View Full Version : FC Edinburgh Friendly

02-12-2022, 02:17 PM
Will be played behind closed doors due to poor ticket sales.

02-12-2022, 02:24 PM
I did wonder why it had disappeared from the match tickets.

When I did check the other day it looked like about 50 seats had been taken.

02-12-2022, 02:25 PM

Purely financial, would cost too much to host. Does this suggest apathy towards club at the moment?

02-12-2022, 02:29 PM
Purely financial, would cost too much to host. Does this suggest apathy towards club at the moment?

Absolutely no doubt, ludicrous to ask fans to pay for a friendly against a L1 team - should at least have been a freebie for ST holders.

EGL2000
02-12-2022, 02:30 PM

Think it's more just zero interest in that game.

02-12-2022, 02:31 PM

Yup, there could be a few wake up calls on their way sooner rather than later. 😢

02-12-2022, 02:32 PM
Absolutely no doubt, ludicrous to ask fans to pay for a friendly against a L1 team - should at least have been a freebie for ST holders.

It was a fiver I think from memory. I was looking forward to it

He's here!
02-12-2022, 02:43 PM

At least it offered a rare chance of a win.

Weir07
02-12-2022, 03:03 PM
Yup, there could be a few wake up calls on their way sooner rather than later. 😢

Think so too, the only way this current regime is going to change tack is if there's financial pressure, season ticket sales have held up well since they took over and by all accounts hospitality is doing well. If revenues drop it will hopefully force a rethink. One of the reasons I'm already seriously considering not renewing my ticket for next year. Got great seats in the East too, so would be loathe to give them up but sometimes you've just got to make sacrifices!

02-12-2022, 03:04 PM

Me too. Even when we're rubbish I still like my Hibs fix.

I had an east stand tic for the Middlesbrough game which was moved to the west due to lack of interest and now my ticket is cancelled for this game. Apathy is more dangerous to Hibs than anger and that's where I see things heading increasingly.

02-12-2022, 03:23 PM

Nah just doubt many people would want to part with cash to watch a kick about at this time of year. A glamour game potentially would get a decent crowd but not for Middlesbrough or Edinburgh. Wouldn't matter how well we were playing.

02-12-2022, 03:27 PM

So was I, we would have got our tickets next week

Nah just doubt many people would want to part with cash to watch a kick about at this time of year. A glamour game potentially would get a decent crowd but not for Middlesbrough or Edinburgh. Wouldn't matter how well we were playing.

It was £5 for me to watch Hibs play, even with current form that's good value.

Was looking forward to it and gutted I won't see a game until the huns game now.

Worrying … if the club can afford to open the stadium for the women’s games and the u19 games but not this ?

It surely would have at least matched there crowds with walk ups ?

Logie Green
02-12-2022, 03:44 PM
Think so too, the only way this current regime is going to change tack is if there's financial pressure, season ticket sales have held up well since they took over and by all accounts hospitality is doing well. If revenues drop it will hopefully force a rethink. One of the reasons I'm already seriously considering not renewing my ticket for next year. Got great seats in the East too, so would be loathe to give them up but sometimes you've just got to make sacrifices!

Hopefully between the survey results and the AGM, whenever that is, the powers that be will understand the feelings of the Hibs support.

I bought a ticket for the FC Edinburgh match and am a bit miffed that because sales are low they’ve decided to play it behind closed doors.

I doubt there would be many if any additional costs; they could’ve opened one turnstile and put everyone in one section.

Maybe it’s just me but only Hibs could ask you to complete a survey about the ‘matchday experience’ then a day later tell folk who’ve just bought tickets for a match they’re not getting in.

02-12-2022, 03:54 PM
Alot of positives around the young team and womans crowds recently some good things being done but pretty poor to sell tickets for the first team and then take it away.

They might have known the ticket sales would be pitiful, I think once you open it up you have to stick with it. Maybe will think differently next time to avoid being in this position again.

hibby rae
02-12-2022, 03:59 PM
I didn't even realise tickets were on sale for this.

I would have went to this, but had zero interest in the Middlesborough game.

hibby rae
02-12-2022, 04:00 PM
Worrying … if the club can afford to open the stadium for the women’s games and the u19 games but not this ?

It surely would have at least matched there crowds with walk ups ?

Baillie Gifford paid for the women's game, that's why it was free tickets

Hibees1973
02-12-2022, 04:07 PM

Of course there is apathy towards the club just now. We are plummeting down the league on the back of some dire performances.

Surely most of us have real concerns regarding the Gordon's and the way they are running the football side of Hibs. They have now booted out everyone they didn't want and have filled the key positions at the club with the people they wanted.

Will be interesting to see what happens in the next four league games. If you think it's apathy just now it could be a lot worse come January.

02-12-2022, 04:37 PM

So was I, we would have got our tickets next week

02-12-2022, 05:29 PM
For anyone who never read any articles about it which one called it an embarrassment then the game will be streamed on YouTube.

02-12-2022, 05:50 PM
Well if my attitude is typical I would say yes, but I would qualify it by saying it covers Scottish football as a whole.

02-12-2022, 06:14 PM

Got to be a first that - can’t ever recall that happening before

02-12-2022, 06:56 PM
I had no enthusiasm or interest to travel the short distance up to Edinburgh to this game but now that the club have informed that the game will be streamed live then I’ll definitely be tuning in!

02-12-2022, 08:18 PM
Somebody honestly thought that a Hibs v FCE friendly was a marketable product.How out of touch can they be? Glad it's fell on its face.

02-12-2022, 08:36 PM
Was this match not arranged under the partnership agreement as a way of giving City some gate income?

02-12-2022, 09:54 PM
What was the attendance for the Boro game?

02-12-2022, 10:09 PM
Somebody honestly thought that a Hibs v FCE friendly was a marketable product.How out of touch can they be? Glad it's fell on its face.

Surely any Hibs game at home will be a marketable product? 🤔

CL0762
02-12-2022, 10:36 PM
Was this match not arranged under the partnership agreement as a way of giving City some gate income?

It was supposed to be the curtain raiser for meadowbank

02-12-2022, 11:29 PM

I'm with you there. I wasn't aware of it until this thread saying it was off. And I wouldn't have gone if it was on.

03-12-2022, 04:02 AM
It was supposed to be the curtain raiser for meadowbank

No it wasn’t. It was/is at Easter Road

03-12-2022, 06:10 AM
No it wasn’t. It was/is at Easter Road

The original game was meant to be a preseason game for the opening of Meadowbank and FC Edinburgh moving back home. Because of delays opening the stadium it was rearranged to ER.

03-12-2022, 10:04 PM
If this level of apathy in a game I genuinely had no idea existed is what it takes to send a message to the sommelier and his daddy, then it's a price worth paying.

04-12-2022, 07:23 PM
Neither of our games against Middlesbrough or Edinburgh should have been open to the public. Both should have been behind closed doors.

1875Sean
04-12-2022, 08:00 PM
Neither of our games against Middlesbrough or Edinburgh should have been open to the public. Both should have been behind closed doors.

Why?

Musselbound
04-12-2022, 09:30 PM
What was the attendance for the Boro game?

Six thousand and something if I remember rightly.

04-12-2022, 09:53 PM

Eh? For me that's mental. I had to pay £5 for each game. Total bargain. I get that's me buying my own ticket so it's more expensive if you have kids etc. But a fiver to watch Hibs. I'd pay that if we were playing Redpath.

Also Middlesbrough brought a brilliant crowd with them.

04-12-2022, 10:23 PM
If this level of apathy in a game I genuinely had no idea existed is what it takes to send a message to the sommelier and his daddy, then it's a price worth paying.

Say what now? 🤷

06-12-2022, 04:32 PM
The Club can confirm that our mid-season friendly with FC Edinburgh – due to take place on Thursday 8 December – has been cancelled.

Unfortunately, due to a combination of injury and illness, FC Edinburgh are unable to field a team and cannot fulfil the fixture.

However, the Club can confirm that we will now host Raith Rovers on Thursday 8 December, with an earlier kick-off time of 12 noon.

The match will be played behind-closed-doors at Easter Road and will be streamed live on the Club’s official YouTube channel. CLICK HERE to subscribe.

06-12-2022, 04:46 PM
The Club can confirm that our mid-season friendly with FC Edinburgh – due to take place on Thursday 8 December – has been cancelled.

Unfortunately, due to a combination of injury and illness, FC Edinburgh are unable to field a team and cannot fulfil the fixture.

However, the Club can confirm that we will now host Raith Rovers on Thursday 8 December, with an earlier kick-off time of 12 noon.

The match will be played behind-closed-doors at Easter Road and will be streamed live on the Club’s official YouTube channel. CLICK HERE to subscribe.

This friendly is imploding.

06-12-2022, 04:58 PM
What a carry on this has been.

Stubbsy90+2
06-12-2022, 05:10 PM
Very strange.

06-12-2022, 05:14 PM
Their bench on Saturday was pretty bare. None of the 3 Hibs players on loan made the match day squad. I can only assume they are injured as well.

06-12-2022, 05:33 PM
Fair play to Raith for accepting at short notice and with a game on Saturday.

06-12-2022, 06:14 PM
Maybe we should have arranged a friendly with Raith Rovers in the first place. We might actually have got a half decent attendance.

Salvo1875
06-12-2022, 06:30 PM
Maybe we should have arranged a friendly with Raith Rovers in the first place. We might actually have got a half decent attendance.

I had a ticket to the game already but I'd have probably been more keen to see Raith

06-12-2022, 06:35 PM
I had a ticket to the game already but I'd have probably been more keen to see Raith

Did you get a refund

06-12-2022, 06:36 PM
Did you get a refund

I've not had mine yet.

Salvo1875
06-12-2022, 06:59 PM
Did you get a refund

nah nothing yet other than an email from the ticket office saying it's on it's way

Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 09:05 PM
This friendly is imploding.
Nah , it's only hertz ones that do that👍

06-12-2022, 09:36 PM
A good old farce.

Donegal Hibby
07-12-2022, 02:46 PM
Least it's something positive and gives us another option
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/23175973.aiden-mcgeady-return-hibs-raith-rovers-friendly/

07-12-2022, 05:14 PM
Wonder what sort of team we’ll play tomorrow
Will LJ try to play his strongest team for most of the match? I think is our last match before the Rangers game

07-12-2022, 06:37 PM
If I was Hibs I'd Invite the few that bought tickets anyway. I didn't get o e, but the fans that did should be rewarded.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Musselbound
07-12-2022, 09:14 PM
Wonder what sort of team we’ll play tomorrow
Will LJ try to play his strongest team for most of the match? I think is our last match before the Rangers game

I suspect it will be like the Boro game with loads of changes at HT to try to give as many a run out as possible.

08-12-2022, 06:06 AM
What time is the Raith game at? Is it correct that it is being shown live on hibs tv YouTube?

08-12-2022, 06:53 AM
What time is the Raith game at? Is it correct that it is being shown live on hibs tv YouTube?

Yep it’s on YouTube.

I’ll be watching too…

08-12-2022, 07:02 AM

Think it’s 12 noon, Jim

w pilton hibby
08-12-2022, 07:08 AM
Think it’s 12 noon, Jim

How To Watch: Hibs vs Raith Rovers

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/how-to-watch-hibs-vs-raith-rovers

08-12-2022, 07:21 AM
Think it’s 12 noon, Jim

Yep it is…..or 11pm where I am.

No need to set the alarm for this game👍

08-12-2022, 08:04 AM
A good old farce.

What's farcical about it? Team pull out of a kick about because of illness and injury? Seems fair enough to me.

08-12-2022, 08:49 AM
What's farcical about it? Team pull out of a kick about because of illness and injury? Seems fair enough to me.

And the reason the original game was made behind closed doors was because our fans showed no appetite to purchase tickets. I would suggest that was not the club’s fault either.

08-12-2022, 09:37 AM

Edinburgh FC weren't keen on it anyway as its still middle of there season, they haven't had a break for the World Cup they are still playing every Saturday throughout WC.

Weird the hibs loanees weren't in the squad for the last game and haven't really been included in any starting 11 last few games.

08-12-2022, 10:48 AM
Pitch looks dangerous

08-12-2022, 10:51 AM
Magennis and Nisbet start

Mcgeady on the bench

XI: Marshall (c), Magennis, Newell, Cadden, Nisbet, Stevenson, McKirdy, Youan, Fish, Campbell, Rocky.

Subs: Schofield (GK), Čabraja, Hanlon, Porteous, Kenneh, Jair, Henderson, Mitchell, Melkersen, O MacIntyre, O'Connor, Megwa, McGeady.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

08-12-2022, 11:00 AM
Is the stream working for anyone?

Mine still just says upcoming on YouTube.

Juice-Terry
08-12-2022, 11:01 AM

No joy for me.

08-12-2022, 11:02 AM

No joy at first but on now

Juice-Terry
On now.

That's it on now. Pretty jumpy.

08-12-2022, 11:03 AM
What’s with the camera ? So stuttery can’t really watch

OldEast
08-12-2022, 11:06 AM
Unwatchable really. Poor quality.

08-12-2022, 11:07 AM
Goal Campbell. Horrific from their GK

08-12-2022, 11:07 AM
Unwatchable really. Poor quality.

No commentary either … surely could have got the guys from club to do it as normal not like we would be paying them extra …

The camera quality is shocking, can’t be the same one as hibs TV ..

It’s almost like someone is standing up there with phone steaming it

08-12-2022, 11:09 AM
It's free to watch thankfully

Renfrew_Hibby
Whys it still saying 0-0

Was that a goal. Stream is so poor hard to tell and score not updated

08-12-2022, 11:12 AM
I’ve watched better streams at amateur teams ground.

Prob sums up hibs at the moment tho

08-12-2022, 11:12 AM
Whys it still saying 0-0

Its 1-0 on my screen ?

Cuikyhibs
08-12-2022, 11:13 AM
Josh scored.....i missed it:confused:

08-12-2022, 11:14 AM

Hibs need to invest in a better stream.

08-12-2022, 11:14 AM

Jesus Christ man it's a free stream on Youtube. Folk will complain about anything.

hibsforeurope
08-12-2022, 11:15 AM
looks like it's being filmed using one of the auto VEO cameras, not great quality.

08-12-2022, 11:18 AM
This is all very weird - the picture quality is OK with me, no commentary is the annoying thing .

OldEast
08-12-2022, 11:19 AM
Jesus Christ man it's a free stream on Youtube. Folk will complain about anything.

Normally I'd agree with you but this isnae just some guy with a phone live streaming to youtube for anyone who wants to watch. This is official, on the Hibs website, telling us how we can watch the game. If it's an official recommendation then FFS Hibs at least make it watchable or don't bother.

madsen5
08-12-2022, 11:21 AM
This is all very weird - the picture quality is OK with me, no commentary is the annoying thing .

The comments running down the left side are annoying
How can you turn them off.

EGL2000
Commentary now

Ah - a commentary

Technical hitch apparently.

08-12-2022, 11:23 AM
Yip got to give them credit for that and persistence.

08-12-2022, 11:23 AM
The comments running down the left side are annoying
How can you turn them off.

Dunno mate. I'm watching via the You Tube app on my smart TV.

HIBS NUTS
08-12-2022, 11:24 AM

i’ve streamed it on my utube tv app
it’s great and now a commentary.
it’s absolutely pathetic the moaning, nothing hibs do is good enough.

HIBS NUTS
08-12-2022, 11:24 AM
They didn’t have to show anything

08-12-2022, 11:26 AM

It's ****ing relentless eh?

And theres snow on the pitch. Amateur hour again. :blah:

madsen5
08-12-2022, 11:26 AM
Dunno mate. I'm watching via the You Tube app on my smart TV.

Cheers me too.

madsen5
08-12-2022, 11:29 AM
It's ****ing relentless eh?

And theres snow on the pitch. Amateur hour again. :blah:

Not complaining just wondering if they could be turned off.

08-12-2022, 11:31 AM
Watching the game. Much better test than the original one.

08-12-2022, 11:31 AM
Pretty difficult to watch with it being jumpy but not a lot happening really.

08-12-2022, 11:33 AM
Mckirdy wide. Should scored.

08-12-2022, 11:33 AM
Good chance McKirdy, just wide.

08-12-2022, 11:38 AM
Mckirdy looks like he could do with bulking up a bit

OldEast
08-12-2022, 11:42 AM
Mckirdy looks like he could do with bulking up a bit

Agree, good to see him starting though and at least getting into good positions.
I hope we can keep Fish, think he'll be important for us.

cameronw-hfc
08-12-2022, 11:43 AM
Mckirdy looks lively, some decent touches some not so much. Looks like he could be a danger if he gets a run of games though. Pops up in the right places just seems to be half a yard short of game time atm

08-12-2022, 11:44 AM
That was a great wee turn from Campbell there.

08-12-2022, 11:47 AM
Same problems persist.

Slow going forward and struggling to create anything clear cut.

Surely cadden will find someone with a cross at some point?

cameronw-hfc
08-12-2022, 11:47 AM
That was a great wee turn from Campbell there.

Such an odd player, but he's growing on me. He's so ineffective when he's got the ball in midfield, but as soon as he gets within 20 yards of the goal he's a different man altogether.

08-12-2022, 11:48 AM
my stream has been faultless

Berwickhibby
08-12-2022, 11:48 AM
I appreciate it’s only a friendly but in a word I would describe the first half as sloppy

OldEast
08-12-2022, 11:51 AM
Such an odd player, but he's growing on me. He's so ineffective when he's got the ball in midfield, but as soon as he gets within 20 yards of the goal he's a different man altogether.

Just like that 😄

08-12-2022, 11:53 AM
my stream has been faultless

And mine. Its obviously to do with how we all choose to view it rather than any fault with the stream itself.

CL0762
08-12-2022, 11:59 AM
Same problems persist.

Slow going forward and struggling to create anything clear cut.

Surely cadden will find someone with a cross at some point?

Yeah, said the same in my chat.

I know it’s only a friendly but our play seems so laboured at times, there’s no real quickness about our play.

Mainstandman
08-12-2022, 12:03 PM
Glad to see mcKirdy has stayed on , he needs game time

Bad Habits
08-12-2022, 12:06 PM
Got the proper cameras on now!

08-12-2022, 12:07 PM
That was really good, Tavares' cross was superb.

08-12-2022, 12:07 PM
McKirdy brings a bit of unpredictability and think that’s what we need. He’s played well and looking a bit like how Scott Allan played for us.

Just because he isn’t that physical doesn’t mean he will struggle.

What we are lacking is a finisher.

Some of our shots are often blasted over the bar like Caddens effort 1st half.

08-12-2022, 12:08 PM
Good to see Debrowski, and Tavares has looked lively !

08-12-2022, 12:09 PM
Tavares is direct. Love it

08-12-2022, 12:09 PM
Tavares looks sharp.

08-12-2022, 12:10 PM
McKirdy brings a bit of unpredictability and think that’s what we need. He’s played well and looking a bit like how Scott Allan played for us.

Just because he isn’t that physical doesn’t mean he will struggle.

What we are lacking is a finisher.

Some of our shots are often blasted over the bar like Caddens effort 1st half.

I'd love to see what some seem to see in McKirdy. Just looks like a young lad playing 5 a sides every time I see him.

08-12-2022, 12:12 PM
Tavares is direct. Love it

now injured :rolleyes:

Stubbsy90+2
08-12-2022, 12:12 PM

I’m no watching so I’m not sure how bad it actually is but is it that unreasonable for people to moan about the stream quality, free or not?

We’re one of the biggest professional sports teams in Scotland. I don’t think it’s that ludicrous to expect us to put a decent stream of a game up.

08-12-2022, 12:13 PM
I'd love to see what some seem to see in McKirdy. Just looks like a young lad playing 5 a sides every time I see him.

Are you watching the game just now ?

I see him as a play maker and someone who will make mistakes but will also set up goals and score goals if given games and freedom to play.

The big question is can we avoid to have a player like that in the team. But considering we don’t score many and have now lost Boyle I would be all for it as he brings entertainment.

cameronw-hfc
08-12-2022, 12:16 PM
Megwa, mckirdy and Tavares been class this half so far.

HIBS NUTS
08-12-2022, 12:20 PM
I’m no watching so I’m not sure how bad it actually is but is it that unreasonable for people to moan about the stream quality, free or not?

We’re one of the biggest professional sports teams in Scotland. I don’t think it’s that ludicrous to expect us to put a decent stream of a game up.

The stream is good, but unfortunately if you use a device that isn’t compatible, or you have a poor siginal, it won’t work very well.

08-12-2022, 12:21 PM
Nisbet raging with mckirdy there

cameronw-hfc
08-12-2022, 12:22 PM
Mckirdy arguing with everyone on the way off the pitch 😂. Reminds me of Jase.

Nisbet raging with mckirdy there

Fair. Gotta pass that. Hanlon giving it him tight too. His decision making since being at Hibs definitely needs some work.

Mckirdy arguing with everyone on the way off the pitch 😂. Reminds me of Jase.

With half of the ability.

EGL2000
08-12-2022, 12:23 PM
Jair looking sharp, beat his man a number of times.

Donegal Hibby
08-12-2022, 12:24 PM
Very impressed with Tavares. Definitely a good player there .

08-12-2022, 12:25 PM
This reminds me of that game against Celtic in 2018/9 when we drew 2-2, bitterly cold, frozen pitch, Celtic in pink.

Fair. Gotta pass that. Hanlon giving it him tight too. His decision making since being at Hibs definitely needs some work.

I think his point was he tried to pass it but a pull changed his body shape - hence it ended up being a pass back

loanheadhibby
Jair looking sharp, beat his man a number of times.

He is looking sharp but absolutely no end product so far. We are dull to watch.

08-12-2022, 12:26 PM
Very impressed with Tavares. Definitely a good player there .

Hes looked pretty sharp

Mcgeady on

08-12-2022, 12:26 PM
Is Henderson playing very very deep? Seems to be as deep as Kenneh.

08-12-2022, 12:27 PM

Nearly as dull as your posts.

08-12-2022, 12:28 PM
Final third looks our weakest area, even against championship opposition, there's no end product or much creativity at all in this team. Only a friendly though so can't really take anything from it, they could be trying out a system that encourages pressure and countering for all I know :greengrin

He’s not wrong though, it’s been poor. Still struggling to create

cameronw-hfc
Is Henderson playing very very deep? Seems to be as deep as Kenneh.

Looks it. He's doing alright actually, decent header away and a few good passes.

I think that's harsh. Twice at least he's put good balls in to areas we should have bodies

08-12-2022, 12:29 PM
Feels odd seeing McGeady, Nisbet and Mitchell annd Magennis all actually playing for Hibs today !

08-12-2022, 12:30 PM
He’s not wrong though, it’s been poor. Still struggling to create

It's not been scintillating but its a friendly against Raith Rovers FFS. I think we've looked decent. Tavares and McKirdy playing well, Melkerson too.

loanheadhibby

Apologies, we have been scintillating and the Raith keeper has been taken off with exhaustion.

This reminds me of that game against Celtic in 2018/9 when we drew 2-2, bitterly cold, frozen pitch, Celtic in pink.

Ollie Shaw double?

It's not been scintillating but its a friendly against Raith Rovers FFS. I think we've looked decent. Tavares and McKirdy playing well, Melkerson too.

It doesn’t really matter that it’s a friendly when we’ve been playing the same way all season

Do you honestly think we’ve looked decent? We’ve created nout

08-12-2022, 12:32 PM

No doubt the abysmal form pre-WC is a factor. But I would have thought bigger factors are that there's a WC tournament ongoing and a general disinterest in mid-season non-glamour friendlies in general.

loanheadhibby

You are absolutely kidding yourself if you think any of these 3 are good enough for Hibs.

Aye, it's a friendly v a Championship team and we should have them pinned in. We have hardly created a chance. We continually pass the ball out the park. Worrying times..

I remember that, were a baw hair away from ending their 469 game unbeaten run having been 2-0 down.

Then that lot stuffed them weeks later, gutted.

I'm still struggling to see much improvement in Melkerson, aside from good movement.

We really need better combinations up front. It's all too based around getting to the byline and a relatively aimless cross, or players waiting til their opponent stands them up and having to go back the way. Too basic. Maybe McGeady helps with that.

08-12-2022, 12:33 PM
McGeady definitely gives us something different.

Ollie Shaw double?

Shaw got the equaliser. Think Ambrose scored first, although it may be recorded as an OG.

Apologies, we have been scintillating and the Raith keeper has been taken off with exhaustion.

Do you ever see the positive in anything? Like Tavares looking sharp, McKirdy playing well, some tidy passages of play, players returning from injury? If you weren't so relentlessly negative you might actually have made a point.

08-12-2022, 12:34 PM
Ollie Shaw double?

Ambrose and Shaw - Shaw nearly scored the winner though, think it hit the post.

loanheadhibby
08-12-2022, 12:35 PM
It doesn’t really matter that it’s a friendly when we’ve been playing the same way all season

Do you honestly think we’ve looked decent? We’ve created nout

Nah, it's easier for him to be negative about what folk put in .net than actually have an opinion on our performance.

Friendly or not, we are honking this season.

McGeady showing a nice few touches tho.

Donegal Hibby
08-12-2022, 12:36 PM
agree , Tavares , Mckirdy have been good , melkerson's runs been good too

08-12-2022, 12:36 PM
You are absolutely kidding yourself if you think any of these 3 are good enough for Hibs.

Aye, it's a friendly v a Championship team and we should have them pinned in. We have hardly created a chance. We continually pass the ball out the park. Worrying times..

They haven't had a sniff, the camera has spent 90% of the half aimed at the Raith half. I think we've passed the ball out the park once in the second half - something that happens at all levels of football.

08-12-2022, 12:38 PM
Nah, it's easier for him to be negative about what folk put in .net than actually have an opinion on our performance.

Friendly or not, we are honking this season.

McGeady showing a nice few touches tho.

Nah, actually its easier for me to try and see the good and bad in the game, rather than focus on negatives.

The bad? We haven't scored more goals or had more clean cut chances.

There you go, a bit of balance. You're allowed to think two things at once.

08-12-2022, 12:39 PM
Quite refreshing watching this with nothing to play for - a late equaliser in a league game would be an absolute stick on here.

loanheadhibby
08-12-2022, 12:41 PM
Do you ever see the positive in anything? Like Tavares looking sharp, McKirdy playing well, some tidy passages of play, players returning from injury? If you weren't so relentlessly negative you might actually have made a point.

Mate, I give an honest opinion on what I see. If you think this is good enough, I'm happy for you. I think we are terrible with terrible players. If we are playing well and missing a host of chances/making the keepr make brilliant saves, I'll say that.

I have watched from the start and we have had very few spells of tidy play.

What are we actually trying to achieve? Are we counter attacking? Do we create loads of chances? Are we a high press?

Tavares - Not good enough
McKirdy - Not good enough

There are none so blind that cannot see!

Campbell in the Frank Lampard role? Thats a new one, at least he gets to **** Christine Bleakley.

I get that it’s a run out to get some game time for the players, but it’s much the same as the majority of the games we’ve been watching this season - loads of possession and no real cutting edge. We really don’t look a good side at all.

loanheadhibby
08-12-2022, 12:43 PM
They haven't had a sniff, the camera has spent 90% of the half aimed at the Raith half. I think we've passed the ball out the park once in the second half - something that happens at all levels of football.

We've not had a sniff tho! that's my point.

Melkerson playing that well that he's been subbed! He only came on at half time. Bin him in January.

08-12-2022, 12:43 PM
I honestly don't think that neither the coaching staff nor the supporters are any further forward than we were at the start of the season in knowing what our best starting line up is.

08-12-2022, 12:47 PM
Well that was a game of football.

Berwickhibby
That was absolutely dire

I honestly don't think that neither the coaching staff nor the supporters are any further forward than we were at the start of the season in knowing what our best starting line up is.

Fair point.

Felt like Raith finished stronger but Hibs in majority of control.

We really need to find a way to close out tight games as the lack of goals / finishing still a concern.

Rangers this time next week!

Next few games crucial for LJ future. If he survives the next 8 games he’s doing well.

HibsGW
08-12-2022, 12:48 PM
Can the world cup go on a bit longer and no return of Hibs till next year please?

08-12-2022, 12:49 PM
That was pretty grim, I want my money back.

08-12-2022, 12:49 PM
Well that was a tough watch. I know it was a friendly but Raith Rovers look about our level. Not sure what others see in McKirdy. Toothless up front. Good to see McGeady back though.

Brummie_Hibs
08-12-2022, 12:50 PM
Can the world cup go on a bit longer and no return of Hibs till next year please?
I haven't missed Hibs at all!

HIBS NUTS
08-12-2022, 12:51 PM
Apparently it’s terrible when we get beat in a friendly, and it’s terrible when we win a friendly.
Terrible stream, no commentary.
Terrible terrible terrible.
it was a free run around with 22 players, getting a bit of playing time.

MartinfaePorty
08-12-2022, 12:51 PM
Did it end 1-0? Guess the fact that no one mentioned the score speaks volumes!

08-12-2022, 12:52 PM
I get that it’s a run out to get some game time for the players, but it’s much the same as the majority of the games we’ve been watching this season - loads of possession and no real cutting edge. We really don’t look a good side at all.

Agree with this. Very little happening, or looking like happening, in the final third. Think it looks like a collection of individuals rather than a team. Think we’ll see it changed about a bit from week to week once we’re back in the hope that we land on something that works.

Bad Habits
08-12-2022, 12:52 PM
In control of the game and I know it's only a friendly but christ.. a bit of showing for the ball wouldn't go amiss

hibsforeurope
08-12-2022, 12:53 PM
That was a tough watch, very little to get excited about other than getting some minutes in legs. no one really impressed to a level that will make any impact in league games, we're either playing within ourselves or that really is the level of this squad.

loanheadhibby

It's worrying times, that's for sure. We are like we were in the Jim Duffy era. Loads of players but none of them actually good enough.

I have absolutely no idea what our style of play is? I have no idea who is our best starting 11.

Still, a wins a win. I'll take same result next week at ipox.

Shaw got the equaliser. Think Ambrose scored first, although it may be recorded as an OG.

Yep , and he should have scored a winner

08-12-2022, 12:55 PM
Hibs shouldn’t be letting fans see these mid season friendlies.

They were never going to be free flowing attacking games, it was just about getting minutes under the belt. What the scores were and how we played is largely irrelevant.

Willis1875
08-12-2022, 12:57 PM
It's worrying times, that's for sure. We are like we were in the Jim Duffy era. Loads of players but none of them actually good enough.

I have absolutely no idea what our style of play is? I have no idea who is our best starting 11.

Still, a wins a win. I'll take same result next week at ipox.

We love a cross,I think our style is to get the ball wide as often as possible. unfortunately there isn’t anyone that’s very good at putting a ball into the box

08-12-2022, 01:00 PM
Hibs shouldn’t be letting fans see these mid season friendlies.

They were never going to be free flowing attacking games, it was just about getting minutes under the belt. What the scores were and how we played is largely irrelevant.

How we played isn’t largely irrelevant though when it’s the same way we’ve played for the entire season.

The fact we didn’t/couldn’t change the way we played against a championship side is more telling

If playing like that was a one off I’d be agreeing with you

08-12-2022, 01:01 PM
How we played isn’t largely irrelevant though when it’s the same way we’ve played for the entire season.

The fact we didn’t/couldn’t change the way we played against a championship side is more telling

If playing like that was a one off I’d be agreeing with you

Doesn’t matter though. It’s just a training game.

Hibeesforever
08-12-2022, 01:02 PM
That was a terrible performance, very few chances created...nobody getting to the bye-line...a very average set of players

08-12-2022, 01:05 PM
Doesn’t matter though. It’s just a training game.

It’s a pity we must treat every game like a training game then

08-12-2022, 01:06 PM
It’s a pity we must treat every game like a training game then

If we’d won the game 10-0 today it wouldn’t have meant anything in the same way it doesn’t matter we didn’t play well (I didn’t watch it)

The manager will quite rightly get judged on competitive games, not training ones that are all about getting players match sharp.

08-12-2022, 01:08 PM
If we’d won the game 10-0 today it wouldn’t have meant anything in the same way it doesn’t matter we didn’t play well (I didn’t watch it)

The manager will quite rightly get judged on competitive games, not training ones that are all about getting players match sharp.

Do you reckon we’ll play a lot differently/any better against livingston in a couple weeks time than we did today?

People aren’t raging about the result today on its own. They’re more concerned that todays game just fits a pattern of how poor we seem to be just now.

08-12-2022, 01:12 PM
Do you reckon we’ll play a lot differently/any better against livingston in a couple weeks time than we did today?

I didn’t watch today (as it was just a training match) so I couldn’t really say but I imagine there’ll be much more intensity to how we play in that game yes.

The only game at home I’ve had a real problem with how we played this season was Ross County.

08-12-2022, 01:15 PM
I didn’t watch today (as it was just a training match) so I couldn’t really say but I imagine there’ll be much more intensity to how we play in that game yes.

The only game at home I’ve had a real problem with how we played this season was Ross County.

How can you form an opinion on our intensity today when you never seen it?

For me the intensity we played with today is the exact same intensity we’ve played with for the majority of the season. That’s the problem.

08-12-2022, 01:17 PM
I think part of the issue is we have a lot of players trying to prove themselves either new signings or back from injuries which is clouding their judgment.

McKirdy had the simplest of passes to Nisbet which would have been a goal and same for McGeady to Tavares

Hopefully they start making the right decision in the final third

08-12-2022, 01:22 PM
We are just really dull right now.

08-12-2022, 01:25 PM
How can you form an opinion on our intensity today when you never seen it?

For me the intensity we played with today is the exact same intensity we’ve played with for the majority of the season. That’s the problem.

Because it was a training game 😂

They are played at a snails pace in order to get minutes on the pitch, always have been, always will be. They’re not even as intense as a pre season friendly, they’re just nothing games to get players back on the pitch again.

OldEast
08-12-2022, 01:30 PM
It's very worrying and not just based on todays showing? If we can't start to test the opposition keeper with more shots on target never mind score goals, a slide down the table to a relegation scrap beckons.
McGeady is our most naturally gifted player and will hopefully create more chances or score himself assuming the legs hold up.

08-12-2022, 01:33 PM
I’m wondering of our “bloated squad” how many who Johnson sees as having no future at the club got game time today. And if some did what was the point ?

08-12-2022, 01:33 PM

They are played at a snails pace in order to get minutes on the pitch, always have been, always will be. They’re not even as intense as a pre season friendly, they’re just nothing games to get players back on the pitch again.

The concern was we looked no different to any game we've played for months. Maybe the first half of the season has been about getting up to speed? :greengrin

OldEast
08-12-2022, 01:34 PM
I’m wondering of our “bloated squad” how many who Johnson sees as having no future at the club got game time today. And if some did what was the point ?

I'm wondering if he really knows

08-12-2022, 01:35 PM

Agree our home performances have been in the main pretty good this season.

08-12-2022, 01:36 PM

A lot of the players are really short of playing time also

08-12-2022, 01:38 PM
The key thing from today was getting minutes in legs, presume we’ve achieved this
Can LJ pick a team from today for Rangers

08-12-2022, 01:42 PM
The concern was we looked no different to any game we've played for months. Maybe the first half of the season has been about getting up to speed? :greengrin

One of the things I’ve liked this season was even in defeat for the most part we’ve played with some intensity, trying to get back into the game up until the last minute. I think the only exceptions to this were Ross County at home, St Mirren away and Celtic away. Just my opinion but I think it’s a lack of quality that’s let us down rather than intensity or energy levels.

The Ross County game that definitely wasn’t the case which really annoyed me. The Kilmarnock game, it was the team selection that really wound me up rather than effort levels.

08-12-2022, 02:00 PM
One of the things I’ve liked this season was even in defeat for the most part we’ve played with some intensity, trying to get back into the game up until the last minute. I think the only exceptions to this were Ross County at home, St Mirren away and Celtic away. Just my opinion but I think it’s a lack of quality that’s let us down rather than intensity or energy levels.

The Ross County game that definitely wasn’t the case which really annoyed me. The Kilmarnock game, it was the team selection that really wound me up rather than effort levels.

Lack of quality definitely the biggest issue for me. All over the pitch.

What I would say is that, earlier in the season, I thought we were at least playing on the front foot, looking a lot more positive and seemed to have a bit more energy about us. In the games leading up to the break I thought there was a big change. I don’t think we every really recovered from the Celtic game.

08-12-2022, 02:04 PM

What I would say is that, earlier in the season, I thought we were at least playing on the front foot, looking a lot more positive and seemed to have a bit more energy about us. In the games leading up to the break I thought there was a big change. I don’t think we every really recovered from the Celtic game.

Ross County was worse than anything I’ve seen over the last few years, absolutely dreadful it was and completely indefensible. Kilmarnock we huffed and puffed but we picked a team to try and avoid defeat so we got what we deserved, even if the penalty against us was soft. Up until those two games I was pretty positive about the way we were heading, even if we were in a bad run of form.

If the performances from those two games continue after the break he won’t last long but I still don’t think todays training game has any bearing on that.

08-12-2022, 02:08 PM

Difficult to argue with that.

After that game I was still confident we would take 7 or more points from home games with St Johnstone, St Mirren, Ross county. But something defo seemed to change and the players went into their shells. Even 2 points from St Johnstone and Ross County and we'd be sitting 5th. Win them both we'd have been 3rd.

What had been a pretty consistent season at home, turned to sh*t, to match the feeble away form.

08-12-2022, 02:08 PM
I thought McGeady, although rusty, played a few good through balls. You can see his quality just needs to get sharper which will come. Real shame we've lost Boyle as the two of them would be difficult to play against. The worrying thing for me is I think we're littered with players that aren't good enough. Kenneh i think is the real deal and he'll go on to do very well but not convinced by a lot of others. We need to pull a couple of rabbits out the hat in January as a relegation battle worries me with this lot.

08-12-2022, 02:10 PM
I'd happily buy into the view that friendlies aren't worth extreme reactions, either positive or negative, but...

I'd have hoped players who to now had shown nowhere near enough gave up a proper glimpse into their talent - by and large they didn't.

A really good and positive performance would have made a world of difference to the support. Plus, if players' confidence is the important factor it's cracked up to be, I dare say they'd have enjoyed turning it on for once.

I think we were entitled to hope for a little more than three usual run of the mill stuff. Positives in getting the forward players some more game time mind, as the season is a write-off unless they gel properly.

08-12-2022, 02:38 PM
I just hope we play Campbell versus Rangers. He's one of the few players who looks constantly busy and more importantly is willing to have a shot on goal.

huggie1875
08-12-2022, 02:40 PM
Mate, I give an honest opinion on what I see. If you think this is good enough, I'm happy for you. I think we are terrible with terrible players. If we are playing well and missing a host of chances/making the keepr make brilliant saves, I'll say that.

I have watched from the start and we have had very few spells of tidy play.

What are we actually trying to achieve? Are we counter attacking? Do we create loads of chances? Are we a high press?

Tavares - Not good enough
McKirdy - Not good enough

There are none so blind that cannot see!

ffs though you actually hate Hibs more than you like them maybe you should try something else as watching Hibs definitely doesn’t seem to suit you might make a slightly happier person rather than the boring negative goon you look here with every post 🤦*♂️

08-12-2022, 03:27 PM

People aren’t raging about the result today on its own. They’re more concerned that todays game just fits a pattern of how poor we seem to be just now.

I would hope nobody is raging about the result. We won!!

08-12-2022, 03:29 PM

Can he do it in the big games though?

08-12-2022, 03:47 PM

The performance, apologies

ManchesterGreen
08-12-2022, 03:48 PM

I don’t think folk will be raging that we won but I and a lot more people will feel pretty disheartened by the performance for a start, secondly the lack of identity the team has and finally the fact we’ve been crap with little signs of improvement for a good while now.

A 1-0 victory over Raith Rovers in a friendly certainly isn’t going to change people’s perception of the above.

08-12-2022, 03:57 PM
I just hope we play Campbell versus Rangers. He's one of the few players who looks constantly busy and more importantly is willing to have a shot on goal.

100% correct, but that shows how bad we are as well

08-12-2022, 04:04 PM
LJ suits the track suits better than are you being served jackets 😆

Donegal Hibby
08-12-2022, 04:14 PM
Article on the game .
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/5-talking-points-from-hibs-friendly-with-raith-rovers-as-aiden-mcgeady-returns-to-action-ahead-of-rangers-trip-3947231

08-12-2022, 04:15 PM
I forgot the game was on and missed the first 6 or 7 minutes, i missed the goal. :rolleyes:

Nothing of note happened during the rest of the match, we looked poor if i'm honest, you wouldnt know which team were in the league above or the league below.

McGeady showed a few flashes of quality, Porto was class, but the rest were a bit meh.

loanheadhibby
08-12-2022, 04:17 PM
ffs though you actually hate Hibs more than you like them maybe you should try something else as watching Hibs definitely doesn’t seem to suit you might make a slightly happier person rather than the boring negative goon you look here with every post 🤦*♂️

Huggie, any need for the personal abuse? I’ll not be bullied by you just because I see things differently from you.

If you’re not happy mate, use the ignore button or scroll on? Simple really.

08-12-2022, 05:25 PM
Wasn’t able to watch the game today
Why did Melkerson only get half an hour, did he pick up an injury

GreenGray
08-12-2022, 05:28 PM
Why the **** did hibs decide to stream this today [emoji23]

08-12-2022, 05:33 PM
Wasn’t able to watch the game today
Why did Melkerson only get half an hour, did he pick up an injury

Think it was purely to give Josh O’Connor a bit of game time, thought he still got 40 minutes or so though? With McIntyre and O’Connor coming on in the last 5.

08-12-2022, 05:38 PM
Think it was purely to give Josh O’Connor a bit of game time, thought he still got 40 minutes or so though? With McIntyre and O’Connor coming on in the last 5.

Ok thanks

08-12-2022, 05:42 PM
Excuse my ignorance but when did Edinburgh FC become Raith Rovers?

08-12-2022, 05:54 PM

Name change again. Basket case supporters.

08-12-2022, 05:54 PM

FC Edinburgh were our original opponents but were replaced by Raith Rovers as Edinburgh couldn't field a team.

08-12-2022, 06:12 PM
FC Edinburgh were our original opponents but were replaced by Raith Rovers as Edinburgh couldn't field a team.

And the apathy is so high no one could be arsed to update the thread title! ;)

Joking aside I managed to grab some of the game whilst working and it was good to see some of the injured players get some gametime in their legs.

With that I wouldn't have expected too much from today and wasn't surprised when we played much the same way as we have the rest of the season. Dull. Would've have liked us be more positive and work the keeper more given the players that have come back but again, happy to give them more time. Can't see us getting much when the league returns but we'll see I guess.

Do we have another game lined up before the World Cup is up?

08-12-2022, 06:18 PM

Joking aside I managed to grab some of the game whilst working and it was good to see some of the injured players get some gametime in their legs.

With that I wouldn't have expected too much from today and wasn't surprised when we played much the same way as we have the rest of the season. Dull. Would've have liked us be more positive and work the keeper more given the players that have come back but again, happy to give them more time. Can't see us getting much when the league returns but we'll see I guess.

I think we go straight to beating Sevco at Ibrox now :greengrin

08-12-2022, 06:54 PM
I think we go straight to beating Sevco at Ibrox now :greengrin

0-3, of course.

Davy Mac
08-12-2022, 06:54 PM

I dunno, i could never play any type of game whether it was 5 a side, 11's, over 35's etc at training pace. Thats the frikin problem, players are picking and choosing when they are on it and demostrate no hunger. Do Hibs never learn, get them up for the re-start FFS

08-12-2022, 06:55 PM
Thought Tavares started the half brilliantly and looked really good.

If I was him of Lee Johnson if he going mad at the end of the game for not looking to give him the ball more often and quicker.

So direct and was beating his man with ease every time

08-12-2022, 06:57 PM

08-12-2022, 07:00 PM
Why the **** did hibs decide to stream this today [emoji23]

At least we got to watch our team win for a change 😉

WestStandWillie
08-12-2022, 09:26 PM
Trying my hardest not to read too much into today's match but was basically the same insipid nonsense we've been treated to for large parts of the season.

Has to be a ruthless transfer windows ins and outs in January or we're in the grubber (along with LJ).

A couple of experienced heads needed and hopefully be able to put Melkersen out on loan. He's not progressing and is almost getting worse.

Donegal Hibby
08-12-2022, 09:52 PM
Trying my hardest not to read too much into today's match but was basically the same insipid nonsense we've been treated to for large parts of the season.

Has to be a ruthless transfer windows ins and outs in January or we're in the grubber (along with LJ).

A couple of experienced heads needed and hopefully be able to put Melkersen out on loan. He's not progressing and is almost getting worse.
I'm not going to read anything into what basically was a training match were we gave the players a run-out , you only have to see how many changes we made to realise this ! Good to see Mcgeady and Nisbet back. Thought Tavares , Kennah played well also thought Melkerson played ok and his workrate and movement were quite good.3 young players who looked good imo . Lots of managers have said that January transfer windows are the hardest. Probably agree with you about a couple of experienced heads coming in though I feel we are seriously badly needing a creative midfielder as well . Easier said than done in this window though.

Musselbound
08-12-2022, 10:35 PM
I forgot the game was on and missed the first 6 or 7 minutes, i missed the goal. :rolleyes:

Nothing of note happened during the rest of the match, we looked poor if i'm honest, you wouldnt know which team were in the league above or the league below.

McGeady showed a few flashes of quality, Porto was class, but the rest were a bit meh.

I agree with much of that. We dominated possession and territory but rarely looked like scoring against a very average Championship side. I'm really hoping McGeady can get and stay fit because we are crying out for some creativity, especially in the final third.

08-12-2022, 11:24 PM
Is Bojang injured or are we cutting our losses there?

Donegal Hibby
08-12-2022, 11:56 PM
My question to other Hibs fans is what have you made of fish ? Is he any good ? Looks like he's staying after good talks with Man u .
https://www.unitedinfocus.com/news/manchester-united-loanee-will-fish-expected-to-stay-at-hibernian/

09-12-2022, 05:48 AM
Thought Tavares started the half brilliantly and looked really good.

If I was him of Lee Johnson if he going mad at the end of the game for not looking to give him the ball more often and quicker.

So direct and was beating his man with ease every time

Good to hear. Thought he should have started at Killie. Written off too early by some however definitely needs to start showing more.

11-12-2022, 02:58 PM

From the little I've seen of him, he would be the first out the door if we're trying to trim the squad. Lacks the quality needed for this level.

11-12-2022, 03:22 PM
From the little I've seen of him, he would be the first out the door if we're trying to trim the squad. Lacks the quality needed for this level.

His signing was a strange one, as there's such a thing as hopeful punts, but this lad looks like a re-run of Jamie Insall, but from abroad.

11-12-2022, 04:36 PM

Hes on loan, so it probably depends on the terms of the agreement