View Full Version : This is how it feels (Hearts 22 01 23)
22-01-2023, 06:07 PM
My overriding feeling after watching us lose out to Hearts is one of frustration. There was no lack of application and desire from the players but failure to take advantage of many of the half chances created was their downfall. I actually felt we were the better side during several phases of the game but the final ball, and the misfortune of never seeing any breaks go our way, let us down far too often whilst Hearts were clinical when it mattered.
With injuries and suspensions creating absences, Lee Johnson probably picked the best starting eleven from the players available to him and that resulted in Ryan Porteous playing in the centre of defence which, to be fair, is where he should have been starting all along. Lewis Stevenson took up a midfield berth alongside newcomer Jimmy Jeggo.
It was Hibs that started the better and won a corner in the early minutes which Cabraja delivered into the area. The ball fell to Bushiri but his left footed strike sailed wide of the target. Hibs were hassling the man in possession and when Jeggo dispossessed Devlin he found McGeady wide right. A fantastic low cross reached Campbell who flicked an effort at goal only to see it thump off a post with Zander Clark static on his line. Moments later, Shankland was allowed the space to shoot but the effort went past Marshall’s right hand post.
A long pass from the back witnessed Porteous making the mistake of allowing the ball to bounce and in trying to recover from that he fouled Ginnelly. It was naive from Porto and cost us dear as Snodgrass swung in a cross that Hibs failed to properly clear and when the ball reached Ginnelly on the edge of the box the Hearts man fired in a low shot that took a deflection before flying past Marshall to give Hearts the lead.
Hibs recovered well from the setback and went about the task of seeking an equaliser but too often the final ball failed to materialise. Typical of a Derby, a few challenges were thundering in and first to bring about a yellow card was when Jeggo tripped McKay and just seconds later, McKay himself was carded for a crude challenge on Youan. There was frustration in the home stands as it seemed like every tackle on a Hearts player won them a foul but the mood improved when McGeady found the time and space to shoot, forcing Clark into conceding a corner. Seconds later, McKay could count himself lucky in not getting a second yellow after he tripped Jeggo, the Hibs man having just been booked for an identical trip.
Around the twenty five minute mark, Youan broke away and fed the ball to Nisbet who rounded a defender and was all set to shoot from around twenty yards when he was hauled down by Sibbick. In the lead up, Cochrane had intentionally brought down Cadden and there was a feeling of disbelief when referee Don Robertson booked Cochrane but not Sibbick. From the free kick, Nisbet fired his effort into the wall and the danger was cleared.
Both sides exchanged free kicks and then just past the half hour a delightful far post cross by McGeady found Campbell ghosting in but under pressure from both Cochrane and Clark the Hibs man could only steer his header into the side netting. Michael Smith then found himself in space in the Hibs box but his shot was saved by Marshall. Hibs then raced down the park and Cadden got a shot away that was blocked by the lunging boot of Rowles before a series of challenges by Hearts players stopped any real flow to Hibs’ game from developing. A Youan shot brought out a save from Clark and then Shankland fired wide from good position towards the end of the first half.
Neither side made half time changes and once again Hibs started the better but Hearts were packing the middle of their defence and so crosses into their box offered little threat. Five minutes in and Shankland was booked for a late challenge on Bushiri. In all honesty, he should have been booked earlier in the game for persistent fouling and on one occasion for the use of an elbow. As it was, his booking brought about a minor scuffle with Bushiri leading to the Hibs defender going into the book also. McGeady and Campbell both had shots with the former firing wide and the latter seeing the attempt blocked.
Ten minutes into the half brought a shot from Shankland which Marshall dealt with and then Youan brought the other keeper into things by forcing a good save from him. The flow of play was still predominantly towards Clark and he saved from Porteous before minutes later a cross from the left was falling to Stevenson who had his back to goal but tried to swivel and hit the dropping ball on the volley but the effort flew high over the bar. Youan had been giving Cochrane a difficult time and on one occasion he twisted right and left so quickly and so often that Cochrane nearly screwed himself into the ground. It was no surprise when Cochrane was put out of his misery in being replaced by Stephen Kingsley.
A fierce shot from Chris Cadden looked net bound until Clark dived to his right and diverted the ball past the post from a corner. From the resulting corner, Campbell had a shot but was closed down by Sibbick. Josh took a fraction of a second too long to get his shot away and Sibbick pounced to deny him. The home fans were roaring the side on as the pressure appeared to be building and so much so that Hearts took a bit of the sting out of things by taking the time to bring on two substitutes in Grant and Humphrys in place of McKay and Ginnelly. In pretty much his first involvement, Humphrys fouled Porteous and then Cadden found space to get a shot away that suffered the usual fate of being blocked.
Just as Hibs were building up another head of steam they conceded again when Shankland was allowed to head for goal before completing a one two with Humphrys and drilling a rocket of a shot past Marshall. The time given to Shankland was criminal and Hibs paid the ultimate penalty for backing off. Immediately after conceding, McKirdy replaced the tiring Jeggo and he was instrumental in Hibs winning a corner when Hill took the ball off his toe as he was about to shoot. Hill was replaced by Atkinson soon after as he stayed down in the Hearts penalty area following a collision with McKirdy as both contested for the ball.
We’ve all witnessed Hibs ‘giving up the ghost’ when trailing in games but that was not the case on this occasion as their effort and drive remained high in looking to get the goal that might just get their opponents a bit jittery. Campbell and Youan both got efforts away and in blocking one of those, Michael Smith was unable to continue and was replaced by Forrest. In truth, Hearts were just sitting in and absorbing the pressure as Hibs threw everyone forward as the fourth official indicated there would be a minimum of eight added minutes.
In the first of those additional minutes, Shankland caught Bushiri as the Hibs man cleared the ball and referee Don Robertson was quick to issue Shankland’s second yellow and then a red to send him off. Hibs still pressed forward and a stunning strike by Youan beat Clark but smashed off the far post. Time was ticking down and Hibs pretty much pushed everyone forward when they earned a corner. The ball was played to Cabraja whose shocking attempt at a cross led to Sibbick winning the ball and setting off down the park. Indicative of how many men we had forward, it was Kevin Nisbet who raced after the Hearts man but Sibbick kept his cool, lifted his shot over the diving Marshall and into the net for a third goal.
As I said earlier, I’m more frustrated than anything else. We competed well, gave all we had but fell short because of our failures in front of goal and some sloppy defending. Given it’s Aberdeen next it will be interesting to see who plays in defence as I assume Porto will be away and Bushiri was stretchered off in the dying moments with Lee Johnson hinting it might be a broken leg.
The players
Marshall – Exposed horribly for the second and third goals and had no chance with the first once it took a deflection.
Cadden – I suppose he could be held accountable for slack play at the second goal but that slackness happened just inside his own half and so he is not alone in getting things wrong.
Bushiri – Rocky took a few wee sly digs from Shankland but stood up to the task.
Porteous – Got it horribly wrong in his decision to let the ball bounce at the first goal but overall he proved once again that he is (maybe was) the best defender at the club.
Cabraja – Always happy to get forward, some of his crosses were excellent but that effort that led to the third goal was horrendous. Still looks poor defensively too.
Campbell – Came close to scoring twice and generally did a half decent job of keeping Snodgrass occupied.
Jeggo – I thought the pace of the game had him struggling for the first half hour but he improved with the going.
Stevenson – In midfield where some have suggested he is best deployed and while I felt he did well there I still feel he should be our starting left back.
McGeady – Some fabulous passes/crosses and he was still going strong at the end.
Nisbet – Good movement, hard working and always looking to find telling space. He limped off late in the game, so I hope it’s nothing serious.
Youan – Gave their defence a torrid time of it on occasion and was always likely to get the fans off their seats. My man of the match, even if I feel he needs to lift his head at times.
McKirdy – Yet another cameo appearance. I thought he looked lively and made some good runs.
Hanlon – Arrived just in time for the final whistle.
Henderson – Arrived just in time for the final whistle.
Lee Johnson – Heard his post match interview and can’t really think of anything he said that wasn’t what I’d just witnessed.
Referee – Don Robertson has a strange view on what constitutes a foul sometimes.
22-01-2023, 06:24 PM
I think you’re being far too generous
McGeady was poor. Hasn’t got the legs for it - not his fault that we had nothing on the bench of course. But that first half effort where he was in behind Smith and he lofted a volleyed cross behind for a goal kick…. Poor
Youan delivered nothing. Created nothing clear cut despite having the beating of his man. Missed a great chance to get a clear shot away or a penalty in the opening minutes due to his inept finishing/final ball. Loses the ball meekly in the build up to their 2nd goal. He’s never going to be good enough, clearly a reason he was available.
Stevenson in CM, again poor. Passing the ball out of play, 2 awful shots when in prime shooting positions. He was not good.
Hibees1973
22-01-2023, 06:39 PM
Must admit Jonnyboy this was a hard read given the end result.
You have been very generous to several players, some of whom should never be near a Hibs team or should have been moved on years ago.
Maybe I am over critical given what I saw today but most of our players lack quality in key moments and this is basically why we lost today.
A very kind and considered analysis overall by you.
22-01-2023, 06:58 PM
McGeady was poor. Hasn’t got the legs for it - not his fault that we had nothing on the bench of course. But that first half effort where he was in behind Smith and he lofted a volleyed cross behind for a goal kick…. Poor
Youan delivered nothing. Created nothing clear cut despite having the beating of his man. Missed a great chance to get a clear shot away or a penalty in the opening minutes due to his inept finishing/final ball. Loses the ball meekly in the build up to their 2nd goal. He’s never going to be good enough, clearly a reason he was available.
Stevenson in CM, again poor. Passing the ball out of play, 2 awful shots when in prime shooting positions. He was not good.
agree re Youan He isn’t a natural scorer and sll his good work gets wasted as doesn’t find a hibs player
L J said coaching staff have been working hard with him So have to assume this is as good as it gets
Roxyhibee
22-01-2023, 07:03 PM
Really enjoy your posts Jonnyboy but cannot believe what I’m reading here. We could have ran about and possessed the ball all day but would have just kept conceding without reply. Severely lacking the ability and quality to score against teams above us and cannot defend to save ourselves. An average team sucked us in like daft laddies and rattled 3 against us, There better be more new players coming in as today showed how inadequate this lot are.
Still Smiling
22-01-2023, 07:05 PM
I thought McGeady and Youan was excellent, not sure what you expect!
22-01-2023, 07:09 PM
I didn't see McGeady putting in one decent delivery. Really disappointing. Cabraja delivered the only decent cross of the day.
Youan had Cochrane on toast but again the final ball or finish was sadly lacking.
22-01-2023, 07:13 PM
👍 they were both good today
22-01-2023, 07:18 PM
I expect them to create chances. Both got to the bye line today, in behind the full back and their attempts to find a Hibs player were very poor.
Youan was through on goal in the opening minutes if he could control the ball and shield it from Michael Smith. He couldn’t. Just as he failed to take our best chance (or even force a save from the goalie) when through on goal at Tynecastle.
He’s not very good. Maybe he can improve with coaching but we’re talking about a player who has been playing at a decent level for several years now.
I expect much better
loanheadhibby
22-01-2023, 07:21 PM
I didn't see McGeady putting in one decent delivery. Really disappointing. Cabraja delivered the only decent cross of the day.
Youan had Cochrane on toast but again the final ball or finish was sadly lacking.
Youhan had Cochrane ragged time & again. His end product is non existent unfortunately. Kingsley seemed to have the measure of him but Youhan started finding space again and was unlucky to hit the post.
Roxyhibee
22-01-2023, 07:23 PM
Youan is clearly a very skilled player who is thrilling to watch sometimes but it’s very obvious he’s going to drive us all insane with holding onto the ball way too long and when he is forced into passing, it’s usually a reluctant lay off of frequently poor quality. More individual fusbal than team football for me at the moment. Frustrating.
loanheadhibby
22-01-2023, 07:24 PM
I expect them to create chances. Both got to the bye line today, in behind the full back and their attempts to find a Hibs player were very poor.
Youan was through on goal in the opening minutes if he could control the ball and shield it from Michael Smith. He couldn’t. Just as he failed to take our best chance (or even force a save from the goalie) when through on goal at Tynecastle.
He’s not very good. Maybe he can improve with coaching but we’re talking about a player who has been playing at a decent level for several years now.
I expect much better
You’re bang on re Youhans early chance. You’ve a feeling if that had fell to Ginnelly/McKay, it’s a goal.
Goes back to LJ comments after last derby. We are mediocre in final 3rd.
22-01-2023, 07:27 PM
Youan and McGeady were far from poor.
22-01-2023, 07:29 PM
You’re bang on re Youhans early chance. You’ve a feeling if that had fell to Ginnelly/McKay, it’s a goal.
Goes back to LJ comments after last derby. We are mediocre in final 3rd.
Shudda kept his body between the defender and the ball to his right and got at least a right footed shot away could not ask for a better chance through on goal but made an erse of it
His end product leaves a lot to be desired hopeless
Shankland would have lapped that up
Silky
22-01-2023, 07:30 PM
I expect much better
It's hard when there is only one player in there to find!
loanheadhibby
22-01-2023, 07:34 PM
Shudda kept his body between the defender and the ball to his right and got at least a right footed shot away could not ask for a better chance through on goal but made an erse of it
The minimum they would have got in a similar circumstance would have been a penalty.
I thought Youhan was good today but as Collins noted on radio after game, if he continually fails to deliver an end product, stick an X next to his name and try someone else.
Collins spoke very well after the game.
22-01-2023, 07:36 PM
They were both very wasteful. Both had the beating of the full backs but there was zero end product so they were poor for me. Big difference between the two teams for me. Their forwards had a chance each and scored. Ours had much, much more of the ball but did nothing.
smack
22-01-2023, 07:48 PM
For the 2nd derby in a row
22-01-2023, 07:49 PM
What did you feel they excelled at today?
hibbydog
22-01-2023, 07:57 PM
I think this is a fair report and matches what a lot of the neutrals are saying. We had most of the okay but failed to make it count. Then we indulge in some really sloppy defending which was clinically punished.
Victor
22-01-2023, 08:15 PM
Accurate report. I think some of your detractors must have been watching a different match, or viewing it through maroon coloured lenses. I think what I predominantly took from it all is that at the moment we have no luck. Bad enough that we draw Hearts in the first round, but also in numerous other incidents during the game.
loanheadhibby
22-01-2023, 08:24 PM
What did you feel they excelled at today?
To be honest with you, I don’t think that poster was even at the game. He just spouts random nonsense.
I thought they both had the beating of their defenders but at the key point, failed miserably to deliver.
22-01-2023, 08:30 PM
None of the players mentioned were poor. Maybe decision making or execution not the best at times however played well enough on the day.
22-01-2023, 08:32 PM
None of the players mentioned were poor. Maybe decision makers no or execution not the best stuff times however played well enough on the day.
With respect, if they aren’t making the right decisions or executing things well, they haven’t played well.
If effort was enough, we’d all be playing for Hibs
22-01-2023, 08:34 PM
With respect, if they aren’t making the right decisions or executing things well, they haven’t played well.
If effort was enough, we’d all be playing for Hibs
They all played well with respect. A lot of their play was good
22-01-2023, 08:34 PM
Youan is a talent. Can't just be written off already for not having an end product. With the right coaching he could be very good. Got us off our seats at least.
22-01-2023, 08:42 PM
Youan is a talent. Can't just be written off already for not having an end product. With the right coaching he could be very good. Got us off our seats at least.
Agreed. Youan was clearly our best player today as JB correctly asserted, although I also accept he is frustrating, as his decision making is often poor.
Hopefully with good coaching, he will improve at the same rate as Martin Boyle did.
22-01-2023, 08:46 PM
Accurate report. I think some of your detractors must have been watching a different match, or viewing it through maroon coloured lenses. I think what I predominantly took from it all is that at the moment we have no luck. Bad enough that we draw Hearts in the first round, but also in numerous other incidents during the game.
Today was nothing to do with luck. It was lack of quality.
We played pretty well between the 18 yard boxes but we’re lacking where it mattered at both ends.
Victor
22-01-2023, 08:49 PM
Today was nothing to do with luck. It was lack of quality.
We played pretty well between the 18 yard boxes but we’re lacking where it mattered at both ends.
Agree, but you also need luck. Hearts shoot through a ruck of players and find the net, we do similar and it hits off someone, you do need luck!
22-01-2023, 08:53 PM
Agree, but you also need luck. Hearts shoot through a ruck of players and find the net, we do similar and it hits off someone, you do need luck!
Again, not luck for me. Cabraja makes a shocking attempt to block the ball at the first goal, turns his back and about jumps out the way. At the other end, they don’t do that.
NC1875
22-01-2023, 09:00 PM
Schoolboy stuff from him. Twice now all he has to do is take a touch and cut across the defender and draw the foul. It’s so basic it’s unbelievable.
Will never be a good player, never mind a great player
22-01-2023, 09:02 PM
Schoolboy stuff from him. Twice now all he has to do is take a touch and cut across the defender and draw the foul. It’s so basic it’s unbelievable.
Will never be a good player, never mind a great player
So he'll never improve again despite improving since the start of the season. Aye very good.
NC1875
22-01-2023, 09:04 PM
So he'll never improve again despite improving since the start of the season. Aye very good.
He’ll be gone soon enough never to be heard of again. Bang average player who like I say, doesn’t even know the basics of the game at what age.
Part of the reason we are absolutely garbage.
Key West
22-01-2023, 09:10 PM
There was plenty of effort but no quality it’s difficult to make excuses for individual misjudgments or to be brutally honest a lack of composure when it matters, it’s all part of the game, we’ve not been able to defend all season and in the final third we are clueless, it is no coincidence that we are struggling I say this with a heavy heart.
Potty78
22-01-2023, 09:13 PM
Youan was one of our better players today. Final ball is the frustration. He was ripping Cochrane apart and that's why they changed it. He's young and hopefully improve.
22-01-2023, 09:14 PM
I think you are being pretty kind to some of the players too. Cabraja looks so slow and positionally he is all over the place. He did actually play a few very good balls today though. I thought McGeady and Youan were both very wasteful but they aren't helped as Campbell is the only player who makes an effort to run into the box except Nisbet. Both wingers should have done better with the sheer number of opportunities they had to get the ball into the box. Porteous has so much talent but makes so many unnecessary mistakes in very dangerous areas. The game turned on amateurish defending by him. I thought Nisbet when we got the ball near him played really well. He won loads in the air and directed his headers really well. His hold up play was excellent imo but he was marked well and couldn't make a run in front of a defender as he had no idea when Youan would actually cross it. I thought Jimmy J did pretty well considering the pace of the game. He read the game very well but looks poor on the ball. I'd have to see it again but Marshall was again very poor for the third. If he is off his line quicker he gets that ball. He was poor for the one Rocky passed back to him too and looks a mile away from being a captain to me. I've been disappointed in Marshall to be honest but Clarke looked a bag of nerves and came away with a clean sheet. I actually thought for teh first hour Campbell was our best player. He was everywhere and not only completely stopped Snodgrass having any influence but was our most likely player to score. We desperately need some players who can come on at the hour mark so Campbell can run himself into the ground and McGeady can go off as he was burst after an hour and pretty much looked disinterested unless there was a chance of getting the ball.
22-01-2023, 09:17 PM
I absolutely think Marshall should have come out and did better for their third, actually think he's been an awful signing and pray to god it's a position we're looking for next year.
I also love Stevenson but he is absolutely done.
22-01-2023, 09:18 PM
Don’t take it the wrong way
But kind of sums up where we are as a club
Accepting **** and tolerating it cause they tried
Hearts usually absolutely batter us in most derbies even when we are favourites which granted isn’t very often
I noticed a few people straight away at full time, stand up and clap.
I just can’t accept clapping a 3-0 doing from your local rivals.
We have literally went back the way in the 5 years.
He put in a few decent ones and one pearler that Campbell just didn't get the neck muscles onto.
I agree with JB and the poster who said we are getting zero luck. Our team is poorer than Hearts but I don't think you'd have said that from watching today's game as a one off. That luck goes to giving a guy just in the door and Stevenson a start at LB because probably our 3 first choice CMs were all out. Not to mention not having our best player for the rest of the season.
22-01-2023, 09:29 PM
OP writes a very good overview, and reading it over now reminds how baffling it is that we have lost 0-3. I enjoyed the game, until the third goal.
Plus points: team looked committed, at times very skillful and quick thinking in passing. Generally thought we were in that game until the last few minutes. Twice off the post is a bit unfortunate. Given we are having a stinker of a season, I was quite impressed with a lot of our play. Genuinely thought we were going to turn it around 2nd half. Hearts looked quite poor in large spells and while thats small comfort now, it suggests that we are not that far behind them (but see below).
Negative: We didnt show (or even seemed capable of showing) the clinical moments that Hearts did. It has been a problem for the last few years for us, and a recent strength of Hearts. Our squad looks very stretched and limited, and our best players want out - over the road they are building momentum and gaining in team togetherness. In short we seem to be going backwards from a place that is already not great. Worse, we have no quick fix for that and I cant see how we improve anytime soon. Hearts have millions of pounds funding from investers and FOH to keep pushing. Aberdeen have something similar.
Hope 1: We somehow (??not sure how??) improve our goal scoring/chance creating
Hope 2: Some of our youth team can make it into the first team and make an impact
Hope 3: Players like Youan and others continue to improve and do a 'Squirell' (ie go from a player that flattered to decieve to a player that made real impact)
Wild and Vain Hope: Someone actually decides to put millions/season into the playing squad (which would then make it a fair playing field with Hearts and Aberdeen).
Potty78
22-01-2023, 09:42 PM
Apart from the two crosses for Campbell?
Kano Kirsty
22-01-2023, 09:54 PM
Hearts usually absolutely batter us in most derbies even when we are favourites which granted isn’t very often
Pretty certain there was a number of Hearts fans in our end today. Looked obvious to me.
davym7062
22-01-2023, 09:56 PM
None of the players mentioned were poor. Maybe decision making or execution not the best at times however played well enough on the day.
decision making and execution are part of there game. dont matter if u beat 6 guys without the final pass
22-01-2023, 09:56 PM
Pretty certain there was a number of Hearts fans in our end today. Looked obvious to me.
There was a guy in the middle of the East stand filming the Hearts fans celebrating at full time.
davym7062
22-01-2023, 09:59 PM
yep dead right. we trieid hard so thats fine....... well *** off
22-01-2023, 10:00 PM
Fair enough, can't recall them. I expected much more from him after playing so well at Motherwell.
TheHarpy76
23-01-2023, 07:01 AM
OP writes a very good overview, and reading it over now reminds how baffling it is that we have lost 0-3. I enjoyed the game, until the third goal.
Plus points: team looked committed, at times very skillful and quick thinking in passing. Generally thought we were in that game until the last few minutes. Twice off the post is a bit unfortunate. Given we are having a stinker of a season, I was quite impressed with a lot of our play. Genuinely thought we were going to turn it around 2nd half. Hearts looked quite poor in large spells and while thats small comfort now, it suggests that we are not that far behind them (but see below).
Negative: We didnt show (or even seemed capable of showing) the clinical moments that Hearts did. It has been a problem for the last few years for us, and a recent strength of Hearts. Our squad looks very stretched and limited, and our best players want out - over the road they are building momentum and gaining in team togetherness. In short we seem to be going backwards from a place that is already not great. Worse, we have no quick fix for that and I cant see how we improve anytime soon. Hearts have millions of pounds funding from investers and FOH to keep pushing. Aberdeen have something similar.
Hope 1: We somehow (??not sure how??) improve our goal scoring/chance creating
Hope 2: Some of our youth team can make it into the first team and make an impact
Hope 3: Players like Youan and others continue to improve and do a 'Squirell' (ie go from a player that flattered to decieve to a player that made real impact)
Wild and Vain Hope: Someone actually decides to put millions/season into the playing squad (which would then make it a fair playing field with Hearts and Aberdeen).
On the contrary, wouldn’t this suggest that we’re quite a bit behind them as opposed to being “not that far behind”?
You say that you were impressed with us and so you’re pretty much saying we played well, whilst saying that they were “pretty poor”. Yet they still managed to beat us 3-0. I don’t know about you, but I shudder to think what the score might have been if they had actually played well.
Sorry bud, but we’re miles behind them.
23-01-2023, 07:18 AM
I absolutely think Marshall should have come out and did better for their third, actually think he's been an awful signing and pray to god it's a position we're looking for next year.
I also love Stevenson but he is absolutely done.
An awful signing😂😂😂😂
23-01-2023, 07:24 AM
An awful signing😂😂😂😂
It was a bit dramatic I admit, but I do think we should be looking for a better keeper in the summer.
23-01-2023, 07:25 AM
McGeady was bust in the second half. Rocky gave him a 20 yard start and ran past him to get back and defend. So he’s either not fit enough or can’t be bothered tracking back. Niz late on ran all the way back to our box to put a tackle in. That’s the difference.
loanheadhibby
23-01-2023, 07:32 AM
It was a bit dramatic I admit, but I do think we should be looking for a better keeper in the summer.
To be fair, you're not far wrong. He's been fairly average and we definitely should be looking for an upgrade on Marshall. As others will no doubt say, he's not the worst of our problems but defensively we are no better than we were with Macey/Marciano in goals.
23-01-2023, 07:59 AM
Watching the highlights back I have definitely been too harsh on McGeady. Second ball into Campbell was a great delivery and JC should really score.
Very little second half from McGeady but again - not his fault that the manager didn't replace him.
23-01-2023, 08:34 AM
Marshall - Made a couple of simple saves, let in 3 goals. He is a good keeper, but he doesn't make enough worldie saves for me. 4/10
Cadden - Good support for Youan going forward, but dreadful for the second goal. 5/10
Bushiri – My MOTM, won everything in the air and won his battles on the ground too, drove forward in the second half and played like he gives a ****. 7/10
Porteous – First goal was schoolboy defending, absolutely abysmal. Strokes the ball around nicely and played some decent balls out from the back. 4/10
Cabraja – He looked solid today, won his battle in defence and got forward well enough, looks a lot more like the player we signed than the rabbit in headlights he was at Motherwell. 5/10
Campbell – Never stops, did his job of keeping Snodgrass quiet well for the most part. 6/10
Jeggo – Early booking limited his effectiveness, I think once he's up to speed he will be a good addition. 5/10
Stevenson – Never a midfielder, never mind a midfielder that isn't a holding midfielder. Club legend but indicative of how ***** our recruitment is we are relying on him to fill a hole. 4/10
McGeady – No final ball, some nice trickery and always looked to make things happen. 5/10
Nisbet – Battled well enough and lovely effort off the post but was ultimately kept quiet. Looked like he never really recovered from his injury in the first half. 5/10
Youan – Some his footwork was excellent, Hearts crowded the box so I can see why he kept shaping to shoot rather trying to play a pass. Quiet first half but came out swinging in the second. 6/10
McKirdy – Buzzed around, did **** all of note.
Hanlon – I'd left by the time he came on.
Henderson - ditto, ****ing dreadful sub and how humiliating for the lad.
Lee Johnson – leave, and take the CEO and head of recruitment with you along with your ex-jambo assistant.
Referee – honestly not much to say about him, a couple of weird decisions and he should have booked 2 players in one incident in the first half when Nisbet was running at them.
23-01-2023, 08:59 AM
Probably the same ones who are on this thread.
Feel free to use the report function.
WestStandWillie
23-01-2023, 09:25 AM
Marshall 5/10
Cadden 4/10
Rocky 6/10
Porteous 4/10
Cabraja 5/10
Campbell 5/10
Jeggo 5/10
Stevenson 5/10
McGeady 5/10
Youan 5/10
Nisbet 4/10
23-01-2023, 02:07 PM
On another day Campbell might have had two goals-both from good McGeady crosses. I wonder what supporters see sometimes.
23-01-2023, 02:15 PM
I think you are being pretty kind to some of the players too. Cabraja looks so slow and positionally he is all over the place. He did actually play a few very good balls today though. I thought McGeady and Youan were both very wasteful but they aren't helped as Campbell is the only player who makes an effort to run into the box except Nisbet. Both wingers should have done better with the sheer number of opportunities they had to get the ball into the box. Porteous has so much talent but makes so many unnecessary mistakes in very dangerous areas. The game turned on amateurish defending by him. I thought Nisbet when we got the ball near him played really well. He won loads in the air and directed his headers really well. His hold up play was excellent imo but he was marked well and couldn't make a run in front of a defender as he had no idea when Youan would actually cross it. I thought Jimmy J did pretty well considering the pace of the game. He read the game very well but looks poor on the ball. I'd have to see it again but Marshall was again very poor for the third. If he is off his line quicker he gets that ball. He was poor for the one Rocky passed back to him too and looks a mile away from being a captain to me. I've been disappointed in Marshall to be honest but Clarke looked a bag of nerves and came away with a clean sheet. I actually thought for teh first hour Campbell was our best player. He was everywhere and not only completely stopped Snodgrass having any influence but was our most likely player to score. We desperately need some players who can come on at the hour mark so Campbell can run himself into the ground and McGeady can go off as he was burst after an hour and pretty much looked disinterested unless there was a chance of getting the ball.
Watch their third goal again. Cabraja starts pretty much in line with Sibbick as he starts his break from their box. By the half-way line Sibbick has taken 5 yards off him, then Cabraja gives up. Very poor.
23-01-2023, 02:43 PM
On another day Campbell might have had two goals-both from good McGeady crosses. I wonder what supporters see sometimes.
Difficult to say the first one is a good cross when it's behind Campbell. It was a decent ball, no more no less.
For me McGeady just didn't show up in the second half and that clouded my view on his overall performance. Unfair to call him poor but certainly nothing to celebrate about his performance.
23-01-2023, 02:55 PM
Watch their third goal again. Cabraja starts pretty much in line with Sibbick as he starts his break from their box. By the half-way line Sibbick has taken 5 yards off him, then Cabraja gives up. Very poor.
Was right in front of me. Said it at the time, Either Sibbick is raaapid or Cabraja is sloooow.
23-01-2023, 02:57 PM
Cabraja proabaly did 4 or 5 times the distance Sibbick did over the 90 minutes. It's amazing what camping on your 18 yard line can do for your steps.
23-01-2023, 04:29 PM
He does have end product 2 assists v Livi, one v Motherwell, really unlucky with his shot in injury time which was great technique imo.
23-01-2023, 04:31 PM
Cabraja proabaly did 4 or 5 times the distance Sibbick did over the 90 minutes. It's amazing what camping on your 18 yard line can do for your steps.
To be fair to the guy he hasn't played in months and would have been goosed by that time in the game. Personally thought he played pretty well yesterday
23-01-2023, 04:52 PM
To be fair to the guy he hasn't played in months and would have been goosed by that time in the game. Personally thought he played pretty well yesterday
He was better than he has been. Watch the first goal again. Players are rightly heralded when they put their body on teh line. Cabraja moved his body away from the ball potentially hitting him. I'm sorry but that is unforgiveable for me.
23-01-2023, 05:12 PM
He was better than he has been. Watch the first goal again. Players are rightly heralded when they put their body on teh line. Cabraja moved his body away from the ball potentially hitting him. I'm sorry but that is unforgiveable for me.
If ever you needed to illustrate the difference between the two teams and their will to win in this derby, that was it. You won’t block everything but you need to actually try and he didn’t. Up the other end they must have blocked a dozen shots or so from us. Proper desire to keep the ball out the net that we just don’t show.
23-01-2023, 05:36 PM
If ever you needed to illustrate the difference between the two teams and their will to win in this derby, that was it. You won’t block everything but you need to actually try and he didn’t. Up the other end they must have blocked a dozen shots or so from us. Proper desire to keep the ball out the net that we just don’t show.
Totally agree, the player may have but a shift but it is that little extras that means they win more times than not against us. They nearly always lose when we are miles the better quality team. Jumping out the way of goal bound efforts isn't in their Derby makeup.
dastardly8
23-01-2023, 06:19 PM
The cross for campbells headed miss wasn’t too shabby
ShetlandHibby
23-01-2023, 07:48 PM
Usually enjoy your summary of events but this is so far wide off the mark. Our defence was awful. We conceded 3 goals at home in a derby. Our attack was awful. We scored no goals at home in a derby. Nisbet was pretty much anonymous anywhere near this’ll sir box. Youan looks quick and lively but no goals and no assists yet again. Our full backs are piss poor. If porteous goes, Rocky is injured and someone does indeed come in for Nisbet then we are in big big trouble.
The chat that we are not that far behind hearts is madness. We need almost a whole new team.
23-01-2023, 09:52 PM
[QUOTE=ShetlandHibby;7247712]Usually enjoy your summary of events but this is so far wide off the mark. Our defence was awful. We conceded 3 goals at home in a derby. Our attack was awful. We scored no goals at home in a derby. Nisbet was pretty much anonymous anywhere near this’ll sir box. Youan looks quick and lively but no goals and no assists yet again. Our full backs are piss poor. If porteous goes, Rocky is injured and someone does indeed come in for Nisbet then we are in big big trouble.
The chat that we are not that far behind hearts is madness. We need almost a whole new team.[/QUOTE
If everyone is awful why are you worrying about who goes?
23-01-2023, 10:04 PM
[QUOTE=ShetlandHibby;7247712]Usually enjoy your summary of events but this is so far wide off the mark. Our defence was awful. We conceded 3 goals at home in a derby. Our attack was awful. We scored no goals at home in a derby. Nisbet was pretty much anonymous anywhere near this’ll sir box. Youan looks quick and lively but no goals and no assists yet again. Our full backs are piss poor. If porteous goes, Rocky is injured and someone does indeed come in for Nisbet then we are in big big trouble.
The chat that we are not that far behind hearts is madness. We need almost a whole new team.[/QUOTE
If everyone is awful why are you worrying about who goes?
Certainly agree with the penultimate paragraph
If we really ARE not that far behind Hearts, then it’s not reflected in the league table, nor by the fact that in our last recent 2 meetings, they have scored six goals against us, and we have scored zero.
If that’s close then I’d be interested to see what the definition of ‘far apart’ is.
Big90inOz
24-01-2023, 01:21 AM
Youan was very raw when he arrived, he is now a dangerous player who is starting to use his tricks and understand the pace he has.
Does he make poor decisions? He sure does but then he is pretty inexperienced. Is he improving ? Yes he is.
24-01-2023, 01:32 AM
Youan was very raw when he arrived, he is now a dangerous player who is starting to use his tricks and understand the pace he has.
Does he make poor decisions? He sure does but then he is pretty inexperienced. Is he improving ? Yes he is.
Yep, would be interested to see those who want rid of him and McGeady’s take on our performances if we didn’t have one player that can beat a man.
24-01-2023, 05:52 AM
Totally agree can be frustrating but a huge threat if he can get it together. Should be scoring more with his pace.