View Full Version : This is how it feels (Aberdeen 28 01 23)

28-01-2023, 07:07 PM
Some games are more enjoyable than others to write up on and today’s 6-0 demolition of Aberdeen certainly puts this one into the enjoyable bracket as every single player played their part in the demolition. The Dons were poor, finally costing their manager his job, but though the media will focus on Aberdeen’s shortcomings and understandably so, it should not take away from the fact that Hibs played some excellent football and were fully committed from the first minute to the last.

With Porto’s departure, the injury to Rocky and the question of whether or not Kevin Nisbet would feature after his aborted move to Millwall, it was anybody’s guess as to how Hibs would line up. As it turned out, Will Fish partnered Paul Hanlon in the middle of the back four whilst Harry McKirdy took up a place in the front three. Surprisingly, to me at least, McKirdy played on the right of the three with Youan through the middle.

Hibs started strongly and inside the first five minutes, Josh Campbell required treatment for what looked like a hip injury. Thankfully, he was able to continue and would go on to earn the sponsors’ and my man of the match award. Soon after that incident, McGeady had the first shot at goal from a Stevenson pass but the ball was always rising and cleared the bar. Newell then set up Cadden, but the latter saw his shot blocked by Scales. The pressure was building and in ten minutes, a Youan drive looked destined for the net but was pushed away by Joe Lewis. Josh Campbell was quickest to react and fired an angled drive into the net from around eight yards.

Five minutes later, Hibs made it two when a fabulous cross from a corner by Joe Newell picked out Campbell some twelve yards from goal and Josh bulleted a header past Lewis pretty much uncontested. It was clearly a training ground move and boy did it come off! The Dons were reeling and their back line got no peace from the ever mobile front three of Hibs. The visitors did get forward a couple of times and McRorie got a shot away but it was blocked by Hanlon. Another Newell corner found Fish, but the big defender steered his header wide of the target.

Jeggo, who had been providing good cover for the back four was then clattered into by Jonny Hayes but recovered well after treatment. Hayes got a yellow with some thinking it was lucky it wasn’t a red. Aberdeen were offering very little in attack but it was impressive how Hibs worked hard to close them down with McKirdy and Youan in particular snapping at the heels of Stewart and Scales. With half time approaching, Hibs looked to break away from defending a corner and Graeme Shinnie was booked for a hard challenge on McKirdy, preventing the Hibs man from breaking free. That challenge may well have saved a goal scoring break, but it didn’t stop Hibs from going 3-0 up right on the interval when another fine corner from Newell picked out Youan who leapt the highest to head the ball past Lewis from close range.

As expected, Aberdeen came out looking a bit more purposeful and their whole side was now playing ten yards further up and that earned them more in terms of possession but still they couldn’t threaten Marshall in goal. A few niggly fouls by both sides together with the odd strange decision by the referee meant the game wasn’t flowing as well as it had prior to the break and on the hour mark, Jim Goodwin decided to try and kickstart his team by replacing Kennedy and Clarkson with Roberts and Coulson but in truth their arrival made little difference to their side’s play. Soon after that change, Scales was booked for a poor challenge on Youan and from the resultant free kick, McGeady struck the wall with a powerful drive.

Ross McCrorie had offered some resistance to the onslaught by galloping clear but his progress was halted by Campbell who was booked for the challenge. A corner soon after reached Scales but his header sailed high over the bar. With around twenty minutes left, McGeady was replaced by Nisbet and left the field to a deserved standing ovation. McKirdy, who had run himself ragged was then replaced by Lewis Miller who arrived just in time to witness a fourth goal for Hibs. Newell won possession deep and played the ball to Youan who cleverly backheeled the ball to Campbell. Josh played a cross field ball towards Nisbet. The closest Aberdeen defender failed to cut out the pass and Nisbet strode forward from around thirty five yards before drawing Joe Lewis towards him and then striking the ball low into the net.

A few minutes later, Fish was unlucky with a headed effort and then Lee Johnson decided to make some changes by replacing Cadden and Newell with youngsters Oscar MacIntyre and Josh O’Connor. Duk, who had dived and fouled his way through the match was then booked for a rash challenge on Will Fish and then Nisbet was booked for pulling Shinnie back as the Aberdeen man tried to go past him. A triple substitution by the visitors saw Hayes, Shinnie and Miovski replaced by Myslovic, Barron and Duncan but the game was done by then and matters only got worse for the Dons when Scales fouled O’Connor in the box for a second yellow, a red and conceding a penalty. I expected Nisbet to step up but watched as Kevin handed the ball to Campbell. Josh scored easily to earn his hat trick and the match ball.

Going in to time added on I was astonished to see so many Aberdeen fans were still in the ground and suspected they were there to rage at their side and manager. Sadly for them, they also witnessed a sixth goal when a Josh Campbell free kick found a totally unmarked Will Fish and the big defender smacked a header past a despondent Joe Lewis to complete his misery.

I’ve no doubt that some will say we won so well because Aberdeen were so poor and whilst it is undeniable that the Dons were shambolic, I think it is also undeniable that Hibs played extremely well and were both worthy of the win and the ovation from the home support at the end of the game.

The players

Marshall – Not a lot to do but I was impressed by his collection of high balls into the box as he’s not been so prevalent doing that recently.

Cadden – Energetic and willing to run that line down the right I thought he had his best game for a while.

Fish – After all the negativity following his error against Hearts I thought he was as solid as a rock and was pleased when he nabbed the sixth goal.

Hanlon – Paul hasn’t been at his best but he was solid today and I was heartened to see how many times he broke down their attacks by anticipating a pass forward.

Stevenson – Defended like his life depended upon it and on a number of occasions put in attack stopping tackles.

Jeggo – Played the holding role exceptionally well and his presence allowed his midfield team mates to get forward more often.

McKirdy – Delighted the lad got a fine ovation as he went off injured. Worked his socks off and did more than his fair share of tracking back to good effect.

Newell – I’m not always a big fan of Joe’s but he was excellent today and looks much more effective when he’s allowed to break forward knowing that Jeggo is covering his back.

Campbell – I keep reading on here that ‘Campbell’s alright, but we need better, when in fact he is way better than ‘alright’ and his display today underlines that.

McGeady – Defenders just never know which side he is going to pass them on. A quality footballer who will offer us a lot in the remaining games this season.

Youan – When he’s at it, he’s a joy to watch and he was definitely at it today.

Nisbet – All the ‘outside noise’ apart he proved that if you give him a sniff he’ll punish you.

Miller – Looked slow at times but he’s been out for months so he should be forgiven that.

MacIntyre – Was at home playing on the left and didn’t look out of place.

O’Connor – His dogged determination and effective shielding of the ball led to Aberdeen conceding a penalty.

Lee Johnson – Said he loves it when a plan comes together and on this occasion it did.

Referee – Craig Napier made a few baffling decisions but overall, I thought he did ok.

Bridge hibs
28-01-2023, 07:10 PM
Thanks JC 👍

28-01-2023, 07:15 PM
Thanks JC agree with all that. Marshals determination to keep the clean sheet towards the end was relentless bordering on comical.
Also thought if Campbell had in turn handed the ball to O’Connor for the penalty rather than grab the hat trick might have endeared him to me more than he has.
Thought we managed the game really well as a team.

28-01-2023, 07:23 PM
He JB, quick note, it was Campbell passed the ball to Nizzy after the lovely back heel from Youan for goal 4 👍

28-01-2023, 07:30 PM
Win 6-0 everyone gets a 10/10.

Wull
28-01-2023, 07:33 PM
Thanks again for your report JC, always look forward to it, although I thought our 4th goal was a peach, not as simple as you reported :wink:

28-01-2023, 07:49 PM
Leith polis are on alert for a gang of pick pockets who stole multiple possessions in the Easter Road area between 3pm and 4.50pm. A gang of 15 dressed in the same green and white gear.

28-01-2023, 08:01 PM
Thanks Jonnyboy

Never saw that coming

The fourth goal is one of best team moves I have seen at Easter Road in many a year even better that the ball ended up in the back of the net

As LJ would say ‘great when a plan comes together’

28-01-2023, 08:04 PM
Great summary, as always.

Lots of guys getting threads of their on own on the board, so hats off to the likes of Jeggo, McKirdy, Marshall, Stevenson who all put in a fine shift.

Also, very well done to Johnson. He got the team selection and tactics spot. Our boss has been ripped apart on here and I think he deserves plaudits for getting it right today.

davemcbain
28-01-2023, 08:17 PM
Thanks JB - always appreciate the report, but a question: What was the difference today? I think a lot of folks have been quite harsh describing this as the worst Hibs team in yada yada, but for me, there's been a consistent dominance, decent passing and sod all in front of goal - to an embarrassing degree. Personal opinion, but it's what I've seen all season. Any opinion as to whether it was a back 4 that were playing for the jersey, a dm that allowed Joe to relax and play forward, an understanding between Josh and Eli that's been missing. Might be the wrong thread to question on, but I felt there was a goal threat that I just didn't see in previous weeks (might have just been a ***** sheep defence though) but can't for the life of me work out what gelled so well.

Also should highlight kudos to Joe Newell - when the two youngsters came on, he took a moment to say something to both. Just felt like a genuinely nice guy going out of his way to wish them luck.

147lothian
28-01-2023, 08:40 PM
Thanks JB, a great report as always, this is always the tread I look forward to most on dot net.

28-01-2023, 08:51 PM
Thanks JB - always appreciate the report, but a question: What was the difference today? I think a lot of folks have been quite harsh describing this as the worst Hibs team in yada yada, but for me, there's been a consistent dominance, decent passing and sod all in front of goal - to an embarrassing degree. Personal opinion, but it's what I've seen all season. Any opinion as to whether it was a back 4 that were playing for the jersey, a dm that allowed Joe to relax and play forward, an understanding between Josh and Eli that's been missing. Might be the wrong thread to question on, but I felt there was a goal threat that I just didn't see in previous weeks (might have just been a ***** sheep defence though) but can't for the life of me work out what gelled so well.

Also should highlight kudos to Joe Newell - when the two youngsters came on, he took a moment to say something to both. Just felt like a genuinely nice guy going out of his way to wish them luck.

I think getting the first goal is key for us.

28-01-2023, 10:02 PM
Never in a million years did I think I would walk out of ER today having witnessed a 6 - 0 win .... nae wonder they say fitba is a funny auld game :greengrin

Marshall ..... Not a lot to do, but it was good to see him come off his line a bit more decisively today, dealt with high balls pretty well too.

Cadden .... Stuck to his job well and kept their left side busy, especially in the first half.

Fish .... Looked solid against an admittedly poor Aberdeen attack and tucked his header away nicely. If he can play like that every week he will be a more than adequate replacement for Porteous.

Hanlon ... Mopped up a few Aberdeen attacks, probably his easiest game of the season, he looked calm and assured throughout.

Stevenson ... Got up and down the pitch like the Energizer Bunny and I'm sure there was one point near the end where you could feel him thinking, don't make me run any more as he got up the park to support an attack.

Jeggo .... Solid as anything in his role and protected the back 4 very well, can be happy with that performance.

Newell .... Like JB said, seemed more comfortable knowing Jeggo was behind him, played very well and his delivery from corners was top notch.

Campbell .... What can you say, 3 goals two assists and an overall superb performance, the header for his second goal was one of the best I've seen in many a year .... 10/10 son.

McGeady .... Turned Aberdeen defenders so many times the were practically screwed into the ground, super performance.

Youan .... Right up there with his best performances in a Hibs shirt, delighted to see him get a goal, he really needs to do it more.

McKirdy .... An absolute bundle of energy and more than once made a 60/40 ball his, chased and tackled back like a demon, the only thing missing was a goal, but by far his best performance since he came here.

SUBS:

Nisbet .... Took his one on one extremely well .. ask Youan how difficult they are .... and did well to hand Campbell the ball for the penalty.

Miller ... Unsurprisingly looked a bit slow, but it was great to see him on the pitch given how short we are at right back.

MacIntyre .... Got stuck in and was prepared to fight for anything that came his way, liked his attitude.

O'Connor ... Showed good strength to fight for the ball and win us the penalty, another youngster it was great to see get on the park, strange how the one guy we were all talking about in Ethan Laidlaw stayed on the bench ... shame, I would like to have seen him.

A thoroughly enjoyable afternoon, well done to everybody. It's the curse of this club that we can't put together performances like that when we have one of these cheap ticket nights with 20,000 in the stadium :greengrin

28-01-2023, 10:34 PM
He JB, quick note, it was Campbell passed the ball to Nizzy after the lovely back heel from Youan for goal 4 👍

:aok: Amendment made :greengrin

As others have suggested, Dave I think getting the first goal was crucial. I thought every player played for the jersey today - fantastic commitment right up until the final whistle.

Agree re Newell, a lovely touch from him

I'd love to know what the wee guy who ran the length of the pitch said to Nisbet :greengrin

28-01-2023, 10:53 PM
Great summary as always.
The crowd deserves a wee mention. The atmosphere felt positive from the start and any errors generated barely a murmur. A good day all round.

28-01-2023, 11:05 PM
This is how it feels....Brilliant!

I remember being about 12..listening to the crowd roaring while we played 3 and your in..in Pilrig Park..only to find out that Fergie's Aberdeen had beaten hibs 6-0 when I got home ( I think Stachan scored 3)..lovely to finally do it to them !..and you know, I was really pleased we did it without Porteous.t

29-01-2023, 02:48 PM
This deserves a wee bump.

Svengali
29-01-2023, 05:47 PM
What a difference a good performance and result does to your weekend, buzzing after that yesterday.

Campbell 2nd goal is the best goal I’ve seen in many a year at ER.

The 4th…. Brilliant from Youan, sublime pass from Campbell… great finish from Nisbet.

Campbell deserved MOM but thought Fish & Youan were superb too. Cant think of anyone who was poor

29-01-2023, 06:33 PM
What a difference a good performance and result does to your weekend, buzzing after that yesterday.

Campbell 2nd goal is the best goal I’ve seen in many a year at ER.

The 4th…. Brilliant from Youan, sublime pass from Campbell… great finish from Nisbet.

Campbell deserved MOM but thought Fish & Youan were superb too. Cant think of anyone who was poor

Yep, no failures at all.

Another snippet from the game that comes to mind was Josh’s tackle on Shinnie in our box as Shinnie was about to pull the trigger. Think it was 2-0 at the time and had Shinnie scored the complexion of the game may have changed.