View Full Version : Hat Tricks
28-01-2023, 11:31 PM
Keith Wright scored one in 93(?) which was our first for a ridiculous amount of time. We had to wait until Stevie Crawford at Ayr in 99 for the next one, but we've been spoiled since.
What are our great hat tricks before and after?
28-01-2023, 11:36 PM
Keith actually scored hatricks in '92, '93 and '94
https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_hattricks.php
28-01-2023, 11:41 PM
Joe Baker scored three hatricks in one game :)
and another hatrick+1 v heartz
28-01-2023, 11:44 PM
Keith actually scored hatricks in '92, '93 and '94
https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_hattricks.php
How did I not know that????
Donegal Hibby
29-01-2023, 12:13 AM
Nice hattrick in the 6-2 game
29-01-2023, 12:15 AM
Last ten hat-tricks for us:
Florian Kamberi v Runavik, 18-19
Christian Doidge v St Johnstone, 19-20
Christian Doidge v Dundee Utd, 19-20
Marc McNulty v BSC Glasgow, 19-20
Kevin Nisbet v Livingston, 20-21
Martin Boyle v Rangers, 21-22
James Scott v St Johnstone, 21-22
Christian Doidge v Clyde, 22-23
Kevin Nisbet v Motherwell, 22-23
Josh Campbell v Aberdeen, 22-23
portycabbage
29-01-2023, 12:18 AM
I think Clayton Donaldson took 3 pens v Killie and missed one of them but still got the hattrick. Don’t know if that’s quite the level of a sproule one at ibrox though!
portycabbage
29-01-2023, 12:19 AM
Was the 4 v hearts not his debut as a 17 year old or something?
TelaStella
29-01-2023, 12:21 AM
This century:
Mixu vs hearts 2000, Sproule v Huns 2006 & vs Motherwell 06/07, Deano Sheils vs Inverness 07/08, Nish v D Utd 2010 (?), Griffiths v Motherwell (?) & Killie 2012/13, Dom Malonga vs Dumbarton 2014/15, Jimmy Mac vs Huns 2017/18. What have I missed?
29-01-2023, 12:26 AM
i thought something like that myself but wiki just says in his first season with hibs Joe Baker - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Baker#:~:text=%20In%20his%20first%20season%20w ith%20Hibs%2C%20the,a%20Scottish%20Cup%20tie%20aga inst%20Peebles%20Rovers.%20)
although i knew he had returned to hibs years later i didn't realise he ended up at Raith Rovers and bagged himself another 34 goals in 49 games over a two year period, why on earth did hibs let him leave so soon again, unless he wanted to leave right enough :(
29-01-2023, 08:48 AM
The Hearts game was in March ‘58 Baker had already scored 13 goals by this time
Baker made his debut in a League Cup section 1-4 loss away to Airdrieonians aged 17 August ‘57
OldEast
29-01-2023, 09:04 AM
This century:
Mixu vs hearts 2000, Sproule v Huns 2006 & vs Motherwell 06/07, Deano Sheils vs Inverness 07/08, Nish v D Utd 2010 (?), Griffiths v Motherwell (?) & Killie 2012/13, Dom Malonga vs Dumbarton 2014/15, Jimmy Mac vs Huns 2017/18. What have I missed?
Squirrel v the hun 2021
29-01-2023, 09:10 AM
This century:
I enjoyed a Grant Brebner perfect Hat trick at Tannadice in a 3-2 Scottish Cup win. Right foot, left foot and header but probably just missed this century.
Still good though
Edina Street
29-01-2023, 09:12 AM
On 28 April 1941 Gordon Smith making his Hibs debut scored a hat-trick in a 5–3 victory at Tynecastle.
29-01-2023, 09:21 AM
Riordan Vs Kilmarnock
Nish Vs Motherwell
Fletcher Vs Gretna
Liam Craig Vs Stranraer
Dobbie Vs Montrose
Donaldson Vs Kilmarnock
Trinity Hibee
29-01-2023, 09:23 AM
10 since 18-19 is mad
29-01-2023, 09:32 AM
10 since 18-19 is mad
And three of those from the oft-maligned Doidge as well.
Lendo
29-01-2023, 09:38 AM
That Christian Doidge boy must be some player
29-01-2023, 09:52 AM
This century:
I thought Nish scored a hatrick in that 6-6 away draw at Motherwell under Yogi? I always felt for him as his feat was totally overshadowed by the way we threw away a 6-2 lead to draw the game.
29-01-2023, 10:02 AM
That Christian Doidge boy must be some player
He really was. Rotten injury.
SideBurns
29-01-2023, 11:38 AM
Benny Brazil's in the whacky 6-3 friendly win over Celtic in the 80s had to be seen to be believed 🤣
29-01-2023, 12:03 PM
I enjoyed a Grant Brebner perfect Hat trick at Tannadice in a 3-2 Scottish Cup win. Right foot, left foot and header but probably just missed this century.
Still good though
2003. I was there too.
29-01-2023, 12:23 PM
Mixu one Sunday night probably my favourite.
29-01-2023, 12:26 PM
For some strange reason Jamie Mac’s hat-trick against Der Hun always gets forgotten about in 5-5
Maybes it was the low flying aeroplane ?
29-01-2023, 04:21 PM
He really was. Rotten injury.
Fergos
29-01-2023, 04:23 PM
Joe McBride, mid 80s…against Morton or Dundee from memory.
Hibees1973
29-01-2023, 04:29 PM
i thought something like that myself but wiki just says in his first season with hibs Joe Baker - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Baker#:~:text=%20In%20his%20first%20season%20w ith%20Hibs%2C%20the,a%20Scottish%20Cup%20tie%20aga inst%20Peebles%20Rovers.%20)
although i knew he had returned to hibs years later i didn't realise he ended up at Raith Rovers and bagged himself another 34 goals in 49 games over a two year period, why on earth did hibs let him leave so soon again, unless he wanted to leave right enough :(
Ned took over in 1971.
He just wanted Baker out. I never saw Joe in a Hibs jersey as I was a bit too young. Would have loved to see him. My late Dad, who was a Yam, loved Joe Baker.
To be fair once Ned shipped Joe out he signed Alan Gordon.
killie-hibby
29-01-2023, 04:37 PM
Peebles Rovers in Scottish Cup.I was fortunate enough to be at that game.Final score was 16-1 or 16-0.
TelaStella
29-01-2023, 04:38 PM
I thought Nish scored a hatrick in that 6-6 away draw at Motherwell under Yogi? I always felt for him as his feat was totally overshadowed by the way we threw away a 6-2 lead to draw the game.
Couldn’t remember if it was the Motherwell game or Dundee United a week or so later? To be fair, looking through the posts it’s crazy how many there have been in recent history.
29-01-2023, 05:29 PM
He scored four hatricks for Arsenal. His name is emblazoned on the walls of the Emirates.
Joe Baker a Hibs and Arsenal legend. I have Baker 9 on the back of my Arsenal top. Saw his return against Aberdeen.
https://arsenalarsenal.net/tag/joe-baker/
29-01-2023, 05:47 PM
Lawrie Reilly twice scored hat tricks in successive games.
29-01-2023, 06:02 PM
Ned took over in 1971.
He just wanted Baker out. I never saw Joe in a Hibs jersey as I was a bit too young. Would have loved to see him. My late Dad, who was a Yam, loved Joe Baker.
To be fair once Ned shipped Joe out he signed Alan Gordon.
I was at the Aberdeen game, when Joe returned to ER. I was aged 7, but I knew who he was. Both sides of my family are Hibbies and I remember it being unusual because we went to the old standing enclosure in the north stand. I also remember Joe’s Stylo Matchmaker white boots. For years I wasn’t sure about this, but the internet has since confirmed.
I wonder why auld Ned was so hasty to get rid of Joe? They played together for the last few years of Turnbull’s career.
SideBurns
29-01-2023, 06:06 PM
Joe McBride, mid 80s…against Morton or Dundee from memory.
Gordon Durie scored a hat-trick v Morton, and I think Joe set them all up - could you be thinking of that game? Haven't checked so maybe Joe got a hat-trick at some stage, just cannae mind it.
29-01-2023, 06:30 PM
No record of Joe McBride Jnr scoring a hat-trick
I remember a fine late double against Hearts at Tiny
No doubt he set many goals up for hat-trick heroes Juke Box Willie Irvine #1 and Stevie Cowan
His old man was a prolific striker with five hat-tricks for Hibs
29-01-2023, 06:43 PM
Joe McBride senior knew a thing or 3 about hat-tricks for Hibs in the late 1960's, then wee Jimmy O and Alan Gordon scored hat-tricks for fun during the early 1970's. Joe Harper scored a hat-trick for Hibs in a cup final and still ended up on the losing side, long before Mbappe was unfortunate enough to suffer the same.
29-01-2023, 07:12 PM
Sure Kamberi scored a hattrick v Hamilton at home.
Simon Murray v Arbroath I think.
Keatings away to St Mirren in the championship?
McNulty v BSC in the Scottish cup.
EDIT - couple already mentioned.
30-01-2023, 03:22 PM
Sure Kamberi scored a hattrick v Hamilton at home.
Simon Murray v Arbroath I think.
Keatings away to St Mirren in the championship?
McNulty v BSC in the Scottish cup.
EDIT - couple already mentioned.
Flo scored two hat-tricks Hamilton and NSI Runavik
www.fitbastats.com
30-01-2023, 03:52 PM
A nice wee hat trick by Pat Quinn at Tinycastle is well remembered, also hat-tricks by Peter Cormack v the sheep, C.Stein and Eric Stevenson, Arthur Duncan & Neil Martin could bang them in as well along with the original Jim Scott, many many more Hibs players have bagged a hat trick. Joe Baker got multiple hat-tricks and his brother Gerry got a couple of hat-tricks for Hibs as well.
30-01-2023, 06:08 PM
Iain Munro bagged a first half hat trick( I think) vs Rosenburg in the 9-1 win. Still maintain their goal, which was the opener, was the best free kick I've witnessed at a game.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
30-01-2023, 07:03 PM
Iain Munro bagged a first half hat trick( I think) vs Rosenburg in the 9-1 win. Still maintain their goal, which was the opener, was the best free kick I've witnessed at a game.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
Iain Munro bagged two that night along with Stanton 2 Harper 2 Cropley 2 pens and one from Alan Gordon
Iain Munro bagged his only hat-trick for Hibs in a 5-1 win over Dunfermline Athletic later in that season
Halcyon days indeed
www.fitbastats.com
OsiersHibs
30-01-2023, 07:11 PM
Anyone able to put a list together of the last 10 hattricks by a Hibs player?
We have had quite a few recently?
Boyle
Nisbet
Campbell
30-01-2023, 08:21 PM
Anyone able to put a list together of the last 10 hattricks by a Hibs player?
We have had quite a few recently?
Boyle
Nisbet
Campbell
Campbell
Nisbet
Doidge
Scott
Boyle
Nisbet
McNulty
Doidge
Doidge
Kamberi
Musselbound
30-01-2023, 08:52 PM
And three of those from the oft-maligned Doidge as well.
Can't believe that Doidge hat trick v Clyde was only about 6 months ago. Feels more like a lifetime ago now!
hibeg
30-01-2023, 08:57 PM
Haven’t checked but we beat Motherwell in the league cup 6-0 in the mid 80s. Steve Cowan and Jukebox Durie scored 3 each that night IIR.
loanheadhibby
30-01-2023, 09:12 PM
A nice wee hat trick by Pat Quinn at Tinycastle is well remembered, also hat-tricks by Peter Cormack v the sheep, C.Stein and Eric Stevenson, Arthur Duncan & Neil Martin could bang them in as well along with the original Jim Scott, many many more Hibs players have bagged a hat trick. Joe Baker got multiple hat-tricks and his brother Gerry got a couple of hat-tricks for Hibs as well.
Did Pat Quinn definitely score a hat trick at Tynecastle.
I have a feeling we were 4 up pretty early on and he had scored 2.
I'm not saying you're wrong.
Did Pat Quinn definitely score a hat trick at Tynecastle.
I have a feeling we were 4 up pretty early on and he had scored 2.
I'm not saying you're wrong.
Pat Quinn 100% scored 3 goals that day, his 3rd was spectacular. Before that he hadn't scored a goal for 2 years. We waited for Pat outside Tynie and my friend, Ted Brack, Hibs author, said, 'Pat, is that your 1st hat trick? The bold Pat replied, ' Son, I'm sick of scoring them!' Classic!
PS your thinking of the 4 0 game when Jimmy O and Eric S both scored 2 in first 10 minutes.
30-01-2023, 11:29 PM
Iain Munro bagged two that night along with Stanton 2 Harper 2 Cropley 2 pens and one from Alan Gordon
Iain Munro bagged his only hat-trick for Hibs in a 5-1 win over Dunfermline Athletic later in that season
Halcyon days indeed
www.fitbastats.comCheers Billy
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
30-01-2023, 11:39 PM
Not sure if this has been mentioned already but we scored three goals from headers. It's not easily Google-able and I cannot remember being at a game when we've done that before but I'm guessing we must have, at some point?
31-01-2023, 02:17 AM
Not sure if this has been mentioned already but we scored three goals from headers. It's not easily Google-able and I cannot remember being at a game when we've done that before but I'm guessing we must have, at some point?
Sure we scored 4 headers in a 4-0 win over Morton underennon. Cummings, Shinnie, Holt and Graham possibly.
31-01-2023, 07:24 AM
Eddie Turnbull once scored a hat-trick of penalties in a 4-1 win over Celtic at Easter Road
He also scored from open play
31-01-2023, 07:29 AM
I don't know if it's just my perception but headed goals seem so rare these days.
31-01-2023, 07:35 AM
Best GIRUY hat-trick must be 16 year old Trialist Gordon Smith’s hat-trick in a 5-3 win at Tiny in a game postponed from New Year’s Day
Hearts had been trying to sign the starlet but he signed for us before kick off in the NB thanks to the persistence of Willie McCartney who did not have to give him a ‘trial’
Tommy Walker scored a hat-trick for Hearts
Bobby Combe made his debut and also scored
Alfiembra
31-01-2023, 07:41 AM
Joe Harper’s cup final hat trick against Celtic in a 6-3 loss Dixie Deans scored one too for them IIRC.
SON OF PADDY
31-01-2023, 08:02 AM
Joe Harper’s cup final hat trick against Celtic in a 6-3 loss Dixie Deans scored one too for them IIRC.
Aye I remember that,imagine scoring a hat trick in a final and still be on the losing side.
Dixie Deans loved a hat trick against us !
and then just to rub it in,he'd do a bloody somersault celebration.
31-01-2023, 09:38 AM
This century:
Sproule got 2 goals v Motherwell in the 6-1 win at Fir Park in 06, dont think he got a hattrick against them ever.