View Full Version : James Jeggo
22-01-2023, 07:11 PM
I thought he was decent enough and played almost a spoiler role breaking up the play. Will get better once up to speed. Hopefully buying players ready-made for the first team, and then playing them in their actual role, won't be a short lived novelty.
churchie16
22-01-2023, 07:21 PM
Knew the first time you watched John mcginn, Dylan mcgeough, Scott allan, David gray,Scott brown, David Murphy etc they had something about them can tell straight from the off, he will be be abroad again in the summer, next.
22-01-2023, 07:30 PM
Less than 90 minutes and easy to write off, *****!
22-01-2023, 07:30 PM
Our recruitment team couldn't pick their own arse.
22-01-2023, 07:33 PM
Knew the first time you watched John mcginn, Dylan mcgeough, Scott allan, David gray,Scott brown, David Murphy etc they had something about them can tell straight from the off, he will be be abroad again in the summer, next.
You can scratch David Murphy from that list.
Crap first game , looked lazy and unfit.
DJ HIBBY
22-01-2023, 07:34 PM
Reminded me of Jarko Wiss, average at best.
22-01-2023, 07:43 PM
He'll offer more than magennis for the rest of the season imo
22-01-2023, 07:44 PM
He was ok. Our issue isn’t players.
22-01-2023, 07:44 PM
I don’t think I’ve ever seen a player written off after 24 hours before.
22-01-2023, 07:45 PM
He was ok. Our issue isn’t players.
I think the players are a major issue. Not the only issue, but one of many.
thebausburst
22-01-2023, 07:45 PM
Very difficult game to be thrown into when he’s literally just signed, but showed enough to suggest he’s a serious upgrade on likes of Kenneh.
22-01-2023, 07:48 PM
I don’t think I’ve ever seen a player written off after 24 hours before.
It was obvious this was going to happen, we are crap but some of our fans are even worse.
Silky
22-01-2023, 07:51 PM
That actually describes most of his teammates.
ErinGoBraghHFC
22-01-2023, 07:53 PM
That actually describes most of his teammates.
Almost but no, most of his teammates are Jarko Wiss at best
Alan62
22-01-2023, 07:53 PM
Nah, I thought he was good all things considered. First game, pace of Scottish football and a derby cup tie. We were noticeably less organised when he was withdrawn.
I'm Spartacus
22-01-2023, 07:54 PM
He looks like Tam McManus!
How did the clearance come through so quickly? Not complaining mind.
ErinGoBraghHFC
22-01-2023, 07:55 PM
He looks like Tam McManus!
How did the clearance come through so quickly? Not complaining mind.
I’d imagine deal was completed earlier in the week and just not announced until yesterday
McGruber
22-01-2023, 08:05 PM
Fuming at the result, Johnson needs to go, plenty of decent play but powderpuff in both boxes. Lots of them not good enough. I did actually think Jeggo was effective for us and done well, decent debut even if one we all want to forget
22-01-2023, 08:36 PM
It was obvious this was going to happen, we are crap but some of our fans are even worse.
Sometimes our fans deserve the team they get
22-01-2023, 11:34 PM
So written off after one game that he played in after only one day of training with his new team?
Mental, isn't it. There really are some idiots ( wanted better description of them but auto correct won't let me) on here, give the guy a fair chance ffs.
22-01-2023, 11:40 PM
Had to adjust his game based on the early yellow, but i liked what i seen. I've got no doubt he's going to be a good signing and a regular in the midfield, he also has good expierience too, something that we've lacked. More of these signings and less of the untried/inexpierienced (Kenneh/Tavares/Bojang etc)
Well said young man
Mcbizz1998
22-01-2023, 11:45 PM
Broke up play well at times but incapable of playing a pass. Not a bad debut in the circumstances.
JammyDoidger
23-01-2023, 12:28 AM
Could have had Allan delfereirre doing the same job in all Honesty, he ran about that's about it. Not good enough we need quality. Panic signing.
23-01-2023, 12:31 AM
Could have had Allan delfereirre doing the same job in all Honesty, he ran about that's about it. Not good enough we need quality. Panic signing.
You need to get to your kip mate.
The guys played one game
JammyDoidger
23-01-2023, 12:34 AM
You need to get to your kip mate.
The guys played one game
I don't even care mate the fact we have had to sign some jimmy Jeggo guy and start him the next again day in a derby speaks volumes I can't explain how bad this situation is and how much of a mess our club is. Hearts sign some superstar apparently from Australia and he can't even get a sniff. Levels. We are tripe. But let's just accept the jimmy Jeggo's of this world and keep getting crapped on.
23-01-2023, 12:37 AM
I don't even care mate the fact we have had to sign some jimmy Jeggo guy and start him the next again day in a derby speaks volumes I can't explain how bad this situation is and how much of a mess our club is. Hearts sign some superstar apparently from Australia and he can't even get a sniff. Levels. We are tripe. But let's just accept the jimmy Jeggo's of this world and keep getting crapped on.
I’m not saying we accept anything. What’s going on at the club is ****ing horrendous and I’m still surprised LJ hasn’t been sacked yet.
But I’m willing to give this guy more of a chance than one game against a confident hearts side
JammyDoidger
23-01-2023, 12:38 AM
I’m not saying we accept anything. What’s going on at the club is ****ing horrendous and I’m still surprised LJ hasn’t been sacked yet.
But I’m willing to give this guy more of a chance than one game against a confident hearts side
I'm telling you it's time for protests, it's been a long time coming since these balloons got in charge of this club.
Victor
23-01-2023, 02:14 AM
I'm telling you it's time for protests, it's been a long time coming since these balloons got in charge of this club.
“Down with this sort of thing”. There I’ve started a protest for you.
May21/05/216
23-01-2023, 03:15 AM
“Down with this sort of thing”. There I’ve started a protest for you.Hes best ignored
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
23-01-2023, 04:04 AM
Talking of balloons, you seem deflated......
23-01-2023, 05:54 AM
The clue is in the name
23-01-2023, 05:56 AM
That's no way to talk about fan ownership and Mrs Dr Budge 😁
HairyMM
23-01-2023, 06:22 AM
He'll offer more than magennis for the rest of the season imo
Totally agree, Magennis has been a disaster of a signing…..recruited when crocked and simply incapable of stringing more than a handful of a games together …..average when available
23-01-2023, 06:33 AM
Well go protest then
WestStandWillie
23-01-2023, 06:34 AM
Jeggo written aff already. Some fanbase we have.
DJ HIBBY
23-01-2023, 06:39 AM
Jeggo written aff already. Some fanbase we have.
Not writing him off but first impressions and I know not an easy game to start with but he didn’t at all look like much of an upgrade on Kenneh. Just thought he looked rather one paced and distribution wasn’t great
skyehibee
23-01-2023, 08:24 AM
Thought he looked very similar to Jake Doyle Hayes but it’s early days so we will see if he’s an upgrade.
23-01-2023, 08:33 AM
I don’t think he had a good game yesterday, particularly on the ball.
But it was his first and judgement should be withheld until he’s settled and played again.
23-01-2023, 09:08 AM
I'd assume that we're trying to get him out on loan again. If he plays for us, he can't go to anyone else.
23-01-2023, 10:26 AM
Totally agree, Magennis has been a disaster of a signing…..recruited when crocked and simply incapable of stringing more than a handful of a games together …..average when available
Injuries clearly an issue, but he''s been far better than average when has played.
WestStandWillie
23-01-2023, 11:47 AM
The word in the pub yesterday was Jeggo was offered to us, Aberdeen, Hearts and Motherwell. They didn’t fancy him. Seemingly good friends with the Hearts boy Rowles.
23-01-2023, 11:48 AM
I thought Jeggo looked good in flashes, once he's up to speed I reckon he will be a good addition to the team.
23-01-2023, 11:50 AM
Very difficult environment to come in to for his debut having just arrived . Did ok. I think on first impressions he'll be an asset.
The word in the pub yesterday was Jeggo was offered to us, Aberdeen, Hearts and Motherwell. They didn’t fancy him. Seemingly good friends with the Hearts boy Rowles.
Is that not standard practice that an agent will contact other clubs operating in a similar market to try and get a better deal for their client?
23-01-2023, 12:06 PM
Yes I'm sure an Austrian/Australian midfielder playing in Belgium was specifically offered to us and our rivals who, low and behold, didn't fancy him.
That belongs in the Daily Record.
23-01-2023, 12:11 PM
Yes I'm sure an Austrian/Australian midfielder playing in Belgium was specifically offered to us and our rivals who, low and behold, didn't fancy him.
That belongs in the Daily Record.
Why not? Player asks his agent to find him a club in Scotland or UK. Agent sounds out a few clubs to gauge interest.
Although, LJ did say on radio yesterday he had been teacking Jeggo since his Bristol City days.
23-01-2023, 12:17 PM
Why not? Player asks his agent to find him a club in Scotland or UK. Agent sounds out a few clubs to gauge interest.
Although, LJ did say on radio yesterday he had been teacking Jeggo since his Bristol City days.
Like Taverez :rolleyes:
23-01-2023, 12:24 PM
Like Taverez :rolleyes:
Worrying eh.
23-01-2023, 06:00 PM
I highly doubt that seeing as Rowles was a child and lived over 2000 miles away from Jeggo when he played in Australia.
gaz1875
23-01-2023, 06:13 PM
I assume all the people criticizing him after no training with the team and only just arriving, spotted the defensive cover he was doing when the defenders went forward? Maybe give the guy a bit time no.
23-01-2023, 06:30 PM
1 game :faf:
I assume all the people criticizing him after no training with the team and only just arriving, spotted the defensive cover he was doing when the defenders went forward? Maybe give the guy a bit time no.
Not the first player not yo asjust in his first game. I remember Mixu watched the game go past him in his debut.
Broke up play well at times but incapable of playing a pass. Not a bad debut in the circumstances.
Were his passes poor or did Hibs desplay their characteristic lack of intelligent movement off the ball?
uphallhibby
23-01-2023, 07:46 PM
Just in from the game and I thought that was a quietly effective debut in a difficult fixture. He certainly wasn't overwhelmed or over awed. Did a lot of McGeouch style fetching and carrying and was astute positional wise in dropping in for wandering centre halves and spotting the need to adjust shape in response to what was going on around him.
Don't actually get the negativity about him. A bit odd.This
Sent from my motorola edge 20 lite using Tapatalk
23-01-2023, 11:02 PM
Were his passes poor or did Hibs desplay their characteristic lack of intelligent movement off the ball?
The only way the players could have got on the end of some of his passes would have been by being several rows up in the Easter Road stands.
24-01-2023, 06:02 AM
1 game :faf:
Yep this place is mental at times. He was fine without being outstanding will get better of course when he settles into the team and can remember his team mates names etc :greengrin
24-01-2023, 06:07 AM
Yep this place is mental at times. He was fine without being outstanding will get better of course when he settles into the team and can remember his team mates names etc :greengrin
Hope any targeted signings don’t log on here when they are considering an offer to sign for us.
Some would think twice.
24-01-2023, 06:13 AM
Thought you would have known a bit more about Hearts signings.
A ‘superstar’ usually has started more than 3 A League games.
24-01-2023, 07:26 AM
The only way the players could have got on the end of some of his passes would have been by being several rows up in the Easter Road stands.
Maybe he was passing to Magennis 😁
24-01-2023, 07:30 AM
Bit of both, but some of his passes were very poor. Could say the same about most of our players though.
24-01-2023, 08:00 AM
Maybe he was passing to Magennis 😁
Saint Hibee
24-01-2023, 09:44 AM
Didn't look any better or any worse than Kenneh.
snedzuk
24-01-2023, 11:10 AM
....where they would have been if waiting on a Cabraja cross.
24-01-2023, 11:20 AM
....where they would have been if waiting on a Cabraja cross.
28-01-2023, 05:23 PM
Really good at pressing the game today and winning the ball back for us.
Every time it looked like a 50/50 or whatever he came out on top with the ball
Can also see how well he organises those around him
Benny Brazil
28-01-2023, 05:38 PM
Really good at pressing the game today and winning the ball back for us.
Every time it looked like a 50/50 or whatever he came out on top with the ball
Can also see how well he organises those around him
His communication is superb constantly shouting at and talking to his teammates
Torto7
28-01-2023, 05:40 PM
He's exactly what we need in that position imo. I'm very pleased with him.
LewysGot2
28-01-2023, 05:43 PM
He's a good signing. Some folk are going to look a little silly 😉
28-01-2023, 05:46 PM
He's a good signing.
Certainly looks like there's a decent player in there.
Torto7
28-01-2023, 05:49 PM
Certainly looks like there's a decent player in there.
He's very experienced at a good level so I can't say I'm surprised. He's played at a higher standard than Hibs.
28-01-2023, 05:50 PM
Breaks up opposition play well.
Good player.
The Captain....
28-01-2023, 06:05 PM
Keeps it nice and simple, gives the midfield a platform to play from. Looks like he'll be a dependable option in the holding role.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
28-01-2023, 06:15 PM
Thought he was excellent today.
It was a very disciplined performance from an obviously experienced player and I thought all the players around him benefitted from that.
28-01-2023, 06:20 PM
Looks a very astute signing based on today. Slotted in seamlessly to a problem area and allowed Campbell and Newell to play.
SCHAEDYSHORTS
28-01-2023, 08:33 PM
Reminded me of how Marv or Milligan sat in that area, broke things up, won tackles & kept it simple, hope he keeps improving, we need that type of player to allow others to do the more creative stuff. Could turn out to be a decent signing.
28-01-2023, 08:35 PM
Loves a tackle.
28-01-2023, 08:46 PM
He's very experienced at a good level so I can't say I'm surprised. He's played at a higher standard than Hibs.
What higher standard?
28-01-2023, 09:28 PM
What higher standard?
The Belgian, Austrian and Greek leagues are all ranked higher than the Scottish league. He also played for two of the top teams in Austria.
28-01-2023, 09:31 PM
Loves a tackle.
You'll reel them in with that joke.....
ShanksSaidNo
28-01-2023, 09:34 PM
Biggest compliment I can give Jeggo today is that i didnae really notice him… but what happened on the back of that was his centre mid partner being able to kick on and score a hat-trick… and his defence keeping a clean sheet.
Keep doin what yer doin
28-01-2023, 10:00 PM
The Belgian, Austrian and Greek leagues are all ranked higher than the Scottish league. He also played for two of the top teams in Austria.
The Austrian league is not better than ours.
ErinGoBraghHFC
28-01-2023, 10:02 PM
Biggest compliment I can give Jeggo today is that i didnae really notice him… but what happened on the back of that was his centre mid partner being able to kick on and score a hat-trick… and his defence keeping a clean sheet.
Keep doin what yer doin
Exactly what you want from a holding midfielder. No needing to crunch into tackles very often, just picking up loose balls and keeping possession, very good signing by the looks of things
Stuarty1875
28-01-2023, 10:03 PM
Went around his business today quietly but effectively.
28-01-2023, 10:13 PM
Thought he was OK today.
An improvement but probably not a massive one.
But that's based on a game and a half, so maybe once he gets up to speed, he'll be better.
28-01-2023, 10:21 PM
Best description I have seen of him is that he is effective in what he does without being spectacular
That’ll do me
28-01-2023, 10:31 PM
You'll reel them in with that joke.....
James Jeggo?
What's the joke? Have I been whooshed?
28-01-2023, 11:25 PM
Best description I have seen of him is that he is effective in what he does without being spectacular
That’ll do me
I think his positional sense and aggression makes up for any lack of skill. Seemed to give the centre half’s great cover today.
29-01-2023, 06:39 AM
Belgian league I'll give you, not having the other 2, even then on the fifa list the Austrian and Belgian leagues are only a couple of places higher, wouldn't say the standard is that much higher
29-01-2023, 06:46 AM
The difference I seen was the freedom that both Newell and Campbell had today. He played a part in that and I thought he was excellent with his positioning off the ball.
A good job today, keep it up.
29-01-2023, 06:46 AM
The Austrian league is not better than ours.
Why not?
29-01-2023, 06:47 AM
Belgian league I'll give you, not having the other 2, even then on the fifa list the Austrian and Belgian leagues are only a couple of places higher, wouldn't say the standard is that much higher
So you agree they are ranked higher
29-01-2023, 06:48 AM
Rankings and standards are 2 different things
ChilliEater
29-01-2023, 06:50 AM
It's only been a little over 1 and a half games, but I'd say he's improved on the player I remember from the A-League 6 or 7 years ago. Looks like experience has taught him how to read the game better and play to his strengths. Looks like he'll break up play effectively in the CDM role, but suffer from poor distribution. So long as he is played in a way that lets him do the breaking up stuff, then be able to play a simple ball to someone more creative, then he'll do a job for us. I've no idea what he is costing, but I'm not sure we couldn't have either stuck with Kenneh, or loaned out Kenneh and played Lewis in there for 12-18 months while Kenneh gains experience, and spent the money on a new centre half or creative midfielder.
29-01-2023, 06:57 AM
Rankings and standards are 2 different things
So what about those leagues is worse than ours?
29-01-2023, 07:03 AM
So what about those leagues is worse than ours?
From the brief games I've seen of the austrian league(not many), I don't think the standard was any better, not really hard to understand as I've said already I don't think its any better. I'm guessing you have seen loads of games from the Greek league
29-01-2023, 07:10 AM
One of the first common sense signings we’ve made in some time.
29-01-2023, 07:15 AM
One of the first common sense signings we’ve made in some time.
Yip seems to be fitting in well, this should have been the type of experience we signed in the summer
Crunchie
29-01-2023, 08:08 AM
He's a good signing. Some folk are going to look a little silly 😉
:agree: the same as they have with Campbell and numerous other players that come to our club.
29-01-2023, 08:13 AM
If you take Celtic and Rangers out of the Scottish ranking we wouldn't be very high.
29-01-2023, 08:19 AM
If you take Celtic and Rangers out of the Scottish ranking we wouldn't be very high.
Exactly, and in Austria Jeggo played for Austria Vienna and Sturm Graz, which aren't exactly small unknown teams.
29-01-2023, 08:29 AM
I think that Joe Newell is wasted in that holding midfield role, on his day he’s one of the most effective footballers at our club going forward. If Jeggo can provide that cover through the middle we need it gives Newell and Campbell license to operate further up the park, no coincidence that they both performed well with Jeggo sitting there. Early days yet but we’ve been waiting to find that winning 6/8/10 midfield combination, hopefully these 3 can get a run of games together and provide us with that. I’ve given up on Magennis playing a part in that.
04-02-2023, 04:03 PM
Really starting to like the look of this guy. Type of midfielder we haven’t had for a couple of seasons now.
04-02-2023, 04:04 PM
70% of earth is covered by water.
The rest is covered by Jimmy Jeggo
04-02-2023, 04:07 PM
Jeggo is exactly what we need, no surprise that Newell played a load of very good passes today.
Formation works well, and if Hendo can keep this up, hes definitely worth keeping too.
04-02-2023, 04:32 PM
Jeggo has improved the midfield.
We look just that bit more solid and industrious now in an area we were weak.
With Egan-Riley having a good debut it looks like the additions of Egan-Riley and Jeggo will get for the betterment of the squad. Shipping out poorer players and bringing in decent quality is the way forward.
GreenGray
04-02-2023, 06:25 PM
To the tune of Newcastles we’ve got Bruno in the middle….
We’ve got Jeggo in the middle
He knows exactly what we need
Hanlon at the back
Nisbet in attack
Hibernian are going to win the Scottish league
GreenGray
05-02-2023, 09:18 AM
To the tune of Newcastles we’ve got Bruno in the middle….
We’ve got Jeggo in the middle
He knows exactly what we need
Hanlon at the back
Nisbet in attack
Hibernian are going to win the Scottish league
Granted this did sound better after 7/8 pints
05-02-2023, 09:50 AM
Granted this did sound better after 7/8 pints
05-02-2023, 10:35 AM
Jeggo has improved the midfield.
We look just that bit more solid and industrious now in an area we were weak.
With Egan-Riley having a good debut it looks like the additions of Egan-Riley and Jeggo will get for the betterment of the squad. Shipping out poorer players and bringing in decent quality is the way forward.
Jeggo definitely improved us defensively. He’s not up to much on the ball but he’s going to do us a job, at least in the short term.
buktapurple79
05-02-2023, 11:47 AM
Jeggo definitely improved us defensively. He’s not up to much on the ball but he’s going to do us a job, at least in the short term.
Totally, no the type of footballing player I like to see but a means to an end signing. Prefer a defensive mid to have a mair refined range of passing, but he'll help others out.
Torto7
05-02-2023, 05:27 PM
He's superb at plugging gaps either side of the defenders. I've got my eldest watching him off the ball as he learns a lot from him. He's a very good signing. Hopefully we can keep him.
06-02-2023, 02:35 PM
What a signing he looks to be. Early days I know. It was a real problem area and we look far more balanced with him in there. I was a bit underwhelmed (hate saying that) with his arrival but he's made a big difference. Does the simple things well. Well done to the recruitment team and LJ.
06-02-2023, 08:25 PM
What a signing he looks to be. Early days I know. It was a real problem area and we look far more balanced with him in there. I was a bit underwhelmed (hate saying that) with his arrival but he's made a big difference. Does the simple things well. Well done to the recruitment team and LJ.
Look at the improvement in the players playing alongside him centrally as a good gauge of how important his role is .. Hanlon , Fish , Newell, campbell all look better players all of a sudden. He allows these players to concentrate on doing their own jobs. Newell more advanced and looking for forward passes , campbell all over the park.. He has helped the balance of the side massively without doing much on the ball , he reads the game superbly and that is the most important attribute a defensive midfielder can have imo
PHeffernan
06-02-2023, 09:55 PM
He's superb at plugging gaps either side of the defenders. I've got my eldest watching him off the ball as he learns a lot from him. He's a very good signing. Hopefully we can keep him.
He's a permanent signing ... well as permanent as an 18 month contract can be.
06-02-2023, 10:34 PM
Jeggo looks like what it says on the tin - experienced defensive midfielder willing and able to do the "unseen work" that allows the likes of Newell and Campbell to be a bit more adventurous. On evidence I've seen so far a very good signing
Donegal Hibby
06-02-2023, 11:19 PM
Jeggo looks like what it says on the tin - experienced defensive midfielder willing and able to do the "unseen work" that allows the likes of Newell and Campbell to be a bit more adventurous. On evidence I've seen so far a very good signing
Totally agree , think every team needs a good defensive midfielder and we have one now in Jeggo imo . Does as you say the " unseen work " or the " dirty work " for the team . Very good signing.
greenbelly
07-02-2023, 02:28 AM
Agreed on Jeggo. A fine addition.
The comparison between him and Milligan is probably a simple one, but the advantage with James is he's just about to turn 31, whereas Milligan was hittin 33 when he signed for us.
Always wished we'd got hold of him a year or two earlier.
07-02-2023, 08:08 AM
Totally agree , think every team needs a good defensive midfielder and we have one now in Jeggo imo . Does as you say the " unseen work " or the " dirty work " for the team . Very good signing.
Gogic did that for Hibs and IMO he played well against us for St Mirren. And from what I saw on the tv he actually looked a decent player.
07-02-2023, 08:33 AM
Just needs a song...
07-02-2023, 10:01 AM
Just needs a song...
I am having weird thoughts of fitting Jimmy Jeggo into the Chitty Chitty Bang Bang theme! Maybe inajve had too much coffee this morning!
Jimmy Jimmy Jeggo we love you 🤣
07-02-2023, 10:03 AM
Just needs a song...
Ohhhh jimmy jeggo.
To the Hokey Cokey
07-02-2023, 10:25 AM
Just needs a song...
They had a song for him at Paisley on Saturday Dave.
Rocking all over the world with a last line of ..........nisbet and Jimmy Jeggo :greengrin
Seems 450 league games is no guarantee of a wee ditty
07-02-2023, 10:44 AM
Seems 450 league games is no guarantee of a wee ditty
Good point
Bushwoof
07-02-2023, 10:45 AM
I am having weird thoughts of fitting Jimmy Jeggo into the Chitty Chitty Bang Bang theme! Maybe inajve had too much coffee this morning!
I can make that even worse for you:
...Jeggo, Jimmy Jimmy Jeggo
Our four defenders' friend!
Donegal Hibby
07-02-2023, 10:51 AM
Gogic did that for Hibs and I he played well against us for St Mirren. And from what I saw on the tv he actually looked a decent player.
I would have been in the " let's keep Gogic camp " before he left us as I thought he was alright . Thought he had a good game for them against us as well . A football team always needs a Gogic , Bartley or Jeggo type player in it that breaks up attacks and wins the ball back which allows the more technically gifted midfielders to push forward and create opportunities.
07-02-2023, 11:51 AM
So (second attempt!)...
Oh you Jimmy Jimmy Jeggo
Jimmy Jimmy Jeggo
We love you.
And, our
Jimmy Jimmy Jeggo
Loves us too.
High, low, anywhere they go
Our Jimmy Jeggo will defend.
Block them, Jimmy Jimmy Jeggo
Our four defenders friend!
Trip them, Jimmy Jimmy Jeggo
And stop them in the end!
07-02-2023, 12:31 PM
James Jeggo
Here we go
Take Shankland
Off to injured ankle land
(to the tune of Enter Sandman)
07-02-2023, 12:54 PM
They call him Jimmy Jeggo (quite rightly)...
So (second attempt!)...
Oh you Jimmy Jimmy Jeggo
Jimmy Jimmy Jeggo
We love you.
And, our
Jimmy Jimmy Jeggo
Loves us too.
High, low, anywhere they go
Our Jimmy Jeggo will defend.
Block them, Jimmy Jimmy Jeggo
Our four defenders friend!
Trip them, Jimmy Jimmy Jeggo
And stop them in the end!
:faf::applause::greengrin
Prof. Shaggy
07-02-2023, 03:47 PM
James Jeggo
Here we go
Take Shankland
Off to injured ankle land
(to the tune of Enter Sandman)
I'll see your Enter Sandman and raise you Seek'n'Destroy....
Jimmyyyyyyyyyy
JimmyJeggo!
(boom boom boom boom
boom boom boom boom)
Jimmyyyyyyyyy
JimmyJeggo!
repeat
stuart-farquhar
07-02-2023, 04:04 PM
Day o(Banana boat song)
"Jeggo, don't wanna go home,
breaks up the play so the others can roam"
07-02-2023, 05:35 PM
What rankings are you looking at?
On current uefa coefficient Belgium is one place higher, Austria a couple below and Greece miles behind us.
07-02-2023, 05:36 PM
Take the top 2 performing teams out of any of the mid ranked Europeans leagues score and they'd be terrible.
07-02-2023, 05:42 PM
Davey Crockett
Born on a mountain top in Vienee
Fought an alligator at the age of three
Climbed up the highest tree
Jimmy Jeggo, King of the wild frontier
Now Jimmy is the biggest, Jimmy is the best
He's a great defensive mid, he's better than the rest
He eats his steaks all bloody, he is the man to fear
Jimmy Jeggo, king of the wild frontier
04-03-2023, 06:16 PM
Makes this team tick. My Man of the match today. Everything good about us. The ultimate unsung hero. Both him and Hoppe. I like him too. Does a power of running.
bordergreen
04-03-2023, 06:25 PM
Makes this team tick. My Man of the match today. Everything good about us. The ultimate unsung hero. Both him and Hoppe. I like him too. Does a power of running.
It is no coincidence that we have looked a much better team since he signed...
04-03-2023, 06:28 PM
Turning out to be a great signing.
04-03-2023, 06:31 PM
We're getting soft as a support.
I don't think Matty Jack had a song about him. He just had some raw meat and a pint of stout before kick-off. If it had been a particularly rainy day then he would occasionally lie down in front of the fire and allow you to take a steel comb brush to his fur. Even then you had to watch him though.
04-03-2023, 06:54 PM
He has made a huge difference. We will miss him when the yellows catch up on him but I wouldn't want him to play the game any differently.
04-03-2023, 06:57 PM
Davey Crockett
Born on a mountain top in Vienee
Fought an alligator at the age of three
Climbed up the highest tree
Jimmy Jeggo, King of the wild frontier
Now Jimmy is the biggest, Jimmy is the best
He's a great defensive mid, he's better than the rest
He eats his steaks all bloody, he is the man to fear
Jimmy Jeggo, king of the wild frontier
Adam Ant vibes.
LewysGot2
05-03-2023, 09:23 AM
Anyone dismissing him in January is hopefully seeing his worth. Our midfield is more mobile, aggressive and balanced now - what a difference
05-03-2023, 10:16 AM
I demand a Lego Jimmy Jeggo in the club shop.
05-03-2023, 10:16 AM
How many yellow cards has he picked up now?
He's almost guaranteed to pick another 2 up against the uglies and it'll be our typical luck that he'll be suspended for our game against hertz
05-03-2023, 10:26 AM
How many yellow cards has he picked up now?
He's almost guaranteed to pick another 2 up against the uglies and it'll be our typical luck that he'll be suspended for our game against hertz
3 in the league and 1 in the cup. 6 bookings in the same competition leads to a suspension for the first game in the same completion which occurs 14 days after the 6th booking is received.
05-03-2023, 10:38 AM
3 in the league and 1 in the cup. 6 bookings in the same competition leads to a suspension for the first game in the same completion which occurs 14 days after the 6th booking is received.
Thanks.
I think that means if he's booked in the next 3 games, he'll miss the hertz game. :worried:
05-03-2023, 10:43 AM
Anyone dismissing him in January is hopefully seeing his worth. Our midfield is more mobile, aggressive and balanced now - what a difference
There were certainly a few premature reactions initially, thankfully he is proving his worth to the team.
05-03-2023, 11:06 AM
He has been what we needed for a while. Him, Egan Riley have given our defence a shield and we now have two centre halves who work as a pair and our shape is so much better when we don't have the ball despite Henderson and Youan not being the best off the ball
05-03-2023, 11:19 AM
How would a sending off for 2 yellows be punished?
Mikey_1875
05-03-2023, 11:28 AM
If he can continue this form till the end of the season I’d be looking to add a couple of years to his contract if possible. He has made a big difference in a short space of time and the way he plays I think he will be able to maintain that into the latter stages of his career.
05-03-2023, 01:12 PM
How would a sending off for 2 yellows be punished?
You’d miss the next game in the same competition but the two yellows would also count towards the accumulated bookings.
05-03-2023, 02:40 PM
You’d miss the next game in the same competition but the two yellows would also count towards the accumulated bookings.
Thanks 👍
superbam
05-03-2023, 02:42 PM
I demand a Lego Jimmy Jeggo in the club shop.
We all dream of a Lego Jimmy Jeggo
A Lego Jimmy Jeggo
Thanks.
I think that means if he's booked in the next 3 games, he'll miss the hertz game. :worried:
Yesterday was only his 2nd booking in a league game - he has now played 5 league games and been booked against Ross Co & Livingston
He was also booked on his debut in the cup game.
05-03-2023, 06:23 PM
Yesterday was only his 2nd booking in a league game - he has now played 5 league games and been booked against Ross Co & Livingston
CG reckons it's his third. :dunno:
05-03-2023, 06:28 PM
CG reckons it's his third. :dunno:
Foxy is correct it’s only 2 league bookings. I mistakenly counted the yellow card he received in his final game for Eupen before joining us.
05-03-2023, 06:31 PM
Foxy is correct it’s only 2 league bookings. I mistakenly counted the yellow card he received in his final game for Eupen before joining us.
Excellent. Good news.
Unless he gets sent off against Motherwell...:worried:
01-04-2023, 06:35 PM
An absoultely shocking performance today from Jeggo.
He played like he had his boots on the wrong feet, I can't remember a midfielder giving away the ball more than he has done today.
A few people have been getting far too carried away with their praise of him in previous games and attributing a big slice of our good run largely down to him when there has been little to jusify it.
Seen the similar over praise of average midfielders many times before on here after a few good results though, eg Gary Deegan, Kevin McBride, Gogic. We need much better than him if we want to progress.
01-04-2023, 06:46 PM
He played like he had his boots on the wrong feet, I can't remember a midfielder giving away the ball more than he has done today.
A few people have been getting far too carried away with their praise of him in previous games and attributing a big slice of our good run largely down to him when there has been little to jusify it.
Seen the similar over praise of average midfielders many times before on here after a few good results though, eg Gary Deegan, Kevin McBride, Gogic. We need much better than him if we want to progress.
I think he at least completed passes/kept possession a couple of times today, genuinely don’t know if Campbell could say that
01-04-2023, 06:46 PM
There’s not been little to justify it. Since he came in to the team our results have been largely improved.
01-04-2023, 06:49 PM
Whatever happens I think he’s been a good stop gap signing. I’ve always felt we’d be wanting better to start next season with.
01-04-2023, 06:52 PM
There’s not been little to justify it. Since he came in to the team our results have been largely improved.
Yes but that's my point. The results improving had very little to do with any performances from him.
He's been decent in a few games, nothing more.
gaz1875
01-04-2023, 06:53 PM
He was utter garbage today along with JDH, CJ and Campbell, and he's definitely not a playmaker.
01-04-2023, 06:55 PM
I think he at least completed passes/kept possession a couple of times today, genuinely don’t know if Campbell could say that
Jeggo gave the ball away more than anyone today. He was brutal.
I agree Campbell was also awful, but he has proved numerous times when he plays well he makes a very positive contribution to the team.
GreenGray
01-04-2023, 06:56 PM
Because we were finally playing a holding midfielder
01-04-2023, 06:56 PM
He’s a grafter and disrupter. The fact he was trying to do more in IMHO I respect him for. He realised the players about him we’re struggling.
Not his job to win us games.
He’s improved the midfield since he joined.
01-04-2023, 06:58 PM
He’s a grafter and disrupter. The fact he was trying to do more in IMHO I respect him for. He realised the players about him we’re struggling.
Not his job to win us games.
He’s improved the midfield since he joined.
It's his job to pass to a man in green though.
01-04-2023, 07:21 PM
It's his job to pass to a man in green though.
He was pretty honking to be fair , thought doyle hayes more than matched him on that front though. In all honesty the rest of them and i do mean every one of them seemed incapable of successfully passing the ball ten yards to a team mate.. Reality is that we need to get a bit quality in the door come the summer window.
01-04-2023, 07:23 PM
He was pretty honking to be fair , thought doyle hayes more than matched him on that front though. In all honesty the rest of them and i do mean every one of them seemed incapable of successfully passing the ball ten yards to a team mate.. Reality is that we need to get a bit quality in the door come the summer window.
Agreed mate :agree:
PHeffernan
01-04-2023, 07:33 PM
Jeggo gave the ball away more than anyone today. He was brutal.
I agree Campbell was also awful, but he has proved numerous times when he plays well he makes a very positive contribution to the team.
Jeggo was horrific today with the ball at his feet.
Motherwell were intentionally leaving him free when we had the ball knowing he would eventually get it and would give it back to them.
That is a damning indictment.
I remember Morton doing the same with Darren McGregor in a midweek evening game in the Championship.
I couldn't believe we left Jeggo on the pitch when we started pushing forward in the second half.
The more we had of the ball the more his inability on it was exposed.
01-04-2023, 07:44 PM
He had a shocker but so did most of the team. We basically started the game with no-one that can pass the ball well. Four midfielders none of who are creative in the slightest, add Nisbet who was terrible and Hoppe who gives the ball away 9 times out of ten and there was always a chance today would go as it did, particularly against a team on form. Saying all that the lack of effort and sheer incompetence was way beyond anything I expected. We will be lucky to stay in teh top six if we don't improve considerably over the next couple of games.
GreenGray
01-04-2023, 07:44 PM
So is the conclusion that other than passing, dribbling and technically he’s a good player?
01-04-2023, 08:02 PM
He was absolutely woeful.
At least we can put to bed that rubbish that Newell doesn't walk right back into this side. He has his flaws but holy ****, he's the only footballer we've got in there.
Mikey_1875
01-04-2023, 08:07 PM
The amount of times he aimlessly chipped into the box today had my blood boiling. He has been a good performer outside of today though and on a day when the other 10+ were awful as well I can forgive him this one.
01-04-2023, 08:14 PM
He was absolutely woeful.
At least we can put to bed that rubbish that Newell doesn't walk right back into this side. He has his flaws but holy ****, he's the only footballer we've got in there.
Agree. Any Newell critics must see that today.
01-04-2023, 08:23 PM
Problem with Newell being painted as the saviour here is that he has limped anonymously through many similarly piss poor team performances.
I don’t get how so many players can so comfortably look like they are the problem one week then the solution the next - Newell, JDH, Campbell, Jeggo, Egan Riley, Nisbet - tbf you could probably name our entire squad.
And pre match you’ll sometimes see a team named that looks terrible and overperforms then sometimes you’ll have a team that looks decent but then turns out to be pish.
coco22
01-04-2023, 08:29 PM
Problem with Newell being painted as the saviour here is that he has limped anonymously through many similarly piss poor team performances.
I don’t get how so many players can so comfortably look like they are the problem one week then the solution the next - Newell, JDH, Campbell, Jeggo, Egan Riley, Nisbet - tbf you could probably name our entire squad.
And pre match you’ll sometimes see a team named that looks terrible and overperforms then sometimes you’ll have a team that looks decent but then turns out to be pish.
Id have a dig at the whole ‘midfield’ today. Missing and the amount of misplaced passes was terrible. JN gave us a bit more drive and control but a bad team performance.
Off point….Jeggo was rank (
01-04-2023, 08:37 PM
Agree. Any Newell critics must see that today.
I’m one of them but I’ve also seen many a similar performance with him in the team.
We have a real habit of chucking that kind of performance in every so often where every single player is absolutely brutal. Even in the season we finished third under Ross we did it multiple times at ER against the likes of Motherwell, Ross County and Livingston.
01-04-2023, 08:38 PM
He has been a great signing for us and a key element in our improved performances, today was an off day.
01-04-2023, 08:54 PM
I’m one of them but I’ve also seen many a similar performance with him in the team.
We have a real habit of chucking that kind of performance in every so often where every single player is absolutely brutal. Even in the season we finished third under Ross we did it multiple times at ER against the likes of Motherwell, Ross County and Livingston.
Ross had a mostly exceptional record vs the lesser sides, until the bad run that finished him. Those you've listed were some of his only losses vs them.
01-04-2023, 08:55 PM
Even in his early Hecky days at left mid, Newell has never played as poorly as Jeggo did today.
Newell will be the first name on the teamsheet next week after today.
01-04-2023, 09:10 PM
Has massively improved the midfield and defence since joining, had one off day and gets absolutely buried for it.
Poor sod.
01-04-2023, 09:20 PM
Has massively improved the midfield and defence since joining, had one off day and gets absolutely buried for it.
Poor sod.
That's one theory. Another is that people have overestimated how good he is because we won a few games (3 out of 4 wins against 10 men).
The last 3 games we've shipped 11 goals in 3 defeats which doesnt say much about his ability to improve the defence or midfield, regardless of who our opponents were.
01-04-2023, 09:28 PM
Poor sod.
Another very average player. Can't pass to another green shirt and contributes little.
01-04-2023, 09:29 PM
That's one theory. Another is that people have overestimated how good he is because we won a few games (3 out of 4 wins against 10 men).
The last 3 games we've shipped 11 goals in 3 defeats which doesnt say much about his ability to improve the defence or midfield, regardless of who our opponents were.
Celtic game I think can be excused given what happened. But he was beyond dreadful today and he went awol against Rangers a few weeks back. We also had the Hearts game at ER where we conceded three.
I think he’s been decent enough but he’s one to help you out for a bit rather than build a team around for me.
01-04-2023, 09:34 PM
Celtic game I think can be excused given what happened. But he was beyond dreadful today and he went awol against Rangers a few weeks back. We also had the Hearts game at ER where we conceded three.
I think he’s been decent enough but he’s one to help you out for a bit rather than build a team around for me.
It's not all about one player, but we need so much better if we want to improve.
01-04-2023, 09:40 PM
:agree: Agree with that mate.
I just wish people wouldn't over egg a players ability after such a short time in a Hibs jersey, which I think has happened with him. Big couple of games coming up - happy to review my thoughts after those, and hopefully I'm wrong.
01-04-2023, 09:50 PM
The fact that half of us think he is ***** and the other half think he is decent means he’s prob somewhere in between.
it would be nice if we had a midfielder we all thought was good…
02-04-2023, 12:00 AM
Jeggo has been good for us so far. Today he was woeful Why he continually kept dinking little balls into the box I don't know. He seemed more involved in the playmaking side of things which didn't make sense as passing isn't his strength. Hopefully reverts to his usual game which he is good at. Hopefully normal service resumed next match. Overall our passing was terrible so Jeggo was not alone
02-04-2023, 12:20 AM
There must be thousands of players who can break play up, we need players who can break play up, have a bit of composure and be able to make telling passes to our own players. How many boxes does Jeggo tick?
02-04-2023, 06:44 AM
He’s racking up the bookings - must be sailing close to a suspension?
Not his best yesterday but has definitely contributed to the team looking more balanced during the good run of form.
02-04-2023, 07:13 AM
Kenneh is a mile better
02-04-2023, 08:03 AM
Kenneh is a mile better
Arguably on yesterday possibly however since Jeggo has come in ckearly not.
02-04-2023, 10:22 AM
He was atrocious yesterday but that can be said of almost everyone in a Hibs shirt. When it's working his job is to sit in front of the backline, protect it then
give the ball to someone else to create; that's what he has been effective in doing; yesterday the mess of a shape meant he was frequently much further forward & involved in
what passed for attempts to attack.
Unsurprisingly it didn't work.
supermcginn
02-04-2023, 11:12 AM
He has been a great signing for us and a key element in our improved performances, today was an off day.
Agreed, been a huge improvement on Kenneh. Hopefully yesterday was just a blip.
02-04-2023, 11:52 AM
Kenneh is a mile better
He clearly isn’t.
02-04-2023, 12:48 PM
Decent player to have in there when we're up against it like St Mirren away but he's really no more than a quicker version of Jarkko Wiss. Fine if you don't ask him to try to create anything.
Paulie Walnuts
04-04-2023, 09:46 AM
Exactly how I see Jeggo, and Egan Riley for that matter.
They’ll do a job and that’s about it. Mid table standard playing for a mid table team much like pretty much everyone in our squad other than Boyle, Nisbet, Myko and potentially Fish. None of them are terrible, all of them could maybe play a part in a third place team as a squad player but none are going to be the catalyst to get us third. Sadly 3 of the above 4 will likely be gone in the summer and we’re likely to end up with mostly more of the same to replace them.
We desperately need less Jeggos, Hoppes and Egan Rileys and more Boyles/Nisbets if we ever want 3rd.
04-04-2023, 10:24 AM
Poor sod.
He has improved out midfield and helped the team defensively, but I wouldn't class yesterday as an off day - his glaring weaknesses (creative passing, ability to play through tight spaces, general technique and ball control) have been evident just about every game he's played. But he's managed to keep things simple in most games so far, and our more direct style recently in games like St Mirren and Livi away also helped to cover them so they wouldn't be exploited.
I brought up these big flaws to his game during the winning run and was ridiculed by some, but they're getting more and more apparent as the season goes on.
09-04-2023, 02:02 PM
Another yellow card, another piss poor performance, another defeat.
Scotty Leither
09-04-2023, 02:09 PM
The guy is a walking example of our recruitment policy. File him alongside Paddy Cregg, Victor Pallsson, et al.
Nobody at the club seems to get the type of player that Hibs fans crave in the midfield: Latapy, McLeod, Edwards, Jackson, McGinn, O’Neill. Feel free to add.
Proper Hibs players, the type our recruitment gurus wouldn’t recognise if they kicked them in the arse.
SickBoy32
09-04-2023, 02:21 PM
Alarm bells were ringing when a team in a relegation scrap, in a poorer league than the SPL, were happy to let this guy leave in Jan
Gogic is levels above
Our recruitment the last couple of years has been absolutely terrible
GreenGray
09-04-2023, 02:35 PM
If the jury was still out on him it surely can’t be now.
Can’t pass, late to almost every tackle, is slow and hides from the ball.
An absolute imposter
09-04-2023, 02:58 PM
Considering that Jeggo was rightly seen as an improvement on our midfield, it just shows how poor we are in that area. A very ordinary player who would struggle to get into many other midfields in the league.
09-04-2023, 03:01 PM
Poor man's Gogic/Hallberg etc. etc. Looked decent to start with as well, like so many.
09-04-2023, 03:42 PM
He is crap
Bronson
09-04-2023, 03:42 PM
He is absolutely terrible. JDH isn’t perfect but my god please play him over this clown
09-04-2023, 03:44 PM
I see we have our latest scapegoat after a couple of poor displays and results.
09-04-2023, 03:44 PM
He is absolutely terrible. JDH isn’t perfect but my god please play him over this clown
JDH isn’t any better and he’s had way longer to prove it.
Bronson
09-04-2023, 03:46 PM
He’s not good enough either but he’s 10x the player jeggo is. At least he can pass the ball
GreenGray
09-04-2023, 03:51 PM
He definitely is, more technical ability for sure. Granted the bar isn’t high
09-04-2023, 03:52 PM
A truly crap signing I'm afraid, where do we get them 😮💩
Paulie Walnuts
09-04-2023, 03:54 PM
Awful football player. The kind of guy the recruitment team keep on signing. Would file Egan-Riley in the same bracket.
Expect more of the same next season and another mid table bore fest.
09-04-2023, 04:26 PM
I don't think anyone is making him out to be a scapegoat.
But when peoole claimed he had a good debut against Hearts after a woeful performance, and then him being described as a great signing after a few half decent performances, its right to point out how flawed those takes were.
JammyDoidger
09-04-2023, 04:29 PM
I thought he might have been a decent signing, and plenty experience but he's dug meat, booking anytime he's asked to make a tackle, can't pass, can't dribble, can't do much tbh.
09-04-2023, 04:29 PM
He’s not good enough either but he’s 10x the player jeggo is. At least he can pass the ball
He definitely is, more technical ability for sure. Granted the bar isn’t high
I think JDH is far better on the ball. Jeggo has a bit more energy but at 31 that's not going to last for long, and hes not going to develop into a better player. JDH is only 24 so at least has room for improvement.
snedzuk
09-04-2023, 04:42 PM
Awful football player. The kind of guy the recruitment team keep on signing. Would file Egan-Riley in the same bracket.
CJ Egan Riley - looks to have put weight on since joining and not in a good way plus how slow is he.
He's here!
09-04-2023, 06:09 PM
We'll be in a relegation battle next season which I guess will be more interesting than a mid table bore fest.
10-04-2023, 08:35 AM
CJ Egan Riley - looks to have put weight on since joining and not in a good way plus how slow is he.
Thought that myself. Whatever we were doing over the international break preparation wise has been an absolute calamity.
10-04-2023, 08:35 AM
We'll be in a relegation battle next season which I guess will be more interesting than a mid table bore fest.
No we won't.
10-04-2023, 08:36 AM
Yep always good to see.
13-08-2023, 07:23 PM
Another yellow card, another piss poor performance, another defeat.
4 Months on, another yellow card, another piss poor performance, another defeat.
Surely time we put to bed the jackanory that he makes everyone around him play better and that we are defensively better with him in the team.
13-08-2023, 07:25 PM
Guys pish .. Simple as that , regardless of what some anorak statto tells you otherwise.. Could tell he was never a player within a few games
4 Months on, another yellow card, another piss poor performance, another defeat.
Surely time we put to bed the jackanory that he makes everyone around him play better and that we are defensively better with him in the team.
Could be said it's another case of getting a player in maybe 2-3 years too late.
13-08-2023, 07:27 PM
Looks like another player who’s not entirely sure what he’s meant to be doing.
The whole team looked hesitant and in their shells today.
13-08-2023, 08:18 PM
No we won't.
Oh yes we will.
13-08-2023, 08:57 PM
Nonsense. His yellow wasn’t even a foul FFS.
13-08-2023, 09:27 PM
Nonsense. His yellow wasn’t even a foul FFS.
So he didn't get booked again, put in a pish poor performance and we didn't get beat?
His ball retention is absolutely shocking and defensively he just chases shadows. And for the second week in a row he switched off in the box for an opposition goal. The nonsense is people pretending he is some kind of holding midfield baller who should be a vital part of a good Hibs team.
Dr_Regal
13-08-2023, 11:16 PM
Absolutely diabolical, swanned aboot doing nothing. Just watched the first goal happen and didn’t move at all.
Total imposter. Can’t pass, or run.
13-08-2023, 11:44 PM
Another dud. Only good for a card on your bet.