View Full Version : Famous hibs fans

Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 08:24 PM
We certainly seem to have quite a few famous fans , a couple I don't know about too if I'm honest.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/famous-hibs-fans-12-celebrities-who-follow-the-cabbage-2871189?page=1

houstonhibbee
06-12-2022, 04:55 AM
Add Stuart Hogg and jack docherty to that list

06-12-2022, 04:57 AM
Zara Tindall :greengrin

06-12-2022, 06:06 AM
They didn’t include Brian Blessed there.

06-12-2022, 06:08 AM
Pat Nevin

06-12-2022, 07:59 AM
Fatty Blackford allegedly

06-12-2022, 08:02 AM

Can't help yourself can you?

DIXIHIBS
06-12-2022, 08:12 AM

Blackford used to travel on the Capital bus so not allegedly.

06-12-2022, 08:20 AM
Didn't know Malcolm Ross had changed his name to jk.jpg.

06-12-2022, 08:46 AM

Really?

06-12-2022, 09:03 AM

OK

06-12-2022, 09:05 AM
Guy that narrates Love Island is a Hibby. Iain Stirling.

Gloucester Hibs
06-12-2022, 09:15 AM
Guy that narrates Love Island is a Hibby. Iain Stirling.

Liverpool fan I think?

Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 09:31 AM
Was Shirley Manson not meant to be a hibee ?

06-12-2022, 09:47 AM
Liverpool fan I think?

Definitely one of us https://twitter.com/IainDoesJokes/status/302348889304997888?s=20&t=Jd9otsaNF_3oOEPuUjhObA

Liverpool might be his English team though.

06-12-2022, 09:49 AM
Gail Porter

06-12-2022, 09:52 AM
Me

Gloucester Hibs
06-12-2022, 09:54 AM
Definitely one of us https://twitter.com/IainDoesJokes/status/302348889304997888?s=20&t=Jd9otsaNF_3oOEPuUjhObA

Liverpool might be his English team though.

Coo! He was on Soccer AM once chatting fitba and he's never mentioned Hibs. Think he said he started following Liverpool as he studied in Norway where they have a big following.

06-12-2022, 10:14 AM
Coo! He was on Soccer AM once chatting fitba and he's never mentioned Hibs. Think he said he started following Liverpool as he studied in Norway where they have a big following.
Grew up in Libby went to Gracemount High and Edinburgh Uni

Defo a Hibby

I worked with his Dad

06-12-2022, 10:19 AM
How old is that article! Lloyd Quinan! 🤣

Dont even know who he is/was. Was he STV?

06-12-2022, 10:20 AM
Dont even know who he is/was. Was he STV?

Oops sorry managed to delete my post! 🤣

Did the weather and seems to be in the parliament now.

No Andrew Maxwell?

Gloucester Hibs
06-12-2022, 10:23 AM

Defo a Hibby

I worked with his Dad

Good to know. I also went to Gracie High 😁

Defo a Hibby

I worked with his Dad

He went to Libby High. He was head boy when I was in 1st or 2nd year.

Ha Ha!

Was in a boozer behind the Rangers end at the 2007 League Cup Final and Lloyd Quinan SNP came sauntering in with his entourage

“Billyhibs how’s it gaun?”

I was in his class at School

What are you trying to say ? :greengrin

Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 10:24 AM
Me

Maybe you could buy us a top quality midfielder ,seeing as your rich and famous?😉

06-12-2022, 10:25 AM
He went to Libby High. He was head boy when I was in 1st or 2nd year.
Aye your right Liberton High was the one

We were also neighbours

My kids went to Beeslack Penicuik

Getting auld

Bridge hibs
06-12-2022, 11:53 AM
Billy Mcallhinney or however its speeled, River City guy

06-12-2022, 11:59 AM
Dick Gaughan. Great Scottish folk singer. Oh and Begbie!

06-12-2022, 12:01 PM
Didn't know Malcolm Ross had changed his name to jk.jpg.

Standard for the EEN, terrible article they reprint every so often. Surprised there isn't more mistakes apart from jk.jpg and the actual number of fans they highlight 10 not 12. The EEN is a chronically bad newspaper.

06-12-2022, 12:05 PM
Dick Gaughan. Great Scottish folk singer. Oh and Begbie!

Dick Gaughan is? Fantastic. I assumed he'd be a Lesser.

06-12-2022, 12:06 PM
Standard for the EEN, terrible article they reprint every so often. Surprised there isn't more mistakes apart from jk.jpg and the actual number of fans they highlight 10 not 12. The EEN is a chronically bad newspaper.

They do include both proclaimers and the two Murray brothers, so technically it's 12 :greengrin

06-12-2022, 12:11 PM
Dev Alahan from Coronation Street has mentioned Hibs a couple of times. Jimmi Harkishin, who plays him has been seen at Easter Road.

Given the writers could have chosen any club and Wetherfield Rovers play in green I think there must be a bit Hibbiness about The Street!

06-12-2022, 12:14 PM
Inspector John Rebus (but not Ken Stott)

Gloucester Hibs
06-12-2022, 12:18 PM

I'm sure in the books it's Siobhan Clarke who is the Hibs fan but you're right in the TV series it's Rebus

itslegaltender
06-12-2022, 12:35 PM
Blackford used to travel on the Capital bus so not allegedly.

he also had plenty Hibs stuff in the background at his home during Covid. Good pal of Simon Pia.

Fanforlife
06-12-2022, 12:39 PM
Davie Johnston, Guitarist for Elton John for donkey's years, Carrick Knowe Hibby

06-12-2022, 12:59 PM
Ross Wilson, of the excellent Blue Rose Code. Fond of a wee Hibs reference now and again[emoji16]

06-12-2022, 01:05 PM
James Connolly

06-12-2022, 01:06 PM
Logan Roy of Succession fame is a big hibs fan.

06-12-2022, 01:10 PM
Logan Roy of Succession fame is a big hibs fan.

I wonder what the background to that piece was. Brian Cox would have control over the club choice I'd have thought? Very enjoyable it was though!

"Go Hearts!"!

06-12-2022, 01:18 PM
and a few names from our last famous hibby list

Irvine Welsh
John Leslie
Grant stott
Russell Brand ?
Bernard Gallagher
Dougray Scott
Alex Arthur
John Peel ?
Judy Murray
Chris Small
Gary Anderson
Jack Docherty
Finlay Quaye
Andrew Maxwell
Scott Hastings
Renton Laidlaw...RIP

06-12-2022, 01:38 PM
I wonder what the background to that piece was. Brian Cox would have control over the club choice I'd have thought? Very enjoyable it was though!

"Go Hearts!"!

You beautiful barstewards! :greengrin

Sure EEN did this article about 3 months ago.

And again, how has it taken this many posts to get a mention of our biggest worldwide fan - E.T.!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqeXndn0qyQ&ab_channel=Kennethibs

06-12-2022, 02:00 PM

In the books he a supporter of the Blue Brazil if I remember correctly.

Siobhan is the hibby!

06-12-2022, 02:01 PM
Catherine Zeta Jones

Arthur Conan Doyle must have been a hibby!

06-12-2022, 02:01 PM

"Go Hearts!"!

He did an interview recently, it was the writers choice. The writer originally said he was Canadian (Quebec) but then changed Roy's birthplace to Dundee, Cox's actual place of birth. The storyline of Logan's son buying hearts when Logan is actually a Hibee has no connection to Cox, it came from Jesse Armstrong's mind but given Logan's sons name who bought half of hearts is Roman, he musta done a bit of research on Scottish football :greengrin Brian Cox has never admitted supporting any team and has said he went to watch both Dundee teams growing up.

06-12-2022, 02:13 PM
Dev Alahan from Coronation Street has mentioned Hibs a couple of times. Jimmi Harkishin, who plays him has been seen at Easter Road.

Given the writers could have chosen any club and Wetherfield Rovers play in green I think there must be a bit Hibbiness about The Street!
It's Weathy County!

06-12-2022, 02:41 PM
he also had plenty Hibs stuff in the background at his home during Covid. Good pal of Simon Pia.

Ian was interviewed at home just a few weeks back and Lugton's Trilogy was on prominent display! He also recently raised an early day motion in memory of Jim O.

06-12-2022, 02:41 PM
Liverpool fan I think?
No - Stirling is a confirmed Hibby from yonks ago. Liverpool would be the ubiquitous 2nd team.

Eaststand
06-12-2022, 02:42 PM

This daft comment about a fellow Hibby says a lot about you BB

06-12-2022, 02:46 PM
Has noone mentioned Fish out of Marillion?!?

06-12-2022, 02:48 PM
....and what about Elton John's long standing guitar player who's name escapes me???...

He's really that famous!

London Hibs FC
06-12-2022, 03:13 PM
The journalist who put the list together is a Hibs fan.

Bobo
06-12-2022, 03:18 PM
Robert De Niro after pinning his colours to our mast during Alex McLeish's time in charge. He sent Alex a good luck message prior to the 2001 scottish cup final.

The attached article, about David Beckham, from 2004, lists De Niro as a fan.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/3506226.stm

06-12-2022, 03:29 PM
Messi after his brief encounter with JC

06-12-2022, 03:40 PM
Gary Smith GMB Union leader.

06-12-2022, 03:41 PM
....and what about Elton John's long standing guitar player who's name escapes me???...

He's really that famous!
Davy Johnstone

Bridge hibs
06-12-2022, 03:44 PM
Has noone mentioned Fish out of Marillion?!?
He is mentioned in the article on the link

06-12-2022, 04:24 PM
Dick Gaughan is? Fantastic. I assumed he'd be a Lesser.

He is a big Hibby. I met him at a gig here in Liverpool a few years ago and we chatted Hibs for ages. It was when Yogi was boss and struggling a bit and Gaughan wasn’t impressed!

06-12-2022, 04:25 PM
They do include both proclaimers and the two Murray brothers, so technically it's 12 :greengrin

Why no John Leslie alongside Grant Stott? Has he been "cancelled"? 🤔

06-12-2022, 04:27 PM
Messi after his brief encounter with JC

And after against us being the 1st time he wore no. 10 for Barcelona.

06-12-2022, 04:36 PM
Pochettino and his kids.
Nicola Sturgeons hubby.

06-12-2022, 04:40 PM
Was there not some talk about Will Ferrell being a Hibs fan? I think there’s a thread reference on here somewhere!

06-12-2022, 04:40 PM
Pochettino and his kids.
Nicola Sturgeons hubby.

one of them, the other went for the dark side of Edinburgh

06-12-2022, 04:43 PM
one of them, the other went for the dark side of Edinburgh
Forgot that, no inheritance for him then😁

06-12-2022, 04:47 PM
Rod Stewarts dad.

06-12-2022, 04:55 PM
He is a big Hibby. I met him at a gig here in Liverpool a few years ago and we chatted Hibs for ages. It was when Yogi was boss and struggling a bit and Gaughan wasn’t impressed!

My parents were big fans and grew up with his music, saw him live a few times too.

06-12-2022, 05:08 PM
Isn’t the bassist from 5 Seconds of Summer not a Hibby? I’m sure he wore a Hibs top in one of their videos.

06-12-2022, 05:11 PM
Stuart Hogg

Earlydelivery
06-12-2022, 06:02 PM
Jamie Sives (Lochend ) numerous Tv / films .. Game of Thrones

06-12-2022, 06:09 PM
He did an interview recently, it was the writers choice. The writer originally said he was Canadian (Quebec) but then changed Roy's birthplace to Dundee, Cox's actual place of birth. The storyline of Logan's son buying hearts when Logan is actually a Hibee has no connection to Cox, it came from Jesse Armstrong's mind but given Logan's sons name who bought half of hearts is Roman, he musta done a bit of research on Scottish football :greengrin Brian Cox has never admitted supporting any team and has said he went to watch both Dundee teams growing up.

Magic, ta.

06-12-2022, 06:57 PM
Isn’t the bassist from 5 Seconds of Summer not a Hibby? I’m sure he wore a Hibs top in one of their videos.

5 Seconds of Summer on Twitter: "Hello we are 5 seconds of summer and welcome to #FANTWEETS @tayshigh https://t.co/TzFudjc2dP" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/5SOS/status/1501304919294238723)

Calum Hood. His dad's Scottish.

linlithgowhibbie
06-12-2022, 07:48 PM
I have sat beside Ian Blackford at St. Mirren

06-12-2022, 09:00 PM
I have sat beside Ian Blackford at St. Mirren
Ian has always been a Hibby.

Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 09:10 PM
Ian has always been a Hibby.
I watched quite a bit of him tearing into Boris Johnson at times and when I found out he was a hibby it made it all the sweeter 😂. Seems a good guy.

06-12-2022, 09:19 PM
Fireworks Phil Anderton is one of us

loanheadhibby
06-12-2022, 09:44 PM
Ha Ha!

Was in a boozer behind the Rangers end at the 2007 League Cup Final and Lloyd Quinan SNP came sauntering in with his entourage

�Billyhibs how�s it gaun?�

I was in his class at School

What are you trying to say ? :greengrin

Lloyd is a real Hibbie.
Was chatting to him in Morrison's last week reminiscing about Turnbulls Tornadoes.