View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Livingston

Pages : 1 [2]

24-12-2022, 01:48 PM
Looked more of a red than Holt’s challenge.

I thought the same

24-12-2022, 01:48 PM
See Kingsley off with a very bad head knock supposedly.

Is concussion protocol 2 weeks out?

Off the bar
24-12-2022, 01:49 PM
Currently 2 points between 3rd and 8th. Today would be a great day to get the goal difference up.

Black shirts every week please.

this will be our first win in five against Livi

Black shirts every week please.

Fascho

24-12-2022, 01:50 PM
See Kingsley off with a very bad head knock supposedly.

Is concussion protocol 2 weeks out?

and Halkett with a knee injury

24-12-2022, 01:50 PM
this will be our first win in five against LiviJust haud on mate! [emoji51][emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

24-12-2022, 01:51 PM
Just haud on mate! [emoji51][emoji23]

i'm always confident

when we play against 10 :)

24-12-2022, 01:51 PM
Intersting that since nizzy started we have looked much more threatening all round

Reckon him and Youan look to have a decent link up

24-12-2022, 01:53 PM
Just haud on mate! [emoji51][emoji23]

Donegal Hibby
24-12-2022, 01:53 PM
this will be our first win in five against Livi
Wish you didn't say that I don't like tempting fate :greengrin

24-12-2022, 01:54 PM
Gutted this win doesn't count as it's Vs 10 men. Would've been a great result otherwise.
Only joking. Merry Christmas guys. Love you all. Mon the cabbage.

Best half of football we've played this season

Cracking finish that from cadden

But, but he's useless 🤔

24-12-2022, 01:55 PM
Hearts turning into the new rangers with all the penalties they’re getting

Oh refs changed his mind, that’s surprising

24-12-2022, 01:55 PM
Magennis tracking back and putting pressure on the ball is great to see.[emoji122]

24-12-2022, 01:56 PM
Youan has been ****ing brilliant today!

Forever_Green93
Great first half from the lads! Keep it up hibs.

Hearts turning into the new rangers with all the penalties they’re getting

Oh refs changed his mind, that’s surprising

Overturned, get it up them

24-12-2022, 01:57 PM
Wish you didn't say that I don't like tempting fate :greengrin

nah not today, we're in cruise control ;)

CL0762
24-12-2022, 01:57 PM
Gutted this win doesn't count as it's Vs 10 men. Would've been a great result otherwise.
Only joking. Merry Christmas guys. Love you all. Mon the cabbage.

Literally having this argument over text with one of my mates the now 😂

24-12-2022, 01:58 PM
We’ve been brilliant today, not just because of the sending off.

Youan been brilliant

Using the width well again 10 thugs who are getting exactly what they deserve. Just need to move the ball a bit quicker, Hibs.

10 men obviously helps but we have went for it and that makes all the difference. Don’t stop at half time.

Hope Youan can go and get a goal.

Donegal Hibby
How good was Youan in that half ? Every time he got the ball you had a feeling something was going to happen 😃

Wull
Some serious plus points this first half, goals, Youan, and we have had good half’s before but not with goals :flag:

This isn't real

JJP
24-12-2022, 01:59 PM
What a game Youan is having today.

24-12-2022, 01:59 PM
How good was Youan in that half ? Every time he got the ball you had a feeling something was going to happen 😃

Settling in and can see it in his play today!

24-12-2022, 02:00 PM
Slated Youan before the game, but he’s been excellent today. Keep it up and he’ll continue to get the plaudits.

Brilliant first half could have been 3-0 in the first 10 minutes !

If Youan plays like that every week we won't be seeing him here next season. Phenomenal.

24-12-2022, 02:01 PM
Newall MotM for me so far. Possibly Youan ahead of him but both have been exceptional.

Hector Mudflap
24-12-2022, 02:01 PM
Youan’s been outstanding today

He's beaten his man four times and failed to find a player in the box each cross. I still think we would be better with McKirdy on . All about opinions though.
Even Newell has played two great cross field passes and thats about all. Against ten men though he's always better - isn't that right?
Just great to see us winning.

24-12-2022, 02:02 PM
3-0 win!! The £2 per pint in the Central bar may be affecting my prediction tho
Haha. Not even in my £2 per pint fuelled imagination did I think it would be 3-0 at half time

24-12-2022, 02:02 PM
be nice if we could finally cancel out all those goals lost at parkhead :)

mind you though we do have them next up

24-12-2022, 02:04 PM
I've seen teams struggle loads of times when playing against 10, so it's fantastic to see Hibs actually take advantage.

Livi are a hard team to break down but having Nisbet back makes us look like a different side entirely.

Newall MotM for me so far. Possibly Youan ahead of him but both have been exceptional.

Since I got in, it’s been the players who have been criticised the most lately who have been the best.

Really good team performance, everyone playing well.

This would be a huge result

Youan has been ****ing brilliant today!

Great cross for the 3rd. Got involved in backing up Porteous at the red card incident too.

24-12-2022, 02:05 PM
He's beaten his man four times and failed to find a player in the box each cross. I still think we would be better with McKirdy on . All about opinions though.
Even Newell has played two great cross field passes and thats about all. Against ten men though he's always better - isn't that right?
Just great to see us winning.

He crossed for Kyle to score

24-12-2022, 02:05 PM
wifey on bbc agrees with me on the Holt tackle :), it was when he lifted his boot after the initial challenge

24-12-2022, 02:06 PM
Since I got in, it’s been the players who have been criticised the most lately who have been the best.

Really good team performance, everyone playing well.

:agree: And if that’s not justification for abusing our own players online, I don’t know what is.

Torto7
He's tweaked the tactics a bit. More counter attacking now. Youan fantastic. I'd sign him asap if possible. Its good to have a poacher back up front. Livvy are a disgrace of a football team. Cheating *****.

I've seen teams struggle loads of times when playing against 10, so it's fantastic to see Hibs actually take advantage.

Livi are a hard team to break down but having Nisbet back makes us look like a different side entirely.

I said similar against Rangers, ok we got beat but I just felt the way we attacked might be a sign of us turning things around.

Hibs TV has 7-0 goals on at HT :)

Donegal Hibby
If Youan plays like that every week we won't be seeing him here next season. Phenomenal.
Think we have option to buy.

24-12-2022, 02:07 PM

Nisbet looks infinitely better than the player who had struggled badly for form for a long time before his injury.

24-12-2022, 02:07 PM
Think we have option to buy.

We do.

24-12-2022, 02:08 PM
Where on earth did this come from? Think the World Cup break may have just come at the right time.

cameronw-hfc
24-12-2022, 02:09 PM
Where on earth did this come from? Think the World Cup break may have just come at the right time.
It became a running theme we would play okay but not take our chances, having Magennis and Nisbet back has helped the chances big time. Two good finishes from good finishers

24-12-2022, 02:10 PM
It's amazing what a good old Christmas piss up in Dublin can do for a team 😁

24-12-2022, 02:10 PM
Nibet having a good game too. Been clattered a couple of times.

24-12-2022, 02:12 PM
another yellow card for Livi

Donegal Hibby
24-12-2022, 02:13 PM
73% possession , 17 shots , 7 on target ,more of the same Hibs please

24-12-2022, 02:13 PM
Nibet having a good game too. Been clattered a couple of times.
3-0 up I’d get him off after 60 minutes and get him ready for the big games coming up. Great run out today for him.

24-12-2022, 02:14 PM
Hibs TV has 7-0 goals on at HT :)

Which one ? 😚

24-12-2022, 02:14 PM
It became a running theme we would play okay but not take our chances, having Magennis and Nisbet back has helped the chances big time. Two good finishes from good finishers

Magennis and Nisbet were both very influential when we were good the other night and they’ve both been important here.

Huge players for us.

24-12-2022, 02:15 PM
4-0 Magennis

Great glancing header. 4-0

Some of this football is superb.

Campbell had a good couple of minutes leading up to the goal.

Loving having Magennis back.[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]

Torto7
Hopefully Melkerson gets on and scores

4-0 :flag::flag:

Torto7
24-12-2022, 02:17 PM
Loving having Magennis back.[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]

He'll get a Scotland cap if he stays fit imo.

badabing67
Another assist for Youan outstanding he is today

this equals our 2nd largest winning margin against them

We want 5 :flag:

24-12-2022, 02:18 PM
2-1 dundee utd

:flag: :flag: :flag: :flag:

Donegal Hibby
4-0 I'm so happy 😂

2-1 dundee utd

So here it is...

24-12-2022, 02:19 PM
So here it is...

jingle bells

Get some subs on and not risk any injuries

Hibees1973
Much more like it so far today.

Delighted to see this, even though the red card is a factor.

How come we were so bad in the last home game against Ross County and much better today.

CMon Hibs. Lovely stuff. Stays like this across the road also and it'll have been a good weekend.

24-12-2022, 02:20 PM
Much more like it so far today.

Delighted to see this, even though the red card is a factor.

How come we were so bad in the last home game against Ross County and much better today.

Seems this "streaky Lee" thing may have something in it. Will need to see how it balances itself out over the course of a league season.

24-12-2022, 02:21 PM
FPs Fletcher and Middleton doing their best for the cause up at Tannadice.

Up-the-slope
Another assist for Youan outstanding he is today

Yoda has spoken

We want 5 :flag:

24-12-2022, 02:23 PM
Players returning from injury making the difference.

24-12-2022, 02:25 PM
Settling in and can see it in his play today!
Young man, foreign country new team mates and manager of course it takes time to settle, people should be a bit more understanding.

Wull
I worry about Cliffs place on Hibs TV, when’s the last time he had us 4-0 up :wink:

And time to take them off now and get McGeady & McKirdy on, I see Lee disagrees with me.

24-12-2022, 02:26 PM
Random subs

Hanlon and Rocky off

Henderson and fish on

Hibees1973
24-12-2022, 02:26 PM

Yes, how important is Nisbet for us.

Clever, always looking for the ball and looking to get in behind the defence. When in possession on most occasions he makes the correct decision.

Crucial for us.

24-12-2022, 02:27 PM
this equals our 2nd largest winning margin against them

Only three to go...

not surprisingly bbc radio is coverage on their favourites

anyways

Fish For Hanlon

Random subs

Hanlon and Rocky off

Henderson and fish on

4231?

Missed most of the first half but how were we looking before the red? Not to take away from a good result and ultimately this might be the morale booster we need but how much is this down to playing against 10 as opposed to finally putting in a performance?

Up-the-slope
24-12-2022, 02:28 PM
9 shots on target and only 4 goals... not good enough

:devil:

24-12-2022, 02:28 PM
Christmas day over here. Best present! Yes hibees:flag:

24-12-2022, 02:29 PM
Gotta give McKirdy a run surely

Donegal Hibby
24-12-2022, 02:31 PM
Youan's Put in some lovely crosses today

24-12-2022, 02:32 PM
It just doesn't want to go in for Youan. Really hope he gets on the scores sheet.

24-12-2022, 02:34 PM
This is boring, we haven't scored for ages.

24-12-2022, 02:35 PM
Melkersen and McKirdy on.

24-12-2022, 02:36 PM
not surprisingly bbc radio is coverage on

anyways

Fish For Hanlon

hope they are enjoying it!!

melkerson coming on

Soldiersteve
This is boring, we haven't scored for ages.
Its like buses though,......2 more will be along togrether in a wee while :agree:

24-12-2022, 02:37 PM
Melkersen and McKirdy on.

Would be huge for them if they could get a couple of goals

24-12-2022, 02:37 PM
I think McKirdy has been watching too much Cobra Kai.

24-12-2022, 02:38 PM
Sitter

24-12-2022, 02:38 PM
Henderson lets a tap in go right past him.

Awful.

24-12-2022, 02:40 PM
Chance Youan from a tight angle - saved.

24-12-2022, 02:41 PM
Doesn't get any easier than that...

Cabraja for Stevenson.

badabing67
Henderson lets a tap in go right past him.

Awful.

Been struggling to see what he brings apart from missing sitters and losing possession

24-12-2022, 02:42 PM
He probably won’t be one of the most celebrated after this, but Josh Campbell has had a very good day’s work.

Was excellent at Ibrox as well.

Wull
24-12-2022, 02:44 PM
The guys who have just came onexplains our league position

24-12-2022, 02:44 PM
Doesn't get any easier than that...

https://youtu.be/wnZF6SDBsXs

👍

24-12-2022, 02:45 PM
I do wish he was a decent player given the name but Henderson is high up the list of players to move on in January.

24-12-2022, 02:45 PM
Gordon stretchered off for Hearts.

Right leg in a cast/protective boot.

WeAreHibs
24-12-2022, 02:46 PM
Been struggling to see what he brings apart from missing sitters and losing possession

Can't argue with that

What does Marshall bring to the team, haven't heard his name mentioned once. 😉

I do wish he was a decent player given the name but Henderson is high up the list of players to move on in January.

One signing I was really excited about, sadly he’s been a disappointment.

24-12-2022, 02:47 PM
McKirdy's just not very good. Looks like a wee bampot laddie playing with the Over 21s :greengrin

Livingston penalty.

See you!

Penalty Livi

24-12-2022, 02:48 PM
penalty Livi

Missed!

Gordon stretchered off for Hearts.

Right leg in a cast/protective boot.

Rivalries aside, hope it's not as bad as it first appears. Just take the day off for the derby :greengrin

Still 4-0

24-12-2022, 02:49 PM
Another penalty Livingston.

Saved but another penalty given for newell handball

Sloppy and crap by Hibs. Henderson missing that sitter, now a lazy foul in the box. Unprofessional

Wtf

missed, then saved :)

oh ffs another penalty

24-12-2022, 02:50 PM
Another penalty

badabing67

Save pens :thumbsup:

What's going on? Both missed?

Saved again!

Saved

Up-the-slope
The guys who have just came onexplains our league position

while thats probably overly harsh :dunno: I do think the managers thinking on where the squad needs trimmed will have been reinforced...

I think that Nisbet & Magennis coming back from injury could save the managers job.... they are also providing a worthwhile target for Ellie to cross for which will help

yellow card for newell

penalty was correct

24-12-2022, 02:51 PM
****ing glorious

Hahahaha great save by Marshall

saved :greengrin

24-12-2022, 02:52 PM
Hibs & Newall are so lucky :thumbsup:

has two penalties in 90 seconds ever been missed

NOT games settled on penalties that is :wink:

Easy. That's what Marshall does!

Hey, I was just missing the guy. Felt sorry for him not getting a mention, glad he got the message 😂

Ray Donovan
24-12-2022, 02:53 PM
What a game. Well done Hibs!

15,260 attendance.

This has been a great Xmas present from Hibs.

we had a great chance to really make a big difference to our GD

24-12-2022, 02:54 PM
Must be a record for the shortest time between a team missing two penalties! 😀

24-12-2022, 02:54 PM
we had a great chance to really make a big difference to our GD

And we duly took it.

24-12-2022, 02:55 PM

You beat me to it!

24-12-2022, 02:55 PM

Laudrup up at the away end, mid-nineties. Great game!

24-12-2022, 02:56 PM
That last corner just cost me £194, gutted!!

Donegal Hibby
Shows the inconsistency in our game though , Hibs handball penalty claim at Ibrox wasn't but this one was ? :dunno:.
David Marshall man of the match ? Had to be Youan imo

McKirdy's just not very good. Looks like a wee bampot laddie playing with the Over 21s :greengrin

I’ve been quite impressed by him.

Looks lively again.

24-12-2022, 02:57 PM
I’ve been quite impressed by him.

Looks lively again.

Me too. He’s had some great touches.

24-12-2022, 02:59 PM
4-0 up against 10 at home and it's clear Henderson, McKirdy and Melkerson all need to go. Not close to being good enough.

Otherwise great result. :thumbsup:

Paul1642
24-12-2022, 02:59 PM
Shows the inconsistency in our game though , Hibs handball penalty claim at Ibrox wasn't but this one was ? :dunno:.
David Marshall man of the match ? Had to be Youan imo

Two penalty saves and a clean sheet is hard to argue with. In most games that’s earned you the win.

24-12-2022, 03:00 PM
our singing section having a wee dance there :)

4-0 up against 10 at home and it's clear Henderson, McKirdy and Melkerson all need to go. Not close to being good enough.

Jesus christ

melkerson unfortunately offside

Full time 4-0

Merry Christmas

Agreed. McKirdy and Melkersen just don't look like threats. Not on the same level as Nisbet.

How on earth did we lose 8 out of our previous 9 and after today are still only 2 points off third?!

24-12-2022, 03:01 PM

Enjoy the win, there doesn't always need to be a negative thrown in

Enjoy the win, there doesn't always need to be a negative thrown inYour new here right? [emoji23]

Full time 4-0

Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas one and all :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

**** sake have an afternoon off. 4-0 win and still ****ing moaning.

Get in there. Great result.

Up-the-slope
24-12-2022, 03:02 PM
Jesus christ

Birthday Tomorrow

Great result, great day all around. Have a good Christmas everyone.

Rubbish

24-12-2022, 03:03 PM
How on earth did we lose 8 out of our previous 9 and after today are still only 2 points off third?!

Because the other teams are just as inconsistent as us. 2 points of 2nd and 8 points of 11th.

Happy Christmas!

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221224/8d4c07c5a56508025a180229790de08e.gif

Perfect Christmas present against a stuffy side against us usually.

Really good and much needed 3 points 👍

Because every team outside the old firm is pish and can beat each other on any given day.

Anyone that gets a bit of consistency can sew up 3rd place. Just hope it can be us.

Up-the-slope
24-12-2022, 03:04 PM

played more games than a few others

Forever_Green93
24-12-2022, 03:04 PM
Great performance and result.

Nice early Christmas present from hibs.

24-12-2022, 03:05 PM
Cheers all Merry Christmas just about to have a beer, always tastes better after a win.

Well done Hibs

24-12-2022, 03:07 PM
Right in the mix for 3rd.

24-12-2022, 03:10 PM
Craziness where we find ourselves in the league after the terrible form

Great win that and hopefully does wonders for the players confidence

24-12-2022, 03:10 PM
Not much going for it either IMO, just more of the same.

If I was Johnson, and it looking like it will end in an inevitable sacking I’d at least go down trying something different. Play the likes of McKirdy, Macintyre, Fish, Melkerson, Kenneh etc. We appear to be just plodding along with the same players and hoping Nisbets return can single handedly change things.

Where’s Tavares?

What a team we are! Great lineup!

Great result. I didn’t see any of the game so only commenting on the score, and the result needs tempered with another game against 10 men. However, a potential turning point for the season. A goal and assist for Nisbet, now 2 in 2, plus 2 for Magennis. Whether we end up in a relegation battle or challenge at the top end of the league will hinge on Nisbet & Maggennis IMO

24-12-2022, 03:12 PM
Craziness where we find ourselves in the league after the terrible form

Great win that and hopefully does wonders for the players confidence

While that’s great, just imagine where we could be!!
Merry Christmas to all Hibees!

24-12-2022, 03:14 PM
Merry Christmas ya filthy animals

ShadesLongThrow
24-12-2022, 03:16 PM
That’s easily the best I’ve seen Youan. My MoM. Always wanting the ball and I lost count of the tremendous crosses he put in.

24-12-2022, 03:16 PM
Merry Christmas ya filthy animals

We need a 'Like' button... One trick ponies

24-12-2022, 03:18 PM
That’s easily the best I’ve seen Youan. My MoM. Always wanting the ball and I lost count of the tremendous crosses he put in.

Best shift he's put in since the Boyler's Return game

24-12-2022, 03:23 PM
Just a really enjoyable afternoon at Easter Road. Been long overdue and you could just see the confidence rise throughout the team with things going our way, getting a few goals and looking very potent in an attacking sense.

With Nisbet back, and also Magennis making a big contribution, there is a much to feel optimistic about going into the second half of the season.

24-12-2022, 03:24 PM
Great result, ruthless against 10 men. Controlled it from the minute Holt was sent off.

Some questions prior to that point, Hibs started well Nisbet had a one-on-one he'll be disappointed with but livi were starting to come into the game a bit.

3 goals in 5 minutes killed the game but we never looked in trouble from them on. Good to see Magennis getting back amongst the goals as it's a big and vital part of his game. Nisbet getting another 70 minutes and a goal is a big plus too.

Youann was excellent throughout and Cadden getting a goal would have helped his confidence.

Mckirdy looked lively and wanted to get involved when he came on, I think there's a player there. Henderson's miss was a really bad one and Cabraja gave away a stupid pen but they would be the only negatives in what was a generally good performance.

Marshalls saves were great, both pens so no complaints there, brilliant couple of saves.

Feels good to get a win again! Hibby Christmas.

24-12-2022, 03:26 PM
Nisbet and Magennis back for us us huge. Both played very well today and got 3 of the goals. Woukd have like to see McGeady get some minutes but actualky liked the look of McKirdy. All round good oerformance today.

Crunchie
24-12-2022, 03:31 PM
Nisbet and Magennis back for us us huge. Both played very well today and got 3 of the goals. Woukd have like to see McGeady get some minutes but actualky liked the look of McKirdy. All round good oerformance today.
Nisbet and Magennis returning was always going to be huge for us, I hope today's result puts the Johnson must go nonsense to bed.

A great 3 points and hopefully the start of a great week. Merry xmas everyone and a Happy New Year.

24-12-2022, 03:32 PM
Couldn’t have asked for any more than that today.

24-12-2022, 03:51 PM
Nisbet, Magennis and Yuan were the standouts today. Good performance and took full advantage of the red card.[emoji122]

24-12-2022, 03:55 PM
Very good performance and result and great to take advantage of the extra man once again

16 points from 6 games where the opposition have finished with at least one sending off. It's great to see the opposition get a red card but it's not always possible to take advantage so big credit for that.

I'm usually captain happy clapper but I thought we were gifted that. Reckless red card, goalie flap, cross ending up in the net, centre halfs not defending. Livi played like they were trying to keep LJ in a job.

LewysGot2
The key difference today was the absolute ruthlessness as soon as the first went in. Straight for the jugular

Victor
24-12-2022, 04:01 PM
I'm usually captain happy clapper but I thought we were gifted that. Reckless red card, goalie flap, cross ending up in the net, centre halfs not defending. Livi played like they were trying to keep LJ in a job.

Just like how we usually play. Definitely weren’t gifted that, it was down to our players playing to their full potential, for once.

24-12-2022, 04:02 PM
We are gonna win this ****ing ****ty league now 🤣😁🎄

He's here!
24-12-2022, 04:10 PM
Probably already mentioned but I'm just catching up with the afternoon's games. Why were Hibs and Livi both wearing away kits?

LewysGot2
24-12-2022, 04:11 PM
Because the other teams are just as inconsistent as us. 2 points of 2nd and 8 points of 11th.

2 points from 3rd.

Rangers are still pretty consistent

24-12-2022, 04:12 PM

I’ve not been big on McKirdy but he looked like a good player when he came on today. I don’t know how anyone’s takeaway from that game today was that our 3 attacking subs need to to.

24-12-2022, 04:12 PM
Probably already mentioned but I'm just catching up with the afternoon's games. Why were Hibs and Livi both wearing away kits?

It was in support of Shelter Scotland’s #nohomekit campaign

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hibs-show-support-to-nohomekit-campaign

24-12-2022, 04:13 PM

Na, we played really well today and scored a couple of really good goals.

The sending off clearly helped us but we showed good intent right from the start.

LewysGot2
24-12-2022, 04:13 PM
I’ve not been big on McKirdy but he looked like a good player when he came on today. I don’t know how anyone’s takeaway from that game today was that our 3 attacking subs need to to.

He was the best hibs player at Rugby Park pre WC - he's taking time to adjust but he has been a bit unlucky with acouple of chances

24-12-2022, 04:14 PM
Nisbet and Magennis returning was always going to be huge for us, I hope today's result puts the Johnson must go nonsense to bed.

A great 3 points and hopefully the start of a great week. Merry xmas everyone and a Happy New Year.

At least we agree on something. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

24-12-2022, 04:18 PM
Well done today Hibs much more like it

Thank you

Thank you

Stand outs for me Youan Magennis Marshall Rocky and Nisbet

Big difference having Nisbet back someone with a wee bit quality and composure up top

Even Cadden and Newell were good :greengrin

24-12-2022, 04:19 PM
Great win and a very good performance. MOTM Youan by a long shot for me and that is against one of the steadiest Right backs in the league, in Devlin. We were looking dangerous and playing well before the red card but that really gave us a boost and we completely controlled the game and kept piling forward. The penalties could have put a downer on the end but Marshall did brilliantly to save both. Really horrendous defending by Cabraja for the initial penalty and pretty much a small cameo of his recent performances for me. I actually thought quite a few players didn't play anywhere near the level they can(Newell, Campbell, Cadden and Magennis) but we worked very hard as a team. Lewis showed what we had been missing on teh left and was like a Duracell bunny up and down the park and hardly wasting a pass. He created lots of movement for Youan to work with. Rocky also looked very composed and so strong and even Porteous looked decent in Midfield when they were down to 10. We can at least go into the Celtic game with some hope and the Derby is a different game without Gordon and Halkett

24-12-2022, 04:22 PM

What cross? The Cadden screamer?!

24-12-2022, 04:27 PM
Missed the 2nd half but I thought we were excellent in the 1st, yes they went down to 10 men but we dominated before that. The squad, the manager and the fans needed that today, well done.

24-12-2022, 04:27 PM

Deary me

24-12-2022, 04:36 PM
Deary me

It's like some folk hate it when we actually win

24-12-2022, 04:36 PM
Great win and a very good performance. MOTM Youan by a long shot for me and that is against one of the steadiest Right backs in the league, in Devlin. We were looking dangerous and playing well before the red card but that really gave us a boost and we completely controlled the game and kept piling forward. The penalties could have put a downer on the end but Marshall did brilliantly to save both. Really horrendous defending by Cabraja for the initial penalty and pretty much a small cameo of his recent performances for me. I actually thought quite a few players didn't play anywhere near the level they can(Newell, Campbell, Cadden and Magennis) but we worked very hard as a team. Lewis showed what we had been missing on teh left and was like a Duracell bunny up and down the park and hardly wasting a pass. He created lots of movement for Youan to work with. Rocky also looked very composed and so strong and even Porteous looked decent in Midfield when they were down to 10. We can at least go into the Celtic game with some hope and the Derby is a different game without Gordon and Halkett

Youan was outstanding today

Agree re Cabraja a mirror image of his defending at Ibrox followed by a clumsy nothing challenge in the box

Lewis looks the obvious choice now

I thought Magennis played really well tireless in midfield showing us what we have been missing and chipped in with two goals and not afraid to put a tackle in

Agree re Porto and Rocky

David Marshall was just doing what David Marshall does

Yes Sir I can boogie ........🎼

24-12-2022, 04:47 PM
Youan was outstanding today

Agree re Cabraja a mirror image of his defending at Ibrox followed by a clumsy nothing challenge in the box

Lewis looks the obvious choice now

I thought Magennis played really well tireless in midfield showing us what we have been missing and chipped in with two goals and not afraid to put a tackle in

Agree re Porto and Rocky

David Marshall was just doing what David Marshall does

Yes Sir I can boogie ........🎼I think Magennis is a very good player and despite his goals today I thought he was pretty quiet. Not a bad game at all but he has way more to give than he showed today. That was possibly what pleased me most. I actually think we could play much better than we did today and it shows how poorly teh likes of Youan have been playing. As LJ said you never know if we can all put in a 9 out of 10 performance we have a chance against Celtic

24-12-2022, 05:15 PM
Possession 78%-22% not too shabby if presumably over 90 mins

Shots 27-8

Shots on target 11-3

Corners 9-1

Fouls 13-14

24-12-2022, 05:17 PM
Possession 78%-22%

Shots 27-8

Shots on target 11-3

Corners 9-1

Fouls 13-14

Unbelievable that they only committed one foul more than us. They booted anything that moved, at any opportunity.

24-12-2022, 05:20 PM
Unbelievable that they only committed one foul more than us. They booted anything that moved, at any opportunity.

they did pick up five cards against our two though

24-12-2022, 05:26 PM
they did pick up five cards against our two though

The funny thing being that two of them weren’t even for fouls. That Devlin got booked for moaning about someone bumping in to him!

24-12-2022, 05:35 PM
The funny thing being that two of them weren’t even for fouls. That Devlin got booked for moaning about someone bumping in to him!

looking at the stats on the BBC site the 'player of the match' was stephen kelly with 9.30....much higher than every other playing today, and omeonga replaced him at HT :rolleyes: so only played 45 mins and player of the match
Hibernian 4-0 Livingston: Magennis double helps Hibs thrash Livingston - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64009405)

24-12-2022, 05:35 PM
It kind of looks that way at times, but notice a few moaners pre kick off have gone to ground after that excellent result. 👌

LewysGot2
24-12-2022, 05:36 PM

Happier when they're moaning

24-12-2022, 05:40 PM

I thought Campbell was excellent throughout. In a rather ‘unseen work’ type of way but none the less a very professional performance. For a young player that was so slated by some he’s come far already and I’m looking forward to watching him mature and develop even further.

Macgennis….well I get your point to a degree in terms of general play but considering he scored half of our goals I’m gonna say I quite liked his level today [emoji12]

Newell…well he was Joe Newell the conundrum wrapped in the enigma or whatever way round that phrase is! Loved his non tackle in the first half when the Livi boy whipped one just past the post…was so bad it made me laugh out loud. But he linked play well on plenty of occasions also.

24-12-2022, 05:57 PM
Jesus christ

Early Yuletide piss up methinks

24-12-2022, 06:10 PM
I thought Campbell was excellent throughout. In a rather ‘unseen work’ type of way but none the less a very professional performance. For a young player that was so slated by some he’s come far already and I’m looking forward to watching him mature and develop even further.

Macgennis….well I get your point to a degree in terms of general play but considering he scored half of our goals I’m gonna say I quite liked his level today [emoji12]

Newell…well he was Joe Newell the conundrum wrapped in the enigma or whatever way round that phrase is! Loved his non tackle in the first half when the Livi boy whipped one just past the post…was so bad it made me laugh out loud. But he linked play well on plenty of occasions also.

I thought Campbell was good today as well.

Not a massive, dominant, in your face performance but one of quiet competence. Won the ball a few times, used it competently when he had it and got about the park.

He also fitted seamlessly into a different role when we made changes.

Good stuff from him.

24-12-2022, 06:12 PM

Newall was the big cog that allowed the others to turn for me today. Absolute excellent performance.

24-12-2022, 06:29 PM
We were very good all over the park. Changing the back line was daft But mixing up the front line should have happened earlier. Campbell for me remains our first pick. Energy. Willingness. Heart.

24-12-2022, 07:25 PM
We were very good all over the park. Changing the back line was daft But mixing up the front line should have happened earlier. Campbell for me remains our first pick. Energy. Willingness. Heart.

Don’t think it was daft taking the 2 centre halfs off considering they’re pretty much all we’ve got for the derby next week with Porto suspended. Good thinking from LJ imo

24-12-2022, 09:29 PM

I may be being harsh as those are three players I rate quite highly so expect good performances every week. Magennis has a real knack of getting into great positions in the box. Campbell is pretty good at that too. Having both and Nisbet really makes a difference to our ability to get some goals and we are like a different team now Nisbet is back and Magennis is starting to look fit again. Nisbet really deserves some praise for the condition he is in, the heart and courage he is showing in challenges and the level of fitness playing so hard well into games. He has looked right on it from teh second he got back to competitive football

24-12-2022, 09:37 PM

Are you 🙄How any Hibs supporter can put a negative spin on today’s performance has got me asking 🤔are they even a Hibby.
Merry Christmas to all the Hibbys on here

24-12-2022, 10:04 PM
I think Magennis is a very good player and despite his goals today I thought he was pretty quiet. Not a bad game at all but he has way more to give than he showed today. That was possibly what pleased me most. I actually think we could play much better than we did today and it shows how poorly teh likes of Youan have been playing. As LJ said you never know if we can all put in a 9 out of 10 performance we have a chance against Celtic

Like you despite his goals i think he’s wasted wide right. Swap with Campbell.

24-12-2022, 10:06 PM
Jair missing again. Could he be away in jan.

24-12-2022, 10:07 PM
Jair missing again. Could he be away in jan.

He was out on the pitch during the warm up. Wonder if he's carrying some kind of injury?

25-12-2022, 01:27 PM
Did notice Cabraja went straight up the tunnel at full time. I expect he will be away in Jan.

Scotty Leither
25-12-2022, 01:52 PM
I think Campbell might be on a few teams’ radar.

He works like a dug, he’ll run all day and while he maybe lacks a killer pass, he can play a few positions and chips in with the odd goal or two, and he doesn’t hide either, which is what I particularly like about him.

If Hibs are looking to tie anybody down on a longer term deal he should be near the top of the list, IMO.

JamesHFC
25-12-2022, 02:11 PM

He works like a dug, he’ll run all day and while he maybe lacks a killer pass, he can play a few positions and chips in with the odd goal or two, and he doesn’t hide either, which is what I particularly like about him.

If Hibs are looking to tie anybody down on a longer term deal he should be near the top of the list, IMO.

He signed a deal until 2025 last year so plenty of time left. Expect bids to come for him next summer.

25-12-2022, 02:39 PM

Huge fan.

25-12-2022, 02:43 PM
Huge fan.

Same, think he's been really good this season. I had completely written him off last year as well, chuffed for the laddie that he's showing what's he's capable of.

Loved being proved wrong by a player.

Donegal Hibby
25-12-2022, 02:56 PM
Same, think he's been really good this season. I had completely written him off last year as well, chuffed for the laddie that he's showing what's he's capable of.

Loved being proved wrong by a player.
I was much the same thought he was championship level at best . His improvement has been massive and he looks a very good player now . I was watching highlights of our game again and I still think Livingston's penalty was outside the box , any one else think this?

25-12-2022, 03:13 PM
I was much the same thought he was championship level at best . His improvement has been massive and he looks a very good player now . I was watching highlights of our game again and I still think Livingston's penalty was outside the box , any one else think this?

I was right next to it, season ticket in the west upper and the tackle mark on the pitch was clearly just outside the box. Haven't seen the highlights yet so not sure, but at the time I thought it was outside the box as well.

Also right near the stomp on Campbell, can't believe their player got away with that.

Donegal Hibby
25-12-2022, 04:09 PM
I was right next to it, season ticket in the west upper and the tackle mark on the pitch was clearly just outside the box. Haven't seen the highlights yet so not sure, but at the time I thought it was outside the box as well.

Also right near the stomp on Campbell, can't believe their player got away with that.
Watched it a few times now and still think it was outside the box with the player falling in the box .The stomp on Campbell I felt the Livingston player knew what he was doing , it was really dirty and should have seen red imo , his reaction after it should have got a Oscar ( I didn't mean it , it was a accident sort of reaction). Here's some highlights I watched on skysports though the stomp isn't in them.
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/12774206/hibernian-4-0-livingston-scottish-premiership-highlights

25-12-2022, 04:54 PM
Watched it a few times now and still think it was outside the box with the player falling in the box .The stomp on Campbell I felt the Livingston player knew what he was doing , it was really dirty and should have seen red imo , his reaction after it should have got a Oscar ( I didn't mean it , it was a accident sort of reaction). Here's some highlights I watched on skysports though the stomp isn't in them.
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/12774206/hibernian-4-0-livingston-scottish-premiership-highlightsLooks on the line to me which is a pen

I also think the stamp was accidental - initially I thought it wasn't but replay suggests it wasnt

Donegal Hibby
25-12-2022, 06:38 PM
Looks on the line to me which is a pen

I also think the stamp was accidental - initially I thought it wasn't but replay suggests it was

I've watched the penalty a few times and thought it was outside the box but maybe it's as you say on the line though I don't think there was enough contact if any for the Livy player to go down the way he did and imo he played for the penalty . I've only seen the stamp once or twice and felt at the time the Livy player meant it . Definitely at least a yellow but more likely red . It's was also said a few times that some wanted Martindale as manager , I think Livingston's football is brutal even with 11 men so negative and I just couldn't handle pre and post match interviews like this one :no way:.
https://youtu.be/X3j0Zcmsa88

25-12-2022, 08:20 PM
Looks on the line to me which is a pen

I also think the stamp was accidental - initially I thought it wasn't but replay suggests it was

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk Thought at the game from almost directly in line in the front row of the west upper it was an accidental stamp. Also thought it was a pen watching live and still do. Is there a replay of teh stamp somewhere