View Full Version : Problems

15-12-2022, 08:45 PM
Start at the top and work their way down the chain.

Kensell is hiding. Ron is hiding. Ian Gordon seems untouchable. Fraud of a manager, mediocre soft players and scattergun recruitment.

Until it changes, nothing will change. The cycle will carry on, and probably result in another relegation, if not this season then probably next.

Ron needs to sell, or change this structure that clearly isn’t working. First step would be reinstating a Director of Football and removing his son from his duties so we can have someone run the football side of things properly.

15-12-2022, 08:51 PM
Reinstate a director of football? We never had one unless I've missed something? Calm doon man, we're losing marginally at Ibrox. No real shame in that.

Rumble de Thump
15-12-2022, 08:52 PM
Start at the top and work their way down the chain.

Kensell is hiding. Ron is hiding. Ian Gordon seems untouchable. Fraud of a manager, mediocre soft players and scattergun recruitment.

Until it changes, nothing will change. The cycle will carry on, and probably result in another relegation, if not this season then probably next.

Ron needs to sell, or change this structure that clearly isn’t working. First step would be reinstating a Director of Football and removing his son from his duties so we can have someone run the football side of things properly.

What's prompted this?

15-12-2022, 08:54 PM
What's prompted this?

You’re joking right?

Failure after failure. Maloney, Johnson, Recruitment.

The squad
The manager
The recruitment
The performances
The results
Our downward spiral of a league position

Apart from all that stuff that isn't all that important anyway we are doing great.

Reinstate a director of football? We never had one unless I've missed something? Calm doon man, we're losing marginally at Ibrox. No real shame in that.

Sporting director, head of football operations. Whatever the title was, it’s the same role.

franck sauzee
15-12-2022, 08:57 PM
The squad
The manager
The recruitment
The performances
The results

Apart from all that stuff that isn't all that important anyway we are doing great.

I know we can't keep just sacking managers but LJ isn't a good manager. He's had no effect on this game second half, was obvious we were struggling straight away and yet he persisted until we're out the game. Dreadful stuff

15-12-2022, 08:58 PM
The squad
The manager
The recruitment
The performances
The results

Add in the removal of good loyal Hibs volunteers and staff.

cameronw-hfc
15-12-2022, 09:00 PM
I know we can't keep just sacking managers but LJ isn't a good manager. He's had no effect on this game second half, was obvious we were struggling straight away and yet he persisted until we're out the game. Dreadful stuff

Could counter that and say his early sub in the first game vs rangers changed it completely. Let's not wet the bed after we lost 3-2 to rangers. Better team's than us will go and get pumped at Ibrox this season, also not exactly baffling that we tired in the second half. Magennis was huge for us in the first half and hes been out for a year, as was Nisbet and hes been out 10 months.

If anything, that first half has me a little more positive about our chances once Nizzy, Magennis etc all get back up to speed.

sauzeelegod
15-12-2022, 09:00 PM
Add in the removal of good loyal Hibs volunteers and staff.

Agreed. I was one of them.

Donegal Hibby
15-12-2022, 09:02 PM
Agree with this :agree:

15-12-2022, 09:02 PM
Could counter that and say his early sub in the first game vs rangers changed it completely. Let's not wet the bed after we lost 3-2 to rangers. Better team's than us will go and get pumped at Ibrox this season, also not exactly baffling that we tired in the second half. Magennis was huge for us in the first half and hes been out for a year, as was Nisbet and hes been out 10 months.

If anything, that first half has me a little more positive about our chances once Nizzy, Magennis etc all get back up to speed.

Umm, what?

cameronw-hfc
15-12-2022, 09:04 PM
Umm, what?

Is me not slating everyone and actually trying to support the team all that confusing to you?

ThisIsTheYear
15-12-2022, 09:04 PM
I didn’t think we were too bad tonight…. Ibrox is a tough place to go. We were outstanding the first half

cameronw-hfc
15-12-2022, 09:05 PM
I didn’t think we were too bad tonight…. Ibrox is a tough place to go. We were outstanding the first half

Exactly my thoughts. Struggled second half, but plenty positives to take from the first.

Basildon Hibs
15-12-2022, 09:06 PM

Why can't we keep sacking managers? If they're garbage then get rid of them.

LJ and all the rest of the impostors, please leave now

loanheadhibby
15-12-2022, 09:06 PM
Your attitude saddens me. You seem happy that we only lost 3-2.
You do realise that as a club we are toiling big time from top to bottom.
If the manager keeps playing certain players who continually let us down we are heading towards the foot of the league too quickly for comfort.

15-12-2022, 09:07 PM

Did you see that rangers team at the back? Woeful. We crumbled, again.

It’s more about the 7 losses in 8 games and looking at the league table after tonight that’s the problem, as opposed to this game on its own

Rumble de Thump
The squad
The manager
The recruitment
The performances
The results

Is this a joke? Was the opening post not made when we were a goal down to Sevco at Ibrox? What's with the pretentiousness?

In the last two years we have brought in 22 players.

7 of todays stating lineup were here prior. That’s insane. If Boyle was not injured that would be 8.

Marshall is a stick on for a decent keeper so really only 2 of those 22 started. Mental.

Trinity Hibee
Why can't we keep sacking managers? If they're garbage then get rid of them.

LJ and all the rest of the impostors, please leave now

This is where I am too. Sure sacking managers may not be ideal but so you just keep going with someone who isn’t getting results? Surely that’s even worse. Anyway it looks like we are going to find out sooner rather than later

15-12-2022, 09:09 PM
We can't keep changing managers but quite frankly I don't care any more. That second half performance shows that we are in real trouble this season.

The Livvy game is huge now.

Basildon Hibs
This is where I am too. Sure sacking managers may not be ideal but so you just keep going with someone who isn’t getting results? Surely that’s even worse. Anyway it looks like we are going to find out sooner rather than later

Correct.👍

Just_Jimmy
He'll be away tye day after the Derby. They'll use it to hide their own failings.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

15-12-2022, 09:10 PM
Is this a joke? Was the opening post not made when we were a goal down to Sevco at Ibrox? What's with the pretentiousness?

Where have you been for the last year? This isn’t some knee jerk reaction to a defeat at Ibrox but that absymal second half prompted my thoughts. I’m not the only one.

King conrad

7 of todays stating lineup were here prior. That’s insane. If Boyle was not injured that would be 8.

Marshall is a stick on for a decent keeper so really only 2 of those 22 started. Mental.

That's a scary stat! No wonder we are struggling

Trinity Hibee

That is an extremely worrying stat. A group who have underperformed for a very long time now.

franck sauzee
15-12-2022, 09:12 PM

I can handle a defeat but it's the manner of it. Could see we were about to concede a mile off. If he doesn't change things at 2-1 he absolutely has to at 2-2. McGeady I wasn't a massive fan of signing but he was a no brainer for me to come on. He would have at least got on the ball and held it for more than 2 seconds

15-12-2022, 09:12 PM

Why would it be a joke?

Every single one of the things I listed is a massive problem at the club. We are heading straight for a relegation dogfight and people want to bury their heads in the sand and pat us on the back for only losing by one goal at Ibrox.

I wonder how long this will last. Every game we lose it's 'oh it can happen, we can't win every game'. It's not so much a hint of a pattern now but rather a big, flashing red warning light. We are ****ing pish with a below par manager, a garbage squad and a recruitment team that have brought in about 500 players almost none of whom are deemed good enough to start.

It would be easier listing what isn't a problem.

Rumble de Thump
15-12-2022, 09:13 PM
Where have you been for the last year? This isn’t some knee jerk reaction to a defeat at Ibrox but that absymal second half prompted my thoughts. I’m not the only one.

So the second half performance based on the past year? It is a bit confusing.

15-12-2022, 09:13 PM

You asked a question and got a fair answer. Regardless of who we were playing tonight, Hibs are back in league action and suffering from terrible form. A thread like this isn’t surprising at all.

Rumble de Thump
15-12-2022, 09:15 PM
Why would it be a joke?

Every single one of the things I listed is a massive problem at the club. We are heading straight for a relegation dogfight and people want to bury their heads in the sand and pat us on the back for only losing by one goal at Ibrox.

I wonder how long this will last. Every game we lose it's 'oh it can happen, we can't win every game'. It's not so much a hint of a pattern now but rather a big, flashing red warning light. We are ****ing pish with a below par manager, a garbage squad and a recruitment team that have brought in about 500 players almost none of whom are deemed good enough to start.

It would be easier listing what isn't a problem.

Ok. I didn't ask what was a problem but thanks for the diatribe.

cameronw-hfc
15-12-2022, 09:16 PM
You asked a question and got a fair answer. Regardless of who we were playing tonight, Hibs are back in league action and suffering from terrible form. A thread like this isn’t surprising at all.

You're right, considering everytime we lose a new thread gets started its not surprising.

Rumble de Thump
15-12-2022, 09:16 PM

I got an answer to a question that wasn't asked but thanks for your input.

15-12-2022, 09:18 PM
I got an answer to a question that wasn't asked but thanks for your input.

Is this a joke? What’s with the pretentiousness? 🥴

15-12-2022, 09:19 PM
So the second half performance based on the past year? It is a bit confusing.

Aye, the second half capitulation prompted the thoughts, that I’ve had for some time, but have largely been reluctant to post about until recently.

It’s not difficult to understand.

Paulie Walnuts
15-12-2022, 09:24 PM

Magennis has been back 2 and a half months? He’s made 7 appearances plus friendlies.

15-12-2022, 09:25 PM
Is me not slating everyone and actually trying to support the team all that confusing to you?

Loving the somewhere over the rainbow vibe to your positivity. This squad and these players with this manager aren’t taking us anywhere good. They’re literally directionless.

15-12-2022, 09:27 PM
Loving the somewhere over the rainbow vibe to your positivity. This squad and these players with this manager aren’t taking us anywhere good. They’re literally directionless.

They aren’t directionless. The direction is downwards

Donegal Hibby
15-12-2022, 09:29 PM
Your attitude saddens me. You seem happy that we only lost 3-2.
You do realise that as a club we are toiling big time from top to bottom.
If the manager keeps playing certain players who continually let us down we are heading towards the foot of the league too quickly for comfort.
Nobodys happy losing but going to Ibrox isn't a game I'd expect to win , it's more blind hope that we win or get a draw sadly the transfer budget they have is 10 , 20 times more than us now . Manager keeps playing certain players cause he hasn't got anyone else to play I feel . Midfield a massive problem with guys like Henderson , JDH and Even Newell who I thought was awful imo tonight. All on lengthy contracts before LJ time . Only thing thats going to change this is transfer windows !

Donegal Hibby
15-12-2022, 09:34 PM
Sacking a manager after one window is madness Imo .It's giving him no chance at all to change the squad but every body to there own opinions

15-12-2022, 09:37 PM
Sacking a manager after one window is madness Imo .It's giving him no chance at all to change the squad but every body to there own opinions

Sticking with a manager who has us in absolute freefall because 'you can't keep sacking managers' or 'he's not had long enough' is infinitely madder.

You have to make decisions based on the information you have. I don't really know where I am with Johnson right now but I'm leaning far more towards get rid than I was 4, 5 or 6 weeks ago. We are in bother and if he can't spark improvement with what he has at his disposal (and we aren't making huge changes in January) then get someone in who can.

15-12-2022, 09:37 PM

We were good in the first half.
We were an embarrassment in the second half. A pub team would have got over the half way line more.

People don’t want to hear it, but the club under Ron Gordon is a shambles. He might have a good business head but he has no idea how to run a football club. If he did, the pathetic shower making the football decisions over the past few years wouldn’t have done so..

15-12-2022, 09:38 PM
I would be worried giving LJ and Hibs recruitment another window.

I would also be worried about the next recruitment for another manager.

The club is a mess - LJ needs to go but no faith in bringing in decent replacement.

Why wait and suffer defeats next few games.

ST sales will be down next season big time if we finish bottom 6.

15-12-2022, 09:43 PM
Sticking with a manager who has us in absolute freefall because 'you can't keep sacking managers' or 'he's not had long enough' is infinitely madder.

You have to make decisions based on the information you have. I don't really know where I am with Johnson right now but I'm leaning far more towards get rid than I was 4, 5 or 6 weeks ago. We are in bother and if he can't spark improvement with what he has at his disposal (and we aren't making huge changes in January) then get someone in who can.

There was an ex manager in the commentary box tonight that I'd appoint in a heartbeat, either as manager of DoF :aok:

Johnson won't be here after the next 5 games I reckon. Another shocking appointment by a terrible owner.

cameronw-hfc
15-12-2022, 09:44 PM
I would be worried giving LJ and Hibs recruitment another window.

I would also be worried about the next recruitment for another manager.

The club is a mess - LJ needs to go but no faith in bringing in decent replacement.

Why wait and suffer defeats next few games.

ST sales will be down next season big time if we finish bottom 6.

Might not be the same dept in charge of transfers come January and almost guaranteed it will not be the same people in charge at the end of the season.

Edit- before anyone says what other dept could it be, its the best I can word it with what I know. Apologies

15-12-2022, 09:45 PM
There was an ex manager in the commentary box tonight that I'd appoint in a heartbeat, either as manager of DoF :aok:

Johnson won't be here after the next 5 games I reckon. Another shocking appointment by a terrible owner.

I agree re the next 5 games.

I think we have reached that inevitablity stage now. If we win on Saturday he probably buys himself a few weeks, lose and there's every chance he won't even see the derby.

15-12-2022, 09:50 PM
That is an extremely worrying stat. A group who have underperformed for a very long time now.

Yip, the nucleus of a team that have, thus far, got 2 managers sacked with a probable 3rd on the way soon.

Donegal Hibby
15-12-2022, 09:56 PM

My take on it is if we do get rid of him and get another manager in we will be back 6 months time discussing the exact same scenario, think our problems aren't mainly the manager . We have a midfield that I thinks awful and all on long contracts none of which are Lee Johnson signings Newell, Campbell, Henderson . LJ has had one window and the next ones probably the toughest to do deals I know we are in free fall but I'd still like to see him given more time . The recruitment is a major worry though

h1bs4life
15-12-2022, 10:04 PM
Worrying that despite bringing in 20 odd players in the last couple of years there was 7 starting tonight that were there when Jack Ross was here .
Dread to think what our wage bill is at the moment or how much it would cost to get rid of some paying up there contracts .

15-12-2022, 10:08 PM
Maybe the championship is our happy place 😁

15-12-2022, 11:55 PM

I wouldn’t be surprised if Ron did approach Jack Ross again If Lee Johnson goes

16-12-2022, 05:30 AM

Yeah I would love John Collins back at Hibs 👍👍

16-12-2022, 06:06 AM
I wouldn’t be surprised if Ron did approach Jack Ross again If Lee Johnson goes

Not a chance after his spell at Utd.

16-12-2022, 06:16 AM
If Johnson gets punted the best I can hope for is that it triggers a shake up of the football department. It’s criminal how badly things have been allowed to slide.

I’m done defending the Gordon’s now. I know a 3-2 defeat at Ibrox is not a dreadful result by any means but it compounds a **** couple of months.

Iain Gordon, get tae. Ron, you’ve got a lot of work to do. I hope one of the first things you do is shuffle ian in to an obscure back room role and bring an experienced, Hibs minded, Scottish football veteran to kick arse in there. Honestly wouldn’t mind at all someone like Yogi, maybe John Collins if he fancied it.