View Full Version : People who keep dangerous breeds of dogs
Donegal Hibby
27-01-2023, 10:10 AM
Over here where I live there's been a lovely country walk created during the COVID lockdown, there's a lot of work been put into it with a forty foot troll and fairy house's and such to make it amusing for parents with young children , it's basically for everyone Including dog walker's (like me that has a collie " pal" ) The walk is called " The Riverwalk" . On Wednesday a woman luckily enough escaped a bulldog going for her both ladies in there 60s really got a fright , the owner decided to let it off the lead and it didn't even have a muzzle on , Thursday I myself was up and a English bull terrier tried to attack me the owner who was polish could barely hold his dog on the lead and it got to a few feet from me again it had no muzzle . Quite frightening really , I'm sure it's the law here and in Scotland that they should have a muzzle on . I fear that it's only a matter of time before a kid or someone's badly injured if this continues, I can't understand why anyone would want to keep a dangerous dog like this and have such a disregard to other people or the law . Has any of you had issues with owners of these dogs before ?.
https://www.donegaldayout.ie/the-river-walk-dungloe
27-01-2023, 10:25 AM
Our lab got attacked by 5 greyhounds being walked by their trainer. He had them on lead but had zero chance of holding onto them all when they went for our dog. He got a few bites, one big one out of his back leg. Polis were sympathetic but ultimately did nothing.
We used to regularly meet a guy with 2 huskies who were always snarly and malevolent, but he did have them under control (just).
27-01-2023, 10:27 AM
I saw something on the BBC this morning that 2022 was a record year for dog attacks, think they said something like 10 people including 6 kids were killed by them, some people shouldn't be allowed animals
27-01-2023, 10:33 AM
It’s worth remembering that all dogs are potentially dangerous if not trained well; I needed stitches when too young to remember from a golden retrivier biting me, supposedly great with children.
Much more dogs around since COVID, and you don’t want to threaten the dog lovers lobby so no chance of politicians doing anything about the spate of dog attacks.
27-01-2023, 10:37 AM
It’s worth remembering that all dogs are potentially dangerous if not trained well; I needed stitches when too young to remember from a golden retrivier biting me, supposedly great with children.
Much more dogs around since COVID, and you don’t want to threaten the dog lovers lobby so no chance of politicians doing anything about the spate of dog attacks.
They are just in-bred wolves at the end of the day. Even a placid dog has built in defence mechanisms and powerful jaws. People who leave any dog unsupervised with wee kids are barking, imo.
27-01-2023, 10:52 AM
Over here where I live there's been a lovely country walk created during the COVID lockdown, there's a lot of work been put into it with a forty foot troll and fairy house's and such to make it amusing for parents with young children , it's basically for everyone Including dog walker's (like me that has a collie ) . It's called " The Riverwalk" . On Wednesday a woman luckily enough escaped a bulldog going for her both ladies in there 60s really got a fright , the owner decided to let it off the lead and it didn't even have a muzzle on , Thursday I myself was up and a English bull terrier tried to attack me the owner who was polish could barely hold his dog on the lead and it got to a few feet from me again it had no muzzle . Quite frightening really , I'm sure it's the law here and in Scotland that they should have a muzzle on . I fear that it's only a matter of time before a kid or someone's badly injured if this continues, I can't understand why anyone would want to keep a dangerous dog like this and have such a disregard to other people or the law . Has any of you had issues with owners of these dogs before ?.
https://www.donegaldayout.ie/the-river-walk-dungloe
Funny name for a collie, or any dog for that matter.
27-01-2023, 10:59 AM
Over a third of UK households have a dog. I was surprised at that stat (Ant and Dec's limitless win to thank for the flag) as I'd have guessed it was closer to 1 in 20 based on houses around me when I've lived in semi-rural areas, how many of my friends/relatives have dogs, and then factoring in the condensed flat living of London and other inner-cities...
I'm not a dog fan, but I don't let them bother me either generally. Although I always find myself a little put off when they're in indoor spaces (office, restaurants, pubs, etc).
Donegal Hibby
27-01-2023, 10:59 AM
My collies called "pal " sorry that's the name of the walk in dungloe D 👍
27-01-2023, 11:00 AM
My collies called "pal " sorry that's the name of the walk in dungloe D 👍
Yes, I know buddy.
Twas merely a jolly jape. 😃
27-01-2023, 11:03 AM
I think a lot of it is down to people who really have no business having a dog getting one on a whim during lockdown and not having the inclination to train them properly.
One of my neighbours has staffies (proper staffies, not the various crossbreeds often passed off as staffies) and they are great wee dogs. My daughter was a bit frightened off them at first but now she can't wait to see them. Guy who owns them said they are fantastic dogs with kids if they are trained properly. I think way back around the Victorian times they were actually called 'nanny dogs' because of their temperament around kids. Sadly they are also a dog that is obedient and eager to please so if some idiot gets a hold of one and rewards it for being aggressive then that's what they will be, with a powerful bite that's a recipe for disaster. Dogs like rottweilers are the same; territorial and protective of their own but obedient and easily trainable if you have the sense and commitment to do so.
It comes down to responsibility. Any dog, even a well trained one, can have a moment and in the case of staffies, rottweilers or the like that moment could be deadly. Two things really annoy me; firstly the 'he's just being friendly' when a strange dog charges at you and jumps up. Just keep your ****ing dog under control in busy areas whether they are being friendly or not. I understand dogs need exercise and off lead time is important for them but on a busy public path or in a park where there are a lot of people about either train it to walk to heel or keep it on a leash. Other people don't want your pet running up and pawing them. There are plenty open spaces that are quiet where dogs can have the real stimulating exercise they need. If there aren't spaces like this near you then you have chosen the wrong breed and that's your problem. Secondly the parents who just let their kids wander up to any old dog and start poking and prodding them. It's an animal you don't know ffs. They might be perfectly well trained but if someone started poking and prodding me I could easily snap if it went on long enough. When my kids ask to 'speak to the puppy' they either get told no or we wait for the owner to make the introduction. My daughter is of an age where her face is head height for medium to large dogs, it would be ****ing idiocy to let her just go patting every one we see.
I love dogs. I like walking into a pub and seeing one, I love it when people in my work bring their dogs in for the day and I'd have no issue with taking on a breed with a reputation if it was the right dog for me but I also want my interaction with them to be on my terms. I wouldn't let my children run up and touch other people and invade their space so i don't see why a dog should be allowed to do the same.
Donegal Hibby
27-01-2023, 11:09 AM
Yes, I know buddy.
Twas merely a jolly jape. 😃
We Have had some unusual dog names over here btw ,one Celtic fan had named his dog after a Celtic player who left and the dog ended up with the new name " ****bag" 😂
27-01-2023, 11:19 AM
So many lovely walks I used to do with my family when I was younger, doing them recently with my kids and they're all just full of dog **** and nyaffs. I would bring back the dog licence to encourage responsible ownership.
ErinGoBraghHFC
27-01-2023, 11:22 AM
Folk shouldn’t be allowed to walk their bairn eating ***** machines off a leash and some breeds should definitely be banned. I’m a cat lover and folk are right worried that ownership of breeds like the savannah cat and serval are on the rise due to social media influence (folk posting photos of this lovely big cat sitting on top of the fridge etc, saying how lovely and placid theirs is), but these cats can be dangerous. They’re only a few generations away from proper wildcats. Now if I can sit here and say you shouldn’t be allowed to own one of those, why can’t dog owners do the same for the breeds that, like it or not, are bred for their aggression? Madness
Donegal Hibby
27-01-2023, 11:32 AM
I think a lot of it is down to people who really have no business having a dog getting one on a whim during lockdown and not having the inclination to train them properly.
One of my neighbours has staffies (proper staffies, not the various crossbreeds often passed off as staffies) and they are great wee dogs. My daughter was a bit frightened off them at first but now she can't wait to see them. Guy who owns them said they are fantastic dogs with kids if they are trained properly. I think way back around the Victorian times they were actually called 'nanny dogs' because of their temperament around kids. Sadly they are also a dog that is obedient and eager to please so if some idiot gets a hold of one and rewards it for being aggressive then that's what they will be, with a powerful bite that's a recipe for disaster. Dogs like rottweilers are the same; territorial and protective of their own but obedient and easily trainable if you have the sense and commitment to do so.
It comes down to responsibility. Any dog, even a well trained one, can have a moment and in the case of staffies, rottweilers or the like that moment could be deadly. Two things really annoy me; firstly the 'he's just being friendly' when a strange dog charges at you and jumps up. Just keep your ****ing dog under control in busy areas whether they are being friendly or not. I understand dogs need exercise and off lead time is important for them but on a busy public path or in a park where there are a lot of people about either train it to walk to heel or keep it on a leash. Other people don't want your pet running up and pawing them. There are plenty open spaces that are quiet where dogs can have the real stimulating exercise they need. If there aren't spaces like this near you then you have chosen the wrong breed and that's your problem. Secondly the parents who just let their kids wander up to any old dog and start poking and prodding them. It's an animal you don't know ffs. They might be perfectly well trained but if someone started poking and prodding me I could easily snap if it went on long enough. When my kids ask to 'speak to the puppy' they either get told no or we wait for the owner to make the introduction. My daughter is of an age where her face is head height for medium to large dogs, it would be ****ing idiocy to let her just go patting every one we see.
I love dogs. I like walking into a pub and seeing one, I love it when people in my work bring their dogs in for the day and I'd have no issue with taking on a breed with a reputation if it was the right dog for me but I also want my interaction with them to be on my terms. I wouldn't let my children run up and touch other people and invade their space so i don't see why a dog should be allowed to do the same.
PB would you not be more weary of your neighbours breed of dog as opposed to say a Collie or Labrador though specially with its history of attacks ?
27-01-2023, 11:39 AM
PB would you not be more weary of your neighbours breed of dog as opposed to say a Collie or Labrador though specially with its history of attacks ?
I grew up with collies being part of the family my whole life. Great dogs - I’ve still been bit by at least two of them. And other ones have ‘went for’ younger family members over the years too.
One of those was from the friendliest, softest dog you could imagine who would never do anything remotely aggressive towards me.. but lashed out at my old man for trying to brush crap out of his coat, and young kids for being the right height for it.
As PB says - dogs of all kind, good and bad, are capable of hurting humans in the right (or wrong!) circumstances.
27-01-2023, 11:42 AM
Not really. Obviously the strength of their bite is potentially far more dangerous but an under stimulated, poorly trained collie is likely to be far more headstrong and temperamental than a staffie.
I wouldn't have a staffie as a pet personally, wrong dog for me, but I'm not against them in theory. There are a few dogs bred purely for aggression (most of them banned under current legislation) but staffies aren't one of them. The problem with staffies is more often than not at the other end of the leash.
27-01-2023, 11:46 AM
That made me have a wee chuckle! 😀
27-01-2023, 11:47 AM
That made me have a wee chuckle! 😀
The bugger amended his post! :greengrin
27-01-2023, 11:49 AM
Shouldn't be allowed! 😉
27-01-2023, 11:50 AM
Shouldn't be allowed! 😉
At least I quoted the original. 👍
27-01-2023, 12:02 PM
I was attacked at work years ago by one of my customer's dogs. They were a couple in their 70s and they had a massive Rottweiler that they simply couldn't control.
They had previously already had another Rotweiller, that had to be put down because it attacked a child, yet they got a second one.
There was a family of known drug dealers in the street I lived in when my kids were small, and they also had a Rottweiler, that they let wander about the street. There were loads of kids in that aree and they were all terrified when they saw it.
I dread to think what would have happened if it had become anxious when the kids all started screaming.
Donegal Hibby
27-01-2023, 12:11 PM
stu in nottingham
27-01-2023, 12:38 PM
Folk shouldn’t be allowed to walk their bairn eating ***** machines off a leash and some breeds should definitely be banned. I’m a cat lover and folk are right worried that ownership of breeds like the savannah cat and serval are on the rise due to social media influence (folk posting photos of this lovely big cat sitting on top of the fridge etc, saying how lovely and placid theirs is), but these cats can be dangerous. They’re only a few generations away from proper wildcats. Now if I can sit here and say you shouldn’t be allowed to own one of those, why can’t dog owners do the same for the breeds that, like it or not, are bred for their aggression? Madness
Not wishing to take the thread in a different direction but would tend to differ with your thoughts on Savannahs and other similar cats. There's no real evidence to say that Savannah cats are any more dangerous to people than any other cat. Sure, they will sometimes attack smaller animals. I have a Bengal cat, similarly, originally part-bred from wild cats (Asian Leopard Cats) as you probably know, some generations ago and popular (and expensive) due to their sometimes exotic markings like Savannahs. They have in common that strong hunting instinct, they're also on the larger side. I think it's the appearance that attracts people, not so much like the attraction that somepeople have for 'dangerous' dogs.
Bengals once had this 'wild' reputation but a few generations down the line I don't think it's accurate. I speak for my cat and for other Bengal owners I know and their cats and he is extremely friendly and affectionate towards people, especially kids, who love him. He is however fierce with other cats and other animals when protecting his territory. I've also seen him attack a couple of dogs who wandered off the leash onto his patch (they didn't come back) and chase foxes off. The main 'problem' with their behaviour, and relative to their wild lineage, is that they are very active, climbing, running around and demanding attention loudly, sometimes constantly. For this reason some owners have chosen to part company with them. They simply chose the wrong breed for them. Be interested to hear your thoughts mate.
27-01-2023, 12:41 PM
I saw something on the BBC this morning that 2022 was a record year for dog attacks, think they said something like 10 people including 6 kids were killed by them, some people shouldn't be allowed animals
It’s cause we all got dogs during COVID. Myself included.
I have a soft as ***** sproker spaniel.
She has been known to be a bit barley on walks of Luther dogs get in her face. I find having a ball in a thrower distracts her and she focuses on me and not other dogs.
27-01-2023, 01:15 PM
It’s cause we all got dogs during COVID. Myself included.
I have a soft as ***** sproker spaniel.
She has been known to be a bit barley on walks of Luther dogs get in her face. I find having a ball in a thrower distracts her and she focuses on me and not other dogs.
You sound like a responsible owner, unfortunately not everyone is the same, like PB I have pals with Staffies and they have been brought up and trained the right way and they are lovely animals, some folk just don't give a **** though
AugustaHibs
27-01-2023, 01:54 PM
Pittbulls and most dogs from the terrier family.
It doesn’t matter how these things are ‘trained’ they are bred to kill. You don’t need to train a collie to herd animals, they will attempt it instinctively as it’s in their genetics.
You could have a pit bull trained very well but it’s a ticking time bomb, they are bred to kill and that’s what most of them do.
It’s almost impossible to get them to let go of their grip, I’ve seen people getting attacked by pit bulls and even when someone is hitting the dog over the back of the head with a metal pole efc these things don’t let go.
Too many lockdown dogs who didn't get proper training. I see so many now who don't get off their leads because they've never been trained and don't cope around other people or animals. I can't imagine my dog never getting to run. She would be a mental case.
We have a 4 Yr old sprocker whose recall is great and she's non reactive to people or dogs but she's a nightmare to walk on the lead. If I see someone recall their dog and they don't come I recall mine and clip the lead on til theyve passed me. I take a wide berth around the ones who are reactive on leads usually by throwing her ball away from them so she's not in their sights.
The other day I passed a woman whose small dog was lying down on the lead, she was begging it to move and said well mummy's gonna walk away and leave you then. I was in bits laughing at her.
ErinGoBraghHFC
27-01-2023, 04:24 PM
Not wishing to take the thread in a different direction but would tend to differ with your thoughts on Savannahs and other similar cats. There's no real evidence to say that Savannah cats are any more dangerous to people than any other cat. Sure, they will sometimes attack smaller animals. I have a Bengal cat, similarly, originally part-bred from wild cats (Asian Leopard Cats) as you probably know, some generations ago and popular (and expensive) due to their sometimes exotic markings like Savannahs. They have in common that strong hunting instinct, they're also on the larger side. I think it's the appearance that attracts people, not so much like the attraction that somepeople have for 'dangerous' dogs.
Bengals once had this 'wild' reputation but a few generations down the line I don't think it's accurate. I speak for my cat and for other Bengal owners I know and their cats and he is extremely friendly and affectionate towards people, especially kids, who love him. He is however fierce with other cats and other animals when protecting his territory. I've also seen him attack a couple of dogs who wandered off the leash onto his patch (they didn't come back) and chase foxes off. The main 'problem' with their behaviour, and relative to their wild lineage, is that they are very active, climbing, running around and demanding attention loudly, sometimes constantly. For this reason some owners have chosen to part company with them. They simply chose the wrong breed for them. Be interested to hear your thoughts mate.
No mate I totally agree regarding Bengals, they’re brilliant cats but not beginner pets! Savannahs are typically much closer to the wildcat atm and many wild cats are taken from their habitat for breeding them.
27-01-2023, 05:21 PM
Too many lockdown dogs who didn't get proper training. I see so many now who don't get off their leads because they've never been trained and don't cope around other people or animals. I can't imagine my dog never getting to run. She would be a mental case.
We have a 4 Yr old sprocker whose recall is great and she's non reactive to people or dogs but she's a nightmare to walk on the lead. If I see someone recall their dog and they don't come I recall mine and clip the lead on til theyve passed me. I take a wide berth around the ones who are reactive on leads usually by throwing her ball away from them so she's not in their sights.
The other day I passed a woman whose small dog was lying down on the lead, she was begging it to move and said well mummy's gonna walk away and leave you then. I was in bits laughing at her.
Sounds like a spaniel thing. I've got a cocker and he knows heel, and can walk nicely on the lead but so often that nose takes over and he wants to pull in all sorts of directions. Thankfully he's great off lead and his recall is great. If I see another dog on a lead I tend to put him on until we're past (unless we know the dog and it's ok). With off lead dogs he tends to say hello, have a wee sniff and then run to catch me up. I tend to put him on the lead if there are young kids about, as he can be a bit jumpy and absolutely loves playing with kids - but when he's at their eye level it can be scary for them.
It's funny that so many dogs will focus on the owner if they have a ball / ball thrower to hand. Mines isn't interested in chasing a ball. Tried it a few times, but he just starts chasing it and then picks up a scent and goes off to explore that instead. Thankfully he's a total foodie, which made training / recall fairly straightforward.
27-01-2023, 06:10 PM
People who keep dogs like that should be muzzled along with their horrid little pets.
ErinGoBraghHFC
27-01-2023, 06:50 PM
People who keep dogs like that should be muzzled along with their horrid little pets.
When I see people with dogs like pitbulls, alsatians, rottweilers for example I can’t help but think what made you choose that breed? Of course any dog can be aggressive in the right circumstances but why would you choose one bred for fighting or to be a guard dog? What do you need guarding from? I’m quite feart of dogs in general but these big bruiser ***** proper terrify me walking past them. Dog owners are a rule unto themselves in this country apparently and can let their dug run up to whoever they want, cos they’re “just being friendly”. I couldn’t give a flying one if he’s “just being friendly” I don’t want him near me, should honestly start fining people for not keeping their dog under adequate control in public spaces. Won’t happen though because dog owners are our countries answer to the NRA, you’d be guaranteed to be voted out in the next election if you passed that bill.
27-01-2023, 08:21 PM
Dog owners. 😡
Lucky bast***s.
I'd love a dog but we travel away too often. It just wouldn't be practical or fair.
27-01-2023, 08:56 PM
My dog is more likely to drown someone in his drool than do them any harm. But that doesn't mean that other people won't be frightened of him and that's the important thing that responsible owners don't forget.
stu in nottingham
27-01-2023, 10:26 PM
No mate I totally agree regarding Bengals, they’re brilliant cats but not beginner pets! Savannahs are typically much closer to the wildcat atm and many wild cats are taken from their habitat for breeding them.
Aye, youre bang-on mate. I was definitely a beginner when I inherited my Bengal but he soon showed me how best to look after him! As is often the case, he was sitting at the bottom of the road tonight waiting for me to come home and walked me back to the house! Sometimes interrupts my sleep with him being so active but I can't help but forgive him when he's there in the morning giving loads of love. I find it interesting how affectionate he is with people but very different with other animals. The Savanahs are amazing looking animals, I'll maybe wait a wee while before considering one! Cats are so interesting. So clever and able.
ErinGoBraghHFC
27-01-2023, 11:07 PM
Aye, youre bang-on mate. I was definitely a beginner when I inherited my Bengal but he soon showed me how best to look after him! As is often the case, he was sitting at the bottom of the road tonight waiting for me to come home and walked me back to the house! Sometimes interrupts my sleep with him being so active but I can't help but forgive him when he's there in the morning giving loads of love. I find it interesting how affectionate he is with people but very different with other animals. The Savanahs are amazing looking animals, I'll maybe wait a wee while before considering one! Cats are so interesting. So clever and able.
Before you take the plunge on a savannah or similar, I’d recommend a sphinx. I know they’re ugly, I get it. BUT like Savannahs, they can’t be outdoors. I know bengals are usually indoor cats but realistically, they can go out on their own no bother. Sphinxes have the same energy levels but need to be supervised outdoors (because they’d freeze to death) by their owners. It’s a lot of responsibility, similar to what you’d have with a savannah but not quite so intense. They need bathed a lot as well because they sweat like Prince Andrew
Generally as a beginner cat owner I’d recommend a Ragdoll or Ragamuffin (I work with cats day in day out at my job, Chinchilla Persians would be a good shout as well but they’re a LOT of work brushing wise) because of their placid nature and general low maintenance-ness but fair play for taking on a Bengal as a new owner. That takes bollocks because of their reputation! It’s probably a good way to learn being thrown into the deep end, they’ll no take any ***** [emoji1787]
The reason your wee guy is so different with other animals is because Bengals haven’t lost any of their territorial or hunting instincts, they’re one of the few breeds of cat that would actually defend you like a dog might if something was to happen. They’ll protect their territory but also their colony, which they count you as part of.
stu in nottingham
27-01-2023, 11:30 PM
Before you take the plunge on a savannah or similar, I’d recommend a sphinx. I know they’re ugly, I get it. BUT like Savannahs, they can’t be outdoors. I know bengals are usually indoor cats but realistically, they can go out on their own no bother. Sphinxes have the same energy levels but need to be supervised outdoors (because they’d freeze to death) by their owners. It’s a lot of responsibility, similar to what you’d have with a savannah but not quite so intense. They need bathed a lot as well because they sweat like Prince Andrew
Haha! I struggle with their looks, not that it's everything. In reality, I'll probably stick with the Bengals. I've come to love the quirkyness and characteristics they have. I'd love a snow Bengal in particular but they're all fantastic. My lad was about ten years-old when he came to be mine and he'd spent a lifetime of going out and doing what he pleased. Pretty sure he'd go crazy if trying to keep him in nowadays and be very unhappy. They have so much energy as well and get easily bored when stuck in the house and a bit destructive. I often hear bangs and crashes around the house. Having said that, I'd aim to have a new pal kept as a house cat, they're so much safer. For this boy, I guess he has to venture out and live his life and he does that (and a half).
ErinGoBraghHFC
27-01-2023, 11:36 PM
Haha! I struggle with their looks, not that it's everything. In reality, I'll probably stick with the Bengals. I've come to love the quirkyness and characteristics they have. I'd love a snow Bengal in particular but they're all fantastic. My lad was about ten years-old when he came to be mine and he'd spent a lifetime of going out and doing what he pleased. Pretty sure he'd go crazy if trying to keep him in nowadays and be very unhappy. They have so much energy as well and get easily bored when stuck in the house and a bit destructive. I often hear bangs and crashes around the house. Having said that, I'd aim to have a new pal kept as a house cat, they're so much safer. For this boy, I guess he has to venture out and live his life and he does that (and a half).
There’s a wee snow leopard bengal lives a few doors up from mine and he refuses to stay in either, to the point the owner eventually just accepted it[emoji1787] he’s always at my door begging for something to eat, about 20 mins after my neighbours text me saying he’s been fed and no to listen to him. They’re definitely one of the most beautiful breeds but after my big ragdoll passes on it’s a Manx I’m after
Donegal Hibby
28-01-2023, 12:27 AM
When I see people with dogs like pitbulls, alsatians, rottweilers for example I can’t help but think what made you choose that breed? Of course any dog can be aggressive in the right circumstances but why would you choose one bred for fighting or to be a guard dog? What do you need guarding from? I’m quite feart of dogs in general but these big bruiser ***** proper terrify me walking past them. Dog owners are a rule unto themselves in this country apparently and can let their dug run up to whoever they want, cos they’re “just being friendly”. I couldn’t give a flying one if he’s “just being friendly” I don’t want him near me, should honestly start fining people for not keeping their dog under adequate control in public spaces. Won’t happen though because dog owners are our countries answer to the NRA, you’d be guaranteed to be voted out in the next election if you passed that bill.
I'm the same really don't get why people would want a Pitbull , Rottweiler or a English bull terrier , they are basically breed for fighting and are dangerous imo . Your right that dog owners are a rule on to themselves I see it over here too specially on the " Riverwalk " that I've been doing for a year or two now with people taking there dogs off the leads and letting them run wild , I always keep my collie on the lead ( as do other good dog owners)even though he's friendly as I know some people are frightened of dogs and it's just being respectful to other walkers
28-01-2023, 04:35 AM
I've got a Labrador and he's so amiable that if anyone broke into our house while we were out, he'd help them load the van.
As for those who keep dangerous dogs, I can't help but feel they're compensating for something.
Paulie Walnuts
28-01-2023, 07:08 AM
Funnily enough I’ve got a bulldog and have found that collies and sausage dogs are the worst dogs for going for/having a go at my dog with a collie having drew blood from my dogs neck. My bulldog doesn’t have a bad bone in its body, is the most placid dog you would ever meet and has never so much as barked at another dog. He even takes himself away from any type of confrontation he’s so adverse to it.
English Bulldogs couldn’t be further from a dangerous breed of dog.
Paulie Walnuts
28-01-2023, 07:12 AM
Pittbulls and most dogs from the terrier family.
It doesn’t matter how these things are ‘trained’ they are bred to kill. You don’t need to train a collie to herd animals, they will attempt it instinctively as it’s in their genetics.
You could have a pit bull trained very well but it’s a ticking time bomb, they are bred to kill and that’s what most of them do.
It’s almost impossible to get them to let go of their grip, I’ve seen people getting attacked by pit bulls and even when someone is hitting the dog over the back of the head with a metal pole efc these things don’t let go.
Most pitbulls kill? Come on now.
28-01-2023, 07:33 AM
Funnily enough I’ve got a bulldog and have found that collies and sausage dogs are the worst dogs for going for/having a go at my dog with a collie having drew blood from my dogs neck. My bulldog doesn’t have a bad bone in its body, is the most placid dog you would ever meet and has never so much as barked at another dog. He even takes himself away from any type of confrontation he’s so adverse to it.
English Bulldogs couldn’t be further from a dangerous breed of dog.
If you looks at the stats around the breeds most likely to bite different methodology throws up all different results. Some have pit bulls as the most likely to bite, others German shepherds, a lot have the chihuahua, Jack Russell or even the cuddly family friendly Labrador.
One thing that is consistent though is the border collie comes up in the top 5 in almost every list regardless of the methodology used. Herding dogs are bred to herd and that means being bred to bark, snap and bite. Of course undesirable traits are often bred out of dogs so collies from companion stock will be markedly different from those bred from working lines. As a breed they are fiercely intelligent and need all kinds of stimulus. A bored and under stimulated collie is not a dog you want around kids or other dogs. I'd be far more comfortable around a well trained, well stimulated rottweiler or bull terrier.
28-01-2023, 08:00 AM
Regarding collies, we had to pull our kids out of their childminder because she had a young collie that was previously crated, but she started bringing it in to the house.
We’ve had to report her because I just couldn’t live with myself if we didn’t report her and something happened to another kid.
This dog was on a lead in the house and got in the faces of the kids, making my son cry. Both kids were really wary of dogs for a while after we took them out, even of my brother in laws rescue lurcher who has never hurt a fly and is used to the kids literally sitting on her.
I had some very choice words for her when I witnessed the dog actually have a paw on my sons head and lick him, despite the dog being on a lead. She than said I could have stepped in 😂
28-01-2023, 08:02 AM
My dad has a German shepherd at home and he’s just a big softie, but I remember one night coming in really late when I didn’t live at home, the dog came through to the door in full “****yoidoinginmahoose” mode and until he realised who it was he looked terrifying.
28-01-2023, 08:18 AM
We have a well trained large dog in the family and this dog owner is absolutely fed up of picking up cat mess from his garden caused by the 5 cats that share the two houses next to us, one of the owners takes the what can I do approach, cats are feral and roam freely, the other one seemed genuinely surprised at this as his cat never does it in his garden.
Don't get me started about the dead wildlife, I've seen one cat bring down a pigeon.
Couldn't care less cat owners have less sense of responsibility than most dog owners I know, the attitude seems to be open the door and let them out.
28-01-2023, 10:37 AM
I've got a Labrador and he's so amiable that if anyone broke into our house while we were out, he'd help them load the van.
As for those who keep dangerous dogs, I can't help but feel they're compensating for something.
There's definitely something in that. My Lab would play all day with every dog in the world if I let him. I have noticed that owners of Bullies that I usually bump into, put their dog on the lead or harness, not because of what their dog will do, but because the dog is a rescued dog and is frightened. Going back to dog licensing might not be the answer, but it least it brought a bit of accountability and ownership to having a dog.
ErinGoBraghHFC
28-01-2023, 10:37 AM
We have a well trained large dog in the family and this dog owner is absolutely fed up of picking up cat mess from his garden caused by the 5 cats that share the two houses next to us, one of the owners takes the what can I do approach, cats are feral and roam freely, the other one seemed genuinely surprised at this as his cat never does it in his garden.
Don't get me started about the dead wildlife, I've seen one cat bring down a pigeon.
Couldn't care less cat owners have less sense of responsibility than most dog owners I know, the attitude seems to be open the door and let them out.
That attitude is changing rapidly now, far more people keep their cats indoors for their own safety and environmental reasons. I’ve never had a cat that’s been allowed to roam the streets and they’ve always had litter boxes scattered about the house. People are changing their behaviour when it comes to looking after their pet cats, maybe time dog owners listened to other peoples concerns as well, no?
28-01-2023, 10:52 AM
That attitude is changing rapidly now, far more people keep their cats indoors for their own safety and environmental reasons. I’ve never had a cat that’s been allowed to roam the streets and they’ve always had litter boxes scattered about the house. People are changing their behaviour when it comes to looking after their pet cats, maybe time dog owners listened to other peoples concerns as well, no?
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIndeed, everywhere we take our dog we clean up after it, rarely see a dog roaming randomly round here, definitely can't say the same about cats, but there's certainly plenty folk who have dogs who can't control them and don't take care of their mess either.
ErinGoBraghHFC
28-01-2023, 11:33 AM
Indeed, everywhere we take our dog we clean up after it, rarely see a dog roaming randomly round here, definitely can't say the same about cats, but there's certainly plenty folk who have dogs who can't control them and don't take care of their mess either.
I don’t disagree with anything you say but an unruly large dog off leash is potentially fatal, a feral cat allowed to wander might leave a child needing stitches if it feels threatened. Bit of a difference, no?
stu in nottingham
28-01-2023, 11:41 AM
Generally as a beginner cat owner I’d recommend a Ragdoll or Ragamuffin (I work with cats day in day out at my job, Chinchilla Persians would be a good shout as well but they’re a LOT of work brushing wise) because of their placid nature and general low maintenance-ness but fair play for taking on a Bengal as a new owner. That takes bollocks because of their reputation! It’s probably a good way to learn being thrown into the deep end, they’ll no take any ***** [emoji1787]
The reason your wee guy is so different with other animals is because Bengals haven’t lost any of their territorial or hunting instincts, they’re one of the few breeds of cat that would actually defend you like a dog might if something was to happen. They’ll protect their territory but also their colony, which they count you as part of.
That's great advice and really interesting, thanks. My lad had been around the area for many years and would wander on to my garden. I never knew where he was from. He took to coming in the house and sitting on the sofa which I didn't mind at all. When you've never really been a pet owner the affection you can get from them is a bit eye-opening. A neighbour finally informed me of where he lived and the next thing I heard was that his owners (ha!) were moving away. I felt a bit heartbroken really. Then, joy of joys the lady that kept him came to the house and said she was moving but not far away and accessed by a very busy main roadand was worried he'd try to return 'home'. She knew he came to me and asked if I'd like to keep him.
I have never regretted it for one single day. He has shown me unconditional love and especially helped keep me going through the lockdowns when I was at home alone. Definitely helped my mental health. Actually changed the way I think about life, animals and even people in some ways. He has enriched my life. Working from home my clients and colleagues know him well and love to see him in videocalls. He is the team's 'Psychology Cat'!
Similar to what you say I've heard that Bengals are some of the most dog-like cats. He can do tricks like retrieve stuff and open doors and cupboards. I've often toyed with the idea of taking him out on a lead but that would be some meandering walk!
That's a beautiful breed you have at home. Love your idea of the Manx for the future mate, just unique aren't they.
28-01-2023, 11:47 AM
I don’t disagree with anything you say but an unruly large dog off leash is potentially fatal, a feral cat allowed to wander might leave a child needing stitches if it feels threatened. Bit of a difference, no?
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYou won't get any disagreement from me there. I'm just saying what my actual experiences are and my unpleasant ones are mostly cat related as a result of them roaming around freely. Next door have cat flaps to facilitate this.
ErinGoBraghHFC
28-01-2023, 11:52 AM
That's great advice and really interesting, thanks. My lad had been around the area for many years and would wander on to my garden. I never knew where he was from. He took to coming in the house and sitting on the sofa which I didn't mind at all. When you've never really been a pet owner the affection you can get from them is a bit eye-opening. A neighbour finally informed me of where he lived and the next thing I heard was that his owners (ha!) were moving away. I felt a bit heartbroken really. Then, joy of joys the lady that kept him came to the house and said she was moving but not far away and accessed by a very busy main roadand was worried he'd try to return 'home'. She knew he came to me and asked if I'd like to keep him.
I have never regretted it for one single day. He has shown me unconditional love and especially helped keep me going through the lockdowns when I was at home alone. Definitely helped my mental health. Actually changed the way I think about life, animals and even people in some ways. He has enriched my life. Working from home my clients and colleagues know him well and love to see him in videocalls. He is the team's 'Psychology Cat'!
Similar to what you say I've heard that Bengals are some of the most dog-like cats. He can do tricks like retrieve stuff and open doors and cupboards. I've often toyed with the idea of taking him out on a lead but that would be some meandering walk!
That's a beautiful breed you have at home. Love your idea of the Manx for the future mate, just unique aren't they.
If you think he’d do well on a lead I’d definitely go for it, stops him from being able to catch quite so many birds etc and is far safer than him crossing roads on his own. I take my ragdoll out every now and again for fresh air but he’s not interested in walking very far (no surprise there, laziest *******s alive) so end up in the pub with beer garden with him sat at my feet watching the world go by. I’ve always had ragdolls since I was a boy and they’re brilliant if a bit dim, very affectionate.
Yeah the Manx definitely are unique and very playful little things, the wife drags me to all the cat shows around the country and I end up spending a good hour playing in the Manx section with them if the owners allow it, wee characters.
Glad to hear he’s been a good pal to you, I’m sure he’s dead happy! He picked you after all so he can’t complain too much [emoji16]
ErinGoBraghHFC
28-01-2023, 11:56 AM
You won't get any disagreement from me there. I'm just saying what my actual experiences are and my unpleasant ones are mostly cat related as a result of them roaming around freely. Next door have cat flaps to facilitate this.
https://spca.bc.ca/news/catio-benefits/
Print this off and post it through their letterbox, far safer for everyone including their cat. Can’t imagine letting mine wander about unchecked, would feel terrible if they were pissing and ****ting in folks gardens, winding up folks dogs and killing birds left right and centre. Then you have the risk of them being run over, for certain breeds they’re likely to be stolen as training bait for dog fighting rings, certain plants being poisonous etc.
28-01-2023, 12:16 PM
Print this off and post it through their letterbox, far safer for everyone including their cat. Can’t imagine letting mine wander about unchecked, would feel terrible if they were pissing and ****ting in folks gardens, winding up folks dogs and killing birds left right and centre. Then you have the risk of them being run over, for certain breeds they’re likely to be stolen as training bait for dog fighting rings, certain plants being poisonous etc.
[emoji106]
Appreciate that, thanks.
Get on okay with the neighbours otherwise but in one guys case he is just going to let his cats do what he says cats do, wander about.
We back onto an ancient graveyard and I've seen one of his cats running for its life from a fox so I guess it's feral all round in these circumstances.[emoji16]
28-01-2023, 12:20 PM
Print this off and post it through their letterbox, far safer for everyone including their cat.
Build your own prison for your cat. :confused:
We had cats for years, both here and in London. Never thought twice about not letting them outside. What kind of life is it for a cat if they're stuck in the house all the time?
Perhaps I'm thoughtless and inconsiderate.
ErinGoBraghHFC
28-01-2023, 12:25 PM
Build your own prison for your cat. :confused:
We had cats for years, both here and in London. Never thought twice about not letting them outside. What kind of life is it for a cat if they're stuck in the house all the time?
Perhaps I'm thoughtless and inconsiderate.
Prison? Nah, it’s a giant playground for them. And the point of a catio is that it’s outdoors? Much prefer that to them being squished by an SUV or poisoned by a neighbour
29-01-2023, 09:30 AM
Prison? Nah, it’s a giant playground for them. And the point of a catio is that it’s outdoors? Much prefer that to them being squished by an SUV or poisoned by a neighbourYour "catio" link is from Canada, where they have wolves, bears and cougars running wild. Do you really think this is a problem in Lanarkshire?
29-01-2023, 09:35 AM
Your "catio" link is from Canada, where they have wolves, bears and cougars running wild. Do you really think this is a problem in Lanarkshire?They've got huns everywhere out there, enough said?
ErinGoBraghHFC
29-01-2023, 11:12 AM
Your "catio" link is from Canada, where they have wolves, bears and cougars running wild. Do you really think this is a problem in Lanarkshire?
There’s plenty “Bears” in Lanarkshire [emoji6] no of course not but the other issues I’ve mentioned definitely are, plus danger to wildlife.
29-01-2023, 11:39 AM
We let our cat out for years and I suppose we habitually ignored or doubted some of the stuff about their impact on native wildlife.
He's an older man now at 15 so isn't as bothered about going exploring anymore. He'll still go out but rarely ventures out of site. He's happier just curled up at the bottom of the bed or on someone's chest these days.
I doubt we will have another cat when the time comes but if we did I think I would be more aware of their impact on the surrounding area and try to mitigate that whilst still keeping them stimulated.