View Full Version : Tony Mowbray

Hibees1973
29-12-2022, 09:27 PM
See Mowbray has Sunderland playing attractive football and scoring plenty of goals.

What a dream it would have been to have got him back at Easter Road.

I'd go along to watch Hibs with expectation rather than dread as is at present.

Stokesy's on fire
29-12-2022, 10:10 PM
See Mowbray has Sunderland playing attractive football and scoring plenty of goals.

What a dream it would have been to have got him back at Easter Road.

I'd go along to watch Hibs with expectation rather than dread as is at present.

Sunderland are a joy to watch. A club on the up and so they should be. The Lad Cirkin looks a real talent.

29-12-2022, 10:15 PM
Simms, Stewart, Diallo and Roberts all scored today and all with experience in Scottish football.

I loved Mowbray's time at Hibs, although I also found it deeply frustrating that we didn't achieve more given the players at our disposal.

But the football was sensational and I thought highly of him as a person.

Really pleased to see him doing well and would love to see him lead Sunderland in the EPL.

HendoDelivered
29-12-2022, 10:18 PM
Class manager.

Auckland Hibs
29-12-2022, 10:43 PM
Great manager, always tries to play attractive football which sometimes doesn't get the right results.

Probably my favorite Hibs manager, absolutely loved it when he was at ER - we should have achieved more with him at the helm.

h1bs4life
30-12-2022, 08:17 AM
Great manager, always tries to play attractive football which sometimes doesn't get the right results.

Probably my favorite Hibs manager, absolutely loved it when he was at ER - we should have achieved more with him at the helm.

Was a very good manager for us but find it difficult to forgive him for giving Zibbi a 3 year contract just as he was leaving

30-12-2022, 08:18 AM
Once he hits the Sunderland revolving door he'll be spat out at Hibs.

Alfiembra
30-12-2022, 08:25 AM
At the time he was appointed we were his first step into management and reading a newspaper article he did on what he hoped to achieve at Hibs and his footballing philosophy in general. I remember thinking Wow! This guy genuinely got me excited to see what he could do for the club and wasn’t disappointed.

30-12-2022, 08:32 AM
Still has Mark Venus as his assistant. They made a great management team here and continue to do so. Would have them back in a heartbeat.

30-12-2022, 09:32 AM
Was a very good manager for us but find it difficult to forgive him for giving Zibbi a 3 year contract just as he was leaving

Is this for real?

I'd give Rudi ****ing Skatcel a 10 year contract to finish 3rd and 4th playing the way Tony Mowbray did.

30-12-2022, 09:42 AM
The right man at the right time. My favourite period following Hibs.

Part of me does wonder if lighting could strike twice with the success of our current U19s…

30-12-2022, 10:08 AM
I have no idea if he would have been remotely interested but I said in the summer when it was clear he was leaving Blackburn that we should at least have asked the question.

A manager of that quality isn't often out of work and potentially available.

30-12-2022, 10:14 AM
He got lucky with the young squad he inherited.

I'm not saying I didn't enjoy that time but there was plenty rubbish results under his tenure as well

30-12-2022, 10:14 AM
I have no idea if he would have been remotely interested but I said in the summer when it was clear he was leaving Blackburn that we should at least have asked the question.

A manager of that quality isn't often out of work and potentially available.

At the time , he made it clear publicly that he wanted to stay in England …when he was asked the question by a journo

30-12-2022, 10:29 AM

I'm not saying I didn't enjoy that time but there was plenty rubbish results under his tenure as well

Surely his very good managerial career since has proven he did not get lucky.

There will always be plenty of rubbish results with any Hibs manager. Ask Eddie Turnbull. There is nothing lucky about what Mowbray achieved.

30-12-2022, 10:31 AM
I like Sunderland and I’m glad Mowbray has them playing well. What a period that was for us.

Paulie Walnuts
30-12-2022, 10:32 AM
Great manager.

Trinity Hibee
30-12-2022, 10:43 AM

Can’t agree there. The fact I’ve never seen a Hibs team play football like that team before or after his spell says it all.

Cardinal G
30-12-2022, 11:00 AM
I like Sunderland and I’m glad Mowbray has them playing well. What a period that was for us.

With having a season ticket at both clubs I find it like chalk and cheese watching them both at the moment. I was up wednesday and at Wigan last night and yes it was a relegation threatened team but we were at times a joy to watch, if you haven't seen Amad Diallo score his 4th try to catch it, it was a belter. He has in all honesty inherited a good squad from Alex Neil but his philosophy of attractive football is clear to see, he has on a few occasions been out thought but in the main is doing a great job, if only I could say the same about LJ.

Daniel 1875
30-12-2022, 11:10 AM
Sunderland are great to watch this season. Lots of young, exciting players in their squad and Mowbray has them playing on the front foot and scoring plenty of goals.

30-12-2022, 12:27 PM
With having a season ticket at both clubs I find it like chalk and cheese watching them both at the moment. I was up wednesday and at Wigan last night and yes it was a relegation threatened team but we were at times a joy to watch, if you haven't seen Amad Diallo score his 4th try to catch it, it was a belter. He has in all honesty inherited a good squad from Alex Neil but his philosophy of attractive football is clear to see, he has on a few occasions been out thought but in the main is doing a great job, if only I could say the same about LJ.

The big difference perhaps being Lee Johnson inherited a mess.

30-12-2022, 12:34 PM
The big difference perhaps being Lee Johnson inherited a mess.

That’s a fair comment.
During his time at Hibs Mowbray had us playing some of the best football I have seen us produce but he did inherit the golden generation. I’m not so sure he could do much more with what we have right now than LJ has managed.

30-12-2022, 12:39 PM
That’s a fair comment.
During his time at Hibs Mowbray had us playing some of the best football I have seen us produce but he did inherit the golden generation. I’m not so sure he could do much more with what we have right now than LJ has managed.

I think Mowbray would have insisted on some proper experience, though. Down the middle of the team. I think if Lee had done that, we'd have more points on the board. Put McGregor next to Porteous, and a younger Mark Milligan type next to Newell/Magennis and we're probably laughing. Tbh, Johnson has made similar mistakes to Mowbray did 17 years ago, without Riordan to bail him out really.

30-12-2022, 01:56 PM
Is that Diallo who was at Rangers last season ?

h1bs4life
30-12-2022, 02:34 PM
Is this for real?

I'd give Rudi ****ing Skatcel a 10 year contract to finish 3rd and 4th playing the way Tony Mowbray did.

Of course it is real , did you actually read it.
Said he was a very good manager could have been better if he sorted out the goalkeeping situation .
After all Zibi's #### ups what possessed him to offer him a 3 year deal.
You bash on offering Skacel etc 10 years contracts.
Mowbray inherited some decent young players and help mold them into good players Johnson has inherited a lot of crap from previous managers.

Daniel 1875
30-12-2022, 02:38 PM

Yeah - he’s like a different player for Sunderland this season.

Cardinal G
30-12-2022, 06:03 PM
Aye it is, on fire at the moment.

30-12-2022, 06:07 PM
Good manager but unfortunately some drubbings by Hearts. If Twitter was around then he'd have been hounded out.

30-12-2022, 06:09 PM
Surely his very good managerial career since has proven he did not get lucky.

There will always be plenty of rubbish results with any Hibs manager. Ask Eddie Turnbull. There is nothing lucky about what Mowbray achieved.

A very good managerial career? He has had a decent career yip but his highest win % has been celtic where it was only 51%, that being said he would be an upgrade for us just now

30-12-2022, 06:14 PM

Finished 3rd then 4th when Hearts had a ridiculous budget.

Wasn’t that lucky either, Whittaker didn’t have a position when Mowbray came in. GOC had been poor the prior season.

Signed incredibly well with likes of Murphy, Boozy, Shiels, Sproule, Jones. Not lucky in the slightest

30-12-2022, 06:15 PM
A very good managerial career? He has had a decent career yip but his highest win % has been celtic where it was only 51%, that being said he would be an upgrade for us just now

What win % do you expect a WBA manager to have in the EPL? Or a Blackburn side who are probably 12th or 13th in terms of budget?

Win % in isolation is totally meaningless

30-12-2022, 06:17 PM
What win % do you expect a WBA manager to have in the EPL? Or a Blackburn side who are probably 12th or 13th in terms of budget?

Win % in isolation is totally meaningless

Were WBA not in the championship when he was there? I don't know what Blackburn budget is so can't comment

Edit- his first season they were in the championship but got them promoted next so I suppose that's an ok achievement!!

30-12-2022, 06:23 PM
I think people underestimate the job Mowbray did here.

When he came in did anyone think Brown, O'Connor, Riordan, Thomson, Whittaker etc were as good as they proved to be? We finished 8th the previous season, lost 16 games and had a goal difference of minus 19. People were well and truly hacked off with Williamson's team and there was general delight when he ****ed off to Plymouth. Did anyone think offloading Grant Brebner and replacing him with some unknown French dude was a good move? There was a lot of anger when Brebner was punted to Dundee Utd.

The following season we finished 3rd, had a goal difference of +7 and, won 7 more games, lost 3 fewer and amassed 19 more points. He inherited some good players but he added a few of his own and was a huge part in a mediocre team becoming one of the best I have seen at Hibs.

I remember watching us lose 1-0 to Kilmarnock and being absolutely buzzing. It was just so obvious we were on the right path. I was up at Aberdeen a few weeks later, we won 1-0, Riordan scored a screamer and that was the day I knew my instinct was correct.

Hibiza
30-12-2022, 06:31 PM
Play with all the stats you like , Mowbray was special with us.

31-12-2022, 09:34 AM
Play with all the stats you like , Mowbray was special with us.

Certainly was. Excellent entertainment and style of play.

31-12-2022, 09:52 AM
Mowbray most exciting style of football I have seen and i was lucky to see McLeish team that came third with le god and Latapy.

There was just something special about mowbray maybe because they were all younger lads and played with more freedom. A few thumpings across the road in his time but we also handed out a fair few. His signings were sensational

Murphy
Boozy
Sproule
Rocastle who we missed once he left

Great time to be a hibs fan

31-12-2022, 09:59 AM
Was great for Hibs as we were for him. As above, had a good eye for a player but not a goalkeeper which was our Achilles heel. Did an outstanding job and got us excited again.

31-12-2022, 10:04 AM
I enjoyed our time under Mowbray but I didn't like our inability to hold on to a lead in the last 10 minutes of games.

I think we dropped 13 points one season from losing late goals.

31-12-2022, 10:06 AM
Mowbray had very clear ideas on how football should be played and the players bought into that and understood that. Bobby Williamson would have had the same players had he stayed on,but there's not a chance in hell that he would have achieved the same. Never looked forwards to Saturdays so much at any other time.

31-12-2022, 10:38 AM
Is this for real?

His keeper choices for us were poor. Did seem to be a bit of a weak spot back then. Zibi and Simon ****ing Brown 🙄

Bridge hibs
31-12-2022, 11:39 AM
His keeper choices for us were poor. Did seem to be a bit of a weak spot back then. Zibi and Simon ****ing Brown 🙄Im sure it was the highly spoken of John Park who scouted Zibi when he was playing for Feyenoord (1 game so must have been reserves) and recommended him to Mowbray, Simon Brown I cant answer for 😀

31-12-2022, 11:44 AM
Simms recalled to Everton.

31-12-2022, 11:44 AM
Im sure it was the highly spoken of John Park who scouted Zibi when he was playing for Feyenoord (1 game so must have been reserves) and recommended him to Mowbray, Simon Brown I cant answer for 😀

Zibi at least had something about him. It's not something many will be inclined to remember but he had a lot of good games for us and had a decent career after he moved on. His confidence was absolutely shot by the end and the fact so many of his high profile errors happened in derbies will always count against him.

Brown was just utter pish. An overweight, cumbersome joke of a keeper. Ironically though he did pull off probably the best save I have ever seen live V Rangers in the 0-3 Scottish Cup win.

Bridge hibs
31-12-2022, 11:48 AM
Zibi at least had something about him. It's not something many will be inclined to remember but he had a lot of good games for us and had a decent career after he moved on. His confidence was absolutely shot by the end and the fact so many of his high profile errors happened in derbies will always count against him.

Brown was just utter pish. An overweight, cumbersome joke of a keeper. Ironically though he did pull off probably the best save I have ever seen live V Rangers in the 0-3 Scottish Cup win.Im sure Zibi pulled off a couple of cracking saves at Ibrox prior too us trouncing them 0-3 although the auld brain matter could be a bit clouded and I could be wrong, but Im sure I saw him make a couple of excellent saves and maybe even have started a move that led to one of the goals

Bridge hibs
31-12-2022, 11:50 AM
Simms recalled to Everton.Thats a blow to Sunderland, just as well they have Stewart back in goalscoring form

31-12-2022, 12:27 PM

When he came in did anyone think Brown, O'Connor, Riordan, Thomson, Whittaker etc were as good as they proved to be? We finished 8th the previous season, lost 16 games and had a goal difference of minus 19. People were well and truly hacked off with Williamson's team and there was general delight when he ****ed off to Plymouth. Did anyone think offloading Grant Brebner and replacing him with some unknown French dude was a good move? There was a lot of anger when Brebner was punted to Dundee Utd.

The following season we finished 3rd, had a goal difference of +7 and, won 7 more games, lost 3 fewer and amassed 19 more points. He inherited some good players but he added a few of his own and was a huge part in a mediocre team becoming one of the best I have seen at Hibs.

I remember watching us lose 1-0 to Kilmarnock and being absolutely buzzing. It was just so obvious we were on the right path. I was up at Aberdeen a few weeks later, we won 1-0, Riordan scored a screamer and that was the day I knew my instinct was correct.

I think that was a Boyd goal that chocolate wrists Simon Brown failed to save, 1st game of the season. We drove home after that match amazed at the change in style and football.

I think that period was when Lancashire Hibs were at their biggest, cars were no longer big enough, it was either the train of bus that was needed because of the amount of folk who were impressed by Mowbray's team.

That period under him was just so exciting, yes we took a few pumping's, but we also handed them out, and we feared nobody.

31-12-2022, 12:45 PM
I'd imagine the wages he gets at Sunderland are way out of our league

hibstag
01-01-2023, 10:13 AM

Yep at the Killie game O’Connor chased down their back 4 after just missing the through ball I thought somethings changed there. The team picked up his philosophy quickly. The signing’s of youth players he’d encountered from the English youth system helped too..

Hibs4185
01-01-2023, 10:16 AM
I loved Tony Mowbray but on his return with Celtic, only a few games after he left, Hibs should’ve won the game but either drew or got beat and he got all the Celtic players into a huddle infront of the terracing.

I thought it was hugely disrespectful and I’ve never liked him since.

01-01-2023, 10:44 AM
His Sunderland side are 29/20 to beat a brootle Blackpool team today

01-01-2023, 11:09 AM
I loved Tony Mowbray but on his return with Celtic, only a few games after he left, Hibs should’ve won the game but either drew or got beat and he got all the Celtic players into a huddle infront of the terracing.

I thought it was hugely disrespectful and I’ve never liked him since.

I think we took something from the game, iirc, mcgeady was booked for diving when challenged by Paul hanlon, and Mowbray went mental, and after the game when interviewed on tv, came close to accusing the ref of cheating, and maybe had a dig at hanlon as well. The interviewer had a screen right beside him and urged him to watch the incident (as Mowbray claimed he’d not seen it back), which TM refused to do, even when they started playing it he purposely refused to look at the screen, and kept ranting about it.

have to say I found his actions that day, including leading a huddle after the game on the pitch, as disrespectful and unnecessary, and ultimately playing to the Celtic gallery to ingratiate himself.

Paulie Walnuts
01-01-2023, 11:23 AM
Remember the 4-2 game at home to Killie?

2-0 down at half time and I don’t think anyone in the stadium thought we were beat.

Hibs under Mowbray were everything i’d love to see again.

01-01-2023, 11:24 AM
I think we took something from the game, iirc, mcgeady was booked for diving when challenged by Paul hanlon, and Mowbray went mental, and after the game when interviewed on tv, came close to accusing the ref of cheating, and maybe had a dig at hanlon as well. The interviewer had a screen right beside him and urged him to watch the incident (as Mowbray claimed he’d not seen it back), which TM refused to do, even when they started playing it he purposely refused to look at the screen, and kept ranting about it.

have to say I found his actions that day, including leading a huddle after the game on the pitch, as disrespectful and unnecessary, and ultimately playing to the Celtic gallery to ingratiate himself.

If I remember correctly, McGeady's blatant dive was in front of the dug outs as well.

01-01-2023, 11:35 AM

He let himself down badly that day but iirc he was man under pressure, struggling a bit with the nature of the Celtic job.

Enough was stuck in the positive column years before that by him that I can see fit to find a bit of forgiveness though.

Lendo
01-01-2023, 11:53 AM
Finished 3rd then 4th when Hearts had a ridiculous budget.

Wasn’t that lucky either, Whittaker didn’t have a position when Mowbray came in. GOC had been poor the prior season.

Signed incredibly well with likes of Murphy, Boozy, Shiels, Sproule, Jones. Not lucky in the slightest

Good comment. I think it’s easy to forget about some of Mowbray’s signing successes as people’s memories naturally just go straight to Riordan, Brown, Thomson and O’Connor for that period of time.

01-01-2023, 12:09 PM

Mcgeady was sent off for a 2nd booking for the dive

Celtc won 1-0

CL0762
01-01-2023, 12:14 PM
As a 12/13 year old watching Hibs at that time was amazing.

We played Celtic away around December time & got beaten 2-1 but I remember how good we were that day, Rocastle in particular was absolutely outstanding.

01-01-2023, 12:22 PM
As a 12/13 year old watching Hibs at that time was amazing.

We played Celtic away around December time & got beaten 2-1 but I remember how good we were that day, Rocastle in particular was absolutely outstanding.

I remember meeting a few mates from home to go to a Beastie Boys concert in Glasgow the same day as we'd played Celtic at Parkhead and they were pretty surprised at how buzzing we were coming away from a game where Hibs had been beaten.

It may well have been the game to which you refer, which I remember being a really positive performance that augured well for the future. We might well have beaten them the next time we played there.

Good times.

01-01-2023, 01:18 PM

2-0 down at half time and I don’t think anyone in the stadium thought we were beat.

Was at this game and we were brilliant in the second half blew killie away. Oh I wish we had players like that now.

01-01-2023, 01:20 PM
He let himself down badly that day but iirc he was man under pressure, struggling a bit with the nature of the Celtic job.

Enough was stuck in the positive column years before that by him that I can see fit to find a bit of forgiveness though.

yeah over the piece he did far more positive here than that match afterwards, it was certainly a time when we all looked forward to matches, and one thing you were rarely going to see was a boring 0-0, and even if you did get a 0-0, the football was worth the watching.

SiinDubai
01-01-2023, 01:57 PM
Just named a 15 year old on the bench for today’s game

CL0762
01-01-2023, 02:01 PM
I remember meeting a few mates from home to go to a Beastie Boys concert in Glasgow the same day as we'd played Celtic at Parkhead and they were pretty surprised at how buzzing we were coming away from a game where Hibs had been beaten.

It may well have been the game to which you refer, which I remember being a really positive performance that augured well for the future. We might well have beaten them the next time we played there.

Good times.

Aye the next game was the 3-1 when Sproule & Brown scored in the second half, Konte absolutely ragdolled Balde that day.

01-01-2023, 02:58 PM

I also remember the Dundee game at Easter Road.

At 4-1 up with 25 minutes left, no-one in the stadium thought we'd drop 2 points! :wink:

nickwhibs
01-01-2023, 03:01 PM

At 4-1 up with 25 minutes left, no-one in the stadium thought we'd drop 2 points! :wink:

That was the game where Riordan scored a belter of a volley to make it 5 but was wrongly chalked off.

01-01-2023, 03:06 PM
That was the game where Riordan scored a belter of a volley to make it 5 but was wrongly chalked off.

Wrongly ruled offside for 5-1 then we completely capitulated

01-01-2023, 03:13 PM

Wrongly ruled offside for 5-1 then we completely capitulated

Tbh, Dundee scored a couple of brilliant finishes in very quick succession IIRC. Wasn't a whole lot we could've done.

Stonewall
01-01-2023, 03:17 PM

As we were leaving the ground my mate said to me "For ****s sake, only Hibs: 5-1 up and we drew 4 all"

01-01-2023, 05:43 PM
As we were leaving the ground my mate said to me "For ****s sake, only Hibs: 5-1 up and we drew 4 all"
Cost me my bet that day as waiting on hibs and 4-1 up for fifty odd quid ( a few bob back then, also a few bob now) and hibs muck it up as usual.

01-01-2023, 06:16 PM
The Dundee match was first after Gordon Smith's death. First half wasn't much. There was a tribute at half time. Second half was like he was directing it. I don't believe in that stuff, but it was so apt. Easy to say almost 20 years later, right enough, because I was raging at losing a 4-1 lead the time!

Mowbray served up some spectacular stuff for us. Away from the big skelps handed out, wins at ER against Dunfermline and Aberdeen (were they back to back?) in a December (04 or 05?) stick out for me. Real grit and late winners. Basically, "if you're coming to ER, you're getting beat". That's the absolute minimum our club should be delivering.

Three really sore ones away from ER against hearts though. All of those stick out as really, really bad results and I wonder if TM's limitations were shown out then. I mind when there was fan chat of the 06 semi being played at Murrayfield he over-reacted, pretty much saying hearts had an inbuilt advantage if it was played there. What if SFA had put it at Murrayfield? How do you motivate the team after that?

I actually thought we were starting to tread water by the time he left (oh, god, what would I give for treading water just now!!!). Don't know if it was down to funding but we seemed to be going backwards a bit.

But maybe that was because Mowbray gave us a glimpse of the woken giant and my expectations followed. Brilliant times.

Hibees expect.

01-01-2023, 08:00 PM
Tbh, Dundee scored a couple of brilliant finishes in very quick succession IIRC. Wasn't a whole lot we could've done.

Sure that was the day Jim Duffy said Hibs played like Brazil.

It was another one of those games that should have been a sore one but really wasn't because the direction we were headed was so obviously positive.

01-01-2023, 11:02 PM