View Full Version : JDH, LJ and recruitment

stalbanshibby
30-12-2022, 04:16 PM
I'm a wee bit baffled (not for the first time), with what's going on in the recruitment department. According to EEN, an offer has been accepted for JDH by Forest Green, although apparently there's interest from other clubs, but according to the EEN article, LJ says he rates him and you get the impression he doesn't really want him to go. Article also says the decision is with JDH. So. How in sync is the recruitment at Hibs with the manager's squad building?? Reading between the lines - and this is what I'm baffled about - it would seem those in charge of selling at least are operating independently of LJ who's a bit in the dark (you could say that about him for a few things mind).

On the same day on the BBC web site I read this: Hibs manager Lee Johnson plans to stamp his authority on his squad in January, saying that disappointing results are, in part, down to still having to play players he did not sign for the club and who perhaps do not work in his style or tactical formation. (Football Scotland) (https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/lee-johnson-plots-hibs-transfer-25853113#)

It doesn't seem to me that LJ is stamping his authority if recruitment are selling regardless.

Am I:

a) misreading between the lines?
b) missing something obvious - e.g. recruitment smell a profit and will sell anyway - money talks
c) the recruitment dept are as pissed off with the results as we are, and don't give a stuff about what LJ thinks
d) spending too much time on my computer?
e) all of the above

Anyone got any idea how our recruitment works (apart from not very well)??

30-12-2022, 04:27 PM
I'm a wee bit baffled (not for the first time), with what's going on in the recruitment department. According to EEN, an offer has been accepted for JDH by Forest Green, although apparently there's interest from other clubs, but according to the EEN article, LJ says he rates him and you get the impression he doesn't really want him to go. Article also says the decision is with JDH. So. How in sync is the recruitment at Hibs with the manager's squad building?? Reading between the lines - and this is what I'm baffled about - it would seem those in charge of selling at least are operating independently of LJ who's a bit in the dark (you could say that about him for a few things mind).

On the same day on the BBC web site I read this: Hibs manager Lee Johnson plans to stamp his authority on his squad in January, saying that disappointing results are, in part, down to still having to play players he did not sign for the club and who perhaps do not work in his style or tactical formation. (Football Scotland) (https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/lee-johnson-plots-hibs-transfer-25853113#)

It doesn't seem to me that LJ is stamping his authority if recruitment are selling regardless.

Am I:

a) misreading between the lines?
b) missing something obvious - e.g. recruitment smell a profit and will sell anyway - money talks
c) the recruitment dept are as pissed off with the results as we are, and don't give a stuff about what LJ thinks
d) spending too much time on my computer?
e) all of the above

Anyone got any idea how our recruitment works (apart from not very well)??

Another option is that JDH wants to leave, an offer has been made we are happy with, and he has been given permission to talk to them?

Or e) all of the above 🤣

On JDH, my take would be that we’ve accepted an offer. Obviously can’t force him to go. Manager just saying what he has to in case he remains part of his squad. Nothing sinister in it for me.

Brian or Bob (surely can’t be more that 2 Hibees in St All-Brans? ;) ) it is an odd one, I’ve not seen reports that LJ wants to keep him, I guess it’s the old adage of wanting players that want to be here and in order to get new recruits in… folks need to leave.

30-12-2022, 04:43 PM
I think JDH is a good player and made a big impact in the games he’s played this season, especially coming on as a sub when we’re chasing a goal.

Plays with a bit of energy and intensity and is good when he plays the ball forward. Got an aggressive side to him too which I like.

I can’t see us letting him leave if Johnson never wanted to.

Johnson is probably just being nice more than anything with the comments.

Interesting he has clubs in Italy after him too. Maybe the fee for him is more than we’d imagined and something Johnson thinks can be better used elsewhere?

30-12-2022, 04:59 PM
JDH would surely be a good bit ahead 9f Kenneh when picking a team

Donegal Hibby
30-12-2022, 05:09 PM
Lee Johnson has praised JDH even though I think he's not a player he see's in his team long term and is quite happy for him to move on ,there will be a few others too he will want to move on as well and probably will praise them as well . Praising and encouraging a player can only be positive and keep the moral good rather than saying the guys no good and he doesn't want him it's basically just good management imo.

30-12-2022, 05:09 PM
When he goes we can wistfully look back on these times and say how much we miss the Jake Hoyle Dayes

Donegal Hibby
30-12-2022, 05:35 PM
When he goes we can wistfully look back on these times and say how much we miss the Jake Hoyle Dayes
The article I read there says there's others interested in him too , whoever they are . If you were JDH would you really want to leave Hibs for Forrest Green ? A team 2nd bottom of the league in relegation trouble , so I thought maybe it's money that's the motivation, I don't know what JDH is getting wage wise at Hibs though Forrest Green don't pay anything that big with the top wage being £5,500 .
https://salarysport.com/football/sky-bet-league-one/forest-green-rovers/

Bridge hibs
30-12-2022, 05:40 PM
The article I read there says there's others interested in him too , whoever they are . If you were JDH would you really want to leave Hibs for Forrest Green ? A team 2nd bottom of the league in relegation trouble , so I thought maybe it's money that's the motivation, I don't know what JDH is getting wage wise at Hibs though Forrest Green don't pay anything that big with the top wage being £5,500 .
https://salarysport.com/football/sky-bet-league-one/forest-green-rovers/First team football ?

30-12-2022, 05:48 PM
He’s been abysmal in the main, hopefully he’ll take the chance and go

Donegal Hibby
30-12-2022, 05:48 PM
First team football ?
Good shout , probably the only thing it could be as I'd probably have Newell, Campbell and Magennis ahead of him now.

LeithMike
30-12-2022, 05:50 PM
I think JDH is a good player and made a big impact in the games he’s played this season, especially coming on as a sub when we’re chasing a goal.

Plays with a bit of energy and intensity and is good when he plays the ball forward. Got an aggressive side to him too which I like.

Me too. I’d like to have seen him in a three with Magennis and Campbell. I think taking Newell out of the team would have allowed JDH to prosper in the defensive midfield role and it’s a shame he’s never really been given the opportunity alongside Magennis.

My big issue with LJ is, despite the problems above him, he’s never got the midfield right and has persisted with Newell in the centre when he’s not got the attributes to play there.

30-12-2022, 05:50 PM
He’s been abysmal in the main, hopefully he’ll take the chance and go

I don't think he has been any more abysmal than the rest of our midfield.

stalbanshibby
30-12-2022, 05:54 PM
Brian or Bob (surely can’t be more that 2 Hibees in St All-Brans? ;) ) it is an odd one, I’ve not seen reports that LJ wants to keep him, I guess it’s the old adage of wanting players that want to be here and in order to get new recruits in… folks need to leave.

I'm not in St Albans any more although I was for 20 odd years and when I joined Hibs.net. Names Ron - I never came across another Hibby in Snorbens all the time i was there - closest thing was my sons Maths teacher who was a Jambo.

Report is in EEN (below) - it doesn't explicitly say he wants to keep him, but it does say there's a place for him if he decides he doesn't want to go, and he rates him. I guess that's hedging but the way I read the article was that the decision to sell had been made without LJ. That's what I was interested in - if he's rebuilding the squad his way (as per BBC article), why are the recruitment team selling if LJ wants him around?

Jake Doyle-Hayes situation amid transfer interestHibs manager Lee Johnson insists there is a place for Jake Doyle-Hayes at Easter Road if he opts not to move on next month.
By Peter Wales
2 hours ago- 2 min read
Updated 2 hours ago

The Irish midfielder has been the subject of interest from several clubs and an offer from English League One side Forest Green Rovers has been accepted, with the ball very much in the player’s court regarding his future.

Speaking on the interest, Johnson said: “The offer is still on the table but I don’t know. I think it could happen but my focus has been on the games, the performances, and the analysis. When the club accepts an offer it shows that the finances are in a place that the club is happy with; on the football front I’m more than happy with Jake and if he stays here because he chooses not to accept the move then that’s fine by me.

"I don’t know. I’m not lying to you, it could happen. There’s interest from a few teams in England and a couple of teams in Italy. The club has accepted an offer but personally, I like Jake on a football side. I think he’s a really good footballer and we’ve missed his quality in certain games. He’s a player I’ve always trusted when he’s been on the pitch, whether that’s off the bench or from the start.”

https://www.hibs.net/image/svg xml;base64,PHN2ZyBoZWlnaHQ9IjEzNTQiIHdpZHRoPSIyMDA wIiB4bWxucz0iaHR0cDovL3d3dy53My5vcmcvMjAwMC9zdmciI HZlcnNpb249IjEuMSIvPg==https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimg/b25lY21zOjRhNTY5OTgzLTNhMGYtNDhhZC04ZmE0LTdmMTE1Mz MzNzE0NTo3OGE5YmY5ZS01ZTE3LTQzYjEtYjVjOS0zMjkzMDY5 ZjBkMTI=.jpg?width=640&quality=65&smartJake Doyle-Hayes has been the subject of interest from England and Italy
Most Popular

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimg/b25lY21zOjk3YmMyMWM0LWFjZWYtNDExNS1hNjgxLWExMTAxMT cyMmI4NDpmODAzYTI3Yi1mOTg1LTQ0M2MtOGU0Yy1jYTRjMThl ZTUwYTY=.jpg?crop=10:8,smart&width=200&quality=75Hearts update on Craig Halkett, Stephen Kingsley and Stephen Humphrys ahead of New Year Hibs derby

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimg/b25lY21zOmQ3NjgxMmI5LTlkOGEtNDMwZC05ZmMwLTBhNGZjNG I5OGUzYzoxMjhjZjhjNC0wOTM4LTQxNjQtYWNiNy01OTY4MWQ3 OGIxMTg=.png?crop=10:8,smart&width=200&quality=75Yutaro Oda's Hearts transfer approved as club await Japanese forward's arrival at Tynecastle

Doyle-Hayes hasn’t played for Hibs since mid-September after suffering an ankle injury, with his time on the sidelines extended when he suffered a ‘bit of a setback’ as he targeted a return to action.

“His injury was disappointing, particularly because I had a slight involvement in it which was bad and I feel extremely guilty about it. I probably shouldn’t but I do, because it was a pre-existing injury,” Johnson continued.

“He had a fragment of bone loose in his ankle that was agitating him a lot and then I slid in during training and he crumpled his foot a little bit as he went to shoot and it aggravated that bone, dislodged it a bit more, so he had it removed but he had a bit of a setback but now he’s in a good place."

Just_Jimmy
30-12-2022, 05:59 PM
I don't think he has been any more abysmal than the rest of our midfield.Exactly, and we've got an offer for him so bye.

There isn't a single player bar Boyle, Marshall and Nisbet I'd be in the slightest bit bothered about leaving.

I'd take an offer for any one of them, there's plenty I'd happily let go for nout.

The squad is too big, it's unbalanced and mostly full of utter dross.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

30-12-2022, 06:03 PM

For me he’s been the worst but that’s all subjective. I’ve mainly been someone who has defended Joe Newell for example but if an offer came in for him, I’d be glad to see him leave too.

Donegal Hibby
30-12-2022, 06:12 PM
Exactly, and we've got an offer for him so bye.

There isn't a single player bar Boyle, Marshall and Nisbet I'd be in the slightest bit bothered about leaving.

I'd take an offer for any one of them, there's plenty I'd happily let go for nout.

I'd add a few more along with Boyle , Marshall and Nisbet myself

Hibiza
30-12-2022, 06:36 PM
Just the usual shambles. LJ saying just a few weeks ago he was he was Looking forward to getting him back . JDH & LJ can go imho. What a mess.

30-12-2022, 06:40 PM
Me too. I’d like to have seen him in a three with Magennis and Campbell. I think taking Newell out of the team would have allowed JDH to prosper in the defensive midfield role and it’s a shame he’s never really been given the opportunity alongside Magennis.

My big issue with LJ is, despite the problems above him, he’s never got the midfield right and has persisted with Newell in the centre when he’s not got the attributes to play there.

At the beginning of last season we had a midfield 3 of Newell JDH and Magennis and were playing really well, creating chances that Magennis was converting a lot of his chances.
Magennis got injured, nobody was able to fill his boots and make the runs that Newell and JDH had been feeding to him.
These three have never all been fit together since but IMHO that trio is worth another go.

Whether that happens seems doubtful with the interest in JDH.

I’d like to keep JDH and bin Henderson, Campbell and Mitchell from our midfield options, well before him. However don’t see us getting fees for any of them

30-12-2022, 06:42 PM
Just the usual shambles. LJ saying just a few weeks ago he was he was Looking forward to getting him back . JDH & LJ can go imho. What a mess.

Shambles that a player not played for ages may want to leave

loanheadhibby
30-12-2022, 06:43 PM
Exactly, and we've got an offer for him so bye.

Completely agree with you.
I get slaughtered on here for suggesting Hanlon and Stevenson are finished and Cadden, Campbell and Newell are hopeless.
I wish more fans would have a look at the league table.
One prominent poster on here isn't interested in our position in December but I'm not so sure it'll get better in the short-term with the current dross.

30-12-2022, 06:43 PM

I can’t see us letting him leave if Johnson never wanted to.

Johnson is probably just being nice more than anything with the comments.

Interesting he has clubs in Italy after him too. Maybe the fee for him is more than we’d imagined and something Johnson thinks can be better used elsewhere?Me too.

But there's a guy out there who has been rattling them in for the Cook Islands subutteo team, we can sign him and his plastic base plus their goalkeeper on a long stick for a fraction of what we are paying JDH according to the recruitment team.

You heard it here first.

30-12-2022, 06:50 PM

He’s said the same about Mitchell on a few occasions too

30-12-2022, 06:56 PM

The problem we have is that we have loads of players on long, undeserved contracts. LJ can’t come out and publicly slaughter / say he wants rid when they may still be part of his squad going forward. We can’t force them out but unless we get them out we’re going to struggle to get others in. There is plenty to criticise LJ for but him speaking positively about players he may need to use isn’t one of them IMO. Managers talk pish about that type of thing all the time. Like when they never play a player but bang on about thinking he’s a good player etc.

Donegal Hibby
30-12-2022, 07:11 PM
I get slaughtered on here for suggesting Hanlon and Stevenson are finished and Cadden, Campbell and Newell are hopeless.
One prominent poster on here isn't interested in our position in December but I'm not so sure it'll get better in the short-term with the current dross.
It's all about opinions . Hanlon coming 33 and there's a lot of defenders older than this and still playing well at a high level , Stevenson older and still got plenty of stamina and is totally dependable. Both probably shouldn't be In the first team as much but make excellent , experienced substitutes imo . Cadden is a good player though being played out of position and would be very good as a right midfielder rather than a right back. Campbell is only 23 , 24 and is a much improved player who works his socks off . Newell is certainly not hopeless , inconsistent a lot but not hopeless. Maybe you would prefer haring and Devlin ? . I look at the league table regularly and I know we aren't were we would like to be but it's 38 games and I will judge us then . Once again you have seen a opportunity to be negative , I don't think since I've joined I've heard one positive remark about Hibs from you . The negativity is very soul destroying and I wish you'd just for once look at the positives which there are many imo

30-12-2022, 07:16 PM
It's all about opinions . Hanlon coming 33 and there's a lot of defenders older than this and still playing well at a high level , Stevenson older and still got plenty of stamina and is totally dependable. Both probably shouldn't be In the first team as much but make excellent , experienced substitutes imo . Cadden is a good player though being played out of position and would be very good as a right midfielder rather than a right back. Campbell is only 23 , 24 and is a much improved player who works his socks off . Newell is certainly not hopeless , inconsistent a lot but not hopeless. Maybe you would prefer haring and Devlin ? . I look at the league table regularly and I know we aren't were we would like to be but it's 38 games and I will judge us then . Once again you have seen a opportunity to be negative , I don't think since I've joined I've heard one positive remark about Hibs from you . The negativity is very soul destroying and I wish you'd just for once look at the positives which there are many imo

I wouldn’t have harring but wouldn’t say no to a player like devlin.

Definitely the kind of energy our midfield needs

It’s hard to make a case to keep a midfield who finished 8th last season over a midfield that finished 3rd

30-12-2022, 07:36 PM
Shambles that a player not played for ages may want to leave

We have a few that have a need to claim everything that happens at the club is a shambles.

It seems to me that a bit part player has a few clubs interested and the manager has said he's happy for him to leave and happy if he stays. Nothing sinister in that.

loanheadhibby
30-12-2022, 07:38 PM

Fair enough but I just don't see any positives.
We are 8th in the league for goodness sake.
Stop burying your head in the sand.

Hibees1973
30-12-2022, 07:52 PM
I'm not fussed about him going. At best he is average, although this is better than numerous players Ron's son has signed.

Wouldn't surprise me if Ron's son is putting the heat on JDH to go. The squad is massive, Johnson has said as much and just goes to show the ludicrous decision by the recruitment team to award him a 4 year deal just over a year ago.

davhibby
30-12-2022, 08:02 PM

It’s good man management. Who knows what LJ’s actual thoughts on JDH are but you may remember a time when Terry Butcher told most of our players what he thought of them 6 months before they would be going anywhere and look how that went.

It may in fact be the case that LJ does like him as a player but if he’s wanting to get some players in next month we need people to leave as the squad is far too big as it is. With the exception of probably about 4 players I don’t think there’s anyone that would be stopped from leaving if there’s interest in them.

Hibees1973
30-12-2022, 08:16 PM
'Good man management'

Not read that for a while on hibs.net when describing the goings on at Easter Road.

Donegal Hibby
30-12-2022, 08:25 PM
Fair enough but I just don't see any positives.
We are 8th in the league for goodness sake.
Stop burying your head in the sand.
We are 8th , 2 points of 4th , 5 points of third . Season's not over ! We are only half ways and there will be a few twists and turns yet in it . We have one of the best keepers in the league , Bushiri has been excellent , Nisbet's back from injury and scored a couple of goals and looking good , youan's had his best couple a games for us and looks good , January transfer window will hopefully help us to improve . Not burying my head in the sand and all ,I'm staying positive about things unlike you that's being away OTT with negativity, it can't be doing you any good btw . One of the first times I posted to you was when you posted negatively about Bushiri in a game were he was excellent and I think was man of the match though even in that instance of seeing the positives you went down the negative route of criticizing the player ! . I actually thought you were a jambo then though I know your not now . Not having a go at you btw you get enough of that even though at times I think you bring it on yourself abit . Anyhow try and cheer up mate 👍

30-12-2022, 08:28 PM

That’s not much of a defence of him.

Greenwich_Hibby
30-12-2022, 09:14 PM
Just more evidence that the manager is a complete slaver.

Donegal Hibby
30-12-2022, 09:16 PM
In what way ?

30-12-2022, 09:18 PM
We have a few that have a need to claim everything that happens at the club is a shambles.

It seems to me that a bit part player has a few clubs interested and the manager has said he's happy for him to leave and happy if he stays. Nothing sinister in that.

Agree a contant agenda with some

Greenwich_Hibby
30-12-2022, 09:20 PM
In what way ?

Needs to walk the talk and stop trying to be everyone's mate. When available, how did he deploy JDH?

30-12-2022, 09:23 PM
Needs to walk the talk and stop trying to be everyone's mate. When available, how did he deploy JDH?

Last month everyone was slagging him off for saying a few players would be moving on and the last time that happened was under Butcher which got us relegated

Everyone seems to over analyse every single thing and critique everything

30-12-2022, 09:25 PM
Last month everyone was slagging him off for saying a few players would be moving on and the last time that happened was under Butcher which got us relegated

Honestly don’t see the issue with what he’s said on JDH. Just playing the diplomatic, managerial game for me. Plenty to give Johnson stick for, but no this.

CB Hibs 68
30-12-2022, 09:27 PM

Agree totally.If when JDH leaves then he will soon be consigned Ito one of many who have played for Hibs who quite simply aren’t good enough

Greenwich_Hibby
30-12-2022, 09:28 PM
I just see a one trick pony manager, who can't change things during games and is a complete slaver, sorry. Great having ideals, but without the players to do it, completely pointless. This was also called out by another manager this week. I get recruitment has been poor, but again, he has been a slaver by backing those signings up, whether he made them or not.

30-12-2022, 09:29 PM
The interview reads very much like that the decision is up to JDH and that it’s not one that involves the manager thoughts in terms of whether he is his plans

JDH isn’t really good enough for a team that has aspirations for third place. Bland and pretty unconvincing overall, he’s very welcome to progress his career elsewhere.

CB Hibs 68
30-12-2022, 09:31 PM
Agree totally.If when JDH leaves then he will soon be consigned Ito one of many who have played for Hibs who quite simply aren’t good enough

Should also say that JD H is not alone.Most of Son of Ron’s signings fall into the same category..At least JDH scored a couple of goals .

30-12-2022, 09:34 PM

Yep some of the chat is horrific

30-12-2022, 09:53 PM
I just see a one trick pony manager, who can't change things during games and is a complete slaver, sorry. Great having ideals, but without the players to do it, completely pointless. This was also called out by another manager this week. I get recruitment has been poor, but again, he has been a slaver by backing those signings up, whether he made them or not.

We’ve come from behind on quite a few occaisions this season though? Surely must be capable of changing it.

Ange was brutal at first with Celtic and a lot thought he wouldn’t last. He spent money on players he trusted and would suit his style and now look at them. Ange refused to change his style even through a tough start because it’s what he believes in

Yes Johnson on paper signed a lot of players but I think some of his mistakes has been trusting some players too much, like Henderson who was a standout pre season

I expect a big switch in January with some big calls being made on players leaving and a couple of shrewd additions

Donegal Hibby
30-12-2022, 10:14 PM
I think he speaks well personally I'd much rather listen to him than Neilson, Goodwin or Martindale. He's actually came out and said the recruitment needs to be better maybe he's trusted it too much at the start . I agree that his ideals aren't fully working as of yet basically down to not having the right players which hopefully we will rectify in January. As for the manager Calling him out if you are referring to the Celtic manager he didn't call him out but said he knew what he was trying to do but he didn't have the players yet for it . Calling him a slaver for backing the players is harsh imo . Backing and encouraging them can only have a positive effect ( Campbell, Rocky , Youan )all much improved . Though maybe you think he should come out and condemn and tell them they are rubbish , that would really help moral and the unite the spirit in the group .

30-12-2022, 10:25 PM
Would it not be better for LJ and others at club not to say anything till a player has actually left ?

30-12-2022, 11:38 PM
Would it not be better for LJ and others at club not to say anything till a player has actually left ?

In the real world these things are always leaked from many angles not Hibs so I don’t see the issue with the manager putting some clarity on the situation personally.

30-12-2022, 11:39 PM

Aye nowt like some experts on Hibs.net 😂🙈

SunshineOn1875
30-12-2022, 11:46 PM
I’m glad he’s came out and said some of the players will be moving on. Some have overstayed their welcome, including Paul Hanlon, nice guy but there’s a reason nobody ever tried to sign him, same can be said for Stevenson as well, nice guy but time to pack your bags if we want to move forward as a club, as for Doidge, Daniel Mackay, Dylan Tait, Tavares, Bojang, Ryan Schofield, Chris Cadden, Demi Mitchell, Runar Hauge, Ewan Henderson and Aiden Mcgeady, Goodbye and don’t let the door whack you on the way out.

31-12-2022, 07:27 AM

How’s it shambolic if a club makes a decent offer for a player in the three period you mention?

31-12-2022, 07:40 AM
In the real world these things are always leaked from many angles not Hibs so I don’t see the issue with the manager putting some clarity on the situation personally.

Neither do I it would be stranger not to comment.

31-12-2022, 07:41 AM
I think he speaks well personally I'd much rather listen to him than Neilson, Goodwin or Martindale. He's actually came out and said the recruitment needs to be better maybe he's trusted it too much at the start . I agree that his ideals aren't fully working as of yet basically down to not having the right players which hopefully we will rectify in January. As for the manager Calling him out if you are referring to the Celtic manager he didn't call him out but said he knew what he was trying to do but he didn't have the players yet for it . Calling him a slaver for backing the players is harsh imo . Backing and encouraging them can only have a positive effect ( Campbell, Rocky , Youan )all much improved . Though maybe you think he should come out and condemn and tell them they are rubbish , that would really help moral and the unite the spirit in the group .

Good post totally agree quite like how he communicates obviously understands the game.

31-12-2022, 08:00 AM
If JDH is now fit he’d be in the squad if LJ wanted him.

Percy Vere
31-12-2022, 08:07 AM

Really dislike this sort of post. Calling players (human beings btw) and long standing servants of the club “hopeless” and “dross”. There are ways to talk about the team and the football constructively without resorting to derision and name calling. I’ve been a Hibs fan for a long time and in terms of players we operate in a difficult place. When we get a good one they will be gone sooner or later. When results are poor individuals get picked out for criticism. Sometimes completely justifiable often, especially on here, just venomous and nasty.
I’m a Hibs fan, I love it when we get it right, and I’m disappointed when we are losing and it’s hard to see a way out.
But I won’t resort to slagging off players who don’t go out there to lose or play badly. I’m a supporter come what may. All I’m saying is get behind players, criticise, express disappointment etc but without the horrible negative language.

31-12-2022, 08:09 AM
Really dislike this sort of post. Calling players (human beings btw) and long standing servants of the club “hopeless” and “dross”. There are ways to talk about the team and the football constructively without resorting to derision and name calling. I’ve been a Hibs fan for a long time and in terms of players we operate in a difficult place. When we get a good one they will be gone sooner or later. When results are poor individuals get picked out for criticism. Sometimes completely justifiable often, especially on here, just venomous and nasty.
I’m a Hibs fan, I love it when we get it right, and I’m disappointed when we are losing and it’s hard to see a way out.
But I won’t resort to slagging off players who don’t go out there to lose or play badly. I’m a supporter come what may. All I’m saying is get behind players, criticise, express disappointment etc but without the horrible negative language.

Completely agree unfortunately the person you are responding to isn't a Hibs fan. Best ignored

Green_one
31-12-2022, 08:27 AM
If JDH is now fit he’d be in the squad if LJ wanted him.

I agree. We all hope for a decent January window. So it makes sense to part with players not first choices, who will make room and release finances. Does make you wonder why he has about three years remaining on his contract.

I personally think we could clear out several players but what they want to do may prevent that. I would keep Hanlon and Stevenson. .

31-12-2022, 08:28 AM

Good post and sums up how I feel.

Some of the utter nonsense roasted about by the usual suspects is predictable and appalling at the same time. Dire individuals who’s main purpose on here is to cream themselves as they vent their bile. A reflection no doubt on their own miserable inadequacies.

sauzeelegod
31-12-2022, 09:10 AM
Completely agree unfortunately the person you are responding to isn't a Hibs fan. Best ignored

He’s not a Hibs fan cos he’s got a different view on things to you?
What’s he said that’s so wrong?

We are absolutely woeful right now.
Look at the league table.
We have lost 8 of our last 10 games!

How anyone can not be appalled at that is mind blowing.
These players have let us down time and time again.
Majority of them have got the last 2 managers the sack.

Most of these players aren’t good enough to play for Hibs if we have any ambition at all.

loanheadhibby
31-12-2022, 09:18 AM

And yet you continue to comment on every single post I put up. Flattered.

31-12-2022, 09:20 AM
He’s not a Hibs fan cos he’s got a different view on things to you?
What’s he said that’s so wrong?

We are absolutely woeful right now.
Look at the league table.
We have lost 8 of our last 10 games!

How anyone can not be appalled at that is mind blowing.
These players have let us down time and time again.
Majority of them have got the last 2 managers the sack.

Most of these players aren’t good enough to play for Hibs if we have any ambition at all.

No his relentless negativity is tortuous never has a good word about the club and goes missing when we win.

MKHIBEE
31-12-2022, 09:58 AM
First team football ?

Is he a vegan?

loanheadhibby
31-12-2022, 10:12 AM
No his relentless negativity is tortuous never has a good word about the club and goes missing when we win.

Flattered again Jim.

Why not actually add something to the debate rather than bully people?

31-12-2022, 10:13 AM
Maybe it’s as simple as we can’t turn our nose up at anyone generating interest, particularly our midfielders. If it’s through choice though I don’t see why we’re moving JDH on and not Newell.

A midfield of JDH, Campbell & Magennis is the best midfield we have IMO. Far from perfect but the least one paced, has the most drive and players running ahead of the ball IMO. I don’t have any issues with JDH moving on in itself but he adds more to the midfield and compliments Magennis and Campbell better than Newell & Henderson do IMO.

31-12-2022, 10:25 AM
Flattered again Jim.

Why not actually add something to the debate rather than bully people?

Why don’t you have a look at your posting history, it’s unbelievable.

There’s no debate there, just relentless negativity.

31-12-2022, 10:55 AM
Why don’t you have a look at your posting history, it’s unbelievable.

There’s no debate there, just relentless negativity.

best ignored

31-12-2022, 12:34 PM
Maybe loanheadhibby is over negative, but as a glass half empty person myself I’m not going to give him a hard time for his views. I’m finding it pretty difficult to work up any enthusiasm for Hibs at present and I’ve supported us for 50 years so it’s not as if I haven’t seen us in a worse state.

I can’t stand the manager, there are very few players in our squad I feel any affinity towards and our recruitment is a total mess. I have a season ticket, I know I’ll renew but it’s another season where I’m really not enjoying watching us and have stopped attending ER.

31-12-2022, 12:38 PM
It wouldn't surprise me if the club can see that the vision they have of sign young and sell for big money is flawed, and this is them trying to recoup some money anyway they can?

Tully
31-12-2022, 12:49 PM
Anyone heard that the dressing room is not a happy place? Asking for a friend

31-12-2022, 12:50 PM
It wouldn't surprise me if the club can see that the vision they have of sign young and sell for big money is flawed, and this is them trying to recoup some money anyway they can?

I don’t think the vision is flawed we’ve just went all in with it imo, more of a balance was required.

I’m not surprised we are looking to move on players. I’ve heard from more than one person that we blew the budget in the summer bringing back Boyle. We need to get creative to bring in players this coming window.

31-12-2022, 12:51 PM

31-12-2022, 12:52 PM

31-12-2022, 12:55 PM

It won’t be with us being so pish.

They certainly don’t look like they have any spirit about them.

31-12-2022, 12:56 PM
It won’t be with us being so pish.

They certainly don’t look like they have any spirit about them.

Players need to take some responsibility, starting Monday and get stuck into them clowns.

31-12-2022, 12:59 PM

I’m still hearing the opposite.

31-12-2022, 01:01 PM
Players need to take some responsibility, starting Monday and get stuck into them clowns.

Agree. With the same core group of players that have seen off two managers in a year, I have my doubt though. Much easier to trundle along and let other folk take the consequences.

31-12-2022, 01:07 PM
Agree. With the same core group of players that have seen off two managers in a year, I have my doubt though. Much easier to trundle along and let other folk take the consequences.

The only statement that puts the fear into me!! I really do think this is the case and if they cannot put in a performance to match the fan's expectations, then none of them deserve to be at ER!

31-12-2022, 01:10 PM

I’d be worried if it was a happy place while on a run on 8 defeats in 10 games.

Bridge hibs
31-12-2022, 01:19 PM
Anyone heard that the dressing room is not a happy place? Asking for a friendQuite ****ing right too, they should be raging at how the season is panning out, hopefully a few home truths getting thrown about

31-12-2022, 01:22 PM

If they don't like it they know where the door is.

31-12-2022, 01:35 PM

Which one? East Mains or Easter Road? Can we ask the architect what they were thinking and maybe give it a repaint in nicer colours or fit a new happier carpet?

Tully
31-12-2022, 05:40 PM
Which one? East Mains or Easter Road? Can we ask the architect what they were thinking and maybe give it a repaint in nicer colours or fit a new happier carpet?

Or maybe take the wasters out there comfort zone and start letting them use a mini bus and train amongst the dug***** thats lying about the jack kane centre, if this shower don't show up on Monday this place will explode

31-12-2022, 05:47 PM
Or maybe take the wasters out there comfort zone and start letting them use a mini bus and train amongst the dug***** thats lying about the jack kane centre, if this shower don't show up on Monday this place will explodeI once slid on a dug ***** playing football at the Jack Kane, all over my new Puma Dalglish Silvers.

I was never the same player again.

loanheadhibby
31-12-2022, 05:56 PM

Nope but I’d be pretty disappointed if the dressing room was a happy place. 2 wins out of 10 tells you it’s not a happy place.

When the team is struggling, you always get these types of stories. I bet it was a happy place when we had 4 wins in a row.

The only people that can change the atmosphere in the changing rooms are the players getting their collective finger out.

One things for sure, the away end will be rocking from minute 1 on Monday. It’s time the players delivered.

Hibees1973
31-12-2022, 06:09 PM
JDH must have some agent.

These rumours about several clubs and some Italian side being interested in him.

31-12-2022, 06:35 PM
Just looking at Arteta's first 19 games in charge of Arsenal in the League. He managed 29 points compared to LJ's 23. He is doing pretty well now though and if Arsenal had been trigger happy then he may well have been shown the door too.

31-12-2022, 06:39 PM
Just looking at Arteta's first 19 games in charge of Arsenal in the League. He managed 29 points compared to LJ's 23. He is doing pretty well now though and if Arsenal had been trigger happy then he may well have been shown the door too.

He also had an FA Cup in the bag in his first season which bought him a bit of time. They collapsed a wee bit at the end of last season to throw away a top four place but they’ve generally shown constant signs of improvement with him bringing through the likes of Saka, Martinelli and so on.

Time needs to be earned, not just given. I think LJ has as much as admitted that in with some of his comments about the game on Monday that I was reading.

loanheadhibby
31-12-2022, 07:01 PM
He also had an FA Cup in the bag in his first season which bought him a bit of time. They collapsed a wee bit at the end of last season to throw away a top four place but they’ve generally shown constant signs of improvement with him bringing through the likes of Saka, Martinelli and so on.

Time needs to be earned, not just given. I think LJ has as much as admitted that in with some of his comments about the game on Monday that I was reading.

Time does need to be earned. If LJ had been more successful in getting us through a few rounds of league cup, he might have had a bit more leeway

31-12-2022, 07:12 PM

Looking at the previous 19 games before Arteta took over they were only a couple of points different than his record. LJ has 4 more points that the last 19 games of the previous season so I dare say he has improved league points more than Arteta did in the same period. He needs at least this window and the chance for any signings to bed in. If we are not in any danger of relegation at that point I would give him another window. He reminds me a bit of Heck. Perhaps he may have initially misjudged the league or what could be achieved with the players he inherited and brought in. That doesn't necessarily mean he isn't a good manager and I have no confidence of getting anyone better anyway

Donegal Hibby
31-12-2022, 07:17 PM
Another example of giving a manager time is Sir Alex Ferguson. Fergie's 2nd full season in charge they finished a disappointing 11th place , the next campaign started much better though despite some hefty signings Mike Phelan , Paul Ince , Gary Pallister , Utd floundered suffering a early season run of 6 losses , 2 draws in 8 games indeed a banner stating " three years of excuses and it's still crap ••• TA RA FERGIE " was unfurled at Old Trafford with many calling for fergie to lose his job . Bet they aren't half glad now he didn't get the sack ? Fergie himself as stated that any manager in the game needs time !

31-12-2022, 08:39 PM
Looking at the previous 19 games before Arteta took over they were only a couple of points different than his record. LJ has 4 more points that the last 19 games of the previous season so I dare say he has improved league points more than Arteta did in the same period. He needs at least this window and the chance for any signings to bed in. If we are not in any danger of relegation at that point I would give him another window. He reminds me a bit of Heck. Perhaps he may have initially misjudged the league or what could be achieved with the players he inherited and brought in. That doesn't necessarily mean he isn't a good manager and I have no confidence of getting anyone better anyway

I’m not sure there’s all that many parallels between Arteta and Johnson. Arteta inherited a mess, made slow progress, but offset against that slow progress he built the core of a young team to move forward with and was ruthless in casting out some of the big name players like Ozil and Aubameyang. As well as an early FA cup win his young team have continued to get better, despite set backs like bottling 4th last season.

Johnson hasn’t done anything radical, other than try Porteous in midfield before he leaves, and persist with undropables like Hanlon & Newell, as well as us back with Stevenson as our left back. I don’t wholly blame Johnson, but we’re not any better off, yet, from when he arrived in terms of identity, core of the team, youth being blooded etc etc IMO

Hibeesforever
31-12-2022, 09:59 PM
I would give the young players a go, only way to see if they have the goods and they can't do any worse!

31-12-2022, 10:19 PM
It wasn’t that long ago there were a lot of Campbell, JDH and Newell can’t play together threads on here.

They had a few shockers together.

Felt there was a player in JDH but a St Mirren friend told me he would stay with us 2 season then want to move.

I don’t have an issue with us moving him on but the worry is the replacements.

We are already short in midfield and if he goes then we need x2 more ?

Donegal Hibby
31-12-2022, 10:45 PM
It wasn’t that long ago there were a lot of Campbell, JDH and Newell can’t play together threads on here.

They had a few shockers together.

Felt there was a player in JDH but a St Mirren friend told me he would stay with us 2 season then want to move.

I don’t have an issue with us moving him on but the worry is the replacements.

We are already short in midfield and if he goes then we need x2 more ?
All our midfielders are fairly good players though I've thought for a long time now the balance isn't right and won't be upset to see JDH move on and I'd like to see Henderson move as well. The worry about replacements I would have as well but Ive just this feeling Johnson knows what he needs now and we will see a couple of good signings in January

01-01-2023, 01:04 AM
All our midfielders are fairly good players though I've thought for a long time now the balance isn't right and won't be upset to see JDH move on and I'd like to see Henderson move as well. The worry about replacements I would have as well but Ive just this feeling Johnson knows what he needs now and we will see a couple of good signings in January

I think that too (about the balance) but nobody who comes in seems to change it. Maybe those who have come in have just not been good enough, or the wrong type of player?

Interesting that even Postecoglu made the point about Johnson needing to get the players in to play the way he wants to play. I know Johnson made pretty positive noises about working with our midfielders over the summer, it would be interesting to know how he wants to play and how the midfielders he’ll need to do so will differ from our current ones.

01-01-2023, 02:54 AM
All our midfielders are fairly good players

No they’re no

01-01-2023, 09:05 AM
No they’re no

At mid table level they are.

01-01-2023, 03:22 PM
I would give the young players a go, only way to see if they have the goods and they can't do any worse!

People regularly said the same about our U20 full backs Black and Baptie when Butcher was manager. One is now at Cowdenbeath and the other at Penicuik Athletic, they probably were a lot worse.

chippy
01-01-2023, 03:28 PM
People regularly said the same about our U20 full backs Black and Baptie when Butcher was manager. One is now at Cowdenbeath and the other at Penicuik Athletic, they probably were a lot worse.
If they’re that crap why would they still be with us

01-01-2023, 03:36 PM

I didn’t say they were crap.

loanheadhibby
01-01-2023, 04:05 PM

It’s a huge step up to 1st team. If we get 1 regular out of current crop it will be brilliant. Only really Porto stepped up from last good team we had. Mackie played a few games but it’s a big ask for the young lads.

01-01-2023, 07:33 PM
It’s a huge step up to 1st team. If we get 1 regular out of current crop it will be brilliant. Only really Porto stepped up from last good team we had. Mackie played a few games but it’s a big ask for the young lads.
Josh

chippy
01-01-2023, 07:44 PM

Porto , Doig and Campbell actually . We won’t know if they’re any good unless they’re given a shot. A sub here and there for 20 mins . Would that have made a difference Vs Celtic? We’re short of a right winger with pace- O’Connor has it. Midfield is dross , give Aiken and Hamilton a shot. Megwa at RB looks ready

loanheadhibby
01-01-2023, 07:44 PM
Josh

Apologies, forgot about Josh.

Just shows how difficult it is to make step up. Porteous, Doig, Campbell in the last 5 years. So off the 11 guys, might be lucky and get 2.

The best batch was obviously Brown/Whittaker/Thomson/Riordan/O’Connor.

Fingers crossed 4 or 5 of them can make it tho.

chippy
01-01-2023, 07:47 PM

Just shows how difficult it is to make step up. Porteous, Doig, Campbell in the last 5 years. So off the 11 guys, might be lucky and get 2.

Jonathan Baillie too would have made it but got crocked

01-01-2023, 08:23 PM

The lack of Hibs is my worry right now.

loanheadhibby
01-01-2023, 08:33 PM
The lack of Hibs is my worry right now.

I think that’s why he’ll start Josh, Paul & Lewis tomorrow.

A big ask for us but stranger things have happened.

01-01-2023, 08:45 PM
I think that’s why he’ll start Josh, Paul & Lewis tomorrow.

A big ask for us but stranger things have happened.

Those 3 will still be the hardest workers in training. Yes 2 need replaced but we’ve been **** at that for the last 5 years. Those boys really want to win. And Porto but he’s out.