View Full Version : Your WORST 5 films

11-01-2023, 10:16 PM
Obviously personal taste and opinion determines what we consider to be best and worst so the only rule for this thread is that you must have sat through the entire film.

My 5 are, in no particular order;

The Hangover
40 Year Old Virgin
The Matrix Revolutions
Highlander 2
Independence Day

Santa Cruz
11-01-2023, 10:44 PM
Have to say haven't even made it to the end of some of these films.

Final Destination
Twister
The Matrix
Nativity
Down With Love

Edit - sorry HR just read watched the entire film. Managed all apart from the last 15 mins of the first on my list.

11-01-2023, 11:18 PM
Burn After Reading
Kill Bill
The Expendables
Minority Report
The Matrix

Some of these films get good ratings, I just hated them:greengrin

Santa Cruz
11-01-2023, 11:31 PM
Burn After Reading
Kill Bill
The Expendables
Minority Report
The Matrix

The Matrix being one. I watched it because so many raved about it. I found it so confusing I lost interest. Although I prefer easy to follow stories, I don't mind films that have exciting plots that need more concentration. I didn't have a scooby what was going on with this one. Why did you not like it?

ErinGoBraghHFC
12-01-2023, 01:24 AM
Burn After Reading
Kill Bill
The Expendables
Minority Report
The Matrix

Kill Bill!? You’re at it!

12-01-2023, 04:59 AM
Anchorman
Saw
Titanic
Scary movie
Little nicku

12-01-2023, 05:37 AM
5 Carry on films.

12-01-2023, 06:42 AM

Final Destination
Twister
The Matrix
Nativity
Down With Love

Edit - sorry HR just read watched the entire film. Managed all apart from the last 15 mins of the first on my list.

Nativity??! Where’s your soul:greengrin

12-01-2023, 07:16 AM

I seriously considered having Kill Bill on my list as well. It's a lot of style over substance with Tarantino using it as a way to make himself the star of the show. I know it's what some people love about Tarantino but there are occasions, such as in Kill Bill, when I just find it grating. Anyway I'll got for:

Interstellar - People loved the visuals and that's fair enough. The story itself was dull. I was praying for the 2 main characters to hurry up and die so I could go home from about half way through. Sickly sentimental, Titanic in space.

Diamonds Are Forever - The worst Bond film of them all and there have been a few stinkers. Lazenby was good in the previous film but the response was mixed so they threw money at Connery to bring him back. They gave him a great villain but a script full of camp innuendo and cheesy one liners. It was like an introductory warning to the whole Carry On Bond era of Roger Moore.

Batman & Robin - Another film that took a franchise that should be a slam dunk and turned it into a jokey, mindless caper.

Blair Witch Project - Almost nothing happens. Add to that it's spawned a whole generation of cliched lost footage films.

Braveheart - Seriously WTF? From the second Mel Gibson pops onto screen and brushes his perfectly conditioned hair from his face you just know it's going to be bad. I loved it when I was about 12 but I think that's the age range it's targeted at. The accents, the clothing, the storyline, the music..... Everything about it is just painfully terrible.

12-01-2023, 07:37 AM
I seriously considered having Kill Bill on my list as well. It's a lot of style over substance with Tarantino using it as a way to make himself the star of the show. I know it's what some people love about Tarantino but there are occasions, such as in Kill Bill, when I just find it grating. Anyway I'll got for:

Interstellar - People loved the visuals and that's fair enough. The story itself was dull. I was praying for the 2 main characters to hurry up and die so I could go home from about half way through. Sickly sentimental, Titanic in space.

Diamonds Are Forever - The worst Bond film of them all and there have been a few stinkers. Lazenby was good in the previous film but the response was mixed so they threw money at Connery to bring him back. They gave him a great villain but a script full of camp innuendo and cheesy one liners. It was like an introductory warning to the whole Carry On Bond era of Roger Moore.

Batman & Robin - Another film that took a franchise that should be a slam dunk and turned it into a jokey, mindless caper.

Blair Witch Project - Almost nothing happens. Add to that it's spawned a whole generation of cliched lost footage films.

Braveheart - Seriously WTF? From the second Mel Gibson pops onto screen and brushes his perfectly conditioned hair from his face you just know it's going to be bad. I loved it when I was about 12 but I think that's the age range it's targeted at. The accents, the clothing, the storyline, the music..... Everything about it is just painfully terrible.

Just goes to show how different people are on these things. Interstellar just missed out on my top 5! I also found Blair Witch extremely disturbing and was engrossed from the first minute. Maybe because I used to wild camp a lot as a kid.

I'll give you Batman and Robin though 😁. One of the very few films I've walked out of.

Santa Cruz
12-01-2023, 08:19 AM
Nativity??! Where’s your soul:greengrin

The bairn made me watch it so many times. The Mr Poppy dude, irritating as... :greengrin

12-01-2023, 08:32 AM
The bairn made me watch it so many times. The Mr Poppy dude, irritating as... :greengrin

Jason Watkins though, what a performance as the private school teacher, the perfect baddie.

Santa Cruz
12-01-2023, 08:41 AM
Jason Watkins though, what a performance as the private school teacher, the perfect baddie.

He's brilliant in everything. I still can't stand the fim though.

12-01-2023, 09:23 AM
Green Street 2: Stand Your Ground
Grease 2
X-Men
Sucker Punch
United Passions (the FIFA film, with an impressive Metacritic score of 1 (https://www.metacritic.com/movie/united-passions))

12-01-2023, 09:31 AM
Batman & Robin
Highlander 2
Predator 2
Spider Man 3
Prometheus

Again, I could have a list of dozens upon dozens of films that were either truly woeful or massively disappointing. Surprised to see the original Matrix film on someone's list, any of it's sequels could've made my list though as they were terrible.

12-01-2023, 10:42 AM
Ghostbusters (all female one)
Titanic
The Wall
Son of the Mask
Battlefield Earth

12-01-2023, 11:15 AM
Harry Potter(all of them)
The Expendables
Kill Bill
Jaws
Any pink panther Peter Sellars crap

12-01-2023, 11:21 AM
The Matrix being one. I watched it because so many raved about it. I found it so confusing I lost interest. Although I prefer easy to follow stories, I don't mind films that have exciting plots that need more concentration. I didn't have a scooby what was going on with this one. Why did you not like it?

Very similar reasons for me to be honest, despised it! My mates raved about the Matrix and I just didn't get it.

Ha well again my mates all loved it, but I really dont like Tarantino films. Ive tried, but I hate them!

12-01-2023, 11:25 AM
Harry Potter(all of them)
The Expendables
Kill Bill
Jaws
Any pink panther Peter Sellars crap

Jaws!!! Sorry not having that. One of the greatest films ever made.

12-01-2023, 11:28 AM
The Revenant
Robin Hood (Russell Crowe)
Highlander 2
Showgirls
Tomorrow Never Dies

12-01-2023, 12:03 PM
I think this thread naturally doubles as an "Unpopular opinions" one! Jaws FFS:confused: Each to their own of course!

Films I hated that come to mind

Yesterday (it's the lack of any attempt to explain it that grates with me....)
The Flintstones (remember being about 10 and thinking this was the worst film I'd ever seen)
Spectre (A Bond film that seems to ignore the fact that Austin Powers exists. Just awful, as can be said for every "other" Daniel Craig Bond film ie Casino Royal good, Quantum of Solace rubbish)
Rise of Skywalker (just acted as if the prior film didn't exist and unwound all of it's bold plotting. Worst Star Wars film to date)
Sin City (just too misogynistic and grim for me. Don't mind style over substance but the stories were just dull and toxic).

12-01-2023, 12:08 PM
Jaws!!! Sorry not having that. One of the greatest films ever made.

It was pish

12-01-2023, 12:16 PM
It was pishNo it wisnae! :greengrin

I remember the uncut version when the head pops out... that was one of my biggest "jumps" in a cinema when I saw that 1st time around.

On a similar vein though...

Open Water

Truly like watching paint dry.

12-01-2023, 12:17 PM
It was pish

https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/jaws

You didn't enjoy it. It obviously wasn't pish.

I'm guessing you didn't realise that it's not really about a shark...:wink:

12-01-2023, 12:58 PM
No it wisnae! :greengrin

I remember the uncut version when the head pops out... that was one of my biggest "jumps" in a cinema when I saw that 1st time around.

On a similar vein though...

Open Water

Truly like watching paint dry.

I really thought it was crap, couldn’t understand the hype at all.

12-01-2023, 01:21 PM
Wonder Women 2
In Bruges
Wild Wild West
Whatever the Meet The Fockers sequel is
RED
The Fast & The Furious series

12-01-2023, 01:46 PM
The Revenant
Robin Hood (Russell Crowe)
Highlander 2
Showgirls
Tomorrow Never Dies

12-01-2023, 01:51 PM
In Bruges

It’s a wonderful film.

12-01-2023, 01:51 PM
Wonder Women 2
In Bruges
Wild Wild West
Whatever the Meet The Fockers sequel is
RED
The Fast & The Furious series

REALLY?? I'm not having that, a cracking film with superb acting.

12-01-2023, 02:03 PM
It’s a wonderful film.

I only watched it once years ago and didn’t get it at all. Always been in a minority but couldn’t stand Colin Farrell or Brendan Gleeson’s characters. I was just waiting for it to be finished the whole way through.

12-01-2023, 02:13 PM
Inland Empire, David Lynch.

Close the thread.

12-01-2023, 02:14 PM
5 Carry on films.4 "confessions of" films
3 matrix movies
2 "on the busus"
and Starship Troopers 2

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

12-01-2023, 02:15 PM
Batman & Robin
Highlander 2
Predator 2
Spider Man 3
Prometheus

Again, I could have a list of dozens upon dozens of films that were either truly woeful or massively disappointing. Surprised to see the original Matrix film on someone's list, any of it's sequels could've made my list though as they were terrible.Predator 2 is a great little b movie imho

12-01-2023, 02:23 PM
I only watched it once years ago and didn’t get it at all. Always been in a minority but couldn’t stand Colin Farrell or Brendan Gleeson’s characters. I was just waiting for it to be finished the whole way through.

****ing hell I thought it was superb, hilarious interplay between the two of them. same bittersweet blueprint as the award winning Witches of innisherin that’s doing so well just now. The only ******SPOILER******* gripe I had was the unrealistic ahem fall from the tower and lack of immediate death…but otherwise it’s a stoater of a movie. clearly we have different tastes.

12-01-2023, 02:34 PM
Fellowship of the ring
Citizen Kane
Freddy got fingered
Marabunta
The Room

12-01-2023, 03:22 PM
Some absolutely top notch films on this thread.

12-01-2023, 03:38 PM
He's brilliant in everything. I still can't stand the fim though.

Fairy nuff.

HibbyDave
12-01-2023, 05:11 PM
Vanilla sky
Sliding doors
One about Lord Byron that was so bad I can’t even recall it’s name,
I’m sure there are more that will spring to mind

Santa Cruz
12-01-2023, 09:30 PM
Want to make a late entry - Spice World.

12-01-2023, 10:38 PM

This is a good example of why I could accept a lot of the suggestions on here if the thread was on “most over rated” as there are a few I know had been built-up so much I was ultimately let down when watched them.

But the worst folk have ever seen?! There are a LOT of surprises on here.
Maybe you are all better at switching off and walking out, when things are pish, than I am :)

13-01-2023, 08:33 AM
Fellowship of the ring
Citizen Kane
Freddy got fingered
Marabunta
The Room

This really takes some explaining.

13-01-2023, 08:35 AM
Do people finish films if they aren't enjoying them?

If I'm not interested after half an hour I switch it off.

My dad put on The Shape of Water and it was so **** me and my wife took the dog out for a walk and drank a bottle of wine. The misery was over by the time we came back and we were much happier for it.

13-01-2023, 08:52 AM

It’s the best of the three movies in my opinion. I remember this; Mondieu has an issue with the snowboarding Legolas scene :greengrin

13-01-2023, 09:00 AM

Does it? Too long, boring and **** all happens, I get that it's a set up for the other two but I think it's a pile of pish

Santa Cruz
13-01-2023, 09:00 AM

My dad put on The Shape of Water and it was so **** me and my wife took the dog out for a walk and drank a bottle of wine. The misery was over by the time we came back and we were much happier for it.

Can confirm I sat through the entire Nativity series of films more times than I care to remember, not through choice :greengrin I did patch Final Destination before the end though.

13-01-2023, 09:02 AM
It’s the best of the three movies in my opinion. I remember this; Mondieu has an issue with the snowboarding Legolas scene :greengrin

I know it's a fantasy series about Orks, Wizards and Elves and I can suspend some disbelief but I'm no having someone snowboarding down stairs on a shield, just nah

13-01-2023, 10:00 AM

I tend to ignore films with poor reviews but the top 2 in my list caught me out. I fell asleep at both of them

13-01-2023, 11:29 AM
I know it's a fantasy series about Orks, Wizards and Elves and I can suspend some disbelief but I'm no having someone snowboarding down stairs on a shield, just nah

I watched The Matrix in the cinema and the woman next to me said to her partner "as if!" When one of the characters runs along a wall. The rest of the film was obviously believable to her

13-01-2023, 11:44 AM

...isn't that in the second one? Battle of Helms Deep?

13-01-2023, 11:49 AM

Yes it is, not having it one bit, same in the Mummy Returns when a ship turns into an airship, no having it

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-01-2023, 11:50 AM
Pulp fiction
The Polar Express (hate the wee specky ****)
Green Street
Quantum of Solace

13-01-2023, 11:50 AM
I watched The Matrix in the cinema and the woman next to me said to her partner "as if!" When one of the characters runs along a wall. The rest of the film was obviously believable to her

I'm not too bad for it, but every now I'm then I see something in a film or TV and no matter how out there the rest of the story is, I'm just like nah I'm not having that haha

Crystal Skull and Indy's son swinging with monkeys for example

13-01-2023, 12:13 PM
Mr and mrs smith. Never made it to the end
Are we there yet? Never made it to the end
Silence of the lambs. Decent film but overhyped to the max and I can still remember being disappointed when I finished watching it
Beetle juice. WTF!!
Shutter island

13-01-2023, 12:13 PM

I can confirm that this was not in Tolkien’s books :hmmm:

13-01-2023, 12:23 PM

It's in the appendices.

13-01-2023, 12:42 PM
I watched The Matrix in the cinema and the woman next to me said to her partner "as if!" When one of the characters runs along a wall. The rest of the film was obviously believable to herA mate scoffed at the idea an American President could pilot a plane. The only bit of Indepedence Day he thought was unbelievable.

13-01-2023, 12:53 PM
It's in the appendices.

Alongside Gloin sharing a blunt with a jakey Dunlending.

13-01-2023, 01:33 PM
Alongside Gloin sharing a blunt with a jakey Dunlending.I bet that Tom Bombadil was their dealer. Stick on.

13-01-2023, 01:48 PM
It's in the appendices.

Not quite.

It's in the King James version.

13-01-2023, 02:12 PM
The Twilight films
Her
Love Actually
Dancer in the Dark

I don't generally hate films; there's usually something that keeps me watching. But like anyone else who's had kids, I've soldiered through an awful lot of mediocrity and nonsense (as well as lots of absolutely terrific stuff). Most of these are so unmemorable I couldn't put a name to them, but Twilight really pushed my buttons.

Her - I know a lot of people who really liked this. Couldn't say why, but it annoyed me.

Love Actually - we had a family re-watch of those early Hugh Grant movies a few months ago. Quite enjoyed 4 weddings, but I was already done with the foppish romantic toff thing by then, and I wanted to throw things at Love Actually. He's much better as a villain.

Dancer in the Dark deserves two mentions. It's not fair to call it a bad film, but I found it really distressing - to the point I wish I'd had the courage of my convictions and just left. Instead, because I didn't want to feel like a wuss, I stayed and recited lists in my head to distract me from the trauma. American states, verb tables, Skol Cup winning squad... Didn't work.

P.S. I'm in the 'Surely not?!' :Ummm: camp for Jaws and in Bruges. I also have a sneaking affection for Nativity. Both of them :blushie:

13-01-2023, 03:02 PM

To be fair, he turns into a cartoon and slides down a dying giant troll in the first one.

But I like the film too!

13-01-2023, 04:21 PM

There were a few things in the films that were added that weren't in the books, directors have artistic licence, sometimes not always for the betterment of the film.

13-01-2023, 04:22 PM
I forgot about Pokemon the Movie, took our daughter and me and the missus both fell asleep.

13-01-2023, 08:06 PM
To be fair, he turns into a cartoon and slides down a dying giant troll in the first one.

But I like the film too!

They’re all tremendous.

Granted the first is a bit slow at times, but holy hell what a payoff.

13-01-2023, 08:24 PM
They’re all tremendous.

Granted the first is a bit slow at times, but holy hell what a payoff.

I wonder if anyone on here not liking the films have actually read the books, I think I've read them about 4-5 times over the years, I think you need to read them to get the scale of the films.

13-01-2023, 08:50 PM
I wonder if anyone on here not liking the films have actually read the books, I think I've read them about 4-5 times over the years, I think you need to read them to get the scale of the films.

I’ve never read them, they’re on the list.

I’d like to think they’re a reverse of the Harry Potter books. I was so so dissatisfied with the films.

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-01-2023, 10:11 PM
Silence of the lambs. Decent film but overhyped to the max and I can still remember being disappointed when I finished watching it
Beetle juice. WTF!!
Shutter island

Shutter island and beetlejuice ffs have a word

Bridge hibs
14-01-2023, 05:37 AM
Austin Powers, utterly unfunny garbage, would actually prefer to watch Jaws 🫣

14-01-2023, 12:19 PM
To be fair, Jaws: The revenge is an awful movie and folk maybe getting confused and ranking as the first Jaws movie.

Anyway, guessing none of you have seen Cats the movie with James Corden in it?

14-01-2023, 09:54 PM
Dirty Dancing
Batman and Robin
Mama Mia
Showgirls
50 shades of grey

14-01-2023, 10:38 PM
Austin Powers, utterly unfunny garbage, would actually prefer to watch Jaws 🫣

I’m not having that, man. Austin Powers is class

davy67 +
15-01-2023, 06:24 AM
Showgirls
spiceworld
jaws 3
A view to a kill
Anything by Richard Curtis

15-01-2023, 10:45 AM
The Killing of a Sacred Deer
Rocky V
White Chicks
Scary Movie
A Castle for Christmas - the Scottish accent from Casey Elwes was horrendous.

15-01-2023, 11:16 AM
Rocky V
White Chicks
Scary Movie

Rock 5, it’s so bad it’s quite good.

“Touch me and I’ll sue. C’mon punk, touch me and I’ll sue”…..

*punches him over the car*

“Sue me for what”

Or the flashback.

“Get up you son of a b***h, ‘cos Mickey loves ya”

Santa Cruz
15-01-2023, 11:18 AM
Rocky V
White Chicks
Scary Movie

Totally agree. Other than "Adrian", couldn't make out anything Rocky was saying.

Santa Cruz
15-01-2023, 11:19 AM
Rock 5, it’s so bad it’s quite good.

“Touch me and I’ll sue. C’mon punk, touch me and I’ll sue”…..

*punches him over the car*

“Sue me for what”

Or the flashback.

“Get up you son of a b***h, ‘cos Mickey loves ya”

Did you watch this with subtitles? I made the mistake of going to the cinema.

Bridge hibs
15-01-2023, 08:36 PM
I’m not having that, man. Austin Powers is classSorry mate but I just cant get into them

15-01-2023, 10:05 PM
Sorry mate but I just cant get into them

Fair doos matey. I have a very immature sense of humour, to be fair

15-01-2023, 10:42 PM
Mother with Javier Bardem and Jennifer Lawrence. Dreadful film, by far the worst I've ever seen.

15-01-2023, 10:43 PM
Mother with Javier Bardem and Jennifer Lawrence. Dreadful film, by far the worst I've ever seen.

Also the independence day sequel. Walked out the cinema, terrible.

15-01-2023, 11:52 PM

I hated In Bruges as well:thumbsup:

16-01-2023, 06:03 AM
I hated In Bruges as well:thumbsup:

It was a big mistake giving Joe Newell that walk on part :wink:

16-01-2023, 07:11 AM
It was a big mistake giving Joe Newell that walk on part :wink:

I'm sure he'd be better at acting than he is at defending from thrown ins :wink: Especially with his hair on point :greengrin

16-01-2023, 07:35 AM
I'm sure he'd be better at acting than he is at defending from thrown ins :wink: Especially with his hair on point :greengrin

Keanu Reeves would play him.

16-01-2023, 10:54 AM

Keanu Reeves would play him.

Yes definitely!

16-01-2023, 04:26 PM
Shutter island and beetlejuice ffs have a word

Shutter island is brilliant. Wish I could watch it for the first time again.

I don’t want to sound like a dick but unless someone watched it and didn’t fully follow it, I find it hard to believe it could be anywhere near someone’s list of worst films! But that’s what opinions are all about.

16-01-2023, 04:31 PM
I’ve never read them, they’re on the list.

I’d like to think they’re a reverse of the Harry Potter books. I was so so dissatisfied with the films.

I’m not a big reader by any stretch, but did manage the Hobbit when was younger. It was great. I’ve got the trilogy too but not managed to get them read. Got 40 odd pages into the first and typically put it down for too long.

I managed the first Harry Potter film, thinking I would quite like them and watch them all, and came to the conclusion one was enough. I may watch the others at some point!

16-01-2023, 07:58 PM
Don't currently have the energy to work out a top 5 but 'Cyrus' is easily the worst film I've ever watched. Walked out after an hour thankful I didn't specifically pay for it (back in the good old days of a Cineworld Unlimited card).

davy67 +
17-01-2023, 06:06 AM
Can I add Mission Impossible 2 as a late entry , it's truly awful and easily the worst film in the franchise and such a letdown after the first one

17-01-2023, 05:38 PM
I’m not a big reader by any stretch, but did manage the Hobbit when was younger. It was great. I’ve got the trilogy too but not managed to get them read. Got 40 odd pages into the first and typically put it down for too long.

I managed the first Harry Potter film, thinking I would quite like them and watch them all, and came to the conclusion one was enough. I may watch the others at some point!

I’d recommend the books over the films, very readable and way way more engaging than the books.

ErinGoBraghHFC
07-08-2024, 12:18 AM
Bringing this thread back to add Longlegs to the list of utter pish I’ve been subjected to. Awful.

07-08-2024, 03:24 PM
I'm adding '65' to my list. Utterly awful.

But Spaceman is the worst, ever.

07-08-2024, 04:38 PM
Normally like Tom Hanks but Asteroid City :confused:

07-08-2024, 06:25 PM
I never did work out my full worst 5.

Cyrus - a truly dreadful film...
Knowing - laughably bad Nicholas Cage film
Cats - I've enjoyed the stage show many times, but the film adaptation was abysmal
Batman vs Superman - I love DC, I loved Cavill as Superman, but this completely dragged...about an hour too long
Mad Max: Fury Road - utter dirge - the same protracted action sequence in two different directions - good action sequences, but an otherwise terrible movie

07-08-2024, 06:29 PM
I ALWAYS say Cloverfield.
2 reasons: it's gash and I watched it to the end.
I really don't have another 4 to add. Generally if I think a movie is crap I'll switch it off .
No idea why people would continue to watch multiple films they're not enjoying 🤨

08-08-2024, 06:53 AM
It was pish

You’ll need a bigger boat 😄

08-08-2024, 06:56 AM
Not sure i have five

Vanilla sky walked out cinema it was so bad
Hot fuzz utter nonsense
Any van damme movie
Inception nonsense
Any arnie nonsense

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-08-2024, 07:03 AM
Would also like to throw in Scott Pilgrim vs The World, The Green Inferno and Green Street. All horrific imo.

09-08-2024, 10:13 AM
Some mad takes on this thread! :faf: Guess that's the beauty of art, eh?

I struggle to narrow it to just five, but here are some shockers:

Honest (with All Saints in, directed by Eurythmics' Dave Stewart. ) Everything about it is awful.
Blackball
Sex Lives of the Potato Men
Altar
Funky Monkey
Flowers for Algernon

10-08-2024, 05:06 AM
Romeo and Juliet, the version with DiCaprio and Danes. So utterly terrible. I know the dialogue is the whole point but I just couldn’t stand it.

The Matrix Revolutions. Looked forward to it. Hated it. So disappointing.

10-08-2024, 05:11 AM
Beetle juice. WTF!!
Shutter island

The last 3 I simply can’t believe 😂😂

10-08-2024, 06:18 AM
Romeo and Juliet, the version with DiCaprio and Danes. So utterly terrible. I know the dialogue is the whole point but I just couldn’t stand it.

Loved R and J soundtrack was a classic Di Caprio and Danes nailed it

Agree on the Matrix up there with Inception ( that my laddie watches all the time ) all pish imho

10-08-2024, 09:59 AM

I watched Romeo and Juliet for the first time last week and I thought once I got tuned into the language, I managed to follow it. Not sure I enjoyed it though, there were some decent tunes in it.

Totally agree about the Matrix Revolutions. Incompressible rubbish that made virtually no sense.

10-08-2024, 10:40 AM
What about Hamilton folks ?

Thought it was a brilliant concept but cannae stand rap

10-08-2024, 12:47 PM
Donny Darko.

Alfiembra
10-08-2024, 01:19 PM
A couple spring to mind

A Castle for Christmas must be the worst film I’ve ever watched binned it after 10 minutes absolutely woeful.

The Revenant was another that for me was absolute torture to sit through way too long with nothing happening.

10-08-2024, 03:15 PM
A Castle For Christmas straight in the bin woeful American crud

Quite enjoyed The Revenant especially at the beginning where the trappers are attacked by invisible natives a bit long though

10-08-2024, 04:12 PM
Crud, not heard that for about 20 years 😊

10-08-2024, 05:08 PM
Loved R and J soundtrack was a classic Di Caprio and Danes nailed it

Agree on the Matrix up there with Inception ( that my laddie watches all the time ) all pish imho

Baz Luhrmans Romeo and Juliet? I thought it was a classic. Loved it.

10-08-2024, 09:41 PM

I think I saw it twice and hated it even more the second time around.

10-08-2024, 09:42 PM
Donny Darko.

One of my favourites ever!

10-08-2024, 09:47 PM
Had to hide the Donny Darko DVD from the bairns as it had this big scary alien rabbit thing on the front cover that used to freak them out

Only found it the other week in an old chest of drawers under some clothes

The bairns are all responsible adults in their thirties now and still shudder when we mention it

ErinGoBraghHFC
10-08-2024, 09:51 PM

Watched it as part of my Advanced Higher English at school. Garbage imo.

10-08-2024, 11:45 PM

Ha ha, I also watched it in English class. Don’t recall even writing about it so suffered for no reason!

10-08-2024, 11:57 PM
A couple spring to mind

A Castle for Christmas must be the worst film I’ve ever watched binned it after 10 minutes absolutely woeful.

The Revenant was another that for me was absolute torture to sit through way too long with nothing happening.

I loved The Revenant.

K-Zazu
11-08-2024, 01:23 AM
I loved The Revenant.

Good film.

11-08-2024, 07:17 AM

We were made to watch Chocolat. I can still remember the feeling of time standing still.

11-08-2024, 10:31 AM

I’ve seen it a few times, I feel like I should hate it…but I cannae help enjoying it.

ErinGoBraghHFC
11-08-2024, 01:35 PM
We were made to watch Chocolat. I can still remember the feeling of time standing still.

Worst about it is we done Memento for Higher. To then be subjected to Romeo and ****ing Juliet a year later was torture. Watched Apollo 18 last night, ending is ***** and ruined what could’ve been a good film otherwise. Probably not worst 5 material but genuinely disappointing

11-08-2024, 03:01 PM
Worst about it is we done Memento for Higher. To then be subjected to Romeo and ****ing Juliet a year later was torture. Watched Apollo 18 last night, ending is ***** and ruined what could’ve been a good film otherwise. Probably not worst 5 material but genuinely disappointing

Memento was bad

12-08-2024, 11:23 PM
I know we all have different tastes and that but come on..... 😂. Can only be maroon cardigan wearers with some of these suggestions.

13-08-2024, 06:40 AM
As a few have mentioned I know everyone has their own tastes but come on....if we are going down the road, my top 5 are

Godfather
Goodfellas
Shawshank
The Shining
Weird Science

All absolutely terrible, they will never amount to anything 😭

13-08-2024, 06:42 AM
As a few have mentioned I know everyone has their own tastes but come on....if we are going down the road, my top 5 are

Godfather
Goodfellas
Shawshank
The Shining
Weird Science

All absolutely terrible, they will never amount to anything 😭

Shawshank? Really?

13-08-2024, 09:04 AM
Shawshank? Really?

I think Wembley was being ironic, we’ve reached that stage on this thread now (although i must admit The Godfathers slow pace is a really difficult watch for modern audiences used to stuff happening quicker, so i wouldnt be totally shocked to see some snotty milennial putting it on this thread disappointed it wasnt like Goodfellas :greengrin)

13-08-2024, 09:07 AM
I think Wembley was being ironic, we’ve reached that stage on this thread now (although i must admit The Godfathers slow pace is a really difficult watch for modern audiences used to stuff happening quicker, so i wouldnt be totally shocked to see some snotty milennial putting it on this thread disappointed it wasnt like Goodfellas :greengrin)

The Godfather is my favourite film. Anyone, young or old, who says it's bad is a moron and should have their toenails pulled out.

13-08-2024, 09:15 AM
The Godfather is my favourite film. Anyone, young or old, who says it's bad is a moron and should have their toenails pulled out.
Or horse’s head left in their bed

As close to movie perfection as you get

13-08-2024, 09:25 AM

I preferred the third one :duck:

13-08-2024, 09:46 AM
I preferred the third one :duck:

13-08-2024, 10:12 AM
Memento was bad

Opinions eh 😅

13-08-2024, 10:46 AM

Its OK. No-one, literally NO-ONE, prefers the 3rd one.

13-08-2024, 11:42 AM
Opinions eh ��

Would be boring if we all agreed

Found it slow complicated back to front and confusing lost the will to live

Cinematography was good IIRC

13-08-2024, 12:23 PM
Its OK. No-one, literally NO-ONE, prefers the 3rd one.

I know. I was playing your game.

Eaststand
13-08-2024, 02:02 PM
Or horse’s head left in their bed

As close to movie perfection as you get

Sorry to go off the thread topic a bit, but if you liked Godfather, I'd recommend The Offer.
It's a box set about what went on behind the scenes in the making of the Godfather movie.

13-08-2024, 02:26 PM
Sorry to go off the thread topic a bit, but if you liked Godfather, I'd recommend The Offer.
It's a box set about what went on behind the scenes in the making of the Godfather movie.

👍

13-08-2024, 04:14 PM
I know. I was playing your game.

He's here!
13-08-2024, 04:29 PM

Many years since I saw it but I remember enjoying it too.

The nosedive Marvel movies have taken is an obvious one to call out. My youngest and I watched our way through everything from Iron Man to End Game during Covid but apart from the Tom Holland Spider Man movies nothing since has really hit the spot.

13-08-2024, 07:28 PM
Sponge Bob Squarepants Movie
Barbie
The Trial (version with Kyle MacLachlan)
Blair Witch Project
Moulin Rouge

13-08-2024, 07:30 PM

Final Destination
Twister
The Matrix
Nativity
Down With Love

Nativity was painful to watch and each sequel sunk to lower depths of banality

13-08-2024, 07:31 PM
Thought Moulon Rouge was decent who knew Ewan McGregor could sing ?

13-08-2024, 08:40 PM

I saw it and it was excellent.

13-08-2024, 08:41 PM

13-08-2024, 08:42 PM
Thought Moulon Rouge was decent who knew Ewan McGregor could sing ?

I liked it.

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-08-2024, 09:02 PM

Godfather
Goodfellas
Shawshank
The Shining
Weird Science

All absolutely terrible, they will never amount to anything [emoji24]

At least three of these are wind ups, surely

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-08-2024, 09:06 PM
Sponge Bob Squarepants Movie
Barbie
The Trial (version with Kyle MacLachlan)
Blair Witch Project
Moulin Rouge

I have to admit, the Barbie Movie was actually very good. Quite enjoyed it, not desperate to watch it again but it wasn’t anywhere near as Shan as I expected.

Sloop67
14-08-2024, 05:50 AM
Exposed , it was a real stinker from Keanu Reeves
Speed 2

14-08-2024, 05:51 AM
At least three of these are wind ups, surely

Shawshank got to be in the top five of all time superb story telling

14-08-2024, 06:38 AM
Memento was bad

Memento is superb.

14-08-2024, 07:26 AM
Memento is superb.

Barbie was better :greengrin

14-08-2024, 09:12 AM
There’s plenty dross but I’m listing 5 I thought were rubbish that others loved.

Forrest Gump
The Big Lebowski
The 3 Lord of the Rings films.

14-08-2024, 09:56 AM
There’s plenty dross but I’m listing 5 I thought were rubbish that others loved.

Forrest Gump
The Big Lebowski
The 3 Lord of the Rings films.

On that theme. Anchorman. I’ve never got why it’s so loved or so quoted. I’m generally not a fan of Will Ferrell though.

Bridge hibs
15-08-2024, 05:42 AM
Night of the Day of the Dawn of the Son of the Bride of the Return of the Revenge of the Terror of the Attack of the Evil, Mutant, Alien, Flesh Eating, Hellbound, Zombified Living Dead Part 2

Part 1 was garbage too

15-08-2024, 07:48 AM
I don’t know what my list would be yet but some recent Tarantino ones would be on there. Three to four hours for nothing to happen. Some might think it’s clever, I just find it self indulgent.

15-08-2024, 01:37 PM
I don’t know what my list would be yet but some recent Tarantino ones would be on there. Three to four hours for nothing to happen. Some might think it’s clever, I just find it self indulgent.

I though self indulgence was kind of his thing. Not lately but always?

Anyway, you can only be talking Once Upon a Time in Hollywood? For most of his films, like them or not, sonething happens!

Personally I like him. The most I'd credit him for is the performance he gets out of some of his actors. Samuel L Jackson in Pulp Fiction versus anything else Sam has ever done. Christophe Waltz in Inglorios *******s versus his forgettable turn as Blofeld in the recent Bond films.

That and he can put a good soundtrack together.

17-08-2024, 09:05 PM
“The Fall Guy”

Utter Tom Kyte

18-08-2024, 08:07 AM
Red Notice was a big pile of *****. As was RIPD

18-08-2024, 05:46 PM
Any film starring Liam Neeson or Steven Seagal, no matter what the film is they play the same part, terrible actors.

Bridge hibs
18-08-2024, 06:21 PM
Any film starring Liam Neeson or Steven Seagal, no matter what the film is they play the same part, terrible actors.

Opinions, I think Neeson is a great actor 😁

18-08-2024, 06:23 PM
Opinions, I think Neeson is a great actor 😁

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=huJ81Mq2y34

Phenomenal.

18-08-2024, 06:56 PM
“The Fall Guy”

Utter Tom Kyte

Whit? I thought it was really good!

19-08-2024, 08:16 AM
I went to see Deadpool v Wolverine tonight. It was disappointingly bad.

I realise that I'm not the target audience and it'll probably appeal to adolescent boys, and Americans, but I nearly walked out wearily more than once.

There are a few decent gags and some of the special effects are impressive, but overall the dialogue is puerile and unnecessarily crude, and out of 2 hours 7 minutes, probably over half of it is spent in massive CGI created, slash and shoot battles with excessive focus on men's groins and erses being stabbed and shot.

The first Deadpool was intelligent, charming, very funny and original. This third incarnation is almost its exact opposite.

ErinGoBraghHFC
20-08-2024, 03:04 PM
Donnie Darko last night, what a load of utter pish

21-08-2024, 07:14 PM
Donnie Darko last night, what a load of utter pish

Totally agree. Psuedish pish. Theme song was a mockery of a perfectly good song, as well.

24-08-2024, 10:30 AM
Would be boring if we all agreed

Found it slow complicated back to front and confusing lost the will to live

Cinematography was good IIRC

The back to front was literally the whole point of the movie 🤣

24-08-2024, 11:04 AM
The back to front was literally the whole point of the movie 🤣

I know it