View Full Version : McKirdy

28-12-2022, 08:51 PM
Has he contributed anything in a Hibs shirt? Looks like a wee laddie playing against men.

Basildon Hibs
28-12-2022, 08:52 PM
Has he contributed anything in a Hibs shirt? Looks like a wee laddie playing against men.

Another Stellar signing . .🤣🤣

28-12-2022, 08:54 PM
A strange signing. Maybe needs to start a game to se what he can do but looks way off the pace tbh

Hibees1973
28-12-2022, 08:55 PM
File with Bojang and many others soon out the door.

28-12-2022, 08:55 PM
An ian gordon special.

McGruber
28-12-2022, 08:56 PM

Not that you are wrong but he's come on there with the game gone and Celtic strolling it. No player coming on there was going to make any headway, the team couldn't get the ball.

28-12-2022, 08:56 PM
Offered nothing despite coming here with a decent pedigree. If he ****ed off in January I couldn’t care less.

dchibs
28-12-2022, 08:57 PM
Need to get rid of Henderson as well another wee laddie.

28-12-2022, 09:00 PM
That’s because he’s utter crap 👍 if he wasn’t he’d be starting games - hope his old club have a buy back clause 👍

BalkanSuperBro
28-12-2022, 09:00 PM
Yep, time for McKirdy to head to the barber's, preferably Sweeney Todd!

28-12-2022, 09:03 PM
How can you judge a player that gets thrown on for 10-15 mins when the team is getting humped.

28-12-2022, 09:05 PM
How can you judge a player that gets thrown on for 10-15 mins when the team is getting humped.

Agree why sign Him and dont play him i dont think Johnson is signing the players sadly

28-12-2022, 09:07 PM
Should have been given 45 mins on Saturday

28-12-2022, 09:08 PM
Horrendous player and hopefully his last game for us. Waste of a wage.

28-12-2022, 09:10 PM
Horrendous player and hopefully his last game for us. Waste of a wage.

Am sure this thread will be shut down now, for consistency

He makes Henderson look like Arnie.

I can’t really fault him for tonight.

I’m not sure what he was ever going to bring to the game as a lone striker at 4-0

At least pressed

28-12-2022, 09:11 PM
Weird choice to start a thread about after that performance.

28-12-2022, 09:13 PM
If he is on a decent wedge then I would be looking to get rid ASAP. Clearly not good enough.

Auckland Hibs
28-12-2022, 09:15 PM
He's absolute mince.

File with Henderson under WTF were our recruitment team thinking 🤔

If he spent half as much time focusing on his game rather than his hair and social media then he might actually do something useful.

Hector Mudflap
28-12-2022, 09:15 PM

exactly. :agree:

28-12-2022, 09:16 PM
McKirdy?

Sorry I was looking for a thread on Cadden 😀

big gogs
28-12-2022, 09:29 PM
A 5 year deal,he must have a bloody good agent.

Paulie Walnuts
28-12-2022, 09:31 PM
Terrible yet again.

thebausburst
28-12-2022, 09:53 PM
File under lower English league dross from the other thread

The Wireless
28-12-2022, 09:54 PM
File under lower English league dross from the other thread
The boys just not good enough.

28-12-2022, 10:01 PM
Maybe a bit unfair to pick on Harry as he's hardly the only player that we've signed that isn't good enough but I think he probably epitomises our signing policy under Ron Gordon. We've spent decent money on him, his "stats" in English League 2 probably look great but I can't believe anyone really had him watched before signing him and thought he could make the step up in grade to this standard.

Mikey_1875
28-12-2022, 10:02 PM
Thankless task tonight but needs to start working his way into the managers thoughts in training to get more opportunities on the park.

Can’t really form an opinion on him either way until then but it’s not a great sign that he can’t break into this team currently.

28-12-2022, 10:03 PM

Agreed. He looked totally out of place when he came on. We need much, much better.

28-12-2022, 10:05 PM
Doesn't look like he wants to be here. Happy to play the daft laddie. One of those guys where 'character' seems to be a polite substitute for 'bit of a ****ing erse'.

We're his 4th club in 3 years. Someone else will be his 5th in 4 as he won't be here next season.

28-12-2022, 10:16 PM
He looks completely out of his depth so far.

28-12-2022, 10:19 PM
Not sure how anyone can pass judgement on tonight. A thankless task.

He may be pish and may be moved on but it shouldn't be based on tonight.

Paulie Walnuts
28-12-2022, 10:20 PM
Doesn't look like he wants to be here. Happy to play the daft laddie. One of those guys where 'character' seems to be a polite substitute for 'bit of a ****ing erse'.

We're his 4th club in 3 years. Someone else will be his 5th in 4 as he won't be here next season.

Walked on and stood laughing and joking with Starfelt.

28-12-2022, 10:24 PM
I suspect he'll be gone in January when a lower English league side will come in for him.

Although he's not contributed much in his cameo performances, he's hardly the biggest of our problems. Just another example of poor recruitment which is obvious throughout the squad.

I'm more worried about the right hand side of our defence and non-existent midfield.

28-12-2022, 10:41 PM
A 5 year deal,he must have a bloody good agent.

henderson was a 3 year deal after the initial loan spell

29-12-2022, 12:03 AM
Not his fault, but lacks any basic attributes to be a professional football player, will disappear from our club soon & will find a level where he doesn’t look entirely out of depth, but should never have been here in first place.

29-12-2022, 12:05 AM
He’s not done a huge amount to deserve it, but I’d like to see him start a game.

Magennis isn’t a right winger for me and would suit us better in a more central role along with Campbell and one other

Donegal Hibby
29-12-2022, 12:27 AM
He’s not done a huge amount to deserve it, but I’d like to see him start a game.

Magennis isn’t a right winger for me and would suit us better in a more central role along with Campbell and one other
I'll probably get shot down for this but Magennis is imo a more central midfielder who should be used has a attacking midfielder and I really felt for Cadden as I think he's never in a million years a right back and was left without any support against a very good player in Maeda , caddens more a right midfielder though I'd even like to see him play as a right winger too . Mckirdy has disappointed me since he's arrived not only with his play but attitude though I agree I think he might need a start though I don't think I'd give him it against hertz as he's got a temperament problem Imo

29-12-2022, 01:18 AM
McKirdy just doesn’t look like he is a football player at this standard. He probably deserves a few starts to let him bed in but he just doesn’t look like a professional footballer. He’s done absolutely nothing in any minutes he’s had but they have been limited to be fair to him.

LeithMike
29-12-2022, 06:12 AM
I really like the look of McKirdy. I can see that people don’t like his body language but you can see that the guy is a bit of a perfectionist and just wants to play and score goals. To do that though we need to get the ball to him in the penalty box. He also looks like he needs to play in a two and given LJ wants to play 4-3-3 and his reluctance to play him he doesn’t smack of being the manager’s signing.

I don’t see it working out unless we give him a fair go but that isn’t looking likely and I don’t see him wanting to hang around and warm the bench. That’s something I admire.

29-12-2022, 06:42 AM
Good players get game time.

29-12-2022, 06:42 AM
Should be shipped out in January and logged as one of the least effective players have seen in a Hibs shirt in years. May do well in lower league football, but up here in the SPFL he's completely out of his depth. Giving him a full 90 mins to prove this is a waste of time.Terrible signing.

Dmas
29-12-2022, 06:45 AM
Doesn’t offer anything I couldn’t and that says it all.

norhfc
29-12-2022, 06:49 AM
Looks like a wee Ned, that would be ok if he could play.

LNHibs
29-12-2022, 07:03 AM
He hasn’t been good but he’s not had a consistent run of games so it’s hard to judge him. He scored 24 goals last year so there is clearly a player in there.

What’s the point in signing these boys if they are not going to be given a chance to play

duffers
29-12-2022, 07:08 AM
As soon as he came on last night, I said to my old man that this is why I feel sorry for him. Chucked on at 4-0 while hibs are trying to damage limitation, what are people expecting from him? You could have thrown on Lewandowski or Kane and the results would have been the exact same last night, and that has been the story of his time at hibs.

Could have been brought on at half time on Sat, however was given the last 20 minutes on the right wing as the game petered out. I can only recall both Celtic games where he has played in his supposed position, and his only start has been away at Celtic, which is the most difficult fixture we have in the calendar.

I’m not saying he deserves to start ahead of Kookie, or Nisbet, but I certainly still believe there is a player in there and he needs to be given more of a chance up too than Johnson has currently given him.

Dmas
29-12-2022, 07:08 AM
He hasn’t been good but he’s not had a consistent run of games so it’s hard to judge him. He scored 24 goals last year so there is clearly a player in there.

What’s the point in signing these boys if they are not going to be given a chance to play

He can’t be offering much in training either, youan is only just finding a bit of form on one side and Boyle been injured on the other and he’s not managed any more game time with that surely working in his favour

Percy Vere
29-12-2022, 07:51 AM
Not that you are wrong but he's come on there with the game gone and Celtic strolling it. No player coming on there was going to make any headway, the team couldn't get the ball.

Absolutely.
He needs a run if games to see if he’s worth hanging onto and a haircut.
Never heard Mcgeady mentioned once when he was on.

29-12-2022, 08:02 AM
Recoup what we paid for him and wish him well. Another in a long line of players who we have signed with no clear reasoning as to what role we signed him for.

29-12-2022, 08:07 AM
Absolutely.
He needs a run if games to see if he’s worth hanging onto and a haircut.
Never heard Mcgeady mentioned once when he was on.

Both were hopeless. Both zero energy. Both not even trying to impress. He’s a championship player up here and League 2 down there. McGeady is just finished.

29-12-2022, 08:15 AM
So many players are just no where near the standard. They would have been laughed out of Easter road under Mowbray, Stubbs, Lennon in the modern day teams. They are more fitting under fenlon, Calderwood, late Collins teams.

Players that should be leaving, either mutually or club getting rid

Miller
Hanlon
Fish
Henderson
JDH (pending)
Doidge
Mitchell
Tavares
Bojang (done?)
Joe Newell
Hauge
Melkerson (loan out)
McGeady
McKirdy
Ben Kensell
Ian Gordon

I personally don’t think Ron Gordon has bad intentions for the club but he has made some terrible appointments.

Both managerial and internally.
Get rid of Ian Gordon before it gets really ugly.

Dmas
29-12-2022, 08:46 AM

He can’t be offering much in training either, youan is only just finding a bit of form on one side and Boyle been injured on the other and he’s not managed any more game time with that surely working in his favour

29-12-2022, 09:00 AM

He's been here for about 4 months now and can barely get into a side sitting 8th in the league which I think speaks volumes.

We have to assume that if he was showing promise in training he'd be in the side.

Clarence
29-12-2022, 09:27 AM
McKirdy = when you buy Chris Mueller off Wish.

29-12-2022, 09:30 AM
McKirdy = when you buy Chris Mueller off Wish.

You’re obviously forgetting how poor Mueller was.

McKirdy has been pish so far, but I’d not swap him for Muller.

29-12-2022, 09:31 AM
There was a point last night when he gave up on someone (Hanlon's maybe) aimless punt and a 85 year old Stevenson bombed up the wing to pressure the Celtic fullback.

That one wee cameo sealed it for me.

h1bs4life
29-12-2022, 09:39 AM
So many players are just no where near the standard. They would have been laughed out of Easter road under Mowbray, Stubbs, Lennon in the modern day teams. They are more fitting under fenlon, Calderwood, late Collins teams.

Miller
Hanlon
Fish
Henderson
JDH (pending)
Doidge
Mitchell
Tavares
Bojang (done?)
Joe Newell
Hauge
Melkerson (loan out)
McGeady
McKirdy
Ben Kensell
Ian Gordon

I personally don’t think Ron Gordon has bad intentions for the club but he has made some terrible appointments.

That’s a frightening list add Stevenson to that who is out of contract end of the season.
Mcgeady out of contract
Fish on loan
As far as I am aware all others under contract unlikely that anyone is going to take them and pay them the wages we are so some sort of pay off required . What a waste of wages

Basildon Hibs
29-12-2022, 09:46 AM

Miller
Hanlon
Fish
Henderson
JDH (pending)
Doidge
Mitchell
Tavares
Bojang (done?)
Joe Newell
Hauge
Melkerson (loan out)
McGeady
McKirdy
Ben Kensell
Ian Gordon

Don't forget LJ ...

scm70nyd1973
29-12-2022, 09:58 AM

Don’t get me wrong - I really like him (bit of a character that we’ve been lacking maybe since Cumdog) and I genuinely want him to do well for us (I actually have a wee feeling that he will come good)

but

Sadly right now he reminds me of a fan who won a prize and got a game for the HIBS’ first team in a charity match coming on as a late sub - just runs around without doing anything to make himself look busy and hopes through sheer effort will get picked next week. But that might be - no probably is - due to poor management - who knows I’m not in the back room staff.

Come on Harry - hat trick against the Poppy Thieves would be just the biz - a winning one though 🙏

In the words of Sham 69

Come on come on
Hurry up Harry come on
Come on come on
Hurry up Harry come on
We're going down the pub

Clarence
29-12-2022, 10:17 AM
You’re obviously forgetting how poor Mueller was.

McKirdy has been pish so far, but I’d not swap him for Muller.

I’ve not seen anything of McKirdy to suggest that he will be any better than Mueller. I do hope I’m wrong but he and Mueller just look like fish out of water at this level.

29-12-2022, 10:19 AM
I'm with those who point out that if McKirdy was a better player then he'd have earned more playing time than he has had, and shown a lot more. Right now it's difficult to understand why we spent so much time chasing him, which makes him another black mark against the recruitment team, and I'd be very relaxed if he was sold in January to free up some money to help fix the midfield.

The only problem with that scenario is that I don't trust the current recruitment team to sign anyone, player or manager.

Clarence
29-12-2022, 10:21 AM
There was a point last night when he gave up on someone (Hanlon's maybe) aimless punt and a 85 year old Stevenson bombed up the wing to pressure the Celtic fullback.

I thought he thought he was offside and gave him the benefit of the doubt but now you mention it he did have a wee huff like the ball wasn’t good enough for him.

29-12-2022, 07:23 PM
I can see why we signed him. Looked an exciting one but it's another example of that level to the Scottish Premiership being bigger than people think. I'd be pleased to see him moved on in January for someone who can contribute more than running around a bit.

29-12-2022, 07:27 PM
I'm with those who point out that if McKirdy was a better player then he'd have earned more playing time than he has had, and shown a lot more. Right now it's difficult to understand why we spent so much time chasing him, which makes him another black mark against the recruitment team, and I'd be very relaxed if he was sold in January to free up some money to help fix the midfield.

The only problem with that scenario is that I don't trust the current recruitment team to sign anyone, player or manager.

I don’t want to sound like I judge everything on YouTube but his highlights reels looked very impressive, and20+ goals albeit in the English 4th tier suggested we could have found a bargain. Looked like he scored all kinds of goals. It’s not over for him yet, but it doesn’t look good for his future with us. We rolled the dice but I think in his case it was an educated risk that did make a degree of sense at the time.

29-12-2022, 08:00 PM
We shouldn’t be selling McKirdy in January. Granted he’s had a few
lengthy sub appearances but judge him after that. Be mad to get rid of him before we truly see him.

WeAreHibs
29-12-2022, 08:25 PM
I can see him starting on Monday and getting a double!

***Runs for cover***

29-12-2022, 08:30 PM
Honestly, I haven't seen enough of him to make a decision either way. He simply hasn't had a consistent run of games.

That said, that Nisbet has come back in and immediately resumed scoring doesn't put him in a great position.

29-12-2022, 08:54 PM
I don’t want to sound like I judge everything on YouTube but his highlights reels looked very impressive, and20+ goals albeit in the English 4th tier suggested we could have found a bargain. Looked like he scored all kinds of goals. It’s not over for him yet, but it doesn’t look good for his future with us. We rolled the dice but I think in his case it was an educated risk that did make a degree of sense at the time.

I think the problem is the fourth tier in England bit. It is well below our level.

What hasn't helped at all is the appearance that we were forced in to buying because we couldn't pivot to an alternative when Swindon stared us down. What might have been a squad signing turned in to the main event at midnight. Expectations ended up in a different place.

29-12-2022, 08:58 PM
I think the problem is the fourth tier in England bit. It is well below our level.

What hasn't helped at all is the appearance that we were forced in to buying because we couldn't pivot to an alternative when Swindon stared us down. What might have been a squad signing turned in to the main event at midnight. Expectations ended up in a different place.

Clearly we couldn’t have afforded that pedigree if he’d done it at league one, and nowadays if you do that in the championship the player would be going for £10million the following season! So in the context of finding a rough diamond from a lower league, which is the market we’re in, it made sense. At least to me on an armchair level. Obviously I don’t have access to analytics to probably analyze how he plays, or the inclination to use it.

29-12-2022, 09:03 PM
Clearly we couldn’t have afforded that pedigree if he’d done it at league one, and nowadays if you do that in the championship the player would be going for £10million the following season! So in the context of finding a rough diamond from a lower league, which is the market we’re in, it made sense. At least to me on an armchair level. Obviously I don’t have access to analytics to probably analyze how he plays, or the inclination to use it.

Yeah, fair dos. The manner of the signing didn't help the pressure on the boy though.

29-12-2022, 09:05 PM
Yeah, fair dos. The manner of the signing didn't help the pressure on the boy though.

Agreed. And now there’s no obvious route to regular game time with Nizzy back and Youan playing well.

29-12-2022, 09:11 PM
I was definitely gald we got the signing over the line and think he'll come good eventually. But I do remember at the time thinking it was a bit of a weird one seeing as for it to work we'd need to play two up top, having Boyle (at the time) made that quite unlikely.

hibstag
30-12-2022, 11:24 AM

Yep chucked it as he was offside, stood watching as did Henderson as Lewis chased down the ball and forced the Celtic player across the pitch to where those two ‘short on game time, needs a run, or the excuse where I am pish and out their depth’ professional footballers were nowhere to pressurise the ball in the next phase

Saint Hibee
30-12-2022, 12:58 PM
Is he meant to be an out and out striker? Or more of a winger?

30-12-2022, 03:03 PM
Is he meant to be an out and out striker? Or more of a winger?

He can play across the front 3 positions, said so himself, with Boyle being out I'm surprised he's not been given a shot on the right.

30-12-2022, 03:18 PM
Disappointing McKirdy hasn't made more impact as he's one of the few summer signings you'd expect to hit the ground running. Not writing him off quite yet though. Don't believe he's actually started a game yet!

30-12-2022, 03:28 PM
He can play across the front 3 positions, said so himself, with Boyle being out I'm surprised he's not been given a shot on the right.

He started on the right against Middlesbrough and Raith in the friendlies and was pretty ineffective until moved centrally...

30-12-2022, 04:02 PM
Disappointing McKirdy hasn't made more impact as he's one of the few summer signings you'd expect to hit the ground running. Not writing him off quite yet though. Don't believe he's actually started a game yet!

He started against Celtic (A) in October, but the less said about that game the better.

31-12-2022, 05:39 PM
He started against Celtic (A) in October, but the less said about that game the better.

Played out wide from memory. Subbed at break?

03-01-2023, 09:09 AM
Well he had his start and he was anonymous. Get rid.

03-01-2023, 09:16 AM
I said it on another thread. McKirdy is the kind of player we shouldn't have touched with a bargepole.

A disciplinary issue carrying over from his previous club, we're his 4th club in 4 years and his scoring record is piss poor at 3 of them and his whole '**** off Spurs, c'mon Chelsea' social media presence is just embarrassing.

I don't mind a 'character' if they can back it up with performances. McKirdy is just the type that I'd rather not see anywhere near Hibs. The stupid clothes, daft haircuts and low worn socks are all props so people notice him. If it was left to his football then no one would remember he was here.

03-01-2023, 09:19 AM
Played out wide from memory. Subbed at break?

Felt sorry for him yesterday - looked hopelessly out of his depth and while starts away at Celtic and Hearts are more challenging than a start against say Ross County or St Johnstone, we need players who are strong enough to play competently against the former rather than the latter if we have any desire to be competing in the European spots.

I think McKirdy knows himself he’s not good enough for this level and would jump at the chance to return to a level where he can be a bit of a character and enjoy being a bigger fish in a smaller pond and still have a decent enough career.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2023, 09:20 AM
I said it on another thread. McKirdy is the kind of player we shouldn't have touched with a bargepole.

A disciplinary issue carrying over from his previous club, we're his 4th club in 4 years and his scoring record is piss poor at 3 of them and his whole '**** off Spurs, c'mon Chelsea' social media presence is just embarrassing.

I don't mind a 'character' if they can back it up with performances. McKirdy is just the type that I'd rather not see anywhere near Hibs. The stupid clothes, daft haircuts and low worn socks are all props so people notice him. If it was left to his football then no one would remember he was here.

I honestly think that’s what has people wanting him to get a run of starts etc.

Nobody is clambering for others to get a run of starts yet we regularly read about how McKirdy needs one. Why just him?

Like you said, he has a raj haircut and wears his socks like an idiot so he stands out. It’s pretty clever on his part, but when you strip it all back he’s a poor footballer for this level who shouldn’t be anywhere near us.

03-01-2023, 09:22 AM
Well he had his start and he was anonymous. Get rid.

a start in a game with an anonymous midfield? what a chance he’s been given.

Team selection was poor, midfield was awful and chances were non-existent. Think it’s extremely harsh to single him out.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2023, 09:24 AM
a start in a game with an anonymous midfield? what a chance he’s been given.

Team selection was poor, midfield was awful and chances were non-existent. Think it’s extremely harsh to single him out.

How many excuses do we carry on making for the guy? He needs starts is the cry. Then he gets a start and is so bad he has to come off at half time.

Now it’s that the midfield is pish and that’s why McKirdy can’t do anything.

He was one of the absolute worst today. I’m not sure singling someone out after that performance in a derby when they were that bad is particularly harsh.

CL0762
03-01-2023, 09:24 AM
He’s been hung out to dry a wee bit with his 2 starts coming in 2 of the toughest away games we’ll face.

Supposedly LJ said in the pre match interview about him starting that he’s just as likely to score us the winner as he is to get sent off? That’s a weird thing to say, at least publicly.

Zambernardi1875
03-01-2023, 09:28 AM
Another signing from the recruitment perspective who have continued to underestimate the standard of Scottish football and from Mckirdy who also probably thought he could come here and stroll it.

03-01-2023, 09:28 AM

The guy has shown nothing in his time at Hibs that suggests he's anywhere near Scottish premier league level. He'd probably do OK in the Championship, at best, but he's never gonna be any better than that.

03-01-2023, 09:34 AM
Not even close to being at fault yesterday. Playing on the right of a front 2 with Campbell (56% 1st half pass completion), Cadden (57% 1st half pass completion) and centre back Will Fish at right back behind him he was on a hiding to nothing. Was subbed as we changed shape from 4-4-2 to 4-3-3.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2023, 09:35 AM
Not even close to being at fault yesterday. Playing on the right of a front 2 with Campbell (56% 1st half pass completion), Cadden (57% 1st half pass completion) and centre back Will Fish at right back behind him he was on a hiding to nothing. Was subbed as we changed shape from 4-4-2 to 4-3-3.

Maybe these guys can point to the fact they had McKirdy infront of them as to why they done so bad?

It’s easy to blame others for his failings but he’s offered us absolutely nothing in his whole time here. That can’t be everyone else’s fault.

03-01-2023, 09:38 AM

Is that where he was playing?

03-01-2023, 09:39 AM

Yep, I don't believe he's anywhere near good enough for our level and as you say I think it's his personality and appearance that makes people want to see more of him.

He's far from being the only one in this current squad that this applies to but he'll likely leave without making any impact at all.

03-01-2023, 09:41 AM
I’ve said on other threads that although I’m annoyed we’ve signed players like Tavares, Melkersen, Hauge, Bojang, Henderson etc. I’m not actually annoyed at the player themselves as their attitude and dedication aren’t to be questioned.

McKirdy can royally GTF though. He’s just about got the talent to warm the bench at East Fife but seems to think he’s Messi on the pitch and a comedian on social media.

Might be harsh but leave the daft social media, behaviour and the like until you’ve scored a few goals and earned your place on the pitch and at the club.

03-01-2023, 09:43 AM
Maybe these guys can point to the fact they had McKirdy infront of them as to why they done so bad?

It’s easy to blame others for his failings but he’s offered us absolutely nothing in his whole time here. That can’t be everyone else’s fault.

They play ***** in games McKirdy doesn’t play too so not really sure that stands up to much scrutiny.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2023, 09:44 AM
They play ***** in games McKirdy doesn’t play too so not really sure that stands up to much scrutiny.

And he plays **** in every game as well so I’m not sure Josh Campbell having a 50 odd percent pass completion rate for the first half yesterday stands up as the reason he was **** yesterday.

03-01-2023, 09:45 AM
How many excuses do we carry on making for the guy? He needs starts is the cry. Then he gets a start and is so bad he has to come off at half time.

Now it’s that the midfield is pish and that’s why McKirdy can’t do anything.

He was one of the absolute worst today. I’m not sure singling someone out after that performance in a derby when they were that bad is particularly harsh.

Nobody was good yesterday mate. The whole selection was wrong.

I think it’s hard on him to have been subbed at half time when there was absolutely nothing created for him or nisbet, who was also poor yesterday.

Although i’ve wanted McKirdy to get a start, I actually didn’t think he should have yesterday and didn’t want him too.

He also looked like he was playing a supporting striker role to Nisbet yesterday rather than out and out striker though not sure if that’s the case or our shape was all over the place.

03-01-2023, 09:47 AM
If you are that skinny you have to have great ability to be successful in our league. He's just not very good.

03-01-2023, 09:48 AM
And he plays **** in every game as well so I’m not sure Josh Campbell having a 50 odd percent pass completion rate for the first half yesterday stands up as the reason he was **** yesterday.

I’m not arguing whether he was **** or not though, I’m saying he is far from who I’d be blaming for our loss yesterday. We were losing games without McKirdy and are losing games with McKirdy, if McKirdy leaves tomorrow and we continue with the same jokers in defence and midfield we’ll still be losing long after he’s gone.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2023, 09:49 AM

I think it’s hard on him to have been subbed at half time when there was absolutely nothing created for him or nisbet, who was also poor yesterday.

Although i’ve wanted McKirdy to get a start, I actually didn’t think he should have yesterday and didn’t want him too.

I personally think he needs to show so much more to deserve a start.

In our squad this season we probably have:

Fish
Miller
Tavares
Henderson
Mitchell
McKirdy
Bojang
Melkersen

That’s 8 players who could say they need some starts to show what they can do. If you presume a run of starts is at least 3 games, that’s 24 spots in the first team being taken by just giving people a chance. It’s not really feasible because it either means rotating the team simply to give guys who have shown nothing a chance or having someone in the team for the majority of our games who is simply being given an opportunity rather than being in the team because they deserve to be.

They need to show something when they get sub appearances etc and they’re simply not doing it. If anything I’d suggest the performances of these guys when they’ve had their shot has warranted giving them even less minutes going forward as they’ve been desperately poor.

Walkerbaws
03-01-2023, 09:50 AM
Mckirdy had the same amount of chances as any other player in the first half, which was none. To single him out from that inept performance from us in the first half is beyond harsh. We can pick failures from every player from the first 45 minutes and wouldn’t grumble had any of them been subbed, goalkeeper included in that. When you are playing against a team that are giving 110% to win the game, and we are only giving maybe 80% at most then we ain’t going to compete, whether it’s a derby game against them or a game against a league one side.

03-01-2023, 09:51 AM

What irritates me about the signing is that simple common sense should have been enough to steer clear like with some of our other signings.

A 25 year old with disciplinary issues from league two, who’s had arguably one good season? If he was 19 or 20 you could argue there’s a rough diamond, but no.

Henderson - not good enough for Ross County on loan - steer clear.

Tavares - no first team experience.

Will Fish - managed two or three games at a non league side last season only.

Mackay - although clearly has promise, wasn’t a clear standout at Championship level.

Melkersen - hasn’t played on grass before and hasn’t played in the Norwegian top flight.

Bojang - everything about that deal, quite frankly.

That’s seven players we’ve signed that statistics have likely told one part of the story but common sense tells you even more.

03-01-2023, 09:53 AM
Yep, I don't believe he's anywhere near good enough for our level and as you say I think it's his personality and appearance that makes people want to see more of him.

He's far from being the only one in this current squad that this applies to but he'll likely leave without making any impact at all.

He is one of the worst players I’ve ever seen to be honest, actually feel sorry for him he’s so clearly out of his depth, and the ludicrous decision to start him yesterday didn’t do him any favours.

Mcbizz1998
03-01-2023, 10:03 AM
What irritates me about the signing is that simple common sense should have been enough to steer clear like with some of our other signings.

A 25 year old with disciplinary issues from league two, who’s had arguably one good season? If he was 19 or 20 you could argue there’s a rough diamond, but no.

Mackay - although clearly has promise, wasn’t a clear standout at Championship level.

Melkersen - hasn’t played on grass before and hasn’t played in the Norwegian top flight.

That’s seven players we’ve signed that statistics have likely told one part of the story but common sense tells you even more.

Agree with all of that but would add onto the common sense point that we miss out on players that make complete sense.

Snodgrass
Shankland
McKay
Watt
McGrath

And even Steven Fletcher. (I’m sure there are many more).

These are all players that were available and would have made sense for us as either starters or squad players. We don’t need a scouting team to figure that out and yet we don’t appear to have been seriously interested in any of them. Instead we end up with the players you list above.

03-01-2023, 10:05 AM

Fish
Miller
Tavares
Henderson
Mitchell
McKirdy
Bojang
Melkersen

That’s 8 players who could say they need some starts to show what they can do. If you presume a run of starts is at least 3 games, that’s 24 spots in the first team being taken by just giving people a chance. It’s not really feasible. They need to show something when they get sub appearances etc and they’re simply not doing it.

Again though, this comes down to our piss poor recruitment. We shouldn’t be signing such a high number of players who all then need a chance to show what they can do. We should be recruiting to add to a core squad of players.

I don’t know what has happened to the development squad but that seems an ideal way to get players up to speed or be able to show what they can do and i’ve heard nothing about that in ages. Players like Melkerson, Tavares and Killer would benefit from development squad games

Mckirdy had the same amount of chances as any other player in the first half, which was none. To single him out from that inept performance from us in the first half is beyond harsh. We can pick failures from every player from the first 45 minutes and wouldn’t grumble had any of them been subbed, goalkeeper included in that. When you are playing against a team that are giving 110% to win the game, and we are only giving maybe 80% at most then we ain’t going to compete, whether it’s a derby game against them or a game against a league one side.

Youan had a golden chance?

Melkerson is the one that typifies how confused our transfer strategy is imo.

We spent big by our standards on him (I'm not sure the exact fee is known but it was substantial enough that Hibs made sure to mention it a lot). He was Mr Invisible for weeks and weeks leading to the suggestion we had spent a lot of money on a development player that could have been better utilised elsewhere. Burst onto the scene v Motherwell but performances since suggest that may have been a bit of a fluke. There are now assurances from people that he definitely wasn't a development signing and he was in fact signed as a 1st team player but he looks no closer to pushing for a starting role now than he did when he first arrived.

You aren't going to hit on every transfer but we aren't in a position to be spending six figure fees for guys who have made a minimal contribution in a calendar year.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2023, 10:07 AM
Agree with all of that but would add onto the common sense point that we miss out on players that make complete sense.

Snodgrass
Shankland
McKay
Watt
McGrath

And even Steven Fletcher. (I’m sure there are many more).

These are all players that were available and would have made sense for us as either starters or squad players. We don’t need a scouting team to figure that out and yet we don’t appear to have been seriously interested in any of them. Instead we end up with the players you list above.

It’s no surprise that our two best signings in the summer are guys that ten year old Hibs fans could have guaranteed would be at least decent in Marshall and Boyle. Why we didn’t carry on with that? Anyone could have told you snodgrass would have been decent, same with Shankland and same with Mackay and Halliday in recent years.

Walkerbaws
03-01-2023, 10:09 AM

He did, also dilly dallied and thought he had more time than he did. Sums up the calibre of player we have.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2023, 10:10 AM
Again though, this comes down to our piss poor recruitment. We shouldn’t be signing such a high number of players who all then need a chance to show what they can do. We should be recruiting to add to a core squad of players.

I don’t know what has happened to the development squad but that seems an ideal way to get players up to speed or be able to show what they can do and i’ve heard nothing about that in ages. Players like Melkerson, Tavares and Killer would benefit from development squad games

Yeah that’s true.

I’m sure the development squad fixtures fell through. Quite how that happened I’ve no idea but we’re the common denominator in the fixtures so presumably it’s a problem at Hibs end. So the dev squad is essentially not doing anything for a season which is a dreadful situation for their development.

WestStandWillie
03-01-2023, 10:13 AM
Melkersen should be put out on loan this month. He’s not first team material and would be better served spending rest of season at Championship/Top end League 1 to get more playing time/experience of the Scottish game. Didn’t do any harm to Shankland/May/Riordan/GoC

Mcbizz1998
03-01-2023, 10:19 AM
Melkersen should be put out on loan this month. He’s not first team material and would be better served spending rest of season at Championship/Top end League 1 to get more playing time/experience of the Scottish game. Didn’t do any harm to Shankland/May/Riordan/GoC

Yep, find a championship club that can guarantee playing time and he will do well I believe. One of the few players we have that I still have high hopes for.

03-01-2023, 10:21 AM
A far better option than McKirdy from what I've seen.

03-01-2023, 10:22 AM
Melkerson is the one that typifies how confused our transfer strategy is imo.

We spent big by our standards on him (I'm not sure the exact fee is known but it was substantial enough that Hibs made sure to mention it a lot). He was Mr Invisible for weeks and weeks leading to the suggestion we had spent a lot of money on a development player that could have been better utilised elsewhere. Burst onto the scene v Motherwell but performances since suggest that may have been a bit of a fluke. There are now assurances from people that he definitely wasn't a development signing and he was in fact signed as a 1st team player but he looks no closer to pushing for a starting role now than he did when he first arrived.

You aren't going to hit on every transfer but we aren't in a position to be spending six figure fees for guys who have made a minimal contribution in a calendar year.

and LJ said he would be a £5m player! :greengrin

03-01-2023, 10:26 AM

Did you miss him being clean through on their keeper? The difference between than and their third goal tells us everything we already know.

03-01-2023, 10:27 AM
and LJ said he would be a £5m player! :greengrin

He obviously still has time on his side as he's only just turned 20 but based on what I've seen so far I'd be surprised if he ever gets sold for anything like that amount.

He's been signed for a relatively large transfer fee by our standards and has had one very good game and very little else.

03-01-2023, 10:29 AM
McKirdy simply isn't good enough and whoever thought he'd be suited to this league needs their head read.

On a side note. He's lucky the hearts fan didn't connect with the punch thrown at him. Would have sparked him clean out.
*Happens before their goal when he runs into their stand.

03-01-2023, 10:35 AM

My issue with these players isn’t anything individual about any of them (any of which might be a reasonable punt) but the fact that 7 can be so easily reeled off to paint a bigger picture.

Having said that, I’m a bit mystified by the criticism of McKirdy yesterday. I didn’t think he was great, but he wasn’t nearly as bad as some are making out. He’d had a couple of lively appearances off the bench lately and had merited a start. His two starts have been in very tough away games with a midfield who were creating f all, and he was substituted early to allow for a tactical tweak.

03-01-2023, 10:38 AM
We shouldn't be looking at league 2 players to be 1st choice, equivalent of our league1/lower championship.

03-01-2023, 10:53 AM

Fish
Miller
Tavares
Henderson
Mitchell
McKirdy
Bojang
Melkersen

That’s 8 players who could say they need some starts to show what they can do. If you presume a run of starts is at least 3 games, that’s 24 spots in the first team being taken by just giving people a chance. It’s not really feasible because it either means rotating the team simply to give guys who have shown nothing a chance or having someone in the team for the majority of our games who is simply being given an opportunity rather than being in the team because they deserve to be.

They need to show something when they get sub appearances etc and they’re simply not doing it. If anything I’d suggest the performances of these guys when they’ve had their shot has warranted giving them even less minutes going forward as they’ve been desperately poor.

Every player on that list will probably be told they are free to leave in January if they can find a club.

It would be a start.

03-01-2023, 11:39 AM
The guy's a tramp. Wouldn't get a game for Hutchie U9s turning out like that. He'd be sent back to the changing room.

03-01-2023, 11:41 AM
The guy's a tramp. Wouldn't get a game for Hutchie U9s turning out like that. He'd be sent back to the changing room.

You’re right about “hibby bairn” referring to someone as a tramp

03-01-2023, 11:57 AM
Did you miss him being clean through on their keeper? The difference between than and their third goal tells us everything we already know.

He was replying to a poster who said we had no chances in the first half.

Exuberance1875
03-01-2023, 12:00 PM
Thrown under the bus by terrible management.

Comes on for about 10 mins at a time, nowhere near enough time to adapt to the Scottish game, then starts at Parkhead and Tynie.

The best he could have hoped for yesterday was a tap in etc, we created zero chances with him on the park.

Easy out for the manager and fans to point finger at him hooking him at half time if you ask me.

loanheadhibby
03-01-2023, 01:04 PM

He also looked like he was playing a supporting striker role to Nisbet yesterday rather than out and out striker though not sure if that’s the case or our shape was all over the place.

You say the selection was wrong.
Not disagreeing with you but you haven't gone on to say who you would have played.

03-01-2023, 01:18 PM
You say the selection was wrong.
Not disagreeing with you but you haven't gone on to say who you would have played.

This was my team from the us vs them thread before the game. As much as i’ve wanted to see McKirdy start, i wouldn’t have played him and Fish wouldn’t have started at RB - he wouldn’t have started at all if we had another option besides Hanlon.

Marshall
Cadden Rocky Fish Cabraja
Kenneh Newell
McGeady Magennis Youan
Nisbet

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2023, 01:37 PM
Thrown under the bus by terrible management.

Comes on for about 10 mins at a time, nowhere near enough time to adapt to the Scottish game, then starts at Parkhead and Tynie.

The best he could have hoped for yesterday was a tap in etc, we created zero chances with him on the park.

Easy out for the manager and fans to point finger at him hooking him at half time if you ask me.

He’s made 11 appearances. He’s played less than 10 mins twice but on average he gets near enough half an hour. You can’t ask for much better than that when you’re not performing.

03-01-2023, 04:02 PM
Given how he performed last season, he would likely attract some interest at that level.

Hopefully we are trying to move him on this month. It hasn’t worked

03-01-2023, 05:38 PM
Was bizzare the time it took to complete deal on deadline day did LJ want to sign Mckirdy or was this another from recruitment ? Came with good form but has hardly had a look in 2 starts and subbed after 45 mins

The Captain....
03-01-2023, 06:17 PM
I saw McKirdy a few times for Swindon before we signed him and was impressed with his work rate and with how many chances he converted.

I struggled to see where he'd fit in at Hibs given that Boyle played off the right and that seemed to be McKirdy's usual spot at Swindon.

I think he works hard..there is something there but it's difficult to argue we've seen any of it at Hibs. There were glimmers of what he's capable of at Killie awY.

If I'm honest I've not seen any player improve or excel under Johnson and his coaching staff. New player in a struggling side with a manager playing selection bingo. I think he'll leave but end up doing OK somewhere back down South in league 1 or maybe Championship.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

03-01-2023, 07:00 PM
Sometimes player and club are just not a good match

03-01-2023, 07:08 PM
Given his starts almost feels like LJ didn't want him and only starts him when he has no chance of impressing.

Billy McKirdy
03-01-2023, 07:20 PM
Is McKirdy the problem or is it Johnston?
I think another manager in a different team would get the best out of the boy, as others have said, Johnston seems to be the issue not McKirdy.

turn and burn
03-01-2023, 07:25 PM
Is McKirdy the problem or is it Johnston?
I think another manager in a different team would get the best out of the boy, as others have said, Johnston seems to be the issue not McKirdy.

I’m not convinced. I don’t think he looks terribly suited to the Scottish game. It’s a shame to say that he needs to be physically stronger to ride tackles and get by his man. Might be technically good but will struggle - think Sam Stanton, or Alex Harris. Bang average.

03-01-2023, 09:29 PM
Someone obviously wanted him at Hibs because we paid by our standards a decent transfer fee, when not signing him would have gone a long way to keeping to our planned budget after the unexpected but welcome return of Boyle.

I'm struggling to work out why though given that he can't have shown enough in training because he rarely gets a start and he's done nothing so far when he has got on the pitch.

cameronw-hfc
03-01-2023, 09:37 PM
Someone obviously wanted him at Hibs because we paid by our standards a decent transfer fee, when not signing him would have gone a long way to keeping to our planned budget after the unexpected but welcome return of Boyle.

I'm struggling to work out why though given that he can't have shown enough in training because he rarely gets a start and he's done nothing so far when he has got on the pitch.

In fairness, a good manager will treat everyone different. Some players need an arm round their shoulder, some need a rocket up their backside, it seems to me like LJ has a set way of dealing with people. There's been tons of good players that aren't great trainers, so I don't think training should be a huge issue. Obviously if he's just sacking it in then I get it, but if he's not just 100% there, he might just be that type of character.

I've heard his attitude isn't a problem, he's just lippy. Will talk back, have a big personality of sorts. Makes it even more confusing as LJ seems to like Porto and Boyle who are also both big personalities. It's a strange one as I don't think someone like Mckirdy can be judged on 20/30mins every few weeks then a start at Parkead and Tynie. He looks a proper confidence player, someone that needs a run of games and if we paid a fee for him and wont give him a run, then what's the point? Written off way too early for me. Think there's a lot to come from him, he just needs a chance.

03-01-2023, 09:51 PM
In fairness, a good manager will treat everyone different. Some players need an arm round their shoulder, some need a rocket up their backside, it seems to me like LJ has a set way of dealing with people. There's been tons of good players that aren't great trainers, so I don't think training should be a huge issue. Obviously if he's just sacking it in then I get it, but if he's not just 100% there, he might just be that type of character.

I've heard his attitude isn't a problem, he's just lippy. Will talk back, have a big personality of sorts. Makes it even more confusing as LJ seems to like Porto and Boyle who are also both big personalities. It's a strange one as I don't think someone like Mckirdy can be judged on 20/30mins every few weeks then a start at Parkead and Tynie. He looks a proper confidence player, someone that needs a run of games and if we paid a fee for him and wont give him a run, then what's the point? Written off way too early for me. Think there's a lot to come from him, he just needs a chance.

He’s had chances and looked miles out of his depth. He hasn’t done nearly enough in his time on the park to merit more time on the park. Not lacking in confidence, just miles off it. Coming up for 26 so we’re not talking about a daft young laddie. He’s really had one decent season in his career. Not his fault we paid a big fee but it’s another clear error.

03-01-2023, 10:20 PM
McKirdy is likely to not work out up here …Boyle’s out and he is still struggling to get much game time . But I feel it’s completely unfair to judge him without giving him a run of games . That’s what this board often does ..but it is without real logic . Give him 6-7 starts, and we’d see the real him - whatever that may be ..

03-01-2023, 10:53 PM
Unlike some I think he's been given enough time to 'bed in' to the team, more than some other players who never got nearly as much game time as he did. It's maybe just not a good fit for him, but I would be trying to move him on. I don't know if we can risk giving him lots more game time I.E. a run of 5 or 6 games at this stage of the season, we could maybe have tried that at the start of the season if we'd bought him then, but we are now at the stage that we need to bring players in that will be up and running and scoring goals regularly and soon, and unfortunately he hasn't even scored a goal for us yet.

03-01-2023, 11:07 PM
Hard to argue he hasn’t been disappointing, but still don’t get why the only two games he’s started are 2 out of the three most difficult fixtures we have. Should have started against “lesser” opposition. Youan got 90 minutes more than once while offering very little, Ibrox being a prime example.

03-01-2023, 11:11 PM
Hard to argue he hasn’t been disappointing, but still don’t get why the only two games he’s started are 2 out of the three most difficult fixtures we have. Should have started against “lesser” opposition. Youan got 90 minutes more than once while offering very little, Ibrox being a prime example.

I think this is where I am with him.

He looks good enough to me to cause problems for the weakest 3 or 4 teams in the league. He looks out of his depth when playing the top 3 or 4 in the league. Overall that's not going to be good enough in the long term unless he improves, but surely to goodness for now we could do him a favour by playing him against teams we're likely to create chances against?

03-01-2023, 11:24 PM
I think this is where I am with him.

He looks good enough to me to cause problems for the weakest 3 or 4 teams in the league. He looks out of his depth when playing the top 3 or 4 in the league. Overall that's not going to be good enough in the long term unless he improves, but surely to goodness for now we could do him a favour by playing him against teams we're likely to create chances against?

Absolutely. Give him a chance, maybe get his confidence up with a run of consecutive games.

04-01-2023, 01:01 AM
He's not ready to start games. Sproule took time to get into the starting lineup.

He may never be ready, and throwing him in to replace a 6 ft 6 centre forward at the last minute won't make him more ready.

scottish_sleepy
04-01-2023, 01:24 AM

Agree with you there.
Youan seems to seen as a better option yet has done pretty much bugger all.
Screwed up the best chance you're going to get against Hearts. Clean through and never even got a shot off.
Yes in the second half when he was in acres of space he received the ball pretty well but on most occasions did absolutely nothi g with it.
In the first half McKirdy was going mental a the other players for not trying a leg to close down their defenders when trying to play the ball out.
He was the only one chasing them all down. There was one decent ball played across the box that he was bursting a gut trying to reach sliding in.
I'd definitely give him half a dozen games in a row to see what happens.
Let's face it, it can hardly be worse than what's happened over the last dozen games.

Walkerbaws
04-01-2023, 06:30 AM
This is a typical situation of does your face fit. I feel for mckirdy. We have players that have been out and come straight back into the team without much argument and will stay in no matter how good they play. We had nisbet last season that couldn’t buy a goal, yet I didn’t hear anyone say he was out of his depth, he never even got dropped to try something else or maybe give him a break in games to refresh him. We’ve been beaten 9 times out of 11 if I’m right, tell me when the best time to bring on players in these games is, because from what I’ve seen it’s more of throw everybody on for the last ten minutes to see if we can nick a goal that the other players haven’t been able to do in 80 minutes. I also feel for will fish too, another example from Johnson of thrown in at the deep end, a nineteen year old playing out of position in a derby for a first start of your career, but that’s for another thread.

04-01-2023, 08:42 AM
He's not ready to start games. Sproule took time to get into the starting lineup.

He may never be ready, and throwing him in to replace a 6 ft 6 centre forward at the last minute won't make him more ready.

Sproule came off the bench and did things that impacted games though. Not just that game at Ibrox, plenty others. And that, over time, earned him a place in the team.

McKirdy has done nothing. Ran around and had a couple of shots when he came on away to Utd and Kilmarnock and that’s it.

I do agree that it’s strange that his two starts have been in the games they have. He also had starts in the two friendlies when we came back from the break but again did nothing in them to push himself in to the team for the league resuming after them. For me he has to earn his starts by doing something on the time he’s on the pitch, a lot of his sub appearances have been for more than a few minutes at the end or whatever.

I'm Spartacus
04-01-2023, 09:02 AM
Whoever is signing our players needs sacked, it's as simple as that, whoever has their finger prints on any of the process to make it go through then they have to go.

04-01-2023, 10:30 AM
He's our 5th, possibly 6th choice striker. I don't expect him to be good and I'm not surprised he isn't.

The question is, why did we spend money on him and buy him?

LeithMike
04-01-2023, 10:40 AM
McKirdy looks to be a penalty box player to me and I think he’d be good in the right set-up. He certainly takes pride in his finishing and applies himself (maybe a bit too much).

I think we’ve got a similar situation to Jamie MacLaren and Christian Kamberi. Both looked good when playing ahead of a midfield of McGeouch, McGinn and Allan but pretty poor when it was Vela, Mallan and Allan.

McKirdy looks like he has more attributes than MacLaren and it would be sad if we discard him without giving him a proper go.

Sorting the midfield is likely be the thing that improves our forward line far more than just replacing the forwards - who will just have the same problems.

I think on Youann though you can see he’s not an accomplished finisher and panics in the box. I’d be playing him a bit deeper - perhaps as the central attacking midfielder.

Hibs4185
04-01-2023, 10:56 AM
Poor man’s Jason Cummings I think

I'm Spartacus
04-01-2023, 11:00 AM
The second I saw the photo of when he signed for us the alarm bells were ringing that he wasn't going to work out, he turned up in fancy dress and that set the tone for me.

Bridge hibs
04-01-2023, 11:05 AM
The second I saw the photo of when he signed for us the alarm bells were ringing that he wasn't going to work out, he turned up in fancy dress and that set the tone for me.Yeah of course, ***** clothes and ***** hair cut defines his footballing ability. Got to be up there with the Newell spends more time fixing his hair than he spends playing football *****

Dodgy clothes and hair styles didnt seem to affect our bleach boys Riordan, O’Connor, Thomson, Brown etc

04-01-2023, 11:15 AM
What I don't get is the idea that some of our attacking 19s aren't ready for first team football when they look like they could eat Mckirdy for breakfast. Even young Rudi could carry him about in his back pocket.

Same goes in the midfield area. There is nothing about Zaid and Aiken that would stop them being strong enough to play in our current squad.

04-01-2023, 11:17 AM
Yeah of course, ***** clothes and ***** hair cut defines his footballing ability. Got to be up there with the Newell spends more time fixing his hair than he spends playing football *****

Dodgy clothes and hair styles didnt seem to affect our bleach boys Riordan, O’Connor, Thomson, Brown etc

Who has the best hair, Newell or Socrates? (Ever since Bill and Teds Excellent Adventure came out I can’t pronounce his name properly, it’s So-Crates, not Sock-Ra-Teeze from now on). Socrates has the beard and the headband, I’m thinking Newell could rock this look quite well.

Logie
04-01-2023, 11:21 AM
I feel a bit sorry for Mckirdy. He’s not hit the ground running as expected but really has had limited chances and been given a game in almost 2 of our hardest away games, although he never had many chances I thought he at least worked his back side off first half on Monday and was let down by a manger playing him in an unfamiliar role as far as I am aware. Ok does not make him a good player just running around but I liked his effort more so than other players in the team.

04-01-2023, 11:42 AM
What I don't get is the idea that some of our attacking 19s aren't ready for first team football when they look like they could eat Mckirdy for breakfast. Even young Rudi could carry him about in his back pocket.

Same goes in the midfield area. There is nothing about Zaid and Aiken that would stop them being strong enough to play in our current squad.

Tbh I’ve seen nothing of our youngsters bar the Norwich and Raith friendlies so can’t comment on their ability to step up to the first team. I do however feel it’s ironic we make such a big deal about a development team producing players for the future but we never give any of our youngsters a chance to show if they are good enough.

04-01-2023, 11:44 AM
I feel a bit sorry for Mckirdy. He’s not hit the ground running as expected but really has had limited chances and been given a game in almost 2 of our hardest away games, although he never had many chances I thought he at least worked his back side off first half on Monday and was let down by a manger playing him in an unfamiliar role as far as I am aware. Ok does not make him a good player just running around but I liked his effort more so than other players in the team.

We need to stop looking at Hearts as some stop of top team and actually sign players that can hurt them. Could you imagine Hearts signing a striker and then saying "oh I feel a bit sorry for him because he started at Easter Road?" Would never happen. He's either good enough or he's not. Celtic in Glasgow is different but he has contributed absolutely nothing apart from running around a bit.

Logie
04-01-2023, 11:50 AM
We need to stop looking at Hearts as some stop of top team and actually sign players that can hurt them. Could you imagine Hearts signing a striker and then saying "oh I feel a bit sorry for him because he started at Easter Road?" Would never happen. He's either good enough or he's not. Celtic in Glasgow is different but he has contributed absolutely nothing apart from running around a bit.

I’m not suggesting what you mention in the first part all I am saying is how can it help players coming in barely getting a sniff then getting chucked into whatever position LJ decides every other game? The guy has scored goals yet barely had a proper chance in his actual position. Not easy moving to a different country to a new team and being given limited time in different positions.. I don’t think that’s unreasonable.

04-01-2023, 11:56 AM
I’m not suggesting what you mention in the first part all I am saying is how can it help players coming in barely getting a sniff then getting chucked into whatever position LJ decides every other game? The guy has scored goals yet barely had a proper chance in his actual position. Not easy moving to a different country to a new team and being given limited time in different positions.. I don’t think that’s unreasonable.

Agreed. It’s the lack of consistency that pisses me off. Other players have poor games one after another but get more chances, the McKirdy starts are just bizarre imo. Maybe he will never cut it, would just like to see him get a few games in a row playing whatever position Swindon utilised him in then make that decision.

04-01-2023, 11:58 AM
The second I saw the photo of when he signed for us the alarm bells were ringing that he wasn't going to work out, he turned up in fancy dress and that set the tone for me.

don’t think he turned up in ‘fancy dress’, i think that’s just how he dresses. shouldn’t be a reason to think he’ll be poor cause he doesn’t dress like a typical footballer.

04-01-2023, 12:01 PM

just wait until they don’t score for a few games and watch their confidence get ruined by the coaches and experts of .net

for what it’s worth, i’d like to see more youngsters get a chance but the worry is there that they will be hounded if they don’t hit the ground running.

I'm Spartacus
04-01-2023, 12:02 PM
don’t think he turned up in ‘fancy dress’, i think that’s just how he dresses. shouldn’t be a reason to think he’ll be poor cause he doesn’t dress like a typical footballer.

I hear you, I just thought straight away "Is this boy serious?", just my first impression. I still feel like nothing has come close to making me change my mind.

I do read the ***** thrown his way for the first goal, but Fish was totally clueless, Sportscene made the point of him not expecting that kind of pressure in training, yet Devlin was on him.

04-01-2023, 12:07 PM

The comparison to the mindset of a Hearts striker has been demonstrated this week. Humphrys hasn’t kicked a ball since October. Comes on and scores. Speaks after the game how getting back for this game was the aim and how he’s spoken weeks ago about how he felt he’d score. The amount of nobodies they’ve had over the years who come in to the team and score against us then act like it’s been a lifelong dream. Yet we’re feeling sorry for one of our big summer signings who showed nothing against them.

Paulie Walnuts
04-01-2023, 12:09 PM
just wait until they don’t score for a few games and watch their confidence get ruined by the coaches and experts of .net

for what it’s worth, i’d like to see more youngsters get a chance but the worry is there that they will be hounded if they don’t hit the ground running.

The support at games has been exceptional. I’m not sure a potential lack of support is reason not to give them a game imo, the fans have backed the club and players to the hilt so far this season.

If we’re now at the point of considering not playing players because we’re worried about posts on Hibs.net then we’re in real bother.

04-01-2023, 12:12 PM

Are we as fans and posters on here really that bad ? I’d like to see youngsters given a chance too, I think the majority would accept they might make mistakes but would support them. The comments I’ve seen regarding their time in friendlies has been largely encouraging. Taking Melkersen as an example folk are questioning his lack of impact and progress but wouldn’t say they were slaughtering him.

04-01-2023, 01:21 PM
Are we as fans and posters on here really that bad ? I’d like to see youngsters given a chance too, I think the majority would accept they might make mistakes but would support them. The comments I’ve seen regarding their time in friendlies has been largely encouraging. Taking Melkersen as an example folk are questioning his lack of impact and progress but wouldn’t say they were slaughtering him.

Fish has made a poor mistake in what is probably his 2nd game for us and he is being slaughtered. It was a really poor mistake and costly, but he has basically been written off now due to this.

Look how Rocky was impacted by the fanbase towards the end of last season due to the amount of **** he was receiving. Campbell was also slaughtered towards the end of last season. Luckily him and Rocky managed to turn it around a little.

04-01-2023, 01:23 PM

Cristiano Ronaldo is one of the worst dress footballers in the world but he was also pretty decent.

04-01-2023, 02:13 PM
Fish has made a poor mistake in what is probably his 2nd game for us and he is being slaughtered. It was a really poor mistake and costly, but he has basically been written off now due to this.

Look how Rocky was impacted by the fanbase towards the end of last season due to the amount of **** he was receiving. Campbell was also slaughtered towards the end of last season. Luckily him and Rocky managed to turn it around a little.

Good points tbf. The mistake by Fish for the first was schoolboy stuff though regardless of the actual position he’d been selected in.

I’d still like to believe in the main we’d show more patience to any youngsters.

04-01-2023, 02:20 PM
Good points tbf. The mistake by Fish for the first was schoolboy stuff though regardless of the actual position he’d been selected in.

I’d still like to believe in the main we’d show more patience to any youngsters.

it was a horrible mistake and he should know better, but i don’t think it means he isn’t good enough for us.

id agree i’d like to imagine we’d give more patience to them but i’d be concerned, especially given the pressure on the club at the moment. it’s a really **** situation for us to be in right now

04-01-2023, 02:48 PM
it was a horrible mistake and he should know better, but i don’t think it means he isn’t good enough for us.

id agree i’d like to imagine we’d give more patience to them but i’d be concerned, especially given the pressure on the club at the moment. it’s a really **** situation for us to be in right now

That might be Fish’s last appearance for us but remember Henrik Larsson’s first game for Celtic?

SickBoy32
04-01-2023, 02:57 PM

Point in bold - his Sunday league error (might even be being generous there) means exactly that unfortunately, no the players fault though

For us to be in the position to be needing to play a guy who couldny get a game for Stockport County last season in one of our biggest games of the year shows just how poorly the club has been mismanaged in the last couple of years

File under Wood Boateng Stephens etc

And just to rub salt in the wound, our current execs are actively scrambling about to offload our best centre half for a cut price deal !!!

04-01-2023, 02:59 PM

****ing hell...

04-01-2023, 03:04 PM
Point in bold - his Sunday league error (might even be being generous there) means exactly that unfortunately, no the players fault though

For us to be in the position to be needing to play a guy who couldny get a game for Stockport County last season in one of our biggest games of the year shows just how poorly the club has been mismanaged in the last couple of years

File under Wood Boateng Stephens etc

And just to rub salt in the wound, our current execs are actively scrambling about to offload our best centre half for a cut price deal !!!

We didnt need to play him but LJ chose to play him, and out of position.

04-01-2023, 03:12 PM

Agree. Just as well any of this lot were never on the radar at any time. Maybe they were? Certainly wouldn’t have got a foot into his office dressed like that back in Rod’s day.

https://i.postimg.cc/GmyFVBzK/CF23773-C-0-E3-D-4-CC1-8-AB7-58-F8-E69-C27-F9.webp (https://postimg.cc/dhJZTVbZ)

04-01-2023, 03:21 PM

Players being slaughtered would be them getting berated at the match by a large section of the fans. That's proper treatment.

Fish and any others who get a wee bit upset just needs to steer clear of social media like .net for a few days and the noise will move on to someone or something else. After that, if they can't handle the heat maybe they should seek help or a new career.

StirlingHibee
04-01-2023, 03:23 PM
Looks too lightweight and lacks the physicality for our league. As for the haircut, I think you get away with that if you're a Beckham or a Ballotelli or even a young Riordan or Scott Brown. Unfortunately for us, he doesn't come close to being any of the afore mentioned.

04-01-2023, 03:39 PM
Agree. Just as well any of this lot were never on the radar at any time. Maybe they were? Certainly wouldn’t have got a foot into his office dressed like that back in Rod’s day.

https://i.postimg.cc/GmyFVBzK/CF23773-C-0-E3-D-4-CC1-8-AB7-58-F8-E69-C27-F9.webp (https://postimg.cc/dhJZTVbZ)

Tbf they wouldn't dress like that on club business and its not too big an ask for the boy to dress in the same official training gear that the rest of the squad wear to official events / match day. But that is clearly up to the coaching squad or maybe the captain to enforce.

04-01-2023, 03:41 PM
Players being slaughtered would be them getting berated at the match by a large section of the fans. That's proper treatment.

Fish and any others who get a wee bit upset just needs to steer clear of social media like .net for a few days and the noise will move on to someone or something else. After that, if they can't handle the heat maybe they should seek help or a new career.

Do you think that doesn’t happen at matches?

Times have changed a little bit where you could only be abused at a game, players will see it on social media now, whether themselves or being sent it. It doesn’t make it Ok because it doesn’t only come from the stands now.

I'm Spartacus
04-01-2023, 03:42 PM
Tbf they wouldn't dress like that on club business and its not too big an ask for the boy to dress in the same official training gear that the rest of the squad wear to official events / match day. But that is clearly up to the coaching squad or maybe the captain to enforce.

Thank you @brightside

It's like turning up to a new employer and setting the correct first impression.

Just_Jimmy
04-01-2023, 03:45 PM
Sometimes player and club are just not a good matchSeems to happen quite regularly at Hibs.

Funny enough punts seem to work out better when we've got a settled side and a manager with a clue.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

1875Sean
04-01-2023, 03:54 PM
Don’t mind having a character about the place, all this chat about dress sense and haircuts shouldn’t matter, I know he hasn’t had much time on the pitch but looking at the basics he looks far off it, league 2 player and I can’t see him cutting it here, hope I am wrong

04-01-2023, 04:33 PM
Our marquee signing has turned into a bivy sack. Good in some environments, but not what need at the moment.

04-01-2023, 04:36 PM
That might be Fish’s last appearance for us but remember Henrik Larsson’s first game for Celtic?

Not nearly the same. Wouldn't expect to see what Fish done at school boy level yet alone as a pro footballer.

04-01-2023, 04:51 PM

04-01-2023, 05:01 PM

These guys are young and exist in social
Media with their friends and peers..they also drive and walk around town ..there is little way from them to get away from the tone of opinion ..the hate and criticism will be hitting them hard . We, the fans, can either join that or support them through it ..it’s our individual choice …