View Full Version : Var

Paulie Walnuts
02-01-2023, 06:05 PM
What was that all about today then?

The referee blows for a foul on Newell which occurred before the hand ball. VAR cannot go back and analyse a free kick, so the referee cannot change his mind based on this. No flag from the linesman so it wasn’t for an offside which would have been covered by VAR.

The referee goes and looks at VAR, decides it’s a hand ball and a penalty, so he’s changed his decision on the free kick after viewing the VAR footage which isn’t what VAR is for.

Helensburghhibs
02-01-2023, 06:10 PM
Ref blew for offside rather than the foul i think.

02-01-2023, 06:37 PM
Ref blew for offside rather than the foul i think.Surley not as the linesman didn't flag and it was hardly an obvious offside

I think he could've only blew for a foul on newell but he didn't blow until after the goal was scored

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

02-01-2023, 06:38 PM
If the whistles blown the balls not in play - is it? Rocky could’ve caught it or punched it away and it wouldn’t have mattered.

02-01-2023, 06:41 PM
Ref blew for offside rather than the foul i think.

No chance he did. Nae flag.

02-01-2023, 06:47 PM
If the whistles blown the balls not in play - is it? Rocky could’ve caught it or punched it away and it wouldn’t have mattered.Don't think he Blew until the ball was in the net tho

I'd defo like it explained what actually happened from start to finish

02-01-2023, 06:48 PM
Cannae beat having the VAR screen in row 3 of the Wheatfield.

02-01-2023, 06:48 PM
Don't think he Blew until the ball was in the net tho

His arm was up for the free kick, couldn’t hear the whistle. Based on that why didn’t he just allow the goal to stand rather than the VAR palaver?

02-01-2023, 06:59 PM
Surley not as the linesman didn't flag and it was hardly an obvious offside

I think he could've only blew for a foul on newell but he didn't blow until after the goal was scored

He definitely blew before the goal was scored and there is also the time it takes him to get the whistle to his mouth. No offside flag went up too. Only he would know why he blew but for me the offside rule and handball rules are now completely broken. Rocky was booked for the handball so that must mean he deliberately played it so why was the Hearts player offside. It looks to me the ball hit Hanlon on its way to Rocky so why was it handball in the first place. There is only one thing that you can guarantee when it comes to Hibs though and that is any decision which can go against you will. From when Clancy blew until Shankland scored it was a second or so over 6 minutes yet 4 minutes of time added. The refereeing in Scotland with the aid of dozens of extra views has actually got worse and we have been on teh end of quite a few very dubious decisions.

02-01-2023, 07:02 PM
Cannae beat having the VAR screen in row 3 of the Wheatfield.

That is utterly outrageous and should not be allowed. What a laughing stock that stadium is but they get the last laugh. There would be a public outcry if that situation happened at Easter Road but no one will call it out as usual.

02-01-2023, 07:03 PM
Don't think he Blew until the ball was in the net tho

I thought the whistle went before the goal was in the net. I’m sure Marshall was telling the ref that as well.

Zondervan
02-01-2023, 07:11 PM
Spoke about this at the game.

The order as we saw it was:

- Ref blew for a free kick to Hibs before the “goal”
- Then VAR indicated a penalty check
- However, in the lead-up to the penalty VAR checked for a possible offside
- No offside, so they continued with the VAR penalty check, which was given.

Or at least I think that is what happened!

02-01-2023, 07:15 PM
Spoke about this at the game.

The order as we saw it was:

- Ref blew for a free kick to Hibs before the “goal”
- Then VAR indicated a penalty check
- However, in the lead-up to the penalty VAR checked for a possible offside
- No offside, so they continued with the VAR penalty check, which was given.

Or at least I think that is what happened!

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkSo the ref changed his mind on the free kick he awarded?

As that was before the penalty check

02-01-2023, 10:05 PM
So just watched highlights on youtube.

Order of events is: 1) possible offside decision from first shot 2) shot hits bushiri for potential handball 3) Hearts player sticks ball in net and ref gives foul to Hibs at almost exactly the same time. So that all makes sense.

But look at the VAR stills. First of all it looks like a clear offside so should be a Hibs free kick.

Secondly whether its chest or arm from Rocky is inconclusive

Victor
02-01-2023, 10:10 PM

Order of events is: 1) possible offside decision from first shot 2) shot hits bushiri for potential handball 3) Hearts player sticks ball in net and ref gives foul to Hibs at almost exactly the same time. So that all makes sense.

But look at the VAR stills. First of all it looks like a clear offside so should be a Hibs free kick.

Secondly whether its chest or arm from Rocky is inconclusive.

That was my take on it, but regardless of that, unless there was a camera angle we didn’t see, how he could tell, where the ball hit Rocky, is beyond me. Unless those at the game had a clearer view, I don’t know what he ( or the VAR person)based their decision on.

02-01-2023, 10:11 PM
It was offiside. That should have been the end of it.

There has to be something done about where the VAR screen is in that place. A joke that the ref watches with fans all round him.

02-01-2023, 10:14 PM
It was offiside. That should have been the end of it.

There has to be something done about where the VAR screen is in that place. A joke that the ref watches with fans all round him.

I think they think Sibbick's left leg is Rocky's leg. The socks are fairly similar, but its clearly Sibbicks foot as the boot colour is White.

02-01-2023, 10:18 PM
I think they think Sibbick's left leg is Rocky's leg. The socks are fairly similar, but its clearly Sibbicks foot as the boot colour is White.

That would make it even worse. A quick zoom and it's obvious.

02-01-2023, 10:20 PM
We've been on the end of a few shockers already since VAR came in. I've made my feelings well know about VAR but honestly have we had a single decision given in our favour yet?

RE today, they have literally broken their own rules twice in the same incident, firstly the ref has already blown his whistle before the handball so how can it possibly be given as handball if play has stopped?

Secondly the VAR stills I've seen show that the hearts player is offside and it even says "OFFSIDE" in big letters yet it wasn't given? Why is more not being made of that, or am I missing something?...

02-01-2023, 10:25 PM

No surprise we've been done over by var again. No chance will Michael Stewart/Sportscene mention it.

You are offside if you are challenging an opponent for the ball or making an obvious action which clearly impacts on the ability of an opponent to play the ball
both could be argued to be the case as he has hands on Rocky in that first image.

I also wasn't 100% convinced it touched his arm when looking at the video but it was on a smallish laptop screen. I didn't notice Neilson saying if it takes that long to make a decision then it can't be conclusive on this occasion.

It would be nice to know what Clancy whistled for but I doubt we will ever find out but he definitely whistled without a linesman flag and it looked like it was for a foul not offside

We've been on the end of a few shockers already since VAR came in. I've made my feelings well know about VAR but honestly have we had a single decision given in our favour yet?

RE today, they have literally broken their own rules twice in the same incident, firstly the ref has already blown his whistle before the handball so how can it possibly be given as handball if play has stopped?

Secondly the VAR stills I've seen show that the hearts player is offside and it even says "OFFSIDE" in big letters yet it wasn't given? Why is more not being made of that, or am I missing something?...

No that's not right - he blows after the handball - just as the ball enters the net.

Second point though fully agree, and this other pic also backs up that it was clearly offside:

02-01-2023, 10:26 PM
That would make it even worse. A quick zoom and it's obvious.
VAR gave it as Offside. Then checked for the pen

loanheadhibby
02-01-2023, 10:29 PM
You are offside if you are challenging an opponent for the ball or making an obvious action which clearly impacts on the ability of an opponent to play the ball
both could be argued to be the case as he has hands on Rocky in that first image.

I also wasn't 100% convinced it touched his arm when looking at the video but it was on a smallish laptop screen. I didn't notice Neilson saying if it takes that long to make a decision then it can't be conclusive on this occasion.

It would be nice to know what Clancy whistled for but I doubt we will ever find out but he definitely whistled without a linesman flag and it looked like it was for a foul not offside

Initially it looked like he signalled offside and free kick to Hibs. Was not sure if it was pull on Newell or the offside. Pre VAR, it’s offside and get on with the game.

If Newell was pulled to ground by Halliday, why was it not a free kick? Did Newell just stumble/fall over? All this happened before handball.

It seems like VAR is re-referreing the game.

02-01-2023, 10:31 PM
VAR gave it as Offside. Then checked for the pen

But the offside came first - so it should have been offside. There is no need to check the pen after that!

02-01-2023, 10:39 PM
But the offside came first - so it should have been offside. There is no need to check the pen after that! He was in an Offside position. They probably deemed the pen to come first as that happened before the offside player became active and then scored. The offside player is only penalised at the point they become active so that was after the "handball".

To me it was 50/50 if Clancy blew for a foul and if so when. 50/50 if the player became active by interfering with Rocky before the handball and 50/50 if it was even handball. Needless to say it is Hibs so every benefit of teh doubt is given to teh opposition and VAR appears to be strengthening that. We seem to have been on teh wrong end of some very dubious decisions. Off teh top of my head the dive at Pittodrie was never a pen, Joe Newell's handball against Livi hit his foot so was never a pen and today there are a few reasons that their pen could be argued wasn't a good decision. 6 minutes pondering suggests very little was obvious or clear.

02-01-2023, 10:42 PM
He was in an Offside position. They probably deemed the pen to come first as that happened before the offside player became active and then scored. The offside player is only penalised at the point they become active so that was after the "handball".

To me it was 50/50 if Clancy blew for a foul and if so when. 50/50 if the player became active by interfering with Rocky before the handball and 50/50 if it was even handball. Needless to say it is Hibs so every benefit of teh doubt is given to teh opposition and VAR appears to be strengthening that. We seem to have been on teh wrong end of some very dubious decisions. Off teh top of my head the dive at Pittodrie was never a pen, Joe Newell's handball against Livi hit his foot so was never a pen and today there are a few reasons that their pen could be argued wasn't a good decision. 6 minutes pondering suggests very little was obvious or clear.

I see what you mean, but given how close he is to Rocky, Sibbick is surely interfering with play as soon as the ball leaves the players foot?

02-01-2023, 10:48 PM
I see what you mean, but given how close he is to Rocky, Sibbick is surely interfering with play as soon as the ball leaves the players foot?
That is my argument too in the previous post. Clancy obviously didn't think he was though.

02-01-2023, 10:50 PM
That is my argument too in the previous post. Clancy obviously didn't think he was though.

Sorry missed that mate. Clancy is a bellend!

Rumble de Thump
02-01-2023, 10:56 PM
Would be good if Hearts could arrange to have a screen the ref can view replays on that isn't right in among Hearts fans heckling him. The club have had plenty of time to organise something that would be suitable for professional football match.

02-01-2023, 11:01 PM
Would be good if Hearts could arrange to have a screen the ref can view replays on that isn't right in among Hearts fans heckling him. The club have had plenty of time to organise something that would be suitable for professional football match.
They probably included him in the attendance when he was looking at the screen. Most of the VAR screens are on the main stand side so pretty much the same at other grounds.

02-01-2023, 11:03 PM
They probably included him in the attendance when he was looking at the screen. Most of the VAR screens are on the main stand side so pretty much the same at other grounds.

That's not the main stand at Tiny though.

02-01-2023, 11:11 PM
That's not the main stand at Tiny though. I know but it is the same difference. A wee telly with home fans either side of a tunnel.

03-01-2023, 10:18 AM

What was all that stuff that was said about the “T shirt line” to justify Shankland controlling the ball with his arm before scoring at ER? Worst case scenario is Ricky stops the ball on the upper arm and above the shirt sleeve line.

Personally I think any arm or hand in the penalty area should be a penalty but the rules don’t say that so I don’t believe it was a pen.

03-01-2023, 10:32 AM
A TV monitor in amongst the Hearts fans where a few of them could also watch the footage a couple of feet from the referee can never in a million years be classed as an acceptable location to enable a referee to make a measured and calculated decision.

It’s desperate stuff from Hearts but fair play to them, they were probably only chancing their arm in the first place and having a bit of joke, not believing such a location would actually be signed off as acceptable.

03-01-2023, 10:42 AM
I’m all for VAR but it really needs to be transparent. Decisions are made with no one at the ground or watching on TV as to either what the decision is and why. Otherwise they can get it to ****. Check it and relay what and why.