View Full Version : Nil seven
30-11-2022, 04:19 PM
Coming soon.
A 1 minute video not long uploaded which I assume will be a documentary Coming soon.
Not sure what platform it will be out on though.
30-11-2022, 07:06 PM
A bit embarrassing tbh. Talk about living in the past
30-11-2022, 07:10 PM
Yup. Half our support weren't even born back then.
Personally 7-0 holds absolutely zero relevance for me. It's an era I wasn't part of and it doesn't make up for the atrocious record we have against them in my lifetime.
30-11-2022, 07:21 PM
Personally 7-0 holds absolutely zero relevance for me. It's an era I wasn't part of and it doesn't make up for the atrocious record we have against them in my lifetime.
I've said much the same on here before and been slaughtered for it so good luck! If you mentioned 7-0 to a Jambo in their 30's you'd get a blank expression back.
Bridge hibs
30-11-2022, 07:39 PM
A bit embarrassing tbh. Talk about living in the pastYeah utterly embarrassing remembering a historic 0-7 leathering of our closest city rivals. I wouldnt think there was one single hibs fan who was there that day who would say they were embarrassed today when its mentioned
Oh and you might as well continue your embarrassment when some great european nights are mentioned such as beating Barcelona, Napoli etc. My late Father and Father in laws were at those games and fair enjoyed sharing their memories of those great days and nights and if they were alive today they would still share those memories
****ing embarrassed 🤣
Im going to snap my scottish cup winning DVD just in case my Grand kids find it and play it at my wake, utterly embarrassing that would be 🤣
30-11-2022, 07:43 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/iconic-edinburgh-derby-victory-remembered-in-nil-seven-documentary
For those interested in the embarrassment.
Nil Seven’ will look back on the renowned Hibernian team of that era – Turnbull’s Tornadoes – as well as stories from the game on New Year’s Day, 1973.
The documentary will be lauched on Hibs TV and the Club’s YouTube channel on Monday 19 December, just a few weeks before the anniversary of the game.
It will feature all the goals and match action from the win at Tynecastle as well as other archive footage of the Tornadoes era.
30-11-2022, 07:45 PM
It was a great time to be a Hibee and 0-7 in their own back yard does have a relevance. We should be applauding at the 9th, 15th, 26th, 35th, 37th, 56th and 75th minutes, whilst singing Jimmy O’Rourke’s song at frequent intervals.
Maybe something to follow like
🎶 it was 50 year ago today
That the hibees taught the yams to play
So may we introduced to you
Eddie Tunbull’s glorious hibees band”
Herriot
Brownlie
Schaedler
Stanton
Black
Bkackley
Edwards
O’Rourke
Gordon
Cropley
Duncan
And repeat 🥳
Except it won’t be on ne’erday sadly
30-11-2022, 07:45 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/iconic-edinburgh-derby-victory-remembered-in-nil-seven-documentary
For those interested in the embarrassment.
Nil Seven’ will look back on the renowned Hibernian team of that era – Turnbull’s Tornadoes – as well as stories from the game on New Year’s Day, 1973.
The documentary will be lauched on Hibs TV and the Club’s YouTube channel on Monday 19 December, just a few weeks before the anniversary of the game.
It will feature all the goals and match action from the win at Tynecastle as well as other archive footage of the Tornadoes era.
I have such a beamer .
30-11-2022, 07:56 PM
I have such a beamer .
Such a ridder I nearly turned maroo… eh nah! 😉
Donegal Hibby
30-11-2022, 08:05 PM
Biggest derby victory of all time , nothing embarrassing about it unless of course your a jambo though 😁
30-11-2022, 08:08 PM
So you appear to be questioning the value football history?
Where is your cut off ? Your lifetime?
Famous five?
If modern football is rubbish where does that leave you?
Where do you find your joy?
30-11-2022, 08:12 PM
Imagine having a history.
30-11-2022, 08:25 PM
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/cars/news/edinburgh-s-easter-road-16-pictures-from-the-1950s-and-1960s-show-how-much-the-hibs-ground-has-changed/ar-AA14Giva?ocid=AMZN&cvid=9f8cdc07a8544ff69517557653f45f1e
More history.
30-11-2022, 08:52 PM
I've said much the same on here before and been slaughtered for it so good luck! If you mentioned 7-0 to a Jambo in their 30's you'd get a blank expression back.
that’s not true, they all know all about it. Enough to spit back “aye well done on your 2 points” or some such cheek.
0-7 and 5-1 will always be there, no matter how much both sets of supporters wish they weren’t.
part of the Edinburgh Derby and always will be. Doesn’t mean we shouldn’t strive to improve our awful derby record in the present and future obviously.
30-11-2022, 09:01 PM
Embarrassing post.
So to follow your train of thought Pele’s Brazil team of 1970 is meaningless cos it was so long ago?
FFS man.
leith lynx
30-11-2022, 09:36 PM
The most embarrassing post in the history of hibs.net. Shameful.
DIXIHIBS
30-11-2022, 09:41 PM
Embarrassing remembering one of our biggest wins over hertz? 7-0 is iconic to most hibs fans, even if it was before their time. It defined a period of almost total domination in the derby, it defined the tornadoes, it defined a generation of hibbies. The past is our history as it is with all clubs and 7-0 is a huge part of that. You be embarrassed if you want, but dont expect other to follow.
30-11-2022, 09:51 PM
can't seem to find it now on google, it was a page called baldy & someone else(forget the name) had the words to the bye bye jam tarts song for that special day/game :agree:
30-11-2022, 10:48 PM
Club celebrates anniversary of historic result. Happens all over the world. Big clubs and small. Nothing to do with living in the past.
30-11-2022, 11:16 PM
It should have been ten. Those who weren't born missed the best month and a bit of football played by our team. Embarrassed, not me,it's all about banter.
Are the 2nd and 3rd posters on this thread real Hibs fans🤔🤔
Maguire
30-11-2022, 11:42 PM
Biggest derby victory of all time , nothing embarrassing about it unless of course your a jambo though 😁
Unfortunately did we not lose 10-2 to them? Albeit was about 100 years ago 😂
Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 12:06 AM
Didn't know about that one Oops , wasn't a competitive match anyhow .🤫. 😂😂
01-12-2022, 07:30 AM
friendlies don’t count :wink:
01-12-2022, 09:31 AM
Embarrassing to remember some brilliant players that done a lot for the club? As we've sadly seen recently with Jimmy, there isn't a lot of time left of these guys and something like this to immortalise them all properly for generations to come is far from embarrassing.
01-12-2022, 09:51 AM
0-7 took us up to 100 goals half way through that season with Gordon, Duncan and O’Rourke scoring most of them
That team was a joy to behold it was like watching a game of football chess
It wasn’t a question of would hibs win it was by how many ?
Tell that to youngsters nowadays and they don’t believe you
Do not let them forget they would do the same to us
Legends
01-12-2022, 09:57 AM
Nothing wrong with remembering history. If I'd been at the game I'm sure it would be one of my fondest memories too.
I've just never seen Hibs beat Hearts by more than two goals, with plenty thrashings in between, and the fact that we did that one time nearly 50 years ago doesn't really make me feel any better.
01-12-2022, 10:02 AM
0-7 took us up to 100 goals half way through that season with Gordon, Duncan and O’Rourke scoring most of them
That team was a joy to behold it was like watching a game of football chess
It wasn’t a question of would hibs win it was by how many ?
Do not let them forget they would do the same to us
Legends
we had brought up the century a couple of weeks earlier in the 8-1 thrashing of Ayr.
the Tynecastle demolition job brought our goals total for the season to 112… on the first day of January! Astonishing really.
01-12-2022, 10:16 AM
It's a nice nostalgia trip for those of a certain vintage in our fanbase and I suppose there would be an expectation it would be marked.
Like you though it's really not something I feel is all that relevant to me and I can't get excited about this. The game was 14 years before I was born. Hearts have largely dominated the derby in my lifetime. If I used 7-0 as any kind of ammunition against them then they have about 10 times as much to come back with. Sad but true.
It's also true that these things always mean more to the victor then the loser. Someone makes a 5-1 hand gesture at me now I just laugh it off, it happened. It was one of the greatest days of their life, it means little to me now. Hearts fans, even those old enough to remember it, will feel the same about 7-0.
01-12-2022, 11:09 AM
It's the biggest reverse in derby history, so always worthy of note. But that aside I absolutely agree with you, in every single head to head at the business end of tournaments since then we have fallen short against them and the way things are going we are on the cusp of a deja vu moment because in all likelyhood given our recent form we are about to suffer back to back league and cup defeats in the same month, just like last season.
When it comes to us v Hearts I would prefer to see something to celebrate in the here and now rather than results that go so far back the bloomin BBC teleprinter probably wasn't up and running.
01-12-2022, 11:14 AM
Nostalgia ain’t what it used to be.
01-12-2022, 11:16 AM
Oops, this is a wee bit embarrassing, not only do I remember this wonderful game but I was there, and I will never stop telling them manky bassas all about the greatest. **** the hertz. The seven grins is for a reason on most of my posts about our lovely chumy friends over on the other side.
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin
01-12-2022, 12:10 PM
we had brought up the century a couple of weeks earlier in the 8-1 thrashing of Ayr.
the Tynecastle demolition job brought our goals total for the season to 112… on the first day of January! Astonishing really.
Yip I remember the Ayr game and parading all our trophies on our lawnmower contraption thing
Ally Macleod had a cunning plan to curb our attacking prowess that lasted one minute when Sodjer opened the scoring
Sometimes you have just got to stand back and marvel at a goal machine at the top of its powers
01-12-2022, 12:38 PM
I’ll be watching it and enjoying it. Nothing embarrassing about it at all.
Tom Hart RIP
01-12-2022, 01:40 PM
I don't understand why anyone would object? It's not costing the club any money, and no-one is forced to watch it and if nothing else it records the memories of these great players before it's too late.
Unless you saw the Tornadoes at their peak it's difficult to understand how good they were, and that game was them at their best. We could have beaten any team in the world that day and the fact that it was Hearts just makes it better.
Imagine supporting a Hibs team that were one of the best in Europe and mounted wave after wave of attack from the first whistle.
And yes, it was only two points and didn't lead to anything but didn't Hearts have a video to mark the 22 in a row and none of these wins/draws resulted in a trophy.
In a few years time it will be the 75th anniversary of the Famous Five's first game.
We've got anniversaries of our first game in Europe, the Read Madrid game, the Naples game, the 6-2 game, the Geebsie game, the Millenium derby and many others coming up so hopefully the club will do something similar. It would be great to hear Bobby Duncan's memory of that goal.
So I'll be watching on December 19 and won't feel embarrassed in the slightest.
01-12-2022, 02:27 PM
I don't understand why anyone would object? It's not costing the club any money, and no-one is forced to watch it and if nothing else it records the memories of these great players before it's too late.
Unless you saw the Tornadoes at their peak it's difficult to understand how good they were, and that game was them at their best. We could have beaten any team in the world that day and the fact that it was Hearts just makes it better.
Imagine supporting a Hibs team that were one of the best in Europe and mounted wave after wave of attack from the first whistle.
And yes, it was only two points and didn't lead to anything but didn't Hearts have a video to mark the 22 in a row and none of these wins/draws resulted in a trophy.
In a few years time it will be the 75th anniversary of the Famous Five's first game.
We've got anniversaries of our first game in Europe, the Read Madrid game, the Naples game, the 6-2 game, the Geebsie game, the Millenium derby and many others coming up so hopefully the club will do something similar. It would be great to hear Bobby Duncan's memory of that goal.
So I'll be watching on December 19 and won't feel embarrassed in the slightest.
Every time Bobby Duncan recalls that great goal he gets further and further oot :greengrin
01-12-2022, 02:30 PM
Never let them forget “the greatest game in history was played on New Years Day”
happiehibbie
01-12-2022, 02:46 PM
0-7 took us up to 100 goals half way through that season with gordon, duncan and o’rourke scoring most of them
that team was a joy to behold it was like watching a game of football chess
it wasn’t a question of would hibs win it was by how many ?
do not let them forget they would do the same to us
legends
big gogs
01-12-2022, 02:48 PM
It should have been ten. Those who weren't born missed the best month and a bit of football played by our team. Embarrassed, not me,it's all about banter.
Are the 2nd and 3rd posters on this thread real Hibs fans🤔🤔
I am 69 now ,I attended that game ,50 years later ,I look back and say I was spoiled football wise back then1972/1973. I attended games expecting to win.that game will go down in history for a lot of fans.it still brings back fantastic memories.sadly we have lost a lot of those players and many fans that attended the games.may they all rest in peace.
01-12-2022, 06:13 PM
https://youtu.be/ppM_MbCh4cA
Watch and enjoy those that were too young to be amongst the 150,000 of us that were there.[emoji16]
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
01-12-2022, 06:26 PM
What else can I say ?
It was poetry in motion
I was hooked and I eagerly looked forward to every game home and away and I would get there by hook or by crook
I just could not wait
It was that good
happiehibbie
02-12-2022, 11:07 AM
They speak about the High press as if its new
ET had us doing it back then
I remember being at my Grannies and my cousin came in to the house "Thought you where at the game?" I left at 5 :na na:
02-12-2022, 11:19 AM
What else can I say ?
It was poetry in motion
I was hooked and I eagerly looked forward to every game home and away and I would get there by hook or by crook
I just could not wait
It was that good
Yeh same here went home and away brilliant time to follow the hibs. Just never thought we would have wilderness years looking ahead back then. It’s been a hard slog following hibs but I would never had changed it tho.
We used to go to every game in these days as well travelled on the St Giles bus. Its's just as well we couldn't see what was in front of us. Still got the season ticket but don't go to the away games now.
big gogs
02-12-2022, 02:16 PM
They speak about the High press as if its new
ET had us doing it back then
I remember being at my Grannies and my cousin came in to the house "Thought you where at the game?" I left at 5 :na na:
I met my uncle after the game,he asked me the score,I said 0 -7 for us ,aye he said ,did hearts play well.
02-12-2022, 02:33 PM
We used to go to every game in these days as well travelled on the St Giles bus. Its's just as well we couldn't see what was in front of us. Still got the season ticket but don't go to the away games now.
Same here MM. I was a St Giles branch member too, and travelled with pals: Mike Gilhooley, Benny Small, Jack Ernest and Alan Lugton, to name but a few.
The 0-7 game is still vivid in the memory of us older guys who were lucky enough to have been there.
02-12-2022, 02:55 PM
Closest I've ever came to seeing us potentially batter them was the 3-1 at ER under Lennon. When the third went in with a fair bit left to play I thought we were going to make up for a lot of hurt over the years, celebrated the **** out of that goal half for the novelty of being three up against Hearts.
Unfortunately we conceded that stupid penalty shortly after, and then a McGregor goal to make it 4-1 was disallowed for not a lot. Game died out after that. Still good fun though!