View Full Version : Glass Half Full or Half Empty

Torto7062
08-01-2023, 07:18 PM
So for me it was good to see L.J had decided to drop certain player's and go with Mcgeady etc and it clearly shows who he rates and who he doesn't.

Porto will be a big miss as he seems to be the only one with the Fight and the attitude to drive a team forward from the back.Just needs to lose the daft laddie play acting for fouls even though it's comical lol.

Hopefully we see some movement of player's this week

08-01-2023, 07:26 PM
Half full for me. Since the WC break we have been excellent against Livi. Very good 45 at Ibrox and good today.

Celtic outclassed us after a good start by us and we didn't take our chances against Hearts. Deservedly beaten in both.

It's a real shame we dont have McGeady, Boyle and Nisbet in the same team as I think we'd be a threat to any team. If we continue to work hard we'll pick up more points than we'll drop. Hopefully a few additions and a few out. We have the nucleus of a decent side.

Paulie Walnuts
08-01-2023, 07:27 PM
So for me it was good to see L.J had decided to drop certain player's and go with Mcgeady etc and it clearly shows who he rates and who he doesn't.

Porto will be a big miss as he seems to be the only one with the Fight and the attitude to drive a team forward from the back.Just needs to lose the daft laddie play acting for fouls even though it's comical lol.

Hopefully we see some movement of player's this week

I’ll admit I don’t think Porteous is as good as others do but he’s been very good the last few weeks.

That being said, and it may even be why I don’t rate him as highly (and I know that it shouldn’t cloud my judgement, but maybe it does) the play acting absolutely does my nut in. He must have been down for about 30 seconds with a head knock (disgraceful from the referee) and then the camera cut to him when the game finally stopped and he’s lying on the floor looking like he’s convulsing.

He’s up and wandering around absolutely fine a few seconds later. Wish he would cut it out.

Torto7062
08-01-2023, 07:28 PM
I’ll admit I don’t think Porteous is as good as others do but he’s been very good the last few weeks.

That being said, and it may even be why I don’t rate him as highly (and I know that it shouldn’t cloud my judgement, but maybe it does) the play acting absolutely does my nut in. He must have been down for about 30 seconds with a head knock (disgraceful from the referee) and then the camera cut to him when the game finally stopped and he’s lying on the floor looking like he’s convulsing.

He’s up and wandering around absolutely fine a few seconds later. Wish he would cut it out.

It's things like that he does which will stop bigger clubs going for him

coldingham hibs
08-01-2023, 07:30 PM
I’m always glass half empty as I expect much better from a team with our level of support & standing in the Scottish game. It was great to get the 3 points today but both goals we lost were shocking, dare I say schoolboy defending and Motherwell also struck the bar twice.

Hopefully a few signings, centre half, strong sitting midfielder and 2 fullbacks will improve my optimism but if we continue to play the likes of Henderson then there will be little to look forward to.

Torto7062
08-01-2023, 07:55 PM
Defo need freshness in defence and a holding midfielder to allow the ithers freedom to attack...
Hopefully a Porto fee helps get these players in and for God's sake nae **** loans

08-01-2023, 08:02 PM
I’m half empty, if Porto goes soon and Cadden isn’t fit our defence is really struggling along with our midfield. We need another CB and possibly 2 full backs on top of the midfield problems. Delighted with three points today and seeing McGeady influence the game like he did. Brilliant from Nisbet too but there could be trouble ahead if we don’t get players in.

08-01-2023, 08:03 PM
I change every week. On Monday the glass wasn’t even half empty, it was smashed. Today, walking out of Fir Park, we were talking about only being 6 points behind Hearts despite how pish we’ve been. I think with every team below us losing this weekend and us getting the win it gives us enough breathing space that we can look up now.

Didn’t actually think we were that good today but showed some good quality in the final third. A centre half is going to be a must in this window. I wouldn’t let Porteous go anywhere until that is sorted (think we need one even with him). Losing him will be a massive blow, his attitude and will to win was superb today.

08-01-2023, 08:17 PM
I’m usually glass half empty but saw a glimmer of hope today. IMO, Porteous was instrumental in winning the game for us so I would write off any nominal fee we might get for him and keep him for the remainder of the season. I think that, given the choice, LJ would agree with me. Unless of course we got a silly offer we couldn’t refuse.

08-01-2023, 08:24 PM
I’m half empty, if Porto goes soon and Cadden isn’t fit our defence is really struggling along with our midfield. We need another CB and possibly 2 full backs on top of the midfield problems. Delighted with three points today and seeing McGeady influence the game like he did. Brilliant from Nisbet too but there could be trouble ahead if we don’t get players in.

Totally agree on the defence. Nobody has conceded more than us this season as it is but losing Porteous would be huge. If Cadden is out then, IMO, we just need to play Megwa. If he can’t get an opportunity in those circumstances, he never will.

OldEast
09-01-2023, 08:33 AM
3 wins from the last 12 league games keeps my glass half empty. Some sign from recruitment that they understand our failings and are willing to put it right is needed for me.

09-01-2023, 09:31 AM
Defo need freshness in defence and a holding midfielder to allow the ithers freedom to attack...
Hopefully a Porto fee helps get these players in and for God's sake nae **** loans

If players who would improve us are not available then a half season loan of players who fit the bill is IMO a no brainer. The January window is notoriously difficult to navigate and permanent signings of any consequence are seldom made.
Obviously, permanent experienced signings are preferred but the very short window and our budget restrictions leave us with very little wriggle room (and of course can lead to panic signing and we have all seen where that takes us).

09-01-2023, 01:29 PM
Neither, my glass is bottomless.

AugustaHibs
09-01-2023, 01:58 PM

That really won’t. Have you ever watched the premier league or the World Cup?

It’s quite intelligent and bought us time at points we were struggling yesterday

09-01-2023, 02:13 PM
That really won’t. Have you ever watched the premier league or the World Cup?

It’s quite intelligent and bought us time at points we were struggling yesterday

If play acting was a barrier to reaching the top level, why do so many top players do it?

Always someone who wants to tell us Ryan is overrated it seems.

09-01-2023, 02:14 PM
Sadly my glass is half empty, because I have little faith that the club hierarchy know what they are doing at present. Still, what do I know? Nothing!

09-01-2023, 05:45 PM
My glass is dirty, broken, fell on the floor and I just stood on the germ ridden shard with my gammy foot.

09-01-2023, 06:53 PM
My glass is dirty, broken, fell on the floor and I just stood on the germ ridden shard with my gammy foot.
Stop whining, Steven Fletcher made a whole career for himself with only one good foot.

10-01-2023, 09:56 PM
The answer to the question is surely it’s poured into a plastic cup…

11-01-2023, 12:43 AM

Nonsense

11-01-2023, 07:29 AM

Bigger clubs than Hibs?

Mango Man
11-01-2023, 08:14 AM
Definitely a glass half empty guy when it comes to Hibs, only because 8 times out of 10, Hibs will generally let us down, biggest underachievers in Scottish football.

11-01-2023, 11:12 AM
Age has certainly mellowed me when it comes to Hibs results these days. Going into every game feeling optimistic, often leave disappointed but doesn’t bother me as much as it used to……the joy of winning/celebrating a goal far exceeds the negativity following a defeat/bad performance. On that basis, probably in the half full camp.

11-01-2023, 11:15 AM
Definitely a glass half empty guy when it comes to Hibs, only because 8 times out of 10, Hibs will generally let us down, biggest underachievers in Scottish football.

Not in the last 10 years, that accolade firmly goes to Rangers.

zero-seven
11-01-2023, 06:20 PM
my glass is smashed and on the floor waiting to be dumped in the bin

cant believe our ugly neighbour has signed 3 class players, that is what you call " being aware of the situation and being proactive to fill in any gaps " while we are very much aware of the situation since LJ has been in place and are dragging our heels again , looks like panic buys on unproven journeymen again.

so sick of this crap, its basic football management 101. we will be in a worse position than when the window opened

Bridge hibs
11-01-2023, 09:00 PM
my glass is smashed and on the floor waiting to be dumped in the bin

cant believe our ugly neighbour has signed 3 class players, that is what you call " being aware of the situation and being proactive to fill in any gaps " while we are very much aware of the situation since LJ has been in place and are dragging our heels again , looks like panic buys on unproven journeymen again.

so sick of this crap, its basic football management 101. we will be in a worse position than when the window openedWho are the 3 class players ?

11-01-2023, 09:02 PM
Who are the 3 class players ?
No one knows. They are wandering around inside the posters head.

Bridge hibs
11-01-2023, 09:04 PM
No one knows. They are wandering around inside the posters head.Ive tried googling these 3 class hearts signings but nope, struggling 🤣

zero-seven
11-01-2023, 11:02 PM
Who are the 3 class players ?

the are well ahead of us at present, they have signed an Aussie World cup player who is going to be wanting to prove his worth for Newcastle, the other 2 would be able to hold down a position at our club....easily.

11-01-2023, 11:15 PM
the are well ahead of us at present, they have signed an Aussie World cup player who is going to be wanting to prove his worth for Newcastle, the other 2 would be able to hold down a position at our club....easily.

Seen a lot of them all have you?

zero-seven
11-01-2023, 11:19 PM
Seen a lot of them all have you?

yeah yeah yeah....stop burying your head in the sand. as much as it galls me to say, they are proactive, we are so far behind its not funny.

11-01-2023, 11:55 PM
yeah yeah yeah....stop burying your head in the sand. as much as it galls me to say, they are proactive, we are so far behind its not funny.

I’ll take that as a no then.

Never commented on us, just wondering how you reached the conclusion the signings they have made are all ‘class’.

zero-seven
12-01-2023, 12:38 AM
I’ll take that as a no then.

Never commented on us, just wondering how you reached the conclusion the signings they have made are all ‘class’.

based on their recent signings, cant see them being worse than our recent purchases.

all the keyboard warriors can say what they want. we will never win anything with the dire signings we have made. McKirdy, Melkerson, Henderson, Fish do you want me to continue ? they have brought in McKay, Snodgrass, Shankland and also looking to bring in Paterson, far and away are much better than what crap we have .

Victor
12-01-2023, 03:06 AM
You forgot to mention what a great and inspirational manager they have in Robbie Neilson, their world class stadium, how they won WW1 and how they invented chips. In fact I think I will support Hearts…………………………………………just like you.

Victor
12-01-2023, 03:16 AM
!

12-01-2023, 05:14 AM
Half empty
Its better that way imo

Bridge hibs
12-01-2023, 05:19 AM
the are well ahead of us at present, they have signed an Aussie World cup player who is going to be wanting to prove his worth for Newcastle, the other 2 would be able to hold down a position at our club....easily.He is an 18 year old forward who has hardly played at a professional level other than a few games for his club in Australia, class you say aye ? Who are the other 2 ‘class’ players you are on about ?

12-01-2023, 06:21 AM

Are we? Because they signed some players you've never seen play?

12-01-2023, 06:40 AM
Are we? Because they signed some players you've never seen play?

Sadly they are way ahead of us on and off the pitch. They've had Europe to contend with and are still miles ahead of us. They're also absolutely raking it in from various sources and will add to that when they are, in all probability, in the group stages again next season. Their fans are galavanting all over Europe while we twiddle our thumbs. Like it or not they're quickly becoming a club a level above ours in terms of who they can sign. Sad but true. A big part of that is on us.

12-01-2023, 07:04 AM
Sadly they are way ahead of us on and off the pitch. They've had Europe to contend with and are still miles ahead of us. They're also absolutely raking it in from various sources and will add to that when they are, in all probability, in the group stages again next season. Their fans are galavanting all over Europe while we twiddle our thumbs. Like it or not they're quickly becoming a club a level above ours in terms of who they can sign. Sad but true. A big part of that is on us.

All of it is on Ron Gordon. He made this mess, he must fix it.

12-01-2023, 07:05 AM
Always a "Glass Half Full" type of guy, even when things are not great as is evident to all at the moment.

12-01-2023, 07:07 AM
While they are in a very good place compared to us I remember one or two on here wetting their pants when they signed the likes of Loic Damour.

12-01-2023, 07:23 AM
Stop whining, Steven Fletcher made a whole career for himself with only one good foot.

heid the baw
12-01-2023, 07:29 AM
I set my glass down somewhere a few months back and I can't quite remember where I put it
Can't be arsed looking for it at the moment.
Might not bother looking for it next year either.

loanheadhibby
12-01-2023, 10:43 AM

You are spot on but will not be popular with the burying their heads in the sand supporters.
My fear is that they pull away from us but hopefully we can make a couple of decent signings soon.
Our recent derby record is pretty embarrassing in my opinion.

12-01-2023, 04:26 PM
Its only two seasons ago we finished well above the Yams. Next season we will catch up. The Jambo fans on here can cream themselves all they wish but the rest of us prefer to support Hibs through thick and thin. GGTTH 💚

loanheadhibby
12-01-2023, 05:56 PM
Its only two seasons ago we finished well above the Yams. Next season we will catch up. The Jambo fans on here can cream themselves all they wish but the rest of us prefer to support Hibs through thick and thin. GGTTH 💚

Are you calling out people like me as Hearts fans who don't agree with you.
I worry about your committment as a Hibs fan when you come out with statements that we'll catch up next season.
How is that going to happen out of interest?

12-01-2023, 06:04 PM
based on their recent signings, cant see them being worse than our recent purchases.

all the keyboard warriors can say what they want. we will never win anything with the dire signings we have made. McKirdy, Melkerson, Henderson, Fish do you want me to continue ? they have brought in McKay, Snodgrass, Shankland and also looking to bring in Paterson, far and away are much better than what crap we have .

Aye I know we’ve signed a lot of crap, still not sure how that makes these two new players that you’ve never seen ‘class’ though.

zero-seven
12-01-2023, 06:23 PM
Aye I know we’ve signed a lot of crap, still not sure how that makes these two new players that you’ve never seen ‘class’ though.

as i live in New Zealand i watch the A League and can tell you, the Aussie is the real deal. Jamie Maclaren and and Cummings are doing well also ,
The ****bos have invested in experience and ability and have the funds in place, we invest in pish journeymen or filling up the youth ranks only to sell them on for zero profit. it does pain me to say this, but they seem to have their house in order.

12-01-2023, 06:29 PM

Never known a club to attract the kind of hype that Hearts have always managed to do. Of course, it all starts from within and those delusions of grandeur that embodies the club and its supporters are jumped upon by a fawning media where Hearts have plenty representation within the ranks.

Yes, they might have a little bit extra cash to throw about on transfers/wages while the club is propped up by charity, but the sums are not that big to be making a huge difference in quality.

Our failures been in squandering our transfer budget on too many average players and a policy that has been more cavalier than strategic.

They’ve had a good couple of windows with sensible additions, and Aberdeen look like endorsing the tried and tested method too. Two or three smart additions ourselves and we’ll be looking like a team that should be in the mix for the euro spots.

Bridge hibs
12-01-2023, 06:37 PM
as i live in New Zealand i watch the A League and can tell you, the Aussie is the real deal. Jamie Maclaren and and Cummings are doing well also ,
The ****bos have invested in experience and ability and have the funds in place, we invest in pish journeymen or filling up the youth ranks only to sell them on for zero profit. it does pain me to say this, but they seem to have their house in order.Its the A league ffs, not the Premiership, a few decent players and a hell of a lot of guff too, way too many on here quick to kiss the jambos ***** at the same time as kicking the hibs players

Donegal Hibby
12-01-2023, 07:04 PM

You mentioned McKay, Snodgrass and Shankland and Paterson who's not signed btw are far and away much better then the crap we have . I'm quite happy with Mcgeady , Magennis , Nisbet , Bushiri , Marshall and Boyle . Strange comments.

12-01-2023, 07:29 PM
You mentioned McKay, Snodgrass and Shankland and Paterson who's not signed btw are far and away much better then the crap we have . I'm quite happy with Mcgeady , Magennis , Nisbet , Bushiri , Marshall and Boyle . Strange comments.

All 3 of McKay Snodgrass and shankland get into our starting 11 no question

Not seen Paterson for a long time

I’m also happy with the hibs players you mention as well however

Donegal Hibby
12-01-2023, 07:35 PM
All 3 of McKay Snodgrass and shankland get into our starting 11 no question

Not seen Paterson for a long time

I’m also happy with the hibs players you mention as well however
You might be right though the same could be said about our players that I've mentioned would also get into there starting 11 no question either .

zero-seven
12-01-2023, 09:37 PM

Boyle Marshall and Nisbet. the rest meh

think Hibs fans need to take off the green tinted glasses and get real, we are needing some quality signings immediately

Donegal Hibby
12-01-2023, 10:13 PM

think Hibs fans need to take off the green tinted glasses and get real, we are needing some quality signings immediately
Bushiri looks a cracking signing , Mcgeady is a quality player and we have other good players in our team too , your right some of the recruitment hasn't been as good as it should be but to say that McKay, Snodgrass and Shankland are better than the crap we have isn't a correct or fair statement to make imo .

Bridge hibs
13-01-2023, 03:50 AM

think Hibs fans need to take off the green tinted glasses and get real, we are needing some quality signings immediatelyWhats with the ‘hibs fans need to take off the green tinted glasses’ comment ? If you actually bothered your arse reading the threads on here instead of just bumming up hearts you will see that most, including myself are ****ing not happy at recruitment, performances etc etc etc. We know we need better all over so no-one disputes that nor needs to ‘get real’

Im still waiting for you to tell us who hearts new 3 class signings are 👍

zero-seven
13-01-2023, 06:25 AM
Whats with the ‘hibs fans need to take off the green tinted glasses’ comment ? If you actually bothered your arse reading the threads on here instead of just bumming up hearts you will see that most, including myself are ****ing not happy at recruitment, performances etc etc etc. We know we need better all over so no-one disputes that nor needs to ‘get real’

Im still waiting for you to tell us who hearts new 3 class signings are 👍

get a life mate, ain’t going to waste anymore time discussing my thoughts with someone who can’t see or hear due to the amount of sand blocking those orifices.

keep dreaming

Bridge hibs
13-01-2023, 07:26 AM
get a life mate, ain’t going to waste anymore time discussing my thoughts with someone who can’t see or hear due to the amount of sand blocking those orifices.

keep dreamingHey maybe hibs or internet isnt for you, Ive explained already my feelings & that of others on here about our current recruitment etc are you just daft & ignoring them ?

I agree that its **** just now, am I wrong as I seem to be agreeing with you ?

13-01-2023, 07:39 AM

Nah come on, Bushiri is proving his worth, as is mcgeady. There’s a lot more to come from this team, we’re some key signings short of a decent side.

13-01-2023, 09:07 AM
Are you calling out people like me as Hearts fans who don't agree with you.
I worry about your committment as a Hibs fan when you come out with statements that we'll catch up next season.
How is that going to happen out of interest?

I am absolutely not a Hibs fan. Never was,never will be.

I identify only as a Hibs supporter who will follow my club until the day I die.

I would love to meet up with you at the Hibs Club one day. Or any pub near Easter Road of your choice.

Then we could compare our best Hibs stories, which in my case, stretch back to 1961. We could also discuss how to back the team whilst being critical of club management. And the best strategy to bring about change.

You clearly have a view of the club but I also sense you could have some constructive ideas about how we could go forward.

What say? Would you be willing to have a natter next time we are both at a game?

Nutmegged
13-01-2023, 09:27 AM
I'm glass half empty which is the polar opposite of what I used to always be but I just can't see any light at the end of this tunnel under the current management and the whole recruitment policy.

The good thing for us is that we are a big club within Scottish Football and we'll in all likelihood always never be too far away from those European spots and great cup runs, 6 finals in 10 years is testament to that so while my glass is half empty that doesn't mean I think it'll be a long time before we can compete.