View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Celtic

Pages : [1] 2 3

28-12-2022, 05:35 PM
Can we get two wins in a row, or Celtic just beyond us and everyone else in the league? Would take a Saudi Arabia v Argentina performance…which goes to show it is possible.

Team news and updates here.

28-12-2022, 05:43 PM
I was a bit concerned to hear Marshall suggesting we are looking to go out and attack Celtic in his post match comments on Saturday. After the lesson we got at Celtic Park I hope that was just a bit of bravado.

Tonight isn't going to be pretty but hopefully we can keep it tight and the fans don't get too frustrated. Get to 70 minutes at 0-0 or even 0-1 and we could nick something. I don't like playing that way but it's about the only way we are getting anything tonight. Go out open and gung ho and we will get picked off at will.

28-12-2022, 05:46 PM
Same team.

28-12-2022, 05:48 PM
Marshall

Hanlon
Porto
Rocky

Cadden
Magennis
Newell
Campbell
Stevenson

Nisbet
Youan

Or

Marshall

Cadden
Rocky
Hanlon
Stevenson

Magennis
Porto
Newell

Campbell
Nisbet
Youan

Mikey_1875
28-12-2022, 05:50 PM
Can’t argue with an unchanged team and it’s good to see big Myko back on the bench. Looking forward to see how he can link up with Nisbet. No Mitchell in the squad think we’ll be looking to get rid in Jan.

28-12-2022, 05:50 PM
Kuharevich to come off bench for a last minute winner

28-12-2022, 05:53 PM
Hibs pre game build up live stream/video. Something to watch prior to the game on Sky/Hibs TV for those at home.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eowio6_wqUs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eowio6_wqUs)

28-12-2022, 05:53 PM
Kuharevich to come off bench for a last minute winner

I was watching his team Troyes today; 0-0 with Nantes. Unbelievably they have drawn their last six home games, and not one of their strikers have scored in their last seven games, home OR away.

28-12-2022, 06:01 PM
Mitchell out for Myko

No Jair again

Can't argue with the squad though

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
28-12-2022, 06:02 PM
I was watching his team Troyes today; 0-0 with Nantes. Unbelievably they have drawn their last six home games, and not one of their strikers have scored in their last seven games, home OR away.
Some ex hearts player was recently appointed there manager I think too ?

28-12-2022, 06:04 PM
Marshall

Hanlon
Porto
Rocky

Cadden
Magennis
Newell
Campbell
Stevenson

Nisbet
Youan

Or

Marshall

Cadden
Rocky
Hanlon
Stevenson

Magennis
Porto
Newell

Campbell
Nisbet
Youan

Will be the same as the last two with Magennis on the right and Porteous in the middle of the park.

28-12-2022, 06:06 PM
I was a bit concerned to hear Marshall suggesting we are looking to go out and attack Celtic in his post match comments on Saturday. After the lesson we got at Celtic Park I hope that was just a bit of bravado.

Tonight isn't going to be pretty but hopefully we can keep it tight and the fans don't get too frustrated. Get to 70 minutes at 0-0 or even 0-1 and we could nick something. I don't like playing that way but it's about the only way we are getting anything tonight. Go out open and gung ho and we will get picked off at will.

I disagree I think.

For us to have a chance we need Celtic to have an off day. If we sit back, try and defend for 90 minutes and hope for the best we’ve no chance.

We need to be in their faces trying to get forward and play as attacking as we possibly can without being too wide open.

28-12-2022, 06:11 PM
Some ex hearts player was recently appointed there manager I think too ?

Kisnorbo! I knew I’d heard that name somewhere before

28-12-2022, 06:14 PM
I disagree I think.

For us to have a chance we need Celtic to have an off day. If we sit back, try and defend for 90 minutes and hope for the best we’ve no chance.

We need to be in their faces trying to get forward and play as attacking as we possibly can without being too wide open.

I agree we have to be in their faces and press the ball, particularly when they enter our half. We also should look to get forward when it's on.

What I don't want to see a repeat of is the suicidal leave 3 men up top, be open and push the full backs on that we tried away and got torn to shreds.

There is being too passive, there is being aggressive but realistic and there is absolute insanity. We need to aim for the middle option tonight which is ultimately going to mean chunks of the game where we are backs to the wall.

Donegal Hibby
28-12-2022, 06:19 PM
Kisnorbo! I knew I’d heard that name somewhere before
That's the guy couldn't remember his name .

CyberSauzee
28-12-2022, 06:27 PM
Same starting lineup as Saturday. Only change on the bench is Kukharavych there instead of Mitchell.

28-12-2022, 06:28 PM
Leigh Griffiths in the Albion Bar with Martin Boyle. If only they were both fit and on the park 😖
Not trying to start a new Griffiths debate by the way. Too much baggage.

Hibs4185
28-12-2022, 06:32 PM
Just watched the sauzee programme on sky before the game.

Incredible way to build up to the game.

Mon the Hibees!!!

Hibs4185
28-12-2022, 06:34 PM
Petrov
McFadden
Boyd

Terrible panel on sky

28-12-2022, 06:35 PM
They were slating the pitch on the radio but it looks ok to me. Heavy but plenty grass for the time of year.

Also appear Demitri Mitchell isn't a happy bunny on social media.

28-12-2022, 06:41 PM
They were slating the pitch on the radio but it looks ok to me. Heavy but plenty grass for the time of year.

I didn’t think the pitch looked great considering the lack of games. Not terrible though.

What’s Mitchell saying to it?

28-12-2022, 06:41 PM

What's he saying?

28-12-2022, 06:53 PM
Petrov
McFadden
Boyd

Terrible panel on sky

2 Celtic minded and 1 Rangers minded, could've had an ex Hibs player there for balance.

Donegal Hibby
28-12-2022, 06:56 PM
Cmon the Hibees :flag:

28-12-2022, 06:58 PM
2 Celtic minded and 1 Rangers minded, could've had an ex Hibs player there for balance.

Petrov and McFadden I’ve no problem with. Why’s the gargantuan Hun Boyd there? Jack Ross? Darren McGregor? Marv Bartley? So many others to choose from.

28-12-2022, 06:59 PM
Mykola injured in the warm up

Great [emoji23]

Willis1875
28-12-2022, 07:00 PM
What's he saying?

Hopefully nothing too daft because he now finds himself on the bench

Bridge hibs
Mitchell on the bench, Myko injured in the warm up

I didn’t think the pitch looked great considering the lack of games. Not terrible though.

What’s Mitchell saying to it?

Something cryptic about people not being loyal.

Up-the-slope
28-12-2022, 07:01 PM

Great [emoji23]

no way :boo hoo:

28-12-2022, 07:02 PM
mon the cabbage in aboot thum

28-12-2022, 07:02 PM
Something cryptic about people not being loyal.

Not a great sign when you injure yourself just warming up.

28-12-2022, 07:03 PM
**** offside, good start though.

Outstanding start from us.

OtleyHibs
Started really well

28-12-2022, 07:04 PM
Great start here. Running hard at them

28-12-2022, 07:04 PM
Good start, that ball from Marshall to Youan was fire.

28-12-2022, 07:06 PM
And that's our defensive problems showing again, Hatate in acres of space.

28-12-2022, 07:07 PM
Celtc fans singing about joining the IRA. As predictable as it is sad the bubble they live in with Rangers.

28-12-2022, 07:08 PM
Celtc fans singing about joining the IRA. As predictable as it is sad the bubble they live in with Rangers.

Both as weird and bizarre as each other.

28-12-2022, 07:08 PM

Great [emoji23]

Hope it's not a bad one.

LunasBoots
28-12-2022, 07:09 PM

Just heading to the shop down bottom of Leith can hear it clear as day, ridiculous

Both as weird and bizarre as each other.

They are. Like the McPoyle twins from IASIP.

How was that a foul by Campbell btw?

Starfelt kicked him!

28-12-2022, 07:11 PM
How was that a foul by Campbell btw?

Starfelt kicked him!

He went in slightly late, Starfelt was playing the ball and caught him on the follow through.

28-12-2022, 07:11 PM
People getting frustrated with us but this is what I expected. It's not defensive, it's just disciplined, holding the banks of 4 and trying to close down the space. They'll get chances but so will we when it breaks down for them as they are having to commit a lot forward to try and force space.

28-12-2022, 07:13 PM
Campbell playing really well at the moment, turning into a really good player.

28-12-2022, 07:13 PM
Hibs have been excellent so far. A continuation of the last two games.

28-12-2022, 07:15 PM

Loud and clear for about 5 minutes straight.

Nothing will be said on Sky though but they'll be quick to apologise profusely when someone is caught shouting **** off too close to the microphone.

That's poor. Fantastic ball.

This is a really excellent start from us, I'm encouraged by what I'm seeing so far.

28-12-2022, 07:16 PM
Sublime by Youan.

28-12-2022, 07:18 PM
It's like he's moved up a gear recently.. long may it continue!

28-12-2022, 07:19 PM
That was a great effort from Campbell. Very encouraging stuff here.

28-12-2022, 07:23 PM
good stuff rocky

28-12-2022, 07:25 PM
is VAR checking just because a sellick player put his arm up :rolleyes:

28-12-2022, 07:26 PM
I love Rocky

28-12-2022, 07:27 PM
0-1.

Defence has to do better there.

LunasBoots
28-12-2022, 07:27 PM
1 nil celtic

28-12-2022, 07:28 PM
Pish

HendoDelivered
Aw well

Everything coming down the same side. Need to be better.

28-12-2022, 07:29 PM
Poor marking again in the box, it's a problem we are struggling to fix.

28-12-2022, 07:30 PM
Newell’s first open play assist in the league this season.

Joking aside, he’d started the game well, lots of attempts to get the ball forward quickly.

Sitting back and saying just run at us is asking for trouble, let's have the famous high press

1-0 the bigots.Cadden has to do better and then they get the break of the ball.

Celtic are such a good side. Quick and sharp. We've done well though.

Everything coming down the same side. Need to be better.

Yep we'd had warnings. The missed header, the Hanlon block and Rocky's acrobatics.

They are just better than us out wide and it shows sadly. That's what tens of millions more in budget gets you.

stuart-farquhar
Saturday in reverse.

Just_Jimmy
28-12-2022, 07:31 PM
Cadden is so pish. Wasted our best chances going forward and absolutely burned at the goal.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

28-12-2022, 07:32 PM
Sitting back and saying just run at us is asking for trouble, let's have the famous high press

We had it for 25 mins, then back to normal, you need to do it for 90 mins.

28-12-2022, 07:33 PM
Sloppy in possession and Hibs players losing individual battles not helping us.

Stubbsy90+2
28-12-2022, 07:34 PM
Not offering nearly enough here.

Cadden is so pish. Wasted our best chances going forward and absolutely burned at the goal.

Can't blame him for the goal, who was marking Mooy?

Joking aside, he’d started the game well, lots of attempts to get the ball forward quickly.

Is he playing?

Should be 2-0 Maeda off the bar.

LunasBoots
Should be 2

28-12-2022, 07:35 PM
Can't blame him for the goal, who was marking Mooy?

Cadden fails to stop crosses way too regularly. Got absolutely rinsed for the goal.

Let off there.

Game over if that had gone in.

Either we have dropped off or they have picked it up a gear. Maybe a bit of both. We just can't get the ball and keep it, everything breaks down after 1 pass.

stuart-farquhar

All the money aided and abetted by the media and the army of village idiots all over Scotland who follow them.

Porteous ball watching. Small mistakes will cost you against Celtic. Got away with one there.

I would sub Cadden at half time.

2-0 game over.

Need half time here

And that is game over.

Great goal tbf but Cadden done on the half way line and never looked like getting back.

Honesty, team is a bunch of pussies, **** this

LunasBoots
***** Hibs, just ran through us

CL0762

Positionally off the ball they are miles ahead. I don’t think I’ve seen a side so positionally & tactically aware.

And there’s 2.

Game over

That should've been 2, no marking again.

Stubbsy90+2
Absolutely ****ing garbage

As easy a chance as you could possibly hope for :greengrin

28-12-2022, 07:36 PM
2-0 game over.

Yep. Good goal but Cadden slipped. Annoying.

Aw ffs

I would sub Cadden at half time.

Would take him off now. They're targeting him.

What a goal

and that'll be that

Defence is all over the place here

HendoDelivered
That’ll be that then. This will finish 3 or 4.

That’s a wonder goal tbf

28-12-2022, 07:37 PM
And bring who on exactly ?

Jeez, is no one going to challenge him ffs.

Disagree, he’s the player who has looked most out his depth in this company to me.

The rest have looked fine, whilst obviously up against it against a decent side.

Some Hibs fans away for a half-time pie

Both goals come from Cadden being ripped to **** on that side.

Get him off the ****ing park FFS.

Put Porteous back in at CB and move Rocky over. Bring in a other midfielder.

Cadden having a mare. We're inviting them on for Christmas.

They weather the storm then it was way to easy.

Game over unfortunately just don’t want a capitulation

A mannequin

28-12-2022, 07:38 PM

I'd take someone from the bloody stands right now. Cadden is utter garbage.

itslegaltender
Cadden is a liability. Also whoever earlier said newell was playing well…. Ffs

He slipped for the second.

He's getting zero help from whoever is meant to be on the right,

28-12-2022, 07:39 PM
Cadden is a liability. Also whoever earlier said newell was playing well…. Ffs

Took his goal well though.

Cadden having a mare. We're inviting them on for Christmas.

Cadden has been poor for much of the season.

We need to get going again here, as it is Celtic could rack up another 5 or 6. It's painful to say but they are a fantastic side, miles ahead of us as you'd expect.

Tough shift for the players now. Need to get next goal.

Because he gives Maeda about a 5 yard start then slips trying to catch him.

Abysmal defending.

How's Lewis Miller doing?

Looked unlucky rather than pish to me.

Disagree, he’s the player who has looked most out his depth in this company to me.

The rest have looked fine, whilst obviously up against it against a decent side.

Not saying it was a vintage performance but I’m one of Newell’s biggest critics and felt it was noticeable he was playing forward more often and quicker.

Celtic players look 5 yards faster than us and so much fitter

dmc1875
28-12-2022, 07:40 PM
Cadden is overrated garbage. He’s a poor Paul McGinn

Hibs need half time here to regroup.

We have gone into our shell and can hardly keep the ball for 2 passes.

Celtic man ran through our midfield, centre halves should have been out

Cadden has been poor for much of the season.

We need to get going again here, as it is Celtic could rack up another 5 or 6. It's painful to say but they are a fantastic side, miles ahead of us as you'd expect.

Read earlier they’ve lost 1 league game in 50. Just so far ahead of the rest.

LunasBoots
28-12-2022, 07:41 PM
Needs to change it, getting mauled down the wings

Started well but couldn’t keep it going ….. nothing changes. We were unlikely to get anything tonight but a fighting performance would compensate. It’ll be interesting to see if we give up the ghost or show some character. I won’t hold my breath.

Celtic unstoppable playing like this. Need half time.

28-12-2022, 07:42 PM
We're a friggin shambles now, they're ripping our defence to shreds. Celtic enjoying themselves.

Off the post.

Donegal Hibby
We are just playing a very good side unfortunately

Cadden is overrated garbage. He’s a poor Paul McGinn

Cadden isn’t a full back - he’s a right midfielder.

Who told Newell he has a wrong throw? He barely reaches the 18 yard box on a good day, even worse when it's pissing down and the ball is slippy.

He's getting zero help from whoever is meant to be on the right,

Magennis hasn't done a lot but has covered well enough (except the goal mind). Cadden has lost almost every 1v1 he's had. Can only remember him blocking a cross once. Probably the 1st time in weeks also. He's being targeted because he's a weakness. He's hardly doing much up front to make up for it. His one chance where he should have shot he tried to pass it and made a **** of that despite having acres of space and plenty of time.

HendoDelivered
28-12-2022, 07:43 PM
When did we sign Rory Delap? :greengrin

OtleyHibs
Unlucky there, need the next goal

Had a brief chance and never took it. Celtic too good. Game over.

This. Can't believe some of the negativity on here. Think we've done as best we can against a very good side.

Off the post from Hamlin. Unlucky.

Celtic man ran through our midfield, centre halves should have been out

Cadden slipped on the crap pitch.

Magennis and Porto got sold the over lap.

Lack of a midfield = massive gap in middle of pitch to shoot.

Hope I'm wrong but we have zero character, I'd be raging if this was happening to me, where is the response?

Up-the-slope
28-12-2022, 07:44 PM
This. Can't believe some of the negativity on here. Think we've done as best we can against a very good side.

Get Johnson so far to ****

Stubbsy90+2
Celtic unstoppable playing like this. Need half time.

No they’re not. They’re really not playing that well, we’re just offering **** all.

28-12-2022, 07:45 PM
Magennis hasn't done a lot but has covered well enough (except the goal mind). Cadden has lost almost every 1v1 he's had. Can only remember him blocking a cross once. Probably the 1st time in weeks also. He's being targeted because he's a weakness. He's hardly doing much up front to make up for it. His one chance where he should have shot he tried to pass it and made a **** of that despite having acres of space and plenty of time.

Only midfielder we have.

Donegal Hibby
Cadden isn’t a full back - he’s a right midfielder.
Exactly , though we are losing so let's just blame him :rolleyes:

HendoDelivered
Get Johnson so far to ****

Keep sacking managers, that’ll sort it.

justlikebrazil
Totally outclassed I'm afraid 😒

Good start but the *****baggery on here is laughable 😂😂

No they’re not. They’re really not playing that well, we’re just offering **** all.

They've been excellent.

28-12-2022, 07:46 PM

They haven't had to get out of second gear yet, no doubt they are a good side but we've made it a total canter

Just_Jimmy
Can't blame him for the goal, who was marking Mooy?He got absolutely roasted by the winger

They've been excellent.

Silly to say otherwise. We can’t cope with their quality.

Hibs4185
We are so unlucky.

Celtic are just so industrious and athletic. They attack in numbers and defend in numbers.

I bet if you asked the Celtic manager and players they’d reckon we were the third hardest team to play against after rangers.

If we can keep this up against the other teams we will do well

Stubbsy90+2
They've been excellent.

Na, not for me. They’ve not had to be anywhere near that.

Hope I'm wrong but we have zero character, I'd be raging if this was happening to me, where is the response?

We have completely gone into our shell after they scored.

It's a trait of thsi Hibs team, when the going gets tough too many go missing.

You can't find any fault in the 1st 25 mins or so and you have to acknowledge Celtic are just better all over the park but there hasn't been one player taken the game by the scruff of the neck, looked to put a foot on the ball and lead from the front since we went behind.

We need a couple of nasty ****ers in this team. Someone opposition fans love to hate.

28-12-2022, 07:47 PM
Same old

Silky
Totally outclassed I'm afraid 😒

And won't be the only ones this season!

When did we sign Rory Dilapidated? :greengrin

About 3 years ago from Rotherham.:rolleyes:

28-12-2022, 07:48 PM
Keep sacking managers, that’ll sort it.
Aye cause this one is doing so well

You can't find any fault in the 1st 25 mins or so and you have to acknowledge Celtic are just better all over the park but there hasn't been one player taken the game by the scruff of the neck, looked to put a foot on the ball and lead from the front since we went behind.

We need a couple of nasty ****ers in this team. Someone opposition fans love to hate.

Exactly the reason Joe Newell should be moved on 👍

Yep.

It’s ***** getting beat but this is a very good celtc side. They’re good all over the park, and they’re massively in form.

If we were playing like this against Rangers I could understand the disappointment in our performance more.

Can I be the first to say

Celtic are here for the taking

[emoji57][emoji23][emoji23]

Miles infront of most but I purposely kept away from here for the whole half

Let's just say alot of posters giving opinions far and away from how I think we have performed

Which is pretty well - not perfect obviously but celtic are terrific at finding space and moving pieces

Celtic players look 5 yards faster than us and so much fitter

And they are just better players, too. As always, our season isn't defined by results against the Old Firm. Our players are trying their best, but it's difficult.

28-12-2022, 07:49 PM
Celtic have barely had to try a leg. They're a good side with quality and have taken their chances. Actually missed one but meh who cares we should expect to get beat going by everyone on here fauning over them...

Cadden has been poor. CB's are getting caught out positionally and since they scored the midfield have disappeared again. As good as they may be it's all too easy.

LunasBoots
28-12-2022, 07:50 PM
Style of play we just can't compete with

28-12-2022, 07:51 PM

When the going gets tough, Hibs have had enough. Pussies.

28-12-2022, 07:52 PM
I thought we have played fairly decent. Poor from Cadden 1st goal but harsh to blame him for 2nd. He had the Celtic boy covered till he slipped and there was still 40 yards to our goal.

HendoDelivered
28-12-2022, 07:52 PM

I’d be changing the playing squad and sorting the shambles out above LJ before binning him.

28-12-2022, 07:53 PM
Same old

Except it’s not.

We’ve played well, they are just an exceptionally good team.

28-12-2022, 07:54 PM
Good start but the *****baggery on here is laughable 😂😂

What's new. Cowards, Jessie's and Drama Queens. Thankfully absent from the East Stand where we are.

Not sure any of them actually go to games. They wouldn't have survived the Celtic games in Glasgow in the Seventies 😉

When the going gets tough, Hibs have had enough. Pussies.

I think that's a bit harsh, mate. We are playing a team that has dropped three points all season. I think we've done okay, but Celtic are clinical.

I’d be changing the playing squad and sorting the shambles out above LJ before binning him.

He is very much part of the problem as is the head of recruitment and the ceo.

Clueless. People need to open their eyes.

Too many Celtic sympathisers in here. Not a chance those compliments would be handed out if it was the Huns or Hearts we were playing. Straws away. Poor defending, lack of closing down and no tracking back are at fault here.

You see in person just how good Celtic are and hard to defend against.

Youan and Campbell playing well.

Nisbet struggling to control a ball

Started really well and had some good chances/areas.

Big call from Johnson how to approach second half.

28-12-2022, 07:55 PM
Celtic have won what? 11 games in a row? They're a machine. I've not seen any team play any better than we have again them recently. They stepped it up a gear after the first 20 mins because they knew they were in a game. Glad we've had a go rather than park the bus like Aberdeen did.

28-12-2022, 07:55 PM
Panning out exactly as expected.

We've seen it all before and discussed it to death numerous times. Nothing changes.

Basildon Hibs
28-12-2022, 07:56 PM

👍

Except it’s not.

We’ve played well, they are just an exceptionally good team.

Except it is, poor defending, miles off the pace and flattered to deceive.

Chorley Hibee
Sorry, but I'm not seeing why several fans are waxing lyrical about this Celtic side.

I've seen much better Celtic teams than this one, and I've seen Hibs beat much better Celtic sides than this.

It would be nice if we tracked a runner for once or actually put in a tackle - rather than let a Celtic player waltz 30 yards without someone getting within 5 yards of him.

They've barely broken sweat to lead 2-0.

Too many Celtic sympathisers in here. Not a chance those compliments would be handed out if it was the Huns or Hearts we were playing. Straws away. Poor defending, lack of closing down and no tracking back are at fault here.

Rangers and Hearts wouldnae get the same compliments because they’re nowhere near as good as Celtc.

I dinnae see how it’s being a Celtc sympathiser to say they’re a very good side?

Donegal Hibby
They haven't had to get out of second gear yet, no doubt they are a good side but we've made it a total canter
Disagree we haven't , they have , they are the best old firm side I've seen in years , we have tried and played some nice stuff at times but they are levels above every team in the Scottish premier now .Sad part is there's a meltdown starting on here again ( Cadden getting it and sack the manager s***e again)

28-12-2022, 07:57 PM
I wouldn’t say we played well.

We started well - but we just lack of same quality as Celtic obviously.

But main issues still exist - poor defending and an awful midfield. Even look at Newell for the 2nd goal - someone like John McGinn would have blocked that shot.

Can’t lose a 3rd goal early otherwise it could get embarrassing again.

We can come out and fight for everything or we can stand and admire

HendoDelivered
He is very much part of the problem as is the head of recruitment and the ceo.

Clueless. People need to open their eyes.

I’m not saying he’s blameless, far from it. But get rid of him then what? Do the same to the other guy 6 months later as well? It’s just not sustainable to keep punting managers willy nilly. He needs more time and another transfer window (at least).

Stubbsy90+2

Yup. A circle tug watching a team who haven’t had to get out of second gear as we’ve been absolutely pish. But they’ve ****ing excellent. Naw, they’ve no. They’ve not had to bother being anywhere near that.

Not at all. Overall I think we've done alright first half. It certainly hasn't been terrible from Hibs, but our opponents are flying this season.

28-12-2022, 07:58 PM
We are so unlucky.

Celtic are just so industrious and athletic. They attack in numbers and defend in numbers.

I bet if you asked the Celtic manager and players they’d reckon we were the third hardest team to play against after rangers.

If we can keep this up against the other teams we will do well

They beat us 6-1 a couple of months ago and are walking through us at will here. I don’t think they’ll think we’re hard to play against us.

We started well but we disappear at the first sign of trouble.

Yup. A circle tug watching a team who haven’t had to get out of second gear as we’ve been absolutely pish. But they’ve ****ing excellent. Naw, they’ve no. They’ve not had to bother being anywhere near that.They are excellent though

Every single metric you could think of points to that

ionahibby
We are a mid table/bottom 6 side at the moment against a top side. It is what it is. If we lose we just need to move onto the next game and pick ourselves up.

28-12-2022, 07:59 PM
Boyle saying he will be off the crutches on monday

Cadden been poor But why did two players head towards Taylor to allow player the space to shoot
We were doing well till they scored and we have still managed to hit the post despite being outplayed
But we need to get next goal or game will be over as soon as they get a third

Getting beat by the far better team. Nothing sticking with Nisbet so wave after wave with our fullbacks nearly always having two men to mark
Lewis has put some shift in. For me I'd get McGeady on for Porteous and get Magennis in the middle and Youan on the right

LunasBoots
I’m not saying he’s blameless, far from it. But get rid of him then what? Do the same to the other guy 6 months later as well? It’s just not sustainable to keep punting managers willy nilly. He needs more time and another transfer window (at least).

Agree, but for him to succeed he needs the club to step forward and change their model to allow him to choose his own players, until then nothing changes

28-12-2022, 08:00 PM
I wouldn’t say we played well.

We started well - but we just lack of same quality as Celtic obviously.

But main issues still exist - poor defending and an awful midfield. Even look at Newell for the 2nd goal - someone like John McGinn would have blocked that shot.

Can’t lose a 3rd goal early otherwise it could get embarrassing again.

Someone like John McGinn? Someone like our best midfielder for absolutely ****ing years?

Boyle saying he will be off the crutches on mondayBack for the Derby? [emoji23]

Stubbsy90+2
They are excellent though

Every single metric you could think of points to that

I didn’t say they’re not. I said they’ve not had to be today.

28-12-2022, 08:01 PM

Or people are just seeing a very good Celtic team. They've won 11/12 games in a row for a reason.

28-12-2022, 08:02 PM
This Celtic side are obviously the best side in the league currently, but they’re nothing special compared to teams of the past. Person was spot on when they said it wouldn’t be the same praise if we were losing to Rangers.

Our support on the forums, and in general, have far too many people with Celtic leanings.

It’s an ok Celtic team, not Real Madrid.

Stubbsy90+2
Or people are just seeing a very good Celtic team. They've won 11/12 games in a row for a reason.

If they played like this 11/12 games in a row they wouldn’t have.

I didn’t say they’re not. I said they’ve not had to be today.Not sure how you come to that conclusion

They are playing there game which is flooding areas of the pitch and moving folk all over the place

Cheer up tho, celtic havnt lost a game whe scoring first for 115 games

[emoji23][emoji23]

28-12-2022, 08:03 PM
Someone like John McGinn? Someone like our best midfielder for absolutely ****ing years?

Maybe so but we haven’t come anywhere near finding a player who actually makes tackles in the centre of the pitch and turns over the ball.

I’m not saying I expect a similar player but Newell’s main weakness is tracking runners as he’s not quick enough.

HendoDelivered
28-12-2022, 08:04 PM
Agree, but for him to succeed he needs the club to step forward and change their model to allow him to choose his own players, until then nothing changes

Exactly

28-12-2022, 08:05 PM
This Celtic side are obviously the best side in the league currently, but they’re nothing special compared to teams of the past. Person was spot on when they said it wouldn’t be the same praise if we were losing to Rangers.

Our support on the forums, and in general, have far too many people with Celtic leanings.

It’s an ok Celtic team, not Real Madrid.Arnt they the Scottish equavilent to real Madrid tho?

We see the same comments every year - OF ain't great, there for the taking erc

I do wonder what some of the la liga forums were like during the Barcelona years

28-12-2022, 08:05 PM
If they played like this 11/12 games in a row they wouldn’t have.

Come on

28-12-2022, 08:06 PM

It’s an ok Celtic team, not Real Madrid.

The comparison to Rangers doesn’t make sense. Of course it wouldn’t be the same praise on Rangers, the Rangers team now is absolute ****, playing ****, but grinding out results with the more expensive players they have.

The manager at Celtc has them playing really well. They’re organised, they’ve got a way to play, and they’re doing it every week in the league.

HendoDelivered
28-12-2022, 08:07 PM
Rocky’s transformation has been quite something. Our best defender IMO.

28-12-2022, 08:08 PM

It’s an ok Celtic team, not Real Madrid.Nothing special at all. 1 defeat in 50 games and 11 wins on the spin.

Stubbsy90+2
28-12-2022, 08:08 PM
Celtic have won what? 11 games in a row? They're a machine. I've not seen any team play any better than we have again them recently. They stepped it up a gear after the first 20 mins because they knew they were in a game. Glad we've had a go rather than park the bus like Aberdeen did.

Are you joking? They’ve been pushed closer than this numerous times in their last 5 or 6 games alone.

OtleyHibs
28-12-2022, 08:10 PM
Should've scored there

LunasBoots
28-12-2022, 08:10 PM
When you get chances against Celtic you need to take them

28-12-2022, 08:11 PM
That is a sitter. :rolleyes:

28-12-2022, 08:11 PM
what a chance for nisbet

28-12-2022, 08:12 PM
That is a sitter. :rolleyes:

He’s been ***** the whole game

We should’ve scored once so far. Maybe twice. Can’t afford to miss these chances against such a good team.

Huge chance for Nisbet. Got to be scoring that.

loanheadhibby
28-12-2022, 08:13 PM
He’s been ***** the whole game

That's a bit unfair but he must score.

Rocky’s transformation has been quite something. Our best defender IMO.

Rocky definitely improved and great to see but Hanlon and Lewis (end of career) and Cadden (not a right back) isn’t much to go against. We need to improve the back line.

Penalty Celtic.

Pen them

28-12-2022, 08:14 PM
What was Stevenson playing at there?

that is so unlucky

Just_Jimmy
That not exactly the same as the pen we didn't get at ibrox?

Seems legit

Looked a stonewaller from where I am, no surprise to see VAR confirm.

HendoDelivered
That was some pass from Taylor tbf

LunasBoots
Pen, easy decision

28-12-2022, 08:15 PM
3-0

Why Stevenson... Why?

Another goal but Celtic are just so good so it's fine.

That not exactly the same as the pen we didn't get at ibrox?

Seems legit

Nowt like it

Stubbsy90+2
****ing embarrassing.

Game over :rolleyes:

That was some pass from Taylor tbf
Tbf Celtic have been excellent at points today.

What was Stevenson playing at there?Guessing he was changing his body direction which naturally causes his leading arm to come up

I'm no sure on that to be honest as it's going away from goal

Never not gonna be given ofcourse

28-12-2022, 08:16 PM
That's a bit unfair but he must score.

Every time he’s had the ball he’s gave it away in midfield

28-12-2022, 08:17 PM
No booking for diving then? If that's not a pen then it's a dive.

Our central midfield is non existent majority of the time.

This could easily end up 5-0.

No booking for diving then? If that's not a pen then it's a dive.It's not

Its not a pen or a. Dive

Thought the boy was offside before the hand ball.

Donegal Hibby
Penalty Celtic.
Alan Muir was quick spotting that one yet he didn't see the one at Ibrox when he was on Var

28-12-2022, 08:18 PM
Too friggin easy. Too many substandard players at Hibs with zero character.

Wouldn't say it was a dive but defo not a pen.

When you get chances against Celtic you need to take them

Yup, then it's 0-3. A very costly miss.

I hope they bring on Jota to give Cadden a rest.

****ing embarrassing.

Not for you. You don't set foot in Easter Road

We're a friggin shambles now, they're ripping our defence to shreds. Celtic enjoying themselves.
There isn’t a team in this league - Rangers included - that Celtic couldn’t rip apart when they want to.

Ray Donovan
28-12-2022, 08:19 PM
Need to make sure this doesn't get embarrassing.

We really need a new right back in January.

Rarely get a booking for a dive these days. Regardless I don't think it's a dive. He's nowhere to go after Rocky gets his touch. No pen, no foul. Decent block.

Why do we never make subs ?