View Full Version : Alan Stubbs
22-01-2023, 06:10 PM
For me we are in 2012/13 territory with the club divided, a lack of unity, togetherness and destination - journeymen, loanees, players who go through the motions. No one feeling the hurt, getting the club, understanding the Scottish game and in particular these games.
If it were me, I’d be seeking him out - he gets the passion, sets high standards, builds a really good dressing room and above all he sourced character. Hugely respected in the game, a winner, and could unite the club.
Hearts did it with Neilson, I honestly think - even with tinted specs on - he’s the appointment we need to reinvigorate and galvanise the club again.
K-Zazu
22-01-2023, 06:11 PM
Yes please
22-01-2023, 06:12 PM
Yeah he done most if that 8 years ago
Since then he's done worse than pish
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
22-01-2023, 06:12 PM
Only if we get Taff and Doolan back, and get Kensell and the sommelier straight to ****.
22-01-2023, 06:13 PM
Would love to see him back with the same backroom he had.
22-01-2023, 06:13 PM
Let’s not get nostalgic.
Great for us at the time, but failed to get us promoted twice including losses to Ross county in a final and a play off loss to Falkirk thrown in. People were calling for his head after the Falkirk game. Left on a high after winning us the Scottish cup.
Failed at every club after us.
22-01-2023, 06:14 PM
Yes
1875Sean
22-01-2023, 06:15 PM
Would need Stubbs, Doolan and Holden along with Dempster and Mathie
Hibees1973
22-01-2023, 06:15 PM
He is every bit as qualified as Maloney & Johnson but somehow they were appointed.
22-01-2023, 06:18 PM
If he brought his assistants with him then yes. He works within the director of football structure.
I liked his teams, there were low points but they were a group you wanted to get behind. I'm delighted it was his side that won the Scottish Cup, obviously any team that won it would be revered but they were infinitely preferable to the jokers of 2012 for example.
This Hibs team is just devoid of any identity. A group of guys who will be here today, gone tomorrow and most will be instantly forgotten. I never felt like that about Stubbs teams.
snedzuk
22-01-2023, 06:22 PM
Its a no from me - I love Alan Stubbs, but I wouldn't put him into this ****show.
Stokesy's on fire
22-01-2023, 06:29 PM
Don't want the legend ruined
Prob with Stubbs is when he done it last time we had Leeann dempster, George Craig etc all pulling in same direction . Now we have Gordon and Kensall
Let him keep his legend status he would only ruin it at hibs now
22-01-2023, 06:52 PM
Get him in as DoF, that way if Taff and Dollan did not want to join him no big deal.
22-01-2023, 06:52 PM
Deserves better than the current idiots running our club. Wouldn't go well.
22-01-2023, 06:53 PM
Overrated manager who left us at the first chance he had. Left us in the first division and said he had taken us as far as he can. So where is he taking us now given that we are in a higher division than when he left.
22-01-2023, 06:58 PM
Overrated manager who left us at the first chance he had. Left us in the first division and said he had taken us as far as he can. So where is he taking us now given that we are in a higher division than when he left.
Beat Hearts, Aberdeen, The Rangers ICT, and Dundee Utd whist in a lower league or similar, got to finals and semi finals, won a cup, and oversaw a huge change in the culture and professionalism of the club - spotted talents in SJM, Jase, Dylan, Scotty Allan and above all created the best dressing room we’ve seen since McLeish 👍
Over rated 😂aye okay then 👍
22-01-2023, 06:58 PM
Cup win is higher than any manager has taken us since the 50s.
22-01-2023, 06:59 PM
Not for me I'm afraid, he was gone before we won the cup. 😕
22-01-2023, 06:59 PM
Could win a cup game.
CB Hibs 68
22-01-2023, 07:00 PM
Holy **** .Surely we must all know the problem is with the ownership.Our owner knows literally nothing about football.Mind you sticking his son in as head of recruitment might save us .Gordon get tae.
22-01-2023, 07:00 PM
While we are at it bring Petrie back
WestStandWillie
23-01-2023, 06:41 AM
Nope.
He has a legacy. That squad will ruin it.
Mcbizz1998
23-01-2023, 07:54 AM
Let’s not get nostalgic.
Great for us at the time, but failed to get us promoted twice including losses to Ross county in a final and a play off loss to Falkirk thrown in. People were calling for his head after the Falkirk game. Left on a high after winning us the Scottish cup.
Where as Lee Johnson got us put out of the league cup in the group stage that contained Falkirk, got us put out of the Scottish cup at the first time of asking, humiliated by hearts.
I’ll take some nostalgia right now thanks!
23-01-2023, 08:03 AM
Outside of those 6 Scottish cup games he would be considered a failure. Only Hibs manager to finish below Falkirk in 50 odd years. With the players he had available to him that’s a shocking statistic.
23-01-2023, 08:10 AM
Outside of those 6 Scottish cup games he would be considered a failure. Only Hibs manager to finish below Falkirk in 50 odd years. With the players he had available to him that’s a shocking statistic.
A big part of what made him great was the players he had available, especially compared to where we were when he took over, thanks to his recruitment.
JammyDoidger
23-01-2023, 08:18 AM
It was the whole set up that got Hibs back then, their communication with supporters through fun things like 'outside the box' was it? It felt like we actually knew the players, our sponsor marathon bet at the time was great working with the club, giving us free Santa hats and all that stuff, they were great times.
23-01-2023, 09:49 AM
Not a chance. Massive success. Brought it quality players, built a quality side, got us competing every week. Only Hibs manager ever to reach both finals in 1 season. Beat Rangers 6 times in 2 years, positive record Vs Hearts.
23-01-2023, 09:53 AM
Where as Lee Johnson got us put out of the league cup in the group stage that contained Falkirk, got us put out of the Scottish cup at the first time of asking, humiliated by hearts.
I’ll take some nostalgia right now thanks!
I wasn’t comparing him to Johnson. We need better than both of them.
23-01-2023, 10:18 AM
Don't want the legend ruined
Agreed. Left on his own terms, after a proper journey he went out a hero. That should be that :aok:
HibeeHibernian4
23-01-2023, 10:41 AM
Only Hibs manager to reach both cup finals in the same season for about 50 years too. Or are you pretending that thats not relevant to us finishing third that season??
Edina Street
23-01-2023, 11:01 AM
As has been pointed out by other posters Alan Stubbs twice failed to guide Hibernian out of the Scottish Championship, and only days before the coveted Scottish Cup Final success versus Rangers there was actually a protest from Hibernian supporters that wanted Alan Stubbs sacked after finishing below Falkirk in the league. Alan Stubbs also went on to become sacked by Rotherham United and Saint Mirren respectively. Despite saying all this, Alan Stubbs is a Hibernian legend for obvious reasons, and it is best that it remains this way.
I personally would prefer to give one of the Hibernian supporting Golden Generation a chance. Kevin Thomson done a very good job at Kelty Hearts and he knows Hibernian and Scottish football inside out. He will know what level of player is required, and is likely to know the difference between a signing that is a "statement of intent" and not a "statement of intent". I think it would be a worthwhile risk to have one of The Golden Generation manage Hibernian under a DOF such as John Park whom was so instrumental in creating The Golden Generation.
23-01-2023, 11:08 AM
Only Hibs manager to reach both cup finals in the same season for about 50 years too. Or are you pretending that thats not relevant to us finishing third that season??
Very important context.
He's here!
23-01-2023, 04:44 PM
It was the fact we were in contention for the 'treble' of both cups plus promotion that understandably took its toll on the league form. It was a terrific season overall and I'd happily watch that side in the Championship again than consider going to watch the current side.
23-01-2023, 05:06 PM
Let’s not get nostalgic.
Stubbs was brilliant manager for games against teams that were equal to or arguably better than us.
The issue we had being in the championship the teams we were playing 99% of the time had squads who had no where near the quality we did.
He just never seemed to learn from his mistakes.
His insistence on playing a narrow midfield diamond against teams who sat in and double banked against us was just gross stupidity. Even more so when he decided to do it for a second season after it failed so badly the first year.
…and then there was our inability to defend set pieces at the end of games. I lost count of the number of points we lost to late goals from set pieces.
We finished in our lowest ever league position in my lifetime under him.
23-01-2023, 05:09 PM
Stubbs was brilliant manager for games against teams that were equal to or arguably better than us.
The issue we had being in the championship the teams we were playing 99% of the time had squads who had no where near the quality we did.
He just never seemed to learn from his mistakes.
His insistence on playing a narrow midfield diamond against teams who sat in and double banked against us was just gross stupidity. Even more so when he decided to do it for a second season after it failed so badly the first year.
…and then there was our inability to defend set pieces at the end of games. I lost count of the number of points we lost to late goals from set pieces.
We finished in our lowest ever league position in my lifetime under him.
If you offered me Stubbs with Doolan and Taff I’d jump at that …it was the whole coaching staff that made it special, not just the Head Coach
23-01-2023, 05:13 PM
Could win a cup game.
We're they big games though?
JamesHFC
23-01-2023, 05:13 PM
Worrying that he's failed in the two jobs since and been out of a management job for a couple of years now.
I'm also a bit sad he's never been invited to bring out the match ball or something prior to one of our big games. He would get an exceptional welcome.