28-01-2023, 03:04 PM
Absolutely superb.

28-01-2023, 03:05 PM
Maturing into an excellent player.

JamesHFC
28-01-2023, 03:05 PM
Rumour today that there is a major interest in him. Would cost a hefty fee I expect with so long left on his contract.

28-01-2023, 03:10 PM
Rumour today that there is a major interest in him. Would cost a hefty fee I expect with so long left on his contract.

Who from?

28-01-2023, 03:11 PM
Who from?

Millwall

:)

28-01-2023, 03:15 PM

We simply can’t just be selling all the better players in this window ffs

28-01-2023, 03:16 PM
Our main goal threat away from a couple of the forwards. The idea that he’s simply a strong runner doesn’t stand up to scrutiny.

Mutu
28-01-2023, 03:16 PM
Said it a week ago - future captain.

Been our best player this season.

jws1875
28-01-2023, 03:18 PM
Who from?

An old manager with a new job is interested.

tonyrougier123
28-01-2023, 03:20 PM
Got slaughtered the other day saying he’s the best player at the club. class attitude and should be the building block of a fast energetic midfield.

28-01-2023, 03:21 PM
He’s having the game of his life today

28-01-2023, 03:22 PM
An old manager with a new job is interested.

Moving from Edinburgh to Wigan would be stark.

tonyrougier123
28-01-2023, 03:23 PM
He’s having the game of his life today

Tbh I see this type of comment a lot,laddie has a few games of his life.
I’d be hoping for an extra 1yr on his contract with enhanced wages pronto.

28-01-2023, 03:23 PM
12 mil plus Arfield

Mutu
28-01-2023, 03:26 PM
Got slaughtered the other day saying he’s the best player at the club. class attitude and should be the building block of a fast energetic midfield.

Think I seen that post and tried to back you up. He's been our best player consistently which in a struggling side as a young player is very impressive.

tonyrougier123
28-01-2023, 03:30 PM
Think I seen that post and tried to back you up. He's been our best player consistently which in a struggling side as a young player is very impressive.

You did cheers👍🏻Always surprised more folk don’t see what he brings.
His passing is improving some exquisite through balls.even when there’s not much happening around him he’s trying to cover the whole pitch.
I canny sing his praises enough.

28-01-2023, 03:33 PM
You did cheers👍🏻Always surprised more folk don’t see what he brings.
His passing is improving some exquisite through balls.even when there’s not much happening around him he’s trying to cover the whole pitch.
I canny sing his praises enough.

How you posting and playing at the same time josh!! Only kidding, Campbell has possibly been our best midfielder this season

tonyrougier123
28-01-2023, 03:41 PM
How you posting and playing at the same time josh!! Only kidding, Campbell has possibly been our best midfielder this season

Just glad your seeing it now tbh. He’s class man.

28-01-2023, 03:49 PM
Now joins the hat-trick club! Brilliant Josh 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

28-01-2023, 03:50 PM
Absolutely delighted for Josh. The man owns Aberdeen.

MagicSwirlingShip
28-01-2023, 03:51 PM
Brilliant. Was not convinced initially, but he’s developed greatly this season.

Delighted for him, hope he’s on a goal bonus!

28-01-2023, 03:54 PM
not only a hat-trick but 2 assists! :not worth

28-01-2023, 03:54 PM
Well done Josh.

28-01-2023, 03:55 PM
Well done Josh

28-01-2023, 03:57 PM
Just glad your seeing it now tbh. He’s class man.

Not going to lie I thought he was rank last year, now I'd have him start every week

28-01-2023, 04:03 PM
He's so much better when it's effort and energy allow him to get on the end of things as opposed to being expected to create things from a standing start on the halfway line. He's not technical enough for that, but knows where the goal is and has some engine on him

tonyrougier123
28-01-2023, 04:06 PM
Not going to lie I thought he was rank last year, now I'd have him start every week

I did start with saying you were a big critic of his but decided to keep it positive now you’ve seen the light 😝

I think the better we become as a side,the less slack he picks up from trying to cover others,the better he looks as a player.

But it’s the wee through balls the runs into the box.

I’m very excited about Josh Campbells future and he’s hibs daft which is superb!

28-01-2023, 04:06 PM
5 goals in 2 against that hatchet mob at Easter rd

Well played son

28-01-2023, 04:07 PM
What a header. Turning into the next Pat McGinley.

Great run and ball for Nisbet too.

28-01-2023, 04:08 PM
I did start with saying you were a big critic of his but decided to keep it positive now you’ve seen the light 😝

I think the better we become as a side,the less slack he picks up from trying to cover others,the better he looks as a player.

But it’s the wee through balls the runs into the box.

I’m very excited about Josh Campbells future and he’s hibs daft which is superb!

Yip I certainly wasn't a fan last season, seems to have cut out the daft mistakes, he is certainly one who has kicked on and long may it continue

28-01-2023, 04:08 PM
Very, very good today. The challenge for Josh is to produce that level of performance week in, week out. He was excellent on the ball today, got about the park, fell asleep on a runner but wonderful recovery to get back and put in a fantastic block and scored two great goals and a composed pen.

More of the same please.

Fratelli
28-01-2023, 04:40 PM
Fabulous all-round performance, ‘take a bow son…’

28-01-2023, 04:43 PM
I said back in December there was interest in him and he’s showing why.

A couple of us got stick on a thread the other day for saying he’s been one of the best players, today again proves it.

His energy, attitude and quality is consistent and high most games.

22 years old and got 8 goals and 5 assists in all competitions by January from midfield?

If we signed a midfielder in the summer with those stats we’d be waxing lyrical about him

28-01-2023, 04:43 PM
Header was an absolute bullet. Pass to Nisbet superb.

We’ll done Josh.

28-01-2023, 04:47 PM
What a header. Turning into the next Pat McGinley.

Great run and ball for Nisbet too.

That was a great pass, nice wee flick fro Youan just before it too. 👏

28-01-2023, 05:16 PM
Just seen his first goal on Alba. Whit a header, great stuff

Green_one
28-01-2023, 05:18 PM
Happy for the boy. Loved his second

28-01-2023, 05:19 PM
Even without the goals he was excellent today

I think he plays better when he’s a little deeper and coming from the right, as he seemed to be first half

28-01-2023, 05:24 PM
Genuinely one of the best headed goals I've seen.

28-01-2023, 05:28 PM
Superb today. Well done Josh.

28-01-2023, 05:28 PM
Well done Josh !

Quality today

28-01-2023, 05:29 PM
Not going to lie, I’ve given Josh plenty stick on here and the odd rant at games. Sorry Josh🤷🏼 That was as a complete performance as I’ve seen from a Hibs player in that role at ER. Delighted he’s given me, and a number of his doubters, a right GIRUY today.

LewysGot2
28-01-2023, 05:40 PM
Easiest MotM of the year.

2 assists, 3 goals. Some excellent defensive play too.

Club screens put Nisbet up as MotM to start with - surely a mistake?

Had a guy in front of us saying Youan clearly MotM...aye, okay pal 🤣🤭

Benny Brazil
28-01-2023, 05:42 PM

I would have had Youan as my MoM, thought he was excellent today but can't argue with Josh getting it for his hatrick

28-01-2023, 05:51 PM
New deal required for josh, let's not make the same mistake twice.

28-01-2023, 05:52 PM

Don’t doubt it, think he will be the next after Nisbet for a big money move

28-01-2023, 05:55 PM

Youan was excellent, tbf, but of course Josh won it by a stretch.

28-01-2023, 05:56 PM
New deal required for josh, let's not make the same mistake twice.

Yesterday folk were slagging off Ben K or Ian Gordon or whoever for extending it previously.

loanheadhibby
28-01-2023, 05:57 PM
Brilliant all round performance from Campbell today. Should be proud of himself

Torto7
28-01-2023, 05:57 PM
He was good last week as well but it was lost in the defeat. I like him in this advanced role. LJ has tweaked his tactics the last couple of games, we're playing in behind teams more.

Torto7
28-01-2023, 05:59 PM
Yesterday folk were slagging off Ben K or Ian Gordon or whoever for extending it previously.

28-01-2023, 05:59 PM
Great all round player and a massive Hibs fan too

The Captain....
28-01-2023, 06:00 PM
I like Campbell, he gets on with it, doesn't complain despite being shunted into a few different positions.

I'd like to see him given a consistent run.in the 'box to box' type role. There was actually a decent balance to the midfield today, which made for a very pleasant change. It was an outstanding individual performance.

The whole team played with a real freedom, the confidence from the early goals being clearly apparent. Aberdeen were abject, but that should in no way detract from the good football we played culminating in some of the best team goals I've seen at ER for ages.

Now if we can only do it more often and consistently.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

Mikey_1875
28-01-2023, 06:01 PM
Player of the year so far for me.

Bronson
He gets in great positions and has come on leaps and bounds this season in terms of his use of the ball. Delighted for him, 8 goals from midfield in january is a terrific return by anyones standards.

Reminds me of the Sir David Gray winner in 2016

28-01-2023, 06:03 PM
Player of the year so far for me.

Agree with that.

28-01-2023, 06:07 PM
Always gives 100%. Superb today. Must be the first name in LJs team sheet at the moment.

Torto7
28-01-2023, 06:08 PM
He gets in great positions and has come on leaps and bounds this season in terms of his use of the ball. Delighted for him, 8 goals from midfield in january is a terrific return by anyones standards.

I didn't realise he's scored 8 in the month. Thats going to get the vultures down south hovering.

28-01-2023, 06:23 PM
Absolutely outstanding display! Today was the best box-to-box display I've seen in many a year watching the Hibees. Dare I say it, almost Pat McGinlay style.

Hope those who seek to criticise him accept that he is a good player!

28-01-2023, 06:33 PM
I like Campbell, he gets on with it, doesn't complain despite being shunted into a few different positions.

I'd like to see him given a consistent run.in the 'box to box' type role. There was actually a decent balance to the midfield today, which made for a very pleasant change. It was an outstanding individual performance.

The whole team played with a real freedom, the confidence from the early goals being clearly apparent. Aberdeen were abject, but that should in no way detract from the good football we played culminating in some of the best team goals I've seen at ER for ages.

Now if we can only do it more often and consistently.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

I know what you mean but there were also times, especially when we lost in while countering, that there were huge gaps in the middle as we seem to look to flood the wings.

I think getting the first goal in games is so important for us.

28-01-2023, 06:35 PM
Never mind his goals. His assist for Nisbet was fantastic.

A proper 10/10 performance.

SON OF PADDY
28-01-2023, 06:35 PM
Delighted to see Josh prove so many people wrong today,fantastic performance young man. 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

28-01-2023, 06:38 PM
come on all you Lyrical Hibernians, the young man needs a song

LustForLeith
28-01-2023, 06:42 PM
I’m sure it was reported he felt anxious playing at Easter Road due to the reaction he used to get from so called Hibs fans

My favourite Hibs player just now

28-01-2023, 06:53 PM
I’m sure it was reported he felt anxious playing at Easter Road due to the reaction he used to get from so called Hibs fans

Did he not get boo’d onto the pitch when he came on as a sub in a game last season or am I imagining that?

Always liked Josh and have defended him for a long time. Some people need to give young players time to develop.

Doesn’t need defending now tho that’s for sure!!

OstKurve Hibs
28-01-2023, 06:58 PM
Covered every blade of grass the day ! Gonna b a big player for us in the coming seasons if we can keep him.

Bridge hibs
28-01-2023, 07:07 PM
Heart on sleeve, another 10 Josh Campbells please 🇳🇬💚🇳🇬

28-01-2023, 07:08 PM
Did he not get boo’d onto the pitch when he came on as a sub in a game last season or am I imagining that?

Always liked Josh and have defended him for a long time. Some people need to give young players time to develop.

He did get bood on. Twas shocking.

Halmyre Hibee
28-01-2023, 07:14 PM
Absolutely delighted for the lad. Great performance.

28-01-2023, 07:16 PM
Heart on sleeve, another 10 Josh Campbells please 🇳🇬💚🇳🇬

Agree. A brilliant all round performance.

yerauldda
28-01-2023, 07:16 PM
Never been so wrong about a Hibs player. Phenomenal today. Lampard-esque.

Disgraceful that Maloney ever played him at the base of midfield. Could have ruined the boys career.

28-01-2023, 07:22 PM
He did get bood on. Twas shocking.

I do agree at this and it would've been horrible for him but I think the booing was more at the substitution than Josh himself. We needed a goal and he hadn't scored at that point.

Torto7
28-01-2023, 07:48 PM
Never been so wrong about a Hibs player. Phenomenal today. Lampard-esque.

Disgraceful that Maloney ever played him at the base of midfield. Could have ruined the boys career.

:agree: and he played LWB away at Celtic although I'm not sure if that was Ross or Maloney. He suits a high tempo stretched game as a box to box midfielder. We've changed our tactics since the world cup break getting the ball in behind teams earlier this suits Josh. He's going to get a lot of interest for his pressing ability let alone the goal scoring. Only 22 as well.

Fratelli
28-01-2023, 07:48 PM
Never mind his goals. His assist for Nisbet was fantastic.

A proper 10/10 performance.

Agreed, also started the move for Nisbet’s goal by winning a 50/50 header before the Youan flick and playing the brilliant pass 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

28-01-2023, 07:50 PM

Josh Campbell
He is good
We've got Celtic on the run

28-01-2023, 07:53 PM
I think Campbell deserves a lot of credit for his attitude an desire to do well. Even this season, I’ve not been convinced. But today was as good a midfield performance as you’ll see. Three goals, a tackle to prevent a certain goal for them and I thought his pass for Nisbet’s goal was brilliant. I think that’s when he’s at his best, when he doesn’t think about things. Less touches the better for him IMO.

28-01-2023, 07:59 PM
Along with hat-trick, a great tackle made in our box at 2-0. Thought he was tremendous Today

28-01-2023, 08:00 PM
Along with hat-trick, a great tackle made in our box at 2-0. Thought he was tremendous Today

What a tackle that was.
Great to see a player making the most of what he has.

tonyrougier123
28-01-2023, 08:40 PM
Always gives 100%. Superb today. Must be the first name in LJs team sheet at the moment.

He already did I’m sure earlier in season.

JJP
28-01-2023, 08:43 PM
Seems to be growing in stature every week. One of our top players now without a doubt.

28-01-2023, 08:44 PM
Maturing very well and turning into a mainstay regular in our midfield, one of the 1st names on the teamsheet these days, played higher up the pitch he comes into his own.

28-01-2023, 08:48 PM
I didn't see it in him at all last season but I knew the coaching team had high hopes for him. Absolutely brilliant today.

Clarence
28-01-2023, 09:43 PM
Josh Campbell Hat Trick Haiku

A damp barren pitch
A laddie speaks to Nisbet
Campbell plays guitar

Stuarty1875
28-01-2023, 10:00 PM
Fantastic today. Glad he is getting the rewards for his hard work.

Adding goals and assists to his game along with his workrate is turning him into a big player for us.

28-01-2023, 10:02 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/q7WXwdmZ/733941-D0-2-F84-4584-90-B6-AB4730-EAFC58.jpg (https://postimg.cc/R3QHC2xc)

vuefrom1875
28-01-2023, 10:03 PM
Said it a week ago - future captain.

Been our best player this season.

Couldn't agree more...up and down the pitch,a la Pat Mcginley.delighted for the guy,keep it up son your putting smiles back on faces.

28-01-2023, 10:03 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/q7WXwdmZ/733941-D0-2-F84-4584-90-B6-AB4730-EAFC58.jpg (https://postimg.cc/R3QHC2xc)

And a yellow card. Busy day.

28-01-2023, 10:06 PM
Josh Campbell Hat Trick Haiku

A damp barren pitch
A laddie speaks to Nisbet
Campbell plays guitar

That's beautiful, man.

28-01-2023, 10:10 PM
Covered every blade of grass the day ! Gonna b a big player for us in the coming seasons if we can keep him.

Tbf, state of the pitch, even David Marshall did!

28-01-2023, 10:14 PM
come on all you Lyrical Hibernians, the young man needs a song

He's one of our own
Josh Campbell
He's one of our own

BegbieHSC
28-01-2023, 10:15 PM
I was relentless in calling him a *****, league 1 standard player last season.

Absolutely eating my words this season. Well done, Josh!

BegbieHSC
28-01-2023, 10:17 PM
Penalty, incidentally, that Lewandowski would be proud of. Smashed into the bottom right. Lewis had no chance! Neuer would have had no chance in fact !

28-01-2023, 10:29 PM
Last season or two Josh broke into the team with a string of energetic performances all over the midfield and occasionally fullback.
He was given a long deal amidst some criticism over whether his quality merited it.
This season he's come into his own though and its increasingly clear his best position is an attacking central midfielder. He's shown an uncanny ability to find space with late runs and coupled with that competitive nature and much improved composure on the ball, Josh has become a handful for SPL defences and a deserved first pick. That long term deal is starting to look like a great move afterall!

28-01-2023, 10:45 PM
He’s been terrific this season, really grown into the jersey and is a contender for player of the season. And I’m not having the “best of bad bunch” argument, his performances would put him in most top flight teams’ starting eleven.

28-01-2023, 11:23 PM
He's been much better under LJ than he was playing for Maloney..its obvious LJ has encouraged him to maraude forward, rather than pass backwards to keep possession at all costs..like it was under Maloney

He's here!
28-01-2023, 11:24 PM
Just seen his first goal on Alba. Whit a header, great stuff

Gets better with every viewing. Newell's cross was just beautiful but the finish from that distance was spectacular.

28-01-2023, 11:48 PM

Same

29-01-2023, 12:01 AM
You don't score headers from there. Spectacular.

29-01-2023, 01:51 AM
I honestly ****ing love the difference in Campbell from last season. I slaughtered the boy last year, but he's comfortably been our best player this year so far and I love being proved wrong.

Folk go on about him not being technically good enough and only having an engine. If being ***** technically get's you the same goals and assist tally that he has we need more technically poor players!

Love the boy.

29-01-2023, 01:52 AM
The guy deserves a new contract.

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-01-2023, 01:54 AM
The guy deserves a new contract.

Current deal runs until 2025, imagine they’ll try sort a new one for him in the summer

29-01-2023, 01:54 AM
Current deal runs until 2025, imagine they’ll try sort a new one for him in the summer

We should be extending that deal.

29-01-2023, 04:20 AM
Who gave him the deal to 2025?

I'm. Sure whoever done it was branded clueless not so long ago [emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

OldEast
29-01-2023, 04:45 AM

It's not laughable to suggest Youan as MOM even though I don't agree.

OldEast
29-01-2023, 04:48 AM

That certainly happened but I thought it was Drey Wright...could be wrong.

ChilliEater
29-01-2023, 06:57 AM
Reminds me of Ian Murray when he was first breaking into the team. Shifted around a lot, nobody could really decide his best position, not outstanding at any particular football skill, but good at all of them. Eventually we began to realise that Murray was just a quality footballer - hopefully Campbell is headed that way too.

29-01-2023, 07:39 AM
Our main goal threat away from a couple of the forwards. The idea that he’s simply a strong runner doesn’t stand up to scrutiny.

He’s improving no?

He didn’t look like any kind of goal threat a year ago. You can praise him without having a dig at fellow supporters.

29-01-2023, 07:44 AM
He’s improving no?

He didn’t look like any kind of goal threat a year ago. You can praise him without having a dig at fellow supporters.

Eh? It’s hardly a dig. I saw him described as a strong runner who isn’t good technically as recently as a week or two ago, all I said was this description doesn’t stand up to scrutiny.

coldingham hibs
29-01-2023, 07:45 AM
After criticising Josh previously in this thread I have to hold my hands up and say he was terrific yesterday. Well done Josh!

29-01-2023, 09:16 AM
One of the things I like about him is he is two footed.

Scored with his right twice but played a great pass for the fourth (albeit the Aberdeen guy got put on his ****) with his left after a headed clearance and a nice 1,2 with Youan.

Pretty sure his equaliser against Rangers was with his left as well.

29-01-2023, 09:17 AM
One of the things I like about him is he is two footed.

Scored with his right twice but played a great pass for the fourth (albeit the Aberdeen guy got put on his ****) with his left after a headed clearance and a nice 1,2 with Youan.

Pretty sure his equaliser against Rangers was with his left as well.

The volley v Rangers was his left.

29-01-2023, 09:26 AM
Aye some on here were saying he was a waste of a jersey. His work rate is superb does a lot of work in a match which tends to go unnoticed.

29-01-2023, 09:33 AM
Aye some on here were saying he was a waste of a jersey. His work rate is superb does a lot of work in a match which tends to go unnoticed.

Last season he was absolutely dreadful, for whatever reason. Probably not all his fault.

This season he's been much better.

29-01-2023, 10:30 AM
Last season he was absolutely dreadful, for whatever reason. Probably not all his fault.

Johnson deserves credit for improving him. I think Bushiri, Newell and Nisbet have all been better under LJ as well.

The Tubs
29-01-2023, 10:37 AM
He's one of our own
Josh Campbell
He's one of our own

To the chorus of ring my bell by Anita Ward:

Josh Campbellllll
Josh Campbell
Josh Campbellllll
Josh Campbell
Josh Campbellllll
Josh Campbell
Etc.

29-01-2023, 10:43 AM
Johnson deserves credit for improving him. I think Bushiri, Newell and Nisbet have all been better under LJ as well.

Good point

29-01-2023, 10:45 AM
He looks back to the player he was the 1st few games after he broke into the side. All energy and very positively minded. We seemed to be determined to turn him into something resembling a holding midfielder last season and that is never his game.

I was surprised to read suggesting that Jeggo had been getting a bit stick yesterday. Without turning a Campbell thread into a Jeggo thread, I thought he was very good yesterday. He's nothing flash but I reckon Newell and Campbell will love him. There are always players like that,under appreciated by fans but favourites of team mates and coaches.

Whisper it but it looks like we might have found a bit of balance in midfield.

SideBurns
29-01-2023, 11:17 AM

He wasn't dreadful all last season. His form dipped without any doubt, but he was playing well enough in the first half of the season to get MoTM v the Huns in the league cup semi-final (unless I've made that up, seems strange when I think about it considering Boyle scored a hat trick!)

One thing that can never be questioned with Josh is his attitude. I'd imagine he's one of those lads that other players wouldn't hear a word against due to his honest hard work and professionalism (a bit like Lewis Stevenson, perhaps).

29-01-2023, 11:29 AM
I thought he was poor last season as well and was disappointed to hear in the summer the coaching staff really rated him and he was going nowhere. I admit I was totally wrong about him and am delighted he’s doing well. Hopefully he continues to play in the same role where he is much more effective.

Paulie Walnuts
29-01-2023, 11:32 AM

There’s no point in reinventing things. He was largely terrible last season. He’s been much better this season. If he’d carried on last seasons form into this season he’d still have been terrible, thankfully he hasn’t. It’s that simple really.

CL0762
29-01-2023, 11:58 AM
He was terrible and looked terrible due to Maloney trying to play him as a 6.

He’s been superb this season, gives his absolute all for the jersey and is becoming a real goal scoring threat.

7 goals & 4 assists in the league in 22 games is an unbelievable return from him.

Keep up the good work Josh, fought your way into the team and undoubtedly first name on the team sheet.

29-01-2023, 01:12 PM
He wasn't dreadful all last season. His form dipped without any doubt, but he was playing well enough in the first half of the season to get MoTM v the Huns in the league cup semi-final (unless I've made that up, seems strange when I think about it considering Boyle scored a hat trick!)

One thing that can never be questioned with Josh is his attitude. I'd imagine he's one of those lads that other players wouldn't hear a word against due to his honest hard work and professionalism (a bit like Lewis Stevenson, perhaps).

Oh, he was dreadful, games were totally passing him by with him having zero impact. He certainly wasn't MOTM against Rangers. He made brutal mistakes at home to St Mirren and Livi which cost us goals. He was our worst midfielder. He was probably playing out of position, but still, should've done much better.

This season, he's totally changed it around. Credit to him and Johnson for getting the most from him. He's been really solid.

SideBurns
29-01-2023, 02:15 PM
Oh, he was dreadful, games were totally passing him by with him having zero impact. He certainly wasn't MOTM against Rangers. He made brutal mistakes at home to St Mirren and Livi which cost us goals. He was our worst midfielder. He was probably playing out of position, but still, should've done much better.

This season, he's totally changed it around. Credit to him and Johnson for getting the most from him. He's been really solid.

I think he was awarded MotM v Rangers at Hampden (whether he was the best man on the park is a matter of opinion). I agree he did have a poor 2nd half of the season under Maloney, along with just about everyone else! Your point about his position is likely correct, and LJ seems to have found the role that suits him best.

hibby rae
29-01-2023, 03:50 PM
Out of interest, where in Edinburgh is he from?

Is he a boyhood Hibby?

29-01-2023, 03:54 PM

Is he a boyhood Hibby?

No idea where he's from but positive he's a Hibee

aljo7-0
29-01-2023, 03:58 PM

Is he a boyhood Hibby?

He is from Edinburgh, was in the year below my older daughter at high school.

cameronw-hfc
29-01-2023, 05:41 PM

Is he a boyhood Hibby?

He's 100% a hibby

Paulie Walnuts
29-01-2023, 05:44 PM

Is he a boyhood Hibby?

For some reason I have it in my head he’s from Penicuik but I could be completely making that up.

29-01-2023, 05:48 PM
For some reason I have it in my head he’s from Penicuik but I could be completely making that up.

He was at Royal High in my nieces class. So possibly Silverknowes, Davidson Mains or Clermiston

29-01-2023, 05:50 PM

Absolutely not, family stay in the North/West Edinburgh
Dad, Mum and brother are massive Hibs fans and go to every game

Paulie Walnuts
29-01-2023, 05:50 PM
Guess I have made it up then :greengrin

29-01-2023, 05:52 PM
I think he was awarded MotM v Rangers at Hampden (whether he was the best man on the park is a matter of opinion). I agree he did have a poor 2nd half of the season under Maloney, along with just about everyone else! Your point about his position is likely correct, and LJ seems to have found the role that suits him best.

Yep, Johnson has got more out of JC than previous managers. He’s come on a lot this season. Under contract until the summer of 2025. Does Jack Ross get credit for the foresight behind that long term deal?

Svengali
29-01-2023, 06:20 PM
Campbell was outstanding yesterday.

His second goal was on the best I have seen at Hibs in many years. His pass for second goal was superb, perfectly weighted.

He is at his best playing off instinct and not having ages on the ball.

Proving to be a very important player.

gaz1875
29-01-2023, 06:27 PM
Campbell was outstanding yesterday.

His second goal was on the best I have seen at Hibs in many years. His pass for second goal was superb, perfectly weighted.

He is at his best playing off instinct and not having ages on the ball.

Proving to be a very important player.

I said the same yesterday, much better when he plays instinctively. I wasn't his biggest fan but if he plays like most weeks I will happily eat my words. I do wish he would be a bit more direct when on the ball. He gets into fantastic positions in both penalty boxes :top marks for yesterday.

29-01-2023, 06:28 PM
Big game player. Found the winner against St Johnstone opening game of the season, found the equaliser against Rangers, very unlucky not to open the scoring against them last weekend, and now scored five against Aberdeen this season alone.

29-01-2023, 06:32 PM
I said the same yesterday, much better when he plays instinctively. I wasn't his biggest fan but if he plays like most weeks I will happily eat my words. I do wish he would be a bit more direct when on the ball. He gets into fantastic positions in both penalty boxes :top marks for yesterday.

Joint top Hibs scorer and miles in front on assists suggests he is actually pretty direct. I do agree that he is very good at intuitive play and less so when he has loads of time on the ball, guess that’s more suited to the likes of Youan and McGeady.

29-01-2023, 06:32 PM
Maloney did his best to play him in such a way that would never bring out his strengths. He’s been much better than I thought he would ever be this season. Fair play to Josh and the manager.

29-01-2023, 06:44 PM
I think we need to try and forget last season. Along with many, he wasn't great. He did have some good moments, which convinced some that he could be a good player, but he also had some poor moments, which convinced some that he's never going to make it as a pro footballer. But, that's all in the past so there's little point in trading opinions on how bad/good he was.

I'm excited to see what Campbell develops into. He must be living the dream having produced the best box-to-box midfield displays that I've seen in many years. It's now up to him to build on his excellent display against what we all agree was a terrible Aberdeen team.

29-01-2023, 07:08 PM
There’s definitely lessons to be learned by all of us in granting players patience and encouragement in growing into a team.

Some get there quicker, some take time and some never at all, but everyone deserves their chance and Josh Campbell is a fine example of a slow burner who eventually becomes an automatic starter in the side.

It’s worth keeping in mind when we rush to write players off, and we all have to hold our hands up and admit we’ve been guilty of that at times.

Potty78
29-01-2023, 07:12 PM
There’s definitely lessons to be learned by all of us in granting players patience and encouragement in growing into a team.

Some get there quicker, some take time and some never at all, but everyone deserves their chance and Josh Campbell is a fine example of a slow burner who eventually becomes an automatic starter in the side.

It’s worth keeping in mind when we rush to write players off, and we all have to hold our hands up and admit we’ve been guilty of that at times.

I think he'll be our next money earner pal, never been as bad as others make out. Decent eye for a goal and works hard👍🏻

Green Reaper
29-01-2023, 07:22 PM
He was at Royal High in my nieces class. So possibly Silverknowes, Davidson Mains or Clermiston

Did stay in Silverknowes, near a friend of mine

29-01-2023, 07:31 PM
Big thing is him getting a bit of consistency now. Goal return is really good but, at the same time, yesterday ended 16 games without a goal. Should have plenty confidence now so hope he can kick in between now and the end of the season.

16-02-2023, 03:33 PM
Signed on til 2027

16-02-2023, 03:36 PM
Signed on til 2027
Absolutely great news 👏

Mikey_1875
16-02-2023, 03:40 PM
Never thought I would be happy to see this news after last season but his improvement this season has been very noticeable and he has added goals which we have been desperate for from midfield.

Hopefully he will go on to play well for us for a lot longer but it gives us good protection if more bids come in for him in the summer. Keep improving and he could be our next multi million pound transfer.

16-02-2023, 03:54 PM
Great news, he is definitely one we dont want to lose for peanuts.

Tarrahib
16-02-2023, 04:11 PM
We went to watch Hibs in a pre season game at Wick a few seasons ago and I’m sure Josh had a healthy fan club from the Caithness area at the game.

16-02-2023, 04:31 PM
Most improved Hibs player since, uh, Joe Newell? :duck:

16-02-2023, 06:05 PM
He’s looks a much better player now that he’s got a manager using him correctly. He’s absolutely changed my opinion of him. Well played Josh.

16-02-2023, 07:46 PM
We went to watch Hibs in a pre season game at Wick a few seasons ago and I’m sure Josh had a healthy fan club from the Caithness area at the game.

His dad is from Wick

16-02-2023, 07:51 PM
His dad is from Wick

Poor bugger 🤣

Tarrahib
16-02-2023, 07:55 PM
His dad is from Wick
Thanks Billy. it was a young Hibs team that played that game. I think they had won the league the season before. All the team were there Porteous Campbell Waugh. The only one missing was Ollie Shaw who was on duty with the 1st team
Barrie got my grandson a match strip.Grandson was delighted.Hibs class GGTTH

CB Hibs 68
16-02-2023, 08:03 PM
Josh Campbell is turning into a modern day Pat Mc Ginlay.Deserves his contract extension.Didn’t imagine I would be saying this 12 months ago but under L J he had stepped up to the plate.Long May it continue.