View Full Version : Our derby attitude problem in a nutshell
24-01-2023, 12:49 PM
I found out this morning that Ken Buchanan had brought the ball onto the pitch for Sunday's derby. For sure a wonderful boxer and a credit to Edinburgh and Scotland.
But the guy is a sodding Jambo FFS. Can you imagine Hibs supporting Jamie Murray or Josh Taylor being asked to bring the ball out at Tynecastle before a derby, not a f'ing chance.
That right there is a massive pointer as to why we have a problem getting the upper hand in this rivalry. If the folk who run this club didn't know Ken was a Jambo they bloody well should have found out and drowned the idea at birth. That might sound petty and small minded, hell it is petty and small minded. But that's exactly where we have to be now in this rivalry .... like I said on another thread, if a player as much turns up to training wearing burgundy coloured socks he should be made to go home and change and then get fined a weeks wages for missing training.
We won't start getting the upper hand in this rivalry until we treat it like one and start taking it seriously from the top to the bottom of this club and if at times that makes us look petty and small minded sodding well BRING IT ON !!!
OldEast
24-01-2023, 12:57 PM
I found out this morning that Ken Buchanan had brought the ball onto the pitch for Sunday's derby. For sure a wonderful boxer and a credit to Edinburgh and Scotland.
But the guy is a sodding Jambo FFS. Can you imagine Hibs supporting Jamie Murray or Josh Taylor being asked to bring the ball out at Tynecastle before a derby, not a f'ing chance.
That right there is a massive pointer as to why we have a problem getting the upper hand in this rivalry. If the folk who run this club didn't know Ken was a Jambo they bloody well should have found out and drowned the idea at birth. That might sound petty and small minded, hell it is petty and small minded. But that's exactly where we have to be now in this rivalry .... like I said on another thread, if a player as much turns up to training wearing burgundy coloured socks he should be made to go home and change and then get fined a weeks wages for missing training.
We won't start getting the upper hand in this rivalry until we treat it like one and start taking it seriously from the top to the bottom of this club and if at times that makes us look petty and small minded sodding well BRING IT ON !!!
Yea Ken Buchanan was the difference definitely 😂😂😂
Trinity Hibee
24-01-2023, 01:00 PM
Agree with the OP. Why have someone of a Hearts persuasion bring the ball out at Easter road? Shows how much the club has changed behind the scenes these last few years that things like that are happening.
24-01-2023, 01:00 PM
Was Ken a proper Hearts fan? Or one of these sportsmen who has to say they support a football team because football fans have an odd obsession with who tennis players, boxers and netball players support.
His dad certainly wasn't. I sat next to him in the FF Upper for years and he was Hibs through and through.
24-01-2023, 01:01 PM
Yea Ken Buchanan was the difference definitely 😂😂😂
He said, entirely missing the point.
24-01-2023, 01:01 PM
Ken is from a family of jambos, in fact his family like most in Edinburgh is a mix of Hearts and Hibs but mostly jambos. He personally has little to no interest in football at all. He was a guest because he is a Leith son and we are a community club based in Leith.
OldEast
24-01-2023, 01:02 PM
"That right there is a massive pointer as to why we have a problem getting the upper hand in this rivalry. If the folk who run this club didn't know Ken was a Jambo they bloody well should have found out and drowned the idea at birth."
Nowt to do with Hearts being more organised than us. Our inability to put chances away. Our **** defence. No! Ken Buchanan brought the match ball out.
Trinity Hibee
24-01-2023, 01:04 PM
"That right there is a massive pointer as to why we have a problem getting the upper hand in this rivalry. If the folk who run this club didn't know Ken was a Jambo they bloody well should have found out and drowned the idea at birth."
Nowt to do with Hearts being more organised than us. Our inability to put chances away. Our **** defence. No! Ken Buchanan brought the match ball out.
Again, missing the OP’s point or choosing to ignore it
I'm Spartacus
24-01-2023, 01:06 PM
So we've gone from "BK OUT" to "KB OUT".
Super dooper.
Was Ken a proper Hearts fan? Or one of these sportsmen who has to say they support a football team because football fans have an odd obsession with who tennis players, boxers and netball players support.
His dad certainly wasn't. I sat next to him in the FF Upper for years and he was Hibs through and through.
Everything I've heard, including when his name has come up on here in the past, has indicated that he leans towards Hearts. I don't care if he hasn't been to a Hearts match for years, if his sympathies lie in Gorgie he shouldn't be bringing the ball out at Easter Road.
OldEast
Again, missing the OP’s point or choosing to ignore it
Tell me how Ken Buchanan bringing the ball out is a "massive pointer to why we can't get the upper hand" against Hearts. It's ****ing bollocks.
Trinity Hibee
24-01-2023, 01:08 PM
Tell me how Ken Buchanan bringing the ball out is a "massive pointer to why we can't get the upper hand" against Hearts. It's ****ing bollocks.
It has not impact on the result (the Op wasn’t claiming it did) but it points to The club itself behind the scenes having no roots/understanding of Hibs if they are not finding that out. Not difficult to understand but hey each to their own.
24-01-2023, 01:08 PM
The match day experience is only a good experience if we win. Sick of violinists, singers and famous Jambos being paraded before derbies. Absolutely pointless and hasn't made the slightest bit of difference. Can't be arsed with it at all. I want to see my team beating Hearts. That's all im bothered about in these fixtures. That needs to be in the DNA of the club like it is for them across the city.
darwenhibby
24-01-2023, 01:11 PM
Always thought he was a Hibby
Every day is a school day
OldEast
24-01-2023, 01:11 PM
It has not impact on the result (the Op wasn’t claiming it did) but it points to The club itself behind the scenes having no roots/understanding of Hibs if they are not finding that out. Not difficult to understand but hey each to their own.
Pish, makes no difference. Kenny is an Edinburgh hero.
OldEast
24-01-2023, 01:12 PM
The match day experience is only a good experience if we win. Sick of violinists, singers and famous Jambos being paraded before derbies. Absolutely pointless and hasn't made the slightest bit of difference. Can't be arsed with it at all. I want to see my team beating Hearts. That's all im bothered about in these fixtures. That needs to be in the DNA of the club like it is for them across the city.
Exactly 👍🏻
24-01-2023, 01:13 PM
Pish, makes no difference. Kenny is an Edinburgh hero.
Lets get Chris Hoy or Stephen Hendry out next time. Good Edinburgh guys.
OldEast
24-01-2023, 01:15 PM
Lets get Chris Hoy or Stephen Hendry out next time. Good Edinburgh guys.
OK it will still make no bloody difference
I'm Spartacus
24-01-2023, 01:23 PM
If Ken was a Jambo don't you think he'd have said "Thanks for the offer, but I support the away team"?
24-01-2023, 01:27 PM
We don't have an attitude problem, we have a pish players and manager problem. And a pish ceo and owner that got us them.
He's here!
24-01-2023, 01:31 PM
According to this interview Buchanan is a Hibs fan and the club had him on the Easter Road pitch milking the acclaim of the crowd before a match against Falkirk after he won his WBC title in 1971:
Ken Buchanan on Hibs, Josh Taylor, going full circle in Leith, getting a statue of himself and standing on Princess Anne’s toes | Edinburgh News (scotsman.com) (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/people/ken-buchanan-hibs-josh-taylor-going-full-circle-leith-getting-statue-himself-and-standing-princess-annes-toes-1328720)
Along with Josh Taylor, Alex Arthur was another successful boxing Hibby.
24-01-2023, 01:32 PM
Think he had a maroon waistcoat on
24-01-2023, 01:33 PM
I've been at a Hibs run charity event where Ken was in attendance. Had a brief chat with him about Hibs so surprised if this is true as he gave the impression he was a Hibs fan.
24-01-2023, 01:38 PM
No it isn't. Its a question of attitude and approach to this rivalry, an approach that for far too long has been weak and tepid from this club from top to bottom. FFS pointing that out has been a never ending recurring theme from poster after poster on this forum in the 13 years I've been a member of it.
Take a look any time you like at Jambos Kickback. They fin'g hate us .... they have the upper hand by miles in this fixture, they have 'put us in our place' three times at Hampden in the last few decades and yet the vitriol directed towards Hibs and anything Hibs on that forum is way out of proportion to that dominance, the way they look at us you would think we were the ones doing all that to them.
They wouldn't complain about a guy with Hibs leanings bringing out the ball before a derby because it wouldn't f'ing happen.
This isn't just my opinion, I've seen it expressed by a number of posters on this forum, not just this week but for years. This is how the derby goes:
Super Hibs team ...... We might win, but chances are Hearts will nick a draw in the last minute.
Pish Hearts team ..... Hibs might dominate the game, but Hearts will bang one in from 20 yards and win 1 - 0
Both teams are good .... Hearts will win 6 out of 10 with a couple of draws thrown in.
Both teams are pish .... Hearts will win 8 out of 10
The only way to explain that when both clubs have been historically near as dammit' equal when it comes to size of support and quality of player, at least for the most part, is attitude. They take the rivalry seriously from the very top of their club to the very bottom and that attitude is embraced and mirrored by the attitude of their fans to us, which ranges from outright hatred to dismissive mockery. And our failure to match that is absolutely encapsulated by what happened on Sunday.
If you think that's 'bollox' mate .... then you explain to me why yet again, for the umpteenth countless time after a derby match, you me and everybody else is taking part in yet another one of our seemingly never ending derby post mortems ???
24-01-2023, 01:39 PM
I dont think KB has ever bothered about football, and was probably delighted to be asked to present the match ball.
If he does have Hearts leanings, then someone should have told the wallopers in the South Stand as they were booing him as he walked on to the pitch.
Regardless of his affiliation, I am glad that Hibs honoured him this way - a legend of the boxing game and a hero to my late dad.
Yorkshire HFC
24-01-2023, 01:46 PM
Absolutely. He's one of Scotlands best ever athletes - perhaps it was felt that his presence might give the players that extra little bit of motivation.
Excellence spreads.
OldEast
24-01-2023, 01:46 PM
No it isn't. Its a question of attitude and approach to this rivalry, an approach that for far too long has been weak and tepid from this club from top to bottom. FFS pointing that out has been a never ending recurring theme from poster after poster on this forum in the 13 years I've been a member of it.
Take a look any time you like at Jambos Kickback. They fin'g hate us .... they have the upper hand by miles in this fixture, they have 'put us in our place' three times at Hampden in the last few decades and yet the vitriol directed towards Hibs and anything Hibs on that forum is way out of proportion to that dominance, the way they look at us you would think we were the ones doing all that to them.
They wouldn't complain about a guy with Hibs leanings bringing out the ball before a derby because it wouldn't f'ing happen.
This isn't just my opinion, I've seen it expressed by a number of posters on this forum, not just this week but for years. This is how the derby goes:
Super Hibs team ...... We might win, but chances are Hearts will nick a draw in the last minute.
Pish Hearts team ..... Hibs might dominate the game, but Hearts will bang one in from 20 yards and win 1 - 0
Both teams are good .... Hearts will win 6 out of 10 with a couple of draws thrown in.
The only way to explain that when both clubs have been historically near as dammit' equal when it comes to size of support and quality of player, at least for the most part, is attitude. They take the rivalry seriously from the very top of their club to the very bottom and that attitude is embraced and mirrored by the attitude of their fans to us, which ranges from outright hatred to dismissive mockery. And our failure to match that is absolutely encapsulated by what happened on Sunday.
If you think that's 'bollox' mate .... then you explain to me why yet again, for the umpteenth countless time after a derby match, you me and everybody else is taking part in yet another one of our seemingly never ending derby post mortems ???
Nice long rambling post. Ken Buchanan had no relevance to the outcome of the game.
OstKurve Hibs
24-01-2023, 01:57 PM
Agree with everything nae nookie says,
By all accounts aswell we have not many hibs people at the club to ram home the importance of the derby to the players.
We have our senior players tell new players, awwwww it's just another game !
Get to **** it's just another game.
You should be going to ****ing war when we play them !!! Toe to toe every single time !
Also there is not a lot of noise/hostility in the stadium, that was bordering a home game for them on sat with our near silence all game. The early goal didnt help, I get that, but still ....
Yiu can see the way the derby importance has been bred into them, when the score the wind us up to ****,
Players are told in no uncertain terms from day one that they must beat us at all costs !!! That's the ****ing difference!!! their official twitter ripping the piss aswell !
What's our Twitter, ****ing rainbow flags ukraine flags, condolence messages to dead parasite royals !!!
Sick of all this ****, its embarrassing!
We are a football club, not a tool for politics and agenda pushing.
24-01-2023, 01:59 PM
You should be going to ****ing war when we play them !!! Toe to toe every single time !
Stevenson and Hanlon are telling the newbies it's just another game...aye ok
OldEast
24-01-2023, 02:01 PM
By all accounts aswell we have not many hibs people at the club to ram home the importance of the derby to the players.
Also there is not a lot of noise/hostility in the stadium, that was bordering a home game for them on sat with our near silence all game. The early goal didnt help, I get that, but still ....
Yiu can see the way the derby importance has been bred into them, when the score the wind us up to ****,
Players are told in no uncertain terms from day one that they must beat us at all costs !!! That's the ****ing difference!!! their official twitter ripping the piss aswell !
What's our Twitter, ****ing rainbow flags ukraine flags, condolence messages to dead parasite royals !!!
What's any of this got to do with Ken Buchanan?
OstKurve Hibs
24-01-2023, 02:03 PM
What's any of this got to do with Ken Buchanan?
Derby attitude attitude and soft touch attitude of the club also being questioned in this post.
24-01-2023, 02:03 PM
In the name of the wee man, I heard it all now.
DIXIHIBS
24-01-2023, 02:08 PM
I kinda get where the OP is coming from. Ken Buchanan no matter what team he supports has no impact on the game but when a celebrity who is believed by many to lean towards hertz and hes wearing a maroon waistcoat it just plays into the whole narrative that hibs dont care enough about this game. Ive heard hertz criticised for drumming into their players that beating hibs is very important to tbe club...it works. Hibs have only won 4 trophies in my 60 years so what is next in importance...beating our rivals more often. Most of our best memories are days when we finally get it right against them. It boosts the fans far more than where we end up in the league etc. Its maybe not the be all and end all but it should mean a helluva lot more to the club than it appears.
OldEast
24-01-2023, 02:12 PM
Players and manager are responsible for beating Hearts. Not the fans attitude before the game, not celebrities on the pitch. It's the players and the manager. Currently we're not good enough in that department. Andy Murray and the Proclaimers would have made no difference.
OstKurve Hibs
24-01-2023, 02:12 PM
I kinda get where the OP is coming from. Ken Buchanan no matter what team he supports has no impact on the game but when a celebrity who is believed by many to lean towards hertz and hes wearing a maroon waistcoat it just plays into the whole narrative that hibs dont care enough about this game. Ive heard hertz criticised for drumming into their players that beating hibs is very important to tbe club...it works. Hibs have only won 4 trophies in my 60 years so what is next in importance...beating our rivals more often. Most of our best memories are days when we finally get it right against them. It boosts the fans far more than where we end up in the league etc. Its maybe not the be all and end all but it should mean a helluva lot more to the club than it appears.
Every derby should be like a cup final, or maybe not cos arent very good at them either.
The dalmeny
24-01-2023, 02:13 PM
I suspect a large number of fans don't have a clue who Ken Buchanan is, hasn't fought in 40 years and nearer 50 for his titles.
24-01-2023, 02:14 PM
Hearts have only won 3 trophies in your 60 years, and have not won the league cup for over 60 years.
Hearts fans are needy about their - excellent - derby record, because they are not (even close to being) as big or successful as they pretend.
Also, all Hearts fans are 6 fingered mutants who drive jobby coloured Rovers and couldnt get a ride at the shows...................
Trinity Hibee
Players and manager are responsible for beating Hearts. Not the fans attitude before the game, not celebrities on the pitch. It's the players and the manager. Currently we're not good enough in that department. Andy Murray and the Proclaimers would have made no difference.
Really? Cos your logic doesn’t answer why Hearts keep beating us even when we’ve got the better side. So there is something in the approach from the club as a whole.
It’s the approach in derbies which is a problem. Facts show that.
OldEast
I suspect a large number of fans don't have a clue who Ken Buchanan is
Sadly yes. All heroes must face that day.
OldEast
24-01-2023, 02:17 PM
Really? Cos your logic doesn’t answer why Hearts keep beating us even when we’ve got the better side. So there is something in the approach from the club as a whole.
You think the fans don't want it enough? The celebs aren't the of the right persuasion? My logic is sound. External forces have no bearing. Yes perhaps we're mentally weak in derbies but it can't be laid at the door of anyone but the players and manager.
DIXIHIBS
24-01-2023, 02:25 PM
Hearts have only won 3 trophies in your 60 years, and have not won the league cup for over 60 years.
Hearts fans are needy about their - excellent - derby record, because they are not (even close to being) as big or successful as they pretend.
Also, all Hearts fans are 6 fingered mutants who drive jobby coloured Rovers and couldnt get a ride at the shows...................
I know hertz have only won 3 so whats the next best thing to keeping fans onside...win your derbies. I think the hibs support is brilliant tbh coz its not easy at times.If hertz had our derby record they would not be pulling the crowds they do. Ps your right about the 6 fingers...
24-01-2023, 02:33 PM
" Buchanan claimed the WBC title to become undisputed champ at lightweight only to be stripped of it later over a contractual dispute. He would later lose the hotel bearing his name and suffer two divorces as everything crashed to the canvas but in September, 1971, a star at Madison Square Garden and loved by New York’s boxing aficionados, he was invincible. When Laguna came back for more, Buchanan won again.
Nine days after that triumph, Buchanan was in the centre circle at Easter Road before a Hibernian-Falkirk League Cup quarter-final, milking the acclaim of the crowd. I tell him I was in the Cowshed that night, singing “There’s only one Ken Buchanan” with everyone else. “Thanks, big yin,” he says. “How many folk were there that night?” I tell him the attendance was 27,041 and he bursts into tears.
You see, Buchanan never got the chance to fight professionally in Edinburgh so this would have been the largest gathering to greet him in the city of his birth.I mention that Josh Taylor, a fellow Hibs fan, will be guest of honour at today’s game at the stadium against Kilmarnock after becoming unified world champ at super-lightweight and he says: “Good for Josh, he’s a good laddie and a great fighter, and I hope he enjoys going on the pitch as much as I did. It was brilliant.”
Memories of that cup-tie come flooding
back. “Alex Ferguson was playing for Falkirk, wasn’t he? There was a guy who could handle himself. I went to the game with my dad and afterwards [Hibs lost on aggregate] we were walking behind a lad of about 12 who was crying. He was really greetin’ so I asked his old man what was wrong. ‘He just loves the Hibs,’ the dad said. I said: ‘Do you really, son?’ He nodded so I said: ‘Here, you have my season ticket for the Centre Stand. I cannae make all the matches so you give them a cheer for me.’”
James Stephen
24-01-2023, 02:39 PM
We don't have an attitude problem, we have a pish players and manager problem. And a pish ceo and owner that got us them.
I think the OPs point is that Hibs attitude to the derby has been off for decades, possibly even a century and a half...
HibeeHibernian4
24-01-2023, 02:43 PM
Both teams are pish .... Hearts will win 8 out of 10.
24-01-2023, 02:47 PM
Kens Dad was a massive Hibs fan and if Ken had any Jambo leanings they never manifested themselves in any tangible way.
Ken currently resides at a care home close to ER and that care home has very strong and commendable community connections with Hibernian FC. Residents from the home are often invited to attend various health and social initiatives at ER. I imagine this has been a similar initiative along the lines of inviting a resident who also happens to be an Edinburgh sporting legend and who lives near the stadium to bring the ball onto the pitch. To read anything more into it is really quite deluded and quite pathetic.
OldEast
24-01-2023, 02:48 PM
Kens Dad was a massive Hibs fan and if Ken had any Jambo leanings they never manifested themselves in any tangible way.
Ken currently resides at a care home in Albert Street and that care home has very strong and commendable community connections with Hibernian FC. Residents from the home are often invited around the corner to attend various health and social initiatives at ER. I imagine this has been a similar initiative along the lines of inviting a resident who also happens to be a sporting legend and who lives more or less next door to the stadium to bring the ball onto the pitch. To read anything more into it is really quite deluded and quite pathetic.
The voice of reason. Thanks for that information 👍🏻
May21/05/216
24-01-2023, 02:49 PM
Everything I've heard, including when his name has come up on here in the past, has indicated that he leans towards Hearts. I don't care if he hasn't been to a Hearts match for years, if his sympathies lie in Gorgie he shouldn't be bringing the ball out at Easter Road.Ken is Scotlands greatest boxer
That I've seen and the man is a legend of leith
It wasn't his fault that we got beat of hearts that I know he doesn't support
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Hibee Daft
24-01-2023, 03:00 PM
He is a sporting icon in Scotland (who doesnt get enough recognition) i really dont see an issue with him bringing out the match ball. Some people really are clutching at straws.
24-01-2023, 03:01 PM
Ken currently resides at a care home in Albert Street and that care home has very strong and commendable community connections with Hibernian FC. Residents from the home are often invited around the corner to attend various health and social initiatives at ER. I imagine this has been a similar initiative along the lines of inviting a resident who also happens to be an Edinburgh sporting legend and who lives more or less next door to the stadium to bring the ball onto the pitch. To read anything more into it is really quite deluded and quite pathetic.
His old man was a lovely guy. Told some great stories in the time I sat next to him. Wish I'd been older and able to really appreciate it.
Thanks for the info about the care home as well. I love reading stuff like that. That's what it's all about.
buktapurple79
24-01-2023, 03:03 PM
Bit of a daft thread. Known Ken for years, and he always liked Hearts, but he's a very affable, obliging fellae and I woudn't be surprised in them least if he's said that he likes the Hibs to others. None of this matters as he's an Edinburgh sporting legend of world fame in his sport, and whether Hearts are his team or not is irrelevant to getting beat of them. It's Hibs class to welcome a now-resident of Leith to our home
buktapurple79
24-01-2023, 03:04 PM
His old man was a lovely guy. Told some great stories in the time I sat next to him. Wish I'd been older and able to really appreciate it.
Thanks for the info about the care home as well. I love reading stuff like that. That's what it's all about.
Spot on:thumbsup:
loanheadhibby
24-01-2023, 03:06 PM
Great post mate and you're spot on.
I'm just amazed how a lot on here accept things so readily and feel things will turn around.
We may well beat Aberdeen on Saturday and everything will be fine until the Hearts hump us yet again in April if we make the top 6.
24-01-2023, 03:06 PM
Ken currently resides at a care home in Albert Street and that care home has very strong and commendable community connections with Hibernian FC. Residents from the home are often invited around the corner to attend various health and social initiatives at ER. I imagine this has been a similar initiative along the lines of inviting a resident who also happens to be an Edinburgh sporting legend and who lives more or less next door to the stadium to bring the ball onto the pitch. To read anything more into it is really quite deluded and quite pathetic.
You should perhaps remove reference to where Kenny stays, that's deeply confidential on not for a public forum.
Other than that, totally agree.
24-01-2023, 03:09 PM
My dad attends the Hibs memorabilia group that is hosted at Easter Road twice a month, and Ken is always there! They have great chats. Sadly Ken has severe dementia and can’t remember much about recent times but he always talks about his “up coming fight” against a big name.
Doesn’t matter who he supports or supported, he is a sporting legend and a very unwell man.
24-01-2023, 03:10 PM
I feel sorry for the original poster. The post is so obviously an illustrative point about attitude, not a literal one about Hearts winning because Ken led us out. Finding it hard to believe that some people fail to see that.
snedzuk
24-01-2023, 03:12 PM
According to this interview Buchanan is a Hibs fan and the club had him on the Easter Road pitch milking the acclaim of the crowd before a match against Falkirk after he won his WBC title in 1971:
Ken Buchanan on Hibs, Josh Taylor, going full circle in Leith, getting a statue of himself and standing on Princess Anne’s toes | Edinburgh News (scotsman.com) (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/people/ken-buchanan-hibs-josh-taylor-going-full-circle-leith-getting-statue-himself-and-standing-princess-annes-toes-1328720)
Along with Josh Taylor, Alex Arthur was another successful boxing Hibby.
Said to my Mrs at the game I was here last time he came out - didn't know it was as long ago as that mind you!
HarpOnHibee
24-01-2023, 03:12 PM
The players attitudes in the game weren't the problem. It was the wrong tactics given to players that simply lack quality. They gave it everything they could under the circumstances. The manager and the board have to take the lion share of the blame due to poor tactics and poor quality recruitment. I doubt any of the players even knew or cared which team the guy who brought the ball out supports.
vahibbie
24-01-2023, 03:19 PM
Obviously Ken Buchanan bringing out the match ball had no difference to the outcome of the game however the OP is 100% correct about our overall attitude the the Derby fixture.
The Hibs games are their must win fixtures and they are constantly motivated to achieve that. Their team bus shows previous goals against us while playing Hearts songs on the way to game. FFS when the opening fixtures came out Neilson openly admitted it wasn’t the first 2 games that mattered it was the early game, against us.
I don’t think we’ve had a manager that has prioritised this fixture since Turnbull and that includes some ex players. It’s high time we drummed into the team how much this game means to us. It seems apparent that man for man the Hearts are more up for this game than us and that has to change. We desperately need to get back on a winning streak against them, plus we get the obvious bonus of the feel good factor going into the next games when we win. If we keep LJ I’d suggest he’d be well advised to get his motivational skills sharpened or the importance of the Derby is the first question asked to prospective new manager.
BTW, I have great respect for Ken Buchanan.
leith lynx
24-01-2023, 03:27 PM
Sensible and factual post, well said.
vahibbie
24-01-2023, 03:34 PM
I feel sorry for the original poster. The post is so obviously an illustrative point about attitude, not a literal one about Hearts winning because Ken led us out. Finding it hard to believe that some people fail to see that.
Your a wise man👍
24-01-2023, 03:35 PM
No it isn't. Its a question of attitude and approach to this rivalry, an approach that for far too long has been weak.
Both teams are pish .... Hearts will win 8 out of 10?
Speaking with a few friends about this and the stats done lie.
You can also think of many examples of Hibs being favourites and Hearts still winning.
It’s mentality and mindset.
Any new manager should know winning Derbies are part of his targets.
As a club we aren’t going to change till the personnel change and that means staff and players.
Players who can deal with the pressure and staff who understand the importance.
We will continue to be soft and weak and fans can back the players as much as they want but that’s not enough as those responsible for winning - coach and players need to have the right mindset otherwise we will lose again.
When you have the fans - players and management with the same mindset you get the Hearts derby record.
Until then Hibs will be a joke in these games - better players / better football or not - you need to be mentally tougher.
24-01-2023, 03:45 PM
You must have sat near me. Front of the FF Upper, East Stand side. You'll remember Effing Linda as well I suspect :greengrin
I always got the impression him and his dad didn't get on though.
24-01-2023, 03:49 PM
You can also think of many examples of Hibs being favourites and Hearts still winning.
As a club we aren’t going to change till the personnel change and that means staff and players.
We will continue to be soft and weak and fans can back the players as much as they want but that’s not enough as those responsible for winning - coach and players need to have the right mindset otherwise we will lose again.
When you have the fans - players and management with the same mindset you get the Hearts derby record.
Until then Hibs will be a joke in these games - better players / better football or not - you need to be mentally tougher.
I think mentality and mindset is buying into Jambo myths tbh. From Mercer to Romanov they consistently outspent us, mostly with money it turned out they didn't have. If you spend more money you'll more often than not have better players. And that includes being better at performing under pressure and producing the goods when it matters.
24-01-2023, 03:52 PM
In the not distant past,we've had 3 managers in quick succession and all have not done well in this fixture.
So my thinking is, we concentrate on other teams in the league as there are more points to be gain there!
3-4 games a season against them is the be all and end all, but its only 9-12 points, against the rest excluding the old firm leaves 96 points up for grabs!
We need to concentrate on these points first, then push for getting more out of the other harder fixtures!!!
24-01-2023, 04:02 PM
I agree completely. It ties into many other things also, the way our fans talk about them on social media and message boards, far too nicey nice. They drill in a mindset and stick with it regardless of circumstances. We're happy to post about thinking how we're going to lose a Derby yet I see when the roles are reversed and we're going well and they're poor and it's especially a home game for us, they NEVER post and talk about how they feel we will win the game, even if they think it they don't post about it. Folk will read that and think that all doesn't mean anything but just like the OP point, it all mixes in and does make a difference. They'll have also had it hammered into them about the importance of winning the Derby yet we have Johnson pre match talking about how the players are calm and treating it like just the next game etc
Our attitude towards them from club board to the stands just isn't right.
24-01-2023, 04:06 PM
Some amount of utter pish on this thread, admirable creativity in terms of putting the boot in though.
24-01-2023, 04:10 PM
Swings and roundabouts. Not worth losing sleep over.
24-01-2023, 04:18 PM
I couldn't give a monkeys what team he supported, although I always believed he was a Hibby. Seeing KB on the pitch brought a tear to my eye. Guy is a f*****g legend. Last time I saw him in the flesh he was on his way into (and I was on my way out of) Towerbank sporting a cracking black eye and carrying his title belt!
hfcok
24-01-2023, 04:32 PM
When he came on they all booed, they must think he’s a Hibee as well😳
24-01-2023, 04:35 PM
In the not distant past,we've had 3 managers in quick succession and all have not done well in this fixture.
So my thinking is, we concentrate on other teams in the league as there are more points to be gain there!
3-4 games a season against them is the be all and end all, but its only 9-12 points, against the rest excluding the old firm leaves 96 points up for grabs!
We need to concentrate on these points first, then push for getting more out of the other harder fixtures!!!
I never disregard other games but reality is Derby wins buys the manger time and keeps fans onside longer.
Losing derbies and to Hearts who are city rivals for fans / money / sponsors etc is unacceptable.
Until we change this thinking we deserve nothing from these games as we don’t give them the respect they deserve.
vahibbie
24-01-2023, 04:35 PM
Some amount of utter pish on this thread, admirable creativity in terms of putting the boot in though.
Or shows how many of us aren’t that bothered. Why should manager or players worry if it’s just another game for fans.
24-01-2023, 04:37 PM
Remember that midweek match he was on the pitch versus Falkirk
0-2 down from the first leg we bombarded them for ninety minutes threw the kitchen sink at them and only had a Jimmy O’Rourke RIP goal to show for all our efforts
Think I was greetin at full time anaw
Ref gave us nothing
24-01-2023, 04:38 PM
I think mentality and mindset is buying into Jambo myths tbh. From Mercer to Romanov they consistently outspent us, mostly with money it turned out they didn't have. If you spend more money you'll more often than not have better players. And that includes being better at performing under pressure and producing the goods when it matters.
A lot of sport is win before the event has even started.
Hearts begin nearly every derby thinking they will win.
Hibs hope and that just won’t get you wins when most of the time hunger and desire separates the fine margins.
Fans can disregard it but shouldn’t be moaning when we get bumped against next derby and looking for reasons why we lost.
All about club culture.
24-01-2023, 04:41 PM
Pity he wasn't playing we needed a bit more punch in the forward areas to avoid a knockout.
24-01-2023, 04:49 PM
Obviously Ken Buchanan bringing out the match ball had no difference to the outcome of the game however the OP is 100% correct about our overall attitude the the Derby fixture.
The Hibs games are their must win fixtures and they are constantly motivated to achieve that. Their team bus shows previous goals against us while playing Hearts songs on the way to game. FFS when the opening fixtures came out Neilson openly admitted it wasn’t the first 2 games that mattered it was the early game, against us.
I don’t think we’ve had a manager that has prioritised this fixture since Turnbull and that includes some ex players. It’s high time we drummed into the team how much this game means to us. It seems apparent that man for man the Hearts are more up for this game than us and that has to change. We desperately need to get back on a winning streak against them, plus we get the obvious bonus of the feel good factor going into the next games when we win. If we keep LJ I’d suggest he’d be well advised to get his motivational skills sharpened or the importance of the Derby is the first question asked to prospective new manager.
BTW, I have great respect for Ken Buchanan.
OP is correct about his overall point, I agree entirely. The example he's picked and claimed that it encapsulates this overall point "in a nutshell" is laughably wrong though.
24-01-2023, 04:59 PM
You should perhaps remove reference to where Kenny stays, that's deeply confidential on not for a public forum.
Other than that, totally agree.
Fair comment and original post amended
vahibbie
24-01-2023, 04:59 PM
Or shows how many of us aren’t that bothered. Why should manager or players worry if it’s just another game for fans.
Is Ken Buchanan not from a generation that would go to Easter Road one week and Tynecastle the next? Maybe he has an affinity with both clubs.
24-01-2023, 05:11 PM
That’s true but I remember speaking to an ex Hearts player - good friend - who played during the Sauzee and Latapy era and he spoke about being in the tunnel before the 6-2 game in particular. He said although they knew Hearts had the dominant record, they knew they were beat when lining up alongside Sauzee, Yogi and Mixu. His words were “I didn’t know whether to **** myself after hearing Yogi’s threats or ask for Sauzee’s autograph” - the one thing he said was Hibs had more character than Hearts back then.
For me it’s who you sign, the character of the player, and above all the confidence they exude. Our squad have none of that just now, they look lightweight and they play without real inner confidence. Leaders - a word often labelled against Hibs side - are lacking.
He's here!
24-01-2023, 05:16 PM
Is Ken Buchanan not from a generation that would go to Easter Road one week and Tynecastle the next? Maybe he has an affinity with both clubs.
How common was that? I find it hard to imagine you could build up an equal affinity with both clubs. There maybe wasn't such animosity between the fans back in the 50s/60s though? I know my dad always said Hibs' bigger rivals were Rangers when he was watching them in the Famous Five era.
Might also have been at a time when travelling to away games was less of a regular thing and folk just wanted their football fix at the weekend. I think more people worked on Saturday mornings back then and wouldn't have had time to travel.
One thing I have certainly always found hard to fathom is why, if you were a born and bred Leither, you would choose to support Hearts.
24-01-2023, 05:19 PM
That’s true but I remember speaking to an ex Hearts player - good friend - who played during the Sauzee and Latapy era and he spoke about being in the tunnel before the 6-2 game in particular. He said although they knew Hearts had the dominant record, they knew they were beat when lining up alongside Sauzee, Yogi and Mixu. His words were “I didn’t know whether to **** myself after hearing Yogi’s threats or ask for Sauzee’s autograph” - the one thing he said was Hibs had more character than Hearts back then.
For me it’s who you sign, the character of the player, and above all the confidence they exude. Our squad have none of that just now, they look lightweight and they play without real inner confidence. Leaders - a word often labelled against Hibs side - are lacking.
And Yogi wasn’t even playing I hasten to add 😂
24-01-2023, 05:20 PM
Speak for yourself but I’ve never met a Hibs fan who’s indifferent to a game v Hearts ever.
As for Buchanan, he’s one of the greatest sportsmen this country has produced. The idea that him taking a baw onto the field reflects some kind of weakness of attitude is laughable.
24-01-2023, 05:22 PM
Exactly this. Recruitment. The key to putting that side together was having a manager with the contacts and personality and respect in the game (in addition to a decent wage budget) to attract players of the calibre of Sauzee, Latapy, Mixu, Zitelli etc.
Scotty Leither
24-01-2023, 05:27 PM
I saw him after the game as he was leaving hospitality and he got a round of applause and was bid good wishes from everyone in his vicinity. He was very dapper and didn’t look much over his fighting weight, but it’s apparent he’s not well.
Pat Stanton wasn’t far in front of him when leaving, and I would wager Pat sought him out too, as they knew each other as laddies.
Ken was well acquainted with my late Dad and his brothers from Piershill bygone days. Seeing him and evoking memories of my old man was the only highlight of another ****ty day versus that mob.
I gave Ken (a true great by the way) a round of applause when he came on; I only wish our team and club had half the fight and guile he had, we’d be in a lot better nick than we are now and maybe even win our share of matches against them.
PS: **** Heart of Midlothian
24-01-2023, 05:32 PM
Exactly this. Recruitment. The key to putting that side together was having a manager with the contacts and personality and respect in the game (in addition to a decent wage budget) to attract players of the calibre of Sauzee, Latapy, Mixu, Zitelli etc.
It was big Kevin James who told me that - really cracking lad who emigrated a few years ago. Yogi wasn’t even a Hibs player at the time 😂
24-01-2023, 05:40 PM
He was wearing a maroon waistcoat when he brought the ball on haha
vahibbie
24-01-2023, 05:47 PM
Speak for yourself but I’ve never met a Hibs fan who’s indifferent to a game v Hearts ever.
As for Buchanan, he’s one of the greatest sportsmen this country has produced. The idea that him taking a baw onto the field reflects some kind of weakness of attitude is laughable.
I will speak for myself thanks very much. None of the Hibs fans I know put the Hearts game on “it’s just another 3 points” level. Unfortunately it seems quite a few don’t share that view. Until that attitude changes Hearts by inlarge will have the upper hand.
I don’t know if Ken Buchanan is Hearts, Hibs or neutral and I have already said it made no difference to the outcome and I have much respect for the man. However a weakness of attitude as you put it is exactly what I believe is prevalent in the club.
24-01-2023, 05:51 PM
So the guy is at the very least Hibs leaning and is a Scottish sporting legend.
And is part of our derby problem.
And so are the flags posted by the Hibs Twitter account?
24-01-2023, 06:21 PM
I agree completely. It ties into many other things also, the way our fans talk about them on social media and message boards, far too nicey nice. They drill in a mindset and stick with it regardless of circumstances. We're happy to post about thinking how we're going to lose a Derby yet I see when the roles are reversed and we're going well and they're poor and it's especially a home game for us, they NEVER post and talk about how they feel we will win the game, even if they think it they don't post about it. Folk will read that and think that all doesn't mean anything but just like the OP point, it all mixes in and does make a difference. They'll have also had it hammered into them about the importance of winning the Derby yet we have Johnson pre match talking about how the players are calm and treating it like just the next game etc
Our attitude towards them from club board to the stands just isn't right.
Hearts fans under 55-60 go into every derby believing they will win because it's what they have always known. It's not faux bravado with them, it's gebuine. I think Hibs will lose because it's largely been the case in my lifetime.
I ****ing despise Hearts, second only to Rangers and by the tiniest or margins at that. I don't see how me as an individual fan pretending I believe we are going to win changes a whole culture though. Even if we all put a big act on it changes nothing.
Hibs fans mentality towards the derby will change when the team gives us reason for it to change.
the_ginger_hibee
24-01-2023, 06:45 PM
Yep. No way would that happen. A famous Hibs supporting sportsman on the pitch before a derby at Tynecastle. Never :greengrin
buktapurple79
24-01-2023, 06:50 PM
Hearts fans under 55-60 go into every derby believing they will win because it's what they have always known. It's not faux bravado with them, it's gebuine. I think Hibs will lose because it's largely been the case in my lifetime.
I ****ing despise Hearts, second only to Rangers and by the tiniest or margins at that. I don't see how me as an individual fan pretending I believe we are going to win changes a whole culture though. Even if we all put a big act on it changes nothing.
Hibs fans mentality towards the derby will change when the team gives us reason for it to change.
This - we need players with either (hopefully both) a cast-iron will to win or a desire to embrace or culture, playing ethos, community values and heritage. Plus utter hatred for those smug, loan defaulting, cheating, choring from charities *****.
ManchesterGreen
24-01-2023, 06:50 PM
Stevenson and Hanlon are telling the newbies it's just another game...aye ok
Paul Hanlon told anyone who’d listen in the pre match press conference before the Covid derby that it was a just another game.
OstKurve Hibs
24-01-2023, 06:53 PM
Paul Hanlon told anyone who’d listen in the pre match press conference before the Covid derby that it was a just another game.
Saw that video, about spat my coffee up the wall when he came out wi that.
ManchesterGreen
24-01-2023, 06:55 PM
The mentality of the club and its approach to derbies will never change unless the club changes. When new players / staff etc etc arrive at Tynie it is absolutely drummed into them that drawing against Hibs let alone losing to us isn’t good enough.
At Hibs you’ve got nothing like this , absolutely hee haw and it isn’t addressed in anyway.
24-01-2023, 06:58 PM
John McGinn on being Hearts in the draw - “Yes, let’s have it” 👍
Paul is so used to defeat against Hearts that’s the problem - downplaying it shows a nervousness. Often it’s players who b have no connection or immediate affinity with Hibs that seem to believe in it more.
ManchesterGreen
24-01-2023, 06:58 PM
It was nothing short of disgraceful. A shambles that the captain of our club should say that. What would happen if it was McGregor or Tavernier saying these things? They’d be lambasted from pillar to post.
How do you honestly expect new arrivals to have it drummed into them that beating hearts is so important when he’s coming out with this nonsense?
mcohibs
24-01-2023, 06:59 PM
You’re the only one bringing politics into things.
ManchesterGreen
24-01-2023, 06:59 PM
Paul is so used to defeat against Hearts that’s the problem - downplaying it shows a nervousness. Often it’s players who b have no connection or immediate affinity with Hibs that seem to believe in it more.
A loser’s mentality isn’t what we need. The losers in the squad need to be binned and it starts with him I’m afraid.
Svengali
24-01-2023, 07:00 PM
Ken Buchanan FFS!!! 😂😂😂😂
David Gray grew up a jambo.
We treat playing them like its another game, for them it means everything. They turn up with an expectation. We turn up in hope.
That’s the problem.
24-01-2023, 07:03 PM
Personally I’d rather we got a bit sharper in both boxes before getting worried about who brings the ball onto the pitch or what comments are made in press conferences.
There was nothing wrong with our attitude or approach on Sunday. We were short of quality and decision making in key areas and that’s what needs to change.
Svengali
24-01-2023, 07:05 PM
Yes and it’s deep rooted. Lack of belief / expectation in a derby is an issue. It’s the entire club mentality towards derbies.
h1bs4life
24-01-2023, 07:07 PM
In a nut shell , we have players used to getting beat in Derbies.
How many players from cup final 2012 do they have still playing for them ? How many do we have ?
If that result was reversed how long do you think anyone connected with that result would last with them.?
24-01-2023, 07:13 PM
Character shmaracter, we had much better players. Both clubs were spending beyond their means at that time but our money went on Sauzée and Latapy and they had huddies like Petric, and Jackson and Durie well past their best.
Peanut Shaz
24-01-2023, 07:14 PM
You must have sat near me. Front of the FF Upper, East Stand side. You'll remember Effing Linda as well I suspect :greengrin
I always got the impression him and his dad didn't get on though.
I was in Pretty Boys group and yeah, we sat in the FF Upper row FF if I remember correctly, near to the East. Got moved when the singing moved there. Can't say I remember effing Linda though. 🤣
CB Hibs 68
24-01-2023, 07:19 PM
Jeezus Christ.This problem we have in beating the Jambos goes back years.I am of a vintage growing up in the late sixties and early seventies when Hibs dominated these puddle drinkers.Sadly that was a blip .My old man watched the great Hibs Teams of the Forties and Fifties and they struggled against them.God knows what the answer is but I suspect it isn’t a club owned and run by Ron Gordon..
24-01-2023, 07:25 PM
Hibs have put highlights up on YouTube.
Might seem petty but for me, I don't want the club posting that. They should know the strength of feeling about it, and just let it go.
24-01-2023, 07:29 PM
Character shmaracter, we had much better players. Both clubs were spending beyond their means at that time but our money went on Sauzée and Latapy and they had huddies like Petric, and Jackson and Durie well past their best.
Huddies like Petrie, Durie and Jackson 😂😂 huddies ? Are you being serious ? Bet you never heard of Russell ? The players you mention won every cup in Scotland, were international players, and had European and World Cup experience- huddies 😂😂👍 you’re at it.
24-01-2023, 07:33 PM
I will speak for myself thanks very much. None of the Hibs fans I know put the Hearts game on “it’s just another 3 points” level. Unfortunately it seems quite a few don’t share that view. Until that attitude changes Hearts by inlarge will have the upper hand.
I don’t know if Ken Buchanan is Hearts, Hibs or neutral and I have already said it made no difference to the outcome and I have much respect for the man. However a weakness of attitude as you put it is exactly what I believe is prevalent in the club.
So no one I know ( and all my pals happen to be Hibbies, bar one) and no one you know feel the Hearts game is just another game, but it still seems t you that quite a few don't share that view.....Says who exactly, apart from you of course?
Weakness of attitude in this fixture or just the fact that they have by and large had better teams than us? There’s no doubt our record v them is miserable, bar mid 60’s -mid 70’s, aside from a few spells of parity or being unbeaten for 8 or whatever.
Fact is that Hearts, since Mercer, have nearly always spent more money than Hibs. Better players tend to win football matches.
ManchesterGreen
24-01-2023, 07:34 PM
Might seem petty but for me, I don't want the club posting that. They should know the strength of feeling about it, and just let it go.
Spot on. Read the room ffs.
24-01-2023, 07:39 PM
Hibs social media team are absolutely honking - more folk hired who know nothing about the club and who don’t read the room as you say.
Bland, uninspiring and much like the club at present. Yet another example of the club employing boring staff devoid of any character or vibrancy.
Lendo
24-01-2023, 08:01 PM
You sound like a delightful person….
Scotty Leither
24-01-2023, 08:03 PM
FFS…-they should realise doing stuff like this (while it might not seem a big deal to the well intentioned soul doing it) really grates with the fans.
At the risk of being called a Xenophobe, this reeks of the club being ran as an American football franchise where the “socials”, the amount of tweets and likes coupled with the fireworks and the opera singers are more important than the result.
Can someone at the club get a grip and at least give off an air of someone being in control???
Trinity Hibee
24-01-2023, 08:05 PM
Hibs social media team are absolutely honking - more folk hired who know nothing about the club and who don’t read the room as you say.
Bland, uninspiring and much like the club at present. Yet another example of the club employing boring staff devoid of any character or vibrancy.
To be fair when you see the salaries Hibs are paying you aren’t going to get hugely experienced staff
The dalmeny
24-01-2023, 08:09 PM
You sound like a delightful person….
anger management never did anyone any harm
24-01-2023, 08:14 PM
It would be weird for the club not to upload highlights just because we lost a match. Particularly if they only omit highlights from a derby defeat. They’re not promoting it, it was just quietly uploaded. No problem with that.
I’d largely agree about the rest of our comms and media output though. Totally generic and out of touch with what Hibs and Scottish football are about. It’s copy and pasted straight from any random EFL Championship club’s media strategy.
24-01-2023, 08:33 PM
That's where I am too but, I'd change Hearts and Rangers around.
24-01-2023, 08:39 PM
It would be weird for the club not to upload highlights just because we lost a match. Particularly if they only omit highlights from a derby defeat. They’re not promoting it, it was just quietly uploaded. No problem with that.
I’d largely agree about the rest of our comms and media output though. Totally generic and out of touch with what Hibs and Scottish football are about. It’s copy and pasted straight from any random EFL Championship club’s media strategy.
It was a Scottish Cup game, we've only had one this season, they could easily have just not done it. It's about time the club started treating a derby defeat differently to any other defeat.
I honestly don't care how petty it makes us look. I want the club to be so upset/disgusted/angry about it that we want to disassociate ourselves from it. Not putting together a highlights package for YouTube, promoted or not.
24-01-2023, 08:40 PM
This - we need players with either (hopefully both) a cast-iron will to win or a desire to embrace or culture, playing ethos, community values and heritage. Plus utter hatred for those smug, loan defaulting, cheating, choring from charities *****.
So the players are brought in by the club / recruitment / manager etc.
So the importance of signing a player who they have identified to have mental toughness and character.
Not a lightweight flair player with limited big game experience.
Until we start signing robust / physical players who can deal with pressure we will continue to fail.
vahibbie
24-01-2023, 08:42 PM
So no one I know ( and all my pals happen to be Hibbies, bar one) and no one you know feel the Hearts game is just another game, but it still seems t you that quite a few don't share that view.....Says who exactly, apart from you of course?
Weakness of attitude in this fixture or just the fact that they have by and large had better teams than us? There’s no doubt our record v them is miserable, bar mid 60’s -mid 70’s, aside from a few spells of parity or being unbeaten for 8 or whatever.
Fact is that Hearts, since Mercer, have nearly always spent more money than Hibs. Better players tend to win football matches.
Read my post, what I said was - None of the Hibs fans I know consider it just another game. I don’t know what your pals feel but mine all put more importance on it than most others. Barring my rogue Jambo mate😳
And as for weakness of attitude I think Paul Hanlon’s “it’s just another 3 points” comment sums it up perfectly.
Money as you know doesn’t necessarily make the difference as seen with Hibs v Livingston and St Johnston for example.
I’m just totally p!ssed off with our inability to compete with them and someone, somewhere, somehow needs to get it sorted👍
24-01-2023, 08:43 PM
I think we can agree with this.
Annoyingly even Hearts official social media is miles ahead of our rubbish.
Few years back Hibs were doing ok with this stuff but when you hire folk with no connection of understanding to the fan base you get bland posts and nothing connecting with the fans.
Surely the club could make a simple change here by changing their approach. The Hibs Twitter regularly winds folk up by not reading the room.
Yes idiots all over social media but football fans just want simple club info at times.
ErinGoBraghHFC
24-01-2023, 08:46 PM
I think we can agree with this.
Annoyingly even Hearts official social media is miles ahead of our rubbish.
Few years back Hibs were doing ok with this stuff but when you hire folk with no connection of understanding to the fan base you get bland posts and nothing connecting with the fans.
Surely the club could make a simple change here by changing their approach. The Hibs Twitter regularly winds folk up by not reading the room.
Yes idiots all over social media but football fans just want simple club info at times.
Hibs TikTok is decent, twitter less so, Facebook nearly non existent
24-01-2023, 09:04 PM
Huddies like Petrie, Durie and Jackson 😂😂 huddies ? Are you being serious ? Bet you never heard of Russell ? The players you mention won every cup in Scotland, were international players, and had European and World Cup experience- huddies 😂😂👍 you’re at it.
Petric was a huddie. I never said Jackson and Durie were, but both were expensive and past it. Both clubs were overspending but we were overspending better. :greengrin
24-01-2023, 09:18 PM
Never knew Ken Buchanan was a Hearts fan, even if that is a bit of a stretch going by some who know more about the man than me. Just assumed he was a Hibs man given his Leith background and I’m now feeling that my warm applause was about 30 seconds longer than it needed to be.
Cat Stanton
24-01-2023, 09:32 PM
I think you need some nookie.
25-01-2023, 01:45 PM
This abomination is now doing the rounds on twitter :faf:
25-01-2023, 02:57 PM
This abomination is now doing the rounds on twitter :faf:
Hahaha share a link mate, could do with a laugh 😂😂