly. Your view is strange and doesn’t make sense.

Think about Tuesday.

The referee left it up to VAR to call a foul for the barge on Marshall.

In yet another VARce, VAR decided not to get involved.

04-02-2023, 07:52 PM
Think about Tuesday.

The referee left it up to VAR to call a foul for the barge on Marshall.

In yet another VARce, VAR decided not to get involved.
Think about it. The ref didn’t think it was a foul and gave the goal. VAR checked and somehow ( imo wrongly)agreed. If they’ve both seen something that everyone else has missed (again imo) this should be disseminated with no need for everyone guessing as to why a foul wasn’t given.we would all know why. As it stands VAR backed the refs decision after they checked it. Not the other way round. As an aside without VAR on Tuesday it’s still a goal for County.

Just_Jimmy
04-02-2023, 08:11 PM
Scottish football is bent.

Nothing else needs said.

04-02-2023, 10:16 PM
Think about it. The ref didn’t think it was a foul and gave the goal. VAR checked and somehow ( imo wrongly)agreed. If they’ve both seen something that everyone else has missed (again imo) this should be disseminated with no need for everyone guessing as to why a foul wasn’t given.we would all know why. As it stands VAR backed the refs decision after they checked it. Not the other way round. As an aside without VAR on Tuesday it’s still a goal for County.

The point is that referees are chickening out of making a decision in case they get it wrong, so they wait for VAR to make the decision for them. Remove VAR and the referees will start making decisions again. It's the same with offsides - the linesmen are keeping their flags down because they know VAR will have a look if a goal is scored.

04-02-2023, 10:25 PM
The point is that referees are chickening out of making a decision in case they get it wrong, so they wait for VAR to make the decision for them. Remove VAR and the referees will start making decisions again. It's the same with offsides - the linesmen are keeping their flags down because they know VAR will have a look if a goal is scored.

The offside thing is different as I understand it. If an offside is called wrongly and play is stopped then the goal opportunity is lost. Better to disallow a goal than wrongly prevent an opportunity.

GreenGray
04-02-2023, 10:28 PM

I’ve noticed refs steering away from making decision themselves and instead relying on VAR to do it for them. You aren’t defending Var are you?

04-02-2023, 10:39 PM
I’ve noticed refs steering away from making decision themselves and instead relying on VAR to do it for them. You aren’t defending Var are you?

VAR isn't a problem if used properly. It's the people in charge of it that's the problem. They are making too many "mistakes"

ChilliEater
05-02-2023, 12:09 AM
Just watched the highlights of the Hearts v Dundee Utd game. How on Earth is that a red card? Slightly more borderline, but they also get away with a decent penalty shout at 0-1 too - quite similar to the type of handball that Rocky got penalised for against them.

I guess we're getting exactly what all supporters ask for - consistent decision making. It's just "consistently favouring certain teams" isn't what was meant.

05-02-2023, 05:39 AM
We need professional non Scottish based referees, the only way we can get an even playing field in Scottish football

I liked when they went on strike.

05-02-2023, 10:30 AM

My point is they are doing no such thing. A decision has to be made one way or another. They can’t just not make a decision. The incident either happens or it doesn’t. Foul. Goal. Handball. Penalty. Red Card. Yellow card. It’s impossible to ignore it.

05-02-2023, 10:31 AM

As explained above. They aren’t. VAR isn’t the problem. It’s the use it’s the lack of explication of its use.

05-02-2023, 01:49 PM
My point is they are doing no such thing. A decision has to be made one way or another. They can’t just not make a decision. The incident either happens or it doesn’t. Foul. Goal. Handball. Penalty. Red Card. Yellow card. It’s impossible to ignore it.

Very few decisions are absolute and most involve some judgment by the official who only sees the incident in real time and from one angle which may be partly obscured. It's entirely understandable that referees are giving fewer fouls if the decision isn't 100% obvious when they know that they have VAR to help them.

Anyway, I'm clearly not doing a good enough job of explaining this so I'll bow out.

GreenGray
05-02-2023, 03:06 PM
As explained above. They aren’t. VAR isn’t the problem. It’s the use it’s the lack of explication of its use.

The fact VAR is there in the first place is causing the problem no?

GRA
05-02-2023, 03:31 PM
Just watched the highlights of the Hearts v Dundee Utd game. How on Earth is that a red card? Slightly more borderline, but they also get away with a decent penalty shout at 0-1 too - quite similar to the type of handball that Rocky got penalised for against them.
I guess we're getting exactly what all supporters ask for - consistent decision making. It's just "consistently favouring certain teams" isn't what was meant.

Even Robbie was in the papers quoted as saying he'd be disappointed if one of his players was sent off for that challenge.

It's only been in operation for 4 months but the general balance of decisions that seem to be going against Hibs/Celtic but for Hearts/Rangers is really concerning

GreenGray
05-02-2023, 03:44 PM
VAR isn't a problem if used properly. It's the people in charge of it that's the problem. They are making too many "mistakes"

I Guarantee even if the people in charge weren’t making mistakes there would still be arguments over it. People will never agree on objective decisions such as handball, red cards etc so why bother with it?

05-02-2023, 06:38 PM
Even Robbie was in the papers quoted as saying he'd be disappointed if one of his players was sent off for that challenge.

It's only been in operation for 4 months but the general balance of decisions that seem to be going against Hibs/Celtic but for Hearts/Rangers is really concerningShanklands equaliser yesterday looks offside.

scottish_sleepy
05-02-2023, 09:35 PM
Shanklands equaliser yesterday looks offside.

Exactly what I thought.
They only showed it the once on a freeze frame and he was definitely slightly offside when the cross was played in.

05-02-2023, 09:48 PM
Very few decisions are absolute and most involve some judgment by the official who only sees the incident in real time and from one angle which may be partly obscured. It's entirely understandable that referees are giving fewer fouls if the decision isn't 100% obvious when they know that they have VAR to help them.

Anyway, I'm clearly not doing a good enough job of explaining this so I'll bow out.

If it’s not 100% obvious they shouldn’t be giving it anyway. They should be sure. VAR intervenes if it’s a clear and obvious error. If it’s not it doesn’t need to intervene. That’s the whole point if it. As someone else pointed out it’s the folk operating the system.
VAR conversations should be made available either at the time or after the game. Communication and reasoning should be available to all parties. Fans and clubs alike.

HarpOnHibee
05-02-2023, 10:08 PM
Shanklands equaliser yesterday looks offside.

Definitely offside.
https://i.postimg.cc/C1DsT8V1/offside.png

05-02-2023, 10:25 PM
Definitely offside.
https://i.postimg.cc/C1DsT8V1/offside.pngDon't worry these VAR decisions even themselves out over the course of a season. It must be hard for the VAR ref as he's only got endless time and 15 or 16 replays to come to a really difficult decision. They get it wrong from time to time, only human, incompetent, not cheating, blah..

plhibs
05-02-2023, 11:19 PM
Definitely offside.

Is anyone really surprised ? I know i'm not. Scottish football, been the same for as all the time i can remember.

06-02-2023, 09:21 AM
Definitely offside.

Presumably because a United defender diverted the cross with his head before it got to Shankland then they would deem it as a new phase of play?

Not sure that's fair though on the defending team.

06-02-2023, 10:05 AM
Presumably because a United defender diverted the cross with his head before it got to Shankland then they would deem it as a new phase of play?

Not sure that's fair though on the defending team.Nope. Same phase of play whether it hits someone or not.

06-02-2023, 10:16 AM
Nope. Same phase of play whether it hits someone or not.

Totally sensible but totally incorrect I’m afraid. A Liverpool cup tie on TV. recently a defender didn’t know if Salah was offside when the ball was played in ( he was) tried to head the ball which skiffed off his head and Salah scored. It was explained that the ruling now means that the defender would have been better leaving the ball and offside would have be n given.The pundits like me thought it was nonsensical .

06-02-2023, 12:44 PM
Totally sensible but totally incorrect I’m afraid. A Liverpool cup tie on TV. recently a defender didn’t know if Salah was offside when the ball was played in ( he was) tried to head the ball which skiffed off his head and Salah scored. It was explained that the ruling now means that the defender would have been better leaving the ball and offside would have be n given.The pundits like me thought it was nonsensical .

That was because he tried to play the ball. Deflections don't count.

06-02-2023, 02:43 PM
Ex ref Stuart Dougal saying on BBC's weekly VARdict review that the ref should have gone to have a look at Marshall getting bundled into the net in Dingwall. Very politely saying that VAR and the ref f***ed up on that one. Watch us miss Europe qualification by a point come May.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/64541834

06-02-2023, 03:03 PM
Ex ref Stuart Dougal saying on BBC's weekly VARdict review that the ref should have gone to have a look at Marshall getting bundled into the net in Dingwall. Very politely saying that VAR and the ref f***ed up on that one. Watch us miss Europe qualification by a point come May.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/64541834

You can excuse a ref missing something in real time through circumstances or incompetence but with the benefit of VAR it should be almost impossible to arrive at an incorrect decision. This says to me there is a willingness to get certain decisions wrong. Crooked.

06-02-2023, 03:33 PM
You can excuse a ref missing something in real time through circumstances or incompetence but with the benefit of VAR it should be almost impossible to arrive at an incorrect decision. This says to me there is a willingness to get certain decisions wrong. Crooked.
What we also need to factor in there is an assistant referree with input. He would be looking along the line so he would have had a good view of this. VAR did not need to get the referee to look at it they should have informed the ref that the goal should not have stood.They really need to get their act together. Clear and obvious error.Dougal should have stated both VAR and the on field officials got it completely wrong but he didn't have the balls to say it.

Superfurry72
06-02-2023, 03:55 PM
What we also need to factor in there is an assistant referree with input. He would be looking along the line so he would have had a good view of this. VAR did not need to get the referee to look at it they should have informed the ref that the goal should not have stood.They really need to get their act together. Clear and obvious error.Dougal should have stated both VAR and the on field officials got it completely wrong but he didn't have the balls to say it.

Dougal's always very reluctant to say anything like that about refs, but he made it fairly clear anyway what he thought about that decision.

06-02-2023, 04:09 PM
Dougal's always very reluctant to say anything like that about refs, but he made it fairly clear anyway what he thought about that decision.
He said there was enough in that incident for the ref to have a look at it. I am still unclear what he thinks of the decision, chose his words carefully. Probably one of his pals was the VAR official it was a clear and obvious error

06-02-2023, 04:16 PM
Nope. Same phase of play whether it hits someone or not.

Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkI'm not sure that's the case, although the rules are far from clear.

"A player in an offside position receiving the ball from an opponent who deliberately plays the ball, including by deliberate handball, is not considered to have gained an advantage, unless it was a deliberate save by any opponent"

https://www.thefa.com/football-rules-governance/lawsandrules/laws/football-11-11/law-11---offside

I used the fa link as the SFA one takes you to ifab where you need to download a pdf.

HarpOnHibee
06-02-2023, 04:27 PM

A new phase of play only occurs if the opposition player intentionally makes contact with the ball. If it simply hits off them, then it's still the same phase of play from when it left the players boot and the position of the player it is being passed to when it leaves the boot still needs to be factored into play, despite the cross taking a deflection.

06-02-2023, 04:29 PM
That was because he tried to play the ball. Deflections don't count.

The United player tried to play the ball though with his bonce, so new phase therefore is what you are saying surely?

Fratelli
06-02-2023, 04:52 PM
He said there was enough in that incident for the ref to have a look at it. I am still unclear what he thinks of the decision, chose his words carefully. Probably one of his pals was the VAR official it was a clear and obvious error

In this instance, Richard Foster’s follow up question to nail Dougal, should have been ‘so in mitigation, what DID the VAR official see that made him think I was NOT a foul?’

Foster IMHO needs to be better prepared for Dougal’s answers as they are invariably non-controversial against the referee or the VAR official, both of whom will no doubt be an old mate of his.

Or even better, replace Dougal with a non-Scottish referee! Then we’ll get clearer explanations.

06-02-2023, 04:57 PM
In this instance, Richard Foster’s follow up question to nail Dougal, should have been ‘so in mitigation, what DID the VAR official see that made him think I was NOT a foul?’

Foster IMHO needs to be better prepared for Dougal’s answers as they are invariably non-controversial against the referee or the VAR official, both of whom will no doubt be an old mate of his.

Or even better, replace Dougal with a non-Scottish referee! Then we’ll get clearer explanations.

I think it’s pretty clear they’ve messed up without actually saying it. He said there’s enough in it to get the ref to look at it. Therefore it’s a clear and obvious error in his eyes.
I’m not sure asking Dougall to actually say what he thinks the ref and or VAR saw or think is either helpful or needed.
Dougall clearly thinks they got it wrong.

06-02-2023, 04:58 PM
I'm not sure that's the case, although the rules are far from clear.

"A player in an offside position receiving the ball from an opponent who deliberately plays the ball, including by deliberate handball, is not considered to have gained an advantage, unless it was a deliberate save by any opponent"

https://www.thefa.com/football-rules-governance/lawsandrules/laws/football-11-11/law-11---offside

I used the fa link as the SFA one takes you to ifab where you need to download a pdf.Fair enough.

06-02-2023, 06:56 PM
Fair enough.

I could be wrong with my interpretation of it though and doesn't disprove the fact that hearts are being refereed to a different standard than other clubs, except rangers of course. The sending off and the handball were just another 2 examples of hearts being favoured by the officials.

06-02-2023, 07:02 PM

Not sure that's fair though on the defending team.

That is my understanding. If the United player deliberately played the ball, which he did then Shankland was then back onside. Crazy rule if you ask he as defenders are never going to duck under the ball and hope the attacker is onside behind them.

06-02-2023, 09:26 PM

Don't think he used the words clear and obvious error. Agree the people questioning should be of a better quality than Richard Foster

Superfurry72
07-02-2023, 11:24 AM

Given how cautious he normally is, I took that to mean he thought it was a foul too.

w pilton hibby
15-02-2023, 07:32 AM
From the Scotsman

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs-and-others-in-robust-talks-with-sfa-chief-crawford-allan-in-bid-to-find-solution-to-var-chaos-4027457

16-02-2023, 01:24 PM
From the Scotsman

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs-and-others-in-robust-talks-with-sfa-chief-crawford-allan-in-bid-to-find-solution-to-var-chaos-4027457About time too.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

16-02-2023, 01:55 PM
From the Scotsman

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs-and-others-in-robust-talks-with-sfa-chief-crawford-allan-in-bid-to-find-solution-to-var-chaos-4027457

That will be us getting even less decisions from the arrogant unaccountable ones.

17-02-2023, 08:34 PM
Lee Mason launched from the PGMOL in England after his VAR error in the Arsenal game. Imagine the SFA having the balls to do that? No neither can I.

19-02-2023, 08:14 AM
Lee Mason launched from the PGMOL in England after his VAR error in the Arsenal game. Imagine the SFA having the balls to do that? No neither can I.

Is he really called Les Mason?:faf::faf:

19-02-2023, 08:17 AM
Is he really called Les Mason?:faf::faf:

I can see an invite to join the Glasgow VAR cabal.