View Full Version : Youan (Positivity)

Pages : 1 [2]

07-02-2023, 07:31 AM
Surely nobody would choose to have Nouble over Youan?

07-02-2023, 07:36 AM
Surely nobody would choose to have Nouble over Youan?

I think it’s mostly fans of a certain age yearning for Joe Jordan up front and curlywurlies the size they used to be.

07-02-2023, 07:48 AM
[QUOTE=PHeffernan;7272185]Every contract is different but a loan with an option to buy would be a waste of time without agreeing contract details with the player as well as the parent club.
Think about it, if the player turns into a top player on loan, the parent team could tell the player they will give him a new bumper deal if he turns down the club with the option to buy and stays with them.
Youan is ours if we pay the agreed option to buy fee and the player will get the length of contract and remuneration previously agreed.

That has always been my understanding of an option to buy. Anything less than what you state would make the whole idea completely pointless.

07-02-2023, 07:50 AM
I think it’s mostly fans of a certain age yearning for Joe Jordan up front and curlywurlies the size they used to be.

TrumpIsAPeado
07-02-2023, 07:54 AM

Just what we need. Another toothless striker up front.

07-02-2023, 08:39 AM
What are the first and third laws?

You must never talk about the first one.

07-02-2023, 08:51 AM
Just what we need. Another toothless striker up front.

That’s what curlywurlies did to your dental regime.

Edinburgh Green
07-02-2023, 09:57 AM
Is that definite that all the terms have already been agreed with Youan, should we decide to take up the option?

IIRC, for the Kamberi option to buy we still had to agree the terms with Kamberi so it was by no means a done deal when we decided we wanted him on a permanent.

As has already been mentioned, pretty sure this was already in place. There was rumours that Sunderland were trying to buy him direct from the Swiss club after his form on loan at us but they had to wait on the off chance that we didn't take up the option.

If we didn't have his contract sorted prior to the loan then surely his agent would of instructed him to turn us down then sign on at Sunderland on a much larger salary.

07-02-2023, 09:59 AM
As has already been mentioned, pretty sure this was already in place. There was rumours that Sunderland were trying to buy him direct from the Swiss club after his form on loan at us but they had to wait on the off chance that we didn't take up the option.

If we didn't have his contract sorted prior to the loan then surely his agent would of instructed him to turn us down then sign on at Sunderland on a much larger salary.

Sunderland would also have had to pay a larger fee. We only got him at the price we did because it was agreed. I don’t think they wanted to go to what his team would have wanted for him but that was part of the reason for it dragging on.

07-02-2023, 05:38 PM

There's surely no way the personal terms were already agreed. That transfer dragged on all summer before we eventually signed him

07-02-2023, 06:21 PM
There's surely no way the personal terms were already agreed. That transfer dragged on all summer before we eventually signed him

I reckon it was the Swiss club trying everything they could to get him back and sell him to Sunderland causing delay after delay. If there had been a way to renage on the deal or get out on a technicality then they have gone for it.

07-02-2023, 07:27 PM
You must never talk about the first one.

Some admin prick explained the third law to me once but blah blah blah… just make sure you follow 1 and 2.

09-02-2023, 08:38 AM
It’s amazing how a month changes the perception of a player, he’s gone from show pony, no end product, get rid, assists tally masks lots of deficiencies in his game to…let’s break the bank to keep him, and online questions for him all about does he really want to stay at Hibs, what’s his favourite food etc etc :greengrin

09-02-2023, 08:52 AM
It’s amazing how a month changes the perception of a player, he’s gone from show pony, no end product, get rid, assists tally masks lots of deficiencies in his game to…let’s break the bank to keep him, and online questions for him all about does he really want to stay at Hibs, what’s his favourite food etc etc :greengrin

The whole perception of the team has changed. Manager too.

2 weeks ago people were putting money on Hibs to be relegated!

09-02-2023, 09:01 AM

Same with Will Fish, he was "not good enough to play non-league", now there's posts on here saying he's a better defender that Porteous :faf:

Donegal Hibby
11-02-2023, 08:54 PM
Nothing to exciting just a Question & Answer with Youan maybe some of you haven't seen .
https://youtu.be/MqTxR2YB-q4

HibeeHibernian4
04-03-2023, 02:45 PM
We need to move fast folks. :greengrin

04-03-2023, 02:54 PM
Two great goals today Some transformation in his ability to score one on one v keeper

04-03-2023, 03:02 PM
If he goes to the ugly sisters I will be ****ing distraught. I have a bad feeling, call it Agathe vibes.

04-03-2023, 03:37 PM
Anyone know the sale price agreed? Could be a Melkerson style 7 figures sum🤔

cameronw-hfc
04-03-2023, 03:39 PM
Anyone know the sale price agreed? Could be a Melkerson style 7 figures sum🤔

6 figure. Think that's all we know though. Patrick Mcp confirmed it being a significant 6 figure fee recently.

04-03-2023, 03:41 PM
Doubt we will get him with the money involved.

04-03-2023, 03:43 PM

What's the fee? I'm not sure it's been made public.

cameronw-hfc
04-03-2023, 03:44 PM

Keep in mind a significant 6 figure fee doesn't necessarily mean close to a mil. 500k would be significant to us.

04-03-2023, 04:02 PM

I heard it was 750k.

Stuarty1875
04-03-2023, 04:13 PM
Time to sign him up Hibs :agree:

04-03-2023, 04:23 PM
Even if it is going to cost the high end of 6 figures it will be worth it if he continues to improve like he has done

kentao
04-03-2023, 04:25 PM
Football Manager 23 has the price at £725k

Sgt. Hartman
04-03-2023, 04:29 PM
McPartlin confirmed it wasn’t the 700k that’s been rumoured. If it’s anything around 500k we should absolutely be looking to get that done.

04-03-2023, 04:33 PM
I’d expect us to get a 7 figures sun for Nisbet in the summer, would be a good investment to use some that cash to buy Youan. Preston saying that big Myko’s fee is a million so can’t see us getting him.

04-03-2023, 04:56 PM
I'll admit I wasn't sure about him initially. Clearly he had talent but was so raw. Now he's a must sign.

Him and Boyle will terrorise this league.

04-03-2023, 05:03 PM
McPartlin confirmed it wasn’t the 700k that’s been rumoured. If it’s anything around 500k we should absolutely be looking to get that done.

If he continues to improve at the same trajectory we will be able to sell him for £4million plus sell on to a championship team down south in a year's time. Get him tied up !

04-03-2023, 05:16 PM
I had the pleasure of the Hibs game on the tellybox and Brighton on my comp today, and saw a striking similarity in the styles of Youan and Mitoma, who is being fawned over by English pundits. Mitoma is definitely sharper than Elie, but he is improving game on game. Will be a huge asset for Hibs... Get the agreed buy option done Hibs

04-03-2023, 05:20 PM
What a transformation in a player

Like Billy Dane it is like he has found Lawrie Reilly’s shooting boots at the back of the Stand

Long may it continue

04-03-2023, 05:21 PM
As much as I like youan and value his contribution, id even put the likes of Nouble at Livi as better value for money. Different style of play but comparable in cost and likelihood of him coming to Hibs

Looks like that contribution took a battering today :greengrin

04-03-2023, 05:30 PM
Assuming Nisbet doesn't sign a new deal, sell him and use the cash for youan.

04-03-2023, 05:44 PM
No doubting his contribution with the two goals today but I thought he was actually very poor. His workrate wasn't great off the ball and he has really improved that in general and the surface didn't suit him with the ball getting stuck too often. Who cares though as his goals are the main reason we won

04-03-2023, 05:55 PM
Two games in Europe pays his transfer fee.

TrumpIsAPeado
04-03-2023, 06:05 PM
No doubting his contribution with the two goals today but I thought he was actually very poor. His workrate wasn't great off the ball and he has really improved that in general and the surface didn't suit him with the ball getting stuck too often. Who cares though as his goals are the main reason we won

That surface was never going to suit any of our players. What today did show is that we're capable of switching to a more direct style of play when the situation calls for it. Something that all too often has been lacking about us.

Donegal Hibby
04-03-2023, 06:05 PM
Guys a class act . Definitely need to be signing him . Interesting one from Micky Weir today when he said he would like to see Youan play more central , I much prefer him wide left to be honest.

Silky
04-03-2023, 06:09 PM
Guys a class act . Definitely need to be signing him . Interesting one from Micky Weir today when he said he would like to see Youan play more central , I much prefer him wide left to be honest.

I agree. I'd like to see him wide left on Wednesday. I don't think Tavernier is a particularly good defender, so if Elie can keep going at him then we might get some joy down that side.

04-03-2023, 06:26 PM

If the fee is under 700k we absolutely should be paying it to sign him permanently. On his current form, it’s great business IMO as he is probably worth more.

04-03-2023, 07:35 PM
Not to pour cold water on this but what makes us think that Elie would prefer a career in the SPL instead of his parent club?

EGL2000
04-03-2023, 07:39 PM
Not to pour cold water on this but what makes us think that Elie would prefer a career in the SPL instead of his parent club?

That's a decent point there's a chance he could be playing champions League football with st gallen next season.

04-03-2023, 07:40 PM

His parent club don’t want him, that’s why they loaned him to us with an option to buy.

bringbackbenny
04-03-2023, 07:42 PM

I was hoping he's contractually obliged if Hibs take up the option i.e. hibs have already agreed the parent club fee. And the wage as well?

Bronson
04-03-2023, 09:33 PM
Patrick mcpartin confirmed on twitter recently that the fee was less than £750k so my guess would be around half a mil.

Absolute no brainer, could sell him for 10x that if he continues to develop given his, pace, power and technical ability. My only worry is he ends up with better offers in summer

Keepthefaith
04-03-2023, 10:10 PM
whilst he wasn't his best today (mostly re passing, decision making and tracking back) I love this guy and see huge positives in the progress he has made. we have to hope that he sees an opportunity here to be a standout next season which will result in a big move the following year for him if he continues - he will know about mcginn / doig/boyle...

it may also be that he feels valued here / likes the city, style of play etc so may not be too outlandish to suggest he might be keen to stick around too?

agree with poster above re getting him to run at Tavernier - can see Kev coming back in and playing him as central striker anyway.

oh and also like that he's getting better at staying onside. irritates the **** out of me when fast strikers get caught so much!

05-03-2023, 01:16 PM
https://www.facebook.com/HibernianFootballClubOfficial/videos/5616604548445054/

gie it laldy elie

TrumpIsAPeado
05-03-2023, 01:35 PM
https://www.facebook.com/HibernianFootballClubOfficial/videos/5616604548445054/

gie it laldy elie

https://i.ibb.co/r6FqZNm/HIBEES.gif

leith lynx
05-03-2023, 01:47 PM
Reminds me a lot of Tony Rougier, skillful but very frustrating at times, good player and would be worth spending 500k on.

05-03-2023, 02:06 PM
Reminds me a lot of Tony Rougier, skillful but very frustrating at times, good player and would be worth spending 500k on.

Tony Rougier but with an end product

Torto7
05-03-2023, 02:41 PM
Tony Rougier but with an end product

Rougier was bone idle. Elie whilst not the hardest worker does put a shift in. Youan is much quicker as well. I wonder who the fastest Hibs player is now as Cadden, Boyle, Youan and Campbell are all rapid.

Torto7
05-03-2023, 02:46 PM
I’d expect us to get a 7 figures sun for Nisbet in the summer, would be a good investment to use some that cash to buy Youan. Preston saying that big Myko’s fee is a million so can’t see us getting him.

Biscuits talks pish though. I know because he's filled my head with bollicks plenty of times whilst out for a session. He's actually quite professional and just trolls peoples or gives half truths.

Although 1 million for him would be a fair estimate I'd think. We might sell Nisbet, move Magennis etc to free up funds. The club seems ambitious so they might be willing to go to that length. Is he worth it on what we've seen though? I think he is. He is a similar player to Ross Stewart imo and just needs to play consistently and stay fit.

Donegal Hibby
05-03-2023, 10:48 PM
Article on Youan that I thought was interesting.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/elie-youan-breaks-silence-on-hibs-future-explains-sleeping-goal-celebration-and-eyes-up-rangers-4051420

06-03-2023, 06:43 AM
Rougier was bone idle. Elie whilst not the hardest worker does put a shift in. Youan is much quicker as well. I wonder who the fastest Hibs player is now as Cadden, Boyle, Youan and Campbell are all rapid.

Agree he is a much better player. Good to have so much pace in the team

06-03-2023, 06:34 PM
Assume that his outrageous looking first touch from a long diagonal in the second half wasn’t on Sportscene, but is there any footage of what was a real crowd pleaser?

Looked like some king of back heeled take, but whatever it was it was pure entertainment.

foxy
06-03-2023, 06:59 PM
Assume that his outrageous looking first touch from a long diagonal in the second half wasn’t on Sportscene, but is there any footage of what was a real crowd pleaser?

Looked like some king of back heeled take, but whatever it was it was pure entertainment.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/m001jvrv/scottish-premiership-202223-28-livingston-v-hibernian - 1hr 31min 45 sec into the game but better view on the replay (1:31:55) when they show it from the camera directly behind him.

06-03-2023, 07:06 PM
Him versus Tavernier has the potential to be like Stokes vs Tavernier. Full back who likes to get forward vs a skillful attacker with tricks, pace, and goals.

06-03-2023, 07:13 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/m001jvrv/scottish-premiership-202223-28-livingston-v-hibernian - 1hr 31min 45 sec into the game but better view on the replay (1:31:55) when they show it from the camera directly behind him.Brilliant.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

06-03-2023, 08:01 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/m001jvrv/scottish-premiership-202223-28-livingston-v-hibernian - 1hr 31min 45 sec into the game but better view on the replay (1:31:55) when they show it from the camera directly behind him.

Brilliant - thanks for that :thumbsup:

Had forgot that the game was on Alba!

Donegal Hibby
06-03-2023, 10:33 PM
Johnson talking about Youan .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-in-one-word-answer-over-elie-youan-permanent-deal-as-lee-johnson-in-ron-gordon-rangers-tribute-hope-4052959

07-03-2023, 05:53 AM
Saying that maybe Youan ‘lost the trust of the rest of the group’ at the start of the season might indeed be true, but I don’t see how telling that to the Scotsman benefits us. I just wish he’d say less sometimes.

07-03-2023, 06:28 AM
Saying that maybe Youan ‘lost the trust of the rest of the group’ at the start of the season might indeed be true, but I don’t see how telling that to the Scotsman benefits us. I just wish he’d say less sometimes.

But that’s not what he said.

He never said he had lost the trust OF the rest of the group but that he had lost trust IN the rest of the group.

07-03-2023, 06:37 AM
But that’s not what he said.

He never said he had lost the trust OF the rest of the group but that he had lost trust IN the rest of the group.

You’re right, ‘lost the trust in the rest of the group’, which could be taken to mean trust in either direction. Assuming of course the hootsman is reporting it correctly . Either way, I think it’s unnecessary.

07-03-2023, 07:02 AM

I genuinely don't think we'd agree a future sell on fee that we couldn't afford to oat if we wanted to retain him.

Whether the player choses to come back is another story. Only thing fans can do is keep showing our appreciation of him and hope he ends up with genuine affinity for the club.

Paulie Walnuts
07-03-2023, 07:05 AM
I genuinely don't think we'd agree a future sell on fee that we couldn't afford to oat if we wanted to retain him.

Whether the player choses to come back is another story. Only thing fans can do is keep showing our appreciation of him and hope he ends up with genuine affinity for the club.

We’ll have a bid accepted for him, of that I’ve no doubt. It’s whether he decides he wants to come or not will be the issue.

07-03-2023, 08:58 AM
I was hoping he's contractually obliged if Hibs take up the option i.e. hibs have already agreed the parent club fee. And the wage as well?

If that's not the case what is the point of "loan with the option to buy" if not a price and contract agreed? If only the price is agreed that's not even half the battle. If the wages are still to be negotiated and he keeps doing well then we are f****d.
I'm sure when the Kamberi signing seemed to drag on it was his parent club causing the delay as he had played so well another club had offered them more money and they tried to "renegotiate" the original deal. If Kamberi had been able to decline our contract and get a better one elsewhere then I'm sure he would have.

07-03-2023, 09:00 AM

We’ll have a bid accepted for him, of that I’ve no doubt. It’s whether he decides he wants to come or not will be the issue.

If the contract is already agreed with the buying price then he is ours if we want him - no?

07-03-2023, 09:15 AM
If the contract is already agreed with the buying price then he is ours if we want him - no?

No ..he's on loan with an agreed price IF Hibs want to sign him and IF he wants to join Hibs

You can't force a player to join your club if he doesn't want to go there.

think about it....The US had a system couple of hundred years ago whereby they told people who they would be working for, without their consent...took a civil war to end it.

07-03-2023, 09:21 AM
No ..he's on loan with an agreed price IF Hibs want to sign him and IF he wants to join Hibs

think about it....The US had a system couple of hundred years ago whereby they told people who they would be working for, without their consent...took a civil war to end it.

If St Gallen allowed we could could have agreed future terms with Youan at the same time we agreed the transfer clause. I’ve no insight into whether we have done so or not.

Paulie Walnuts
07-03-2023, 09:36 AM

If that’s happened then I suppose so. I think these things are usually a fee agreed between the clubs but the contract with the player usually still has to be agreed though.

07-03-2023, 04:30 PM
If that’s happened then I suppose so. I think these things are usually a fee agreed between the clubs but the contract with the player usually still has to be agreed though.

Options to buy yes.

Obligations to buy require a contract agreed before-hand.

Paulie Walnuts
07-03-2023, 04:56 PM
Options to buy yes.

Obligations to buy require a contract agreed before-hand.

We had that with Murphy if I remember correctly?

07-03-2023, 04:58 PM
We had that with Murphy if I remember correctly?

And Henderson and Rocky (based on conditions being met) more recently.

07-03-2023, 05:59 PM

I meant if the contract wage had been agreed with the player not his club. The club would negotiate the fee and the player/agent would negotiate wages and length of contract.
No need for the bit in bold, I may be an old fart but I'm not senile.

08-03-2023, 07:18 AM
I meant if the contract wage had been agreed with the player not his club. The club would negotiate the fee and the player/agent would negotiate wages and length of contract.
No need for the bit in bold, I may be an old fart but I'm not senile.

Neither am I….senile that is, but definitely an Auld Fart

I dunno how it turned bold…..wusnae me ref……….if you look at my original post up the page a bit……you won’t see any bold there.

HendoDelivered
08-03-2023, 07:36 AM
Him and Boyle on either side with Nisbet or Myko (if we can extend) would be frightening.

08-03-2023, 02:30 PM
Him and Boyle on either side with Nisbet or Myko (if we can extend) would be frightening.

Yup. That attack is really exciting and will guarantee us goals.