View Full Version : James Jeggo

dastardly8
21-01-2023, 04:33 PM
See we have signed Aussie James Jeggo thoughts ?

Billy McKirdy
21-01-2023, 04:34 PM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Jeggo

21-01-2023, 04:35 PM
Seems to have played at a decent level and a position we desperately needed to strengthen

Also won the the cup in both Australia and Austria 👀

21-01-2023, 04:42 PM
I'm pretty happy with this attempt to fill an embarrassingly long running problem area.

Welcome to the Hibernian roller coaster James.

Scotty Leither
21-01-2023, 04:48 PM
Can he play the morn?

21-01-2023, 04:51 PM
Can he play the morn?

Think theres a bit of thought both ways. He can if he get’s international clearance, whether or not we get that in time is another thing. Could this be a wee mind game from Hibs?

SON OF PADDY
21-01-2023, 05:01 PM
Welcome to the Hibernian Family Jimmy, all we ask is you give 💯 % in every game.

21-01-2023, 05:13 PM
Having criminally failed to adopt a chant for Franck Dja Djedje to to tune of Panic (sack the DJ) I demand we do it this time with Jimmy Jeggo.

Fergos
21-01-2023, 05:21 PM
Gettin Jeggo wid it..

21-01-2023, 05:23 PM
Meh

21-01-2023, 05:24 PM
Hey ho! Jeggo!

21-01-2023, 05:26 PM
No idea if he’s good or not but happy we’ve signed someone with a decent amount of experience and at a decent level for a problem area.

In the past I have got really excited about potential players who turned out to be rubbish, I’ve also been underwhelmed by players who turn out to be brilliant.

Welcome JJ and hopefully start with a win tomorrow!

21-01-2023, 05:27 PM
This sounds like a good solid signing - someone that should be able to step straight into the starting eleven and add a bit of steel to an area that's been desperately in need of strengthening. Welcome to the Hibees James :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

21-01-2023, 05:29 PM
Welcome to our very own Austrian Australian.

21-01-2023, 05:37 PM
Think theres a bit of thought both ways. He can if he get’s international clearance, whether or not we get that in time is another thing. Could this be a wee mind game from Hibs?

He trained with the 1st team today.

21-01-2023, 05:39 PM
He trained with the 1st team today.

Is international clearance required for them to train? 🤔

21-01-2023, 05:47 PM

Hopefully he's having macaroni and chips for his tea. Worked for the last Aussie that signed the day before a derby.

21-01-2023, 05:48 PM
Is international clearance required for them to train? 🤔 I would think he would need a work permit

Zambernardi1875
21-01-2023, 05:50 PM
A poor man’s mark Milligan. Hopefully proves me wrong

21-01-2023, 05:51 PM
Is international clearance required for them to train? 🤔

No

21-01-2023, 05:51 PM
I would think he would need a work permit

He’s got UK citizenship.

Cat Stanton
21-01-2023, 05:53 PM
What are the Australian Hibs fans views on him?

Potty78
21-01-2023, 05:54 PM

Unreal, seen him play have u🤦*♂️

21-01-2023, 05:54 PM
He’s got UK citizenship.

So have I, but Hibs shouldn't rush me in to playing tomorrow.

Sioux
21-01-2023, 05:56 PM

gtf

21-01-2023, 05:58 PM
His name fits the ‘Jimmy Boco’ chant perfectly.

21-01-2023, 05:59 PM

Based on what?

Feed McGraw
21-01-2023, 06:00 PM
Ho chi ka ka ho Jeggo............Coco by the sweet ? Fellow oldies sing along :greengrin

21-01-2023, 06:00 PM

Thats the spirit 🙄

21-01-2023, 06:04 PM

Don't be a twat.

21-01-2023, 06:06 PM
Good signing in my opinion. Let hom loose.....leggo the Jeggo....

21-01-2023, 06:07 PM

🙄

21-01-2023, 06:08 PM
Hope he can start tomorrow.

21-01-2023, 06:16 PM
Valued at €700.000

21-01-2023, 06:28 PM
Valued at €700.000

By who?

21-01-2023, 06:30 PM
Any need, you are what's wrong with some of our support, taking a dig at anything at the club, really wonder if you are a Hibs supporter.

21-01-2023, 06:34 PM
By who?

Probably transfermarket, I looked at him on FM as I've never heard of him and he was valued at over £750k on that, I wouldn't put too much into their valuations tbh, FM had Melkersen valued at £4m 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

21-01-2023, 06:35 PM
i don't want to see a wee pen, i want to see a scarf above the head :wink:

https://d3tepru76oevpi.cloudfront.net/production/AR210123_0139.jpg

21-01-2023, 06:36 PM

I mean he won't really need to prove you wrong at all, you've just made a completely throwaway remark for the hell of it trying to sound all edgy.

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2023, 06:37 PM
Seriously , why did you say that ? have you seen him play ?

PHeffernan
21-01-2023, 06:37 PM

There is a bit of truth in that BUT we are getting this guy at his best.
Milligan arrived at Hibs past his best.

Jeggo is a very good signing for Hibs.
Well done to the club in getting this player in.

21-01-2023, 06:39 PM

Hopefully find out soon, must be about time for them to get up. 🤔

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2023, 06:40 PM

Things are certainly improving at us , we even have a fancy pen now 😂

HarpOnHibee
21-01-2023, 06:42 PM
Things are certainly improving at us , we even have a fancy pen now 😂

I wonder if the pen is his sign on bonus? He looks fairly chuffed about it regardless.

21-01-2023, 06:44 PM

I want to see their hair on fire.

ErinGoBraghHFC
21-01-2023, 06:45 PM
I want to see their hair on fire.

+1, no pyro no party after all

21-01-2023, 06:45 PM
By who?

Transfermrkt

21-01-2023, 06:48 PM
Any need, you are what's wrong with some of our support, taking a dig at anything at the club, really wonder if you are a Hibs supporter.

Yep tortuous patter

21-01-2023, 06:51 PM

He looks a right cheeky wee monkey with a cheerful grin and a bit of spirit. We'll soon knock that out of him...

21-01-2023, 06:51 PM
Hey ho! Jeggo!

I just hope We're A Happy Family with this signing.

21-01-2023, 06:52 PM
I'm not sure that ring he's wearing is big enough though, could probably do with about another kilo of metal on it.

Mcbizz1998
21-01-2023, 06:55 PM

Based on what exactly [emoji28]

21-01-2023, 06:57 PM
Based on what exactly [emoji28]

He's Australian and plays the same position. Not the thought process of anyone that is worth bothering with.

Cat Stanton
21-01-2023, 06:59 PM
There is a bit of truth in that BUT we are getting this guy at his best.
Milligan arrived at Hibs past his best.

Jeggo is a very good signing for Hibs.
Well done to the club in getting this player in.

Genuine question, as I know nothing about him: have you seen him? Or know stuff about him? Genuinely (and obviously!) interested in views of folk who know about him.

21-01-2023, 07:07 PM

Ffs it’s no even the multi-pen.

Svengali
21-01-2023, 07:13 PM
Noticed there was no quote from Ian Gordon on the signing…..

For the love of god i just hope he’s decent

21-01-2023, 07:15 PM
Definitely a problem area of the park. Not a "wow" signing but I'm not bothered about that. Let's see how he gets on first then we can form an opinion.

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2023, 07:17 PM
Did we pay a fee for Jeggo ?

LunasBoots
21-01-2023, 07:19 PM
Did we pay a fee for Jeggo ?

Rumour going about is we paid a fair amount...

Broxburn Greens
21-01-2023, 07:20 PM

Geezo, glass half empty I guess.

21-01-2023, 07:25 PM

I'd imagine we paid a fee but would be surprised if it's significant for an 18 month deal unless we have an option to extend

Broxburn Greens
21-01-2023, 07:27 PM

Was wondering if we paid a fee, what’s a fair amount though? £250,000 or something 🤷*♂️

For me it confirms that Porto transfer is a done deal barring him getting injured tomorrow which has generated the cash for this signing.

At least he’s not a “potential” or “project” player.

Well experienced and at a good age, looking forward to seeing what he has to offer.

Hopefully not the last bit of good news for us this weekend.

Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 07:39 PM
Rumour going about is we paid a fair amount...Whats the rumoured fee going about ?

cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 07:52 PM
If anyone cares his current ability is 120 out of 200 rated on football manager, puts him in the same ability level bracket as Boyle. Know it's a video game but they're pretty detailed with their stats and ratings😂.

In all seriousness, he looks a cracking signing.

21-01-2023, 07:52 PM
I'm not sure that ring he's wearing is big enough though, could probably do with about another kilo of metal on it.

Ken you've got uncharacteristically scunnered by Hibs of late, but we've bought him for that ring. Pure iridium. He's on 18 months but we've got lifetime on the ring. You were too quick to scorn ODS.

Mutu
21-01-2023, 07:59 PM
Good.

Experienced player who's played at a decent level in a problem area of the field for us.

21-01-2023, 08:04 PM
Definitely a problem area of the park. Not a "wow" signing but I'm not bothered about that. Let's see how he gets on first then we can form an opinion.

What would be a "wow" signing?

HarpOnHibee
21-01-2023, 08:11 PM

A maverick type signing. A player with pace and tricky feet who can lift the spirit of the team. The kind that get's the fans off their seat when they're pressing forward on the ball.

21-01-2023, 08:14 PM
A maverick type signing. A player with pace and tricky feet who can lift the spirit of the team. The kind that get's the fans off their seat when they're pressing forward on the ball.

Wow.

21-01-2023, 08:15 PM
Wow.

:greengrin:hibees

nickwhibs
21-01-2023, 08:15 PM
His name fits the ‘Jimmy Boco’ chant perfectly.

Has to be!

21-01-2023, 08:16 PM
If anyone cares his current ability is 120 out of 200 rated on football manager, puts him in the same ability level bracket as Boyle. Know it's a video game but they're pretty detailed with their stats and ratings😂.

The stats are done by fans of the clubs, if they don't like a player, the stats will be worse, some better than others but as you say, it's just a simulation game and a bit of fun, to be ignored when it comes to real life.

21-01-2023, 08:17 PM

Like Youan? 😁

ErinGoBraghHFC
21-01-2023, 08:20 PM
If anyone cares his current ability is 120 out of 200 rated on football manager, puts him in the same ability level bracket as Boyle. Know it's a video game but they're pretty detailed with their stats and ratings[emoji23].

FM use real world scouts that watch players something like 10 times a season to base their stats off of, I tend to trust them when they say someone’s a player

ErinGoBraghHFC
21-01-2023, 08:21 PM
The stats are done by fans of the clubs, if they don't like a player, the stats will be worse, some better than others but as you say, it's just a simulation game and a bit of fun, to be ignored when it comes to real life.

Not true

21-01-2023, 08:22 PM

Someone people are familiar with. A player people know has quality. Someone to make people say "now that is brilliant signing". That's what I would describe as a "wow" signing.

cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 08:24 PM
Not true

It's a bit of both isn't it? They usually have a rep at most clubs that give them info then use scouting/stats to fill in the rest.

Remembered seeing a few professional clubs use the FM system to help scout players as it's that detailed.

21-01-2023, 08:28 PM
Not true

Lmc2105 who does all the stats for Hibs FM is a member on here.

21-01-2023, 08:29 PM

That explains why Hibs are so bad in it. 😀

21-01-2023, 08:29 PM

So Boyle And Mcgeady

Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 08:32 PM
Lmc2105 who does all the stats for Hibs FM is a member on here.Doesnt really count for anything though does it ? For example Lmc could be one of the many Newell dislikers and score him down 🫣

That explains why Hibs are so bad in it. 😀

In fact they're not, unfortunately the ME can be beaten easily if you get a good tactic, that's why it's nowhere near real life and probably why it can be quite addictive, trying to get Hibs into Champions league spots and winning the cups, all a bit of fun and escapism.

He used to be managed by Ange when we was at Melbourne Victory.

HarpOnHibee
21-01-2023, 08:34 PM
So Boyle And Mcgeady

Yes, but preferably uninjured and not an old man with no pace.

21-01-2023, 08:35 PM
Doesnt really count for anything though does it ? For example Lmc could be one of the many Newell dislikers and score him down 🫣

Hence why you don't take FM as gen as there are faults in it, remember it's just a game after all, I get bored with it after a good few weeks because it can be too easy to win with a good tactic.

21-01-2023, 08:35 PM
No idea if he’s a player or not but played at a decent level and absolutely ready to come in and play straight away.

Hopefully we didn’t leave it too late and he’s straight in.

21-01-2023, 08:36 PM
Was wondering if we paid a fee, what’s a fair amount though? £250,000 or something 🤷*♂️

For me it confirms that Porto transfer is a done deal barring him getting injured tomorrow which has generated the cash for this signing.

Well experienced and at a good age, looking forward to seeing what he has to offer.

I think if any done deals were confirmed he’d be nowhere near the team tomorrow.

21-01-2023, 08:36 PM
Looking forward to seeing this lad play, an experienced DM is something we've severely lacked recently, I was annoyed we let Milligan go.

21-01-2023, 08:37 PM
Looking forward to seeing this lad play, an experienced DM is something we've severely lacked recently, I was annoyed we let Milligan go.

I’ll be annoyed if he isn’t better than Milligan!

cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 08:37 PM
Lmc2105 who does all the stats for Hibs FM is a member on here.

Someone should probably tell him Ewan Henderson and Nohan Kenneh aren't left footed😂. Add in Lewis Stevenson having 9 out of 20 loyalty.

21-01-2023, 08:41 PM
Yes, but preferably uninjured and not an old man with no pace.Neither are injured

You don't think mcgeady has pace? [emoji23][emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

21-01-2023, 08:44 PM
I’ll be annoyed if he isn’t better than Milligan!

No way. If he's as good as Milligan I'd be delighted!

21-01-2023, 08:44 PM
Someone should probably tell him Ewan Henderson and Nohan Kenneh aren't left footed😂. Add in Lewis Stevenson having 9 out of 20 loyalty.

Hence the pre editor is handy. :greengrin:greengrin

Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 08:45 PM
Hence why you don't take FM as gen as there are faults in it, remember it's just a game after all, I get bored with it after a good few weeks because it can be too easy to win with a good tactic.

I know mate, Im just generally **** at the game anyway 🫣

HarpOnHibee
21-01-2023, 08:46 PM
Neither are injured

Wait, what?

cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 08:47 PM

Have to adjust it everytime I play with the editor, does my head in😂. Hibs are actually reasonably rated on the game otherwise, don't think it's perfect to judge players but does have more accuracy than other video games so always worth a wee check when we sign someone.

On a similar note, their accuracy for predicting Wonder kids is usually pretty decent. Murray Johnson, Ethan Laidlaw and Macalister all fall into the wonder kid bracket if you get lucky with their PA so nice to see there.

21-01-2023, 08:49 PM
I liked this comment from the post saying he was leaving his former club - He always solved the sht of many others!"

Don Giovanni
21-01-2023, 08:50 PM

Like a young lad from Institute?

ErinGoBraghHFC
21-01-2023, 08:52 PM
It's a bit of both isn't it? They usually have a rep at most clubs that give them info then use scouting/stats to fill in the rest.

Remembered seeing a few professional clubs use the FM system to help scout players as it's that detailed.

This might be nearer to the case tbh, I remember watching the FM documentary a few years back and them mentioning the scouting operation it takes every year to update stats etc

HarpOnHibee
21-01-2023, 08:53 PM
Like a young lad from Institute?

Boy did alright for a 5k signing :cb

ErinGoBraghHFC
21-01-2023, 08:53 PM

That’s cheating J-C, you’re better than that mate come on [emoji1787]

21-01-2023, 08:54 PM

His contract was up in the summer so I doubt it was a significant amount.

Don Giovanni
21-01-2023, 08:55 PM
I think if any done deals were confirmed he’d be nowhere near the team tomorrow.

The best bit of business we may do in this window is keeping Porteous.

21-01-2023, 09:00 PM
Neither are injured

You don't think mcgeady has pace? [emoji23][emoji23]

Errrr, Boyle is decidedly injured 😂

21-01-2023, 09:04 PM
If you are into this kind of thing
Taken from twitter

@stewartross89

🆕📊 James Jeggo, Eupen 22-23, CDM 🐼

◽️ Defensive duels per 90 - 9.48
◽️ Defensive duels won - 64.36%
◽️ PAdj Interceptions per 90 - 8.48

https://i.ibb.co/TvqJcjp/20230121-220132.jpg (https://ibb.co/dWJXBC1)

1875Sean
21-01-2023, 09:06 PM
I wonder why he wasn’t in the oz squad for the World Cup

Willis1875
21-01-2023, 09:11 PM

Injured

Injured.

Injury

21-01-2023, 09:16 PM
See we have signed Aussie James Jeggo thoughts ?
Never heard of him

Up-the-slope
21-01-2023, 09:17 PM
was he injured :bevvied!:

21-01-2023, 09:18 PM

Impossible. Ron’s bored with Hibs, he never spends any cash on the team and he’s starving LJ of signings so he can fail and get emptied. Thats what I’ve read on here anyway.

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2023, 09:19 PM
Some say he was injured 😂

cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 09:24 PM
was he injured :bevvied!:

At some point in his career, no doubt.

21-01-2023, 09:39 PM
Never heard of him

He says he hasn't heard of you either 🤣

21-01-2023, 09:41 PM
Can we re-write Mellow Yellow for Jimmy Jeggo?

21-01-2023, 09:48 PM
Seriously , why did you say that ? have you seen him play ?I'm confused, a poor man thinks he looks like Mark Milligan?

I remember him, looks nothing like him[emoji6]

21-01-2023, 09:48 PM

Nobody can be that destitute.

21-01-2023, 09:51 PM
If you are into this kind of thing
Taken from twitter

@stewartross89

[emoji682][emoji408] James Jeggo, Eupen 22-23, CDM [emoji209]

[emoji829]️ Defensive duels per 90 - 9.48
[emoji829]️ Defensive duels won - 64.36%
[emoji829]️ PAdj Interceptions per 90 - 8.48

https://i.ibb.co/TvqJcjp/20230121-220132.jpg (https://ibb.co/dWJXBC1)Him plus Newell

Mon the no assists or goals [emoji23][emoji23]

I'm surpised he's taken so little shots - few YouTube clips seems to show him have a decent dig on him.

21-01-2023, 09:56 PM
Yes, but preferably uninjured and not an old man with no pace.

Ah yes. One of those bulletproof, never ageing footballers.

Can't really expect to just continuously sign quality players because of injury.

Sproule Three
21-01-2023, 10:00 PM
I’ve seen him play for Adelaide but he never stood out too much probably due to his role .
Forza Fred and me watched him make his national team debut in Sydney on same night Martin Boyle had his.

21-01-2023, 10:01 PM

I was actually at the match where he made his Socceroo debut…it was against Lebanon in Sydney, and I went because it was Martin Boyle’s starting debut for the Socceroos.

I have seen Jeggo play, but not that often so can’t offer a huge amount of detail.

He did play for the Socceroos, but wasn’t exactly an automatic choice…but in fairness to him he had the likes of Aaron Mooy and Tom Rogic to displace, so at a different time he may well have been a regular.

As I say, I really don’t know that much about him either….but I do recall that he seemed to have an enthusiastic approach…and I think we need that.

He DOES have international experience, and has kicked about in some decent European leagues, so After a few games to adjust to the frantic pace of Scottish football, he should turn out to be a regular I would think.

Like most on here, I’m interested to see how he goes, and hoping he turns out to be just what we need.

21-01-2023, 10:07 PM
I was actually at the match where he made his Socceroo debut…it was against Lebanon in Sydney, and I went because it was Martin Boyle’s starting debut for the Socceroos.

I have seen Jeggo play, but not that often so can’t offer a huge amount of detail.

He did play for the Socceroos, but wasn’t exactly an automatic choice…but in fairness to him he had the likes of Aaron Mooy and Tom Rogic to displace, so at a different time he may well have been a regular.

As I say, I really don’t know that much about him either….but I do recall that he seemed to have an enthusiastic approach…and I think we need that.

He DOES have international experience, and has kicked about in some decent European leagues, so After a few games to adjust to the frantic pace of Scottish football, he should turn out to be a regular I would think.

Like most on here, I’m interested to see how he goes, and hoping he turns out to be just what we need.

Thanks FF.

21-01-2023, 10:09 PM
Behave yourself give the guy a f****** chance

Rumble de Thump
21-01-2023, 10:13 PM
One of my friends used to play for Stockport's youth team and the makers of Football Manager paid him each year to provide them with stats of all the players at the club. He said every player offered him money to improve certain stats for them. I think pace was the main one they always wanted boosted. He's head of analytics at Chelsea now.

1875Sean
21-01-2023, 10:18 PM
Injured.

Was he tho?

Googling it and can’t see anything him about him being injured, the guardian suggesting he was overlooked

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2022/may/28/stars-align-for-socceroos-qualifier-campaign-as-world-cup-2022-quest-reaches-crescendo

21-01-2023, 10:20 PM
By who?

Transfer market

21-01-2023, 10:20 PM

Seen a lot of him have you?

21-01-2023, 10:23 PM
Was he tho?

Googling it and can’t see anything him about him being injured, the guardian suggesting he was overlooked

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2022/may/28/stars-align-for-socceroos-qualifier-campaign-as-world-cup-2022-quest-reaches-crescendo

I think he was involved in most of the qualifiers, got injured for the summer warm up games and then he lost his place to the players who stepped in.

It’s not something that concerns me. Sounds like he would have been a squad filler, if so, makes sense for them to take someone younger like the hearts **** Devlin. Doesn’t necessarily mean he’s better than him though.

21-01-2023, 10:26 PM
Whats the rumoured fee going about ?

I don't think we paid for him. His 1 year deal run out beginning of January.

21-01-2023, 10:31 PM

He played for them last week. His contract was running till the summer.

21-01-2023, 10:32 PM

1875Sean
21-01-2023, 10:32 PM

Said he joined us for an undisclosed fee.

ChilliEater
21-01-2023, 10:38 PM
I remember him from his time in the A-league. He was young then, so he has had a lot of time to improve and seems to have played regularly at a decent level. In a defensive role, that experience to be able to read the game, anticipate and then make a relatively simple play could make him very effective now. I hope that's the case because otherwise I'd be filing him under that long line of Hibs midfielders - Benny Brazil, Jarko Wiss, Brian Kerr, Joe Keenan ...........

I'll also add that I was horrified when we signed Mark Milligan and he did okay for us, so I'm hardly the oracle and I'm probably guilty of under-estimating the A-league. I enjoy watching it, but think it's a good few levels below the SPL. That's probably harsh of me, but when he played for Victory or Adelaide against our team, Perth Glory, my boys and I would be shouting - "Give it to Jeggo!" and then roll around laughing.

I'm hoping he's become a really tidy, effective defensive mid who protects the defence and allows the likes of Magennis to break forward more.

21-01-2023, 11:03 PM
Toche 👌

21-01-2023, 11:06 PM

When you say he had Tom Rogic as competition, do we think there’s more to him than a defensive/holding style player?

ErinGoBraghHFC
21-01-2023, 11:14 PM
Nobody can be that destitute.

Ian Black.

Cat Stanton
21-01-2023, 11:22 PM

Thanks for that. Cheers.

21-01-2023, 11:25 PM

When you say he had Tom Rogic as competition, do we think there’s more to him than a defensive/holding style player?

Not really, just giving an indication of what was in the Oz midfield….I guess Mark Milligan probably was another barrier he would have had to get past to get in the team too in his early days.

22-01-2023, 12:33 AM

Great inside knowledge from Hibs.net's main man in Perth, Australia - that's one thing I love about this site - Hibees here Hibees there :thumbsup:

Can understand you'd have been more keeping an eye on Martin but if Jegga made an impression that you remember then that's something to go on - enthusiastic approach ... sounds like he has some energy about him - good - he'll need that if he's playing tomorrow!

22-01-2023, 12:55 AM
Great inside knowledge from Hibs.net's main man in Perth, Australia - that's one thing I love about this site - Hibees here Hibees there :thumbsup:

Can understand you'd have been more keeping an eye on Martin but if Jegga made an impression that you remember then that's something to go on - enthusiastic approach ... sounds like he has some energy about him - good - he'll need that if he's playing tomorrow!

I was in Perth once, for a few days with the late, great Jimmy O’Rourke, but been in Sydney nearly all of the time.

No enough snakes, spiders or sharks in Perth for my liking😂

22-01-2023, 02:22 AM

Maybe not a "wow" but I'd say a good signing and potentialy very good - he's a player that's been good enough to get international call ups for Australia without nailing down a regular place. Hopefully he has the ambition to win more caps and sees Hibs as a vehicle for doing that.

22-01-2023, 02:31 AM
I was in Perth once, for a few days with the late, great Jimmy O’Rourke, but been in Sydney nearly all of the time.

No sharks here but what would life be like without venomous snakes and spiders? And don't get me started on fire ants :greengrin

22-01-2023, 02:50 AM

I'm sure you must have related that on here some time in the past and it's stuck in my mind - Forza Fred - our man in Perth :cb(insert imaginary corks to this smiley) If you're a Sydney Hibby though I may even have met you - or been in the same room at least back in 2004 at the great beam back of the LC Final debacle vs Livi!

22-01-2023, 03:10 AM
I'm sure you must have related that on here some time in the past and it's stuck in my mind - Forza Fred - our man in Perth :cb(insert imaginary corks to this smiley) If you're a Sydney Hibby though I may even have met you - or been in the same room at least back in 2004 at the great beam back of the LC Final debacle vs Livi!

Actually watched that game in Melbourne.

2 hour delay in beam back and Tom Farmer personally contributed half of the costs IiRC.

Or should say ‘nearly ‘ watched it as the combined efforts of 47 beers and a dodgy curry meant I was mostly in the club dunny!

Met quite a lot of travelling Hibbies in Sydney though….

22-01-2023, 07:32 AM
This might be nearer to the case tbh, I remember watching the FM documentary a few years back and them mentioning the scouting operation it takes every year to update stats etc

As I said, Lee is the FM researcher for the game and puts in a ton of work every year on the stats.

22-01-2023, 07:56 AM
Did he play in the World Cup?

22-01-2023, 08:13 AM

No, wasn’t in squad.

Sproule Three
22-01-2023, 08:26 AM
I was there - another disastrous Hibs result Scruffy Murphys :boo hoo:

22-01-2023, 08:56 AM
He had leukaemia as a kid and got through it. Sounds like he has a good mentality.

22-01-2023, 08:56 AM
Actually watched that game in Melbourne.

2 hour delay in beam back and Tom Farmer personally contributed half of the costs IiRC.

Or should say ‘nearly ‘ watched it as the combined efforts of 47 beers and a dodgy curry meant I was mostly in the club dunny!

Met quite a lot of travelling Hibbies in Sydney though….
I was there. Managed to persuade my wife that we should fly over from Auckland for the weekend (we were on a three-week trip to NZ for the birth of our first grandchild). Still remember the Livi ********.

22-01-2023, 08:58 AM
I hope he's right through with a minute to go with the score 0-0, and he give Zander the eyes, he's bound to confuse him and score easily. :wink:

22-01-2023, 09:40 AM

He was injured like Boyle.

22-01-2023, 09:52 AM
Read this thread and still no wiser as to what we might expect from this signing. But I wish him well, and already feel for him being plunged into the currently rather toxic waters of Hibernian.

22-01-2023, 09:52 AM

I don’t think he was. He played regularly for his club in the run before and after the world cup. I think his injury was earlier and as a result lost his place in the squad.

https://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=73879

22-01-2023, 09:54 AM
I don’t think he was. He played regularly for his club in the run before and after the world cup. I think his injury was earlier and as a result lost his place in the squad.

https://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=73879

I sit corrected. Cheers.

Musselbound
22-01-2023, 10:15 AM
Read this thread and still no wiser as to what we might expect from this signing. But I wish him well, and already feel for him being plunged into the currently rather toxic waters of Hibernian.

His name sounds like a mix of jigsaw and Lego.

My guess is he will be hard to figure out at first but then we should be able to build the team around him.

22-01-2023, 10:23 AM
His name sounds like a mix of jigsaw and Lego.

My guess is he will be hard to figure out at first but then we should be able to build the team around him.

Very good.

He might be the missing piece.

22-01-2023, 10:28 AM
Very good.

He might be the missing piece.

Aye, and don't try walking over the top of him.

22-01-2023, 11:27 AM

Not injured as far as I am aware.

Just not selected.

22-01-2023, 11:41 AM
Not injured as far as I am aware.

Just not selected.

👍

22-01-2023, 11:43 AM
That stat wheel was interesting. Defensive for sure but the progressive passes was promising.

22-01-2023, 12:08 PM
Ah yes. One of those bulletproof, never ageing footballers.

Can't really expect to just continuously sign quality players because of injury.

'continuously'?

HendoDelivered
22-01-2023, 12:08 PM
Alll the best today Jimmy

22-01-2023, 01:59 PM
Way too early to say but I’ve been impressed first half.

22-01-2023, 02:01 PM

I don’t think he’s done anything special but the shape just looks better with him there.

tonyrougier123
22-01-2023, 02:01 PM

Agreed decent enough.

HarpOnHibee
22-01-2023, 02:02 PM

I thought he did alright so far as well, all things considered. Look's relatively robust and strong in the challenge.

SickBoy32
22-01-2023, 03:15 PM
No better than an Alan power

Low quality

22-01-2023, 03:16 PM
No better than an Alan power

Low quality

One of hibs better players before he was subbed.

GreenGray
22-01-2023, 03:18 PM
I thought he was one of our better players tbh. Not hard mind you.

SickBoy32
22-01-2023, 03:19 PM
One of hibs better players before he was subbed.

Why was he subbed then ?

22-01-2023, 03:19 PM
He done well. Probably our best midfielder but that's not hard. :D

22-01-2023, 03:20 PM
Had an excellent game, well done cobbler 👍

Scotty Leither
22-01-2023, 03:21 PM
Neat and tidy and that’s about it. Passed it sideways a couple of times and found a Hibs player, which is more than Cabraja did the whole game.

Team of journeymen.

Why was he subbed then ?

To bring a forward player on as we were chasing the game.

I use chasing lightly mind.

cameronw-hfc
Why was he subbed then ?

Because he was on a yellow and one wrong tackle would be a red, going into a section of the game where it would be getting more stretched.

22-01-2023, 03:23 PM
Hard to really tell based on that.

Never screamed quality and got an early booking which would have restricted him.

Tough game to make your debut and seemed to bypass the midfield for most the game.

What I will say is I thought our midfield restricted them, Campbell and Stevenson both doing well and probably dominated/limited them in there

22-01-2023, 03:25 PM
Thought he looked alright but not anything better than Kenneh.

Certainly not the jump in quality I was hoping for given all LJs push about quality over quantity.

22-01-2023, 03:26 PM
Thought he looked alright but not anything better than Kenneh.

Certainly not the jump in quality I was expecting.

Probably expected given he’s been identified by our recruitment team

SickBoy32
22-01-2023, 03:26 PM
Because he was on a yellow and one wrong tackle would be a red, going into a section of the game where it would be getting more stretched.

Aye and a hell of stupid yellow to be taking

Low quality player

22-01-2023, 03:27 PM

Low quality playerHahah aye, right your are

Low quality poster more like

SickBoy32
22-01-2023, 03:28 PM
Hahah aye, right your ere

Low quality poster more like

Yep, your right - players with the standard of Jeggo will bring us success 👍

Dafty

But there’s no point fighting amongst ourselves

22-01-2023, 03:29 PM
I liked him.

He got stuck in but the early yellow clearly restricted him.

I’d have him over Newell tbh.

22-01-2023, 03:31 PM
Hard to really tell based on that.

Never screamed quality and got an early booking which would have restricted him.

Tough game to make your debut and seemed to bypass the midfield for most the game.

What I will say is I thought our midfield restricted them, Campbell and Stevenson both doing well and probably dominated/limited them in there

They ran about a lot but complete lack of quality on the ball.

2023 and Lewis Stevenson starting in the middle of the park sums everything up for me (nothing against Lewis).

Thought Jeggo was Pretty meh.

22-01-2023, 03:31 PM
A promising debut in a difficult game. 👍

22-01-2023, 03:36 PM
Whoever scouted him must’ve been smoking a Jeggo lol

22-01-2023, 03:40 PM

Low quality player

he’s played one ****ing game man ffs

Bronson
22-01-2023, 03:45 PM
I hope we got a receipt he’s absolutely rubbish

22-01-2023, 03:47 PM
I hope we got a receipt he’s absolutely rubbish

Give him a ****ing chance!

22-01-2023, 03:47 PM
I thought he was very average and his passing was poor. He gave it his all though, was competitive and added a wee bit more solidity to central midfield. He wasn't the worst performer in our team, but neither does he appear to be of the quality to improve us.

22-01-2023, 03:48 PM
he’s played one ****ing game man ffsHe's trolling

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

LewysGot2
22-01-2023, 03:49 PM
Just in from the game and I thought that was a quietly effective debut in a difficult fixture. He certainly wasn't overwhelmed or over awed. Did a lot of McGeouch style fetching and carrying and was astute positional wise in dropping in for wandering centre halves and spotting the need to adjust shape in response to what was going on around him.

Don't actually get the negativity about him. A bit odd.

Mikey_1875
22-01-2023, 03:50 PM
Hard to pass any judgement on him really. The change in pace I reckon he will have thought it was almost a different sport he was playing.

Had my heart in mouth a couple of times on a booking but I thought he grew into the game.

bordergreen
22-01-2023, 03:51 PM
Just in from the game and I thought that was a quietly effective debut in a difficult fixture. Certainly wasn't overwhelmed or over awed. Did a lot of McGeouch style fetching and carrying and was astute positional wise in dropping in for wandering centre halves and spotting the need to adjust shape in response to what was going on around him.

Don't actually get the negativity about him. A bit odd.

I thought he looked good

22-01-2023, 03:52 PM
Just in from the game and I thought that was a quietly effective debut in a difficult fixture. Certainly wasn't overwhelmed or over awed. Did a lot of McGeouch style fetching and carrying and was astute positional wise in dropping in for wandering centre halves and spotting the need to adjust shape in response to what was going on around him.

Don't actually get the negativity about him. A bit odd.We lost

Therefore all objectivity must be thrown out the window like my child whne she doenst get robux [emoji106]

He was decent enough given the circumstances

We pretty much dominated the midfield for most of the game

LewysGot2
22-01-2023, 03:54 PM
We lost

Therefore all objectivity must be thrown out the window like my child whne she doenst get robux [emoji106]

He was decent enough given the circumstances

We pretty much dominated the midfield for most of the game

🤭

I think he'll be a decent enough signing.

22-01-2023, 03:54 PM
Difficult to properly judge. First impression is he’s neat and tidy and steady. Maybe a small improvement in the short term but probably not the real quality we still need.

22-01-2023, 03:58 PM
I thought he got stuck in, looked fit, reads the game well off teh ball and did well getting into the game considering it was played at a very quick tempo. He looked poor on the ball but our big problem is protecting our defence and he could be a decent addition for that role

22-01-2023, 04:05 PM
He may go on to become a decent player for us so he needs some time but I cant actually believe people are saying he played well. He had a horrid first half, terrible distribution and gave away a cheap booking. Not a good debut.

22-01-2023, 04:08 PM
He may go on to become a decent player for us so he needs some time but I cant actually believe people are saying he played well. He had a horrid first half, terrible distribution and gave away a cheap booking. Not a good debut.In what planet was it a cheap booking?

He was quite right to make the foul and stop the counter attack

22-01-2023, 04:10 PM
In what planet was it a cheap booking?

He was quite right to make the foul and stop the counter attack

Because he should never have been in that position to make the foul, boy got past him way to easily. He was really poor today, hopefully a lot better to come from him. If people really thought he played well then its a sign of how much trouble we are in as a club.

Judging by his stats at Eupen we can expect a lot of bookings from him.

SickBoy32
22-01-2023, 04:11 PM
Because he should never have been in that position to make the foul, boy got past him way to easily. He was really poor today, hopefully a lot better to come from him. If people really thought he played well then its a sign of how much trouble we are in as a club.

Totally agree

Miles off what we’re needing

But to be fair, he’s coming from a relegation team in a league ranked poorer than the SPL…

j'adorehibs
22-01-2023, 04:11 PM
i'm not going to judge hm on one game , he was averqge to day and by no means the worst

not his fault he was signed and playing in a derby a day later

that's down to the recruitment team who have failed us massively

22-01-2023, 04:12 PM
Totally agree

Miles off what we’re needing

But to be fair, he’s coming from a relegation team in a league ranked poorer than the SPL…

So written off after one game that he played in after only one day of training with his new team?

22-01-2023, 04:13 PM

He did fine. You’ve highlighted his one mistake and I don’t think their midfield were dominant at all. It was a ****ing weird game where we showed off our lack of clinical finishing and they made lots of good blocks. 6.5/10 no more no less.

SickBoy32
22-01-2023, 04:14 PM
So written off after one game that he played in after only one day of training with his new team?

Nah not written off , just no any better than a Gogic or hallberg

22-01-2023, 04:15 PM

Judging by his stats at Eupen we can expect a lot of bookings from him.Didn't it come from a breaking ball that left McKay (left winger) onto our defence?

22-01-2023, 04:15 PM
He did fine. You’ve highlighted his one mistake and I don’t think their midfield were dominant at all. It was a ****ing weird game where we showed off our lack of clinical finishing and they made lots of good blocks. 6.5/10 no more no less.

He was very wasteful on the ball, gave it away countless times ( quite a few mistakes therefore!) - I wouldn't describe him as doing fine as a result of that in addition to the booking which meant he was walking on ice after that, but we are all entitled to our opinions. Would have much preferred Newell in there:wink:

BoyledEgg
22-01-2023, 04:18 PM
Got better as the game went on. He’s never going to be a player who stands out, he will do his job without fuss. Some right clueless people on this board who only think a good footballer is someone who can only go past a player, assist or score goals.

22-01-2023, 04:20 PM
Didn't it come from a breaking ball that left McKay (left winger) onto our defence?

It looked poor from our position, like he misjudged the ball which meant he had to make the booking. Doubt it'll be on the highlights so not sure we will get to see it again.

Greenwich_Hibby
22-01-2023, 04:21 PM
Needs a chance to settle. A few good signs and will be handy in scrappy games I think. Top quality? No, but Hibs don't operate in that market.

Maguire
Had to adjust his game based on the early yellow, but i liked what i seen. I've got no doubt he's going to be a good signing and a regular in the midfield, he also has good expierience too, something that we've lacked. More of these signings and less of the untried/inexpierienced (Kenneh/Tavares/Bojang etc)

Got better as the game went on. He’s never going to be a player who stands out, he will do his job without fuss. Some right clueless people on this board who only think a good footballer is someone who can only go past a player, assist or score goals.

Nobody has even come close to saying that. Strange comment.

22-01-2023, 04:26 PM
He was very wasteful on the ball, gave it away countless times ( quite a few mistakes therefore!) - I wouldn't describe him as doing fine as a result of that in addition to the booking which meant he was walking on ice after that, but we are all entitled to our opinions. Would have much preferred Newell in there:wink:

Well that goes without saying! Newell would have won that game for us no sweat. I might go on the Newell thread and use his absence today as proof we need him in there desperately:agree:

22-01-2023, 04:28 PM
Well that goes without saying! Newell would have won that game for us no sweat. I might go on the Newell thread and use his absence today as proof we need him in there desperately:agree:

:agree:Jeggo's barnet not a patch on Newell's unfortunately.

hfc-1875
22-01-2023, 04:33 PM
He was rank rotten today, anyone saying otherwise must have been watching a different game. Not saying he’s a rotten player but was terrible on the ball, looks like he’s got a good engine so might come in handy. Would do a job if he had good footbalers in beside him

22-01-2023, 04:36 PM
Nightmare situation for him to come into but I wasn't that impressed.

He's certainly not going to be getting us closer to the top 4 that's for sure although he did look tidy enough to possibly be better than relegation fodder.

22-01-2023, 04:45 PM

Midfield was better today than when Newell was playing against Hearts three weeks ago.
Result the exact same though so doesn’t really matter.

Roxyhibee
22-01-2023, 04:46 PM
Thought he did well today under difficult circumstances. Looked composed and positioned himself well to break up play, receive the ball, then look for a pass - pretty much all you can ask for from a player making their debut in a derby cup tie. He did fade halfway through the second half though and started to make mistakes. Hopefully we can see what he’s more about next week.

GreenGray
22-01-2023, 04:54 PM
He was rank rotten today, anyone saying otherwise must have been watching a different game. Not saying he’s a rotten player but was terrible on the ball, looks like he’s got a good engine so might come in handy. Would do a job if he had good footbalers in beside him

Rank rotten is very harsh, thrown into that game and he wasn’t bad at all. Worse players than him on the park.

FastEddieFelson
22-01-2023, 04:58 PM
Looked like he was running on ice and his distribution was abysmal. Some decent tackles though. Think he'll come good.

22-01-2023, 04:59 PM
Reminded me of Joe Keenan.

hfc-1875
22-01-2023, 05:00 PM
Rank rotten is very harsh, thrown into that game and he wasn’t bad at all. Worse players than him on the park.

Yes maybe, I meant more rotten on the ball to be fair should have worded it better. Off it he got himself about and was always looking for the ball

22-01-2023, 05:04 PM
Dropped into a midfield with Campbell and Stevenson, I think he made the best of the situation.

22-01-2023, 05:05 PM
Didn't think he was great, didn't think he was poor.

Not sure how anybody can right him off on his performance today.

BoyledEgg
22-01-2023, 05:25 PM
Nobody has even come close to saying that. Strange comment.

Where did I say anyone said it? They way people go on, that’s what they think a footballer looks like.

22-01-2023, 05:27 PM
Didn't think he was great, didn't think he was poor.

Not sure how anybody can right him off on his performance today.

Have you not been reading this very messageboard? He was being written off yesterday 🤣

Hibees1973
22-01-2023, 05:31 PM
Kind of sums up the recruitment dept that he is just in the door and his debut was in a SC derby game.

Did not make any impression on the game at all for me which is really what I expected.

Given he was put straight in and ahead of many of of our other recent signings highlights what a mess we are in.

22-01-2023, 05:39 PM
Where did I say anyone said it? They way people go on, that’s what they think a footballer looks like.

I mean its hardly unreasonable to expect that a midfielder can beat a man, set up a chance or score a goal.:wink:

But not withstanding that it would have been nice for a player not to find touch routinely with his passes, which I think maybe a few people were expecting today.

We've just been turned over in our worst derby home defeat for 25 years, and you are calling people clueless for pointing out a poor midfield performance? That's some take.

22-01-2023, 05:46 PM
Dropped into a midfield with Campbell and Stevenson, I think he made the best of the situation.

I thought Campbell and Stevenson were excellent. Stevenson also making the best of being asked to step into our pretty dreadful midfield once again.

22-01-2023, 05:48 PM
I thought Campbell and Stevenson were excellent. Stevenson also making the best of being asked to step into our pretty dreadful midfield once again.

I think both players worked their socks off today and the midfield were better than the last derby but they both lack the quality to be able to create anything.

22-01-2023, 05:54 PM

Stevenson was terrible. Lost the ball a lot, couple of terrible shots over the bar

The fact that we’ve had to play him in midfield in a Scottish Cup semi last season, and again today is a farce. Credit to him for always being up for the fight but he was awful today

22-01-2023, 05:58 PM
Stevenson was terrible. Lost the ball a lot, couple of terrible shots over the bar

The fact that we’ve had to play him in midfield in a Scottish Cup semi last season, and again today is a farce. Credit to him for always being up for the fight but he was awful today

He would agree with you he shouldn’t be playing in
Midfield at this stage in his career . He was far from terrible though …

BoyledEgg
22-01-2023, 06:09 PM
I mean its hardly unreasonable to expect that a midfielder can beat a man, set up a chance or score a goal.:wink:

But not withstanding that it would have been nice for a player not to find touch routinely with his passes, which I think maybe a few people were expecting today.

We've just been turned over in our worst derby home defeat for 25 years, and you are calling people clueless for pointing out a poor midfield performance? That's some take.

He broke up play and made some good tackles, which is his job as a defensive midfielder, not carve open defences like Iniesta.

22-01-2023, 06:14 PM

Nowhere near terrible

22-01-2023, 06:14 PM

Ffs

22-01-2023, 06:17 PM
He broke up play and made some good tackles, which is his job as a defensive midfielder, not carve open defences like Iniesta.

Its also his job to find teammates with relatively simple passes and not get himself silly bookings which means he is walking on eggshells. I'm astonished anyone thought that was a good performance.

Not easy coming into a derby like that after being here so soon, so lets see how he gets on going forward.

21sMay
22-01-2023, 06:19 PM
Though minus his attempts at long passes he had a good game , will be a good signing if he has Newell and mcgennis in beside him . Think he will do what Bartley done , win the pall and short pass to people with better passing quality

22-01-2023, 06:20 PM
He look way off the pace in the first half particularly.

22-01-2023, 06:23 PM
Sorry but admittedly it’s a difficult first game, but he looked sub standard, lightweight and very poor in possession- nothing at all made me think we’ve got a good player there. Very very average and contributed very little.

PH91
22-01-2023, 06:27 PM

4 times in the first half hearts skipped past him in the middle of the park as he sold himself. Possibly down to him trying a bit too hard to impress and going for balls he couldn't win, though.

He doesn't look like a player who wants or is particulalry good on the ball but is there to break up the play and protect the defence. From what i saw today he didn't look like an upgrade on kenneh in that regard. But only one game and a hard one to be thrown into so we will find out.

BoyledEgg
22-01-2023, 06:29 PM
Its also his job to find teammates with relatively simple passes and not get himself silly bookings which means he is walking on eggshells. I'm astonished anyone thought that was a good performance.

Not easy coming into a derby like that after being here so soon, so lets see how he gets on going forward.

Booking wasn't ideal, but he's experienced enough to learn from it going forward. Didn't say he had a good performance, I said he got better as the game went on. Once he gets a few games under his belt I think he will be a good addition though.

22-01-2023, 06:30 PM
Booking wasn't ideal, but he's experienced enough to learn from it going forward. Didn't say he had a good performance, I said he got better as the game went on. Once he gets a few games under his belt I think he will be a good addition though.

22-01-2023, 06:54 PM
Sorry but admittedly it’s a difficult first game, but he looked sub standard, lightweight and very poor in possession- nothing at all made me think we’ve got a good player there. Very very average and contributed very little.

Though he showed for the ball and done alright for first game, no real surprise he tired later.

GonzoReturns
22-01-2023, 07:05 PM
Based on the market we are operating in thought he did okay. Some of the comments quite harsh. Take him out who would have replaced him and would they have made a difference…..and I’m going to give him a chance.

loanheadhibby
22-01-2023, 07:07 PM

And yet on Campbell thread, most folk are saying how good Josh was today. Just shows how fans view a game differently

22-01-2023, 07:09 PM
Pretty difficult to draw any conclusions on him today I thought. What I would say is that he wasn’t one that I looked at and instantly thought he was a player.

Still Smiling
22-01-2023, 07:09 PM
4 times in the first half hearts skipped past him in the middle of the park as he sold himself. Possibly down to him trying a bit too hard to impress and going for balls he couldn't win, though.

He doesn't look like a player who wants or is particulalry good on the ball but is there to break up the play and protect the defence. From what i saw today he didn't look like an upgrade on kenneh in that regard. But only one game and a hard one to be thrown into so we will find out.
Thought he did well, put himself about.

22-01-2023, 07:11 PM
I liked him.

He got stuck in but the early yellow clearly restricted him.

I’d have him over Newell tbh.Agree with that, can't help but think he was always on hiding to nothing when this game was your debut.