View Full Version : Dundee United fans today

14-01-2023, 06:56 PM
Anybody else see the group of united gans , lower tear launching missiles into the family stand of hibs fans? Absolute neds giving it the large one to a section of hibs fans in groups of familys. Well done guys, try being that brave when the numbers are even and actually able to do something back. Little pussies

14-01-2023, 07:00 PM
Seen some exuberant celebrations and taunting after the first goal from some of them on the edge of their lower tier section towards our fans, but can’t say I noticed any real bad behaviour from any of them. Assume it was part of that?

They had a decent number with them and were pretty good throughout.

14-01-2023, 07:04 PM
Anybody else see the group of united gans , lower tear launching missiles into the family stand of hibs fans? Absolute neds giving it the large one to a section of hibs fans in groups of familys. Well done guys, try being that brave when the numbers are even and actually able to do something back. Little pussies

Hibs are partly to blame for this, stupid idea to have minimal segregation with families sat next to 2000 travelling Utd fans who are generally boisterous when they come here.

14-01-2023, 07:06 PM
Fair enough if I'm about to be told I'm boring or not with it or should just let young lads be, but the group of United fans going over the bridge post-match, absolutely INCESSANT in singing Hibs are falling apart again and the very witty impromptu 'Hibee ********', were THE most annoying group of wee ****es I've ever encountered at the football.

Main boy's voice sounded absolutely shredded, like he hadn't stopped singing unfunny banal pish since the moment he woke up today.

14-01-2023, 07:11 PM
Hibs are partly to blame for this, stupid idea to have minimal segregation with families sat next to 2000 travelling Utd fans who are generally boisterous when they come here.
Perhaps, like those throwing stuff at Tynecastle, individuals need to learn some degree of self control?

A Hibs v Arabs match is about as benign as it gets, hence choosing it as a Hibs Kids match.

Lots of segregation needn't be necessary.

percy veer
14-01-2023, 07:16 PM
Fair enough if I'm about to be told I'm boring or not with it or should just let young lads be, but the group of United fans going over the bridge post-match, absolutely INCESSANT in singing Hibs are falling apart again and the very witty impromptu 'Hibee ********', were THE most annoying group of wee ****es I've ever encountered at the football.

Main boy's voice sounded absolutely shredded, like he hadn't stopped singing unfunny banal pish since the moment he woke up today.

Especially when it was them that fellapart

14-01-2023, 07:18 PM
For the record, this was largel group of ********s throwing missile towards small groups of families sitting in the hibs end. Cmear as day that it was groups of families the were throwing them at.

14-01-2023, 07:22 PM

Nothing excuses grown adults throwing missiles at small groups of families.. be the first to run a mile if confronted by an equal sides group of similar aged lads

14-01-2023, 07:32 PM
I wouldn’t normally condone violence, but when you saw the way their group were goading and posturing towards an area populated by families, it would have been very pleasing to see them get a total pasting when faced with an equal group of similar aged to themselves after the game somewhere.

14-01-2023, 07:35 PM
Vermin. Horrible behaviour. Police free game so minimum wage stewards having to deal with it. Hibs should make them sit out the next visit to ER for it.

LewysGot2
14-01-2023, 07:40 PM
Ach, walking up Easter Road next to a group of United fans minding their own business, had a wee fan dan from our support scream I my face to go back to my slums...

Was totally bewildered until I realised the wee fan dan thought I was with the United fans. Not a bad afternoon's work getting abuse from your own fans thinking your from jute and jam land.

14-01-2023, 07:44 PM
Ach, walking up Easter Road next to a group of United fans minding their own business, had a wee fan dan from our support scream I my face to go back to my slums...

Was totally bewildered until I realised the wee fan dan thought I was with the United fans. Not a bad afternoon's work getting abuse from your own fans thinking your from jute and jam land.

You weren’t carrying a bucket and wearing dungarees were you?

LewysGot2
14-01-2023, 07:45 PM
You weren’t carrying a bucket and wearing dungarees were you?

I had a stetson on and ny names Dan 🤣

JammyDoidger
14-01-2023, 07:47 PM
Why don't we stick them in the top tier out the way? Surely it's an advantage to their team having them in the lower?

LewysGot2
14-01-2023, 07:48 PM
Why don't we stick them in the top tier out the way? Surely it's an advantage to their team having them in the lower?

They were in both tiers

14-01-2023, 07:50 PM

They had both tiers today.

14-01-2023, 08:22 PM
The wee fannies were giving it big outside the West on the way out and over Crawford Bridge. An older hibby (about 40) grabbed one of them and gave him a mini doing. I was behind the wee ***** heading up towards London Road when he was back with his mates. A bit of damage to his neck and jacket hood. Trying to be men but were clearly shaken by getting a punch or three.

The wee radges must have been sniffing and snorting to be in that state at full time.

yonder1875
14-01-2023, 08:24 PM
Their fans were/are generally fine when they come to ER but the crowd of little *****bags on the segregation line were embarrassing today.

Thankless task for the stewards that.

14-01-2023, 09:01 PM
The wee fannies were giving it big outside the West on the way out and over Crawford Bridge. An older hibby (about 40) grabbed one of them and gave him a mini doing. I was behind the wee ***** heading up towards London Road when he was back with his mates. A bit of damage to his neck and jacket hood. Trying to be men but were clearly shaken by getting a punch or three.

The wee radges must have been sniffing and snorting to be in that state at full time.

Again not to condone violence, but supporters of every two-bit outfit now seem to think they can come to Easter Road and take the piss in a way that would previously have been unthinkable.

Mcbizz1998
14-01-2023, 09:08 PM
United fans were a bunch sad *******s today. Spent the majority of the day singing about hibs falling apart, absolute cheek when this crap hibs team is still well clear of them (7 points I think).

Taunting the family section and singing jambo-esque *****. Hibs were poor today but I’m glad we sent them back to that dump of a “city” after losing a late equaliser.

CL0762
14-01-2023, 09:21 PM
It was funny watching them charge at the segregation bit and giving it the ‘come on’ to bairns and and their parents 😂

Would’ve absolutely shat it if confronted.

They also threw numerous liquids after the full time whistle.

14-01-2023, 09:22 PM
Been a while since we have had a Dundee United thread so why not?

I don’t like them smug arrogant bassas living in the past ��

Good to see them bringing a big support today must have fancied their chances and added to the atmosphere of the game

Unlike the Livvy’s of this world that bring a Minibus full

Telt my laddie they used to be called Dundee Hibs he didn’t believe me

He must have been listening to their songs

14-01-2023, 10:24 PM
Dick heads in every away support (absolutely include Hibs in that), United bring one of the best supports to Easter Rd though and usually create a good atmosphere.

14-01-2023, 10:36 PM

And journalism 😊

15-01-2023, 09:52 AM
Hope they enjoyed the late goal. Get it up them

EskbankHibby
15-01-2023, 11:38 AM
Good number of fans they brought down so credit to them given their current situation.

Walked past the West at the end and they seemed to have a disproportionate number of wee phannies in their support.

JamesHFC
15-01-2023, 11:59 AM
First half they produced the best atmosphere from a visiting side at ER this season imo. Was delighted with the equaliser more than anything because it would have proper annoyed those idiots in the lower tier. Weird behaviour when they scored.

Broxburn Greens
15-01-2023, 01:35 PM
From my vantage point in the FF I saw a Hibs fan who was obviously raging about their abuse and throwing stuff at the Hibs fans in that lower tier. He was on the steps remonstrating at a Utd fan to get himself over for a square go (obviously didn’t happen). They Utd fans continued to taunt this guy until HT when he and those he was with had the good sense to move.

As folk have said a bunch of hard lad probably comprised of Wuillie, Soapy, Boab, wee Eck, the twins, Horace and led by Joe who can act as hard as they want knowing the stewards/police will stop any real repercussions in the stadium… was delighted Oor Nizzy shut them up in the last minute.

15-01-2023, 02:10 PM
Good number of fans they brought down so credit to them given their current situation.

Walked past the West at the end and they seemed to have a disproportionate number of wee phannies in their support.

All clubs have their share of young fans acting the fool, they tend to stand out more in away supports. Ours is no different.

15-01-2023, 02:20 PM
All clubs have their share of young fans acting the fool, they tend to stand out more in away supports. Ours is no different.

Yep. When I walked past the west it was our “wee phannies” walking past noising up their fans.

It’s what happens at football games.

15-01-2023, 02:26 PM
I’m sure hibs have quite sophisticated good quality CCTV, surely it’s easy enough for these clowns to be identified and details passed on to the police.

15-01-2023, 02:28 PM
I'm just glad there was no social media in my younger days. I remember screaming dogs abuse through the segregation fence at Pittodrie and getting a pie in the face for my troubles at about 16 (it was launched with some force and hurt a lot more than my ego would allow me to let on). That would probably be viral on 'Football Away Days' these days.

I was in the Iona pre match yesterday with my 5 year old daughter. There was a group of the Block Seven guys in. If you believe what you read on here and Twitter these guys are the devil incarnate. Yesterday they gave up a seat so my daughter could sit down and one of them pulled up his mate for swearing in front of her and he couldn't apologise enough despite me telling him it wasn't a big deal.

I'm sure a few of these guys do act like 'wee phannies' in the ground when they have had a bit too much to drink and are acting up in front of their mates but that's gone on among teenage boys for as long as anyone can remember. The United fans will be no different. A few erseholes acting the big man in front of their pals. Most grow out of it and an unlucky few will pick the wrong person and end up with a sore face.

15-01-2023, 02:32 PM
I was in the South and there were three large cups of clear liquid thrown at us and two of them hit children. The dad gave as good as he got to them but he ended up moving (or got moved) by the stewards.

It was hilarious when we scored right at the death.

The fans that were making the most noise were late teens and total fandans. Spent most of the first half goading us than watching the match.

15-01-2023, 02:36 PM

Our travelling support has grown I think, and we are seeing a consistent and regular travelling crowd across all our away games.

There is quite a noticeable large number of younger fans in their teens/early 20’s who have likely started going on days out en masse at Hibs away games post Covid, and the numbers of youngsters now enjoying the football away day culture has helped swell our travelling support by a good few hundred from what the regular numbers used to be.

Dundee Utd brought a very good support down yesterday, and maybe similarly, they are seeing an increase in that youth demographic.

15-01-2023, 02:53 PM
Our travelling support has grown I think, and we are seeing a consistent and regular travelling crowd across all our away games.

There is quite a noticeable large number of younger fans in their teens/early 20’s who have likely started going on days out en masse at Hibs away games post Covid, and the numbers of youngsters now enjoying the football away day culture has helped swell our travelling support by a good few hundred from what the regular numbers used to be.

Dundee Utd brought a very good support down yesterday, and maybe similarly, they are seeing an increase in that youth demographic.

I think it's across Scottish football.

I mentioned on another thread recently that I've been watching a lot of non league football this season. Most sides seem to have a contingent of young guys watching them, some of them such as Tranent are pretty well organised too and can pull decent numbers.

It really should be seen as a positive for the game. So many guys of my generation were lured away by the Sky 'greatest league in the world' marketing. A generation turning their back on that and going to watch Hibs, Heart, Dundee Utd or East Kilbride is to be applauded imo. That doesn't mean we just excuse behaviour that crosses a line but a bit self policing and a friendly word in the ear probably works better than the 'you shouldae be daein that' whining that young lads have laughed at and ignored since time began.

15-01-2023, 02:56 PM
I think it's across Scottish football.

I mentioned on another thread recently that I've been watching a lot of non league football this season. Most sides seem to have a contingent of young guys watching them, some of them such as Tranent are pretty well organised too and can pull decent numbers.

It really should be seen as a positive for the game. So many guys of my generation were lured away by the Sky 'greatest league in the world' marketing. A generation turning their back on that and going to watch Hibs, Heart, Dundee Utd or East Kilbride is to be applauded imo. That doesn't mean we just excuse behaviour that crosses a line but a bit self policing and a friendly word in the ear probably works better than the 'you shouldae be daein that' whining that young lads have laughed at and ignored since time began.

15-01-2023, 08:52 PM
I’m sure hibs have quite sophisticated good quality CCTV, surely it’s easy enough for these clowns to be identified and details passed on to the police.

You have way too much faith in CCTV. Unless someone is wearing a name badge or in the very unlikely event of the watcher recognising the perpetrators, it's not much help. The main purpose of CCTV is to secure a prosecution after an arrest by proving someone was at the location.

15-01-2023, 09:00 PM
Vermin. Horrible behaviour. Police free game so minimum wage stewards having to deal with it. Hibs should make them sit out the next visit to ER for it.

Stick them next to the East. Let’s see what they are like against non families.

15-01-2023, 09:55 PM
You have way too much faith in CCTV. Unless someone is wearing a name badge our in the very unlikely event of the watcher recognising the perpetrators, it's not much help. The main purpose of CCTV is to secure a prosecution after an arrest by proving someone was at the location.

Yes, stadium CCTV footage is almost never used to identify anyone, nobody will probably ever look at t whatever grainy footage was filmed yesterday. If there was any interest in apprehending anyone it would have been easy yesterday, but the police weren't even called.

PHeffernan
15-01-2023, 10:55 PM
You have way too much faith in CCTV. Unless someone is wearing a name badge or in the very unlikely event of the watcher recognising the perpetrators, it's not much help. The main purpose of CCTV is to secure a prosecution after an arrest by proving someone was at the location.

Hibs CCTV is of very high quality.
I believe all of the stands are recorded throughout the event allowing it to be interrogated after the event if an incident occurs and is reported later.
Obviously it's much easier to find the relevant footage if the time, location and description of the culprit is provided.
I presume all the clubs have an information sharing protocol and police contacts in order to identify culprits.

Auckland Hibs
16-01-2023, 01:40 AM
Hibs have had one of the best CCTV systems in the league since Gazza was allegedly going to be attacked at ER by casuals - 1996 IIRC.

16-01-2023, 06:51 AM

Totally agree. It's a retrospective method of policing that does nothing to act as a deterrent when wee neds want to play up and spoil the "match-day experience" for those near them.

A minimum police presence on Saturday in the Dunbar End would have acted as that real-time deterrent. I feel for the minimum trained minimum wage stewards who have no real power and are put into flashpoint situations.

As others have said the football demographics changing which is great and youngsters are being attracted back and of course, an element of them will play up. Maybe time to revisit stadium policing policies, not back to anything like the 70s/ 80s levels but to have at least a minimum presence