View Full Version : Xmas party in Dublin

AugustaHibs
15-12-2022, 11:02 PM
Just been told the squad are away to Dublin this weekend for their Christmas pish up.

they’ve had a busy 3 weeks with games coming thick and fast, no time to do it then so this makes total sense imo.

15-12-2022, 11:07 PM
Just been told the squad are away to Dublin this weekend for their Christmas pish up.

they’ve had a busy 3 weeks with games coming thick and fast, no time to do it then so this makes total sense imo.

They’ve got 9 days before their next game. some time together bonding and having some fun, is fine by me…hope they come back willing to work harder together after having some play….no big deal this..

15-12-2022, 11:14 PM
As stated elsewhere

There better be fire extinguisher mayhem, Someone slumped in a door way with a kebab and an Elvis impersonator

They have alot to live up to

15-12-2022, 11:21 PM
When you combine the exuberant cost of Dublin drinking and the severe lack of win bonuses of late, it might be a quieter affair than it may otherwise have been.

15-12-2022, 11:56 PM
So what 🙈

NC1875
16-12-2022, 05:44 AM
Hope they don’t get in a fight, Hanlon will be floored by a 12 year old laddie

16-12-2022, 05:49 AM
So what 🙈

That's what I thought as well.

16-12-2022, 06:11 AM
I have my Christmas party night tonight. What am I guilty of?

NC1875
16-12-2022, 06:16 AM

Stay away from the photocopier

16-12-2022, 06:43 AM
Shock, a Christmas night out at err, Christmas time, big deal.

I hope everyone that’s going to Dublin has a great time.

16-12-2022, 06:55 AM

Bringing an end to modern society as we know it, probably...

Tarrahib
16-12-2022, 06:56 AM
Shock, a Christmas night out at err, Christmas time, big deal.

I hope everyone that’s going to Dublin has a great time.
Yes. Have a good time and come back and play football like you did in the 1st half last night.
Enjoy lads.

16-12-2022, 07:15 AM

Should have been cancelled. Captain should suggest it.

16-12-2022, 07:35 AM
Should have been cancelled. Captain should suggest it.

Why? :confused:

16-12-2022, 08:24 AM
Hope they have fun and come back ready to fight for their lives over the next few games.

16-12-2022, 08:28 AM
Hope they have fun and come back ready to fight for their lives over the next few games.

I hope it helps them bond and gel better as a group of people and players. Will be good for them!

16-12-2022, 09:01 AM
Why? :confused:

Coz im a grumpy ******* after last nights performance.

16-12-2022, 09:03 AM
Coz im a grumpy ******* after last nights performance.

Bah humbug :greengrin

16-12-2022, 09:06 AM
Hope Nisbet n Tait are ready for round 2

16-12-2022, 11:32 AM
let them enjoy their time, result haven't been great recently but a bit of team bonding won't hurt

Hibees1973
16-12-2022, 11:39 AM
Team bonding, eh?

In the first game back it's likely that after the first 5 minutes against Livi they will all be blaming each other, hands on hips and not up for the fight. Just like in the 2nd half last night and in the vast majority of games so far this season.

I find this trip annoying.

This squad, as a collective, are a disgrace to the club.

Basildon Hibs
16-12-2022, 11:42 AM

Don't be silly ...🤣

16-12-2022, 11:42 AM
Team bonding, eh?

In the first game back it's likely that after the first 5 minutes against Livi they will all be blaming each other, hands on hips and not up for the fight. Just like in the 2nd half last night and in the vast majority of games so far this season.

You funny 🤣

16-12-2022, 11:45 AM
If it helps lift morale then I’m all for it.

Basildon Hibs
16-12-2022, 11:48 AM
You funny 🤣

He's not wrong though.😉

16-12-2022, 11:49 AM
He's not wrong though.😉

They find this trip annoying! It's hilarious that a grown up would begrudge people a Christmas night out 🤣

We have a lot of Ebenezer's in our support 😁

16-12-2022, 11:52 AM
Team bonding, eh?

No they aren't. They are just not very good.

16-12-2022, 11:28 PM
He's not wrong though.😉

Yea he is 😂. It’s a Xmas night out mental how folk get all upset at this every year if we are doing bad. We should have them running up Arthur seat every day until we win

16-12-2022, 11:38 PM
Team bonding, eh?

“every week, rain or shine, win or lose or draw…”

or not…

17-12-2022, 03:51 AM
They have just had a month off for the world cup surely they could have gone then 😁.

17-12-2022, 06:00 AM
Bet the sick note boys manage to be team players and make the free bar alright

Bridge hibs
17-12-2022, 06:43 AM
Bet the sick note boys manage to be team players and make the free bar alrightSick note boys ? Did you make that name up all by yourself or did your school pals help ?

The team are having their Christmas do, most clubs do it every year, whats with the ****ing whinging and bitterness ? We are **** on the park just now, having a wee get together has no bearing whatsoever on what happens on the park

17-12-2022, 07:10 AM
Sick note boys ? Did you make that name up all by yourself or did your school pals help ?

The team are having their Christmas do, most clubs do it every year, whats with the ****ing whinging and bitterness ? We are **** on the park just now, having a wee get together has no bearing whatsoever on what happens on the park

Some bitter ****ing screwballs on here

No one is really saying they shouldn't have an Xmas doo. Calm down we all know every club has them.

People are pissed off at the players for being crap and that's reflective of all posts on here.

For the record some clubs do cancel them from time to time if the teams in bad form. Never goes down well with players but does happen.

Bridge hibs
17-12-2022, 07:27 AM
No one is really saying they shouldn't have an Xmas doo. Calm down we all know every club has them.

People are pissed off at the players for being crap and that's reflective of all posts on here.

For the record some clubs do cancel them from time to time if the teams in bad form. Never goes down well with players but does happen.Im as pissed off as most but ffs they are only having a wee bonding session. I just think a few need to be offended at everything hibs do just now, and not just on the park

Ive actually cancelled my Christmas do because I cant be arsed, I blame hibs for that, am I doing this right ? 🤣

Ps, Im calm 🤣

Hibees1973
17-12-2022, 08:33 AM

Wonder if the 'need to move on at least 5 or 6 from the bloated squad' Johnson's quote, will be going along on this jolly.

When you think of it this 5 or 6 and possibly even more, together with the numerous players who are either constantly injured or don't get any game time will be discussing who is getting shipped out.

Honestly, there are a handful (maybe 4 or 5) from our squad who I want to remain at Hibs.

Bridge hibs
17-12-2022, 08:38 AM
Wonder if the 'need to move on at least 5 or 6 from the bloated squad' Johnson's quote, will be going along on this jolly.

When you think of it this 5 or 6 and possibly even more, together with the numerous players who are either constantly injured or don't get any game time will be discussing who is getting shipped out.

Honestly, there are a handful (maybe 4 or 5) from our squad who I want to remain at Hibs.Why shouldnt they ? They are still hibs players

17-12-2022, 08:38 AM
They have just had a month off for the world cup surely they could have gone then 😁.

Yep I'm unsure why this night/weekend away couldn't have taken place a couple of weeks ago.

17-12-2022, 08:40 AM
It’s not the end of the world, but a little tone deaf to be going away at a time when we’re in free fall. Probably better to have gone local and bizarre they have chosen to go away when the season has resumed and not when we had a break.

There was a podcast Ben Foster was on where he said the Watford xmas night out was cancelled as they couldn’t justify it because of their results.

17-12-2022, 10:49 AM
It’s not the end of the world, but a little tone deaf to be going away at a time when we’re in free fall. Probably better to have gone local and bizarre they have chosen to go away when the season has resumed and not when we had a break.

There was a podcast Ben Foster was on where he said the Watford xmas night out was cancelled as they couldn’t justify it because of their results.if hibs had cancelled the xmas party some players would probably have downed tools so good they kept it. Oh wait most have downed tools anyway bunch o *******.

17-12-2022, 10:56 AM

There was a podcast Ben Foster was on where he said the Watford xmas night out was cancelled as they couldn’t justify it because of their results.

Agree with this. I don’t really have a problem with it but I find it a bit strange doing it when the season has just resumed and we have some hugely important games coming up. I know players always have Christmas parties the same as the rest of us but circumstances are a bit different this year with the season just resuming.

17-12-2022, 10:58 AM

You make them sound like a barber shop quartet.

17-12-2022, 11:05 AM
Bet the sick note boys manage to be team players and make the free bar alrightHope they do - its a team event afterall

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

17-12-2022, 11:08 AM
Timing seems a bit odd. A lot of the players have had a night or 5 to themselves during the break if their social media is anything to go by so would seem there was ample time off to get something organised in the WC break.

I don't really care about them going away though. It's hardly like it's going to spark an unforeseen downturn in form.

17-12-2022, 11:12 AM
Players are getting a work christmas night out near christmas time, not really a big deal. Find something else to get annoyed about :dunno:

Tarrahib
17-12-2022, 11:26 AM
Agree with this. I don’t really have a problem with it but I find it a bit strange doing it when the season has just resumed and we have some hugely important games coming up. I know players always have Christmas parties the same as the rest of us but circumstances are a bit different this year with the season just resuming.
Is the Christmas party lasting all next week? Has training been cancelled?

17-12-2022, 11:28 AM
Not really annoyed about them going away, timing is strange after having so much time off for the WC

Bridge hibs
17-12-2022, 11:30 AM
Not really annoyed about them going away, timing is strange after having so much time off for the WCA Christmas do near to Christmas ?

17-12-2022, 11:32 AM
Maybe they just wanted to wait for Boyler to come home

17-12-2022, 11:55 AM
Players are getting a work christmas night out near christmas time, not really a big deal. Find something else to get annoyed about :dunno:

Every other year no one would have cared but they have just had a month of doing nothing. Surely they could have gone then.

17-12-2022, 11:58 AM
Every other year no one would have cared but they have just had a month of doing nothing. Surely they could have gone then.

Let be honest, folk would have moaned whenever they went.

17-12-2022, 12:01 PM
A Christmas do near to Christmas ?

Plenty people have xmas do’s at the start of December, which would’ve been during the time off they had for the WC as opposed to going in the lead up to a busy schedule

17-12-2022, 12:13 PM

Do you think they were doing nothing during that time?

Even if they went earlier, the same people moaning now would be moaning they weren’t working during their world cup break.

Bridge hibs
17-12-2022, 12:30 PM
Plenty people have xmas do’s at the start of December, which would’ve been during the time off they had for the WC as opposed to going in the lead up to a busy scheduleHibs obviously have reasons for deciding the date, bloody amateurs, they should have consulted posters on hibs.net first

Gordons, Kean, Gareth evans out etc etc etc

Anyway, I hope they have a good old jolly up in Dublin, great city for a bevvy up

17-12-2022, 01:42 PM
Hibs obviously have reasons for deciding the date, bloody amateurs, they should have consulted posters on hibs.net first

Gordons, Kean, Gareth evans out etc etc etc

Anyway, I hope they have a good old jolly up in Dublin, great city for a bevvy up

I hope Ron's ponying up for the bar bill.....it's no cheap in Dublin haha

Bridge hibs
17-12-2022, 01:46 PM
I hope Ron's ponying up for the bar bill.....it's no cheap in Dublin hahaI know, I was there a few years ago, maybe its Ron buys the first round then yer on yer own 🤣

17-12-2022, 01:46 PM
I hope they do it properly, fights, pictures of players having fags outside nightclubs, some stripper controversy.

I hope Linfield or some other ****my outfit are there and there’s a brawl.

All the good stuff.

17-12-2022, 01:52 PM
Timing seems a bit odd. A lot of the players have had a night or 5 to themselves during the break if their social media is anything to go by so would seem there was ample time off to get something organised in the WC break.

I don't really care about them going away though. It's hardly like it's going to spark an unforeseen downturn in form.

Timing odd? No its Christmas ffs. The wc break wasnt a break and they were training. Nowt wrong with a xmas party. Dont think folk need to get their knickers in a twist over it

17-12-2022, 02:07 PM
Timing odd? No its Christmas ffs. The wc break wasnt a break and they were training. Nowt wrong with a xmas party. Dont think folk need to get their knickers in a twist over it

Knickers being in a twist is a prerequisite of being a Hibby these days.

northern-hibee
17-12-2022, 02:12 PM
Perhaps should have shown some contrition and had a Christmas get together at the facilities at Easter Road?
Most Christmas do’s are held on a single evening and close to the workplace. Don’t see why they have to flown to another country to have a night out. It’s not like their employer should feel under any obligation to reward them this season as they’ve been pretty dire all season.

17-12-2022, 02:22 PM
Do you think they were doing nothing during that time?

Even if they went earlier, the same people moaning now would be moaning they weren’t working during their world cup break.

Thought they had most of it off?

17-12-2022, 02:24 PM
I hope they do it properly, fights, pictures of players having fags outside nightclubs, some stripper controversy.

I hope Linfield or some other ****my outfit are there and there’s a brawl.

All the good stuff.

Would be good to see any fight in that lot. Not a great deal on the pitch

17-12-2022, 02:40 PM
Perhaps should have shown some contrition and had a Christmas get together at the facilities at Easter Road?
Most Christmas do’s are held on a single evening and close to the workplace. Don’t see why they have to flown to another country to have a night out. It’s not like their employer should feel under any obligation to reward them this season as they’ve been pretty dire all season.

Contrition? What for? And tone deaf, having a Christmas party at Christmas time 🤣

It's miserable ****er central on this thread 🤣

Cheer up, it's Christmas!!

17-12-2022, 02:50 PM
Hangings too good for them.

17-12-2022, 02:53 PM
Thought they had most of it off?

They were playing bounce games and in training from what i could see. They probably got a bit of a break but i don’t think they done nothing the entire duration.

Silky
17-12-2022, 04:21 PM

Do we know for sure that the "employers are rewarding them"? Players might have paid for it themselves. Nae evidence to suggest otherwise. Just another cheap shot at the club.

17-12-2022, 04:22 PM

Loads of industries that are busy over the festive period don't have their Christmas night out at Christmas. We have ours in January or November because December is our busiest month by a distance.

As I said I don't really care one way or another though so no knickers twisted here.

17-12-2022, 04:23 PM

Danny Handlings too good for them 🤣

Paulie Walnuts
17-12-2022, 04:28 PM
Loads of industries that are busy over the festive period don't have their Christmas night out at Christmas. We have ours in January or November because December is our busiest month by a distance.

As I said I don't really care one way or another though so no knickers twisted here.

Mines was 2nd December. There was loads of other Christmas parties then and that would have been pretty much 2 weeks before the Rangers game.

Waiting till the season has restarted when you’ve had all that time to have it seems daft but like you, I couldn’t really give a ****.

17-12-2022, 07:09 PM
I know sports science won’t exactly back this up but I reckon that getting a physical distance away from Edinburgh and getting absolutely plastered together might be great for our group of players.

17-12-2022, 07:28 PM
Are there any updates? Who is the star performer so far ? Has anyone honked up yet? Who is the best table dancer? Will everyone be fit for next weekend?

17-12-2022, 07:29 PM
A team that drinks together, wins together.

17-12-2022, 07:45 PM
I really hope Boyler is there, dressed as that miner guy out of Toy Story again.

17-12-2022, 07:47 PM

But not in Europe as Rangers RIP found out. So, no worries for us there. Get the beers in!

17-12-2022, 09:40 PM
I really hope Boyler is there, dressed as that miner guy out of Toy Story again.

His name is Prospector Pete 🥸

17-12-2022, 09:42 PM
His name is Prospector Pete 🥸

That's the boy! Was he a goody?

The dalmeny
17-12-2022, 10:39 PM
7196077 (tel:7196077)[/URL]]That's the boy! Was he a goody?

a sort of Kamberi character

17-12-2022, 10:44 PM
That's the boy! Was he a goody?

Absolutely was not a goody!

17-12-2022, 10:47 PM
If we were winning at the moment, this would not be an issue.

17-12-2022, 11:04 PM
Absolutely was not a goody!

Booooooooooooooo! Get off, Squirrel!

In all seriousness, it’s mental the effect a night out with your team can have on your performances

Lifts the spirits, spend a bit of time with guys you don’t normally see outside of the club and have a laugh.

Hope the have a good night and come back before for it.

Also please make sure someone separates Nisbet and Tait 🤣

a sort of Kamberi character

That bad? What was he thinking? :-)

17-12-2022, 11:11 PM
Hope it was brilliant. Think it would be a great place for a Christmas party.

Donegal Hibby
18-12-2022, 12:46 AM
In all seriousness, it’s mental the effect a night out with your team can have on your performances

Lifts the spirits, spend a bit of time with guys you don’t normally see outside of the club and have a laugh.

Come on mate ! What's with the night out comment , it's Ireland our parties are two nights 🤫

DIXIHIBS
18-12-2022, 08:11 AM
If they come back and beat Livi it will seen as a great idea. If they come back and lose to Livi....

18-12-2022, 08:21 AM
Are people seriously getting annoyed they are away for a few days, some folk need to spend less time online and get out and enjoy life

18-12-2022, 08:34 AM
If they come back and beat Livi it will seen as a great idea. If they come back and lose to Livi....

Think if we lose to again Livi for the 5th game in a row - fans will be rightly raging.

18-12-2022, 08:46 AM

Tait was playing for Arbroath the day, so I'm guessing he wasn't there.

Though he did come off after 10 minutes, qo maybe had a flight to catch.

18-12-2022, 08:54 AM
Tait was playing for Arbroath the day, so I'm guessing he wasn't there.

Though he did come off after 10 minutes, qo maybe had a flight to catch.

Am I reading this right that Tait is on crutches with a serious injury? What kind of ****ing season is this? Can anyone remember anything like it? Absolutely insane how many injuries were getting across the squad.

18-12-2022, 08:58 AM
Am I reading this right that Tait is on crutches with a serious injury? What kind of ****ing season is this? Can anyone remember anything like it? Absolutely insane how many injuries were getting across the squad.

Yes he was stretchered off after 12 minutes yesterday with what has been described as a "horrible injury".

18-12-2022, 09:01 AM
I didn't meet my target one day last week but still had a brussel sprout at the Xmas lunch. Sack me.

Sioux
18-12-2022, 09:21 AM
Yes he was stretchered off after 12 minutes yesterday with what has been described as a "horrible injury".

Probably Hibs' fault.

18-12-2022, 09:28 AM

Ooooh, what I wouldn't give to be spat at in the face.

18-12-2022, 09:30 AM

It’s actually ridiculous. I’d love to see a list of our squad injuries and severity over the last 12 months.

Paulie Walnuts
18-12-2022, 09:34 AM
Probably Hibs' fault.

Probably just bad luck, much like the last 3 years or so of constant injuries, relapses and mis/non diagnosis’.

18-12-2022, 09:36 AM
Probably just bad luck, much like the last 3 years or so of constant injuries, relapses and mis/non diagnosis’.Is Tait in training with us during his loan?

18-12-2022, 09:39 AM
Ooooh, what I wouldn't give to be spat at in the face.

Joe-hovah Newell needs stoning :agree:

18-12-2022, 09:42 AM

He already plays like he is stoned! 😀

Paulie Walnuts
18-12-2022, 09:50 AM
Is Tait in training with us during his loan?

Arbroath are part time so unless he’s got a different loan agreement to others that go on loan to part time teams then he should be.

LewysGot2
18-12-2022, 11:26 AM
They were playing bounce games and in training from what i could see. They probably got a bit of a break but i don’t think they done nothing the entire duration.

They had the first 10 days on holiday. Several went to Dubai together. Others elsewhere in the sun.

18-12-2022, 12:00 PM

Am sure it's the fault of the Hibs medical team...especially with Ron cutting them back

18-12-2022, 01:31 PM
Am sure it's the fault of the Hibs medical team...especially with Ron cutting them back

The clown a few posts above you actually thinks it is Hibs fault.

18-12-2022, 01:34 PM

Ian Gordons not the messiah, he's a very naughty boy!

18-12-2022, 01:45 PM

That was the plan seemingly but Ron and Ian waited till the flights were cheaper lol

18-12-2022, 01:46 PM
Arbroath are part time so unless he’s got a different loan agreement to others that go on loan to part time teams then he should be.

Are you seriously blaming him training with Hibs for an injury sustained during a match for another team? Your recent attacks on the Hibs medical team has just hit an outlandish all-time low if so.

Paulie Walnuts
18-12-2022, 02:06 PM

Aw man, flash called me a clown. How will I ever survive.

Paulie Walnuts
18-12-2022, 02:08 PM
Are you seriously blaming him training with Hibs for an injury sustained during a match for another team? Your recent attacks on the Hibs medical team has just hit an outlandish all-time low if so.

Is this one something that Hibs could have prevented? Who knows.

Are the last 3 years or so something we should be questioning why we’ve had so many issues with injuries? Absolutely.

Out of interest, for the people that get themselves all worked up about it, when do we start questioning the role of the medical/physio/sports science team etc with regards to injuries? Or do they just never have any questions to answer and we carry on like this for years on end declaring ourselves the most ‘unlucky’ team around?

18-12-2022, 02:13 PM
Is this one something that Hibs could have prevented? Who knows.

Are the last 3 years or so something we should be questioning why we’ve had so many issues with injuries? Absolutely.

Out of interest, for the people that get themselves all worked up about it, when do we start questioning the role of the medical/physio/sports science team etc with regards to injuries? Or do they just never have any questions to answer and we carry on like this for years on end declaring ourselves the most ‘unlucky’ team around?

If it was muscle injuries, hamstrings and calf strains and the like, yes. The serious ones like leg breaks, no. Even cruciate or Achilles damage can’t really w prevented by training, its just pure bad luck. I have no idea what proportion of our injuries are of what type though. My natural inclination is to say it’s just a run of terrible luck.

Paulie Walnuts
18-12-2022, 02:15 PM
If it was muscle injuries, hamstrings and calf strains and the like, yes. The serious ones like leg breaks, no. Even cruciate or Achilles damage can’t really w prevented by training, its just pure bad luck. I have no idea what proportion of our injuries are of what type though. My natural inclination is to say it’s just a run of terrible luck.

That would be my natural inclination if it happened over a period of 6 months or a season. When it goes on for years on end that natural inclination has weaned somewhat.

We sign guys with chronic injury issues all the time, why are they passing our medicals? That’s the whole purpose of them. We’re talking about guys who the fans know will never be fit before they even sign yet a medical doesn’t manage to pick it up?

We have guys recover from injury who break down instantly.

We have guys who have what initially appear insignificant injuries who vanish for months upon months.

We have guys like McGeady who are due back in 8 weeks but come back 5 months later.

We have JDH training for a week with a fractured ankle.

We sent Porteous back out onto the pitch numerous times against Rangers with a season ending injury. Everyone in the stadium could see he was ****ed, apart from Hibs and the medical team.

We had Magennis injured for nearly 3 months when our manager announced we didn’t even know what was wrong with him.

These are all the sorts of reasons I think questions need to be asked. We’ve already got injury’s missed (Boyle) , we’ve got injuries we couldn’t diagnose (Magennis), we’ve got injuries we’ve wildly misdiagnosed (Mcgeady) and we’ve got fairly serious injuries we’ve allowed players to carry on playing with or training with (Porteous or JDH). To me, that’s all the sorts of issues that would lead you to question the competency of your medical department and we’ve managed to gather a full house over what, 2 or 3 seasons? Has anyone else had all these issues over such a short length of time?

I can’t say I can think of any other clubs with the amount of issues we have. It’s not just the injuries, it’s the bizarre nature of how they seem to unfold at Hibs that leaves me questioning wtf is going on.

18-12-2022, 02:22 PM
Is there anything going on across the world of football that is seeing an increase in injuries?

The reason I say that is that we seem to be unlucky, the huns had loads out the other night and Hearts wouldn't stop bleating about the number of injuries they had earlier this season.

So whilst it seems like we've got a lot (and it does seem a lot) is it necessarily more than other clubs have?

18-12-2022, 02:32 PM

I would assume as much 🤣

18-12-2022, 02:32 PM
Aw man, flash called me a clown. How will I ever survive.

At least you knew who i meant.

Paulie Walnuts
18-12-2022, 02:47 PM
At least you knew who i meant.

Cute.

18-12-2022, 02:51 PM
We can’t half whinge.

18-12-2022, 03:01 PM
We can’t half whinge.

We would be top of the moany ****er premier League!

19-12-2022, 09:53 AM

They’re drunk. It’s disgusting.

Let to Dublin by the bottle more like.

19-12-2022, 10:41 AM
Is Tait in training with us during his loan?

19-12-2022, 11:06 AM
Are the team still there on the lash or are they back yet ?

19-12-2022, 11:36 AM
Did Stokes get an invite? I'm pretty confident he could still do a job in the Anthony Stokes at a xmas party role.

19-12-2022, 12:44 PM
We can’t half whinge.

Yep league champions of whingers :greengrin