View Full Version : 2023 Australian Open
15-01-2023, 04:50 PM
The first Grand Slam of the year gets underway in a few hours' time at Melbourne Park.
First up is Kyle Edmund v 15th seed Jannik Sinner. Personally can't see Edmund winning that one.
A bit later on Jack Draper faces an even bigger test v defending champion Rafael Nadal.
Around the same sort of time British number one Cameron Norrie faces relative unknown Luca Van Assche of France. He is 18 and playing in the main draw of a Grand Slam for the first time.
On the women's side Emma Raducanu faces Tamara Korpatsch.
Harriet Dart plays Jil Teichmann.
On Tuesday Dan Evans plays Facundo Bagnis.
Andy Murray has a very tough start v Matteo Berrettini.
And after last year's circus which ultimately ended up in his deportation and ban from Australia which has been subsequently overturned, Novak Djokovic is bidding to become the Australian Open champion for a 10th time as he plays Roberto Carballes Baena.
All the action begins at midnight GMT and live coverage in the UK is on Eurosport.
hibeg
15-01-2023, 06:17 PM
I reckon Draper will beat Nadal
hibeg
16-01-2023, 02:00 AM
Raducanu wins
Edmund out, as expected
hibeg
16-01-2023, 05:36 AM
I reckon Draper will beat Nadal
First set was quality, great play by both but Nadal nicked it. Draper races through second set and now looks on top.
Game 3 in third, looks like Draper injury jinx strikes again !! Loses 3 games in a row and calls trainer.
After treatment Jack breaks back and we are back on serve.
hibeg
16-01-2023, 05:44 AM
Rafa wins set 3
hibeg
16-01-2023, 05:55 AM
Another injury time out for Jack before start of set 4. Hope his fitness can hold as he is definitely in this match
Rafa has hardly played since Wimbledon but is showing how fit he is
Come on Jack
hibeg
16-01-2023, 06:36 AM
Rafa wins due to Draper fitness issues.
Ironic as I thought it would be the other way about
Both have hardly played in months, but I thought the younger guy would come through
Never write off Rafa !
16-01-2023, 07:25 AM
3am updates are impressive have you slept at all? :greengrin
Dart is a break up in the first set at 4-3. Surprised at Raducanu winning.
16-01-2023, 12:37 PM
Sadly it all went wrong for Dart despite a promising opening to the match as she lost in straight sets.
Cameron Norrie is through in straight sets.
hibeg
16-01-2023, 12:45 PM
3am updates are impressive have you slept at all? :greengrin
Dart is a break up in the first set at 4-3. Surprised at Raducanu winning.
Haha. No I wasn’t up all night. Woke up around 2.45 and saw Emma had won on the laptop. Posted the info and went back to sleep 😴.
davy67 +
16-01-2023, 06:54 PM
Rafa wins due to Draper fitness issues.
Ironic as I thought it would be the other way about
Both have hardly played in months, but I thought the younger guy would come through
Never write off Rafa !
Apparently Draper has had a bad dose of the flu recently and has missed out on some of his fitness training
hibeg
16-01-2023, 07:27 PM
Apparently Draper has had a bad dose of the flu recently and has missed out on some of his fitness training
Didn’t know that Davy. He really struggled with cramping up. Shame because when he was ok he was giving Rafa big problems.
16-01-2023, 09:06 PM
Tough one for any UK based Andy Murray fans in the morning as his match v Matteo Berrettini is due to begin around 3am GMT.
I personally won't be getting up to watch it so will be hoping to wake up to some good news but can't see it.
Good luck Andy.
16-01-2023, 10:59 PM
Tough one for any UK based Andy Murray fans in the morning as his match v Matteo Berrettini is due to begin around 3am GMT.
I personally won't be getting up to watch it so will be hoping to wake up to some good news but can't see it.
Good luck Andy.
Yep would imagine Murray will be out before I wake up .
Hopefully Rafa can get something going having got through his first round but hard to see him defending his title. Shame for the lad Draper to have all chance of a win taken away with fitness issue.
17-01-2023, 02:24 AM
Yep would imagine Murray will be out before I wake up .
Hopefully Rafa can get something going having got through his first round but hard to see him defending his title. Shame for the lad Draper to have all chance of a win taken away with fitness issue.
I’m wrong again - I’m awake and Murray is a break up 😁
davy67 +
17-01-2023, 05:49 AM
Another 5 setter for Murray
17-01-2023, 06:07 AM
Another 5 setter for Murray
Only ever lost once after being 2 sets up! Nalbandian in 2005 I think they said.
That stat under severe pressure now. Great win if he can get over the line still.
17-01-2023, 06:40 AM
Unbelievable!
I'm just awake and checked the score and expected to see a routine Berrettini win - I should have known better! :greengrin
5-5 deciding set - come on Andy!
17-01-2023, 06:44 AM
6-5 Berrettini.
17-01-2023, 06:49 AM
Deciding set championship tiebreak.
17-01-2023, 06:55 AM
Murray 5-1 up - another 5 to go!
17-01-2023, 07:04 AM
Murray wins in 5 sets. :thumbsup:
What an absolute legend, the sport will really miss him when he retires.
17-01-2023, 07:10 AM
Murray wins in 5 sets. :thumbsup:
What an absolute legend, the sport will really miss him when he retires.
Outstanding elite athlete. Must be amongst the best (maybe THE best?) Scottish athlete of all time .
17-01-2023, 07:16 AM
Phenomenal!
Stairway 2 7
17-01-2023, 07:18 AM
Unbelievable performance
OldEast
17-01-2023, 07:24 AM
Outstanding elite athlete. Must be amongst the best (maybe THE best?) Scottish athlete of all time .
For pure athleticism, skill, dedication and determination there's been nobody to match him.
hibeg
17-01-2023, 07:31 AM
Wow, didn’t see that coming. Brilliant from Andy against a world class opponent. :top marks
17-01-2023, 12:05 PM
I personally think that goes without saying, I would go as far as to say he's the greatest British athlete ever.
The guy's playing with a metal hip at nearly 36 years old!
17-01-2023, 12:17 PM
Amongst all the excitement about Murray this morning I meant to say that Dan Evans won in 4 sets earlier on. He'll now play Jeremy Chardy in round 2 which should be another winnable match.
Murray's second round opponent will likely be home favourite Thanasi Kokkinakis although he will need to come back at midnight to finish off his match v Fabio Fognini - Kokkinakis is two sets up and 4-2 up in the third set.
Murray's match will be on Thursday.
17-01-2023, 02:20 PM
I thought Murray looked leaner and fitter than I've seen him, perhaps ever, before. Have missed watching his epic matches over the past few years. This morning was brilliant.
davy67 +
17-01-2023, 08:53 PM
After watching the Andy Murray match I think those umpire chairs could do to be a couple of feet higher
18-01-2023, 01:19 AM
Five-setter against a top player and our man came through. I've been imploring him to give up and spare us the sight of him losing to guys he previously would wipe the floor with.
I may have to get the Come On Andy y-fronts out of the drawer again.
hibeg
18-01-2023, 05:35 AM
Rafa beaten in straight sets. Injured again unfortunately
TBF, McDonald was the better player before the injury.
OldEast
18-01-2023, 05:37 AM
Rafa beaten in straight sets. Injured again unfortunately
TBF, McDonald was the better player before the injury.
I wonder if Rafa will retire before Andy
hibeg
18-01-2023, 05:47 AM
I wonder if Rafa will retire before Andy
He is a couple of years older and has hardly played since retiring at Wimbledon last year.
Great win for Andy, but this time next year, maybe Novak will be the only one at the AO
19-01-2023, 06:12 AM
He is a couple of years older and has hardly played since retiring at Wimbledon last year.
Great win for Andy, but this time next year, maybe Novak will be the only one at the AO
There's just a year between Nadal and then Murray and Djokovic but I've thought for a while that Nadal would be retired well before the other two due to the way that he plays.
He'll be 37 later this year so he's done well to last as long as he has and whilst I can see Djokovic carrying on for a couple of more years, I think Murray (despite his incredible win over Berrettini) will probably go not too long after Nadal (who I wouldn't be surprised to see retiring at the end of this year).
19-01-2023, 06:19 AM
Good win for Dan Evans in straight sets v Jeremy Chardy and he's safely into the 3rd round where he'll face a tougher test next v Andrey Rublev.
Murray will be on at a more respectable time for UK viewers today (at least if you're not working 🙄).
He'll probably not be on until after 10am GMT as he's last on Margaret Court Arena. Sacha Zverev is still in a 3rd set and at 1 set all in his match, then there's a women's match and then it's Murray.
19-01-2023, 10:35 AM
Murray on now.
Djokovic 2 sets to 1 up and has had a medical timeout seemingly to do with an ongoing hamstring issue. Although given his history of medical mind games I wouldn't read too much into that. :rolleyes:
19-01-2023, 12:20 PM
Kokkinakis won the first set 6-4.
Second set into a tiebreak, must win for Murray I think.
19-01-2023, 12:28 PM
Kokkinakis wins the second set tiebreak.
Think that might be game, set and match but you never know.
19-01-2023, 12:31 PM
Kokkinakis wins the second set tiebreak.
Think that might be game, set and match but you never know.
Is it on TV ?
19-01-2023, 12:35 PM
Is it on TV ?
Eurosport 2.
19-01-2023, 12:54 PM
Kokkinakis acting like a total kock.
19-01-2023, 12:54 PM
Kokkinakis acting like a total kock.
19-01-2023, 01:31 PM
Murray hanging on ... just.
19-01-2023, 01:49 PM
Murray wins the 3rd set. Come on Andy!!
19-01-2023, 02:02 PM
Kokk has a face you wouldn’t tire of slapping.
19-01-2023, 02:04 PM
C’mon Andy.
19-01-2023, 02:35 PM
It’s crazy they are still out there playing, it’s 2.30am!
19-01-2023, 02:41 PM
Andy breaks! 4-2 in the 4th.
hibeg
19-01-2023, 02:55 PM
Just in, nearly 3 in the morning over there. 😂
Cmon Andy
19-01-2023, 03:00 PM
Woohoo - 2 sets all!
McSwanky
19-01-2023, 03:00 PM
Bloody hell, another 5 setter. How does he do it?
Stairway 2 7
19-01-2023, 03:01 PM
Unbelievable stuff.
19-01-2023, 03:16 PM
I can't believe I'm missing this for work!
19-01-2023, 03:18 PM
Great tennis from both even though I have taken a real dislike for Kokkanakis.
19-01-2023, 03:36 PM
I was listening on the radio but the commentary is so annoying I had to turn it off.
hibeg
19-01-2023, 03:38 PM
Andy can’t convert 4 break points.
4-3.
Got to give the Aussie credit
19-01-2023, 03:43 PM
4-4
19-01-2023, 03:47 PM
Murray serving to stay in it, 4-5
19-01-2023, 03:54 PM
Holds, 5-5. Mental.
19-01-2023, 04:00 PM
Serving for match now. Wow
19-01-2023, 04:00 PM
BREAK!
6-5, Murray to serve for it.
hibeg
19-01-2023, 04:03 PM
Unreal, cmon Andy
19-01-2023, 04:06 PM
W
****, I'm shattered. :greengrin
Unbelievable. What a guy.
Sergio sledge
Amazing from Murray, but is it not ridiculous that they are still playing at 4am?
Something needs done about that.
Stairway 2 7
19-01-2023, 04:07 PM
Wow
19-01-2023, 04:07 PM
Unbelievable from Andy Murray.
19-01-2023, 04:08 PM
If we had a small Percentage of his professionalism , we’d be flying ! Never seen anything like that
Zambernardi1875
19-01-2023, 04:10 PM
What a Performance, puts the fitness of footballers to shame
hibeg
19-01-2023, 04:10 PM
Superhuman effort.
2 matches, 10 sets, approx 11 hours play
Just give him the title :greengrin
19-01-2023, 04:17 PM
Got pretty emotional watching that…absolute role model
19-01-2023, 04:17 PM
If we had a small Percentage of his professionalism , we’d be flying ! Never seen anything like that
I would just make the players watch a re run of this tomorrow and tell them anything is possible, you just need the heart to do it, the should never be playing to that time though.
19-01-2023, 04:18 PM
Fantastic Andy!
19-01-2023, 04:19 PM
I genuinely have no other words left to describe my admiration for Andy Murray.
What an absolute legend this guy is, I have no idea how he continues to do it.
Nearly 11 hours on court for his first two matches is unbelievable.
When men's Grand Slam tennis is played like that there's no other sport like it in my opinion, it's my favourite sport to watch when you get a match like that.
19-01-2023, 04:21 PM
He’s basically ours.
Hibs legend.
19-01-2023, 04:28 PM
He’s basically ours.
Hibs legend.
Currently modelling next year's away kit?
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fm2crHOXwAMpQuo?format=jpg&name=4096x4096
hibeg
19-01-2023, 04:32 PM
I know I shouldn’t be saying this, BUT, if he can still stand up he has a chance to reach the semi final
Agut is beatable in the next round. Tommy Paul probably next. Win that, an unseeded player in the quarters.
Novak or Rublev in the semis, but that’s for nex5 week :thumbsup::thumbsup:
19-01-2023, 04:35 PM
Murray's next match will be a 3rd round contest v Spaniard Roberto Bautista-Agut who actually came through a five-setter of his own earlier today v Brandon Holt.
It's 3-3 in the head to head between them although Bautista-Agut has won the last 3 meetings, including their only other meeting at the Australian Open in 2019 when Murray gave his now famous post-match press conference which everyone assumed was him saying his goodbyes.
Believe it or not that match also went to five sets.
It couldn't, could it...? :greengrin
19-01-2023, 04:35 PM
Absolutely unbelievable !!!
Balls the size of church bells !!
Stairway 2 7
19-01-2023, 04:39 PM
What a point
https://mobile.twitter.com/LendaleJohnson/status/1616090351621529603
19-01-2023, 04:42 PM
What a point
https://mobile.twitter.com/LendaleJohnson/status/1616090351621529603
To be fair, the Aussie made a total kokk of those 3 smashes. :wink:
crash
19-01-2023, 05:56 PM
He’s basically ours.
Hibs legend.
Once again he persevered.
davy67 +
19-01-2023, 06:17 PM
Another Murray Marathon
19-01-2023, 06:32 PM
Guts and Glory.
19-01-2023, 06:54 PM
I know I shouldn’t be saying this, BUT, if he can still stand up he has a chance to reach the semi final
Agut is beatable in the next round. Tommy Paul probably next. Win that, an unseeded player in the quarters.
Novak or Rublev in the semis, but that’s for nex5 week :thumbsup::thumbsup:
He’s already defied what I thought he could do at the tournament. However I was wondering who he played next straight after and thought it really could do with being someone he’d be expected to take care of in a likely 3 sets.
The no curfew leading to a ridiculously long match and finishing time makes playing on Saturday a big ask (he’s already played over 10 hours and would likely have got to his bed after 6am) - absolutely mental - and I personally think Batista Agut is a nightmare tie for him now.
Surely can’t win.. go on Andy, prove me wrong 😁
19-01-2023, 07:09 PM
He’s already defied what I thought he could do at the tournament. However I was wondering who he played next straight after and thought it really could do with being someone he’d be expected to take care of in a likely 3 sets.
The no curfew leading to a ridiculously long match and finishing time makes playing on Saturday a big ask (he’s already played over 10 hours and would likely have got to his bed after 6am) - absolutely mental - and I personally think Batista Agut is a nightmare tie for him now.
The bookies agree, Bautista-Agut is 2/7 to win and Murray is 5/2.
hibeg
19-01-2023, 07:18 PM
I have been saying for about 2 year hat he should gracefully retire, but this week has proved he still has the heart and skill to compete at the top level.
Agut will be tough but is beatable if Andy can recover from nearly 11 hours on court.
Just hope it doesn’t turn into an anticlimax of a match
19-01-2023, 07:32 PM
I have been saying for about 2 year hat he should gracefully retire, but this week has proved he still has the heart and skill to compete at the top level.
Agut will be tough but is beatable if Andy can recover from nearly 11 hours on court.
Just hope it doesn’t turn into an anticlimax of a match
Hopefully you’re right but I can’t see it. He’s basically just done the toughest nightshift possible before playing an opponent strongly fancied to beat him 2 days later. I think an anti climax is likely, but hopefully Murray can get the first set and we’ll see what happens.
I have to say I agreed with the chat about reducing 5 set tennis. Okay it produces a few epic matches, but if that’s the idea, if one of the players is involved in 3 of these great 5 set matches we want to see in one tournament, they’re basically ruled out of being able to challenge deep (perhaps super humans aside).
I’d like to see the fitness and attrition factor reduced a little in favour of ability and skill (of course not denying you already need great amount of skill to win these). And for every classic 5 setter, how many do we see where you just know the guy coming back from behind is going to outlast the other and blow them away in the final set.
I’ve loved some great 5 setters over the years, but playing for almost 6 hours until 4am in a two week tournament seems, dare I say it, a bit silly and unnecessary?
He's here!
19-01-2023, 07:38 PM
I genuinely have no other words left to describe my admiration for Andy Murray.
What an absolute legend this guy is, I have no idea how he continues to do it.
Nearly 11 hours on court for his first two matches is unbelievable.
When men's Grand Slam tennis is played like that there's no other sport like it in my opinion, it's my favourite sport to watch when you get a match like that.
Agreed. You think you've seen it all with him yet he continues to confound everyone. Just incredible.
Why on earth are matches allowed to continue until that time though? As Murray pointed out imagine if your kid was a ballboy/girl getting home at 5am.
19-01-2023, 07:51 PM
Hopefully you’re right but I can’t see it. He’s basically just done the toughest nightshift possible before playing an opponent strongly fancied to beat him 2 days later. I think an anti climax is likely, but hopefully Murray can get the first set and we’ll see what happens.
I have to say I agreed with the chat about reducing 5 set tennis. Okay it produces a few epic matches, but if that’s the idea, if one of the players is involved in 3 of these great 5 set matches we want to see in one tournament, they’re basically ruled out of being able to challenge deep (perhaps super humans aside).
I’d like to see the fitness and attrition factor reduced a little in favour of ability and skill (of course not denying you already need great amount of skill to win these). And for every classic 5 setter, how many do we see where you just know the guy coming back from behind is going to outlast the other and blow them away in the final set.
I’ve loved some great 5 setters over the years, but playing for almost 6 hours until 4am in a two week tournament seems, dare I say it, a bit silly and unnecessary?
I understand the logic behind that but I would always want 5 sets to remain as it's what sets the 4 Grand Slams apart from all the other tournaments throughout the year.
The Grand Slams have all now scrapped the no final set tiebreak rule, I think scrapping 5 sets would be a step too far.
19-01-2023, 08:22 PM
I understand the logic behind that but I would always want 5 sets to remain as it's what sets the 4 Grand Slams apart from all the other tournaments throughout the year.
The Grand Slams have all now scrapped the no final set tiebreak rule, I think scrapping 5 sets would be a step too far.
I was thinking about it and any reservations I had were basically sentimental, it’s “aye been” type things. Just feels like something could be done to make it a bit less radge. Doesn’t seem right that so many of the bigger 5 set wins are celebrated with a mix of knowing that the victor is pretty much snookered going forward.
19-01-2023, 09:57 PM
I was thinking about it and any reservations I had were basically sentimental, it’s “aye been” type things. Just feels like something could be done to make it a bit less radge. Doesn’t seem right that so many of the bigger 5 set wins are celebrated with a mix of knowing that the victor is pretty much snookered going forward.
I just think that's the challenge of winning a Grand Slam, these 4 tournaments a year are the ultimate challenge in the sport, trying to win 7 best of 5 set matches over the course of 2 weeks is something which requires the very highest levels of fitness, concentration and skill and sets the elite apart from the rest of the field.
I think for me a lot of the appeal of watching Grand Slam tennis will be lost if the Grand Slams move to best of 3 sets and whilst I'll still tune in, it would be no different to watching tournaments like Queen's etc, i.e. still good but missing that little bit extra.
McSwanky
19-01-2023, 10:02 PM
Russel Kane has let himself go
19-01-2023, 10:04 PM
I just think that's the challenge of winning a Grand Slam, these 4 tournaments a year are the ultimate challenge in the sport, trying to win 7 best of 5 set matches over the course of 2 weeks is something which requires the very highest levels of fitness, concentration and skill and sets the elite apart from the rest of the field.
I think for me a lot of the appeal of watching Grand Slam tennis will be lost if the Grand Slams move to best of 3 sets and whilst I'll still tune in, it would be no different to watching tournaments like Queen's etc, i.e. still good but missing that little bit extra.
I take your point (and my auld man was arguing same side as you against me earlier 😂).
I guess it wouldn’t be easy, I just think something in between the two could maybe be achieved.
Anyway, if 35 yo Andy Murray manages to win his next match I’ll accept it’s not an issue 😁
19-01-2023, 10:13 PM
I take your point (and my auld man was arguing same side as you against me earlier 😂).
I guess it wouldn’t be easy, I just think something in between the two could maybe be achieved.
Anyway, if 35 yo Andy Murray manages to win his next match I’ll accept it’s not an issue 😁
I'm interested to know how a best of 4 match might work. :greengrin
hibeg
20-01-2023, 06:01 AM
Alcaraz had to play a couple of very late night matches when he won the US Open last year.
I get your point, but as SDG says, Grand Slams are the pinnacle and the top players know they are the ultimate battle. I don’t think they would want it any other way !
20-01-2023, 06:25 AM
I'm interested to know how a best of 4 match might work. :greengrin
😁
20-01-2023, 06:46 AM
Cameron Norrie 2 sets to 1 up v Jiri Lehecka.
20-01-2023, 06:53 AM
Could be another late one tomorrow, Murray is scheduled on Margaret Court Arena during the night session once again!
Not before 8am GMT - that's my Saturday morning (and possibly afternoon! :greengrin) taken care of.
20-01-2023, 07:52 AM
Huge shock as Norrie loses the last 2 sets and goes out!
21-01-2023, 07:13 AM
So who's up for this then?
Personally cannot wait - 30-15 to Bautista-Agut in the opening game.
Come on Andy!
21-01-2023, 07:14 AM
As expected Evans lost in straight sets to Rublev.
21-01-2023, 07:18 AM
Bautista-Agut breaks and leads 2-0.
21-01-2023, 07:20 AM
Not looking good so far - 3-0.
21-01-2023, 07:23 AM
I just hope David Marshall doesn’t have too tough a run about against Novak given our kick off time tomorrow.
21-01-2023, 07:39 AM
5-1 Bautista Agut.
Think this may be a quick one unfortunately.
21-01-2023, 07:41 AM
First set to Bautista Agut - 6-1.
21-01-2023, 07:54 AM
Bautista Agut breaks in the second set to go 2-1 up.
21-01-2023, 07:58 AM
Bautista Agut breaks in the second set to go 2-1 up.
Going to be a speedy exit I think. Can't get near this guys serve, and he's returning superbly.
21-01-2023, 08:00 AM
Going to be a speedy exit I think. Can't get near this guys serve, and he's returning superbly.
Yeah straight sets I think.
Bautista Agut is a nightmare opponent when you've been on court for nearly 11 hours.
21-01-2023, 08:10 AM
Yeah straight sets I think.
Bautista Agut is a nightmare opponent when you've been on court for nearly 11 hours.
Commentators just said he's won 17 straight service points against Murray. Don't think I've seen a service game as strong as this in a long time, if ever.
21-01-2023, 08:22 AM
Murray breaks - 4-4 second set. :thumbsup:
21-01-2023, 08:27 AM
5-4 Murray.
I know I keep saying this but this guy is incredible.
21-01-2023, 08:43 AM
Second set tiebreak.
21-01-2023, 08:59 AM
Murray wins the second set tiebreak. :thumbsup:
21-01-2023, 09:01 AM
I've said it before, but he really is superhuman, what a man. :top marks
21-01-2023, 09:13 AM
Straight sets you say?:greengrin
21-01-2023, 09:14 AM
Straight sets you say?:greengrin
I clearly know nothing.
21-01-2023, 09:31 AM
What a point that was.
21-01-2023, 09:45 AM
Bautista Agut breaks to go 5-3 up in the third set.
21-01-2023, 09:47 AM
Third set Bautista Agut - 6-3.
21-01-2023, 10:01 AM
Murray breaks to go 2-0 up in the fourth set. :thumbsup:
21-01-2023, 10:08 AM
Bautista Agut breaks straight back.
21-01-2023, 10:20 AM
Hibs just get a mention. :thumbsup:
21-01-2023, 10:33 AM
Crazy how mentally strong he is
21-01-2023, 10:35 AM
Bautista Agut breaks again and will serve for the match 5-4 up.
21-01-2023, 10:41 AM
Bautista Agut wins 6-1 6-7 6-3 6-4.
Good effort from Murray but that was just one marathon match too far for him.
Fair play to Bautista Agut, he's got a great temperament and he played really well and was so solid on serve against one of the game's greatest ever returners.
He's here!
21-01-2023, 11:34 AM
What a sportsman Andy Murray is. My favourite ever I reckon.
davy67 +
22-01-2023, 08:09 AM
Jamie Murray keeps the family flag flying in the mixed doubles
hibeg
27-01-2023, 08:20 AM
Novak looks on a different level in this tournament
Can’t see Tommy Paul or Tsisipas getting anywhere near him
28-01-2023, 12:16 PM
Novak looks on a different level in this tournament
Can’t see Tommy Paul or Tsisipas getting anywhere near him
Greatest ever.
He's here!
28-01-2023, 12:38 PM
Greatest ever.
Greatest ever bellend in sport.
davy67 +
29-01-2023, 08:09 AM
Set one of the final looks like it's only going one way DJokovic 4-1 up after 20 minutes play
29-01-2023, 08:33 AM
Greatest ever bellend in sport.
I haven’t seen it. But if it’s anywhere near the greatness of his tennis, his wife is a lucky lady.
29-01-2023, 09:33 AM
Two sets to nil for the Serb. No mercy.
29-01-2023, 11:00 AM
I think he has at last overtaken Seb Coe as my least favourite sportsperson of all time.
29-01-2023, 11:09 AM
Congratulations Novak. Never been my favourite player but absolutely no doubting his talent, drive and mental toughness.
The guy’s tennis is out of this world.
Mcbizz1998
29-01-2023, 11:14 AM
Great win from the best tennis player of all time.
Winding up all the right people as well. Pleasing.
29-01-2023, 11:37 AM
Well done ND :aok:
GOAT :agree:
He's here!
29-01-2023, 11:48 AM
I think he has at last overtaken Seb Coe as my least favourite sportsperson of all time.
He's an utter tw*t. Always has been. Feigning a 'hamstring injury' throughout the tournament to try and garner support sums him up.
29-01-2023, 12:02 PM
He's an utter tw*t. Always has been. Feigning a 'hamstring injury' throughout the tournament to try and garner support sums him up.
Some would argue that responding “what a sportsman” to Andy Murray winning two matches, and “utter twat” to another player winning the whole thing after nearly having to pull-out through injury, sums some viewers up.
29-01-2023, 12:24 PM
Some would argue that responding “what a sportsman” to Andy Murray winning two matches, and “utter twat” to another player winning the whole thing after nearly having to pull-out through injury, sums some viewers up.
It's a laugh innit? You have to be perfect in body and mind to satisfy some folk.
Actually, Andy is a pal of Novak's so he seems to admire him at least.
OldEast
29-01-2023, 12:49 PM
Ah I'd forgotten about that wee tory prick.
Stairway 2 7
29-01-2023, 12:52 PM
He's a complete arse hole but a genius sportsman. My gripe is pushing an activation narrative. He's famous enough that I'm sure he cost people their lives. Just like red states in America had much higher death due to antivax nonsense from their politicians.
He's also said mad stuff like people in Africa with dirty drinking water should try prayer to make the water clean. He said women tennis players should go on their hands and knees each day in thanks that they get paid the same as men.
I'm not that fussy about his on court attitude as he's a winner and a tremendous one at that
He's here!
29-01-2023, 01:12 PM
Not if you think one is an utter tw*t (on and off the court) and the other is a terrific sportsman in all respects.
29-01-2023, 03:23 PM
Novak's Covid record was not good and he got a fair old kicking for it but on the plus side he encouraged loads of folk to go gluten-free so it's swings and roundabouts.
29-01-2023, 10:54 PM
Novak's Covid record was not good and he got a fair old kicking for it but on the plus side he encouraged loads of folk to go gluten-free so it's swings and roundabouts.
I'm sure it's his change to a gluten-free diet that changed his almost superhuman change in fitness levels. Nothing else...
He's here!
30-01-2023, 10:00 AM
I'm sure it's his change to a gluten-free diet that changed his almost superhuman change in fitness levels. Nothing else...
Yeh, that's all it was...
Stairway 2 7
23-02-2023, 07:12 AM
Amazing win for Andy against Zverev last night in Qatar, some determination