View Full Version : Pele

29-12-2022, 06:02 PM
That’s the great man finally at rest. Sure some of our older readers can regale us with stories, he was a bit before my time.

Coach Jon
29-12-2022, 06:03 PM
possibly the greatest player ever has died. RIP legend.

CropleyisGod
29-12-2022, 06:06 PM
I was ten in 1970. That World Cup was first time I saw fitba in colour on TV. Brazil were magical. Pele was magical. My favourite goal of all time was his header to open the scoring in the final. Hangs in the air and bullets it down and in. RIP

29-12-2022, 06:07 PM
That’s it, away from pain for him.
Incredible career.

29-12-2022, 06:08 PM
RIP Legend

29-12-2022, 06:09 PM
RIP Pele. What a player.

29-12-2022, 06:11 PM
Somewhere right now......
https://twitter.com/eurofootcom/status/1606265279129993219?t=FufJuhw2cd2dhNLjdfhFVg&s=19

29-12-2022, 06:13 PM
A god amongst men. RIP Pele.

29-12-2022, 06:14 PM
That’s the great man finally at rest. Sure some of our older readers can regale us with stories, he was a bit before my time.
Sad day

Donegal Hibby
29-12-2022, 06:15 PM
My favourite player .
RIP PELE.
https://youtu.be/rD0030YClQQ

29-12-2022, 06:19 PM
Made everything look so easy. We were 12 at the time watching the 1970 World Cup sitting there, spellbound and open mouthed and my pal kept saying "how did he do that?".

The greatest as far as I'm concerned.

StirlingHibee
29-12-2022, 06:23 PM
My first footballing memory was the 1974 World Cup Finals, unfortunately Pele had played his last game for Brazil in 1971. Seen enough in video reels though to acknowledge what a brilliant player he was. When Pele and his great mate Garrincha played in the same line-up Brazil never lost a game. RIP legend.

29-12-2022, 06:30 PM
RIP Pele :(

Pele and Maradona two of the best dribblers of a ball ever

29-12-2022, 06:30 PM
Watching footage now, and his running style really reminds me of Mbappé.

29-12-2022, 06:38 PM
Best player ever imo. Three world cups and was kicked out of the fourth in England. Won it at 17 scoring two in the final. One of a kind.

29-12-2022, 06:42 PM
The greatest ever, rest in peace.

Green7
29-12-2022, 06:43 PM
RIP Pele. I think my all time favourite footie moment was the dummy he did around the keeper in the 1970 World Cup. Unfortunately his shot slid past the post.

29-12-2022, 06:45 PM
Very sad news. Perhaps the most famous name in the history of football. RIP to a man who won the world cup three times and played in the great Brazilian 1970 side.

29-12-2022, 06:46 PM
RIP Pele. I think my all time favourite footie moment was the dummy he did around the keeper in the 1970 World Cup. Unfortunately his shot slid past the post.

Aye, and it was an open goal!

29-12-2022, 06:49 PM
Sad day. I look forward to all the reruns of his genius. And also escape to victory!!

29-12-2022, 06:49 PM
A hugely talented footballer, RIP.

Willis1875
29-12-2022, 06:53 PM
A global icon
RIP King

29-12-2022, 06:58 PM
RIP Pele, one of the greatest ever to kick a football.

Green7
29-12-2022, 07:01 PM
Aye, and it was an open goal!

To be fair, he was running away from the goals and didn't even look to see where they were when he kicked it. Pure genius and cant say I have seen any player try this since.

29-12-2022, 07:01 PM
RIP Pele

29-12-2022, 07:05 PM
Pele was my boyhood hero

He was that good he was the measure I used to judge other players growing up in the sixties

Eusebio Charlton Best Ronaldo (the original) Maradona and Messi

No one ever came close in my eyes

He was absolutely perfect

Mbappe does have that similar classy running style

RIP The King

29-12-2022, 07:24 PM
Football royalty. Sad day.

Aubenas
29-12-2022, 07:24 PM
Saw him play for Brazil v Bulgaria at Goodison in 1966 World Cup- his only competitive game in UK. They, literally, kicked him off the park, but he still scored a superb free kick before going off, matched by another from Garrincha in the second half. An all time great football memory which I keep on having to tell myself really happened. Obrigado, Pelé. [emoji169][emoji170][emoji172][emoji1054]

Skol
29-12-2022, 07:36 PM
Arguably the greatest player ever and he was a gentleman to go with it as well.

I know he had nothing to do with either club, but a minutes silence at tynecastle would be a nice way for us to pay our respects.

29-12-2022, 07:49 PM
Pele was Brazil and Brazilian football incarnate. RIP Legend.

29-12-2022, 07:49 PM
Arguably the greatest player ever and he was a gentleman to go with it as well.

I know he had nothing to do with either club, but a minutes silence at tynecastle would be a nice way for us to pay our respects.

I expect there to be a minute's applause (I prefer a silence but it's currently fashionable to do an applause) before each game on Monday.

29-12-2022, 07:50 PM
Rest in peace. Legend.

29-12-2022, 08:05 PM
Rest in peace Pelé.

ACLeith
29-12-2022, 08:20 PM
I have been privileged to live to see Pele, De Stefano, Eusebio, Cruyff, Maradona, Best and Messi. One of my earliest memories is watching the 1958 final at my uncle's house, as a wee kid just getting into the game I was mesmerised by what I was seeing.

Even my dad was impressed, he thought he was nearly as good as Gordon Smith, his absolute top accolade!

sadtom
29-12-2022, 08:25 PM
R.I.P Pele.
The footballing God who brought us The Beautiful Game.

29-12-2022, 08:39 PM
The King is dead. I was lucky enough to see Pele along with Eusebio in the 1966 world cup. They got me into football and I marvelled at their skills and athletism. The 1970 world cup was Pele's third world cup and surely the greatest football team of all time. Pele was born in my father's home state of Minas Gerais. He went on to take our home town club Santos, to two world club championships, winning both in Europe against the European champions. He won his first World cup aged 17, scoring a hatrick in the semi-final and two goals in the final against Sweden in Sweden. There is much talk about who was the greatest ever, but Pele is and was the King of football. We will never see his likes #pele

zitelli62
29-12-2022, 09:03 PM
Greatest player ever he transformed football with his style of football which players try to replicate today but sadly not as good as the great man RIP
Edson Arantes do Nascimento aka Pele.
The greatest of all time.

hibsfan7
29-12-2022, 09:17 PM
Every team in the whole world should be wearing black armbands and a minutes applause for the greatest player ever

CentreForward
29-12-2022, 09:28 PM
Probably the greatest sporting icon ever alongside Muhammad Ali.

29-12-2022, 09:36 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-64119646?at_medium=RSS&at_campaign=KARANGA

29-12-2022, 09:38 PM
One of the few who can genuinely carry the term “legend”…was brought up on tales and footage of his magic ..RIP

29-12-2022, 09:50 PM
RIP Pele. Back in the day there was no debate about who the greatest ever footballer was because he was a stand alone ball wizard. Every kid wanted to be Pele in a kick about, there were other great players around at the time, but none of them were a Pele.

29-12-2022, 10:18 PM
The best.

29-12-2022, 10:42 PM
So many moments from him in that 1970 World Cup, all played out in glorious technicolour on sun drenched pitches with those beautiful yellow shirts (long before they were defiled by that country’s far right).

the effort from the halfway line against the Czechs; the assist against England when he brought down the cross and laid it off for Jairzinho all in one flowing movement; the header that Banks somehow scooped out when it was seemingly already in the net; dummying the goalkeeper, the stadium and everyone else watching on tv in the uruguay game; nonchalantly tee-ing up Carlos Alberto for the iconic fourth goal in the Final; his own headed goal in the same game…

I was born a few years after 1970 myself, and I don’t involve myself in the childish and pointless ‘Greatest Ever’ debate but from speaking to my dad, and watching countless re-runs on television and YouTube videos, it’s clear it was a special tournament, a special team, and a very very special player.

and that’s not even mentioning the other two World Cups he won and the nearly 800 (official) goals he scored.

30-12-2022, 01:39 AM
He helped break my heart in that 1970 final.

But what a player, what an incredible gifted glorious player. Sometimes people come along and demonstrate our capacity for real excellence. Addio Pele.,

h1bs4life
30-12-2022, 08:13 AM
RIP Pele the greatest ever

30-12-2022, 11:28 AM
So many moments from him in that 1970 World Cup, all played out in glorious technicolour on sun drenched pitches with those beautiful yellow shirts (long before they were defiled by that country’s far right).

the effort from the halfway line against the Czechs; the assist against England when he brought down the cross and laid it off for Jairzinho all in one flowing movement; the header that Banks somehow scooped out when it was seemingly already in the net; dummying the goalkeeper, the stadium and everyone else watching on tv in the uruguay game; nonchalantly tee-ing up Carlos Alberto for the iconic fourth goal in the Final; his own headed goal in the same game…

I was born a few years after 1970 myself, and I don’t involve myself in the childish and pointless ‘Greatest Ever’ debate but from speaking to my dad, and watching countless re-runs on television and YouTube videos, it’s clear it was a special tournament, a special team, and a very very special player.

and that’s not even mentioning the other two World Cups he won and the nearly 800 (official) goals he scored.

For me my favourite Pele moment, there was just something about it that screamed class and calmness but strangely without arrogance, I could watch it a thousand times and never get bored of it.

Apart from a brief spell bringing the faith to the USA played all of his career in Brazil, almost certainly the last world icon of this game who will ever remain in his homeland without being lured away by Europe's billionaires.

As another poster said, he transcended the sport as Ali did with boxing, may he rest in peace.

30-12-2022, 04:40 PM
Minute's applause before all games on Monday.

https://news.stv.tv/sport/scottish-football-to-honour-pele-ahead-of-spfl-new-year-fixtures

30-12-2022, 05:50 PM
Strange Hibs haven't tweeted about Pele. They couldn't stop tweeting about Prince Philip...

30-12-2022, 06:40 PM
We saw precious little footage of Pele, Eusebio, Yashin and others back in the day and that added to their mystique.

Most was from World Cups and Pele certainly took the honours there.

30-12-2022, 10:16 PM
Strange Hibs haven't tweeted about Pele. They couldn't stop tweeting about Prince Philip...

How many tweets did they send about Prince Philip?

30-12-2022, 10:24 PM
How many tweets did they send about Prince Philip?

Two or three.

30-12-2022, 10:32 PM
Two or three.

Talking s***e, it was 1.

30-12-2022, 10:34 PM
Two or three.

There was one.

I do agree that a tweet acknowledging Pelé's passing considering his immense contribution to the sport wouldn't go amiss though.

01-01-2023, 08:26 AM
Hopefully they will show the 1970 world cup final somewhere. See if its as good as i remember as a 13 year old

02-01-2023, 06:09 PM
Infantino calls for all 211 national football associations to name a stadium after Pele :hmmm: FIFA president Gianni Infantino criticised for impractical demand at Pele's funeral (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/fifa-world-cup/fifa-president-gianni-infantino-criticised-for-impractical-demand-at-pele-s-funeral/ar-AA15TNaO?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=d6dc41d055c2433ba76a70a5a5edd5dd) i think we've already heard enough from Infantino

02-01-2023, 06:10 PM
Infantino calls for all 211 national football associations to name a stadium after Pele :hmmm: FIFA president Gianni Infantino criticised for impractical demand at Pele's funeral (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/fifa-world-cup/fifa-president-gianni-infantino-criticised-for-impractical-demand-at-pele-s-funeral/ar-AA15TNaO?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=d6dc41d055c2433ba76a70a5a5edd5dd) i think we've already heard enough from Infantino

Attention seeking p***k.