View Full Version : I’ll not be back

AugustaHibs
02-01-2023, 04:14 PM
Whilst Newell, Stevenson and hanlon are still playing for us.

Wish i was joking.

Stubbsy90+2
02-01-2023, 04:15 PM
I’ll be back this season as I’ve already paid for my season ticket but I’m not paying another penny to watch Hibs until there’s major changes.

Won’t be at the cup derby and won’t be renewing next year unless said changes somehow happen that quickly. Ron Gordon has destroyed our club.

02-01-2023, 04:16 PM

Wish i was joking.

You think Newell was worse than Campbell today?

02-01-2023, 04:16 PM
We’ll be around a lot longer than the frauds and imposters masquerading as Hibs.

As bad as it is, we’re Hibs, not them.

And don’t let them forget it.

ErinGoBraghHFC
02-01-2023, 04:17 PM

Not by a lot, but I do think Newell was worse than Campbell

cameronw-hfc

He wasn't, he was one of the few that despite playing crap actually tried. Campbell at CM, Lewis and Paul still starting and nobody else at CM to help is the main issues.

I’ll be back this season as I’ve already paid for my season ticket but I’m not paying another penny to watch Hibs until there’s major changes.

Won’t be at the cup derby and won’t be renewing next year. Ron Gordon has destroyed our club.
Same here I’ve had it with hibs totally pissing me off.

Wish i was joking.

that’ll help.

02-01-2023, 04:18 PM
We’ll be around a lot longer than the frauds and imposters masquerading as Hibs.

As bad as it is, we’re Hibs, not them.

And don’t let them forget it.
100% mate. Keep the faith :aok:

02-01-2023, 04:18 PM
It’s a sad state of affairs when 2 club legends are being spoken of like that.

Don’t go till the manager/Newall/Nisbet/Bojang are away? Fine. But those two?

02-01-2023, 04:19 PM
So called manager really dont know what he is doing, they have my season ticket cash but no more.

I don’t blame you, but think you’re targeting the wrong people. So long as the direction of the club is set by the current incumbents in senior management, we’re doomed to repeat this cycle of despair.

Gordon needs to develop some dignity and start actively seeking a buyer. In the meantime, sack his son, get rid of BK, and hire a sporting director with the help of football specialised consultants.

We all know we need better than Hanlon and Stevenson but some of the comments towards them are disgraceful.

02-01-2023, 04:20 PM
Not by a lot, but I do think Newell was worse than Campbell

**** me.

Campbell gets away with contributing nowt so much, compared to Newell.

Newell was in the game far far more than Campbell today.

02-01-2023, 04:22 PM
Haven’t been back in three years, have no intention of returning and am now thinking of stopping my monthly DD. I’m sickened by the rubbish on offer in every area of our club.

02-01-2023, 04:22 PM
I don’t blame you, but think you’re targeting the wrong people. So long as the direction of the club is set by the current incumbent in senior management, we’re doomed to repeat this cycle of despair.

Gordon needs to develop some dignity and start actively seeking a buyer. In the meantime, sack his son, get rid of BK, and hire a sporting director with the help of football specialised consultants.

Id be doing all this before thinking of sacking LJ. If he is sacked though I won’t be shedding a lot of tears, but 100% the structure needs radicalised before any manger stands a chance of success.

mcfly
02-01-2023, 04:23 PM
Team lacks any quality

Our recruitment is a disgrace - we sign rubbish.

Hearts sign ready made first team players.

None of our signings except maybe Marshall would play for them.

With the people running hibs now I fear for us

Wish i was joking.

You’ll also never make an Arnold Scwartzanegger.

Wish i was joking.

Protest instead.

**** me.

Newell was in the game far far more than Campbell today.

Both awful first half when the game was lost. Neither got close to plus marks.

JammyDoidger
It's grim times to support Hibs like, that starting line up was baffling, can't understand it for the life of me.

02-01-2023, 04:24 PM

Wish i was joking.

What a plum🤣

Exuberance1875
02-01-2023, 04:24 PM
Joe Newall and Cadden etc been at the heart of a losing hibs side for years now. Not good enough.

02-01-2023, 04:25 PM
Who employs the manager who picks those guys? Naive to blame individual players. Go after the owner.

LunasBoots
02-01-2023, 04:26 PM
Enoughs enough, overhaul needed from top too bottom

02-01-2023, 04:26 PM

Wish i was joking.

Please tell me this is your last ever post on this Messageboard! 🙏🤮

02-01-2023, 04:27 PM

It shows how bad we are when campbell is one of the first picks

Colinton Hibby
02-01-2023, 04:27 PM
Nothing in the game today. They took their chances, we didn’t.
I’ll be at Motherwell next week cos that’s what supporters do.
To say you’re not going back is laughable. We are better off
without fans like that.

02-01-2023, 04:28 PM
It shows how bad we are when campbell is one of the first picks

Wouldn’t get a game at any other Prem team. Starts for us.

02-01-2023, 04:28 PM
[emoji106]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230102/921b6eac78368bf16e052aab053117c6.jpg

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Mikey_1875
02-01-2023, 04:29 PM
without fans like that.

Saying there was nothing in the game today is laughable as well.

LunasBoots
without fans like that.

3 goals in it....

CL0762
without fans like that.

Nothing in that game?

Open your eyes. They absolutely controlled that first half and that’s all they needed to do.

Stubbsy90+2
02-01-2023, 04:30 PM
without fans like that.

Wow :faf:

ErinGoBraghHFC
without fans like that.

You’re right, we didn’t have anything in the game today. Spectators for most of it, and keeping the ball for five minutes without having any meaningful effort on goal doesn’t count as being “in the game”. I don’t blame anyone for not going back, i understand it completely. I’ll be at the cup derby, but another performance like todays and I can see things going even further south for the Gordon’s relationship with the fans if nothing is done about it.

without fans like that.

Jones28 - this is what I mean by delusional posts.

Torto7062
02-01-2023, 04:31 PM

Wish i was joking.

Mate at least Newell tries,

But agree nowt exciting to look forward to

02-01-2023, 04:31 PM
Jones28 - this is what I mean by delusional posts.

😂 I’ll give you that.

Davy Mac
02-01-2023, 04:32 PM
I don’t blame you, but think you’re targeting the wrong people. So long as the direction of the club is set by the current incumbents in senior management, we’re doomed to repeat this cycle of despair.

From what I heard, £15m is the number but East Mains potentially a problem due to owns the land.

I believe RG is looking for an exit, as I say just from the mummerings I'm hearing.

02-01-2023, 04:33 PM
😂 I’ll give you that.

:)

Think there are some serious Jambo trolls on this site recently.

Some of the posts are off the scale.

This is another reason why we're such a soft club. We don't bother trying to change things, we just stop coming.

justlikebrazil
Hibs signing policy is to sign cheap unknown foreigners and hope they become super stars and sell them for a couple of million!! Gordon and the other guys at the top are playing with our club and in turn are killing it!!!

02-01-2023, 04:34 PM
From what I heard, £15m is the number but East Mains potentially a problem due to owns the land.

I believe RG is looking for an exit, as I say just from the mummerings I'm hearing.

Do the murmurings come from anyone anywhere close to Ron Gordon, or is it pub talk?

02-01-2023, 04:36 PM
**** me.

Newell was in the game far far more than Campbell today.Agree, I thought he was OK

(That's comparitive to the rest!)

02-01-2023, 04:36 PM
Joe Newall and Cadden etc been at the heart of a losing hibs side for years now. Not good enough.

Cadden at RWB is a reasonable option.

They're are many players to get shot of and areas of concern before Cadden, though I wouldn't shed a tear to see him punted. But that could apply to any one of them, playing staff, coaching staff or management

Hibs4185
02-01-2023, 04:37 PM

Newell was better and had a decent game.

midfield however has been the problem for the last 4 managers and Newell not Campbell has been the common denominator.

delbert
02-01-2023, 04:39 PM
Hibs signing policy is to sign cheap unknown foreigners and hope they become super stars and sell them for a couple of million!! Gordon and the other guys at the top are playing with our club and in turn are killing it!!!

Yup, the Absent Landlord and his Idiot Son, dream team !!

Davy Mac
02-01-2023, 04:39 PM
Do the murmurings come from anyone anywhere close to Ron Gordon, or is it pub talk?

Former player.

02-01-2023, 04:43 PM

Wish i was joking.

Good, GTF

Colinton Hibby
02-01-2023, 04:48 PM
Nothing in that game?

Open your eyes. They absolutely controlled that first half and that’s all they needed to do.

all about opinions eh? Check the stats.
if Youan and Magennis score then we
either draw or win. They are no great
shakes. But as long as we keep playing
Hanlon and Stevenson then any team
we play has a chance.

Liam978
02-01-2023, 04:49 PM

Well said my son , what other support treats their legends like many on here I totally despair.

Bridge hibs
Former player.Whats the issue with East Mains, hibs own it dont they ?

we play has a chance.

Away and troll elsewhere

Donegal Hibby
02-01-2023, 04:51 PM
Nothing in that game?

Yeah agree, our midfield is s***e though we were the better team in the 2nd half imo

hibsforeurope
02-01-2023, 04:56 PM

Exactly, our issues are way above substandard players or managers.
This regime aren’t capable of knowing what to do to progress this team and don’t have the resources fund it either.

Hibees1973
02-01-2023, 04:57 PM

Won’t be at the cup derby and won’t be renewing next year unless said changes somehow happen that quickly. Ron Gordon has destroyed our club.

100%

Davy Mac
02-01-2023, 05:04 PM
Whats the issue with East Mains, hibs own it dont they ?

I believe RP still has a major say.

02-01-2023, 05:05 PM

Wish i was joking.

That's what I call supporting your team...

Bridge hibs
02-01-2023, 05:07 PM
I believe RP still has a major say.

The training ground, set in 50 acres of brownfield land and previously housing a milk processing plant, is certainly impressive, comprising five full-size grass pitches, a floodlit FIFA two-star synthetic pitch as as well as state of the art medical and sports science facilities.

It is wholly owned by the club - "Nobody externally has contributed one penny to this facility," Petrie confirms - and as a result there is no pressure on Hibs to open their doors to outsiders.

If its wholly owned by the club, what does Petrie have to do with anything unless he owns shares ?

big gogs
02-01-2023, 05:09 PM
Wouldn’t get a game at any other Prem team. Starts for us.
How do you know,Campbell wouldn’t get a game at other clubs.

Davy Mac
02-01-2023, 05:11 PM
The training ground, set in 50 acres of brownfield land and previously housing a milk processing plant, is certainly impressive, comprising five full-size grass pitches, a floodlit FIFA two-star synthetic pitch as as well as state of the art medical and sports science facilities.

It is wholly owned by the club - "Nobody externally has contributed one penny to this facility," Petrie confirms - and as a result there is no pressure on Hibs to open their doors to outsiders.

If its wholly owned by the club, what does Petrie have to do with anything unless he owns shares ?

I believe RP owns shares.

CL0762
02-01-2023, 05:13 PM
we play has a chance.

Check the stats?

Ok hold on.

Stats show

Hearts 3-0 Hibernian.

The only ****ing stat that matters.

mcfly
02-01-2023, 05:24 PM
we play has a chance.

Who cares about stats.??

It’s results that count and we lost again!!!

Face facts this team is awful and in a relegation fight now.

crowds will plummet now - fans are fed up

02-01-2023, 05:25 PM

Through the power of sight. I dinnae even wear glasses. 20/20 vision.

He’s *****.

02-01-2023, 05:26 PM
My laddie is wanting a half season ticket, so for those not going back, my laddie will take your ticket😉

Colinton Hibby
02-01-2023, 05:26 PM
Oh grow up. We lost a game of football for god sake.

02-01-2023, 05:27 PM

Ah yes, this is clearly about the one game of football we’ve lost this season

02-01-2023, 05:28 PM
My laddie is wanting a half season ticket, so for those not going back, my laddie will take your ticket[emoji6]Lets see how many offers you get

[emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

loanheadhibby
02-01-2023, 05:31 PM

He doesn't but is giving you his opinion.

02-01-2023, 05:33 PM

I'm not really sure Hibs.net is for you tonight if you aren't expecting most people to be a wee bit angry tonight:greengrin. FWIW i dont think you are too far off the mark, 3-0 was a really unfair reflection of events.

HIbs had more shots, more corners and posession was even roughly. Unfortunately it's all about goals and we gifted them a lead.

02-01-2023, 05:34 PM
My laddie is wanting a half season ticket, so for those not going back, my laddie will take your ticket😉

There are a few on the PM board who are finished so you should get one no bother 👍

Colinton Hibby
02-01-2023, 05:36 PM
I'm not really sure Hibs.net is for you tonight if you aren't expecting most people to be a wee bit angry tonight:greengrin. FWIW i dont think you are too far off the mark, 3-0 was a really unfair reflection of events.

HIbs had more shots, more corners and posession was even roughly. Unfortunately it's all about goals and we gifted them a lead.

my point exactly. I know folk are angry but to say “I’m not going back” is a joke.

Trinity Hibee
02-01-2023, 05:37 PM
Check the stats?

Ok hold on.

Stats show

Hearts 3-0 Hibernian.

The only ****ing stat that matters.

But but but where are we in the expected goals league? How many progressions or ball carries have our players made? Laughable mentioning stats when we’ve lost 9 of last 11 games.

02-01-2023, 05:42 PM

Wish i was joking.

Good call.

02-01-2023, 05:43 PM
my point exactly. I know folk are angry but to say “I’m not going back” is a joke.

Well yeah but the anger is inevitable and you threw a grenade in your other thread by telling everyone to "Calm the xxxx down! - its like when the Mrs tells me to calm down in a road rage incident. Anger levels heightened.

Colinton Hibby
02-01-2023, 05:44 PM
Fair play.

h1bs4life
02-01-2023, 05:49 PM

Wish i was joking.

Know where you are coming from .
Got my ticket for the cup game and will still use my season ticket when I am not to hungover but it’s soul destroying watching this team.
Most of the abuse you will get will probably be from non season ticket holders who don’t go to games.
Said it before but there are quite a few who can see no wrong with Stevenson and Hanlon no matter what disasters they are involved in.
Started a thread after the Scottish Cup final defeat to St Johnstone saying time for Jack Ross to move them on or they will last longer than he does . Didn’t realise it would another 2 possibly 3 managers they are part of a squad that gets a manager sacked.
Some can discuss other as usual start the abuse and eventually thread got closed.

02-01-2023, 05:50 PM
Team lacks any quality

Our recruitment is a disgrace - we sign rubbish.

Hearts sign ready made first team players.

None of our signings except maybe Marshall would play for them.

With the people running hibs now I fear for us

Michael Stewart was saying exactly the same things on the radio.
He was ridiculed on here for criticising the lack of structure and planning about the club but he is right.

MKHIBEE
02-01-2023, 05:57 PM
I left after the 2nd goal, was f…ing raging at VAR, you just knew they wanted to give Hearts a goal. At that point I was finished with Scottish football. I’m on the train home and calmed down a bit. I think LJ will get punted but I’m not sure that is the answer
to all our problems. The recruitment policy seems to
be a shambles, there is no apparent pathway for players to come through the ranks and the footballing side of the club just seems stagnant at the moment. I don’t know the answer, I suggest Ron gets on the phone to Alex Ferguson or somebody for pointers

snedzuk
02-01-2023, 11:33 PM

Anyone thinking East Mains has development value is deluded. Agricultural value at best.

02-01-2023, 11:38 PM
I wouldn’t blame anyone for giving up on this team just now (and I say that as someone who will still be going because it’s just what I do).

Will be our poorest away following of the season this Sunday. And unless something dramatic happens between now and then, the derby attendance will be really poor in a couple of weeks.

02-01-2023, 11:43 PM
During our lean years (Relegation, Fenton, Calderwood, past 2 seasons) I've been as vehement as other supporters in my condemnation of club management.

However, we appear to have spawned a new breed of 'fan'.

Those who post very negatively about individual players, talk every aspect of the club down, who are all over the negative threads to the point of perpetuating them for weeks and are now lobbying fans to walk away from Easter Road.

Ive no idea what they are trying to achieve but threads like these are damaging club morale just as much as our current performances and terrible run.

I'm old enough in the tooth to realise that when people's spirit takes a doing, that it can lead to depression and a feeling of not having the will to stick around.

But the other option that Hibs supporters have is to show courage when the going gets tough and to fight our way out. Most of us will thankfully be the type of Hibs supporter who don't do walking away.

03-01-2023, 12:18 AM
During our lean years (Relegation, Fenton, Calderwood, past 2 seasons) I've been as vehement as other supporters in my condemnation of club management.

Those who post very negatively about individual players, talk every aspect of the club down, who are all over the negative threads to the point of perpetuating them for weeks and are now lobbying fans to walk away from Easter Road.

Ive no idea what they are trying to achieve but threads like these are damaging club morale just as much as our current performances and terrible run.

I'm old enough in the tooth to realise that when people's spirit takes a doing, that it can lead to depression and a feeling of not having the will to stick around.

But the other option that Hibs supporters have is to show courage when the going gets tough and to fight our way out. Most of us will thankfully be the type of Hibs supporter who don't do walking away.

It’s common everywhere now. At the ground today there was so much negative chat. I genuinely don’t see how people can enjoy going to something and being so negative about it.

One player was getting slated for always going sideways and backwards, tries to beat a man and gets dogs abuse for being silly as “that’s not your game for **** sake.”

I think being stuck in the house the last couple of years has made people’s opinions far more polarised. There seems to be a section that can’t see the grey area, things are black or white. It makes any debate impossible.

03-01-2023, 12:21 AM
Quitting when the team is ***** isn't what being a fitba fan is for me. Hibs to me is more than a supermarket or a film franchise where my loyalty lives and dies on the back of the 'product' I'm being served.

On the 6th of August 2025 this club will celebrate it's 150th anniversary. There must have been dozens of seasons in those 150 years where it survived on the back of the practical support of a few thousand 'supporters' and I've no doubt it will do so again if it comes to it. The truth is folk have always packed it in when the club is poor on the pitch, it's just that for most of those 150 years their fellow fans didn't have to listen to them banging on about it on 'fan' forums.

Most will return when the club is performing to their satisfaction, some won't ......... C'est la Fitba

03-01-2023, 12:27 AM
without fans like that.

What are you, nuts? Away and flag ***** at yourself.

Scotty Leither
03-01-2023, 12:28 AM

I’ll never walk away from the club, but the only one taking the morale of the club down is our untouchable Wizard of Oz owner hiding behind his curtain.

03-01-2023, 12:30 AM

Yes grow up you say, after I've ploughed my £380 hard earned into this basket case of club to be rewarded with utter gash week after week. You are a roaster mate. Happy clapper of the highest order

AL-Qaholik
03-01-2023, 12:57 AM
Won’t be renewing my ST if the current circus is still in town come renewal time.

JammyDoidger
03-01-2023, 04:13 AM
we play has a chance.

But they didn't take their chances, because they're not composed enough, Youan is all fart and no jobby.

AugustaHibs
03-01-2023, 04:27 AM
It’s common everywhere now. At the ground today there was so much negative chat. I genuinely don’t see how people can enjoy going to something and being so negative about it.

One player was getting slated for always going sideways and backwards, tries to beat a man and gets dogs abuse for being silly as “that’s not your game for **** sake.”

I think being stuck in the house the last couple of years has made people’s opinions far more polarised. There seems to be a section that can’t see the grey area, things are black or white. It makes any debate impossible.

Deluded if you think covid is the reason for this to be fair.

03-01-2023, 07:37 AM

The problem is also one of economics though. We are going through one of the worst cost of living crises in decades. Going to football costs money - a lot of money.

Even if you have a season ticket there are still costs for travel, food etc.

I'm fortunate enough that I'm not struggling too much but money is definitely tighter. I've supportered Hibs for nearly 30 years but right now, as a PTG fan, why should I keep giving Hibs my money when my mortgage is up £350 per month?

Not only the economics, I'm just not enjoying it. So I'm really struggling why to keep chucking fairly substantial sums of money at a team that have no heart, passion, cohesion etc.

My final point - if fans still keep turning up, even when things are clearly wrong at the club from top to bottom, how will we ever effect change?

mcfly
03-01-2023, 07:55 AM
Going to watch hibs is habitual but also it has to be enjoyable.

The last 3 hibs managers have not entertained me.

In fact I’ve not enjoyed going to Easter road since the Gordon’s and Kensell took over.

I’m not interested in the scoreboards or the fancy bars.

It’s the team in the pitch that bothers me. And whilst everything else has been improved the most important thing at a football club has been neglected.

My wages aren’t going up at the level my bills are so it becomes a choice to spend more money watching hibs lose or doing other things.

Hibs isn’t my priority just now. Doesn’t make me less of a fan but it’s the reality of current life.

03-01-2023, 08:05 AM
The problem is also one of economics though. We are going through one of the worst cost of living crises in decades. Going to football costs money - a lot of money.

Even if you have a season ticket there are still costs for travel, food etc.

I'm fortunate enough that I'm not struggling too much but money is definitely tighter. I've supportered Hibs for nearly 30 years but right now, as a PTG fan, why should I keep giving Hibs my money when my mortgage is up £350 per month?

Not only the economics, I'm just not enjoying it. So I'm really struggling why to keep chucking fairly substantial sums of money at a team that have no heart, passion, cohesion etc.

My final point - if fans still keep turning up, even when things are clearly wrong at the club from top to bottom, how will we ever effect change?

Agreed. Think the board were fortunate with the renewals this season. Next season they will be in for a shock.

Even the friendly game during the World Cup - fans couldn’t be arsed at low prices.

There are plenty ST holders regularly not attending. Folk know Hibs won’t win every game but when was the last time we had a 90 minute performance against a similar level team ?

This team struggle to play for 90 mins - surely that’s not hard to ask.

Like it or not Hearts are pulling away from us due to the last 2 seasons of complete mismanagement throughout the club. Owners / recruitment / managers / players. Remember the admin issue at start of the season with a Morton - the social media content- our club is being laughed out and rightly so.

03-01-2023, 08:25 AM
when was the last time we had a 90 minute performance against a similar level team ?

Depends on who you class as a similar level team

LunasBoots
03-01-2023, 08:40 AM
Agreed. Think the board were fortunate with the renewals this season. Next season they will be in for a shock.

Even the friendly game during the World Cup - fans couldn’t be arsed at low prices.

There are plenty ST holders regularly not attending. Folk know Hibs won’t win every game but when was the last time we had a 90 minute performance against a similar level team ?

This team struggle to play for 90 mins - surely that’s not hard to ask.

Like it or not Hearts are pulling away from us due to the last 2 seasons of complete mismanagement throughout the club. Owners / recruitment / managers / players. Remember the admin issue at start of the season with a Morton - the social media content- our club is being laughed out and rightly so.

Yup I personally know fans of many many years who just don't identify with us anymore, feel like it's not the same and haven't attended in a couple years, ST sales will be hit, you just have to look at the forums to see how many people are disillusioned with what's happening, those that bought I felt at the time bought into the owners speech and have been seriously let down.

03-01-2023, 10:08 AM
I hold Lewis and Paul in amongst the top tier of club legends quite frankly, and if it’s time for them to no longer be consistent first team starters then we need to recruit players who are better than them which we have not done. Cabraja isn’t better than Lewis, Fish isn’t better than Paul. It’s as simple as that.

I think I’ll be taking a break from Hibs for a while too as I’ve got better things to spend my money on. Going to the Hibs Women’s games is more enjoyable and depending on where the game is, tickets have cost between £5-8 this season. Also doing a bit more travelling of figuring out where the cheapest flights in Europe I can get are and got a trip to Budapest with a bed for a couple of nights for the cost of two tickets for a men’s game.

The main problem is that this club doesn’t feel like Hibs. Big screens, nice hospitality, nothing on the pitch that feels like Hibernian Football Club whilst good footballing Hibs people leave behind the scenes too. If you’re willing to spend plenty of money on hospitality or sponsorship deals then you’re probably getting a really good return for your money, the average walk up fan who goes when they can less so. Hibs doesnt feel like a club for people like me just now.

Change is often good, but what we’ve seen of late just isn’t.

Peanut Shaz
03-01-2023, 11:51 AM
Having taken the time to reflect on the past few weeks and yesterday I think I have finally reached the point of enough is enough. I have been following Hibs since the mid 60's and have committed to a season ticket for nearly 30 years now. My whole family have also been stalwarts in that time, Dad, Husband, Son and now Granddaughter. My Daughter doesn't have a season ticket but does attend games when her shifts at work allow. I have never ever given up on Hibs. I have been there through the rough and the smooth as that's what we do. During this time I have changed my choices in other walks of life where I felt I was unhappy or being taken for granted. This meant cutting ties with friends/aquantinces, moving jobs, no longer supporting businesses where I felt I had poor service etc, but still no matter what kept putting money and time into Hibs, giving up my time, family occasions to follow them no matter what. I think I have reached that point with Hibs now. I know my Husband and Son feel the same. I doubt very much I'll be back this season unless there are major changes and right at this moment in time I can't see any of my group renewing season tickets. I suspect there are many more like me and that is sad. The club is losing the real reason for it's existence, the true, loyal long standing supporters. Sad days.

03-01-2023, 02:30 PM
Deluded if you think covid is the reason for this to be fair.

I think Covid IS part of the reason, as is the explosion in time spent on social media and less socializing with others. People are more grumpy and intolerant, desirous of instant gratification and lacking any community or solidarity that used to bind us all together. Fans at games have changed, I’ve seen it with my own eyes. And it’s not the product on offer either, Hibs have been rubbish for most of my life!

03-01-2023, 02:42 PM
I confess I have not been to many game s just can’t get my hibs mojo working and need to think twice about shelling out money to watch dross when retired but not yet getting old age pension Pricrs of food and fuel making it more difficult for me to justify going
I enjoyed watching the second half but you just know without Boyle ,we struggle to score in general and therefore struggle to win games
Mckirdy was a proven scorer at previous club but just doesn’t look the part Youan fir all his recent improvement is not a goal scorer Nisbet still getting up to speed in a poor team

DIXIHIBS
03-01-2023, 02:47 PM
I think Covid IS part of the reason, as is the explosion in time spent on social media and less socializing with others. People are more grumpy and intolerant, desirous of instant gratification and lacking any community or solidarity that used to bind us all together. Fans at games have changed, I’ve seen it with my own eyes. And it’s not the product on offer either, Hibs have been rubbish for most of my life!

I agree. The anger is unreal at times. Certain fans are more abusive at their own players than has gone before. Social media is 24/7 and it seems to wind up fans all week and it pours out at the game. In days gone by we would moan about things after the game then forget about it till the next game. Its actually ruining the football for a lot of folk. Its not just football sadly, every subject seems to polarise people to the extreme.

Stubbsy90+2
03-01-2023, 02:50 PM
I agree. The anger is unreal at times. Certain fans are more abusive at their own players than has gone before. Social media is 24/7 and it seems to wind up fans all week and it pours out at the game. In days gone by we would moan about things after the game then forget about it till the next game. Its actually ruining the football for a lot of folk. Its not just football sadly, every subject seems to polarise people to the extreme.

The fans have been nothing short of exceptional this season imo so I certainly don’t agree that anger pours out at the game.

We got our ***** handed to us by Celtic and there was little more then a murmur from the fans and I’m not sure anyone was even left at full time yesterday. There is no anger, only apathy and that’s a hell of a lot worse.

03-01-2023, 02:55 PM

The problem in days gone by was that thousands of people forgot about actually going to games as well.

Our crowds in the late 80s and early 90s were pitiful. Lows in league games that we don't even see in league cup group games nowadays.

The Hibs support may be a shower of moaning *******s but they also back the club in numbers and financially in a way that compares favourably to anything since football crowds started to drop across the board in the late 70s and early 80s.

Trinity Hibee
04-01-2023, 06:59 AM
The problem in days gone by was that thousands of people forgot about actually going to games as well.

Our crowds in the late 80s and early 90s were pitiful. Lows in league games that we don't even see in league cup group games nowadays.

The Hibs support may be a shower of moaning *******s but they also back the club in numbers and financially in a way that compares favourably to anything since football crowds started to drop across the board in the late 70s and early 80s.

Yeah I’m not even certain McLeish had crowds flocking back. It was when Mowbray came along that I remember getting 14-15k regularly

Percy Vere
04-01-2023, 05:06 PM
It’s really sad to read about long standing Hibs supporters making decisions to stop coming to games or giving up STs.
This is a culmination of mediocrity over the past few seasons.
I think as Hibs supporters we don’t expect to be dominating every match. We know players and form will come and go.
You enjoy the good stuff and make the most of it.
Go on a good run or win a cup now and then, wee run in Europe.
But for a while we are not getting any of that. Thats what’s hard to take.
Footballs a fickle beast tho, I choose to believe we will turn a corner at some point, hopefully soon.

04-01-2023, 05:11 PM
Yeah I’m not even certain McLeish had crowds flocking back. It was when Mowbray came along that I remember getting 14-15k regularly

And that died off over time. People forget that the season we won the Scottish Cup we were regularly playing in front of 7, 8 or 9k at ER. The cup win saw a surge in season tickets and we’ve managed to maintain that since. I was really surprised we got to 11.5k this year but I think this season is likely to lead to quite a significant drop unless thing change quite dramatically between now and the summer.

04-01-2023, 05:12 PM
My work has introduced clocking in and out now on my PDA so my finishing time on a Saturday is 14.30 and not a minute before . Long standing season ticket holder but won't be their next season i'm afraid

04-01-2023, 05:34 PM
It’s really sad to read about long standing Hibs supporters making decisions to stop coming to games or giving up STs.
I think as Hibs supporters we don’t expect to be dominating every match. We know players and form will come and go.
Footballs a fickle beast tho, I choose to believe we will turn a corner at some point, hopefully soon.

I've wondered if winning the Scottish Cup has made a difference to some fans.

Same sort of logic as the old gold miner in the westerns, once he got the gold he felt that was it.

I watched Hibs for around fifty years before witnessing that glorious day, some waited even longer. It was what I wanted to see when I was a primary school kid to the day it happened.

That day will probably never be bettered. Since that day I still want to see Hibs winning every week but I seem to get over defeats quicker than I used to.

Trinity Hibee
04-01-2023, 05:37 PM

Same sort of logic as the old gold miner in the westerns, once he got the gold he felt that was it.

I watched Hibs for around fifty years before witnessing that glorious day, some waited even longer. It was what I wanted to see when I was a primary school kid to the day it happened.

That day will probably never be bettered. Since that day I still want to see Hibs winning every week but I seem to get over defeats quicker than I used to.

There might be a little in that but for most I’m sure the thought is let’s do it again. Winning the cup has taken that huge stress off of Scottish cup games for me anyway but 7 years on I’d like something else to celebrate now.

04-01-2023, 05:43 PM
There might be a little in that but for most I’m sure the thought is let’s do it again. Winning the cup has taken that huge stress off of Scottish cup games for me anyway but 7 years on I’d like something else to celebrate now.

Would love to see us win it again as well especially with the Europe games guaranteed.

We can only hope.

04-01-2023, 05:45 PM

We’ve finished once in the top three in the best part of 20 years(and sacked the guy who got us there).Too many seem to have a very idealised view of our history.

CB Hibs 68
04-01-2023, 05:51 PM
Frankly can’t be bothered to read all the previous threads . Support Hibs or not .Go to the games if you can .Supporting a team through think and thin is what it is about.

04-01-2023, 06:03 PM
We’ve finished once in the top three in the best part of 20 years(and sacked the guy who got us there).Too many seem to have a very idealised view of our history.

Looking back at our finishing positions makes dire reading, we have been mediocre over the years and the club hardly deserves the support it gets , hope springs eternal i suppose but don’t hold your breath.

OstKurve Hibs
04-01-2023, 06:04 PM

Does that mean we should be happy about garbage league positions these days because it's been the norm in the past ?

I don't expect a cup every year or 3rd every year but it would be nice if we could at least show fight and effort to try and achieve them, we have to many in this squad that DonT have it in them to provide these 2 Basic qualities that are essential to playing professional football. To many hide n seek champions.

mcfly
04-01-2023, 06:04 PM
Frankly can’t be bothered to read all the previous threads . Support Hibs or not .Go to the games if you can .Supporting a team through think and thin is what it is about.

I get what your saying but how much embarrassment can the fans take?

Lack of effort and real quality is holding us back and we are really sadly to say this so far behind hearts in terms of money, organisation and unity.

Listening to the manager in sky sports he talks a great game. He’s got 3 games

Key West
04-01-2023, 06:05 PM

Agree a pointless thread, just don't go back without having to announce it.

04-01-2023, 06:15 PM
Agree a pointless thread, just don't go back without having to announce it.
Ah but it's about the performance and making yourself heard - it's theatre darling.....

04-01-2023, 06:21 PM

Exactly. We are all hurting and frustrated at the moment and there will be very few of us that haven’t come out with the old “ a’ll no be back” yet we are back in our seat the following week. If all you are only going the games now to voice your displeasure then you are probably better staying away as that will only make the situation even worse. Some way or another this bunch of players have got to muster enough points to stay in the league as another relegation would be disastrous for the club.
Once we are safe then that will be the time to call for change if we feel that is the way forward.

04-01-2023, 06:38 PM

Been going to ER since 1970 and after the end of the Tornadoes core Hibs home support was around 8k give or take. It's now heading back to that level I would guess.

Stubbsy90+2
04-01-2023, 06:43 PM
I get what your saying but how much embarrassment can the fans take?

Lack of effort and real quality is holding us back and we are really sadly to say this so far behind hearts in terms of money, organisation and unity.

Listening to the manager in sky sports he talks a great game. He’s got 3 games

I’m not sure anyone is suggesting they won’t be back through embarrassment. Although to be fair the first post on this thread could be heading along those lines :greengrin

It’s a complete lack of engagement with anything Hibs from most folk that I’ve seen posting on here/that I know. The words apathy have been used numerous times to describe why people will potentially be packing it in, that’s even worse from the clubs perspective than not going cause you’re embarrassed.

I’ve not enjoyed watching Hibs for years. I said elsewhere but we’re being so badly run that even the wins hardly register as a high for me cause you know the next disaster is just around the corner. A derby win or a win v the Old Firm would maybe be a bit different but we don’t get them anymore anyway. I hate the way we’re run, I hate Ron Gordon as an owner of Hibs, I hate the over commercialisation of us, I hate the way we don’t really have any sort of community feel to our club anymore, I hate the way we discarded or so many people who had done amazing jobs at Hibs and I hate the absolute neglect that’s been shown to the football team by Gordon.

Other than the fact we play in green and white and play at Easter Road there’s very little that I look at the club right now and think “this is what Hibernian Football Club should be”.

04-01-2023, 06:50 PM

If I'm being honest it changed things for me, I knew I had put the hard yards in then found myself sitting there thinking, that's as good as it gets. The games I attended the following season I thought "How good can this be"? Sad but, true.

04-01-2023, 06:57 PM
If I'm being honest it changed things for me, I knew I had put the hard yards in then found myself sitting there thinking, that's as good as it gets. The games I attended the following season I thought "How good can this be"? Sad but, true.

My Jambo BiL said he felt the same after 1998. He seldom goes to games now.

I didn't get it until 2016.

04-01-2023, 08:30 PM
This thread is getting ridiculous now.

04-01-2023, 08:32 PM
I go and see Hibs if they are good, bad or indifferent. It’s just something I do.

04-01-2023, 08:42 PM
I go and see Hibs if they are good, bad or indifferent. It’s just something I do.

Me too. Spend time with my mates. Also take my wee nephews sometimes.
We are pretty crap right now but at my age I have seen much worse.

Stubbsy90+2
04-01-2023, 08:50 PM
This thread is getting ridiculous now.

Why? Because you’re going back?

04-01-2023, 08:53 PM
Why? Because you’re going back?

Yes, the Scottish Cup win hasn’t put me off.

04-01-2023, 08:56 PM

I think the Scottish Cup win and the 2 years that followed, which were pretty exciting, has certainly played a part in the raised expectations which will be difficult to consistently satisfy on the park.

We gained about 7,000 new regular fans after 2016 for a year or two and I guess if a lot of folk haven't stomached the previous 40 or so years of mainly mediocrity this probably is quite hard to take.

The year we got 3rd in 20/21 I was absolutely stunned (even pre the cup final debacle) at how many of our supporters were completely dissatisfied. Cup semi's and finals became taken for granted- never thought i'd see that. I think we've always been notoriously fickle but the lack of pride fans seem to have in the club at present and the apathy is really sad.

04-01-2023, 09:19 PM
I think it’s the bigger picture about resources along with the cost to attend games and the inconsistencies we regularly face.

How can we make so many average signings and players which have contributed close to nothing.

We have comfortable players who are sitting on good contracts and aren’t pushing on. They aren’t pushing on as they have it easy at Hibs and probably know they won’t play for a bigger club.

No wonder players with aspirations get frustrated as they feel held back and expect higher standards.

It’s not just at Hibs this issue but it’s an issue and it’s very frustrating to watch.

Expectations may have raised since the cup win and improved derby record for a bit it just felt more about giving it a good shot at where we should be. We lost some derbies but you felt we were as good as favourites in these games.

Old Firm are miles ahead but I’m not sure 10-1 against Celtic over 2 games is really what the gap should be.

It’s a combination of things just now and mostly disconnect with the players / manager and results - alongside seeing other areas of the club improve and get investment but main area struggle badly.

Add in Hearts getting their act together and watching as we get worse makes it very frustrating.

No one can say a ST is value for money so fans can rightly question if they want to renew as right now how many players would you really want to see play regularly ?!

There are numberous examples of failure at Hibs from Livi cup finals / Ross County final / St Johnstone final - it’s just simply not good enough for how much money the club is taking in.

04-01-2023, 09:31 PM
I think the Scottish Cup win and the 2 years that followed, which were pretty exciting, has certainly played a part in the raised expectations which will be difficult to consistently satisfy on the park.

We gained about 7,000 new regular fans after 2016 for a year or two and I guess if a lot of folk haven't stomached the previous 40 or so years of mainly mediocrity this probably is quite hard to take.

The year we got 3rd in 20/21 I was absolutely stunned (even pre the cup final debacle) at how many of our supporters were completely dissatisfied. Cup semi's and finals became taken for granted- never thought i'd see that. I think we've always been notoriously fickle but the lack of pride fans seem to have in the club at present and the apathy is really sad.

Far from feeling like 'that was it' after 2016 as another couple of posters have suggested above I'm the opposite. I really felt it was the start of something better and more than that sustainable and all I see now is wasted opportunity.

Record crowds in the Championship and a storming 2nd half of the season in our 1st season back up. The truth is we should have won another trophy since 2016, there may be no historical precedenct for it but it doesn't make the point any less valid. A semi final against a lower league Hearts with Celtic in disarray waiting in the final, a semi final 4 of Hibs, St Johnstone, St Mirren and Livingston and a cup final against St Johnstone. We have nothing to show for those opportunities but 2016 almost became the same comfort blanket people slag Hearts fans about. Those opportunities don't come around often for clubs like us, if you don't take them there is no guarantee they will come round again. There was too much 'we can't complain because we haven't won multiple trophies in our recent history'. To me that doesn't mean we shouldn't have done it this time.

The dissatisfaction with 3rd in the league can probably be explained in part by the fact everyone was stuck in the house watching it. What followed since is far more about on field performance. A golden opportunity squandered to play group stage European football, we should have been in pole position to achieve that but we absolutely ****ed it in the transfer window, there's a pattern here about wasted opportunities and then not coming around again anytime soon.

Ron Gordon appeared on the scene and promised a lot and, contrary to the picture some want to paint of a shambles, he inherited one hell of a good base to build from. A completed stadium only in need of a facelift, a training centre, an experienced football manager, an experienced and largely competent CEO, an engaged fanbase selling STs at near record levels.... No doubt covid made his job more difficult but it was hardly a unique situation to Hibs, everyone had to deal with covid. As it stands we are worse on the park and still regressing. As far as I can see when it comes to the one thing every fan cares about, nothing has changed. I'll add to that our social media output and general engagement with fans has dropped massively in the last 2 or 3 years. There have been guys at ER in the not so distant past that were far from superstars but they clicked with fans. Has that ever felt the case in the last couple of years?

On Monday night I wasn't going back, by today it's I'll see how I feel on the day, by Friday it will be '**** it, I was being daft'. Let's not pretend anything from apathy to anger is difficult to understand though. Short of us pulling something special out the bag between now and May there is going to be a significant drop in ST sales next season. The crowds we have pulled in recent years are as unprecedented as winning trophies regularly, no one (except maybe me given this post) expected the latter to continue so I see no reason why there should be an expectation the former would. We can be ideological about it but the reality, like it or not, is that a good team attracts good crowds, a team like this just won't.

HIBS NUTS
04-01-2023, 09:37 PM
I loved the 2016 cup final, the holy grail, was conquered.
Currently the team at the moment is rubbish, recruitment terrible, but i’ve seen much worse, the capitulation against hamilton at home to get relegated, probably the worst.
However i will be at the next home game, and will buy a season ticket again, because it’s part of who i am.

Trinity Hibee
04-01-2023, 09:40 PM
Far from feeling like 'that was it' after 2016 as another couple of posters have suggested above I'm the opposite. I really felt it was the start of something better and more than that sustainable and all I see now is wasted opportunity.

Record crowds in the Championship and a storming 2nd half of the season in our 1st season back up. The truth is we should have won another trophy since 2016, there may be no historical precedenct for it but it doesn't make the point any less valid. A semi final against a lower league Hearts with Celtic in disarray waiting in the final, a semi final 4 of Hibs, St Johnstone, St Mirren and Livingston and a cup final against St Johnstone. We have nothing to show for those opportunities but 2016 almost became the same comfort blanket people slag Hearts fans about. Those opportunities don't come around often for clubs like us, if you don't take them there is no guarantee they will come round again. There was too much 'we can't complain because we haven't won multiple trophies in our recent history'. To me that doesn't mean we shouldn't have done it this time.

The dissatisfaction with 3rd in the league can probably be explained in part by the fact everyone was stuck in the house watching it. What followed since is far more about on field performance. A golden opportunity squandered to play group stage European football, we should have been in pole position to achieve that but we absolutely ****ed it in the transfer window, there's a pattern here about wasted opportunities and then not coming around again anytime soon.

Ron Gordon appeared on the scene and promised a lot and, contrary to the picture some want to paint of a shambles, he inherited one hell of a good base to build from. A completed stadium only in need of a facelift, a training centre, an experienced football manager, an experienced and largely competent CEO, an engaged fanbase selling STs at near record levels.... No doubt covid made his job more difficult but it was hardly a unique situation to Hibs, everyone had to deal with covid. As it stands we are worse on the park and still regressing. As far as I can see when it comes to the one thing every fan cares about, nothing has changed. I'll add to that our social media output and general engagement with fans has dropped massively in the last 2 or 3 years. There have been guys at ER in the not so distant past that were far from superstars but they clicked with fans. Has that ever felt the case in the last couple of years?

On Monday night I wasn't going back, by today it's I'll see how I feel on the day, by Friday it will be '**** it, I was being daft'. Let's not pretend anything from apathy to anger is difficult to understand though. Short of us pulling something special out the bag between now and May there is going to be a significant drop in ST sales next season. The crowds we have pulled in recent years are as unprecedented as winning trophies regularly, no one (except maybe me given this post) expected the latter to continue so I see no reason why there should be an expectation the former would. We can be ideological about it but the reality, like it or not, is that a good team attracts good crowds, a team like this just won't.

Well said

04-01-2023, 09:44 PM

Really good post - missed opportunities- so many missed opportunities with Hibs. Even the Derby at the weekend - a chance to give the fans something and we really messed it up. Couldn’t even score a goal !! Maloney game at Hampden against Hearts..another mess.

Fans want to be associated with a club they are proud of in a way but Hibs seem to cause more frustration than many others.

Regarding the covid seasons - even without fans we had some shocking results against lower league Hearts and Saints - it was still frustrating from afar but again….. opportunities missed to push the club on.

I don’t think fans will give up forever but everyone has a limit how far they can be pushed without any return.

04-01-2023, 09:45 PM

Hibs are a huge part of my life, I could never give up on them.

gegs70
04-01-2023, 09:58 PM

Wish i was joking.

There must be a lot of people feeling that way, I felt under Leeanne there was a real community feel. It just feels that Big Ron is emptying everyone's pockets as they enter ER by getting any sponsors in who cares who they are and putting everything in place in ER. Also charging meet the players. But doesn't sort the important thing the players? H le just wants to improve the cash flow coming so he can sell on the club. Paid loads over the years and been win lose or draw. You can't just bring in youth players and then bin them after 6 months.... Sink or swim approach otherwise who will want to come to ER in the future. It's maybe Kinsella and the recruitment team that need to be sacked.

05-01-2023, 10:02 AM
we play has a chance.

They've no been great shakes for years but are 8 games unbeaten against us.

05-01-2023, 10:19 AM
Hibs are a huge part of my life, I could never give up on them.

This,

I can't imagine not having this club as part of my life...

So many memories and not all bad. :wink:

05-01-2023, 10:29 AM
Hibs are a bit like your child. A pain in the arse sometimes but you love them unconditionally and would do anything for them. So yeah Motherwell game it is.

stuart-farquhar
05-01-2023, 10:53 AM
You have to laugh sometimes. Paid 380 for 2 for corporate. Basically a meal and a seat. They have a dress code. Well I will be appearing as me. A dress code to sit outside in January. Eat in a fancy canteen.

05-01-2023, 10:54 AM
You have to laugh sometimes. Paid 380 for 2 for corporate. Basically a meal and a seat. They have a dress code. Well I will be appearing as me. A dress code to sit outside in January. Eat in a fancy canteen.

Why are you going if that's how you feel about it?

j'adorehibs
05-01-2023, 11:30 AM
Hibs have let themselves go........these days etc etc

05-01-2023, 11:30 AM

Think you've made some great points- and for clarity, I wasn't saying a lot of the apathy, anger and disappointment wasn't perfectly understandable (even to the one's who'd suffered worse).

I remember sitting before the start of that 5-5 game v Rangers thinking we were on the cusp of something really special. The place was absolutely buzzing and it seemed like we had it in our grasp to fulfil our potential. When we went 3-0 up, we genuinely wanted more and expected it. What's happened since has been a catastrophic waste, as you rightly say.

05-01-2023, 02:35 PM
What I dont get is, why tf have we resorted to something we saw fail at hertz and thought we could do any better, they signed like 40-50 players and almost everyone of them were pish and there were no real hidden gems, why tf did we think it would work for us, good money pi55ed up the wall, left wae tadgers that cannae kick a baw and dinnae gie a F.