View Full Version : Hibs and Hearts fans not segregated for the Derby

26-11-2022, 11:35 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/why-sundays-match-between-hibs-and-hearts-is-a-real-watershed-moment-for-womens-football-3932446

So despite 11,000 tickets being snapped up for the Derby tomorrow and two sets of Ultras in attendance, the fans won't be segregated, it seems?

For us old-timers, it will be more like the old days except we're gonna struggle to change ends at half-time. :-)

HibeeHibernia
26-11-2022, 11:42 AM
it should be a decent atmosphere hopefully the ladies take 7 off them :flag:

Bridge hibs
26-11-2022, 01:34 PM
The smoking sections can change ends at half time when they get out for a puff 😀

26-11-2022, 01:41 PM
11,000 thats some going, not bad.

26-11-2022, 04:03 PM
That was the case the last time too and there were no issues. Looking forward to them shuffling past when we sing Sunshine on Leith. The ladies look the only opportunity to give that an airing

coldingham hibs
27-11-2022, 07:21 AM
That was the case the last time too and there were no issues. Looking forward to them shuffling past when we sing Sunshine on Leith. The ladies look the only opportunity to give that an airing

Maybe a couple of years ago this would have been a banker but Hibs have declined and Hearts have improved. Current league table would suggest Hearts are favourites. I don’t know much about the Hearts team but I think they are more youthful and have a bit more pace than Hibs, but that’s not a factual comment so I stand to be corrected. Hopefully it will be a big Hibs win though.

27-11-2022, 08:42 AM
Last game at Easter Road Hearts had fans in south stand.

Today Hearts supposedly have 2000 in south stand - upper and lower.

Hopefully any Hibs fans who haven’t got ticket turn up today - free tickets and should be a close game.

Annoyingly several years ago Hibs were miles ahead of Hearts but Hearts have caught up due to the incompetence of Hibs.

Hibs3-2
27-11-2022, 08:47 AM
Will this be on hibs tv?

27-11-2022, 08:55 AM
Will this be on hibs tv?

BBC Alba

27-11-2022, 09:06 AM
BBC Alba

Worth recording starts 1600 hrs

hibby rae
27-11-2022, 09:41 AM
Maybe a couple of years ago this would have been a banker but Hibs have declined and Hearts have improved. Current league table would suggest Hearts are favourites. I don’t know much about the Hearts team but I think they are more youthful and have a bit more pace than Hibs, but that’s not a factual comment so I stand to be corrected. Hopefully it will be a big Hibs win though.

Despite the league table Hibs should still be winning this. We have a really good team, but we should also be beating Partick and Motherwell as well.

The problem with the team isn't the players, or the investment in the squad, I just don't think Gibson makes a great head coach.

27-11-2022, 10:45 AM
Hibs 1/2 Hearts 4/1 on Betfair

27-11-2022, 10:49 AM
As soon as we bring segregation into the women’s game we should give up. Also it’s not a derby. Despite Hibs trying to turn it into one. Hibs and hearts women have no derby tradition. Spartans is the derby for Hibs.

Bridge hibs
27-11-2022, 10:52 AM
As soon as we bring segregation into the women’s game we should give up. Also it’s not a derby. Despite Hibs trying to turn it into one. Hibs and hearts women have no derby tradition. Spartans is the derby for Hibs.Oh come on, its hibs v hearts, two Edinburgh teams, its a derby ffs 🤣

27-11-2022, 10:53 AM
As soon as we bring segregation into the women’s game we should give up. Also it’s not a derby. Despite Hibs trying to turn it into one. Hibs and hearts women have no derby tradition. Spartans is the derby for Hibs.

It is a derby. Dictionary definition:

a sports competition, especially a game of football, in the same city or area

27-11-2022, 10:54 AM
Oh come on, its hibs v hearts, two Edinburgh teams, its a derby ffs 🤣

Hibs men v Hearts men is a derby. You only have one derby in a city. In the womens game that’s Spartans v Hibs.

27-11-2022, 10:55 AM
It is a derby. Dictionary definition:

a sports competition, especially a game of football, in the same city or area

Is rangers v Patrick a derby then?

MKHIBEE
27-11-2022, 10:58 AM
Hibs men v Hearts men is a derby. You only have one derby in a city. In the womens game that’s Spartans v Hibs.
Says who?

27-11-2022, 10:58 AM

By definition it is, aye. It’s just not the one that matters most.

Take London as an example, there are loads of derbies. Some just have more rivalry attached to them.

hibby rae
27-11-2022, 10:59 AM

100% Spartans is the real derby for the women.

Actually bullsh*t they have been excluded from cup idea

27-11-2022, 10:59 AM

Of course it is.

The original Glasgow Derby was Rangers v Queens Park.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Original_Glasgow_derby

27-11-2022, 11:00 AM

I mean that's not true.

27-11-2022, 11:01 AM
Says who?

Me

27-11-2022, 11:03 AM
I mean that's not true.

Hibs started talking about this as THE derby only because they would beat them regularly. It’s in every interview now. “This is the derby. This is the one that counts”. That’s 100% based on the mens game history and not the womens game.

Malonga's Cat
27-11-2022, 11:06 AM
It's a derby! Laughable to suggest any contest between Hibs and Hearts isn't. Great to see the club put some effort into this game (i.e. having it at Easter Road) and hopefully a good attendance and atmosphere helps the Women's team kick on.

27-11-2022, 11:09 AM
Hibs started talking about this as THE derby only because they would beat them regularly. It’s in every interview now. “This is the derby. This is the one that counts”. That’s 100% based on the mens game history and not the womens game.

It's still a derby though isnt it. As is the game v Spartans. There is no doubt that The Hibs Hearts derby will also overtake the Spartans one as the main city derby ( if it hasn't already). The crowd at this proves it.

27-11-2022, 11:14 AM
It's still a derby though isnt it. As is the game v Spartans. There is no doubt that The Hibs Hearts derby will also overtake the Spartans one as the main city derby ( if it hasn't already). The crowd at this proves it.

A derby. Just not THE derby. It’s womens football and Hibs are just playing up the mens side. And you are right that’s why they will have 7k plus today. Nothing at all to do with the history of the 2 women’s clubs. And creating a “cup” out of it is massively disrespectful to Spartans.

Bridge hibs
27-11-2022, 11:16 AM
A derby. Just not THE derby. It’s womens football and Hibs are just playing up the mens side. And you are right that’s why they will have 7k plus today. Nothing at all to do with the history of the 2 women’s clubs. And creating a “cup” out of it is massively disrespectful to Spartans.Thanks, you have cheered me up today 🤣

27-11-2022, 11:17 AM
Very best of luck to all the Hibs girls today. Hope you all enjoy the experience of playing on the Easter Road pitch, in front of a huge crowd.
Make it a day to remember.

27-11-2022, 11:24 AM
https://twitter.com/hibernianwomen/status/1596838069818347520?s=12 This just backs up my point. There are many bigger games for Hibs women than playing Hearts.

hibby rae
27-11-2022, 11:30 AM
[QUOTE=Brightside;7175074]https://twitter.com/hibernianwomen/status/1596838069818347520?s=12 This just backs up my point. There are many bigger games for Hibs women than playing Hearts.[/QUO

Glasgow City being another

27-11-2022, 11:39 AM
looking forward to this

unfortunately i think the jamboesses will win

watched our women v Partick Thistle and they were very poor, followed by a pleasant cup win against Glasgow City, followed by a freebie 3 points against the league newbies, hopefully they bring that cup win performance today

27-11-2022, 11:41 AM

Nah.

27-11-2022, 12:45 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianwomen/status/1596838069818347520?s=12 This just backs up my point. There are many bigger games for Hibs women than playing Hearts.

So the manager of Hibs women says that it is the biggest game of the season and alludes to the fact that it is the one that the players all look to in the fixture card, and you think that backs up your point?

History is not always relevant to what is happening here and now. If history dictated everything that goes forward then Rangers vs Queens Park would be THE Glasgow derby.

27-11-2022, 12:48 PM

Of course it’s a derby, rather silly to say otherwise.

27-11-2022, 01:11 PM

So the manager of Hibs women says that it is the biggest game of the season and alludes to the fact that it is the one that the players all look to in the fixture card, and you think that backs up your point?

History is not always relevant to what is happening here and now. If history dictated everything that goes forward then Rangers vs Queens Park would be THE Glasgow derby.

A hibs women fan isn’t looking at the calendar for the hearts game. If they are we’ve gone backwards as a team. As hibby Rae mentioned you’d always look at the City game as the big game to look forward to.

27-11-2022, 01:20 PM
A hibs women fan isn’t looking at the calendar for the hearts game. If they are we’ve gone backwards as a team. As hibby Rae mentioned you’d always look at the City game as the big game to look forward to.

They'll be 11,000 there today. If you gave away free tickets for the Spartans game you'd be lucky if you had 10% of that there.

It's a derby. Just silly to say otherwise.

LewysGot2
27-11-2022, 01:44 PM
They'll be 11,000 there today. If you gave away free tickets for the Spartans game you'd be lucky if you had 10% of that there.

It's a derby. Just silly to say otherwise.

100%

It’s the main ticket because it’s a derby and one where we’ve dominated so long it’s attractive from that perspective. If they want to grow the product unfortunately it’s going to involve traditional tribal stuff in the marketing.

27-11-2022, 02:01 PM
FT Spartans 2 Glasgow Women 1

FT Dundee U 1 Aberdeen 2

FT Partick Thistle 1 Glasgow City 4

27-11-2022, 02:11 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FikZ5vnXEAA9ci3?format=jpg&name=medium

27-11-2022, 02:32 PM
Will be tuning in through the iplayer.

Mon the Hibs.

Hillsidehibby
27-11-2022, 02:39 PM
Will be tuning in through the iplayer.

Mon the Hibs.

Whereabouts on the iplayer?

27-11-2022, 02:41 PM

BBC iPlayer - BBC ALBA (https://www.bbc.co.uk/tv/bbcalba)

27-11-2022, 02:42 PM
Alba channel 4pm on your tellybox

Hillsidehibby
27-11-2022, 02:43 PM
BBC iPlayer - BBC ALBA (https://www.bbc.co.uk/tv/bbcalba)

27-11-2022, 02:56 PM
It's Alba for me despite looking forward to this since it was announced and having a ticket. Don't fancy sitting out in the cold when I'm still recovering from Covid.

27-11-2022, 02:59 PM
It's Alba for me despite looking forward to this since it was announced and having a ticket. Don't fancy sitting out in the cold when I'm still recovering from Covid. Fairly mild out but understandable, get better soon

27-11-2022, 03:05 PM
A hibs women fan isn’t looking at the calendar for the hearts game. If they are we’ve gone backwards as a team. As hibby Rae mentioned you’d always look at the City game as the big game to look forward to. That has changed now though. The Women's version of the Uglies will take over and they will now be bigger games than they were. Hearts are similar in terms of quality to us so that will be the biggest game and Glasgow City will be like a Man's Aberdeen fixture going forward. Hopefully we can become the third force and days like today will hopefully encourage others to go to more games. Looking at the age of some in the crowd this could be their first opportunity for a decent SOL

27-11-2022, 03:07 PM

It’s also on the BBC website online

Hillsidehibby
27-11-2022, 03:08 PM
Alba channel 4pm on your tellybox

Thanks. World Cup on TV, Derby on laptop :aok:

27-11-2022, 03:10 PM
nice touch minutes applause for Jimmy O'Rourke

27-11-2022, 03:11 PM
Don't think theres close to 11k here, lot of people obviously getting the free tickets but not fancying it on the day.

Bridge hibs
27-11-2022, 03:18 PM
Hibs men v Hearts men is a derby. You only have one derby in a city. In the womens game that’s Spartans v Hibs.Somebody better tell hibs Michaela McAlonie then 🤣

McAlonie was also involved in the victory over city rivals at Tynecastle, she expressed: "It was unbelievable - I just remember the feeling after it, there’s nothing like it. In a derby, you get a different fire in your belly, so we’re all ready to get going."

27-11-2022, 03:26 PM
unlucky again

27-11-2022, 03:53 PM
Scrappy game. Hibs better overall just need to pass the ball better and quicker.

27-11-2022, 03:55 PM
Hearts have been very poor. Wing backs not being utilised. Hibs just need a goal then they should get a couple

27-11-2022, 03:57 PM
By far the better team and should be 3 or 4 up. Sound familiar?

27-11-2022, 04:01 PM
Scrappy game. Hibs better overall just need to pass the ball better and quicker.
Funny I thought it was far less scrappy that most men's games. We have a good shape and played some decent football in spells. Mens football could learn a lot from the way the women just get on with it. I only get along to a game or two a year and the quality of women's football has improved so much in the last few years. It is a typical Derby at the moment though with Hibs playing all the football and creating far more chances. Hope the result is a win for the ladies

ShadesLongThrow
27-11-2022, 04:02 PM
I’m enjoying this and impressed with the general skill level. Totally dominating and playing some nice stuff particularly on the left but just can’t score.

MKHIBEE
27-11-2022, 04:11 PM
Me

Thats settled that then.

27-11-2022, 04:20 PM
Funny I thought it was far less scrappy that most men's games. We have a good shape and played some decent football in spells. Mens football could learn a lot from the way the women just get on with it. I only get along to a game or two a year and the quality of women's football has improved so much in the last few years. It is a typical Derby at the moment though with Hibs playing all the football and creating far more chances. Hope the result is a win for the ladies

I think it's been competitive but scrappy with plenty of loose passes. A lot of the players look overly knackered already but maybe that's the size of the park taking its toll?

It's enjoyable enough though and I completely agree about them just getting on with it. No fuss over fouls, no kidding on with injuries - just play football.

27-11-2022, 04:26 PM
Hibs just need to press the game higher up and press in numbers.

27-11-2022, 04:27 PM
1 down. Header

Hearts score with first venture into our box. Think it was OG

Awful defending.

and that's how to take yer chances

27-11-2022, 04:28 PM
So not only the men who can't defend cross balls.

27-11-2022, 04:29 PM
Is there any level of football where Hibs do themselves justice in the big moments against that lot?

27-11-2022, 04:30 PM
Hibs really dropped the ball last few years with regards to not going full time quicker. Lost so many good players.

27-11-2022, 04:30 PM
Notley is the only hibs player getting passmarks for her passing, imo

i've maybe cashed out just too early for £60+

27-11-2022, 04:31 PM
Hibs really dropped the ball last few years with regards to not going full time quicker. Lost so many good players.

One of those ex Hibs players just scored for Hearts and another is running the midfield Michie.

Joelle Murray lost her player for the goal.

Awful defending.

27-11-2022, 04:33 PM
Hibs just need to press the game higher up and press in numbers.

Hibs sitting so deep - it’s like they are scared to get beat by pace.

Not sure if it’s a tactic or just clues management by the manager.

Notley is the only hibs player getting passmarks for her passing, imo

Think both cm's for Hibs have been poor.

Impressed with Hinds on the wing and Hunter and Murray both look good at the back. As I type that Hinds gets subbed off.

Thomas looked lively since coming on too.

One of those ex Hibs players just scored for Hearts and another is running the midfield Michie.

Joelle Murray lost her player for the goal.

Awful defending.

It was Shiv unfortunately. She tried to clear it with her leg rather than attacking with the head.

27-11-2022, 04:34 PM
We need to get some more players in the box when we do get forward. So impressed with Parry at left back. Two footed, quick. Strong determined and loads of quality

27-11-2022, 04:40 PM
It was Shiv unfortunately. She tried to clear it with her leg rather than attacking with the head.

Watch it again - Joelle lines up to mark her and leaves her (actually doesn’t follow anyone in). Brownlie moves into where Shiv is but wasn’t her player.

27-11-2022, 04:42 PM
Watch it again - Joelle lines up to mark her and leaves her (actually doesn’t follow anyone in). Brownlie moves into where Shiv is but wasn’t her player.

Gotcha. 👍

27-11-2022, 04:45 PM
nobody at the back in case it flew past everyone

27-11-2022, 04:45 PM
What's this with the phone lights?

27-11-2022, 04:46 PM
We look like the legs have gone. Cmon Hibs keep going

27-11-2022, 04:47 PM
Sadly no way back I reckon.

27-11-2022, 04:47 PM
Their goal has given them confidence. They should have been buried in the first half.

27-11-2022, 04:48 PM
FF Lower looks dire, as per usual.

:duck:

27-11-2022, 04:49 PM
1-1

27-11-2022, 04:49 PM
Glad to be wrong. 1-1

27-11-2022, 04:50 PM
Persevered. 1-1

27-11-2022, 04:50 PM
1-1

27-11-2022, 04:51 PM
8066 attendance

27-11-2022, 04:51 PM
Should have been 2-1. Annoying

8066 crowd.

27-11-2022, 04:52 PM
oh my what a chance blown by freda

27-11-2022, 04:52 PM
Crowd is 8,066

Amazing what you can do when you reduce the prices a bit.

27-11-2022, 04:53 PM
Is it my imagination, or does the commentator keep mentioning IKEA?

MelbourneHibees
27-11-2022, 04:58 PM
Crowd is 8,066

Amazing what you can do when you reduce the prices a bit.
Reduced to Free!

27-11-2022, 04:59 PM
Would be great if Hibs fans could fill the away end for the return fixture.

Hibeesforever
27-11-2022, 05:00 PM
Reduced to Free!

Ridiculous to make the game free.Totally devalues the product

27-11-2022, 05:01 PM
If only it had been this lively all game! Deserved player of the match - Parry

better result for hearts than us

Hibs will see that as points dropped today.

27-11-2022, 05:02 PM
Pen shoot out.

27-11-2022, 05:03 PM
don't think a lot of the fans realise there's penalties for the cup

27-11-2022, 05:03 PM

It would be interesting to see what the crowd would have been had it been £5. "Free" is probably quite a good marketing tool and encourages people along who wouldn't begrudge the £5 but who don't see any novelty in going along when it's any amount/normal pricing.

Wonder if they collected donations on the entrance.

I went to a lower league rugby game a few weeks ago - it was £7. If they can charge that then I would think so could SWPL

27-11-2022, 05:04 PM
Pen shoot out.

Eh that’s weird ?

It’s a league game ?

27-11-2022, 05:04 PM

The cost of the ticket sales were covered by Baillie Gifford as their sponsorship of the game, so not “devalued” at all.

27-11-2022, 05:05 PM
Eh that’s weird ?

It’s a league game ?

it's also counting as the first capital cup final

Eh that’s weird ?

It’s a league game ?

They are playing for a cup

They are trying to grow the fan bases for Edinburgh clubs.

Won’t be free forever but not a bad idea and one folk should be moaning about when the cost of living is so high.

A penalty shoot out is nonsense though.

27-11-2022, 05:06 PM
Does the women's game get xG stats? From what I saw it should be about 17.5-0.01.

27-11-2022, 05:06 PM
hope Haaland saves a couple :)

27-11-2022, 05:07 PM
Saved. 2-1 Hibs after 2 each.

27-11-2022, 05:07 PM
They are playing for a cup

Yeah I get that.

First game of this new cup and it’s a draw - just keep it till next game.

Hibs are unbeaten in the last 5 games against Hearts.

The game was 1-1 and 1 point each.

27-11-2022, 05:08 PM
lol off the post luckyyyy ;)

27-11-2022, 05:10 PM
woop :)

Bridge hibs
27-11-2022, 05:12 PM
Hibs women win the cup in the Edinburgh derby 🇳🇬🇳🇬👏

27-11-2022, 05:13 PM
Well done the announcer ruining SOL.

27-11-2022, 05:16 PM
Ah well - small gains - least Hibs won on pens but hopefully that’s the last penalty shoot out we see after a league game draw.

hibby rae
27-11-2022, 05:16 PM
Yeah I get that.

First game of this new cup and it’s a draw - just keep it till next game.

Hibs are unbeaten in the last 5 games against Hearts.

The game was 1-1 and 1 point each.

You'd have to go far back to find the last defeat before that.

The cup should have Spartans involved as well though

27-11-2022, 05:22 PM
You'd have to go far back to find the last defeat before that.

The cup should have Spartans involved as well though

Hibs v Hearts is a derby.

Spartans v Hibs is a strong local rivalry but it’s hard to say Hibs v Hearts isn’t a derby.

The Hibs v Hearts derby is here to stay - even if Hearts have made their way up the leagues spending money to make themselves more relevant.

27-11-2022, 05:23 PM
own one of the shirts from tonight

think i'll pass thanks :greengrin

£77 starting price MatchWornShirt (https://www.matchwornshirt.com/event/27-11-2022-hibernian-w-hearts-w)

27-11-2022, 05:27 PM
own one of the shirts from tonight

think i'll pass thanks :greengrin

£77 starting price MatchWornShirt (https://www.matchwornshirt.com/event/27-11-2022-hibernian-w-hearts-w)

Surely starting price should be zero.

27-11-2022, 05:31 PM
Surely starting price should be zero.

i agree, i think it's just to try make some cash for the side, it will be the club that sets the starting price and they will want the costs for replacements plus a wee bitty extra, in fact it looks like maybe the club have made the initial £1,6++ donation

i don't think there will be much demand tbf

hibby rae
27-11-2022, 05:33 PM
Hibs v Hearts is a derby.

Spartans v Hibs is a strong local rivalry but it’s hard to say Hibs v Hearts isn’t a derby.

The Hibs v Hearts derby is here to stay - even if Hearts have made their way up the leagues spending money to make themselves more relevant.

If we're talking about traditional women's team rivalry, or even georgraphical distance then Hibs Spartans is a derby.

My point is though Spartans are a far more successful team than Hearts, to the extent Hearts have never beaten them, and excluding them from a competition called the Capital Cup is an insult.

No reason it couldn't have been decided over the course of the season or as a pre-season tournament.

27-11-2022, 05:38 PM
So what was the penalties score?

linlithgowhibbie
27-11-2022, 05:39 PM
we got 5, they didnae

27-11-2022, 05:43 PM
we got 5, they didnae

So we won the cup

Hooray

GIRUY jambos

hibby rae
27-11-2022, 05:44 PM
Hopefully a few folk decide to go to the cup final after going today.

I would expect us to have more supporters than the Huns there, and I think that has been reflected in the way the stand is being 'divided'

27-11-2022, 05:50 PM
If we're talking about traditional women's team rivalry, or even georgraphical distance then Hibs Spartans is a derby.

My point is though Spartans are a far more successful team than Hearts, to the extent Hearts have never beaten them, and excluding them from a competition called the Capital Cup is an insult.

No reason it couldn't have been decided over the course of the season or as a pre-season tournament.

I guess you have London teams having several derbies so Hibs v Spartans can stay a derby but hard to argue Hibs v Hearts isn’t the main derby.

Spartans are just stuck in the middle / lower half of the SWPL causing the occasional upset then losing to teams like Hamilton!

It was only a matter of time before Hibs and Hearts overtook Spartans due to funding and wouldn’t be surprised if Hearts beat Spartans next time they play.

27-11-2022, 05:54 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/316949994_5524191077679908_3485707343624424071_n.j pg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=3Ry7e8Cx134AX9Jq40j&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfArrfUIjyKAdByXl9iYQT4Zmz-yrvYB3_tuvX0ivErgOw&oe=6388F845

27-11-2022, 05:55 PM
That was an entertaining game of football. Good atmosphere and we deserved to win it in 90 minutes, think the clash between their goalie and Crystal Thomas broke the momentum we had.

There was a laddie supporting Hearts a few rows back from us. Kept shouting “shoot” whenever a Hearts player had the ball in the opposing half, “tekkers” when they passed it, and started using the back of the seat in front of him as a drum for Hearts songs. Tried to figure out if it’d be socially acceptable to flush his heid in the lavvie but the game was over and we were halfway up Easter Road by the time I came to a decision.

hibby rae
27-11-2022, 06:02 PM
I guess you have London teams having several derbies so Hibs v Spartans can stay a derby but hard to argue Hibs v Hearts isn’t the main derby.

Spartans are just stuck in the middle / lower half of the SWPL causing the occasional upset then losing to teams like Hamilton!

It was only a matter of time before Hibs and Hearts overtook Spartans due to funding and wouldn’t be surprised if Hearts beat Spartans next time they play.

Very good of you to let it stay a derby 😂😂 Hibs overtook Spartans a long time ago, but they were always one of the toughest games.

Spartans are a very difficult team to play against. So I wouldn't be putting a tenner on Hearts just yet. They have a brilliant youth set up, Micky came through them for example, so will continue to be a very tough fixture.

27-11-2022, 06:06 PM
Very good of you to let it stay a derby 😂😂 Hibs overtook Spartans a long time ago, but they were always one of the toughest games.

Spartans are a very difficult team to play against. So I wouldn't be putting a tenner on Hearts just yet. They have a brilliant youth set up, Micky came through them for example, so will continue to be a very tough fixture.

Micky used to be at Hearts! She was only at Spartans briefly and was badly coached there so moved on.

Spartans didn’t develop her!

Spartans youth set up is basically all the ex Hibs Development players who couldn’t get a game at Hibs!!

hibby rae
27-11-2022, 06:06 PM
One thing the women's game normally has is a more family friendly atmosphere.

I'm not sure having the singing section behind the goals, and the Jambo version in the South is that great for the game tbh.

Wee fannies chucking flares when they score and bringing the tribal hate of the men's game is not of benefit to it.

27-11-2022, 06:09 PM

I'm not sure having the singing section behind the goals, and the Jambo version in the South is that great for the game tbh.

Wee fannies chucking flares when they score and bringing the tribal hate of the men's game is not of benefit to it.
I did think that a bit. I enjoy getting away from that a bit.

But there was a lot of atmosphere about the place and it felt like a big game.

Im totally unsure.

27-11-2022, 06:13 PM

Think the players would always appreciate the feeling it's beginning to mean a bit more to people, beyond the polite applause and people barely getting out their seats when a goal is scored.

The ultras element and any of those typical excesses feels pretty crudely tacked on. Doesn't really fit the profile of the games - fine line between progressing the atmosphere to something more engaging, and it being a more synthetic copycat of what happens at men's games.

27-11-2022, 06:15 PM

Agreed, loads of young kids and songs with the F word prominent. No need in a game like this. Our lot were destroyed in the singing stakes by their pink chums too which didn't help. A few Jambos round us in the west lower which was absolutely fine as far as I am concerned

Musselbound
27-11-2022, 06:16 PM
An exciting match between two well matched teams. Thomas helped turn the game back Hibs way when she came on. A real live wire. I'd like to see some of our men's team looked that fired up.

Trying to claim this is not a derby just looks like another attempt to discredit the women's game to me.

LewysGot2
27-11-2022, 06:18 PM

Yup, renditions of the Gorgie Boys and other songs no really fit for an audience more akin to a family night at the panto was a bit off. Seeing as the wee dafties in their end probably broke their Easter Road virginity today - and almost certainly their women's game virginity - it showed.
Hearts fans near us decided to move when Hibs scored, not because of any aggro but because they suddenly realised it probably wasn't going to be much fun if Hibs won.

The wee fandans in the away end headed north down Easter Road at the end and were physically shoving and barging into the Hibs fans they pushed their way through, shouting abuse as they went. Most of the folk they did it to were women or girls. real heroes, idiots.

LewysGot2
27-11-2022, 06:21 PM
Meant to say...Lucy Parry is fantastic. Considering her age she is going to go far. Pity it won't be at Hibs but well done whoever persuaded Liverpool to send her to us on loan.

hibby rae
27-11-2022, 06:21 PM
Agreed, loads of young kids and songs with the F word prominent. No need in a game like this. Our lot were destroyed in the singing stakes by their pink chums too which didn't help. A few Jambos round us in the west lower which was absolutely fine as far as I am concerned

Thought that too, but then again away teams usually try a bit harder.

hibby rae
27-11-2022, 06:22 PM
Meant to say...Lucy Parry is fantastic. Considering her age she is going to go far. Pity it won't be at Hibs but well done whoever persuaded Liverpool to send her to us on loan.

Brilliant player. A joy to watch on the ball.

27-11-2022, 06:25 PM

She stuck out a mile. By far the best player on the park. I'd love to have a full back with her attributes in the men's team. So annoying that a young lass can be so two footed and seasoned pros have to turn back all the time to get it on their good foot. Her fitness was exceptional too as she did everything at pace for the full 90 mins.

27-11-2022, 06:27 PM
Yup, renditions of the Gorgie Boys and other songs no really fit for an audience more akin to a family night at the panto was a bit off. Seeing as the wee dafties in their end probably broke their Easter Road virginity today - and almost certainly their women's game virginity - it showed.
Hearts fans near us decided to move when Hibs scored, not because of any aggro but because they suddenly realised it probably wasn't going to be much fun if Hibs won.

The wee fandans in the away end headed north down Easter Road at the end and were physically shoving and barging into the Hibs fans they pushed their way through, shouting abuse as they went. Most of the folk they did it to were women or girls. real heroes, misogynistic idiots.

Sadly Scottish “ned culture” - other countries can have rivalries without fans acting like idiots.

hibby rae
27-11-2022, 06:29 PM
Think the players would always appreciate the feeling it's beginning to mean a bit more to people, beyond the polite applause and people barely getting out their seats when a goal is scored.

The ultras element and any of those typical excesses feels pretty crudely tacked on. Doesn't really fit the profile of the games - fine line between progressing the atmosphere to something more engaging, and it being a more synthetic copycat of what happens at men's games.

Seems poorly thought out. The game will grow but it should be allowed to grow a different way from the men's gamd. Don't need that ***** that is here to stay there.

I very much doubt the wee fannies going up ER after the game would have the bottle to try that at other fixtures where the crowd isn't mostly families and girls.

Donegal Hibby
27-11-2022, 06:45 PM
Article on game
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/record-swpl-crowd-at-easter-road-as-hibs-beat-hearts-on-penalties-in-first-capital-cup-3933173

LewysGot2
27-11-2022, 06:48 PM
She stuck out a mile. By far the best player on the park. I'd love to have a full back with her attributes in the men's team. So annoying that a young lass can be so two footed and seasoned pros have to turn back all the time to get it on their good foot. Her fitness was exceptional too as she did everything at pace for the full 90 mins.

Genuinely a talented player. Pace, reads the game well, tenacious, two footed, drops the shoulder and goes either way. Really impressive

27-11-2022, 06:55 PM
Micky used to be at Hearts! She was only at Spartans briefly and was badly coached there so moved on.

Spartans didn’t develop her!

Spartans youth set up is basically all the ex Hibs Development players who couldn’t get a game at Hibs!!

Your last sentence is nonsense. A bunch of the old hibs dev went there years ago and most are now long gone. That’s got nothing to do with the youth set up. Which as Hibby Rae rightly points out is miles ahead of anything Hibs do now.

27-11-2022, 06:59 PM

Agreed. Ultras have no place at Womens football.

27-11-2022, 07:06 PM
Agreed. Ultras have no place at Womens football.

Only saw the penalties but the players seemed to quite appreciate their input at the end.

27-11-2022, 07:08 PM
Fantastic stuff - well done the Hibees Girls!

LewysGot2
27-11-2022, 07:14 PM
Only saw the penalties but the players seemed to quite appreciate their input at the end.

Ours read the room. It was the pink bus shelter dafties that didn't...

lugz
27-11-2022, 07:20 PM
Another enjoyable evening watching the ladies team, like has been mentioned before there is a real family feel to the games, my two youngest daughters (4 & 5) were at ER for the first time and they loved it.
The womens team really are a classy group, always got time for their fans, always happy to take photos, sign autographs, chat etc. Having my oldest daughter in the girls academy she really looks up to these women and they're a great inspiration for her.

27-11-2022, 07:26 PM
Only saw the penalties but the players seemed to quite appreciate their input at the end. That was where all the photographers were.

27-11-2022, 07:41 PM
Thought Hinds was excellent today, as was the young left back first half. Should have been 3 up by half time, thought the girls played well first half.

Great to see them win the cup and the celebrations at the end.

27-11-2022, 07:59 PM
Your last sentence is nonsense. A bunch of the old hibs dev went there years ago and most are now long gone. That’s got nothing to do with the youth set up. Which as Hibby Rae rightly points out is miles ahead of anything Hibs do now.

Don’t think it’s nonsense.

What players have Spartans actually developed ? They seem to get other players who don’t get a game elsewhere turn up and ask to sign as National coaches want them in SWPL 1. Ex Rangers / Hibs players etc.

Today they had a squad of 20 and think about 2 actually came through the youth pathway.

hibby rae
27-11-2022, 08:48 PM
Another take away from today for me is it just reaffirms my belief our coach isn't good enough.

Watching the game I thought our players were better but Hearts seemed to have more organisation and a plan in place.

With the level of investment seen, more than Hearts have had so far, we should be above them in the league

Malonga's Cat
27-11-2022, 08:58 PM
Another take away from today for me is it just reaffirms my belief our coach isn't good enough.

Watching the game I thought our players were better but Hearts seemed to have more organisation and a plan in place.

With the level of investment seen, more than Hearts have had so far, we should be above them in the league

Totally agree with this. Our quality is clearly there, we're just not seeing the results so far this season. Without the penalty win lift - that was 2 points dropped against a much poorer side.

Also agree about the wee hearts dafties bringing their "patter" from the men's game - cringe.

LewysGot2
27-11-2022, 08:59 PM

Agree. The club have not replaced the two predecessors adequately. It was an unambitious appointment and remains so

27-11-2022, 09:05 PM

I thought the game was screaming out for Nor Mustafa. We were winning very little from set pieces and her height would have let us make the more of those.

HNA12
27-11-2022, 09:15 PM
Good to see Crystal Thomas grab a goal today, one of the players sponsored by Hibs.net. :thumbsup:

hibby rae
27-11-2022, 09:22 PM
I thought the game was screaming out for Nor Mustafa. We were winning very little from set pieces and her height would have let us make the more of those.

Ellis called her back from warming up in the 90th min after the smash in the box, but she never got on.

I thought we were being overrun a bit in the mid but never made any changes to challenge that really.

27-11-2022, 09:27 PM
Ellis called her back from warming up in the 90th min after the smash in the box, but she never got on.

I thought we were being overrun a bit in the mid but never made any changes to challenge that really.
I’ve seen McAlonie play in the middle before and really liked her energy in there. I don’t know the squad well enough to know who can also play on the left mind you. Thought she still had a good game.

If the collision in the box hadn’t happened I think we’d have won 2-1. The momentum was with us and Hearts were panicking.

Bridge hibs
28-11-2022, 05:48 AM
Good to see Crystal Thomas grab a goal today, one of the players sponsored by Hibs.net. :thumbsup:Well done, she is a bit of a live wire, certainly looked up for it

28-11-2022, 07:41 AM
I met my sons at the club shop and we watched the crowd gathering outside and within the East Stand with interest.

Many more ethnicities than normal which more accurately represents what we see in the streets of Leith these days.

On our left we had eight Asian men, women and a baby. On our right, a group of adult women. Two mum and daughter groups in front. Father, son and daughter groups behind.

All of the kids and most of the adults had at least one of a Hibs scarf, hat or strip on. They all looked to be engrossed in the game and got really animated near the end when Hibs were striving for the win.

Something is changing in football these days. The crowd scenes from last year's Women’s World Cup and this year's men's World Cup prove the true international and wide demographic appeal of football.

It was ironic how such an enjoyable Sunday at Easter Road contrasted with a fairly dismal Saturday against Middlesbrough. Also ironic was yet another appearance on Saturday by the English Defence League/ North East Infidels who love a day out to meet up with their SDL cronies.

All sad ugly 'lads' of a certain age who are dinosaurs facing extinction. Irrelevant in the modern-day football experience, they will end up reeking of pish in a nursing home in ten years time whilst the women's game continues to grow.

This weekend truly did feel like a watershed moment.

28-11-2022, 08:49 AM
I met my sons at the club shop and we watched the crowd gathering outside and within the East Stand with interest.

Many more ethnicities than normal which more accurately represents what we see in the streets of Leith these days.

On our left we had eight Asian men, women and a baby. On our right, a group of adult women. Two mum and daughter groups in front. Father, son and daughter groups behind.

All of the kids and most of the adults had at least one of a Hibs scarf, hat or strip on. They all looked to be engrossed in the game and got really animated near the end when Hibs were striving for the win.

Something is changing in football these days. The crowd scenes from last year's Women’s World Cup and this year's men's World Cup prove the true international and wide demographic appeal of football.

It was ironic how such an enjoyable Sunday at Easter Road contrasted with a fairly dismal Saturday against Middlesbrough. Also ironic was yet another appearance on Saturday by the English Defence League/ North East Infidels who love a day out to meet up with their SDL cronies.

All sad ugly 'lads' of a certain age who are dinosaurs facing extinction. Irrelevant in the modern-day football experience, they will end up reeking of pish in a nursing home in ten years time whilst the women's game continues to grow.

This weekend truly did feel like a watershed moment.

This for me is how we grow the game. It’s got to be about families. Cheap family tickets, meal deals at the ground, entertainment on and off the pitch. If it becomes more and more like the mens game it will struggle. The fact that Rangers v Celtic already has that ugly element is not great and a real shame.

hibby rae
28-11-2022, 10:31 AM
This for me is how we grow the game. It’s got to be about families. Cheap family tickets, meal deals at the ground, entertainment on and off the pitch. If it becomes more and more like the mens game it will struggle. The fact that Rangers v Celtic already has that ugly element is not great and a real shame.

Yep, even more reason to hope those wee fannies were just a one-off yesterday. I thought I'd have a quick look on JKB to see the reactions to them on their, the people that commented seem to think they are the dog's bollocks.

Not a surprise Rangers v Celtic were gonna have it, given the history of their fans at youth games as well.

LewysGot2
28-11-2022, 06:34 PM

Agreed. There’s a place for it sitting nicely alongside the men’s team and the development team. Anyone wanting to change the vibe of the Women’s game to mirror the tribal stuff of the men’s are not only going to dissuade families from attending but put the players off as well. The optics of a group of baying males howling at the moon as a teenage female player goes to take a corner in front of them was not good. It really wasn’t. We need female participation in sport for a wide range of reasons not least self esteem, mental and physical health. It’s made huge strides as a platform for women’s health and girl’s health let’s not turn the clock back because some people want it to be a product comparable to the men’s in every respect.

I see the head coach is on social media calling out folk who have criticised yesterday- haven’t seen what he’s angered by so no idea. However, it’s probably the usual rhetoric no doubt. The women’s game is a different pace and is not as powerful but it’s entertaining in a way the men’s game lacks. Players trying to stay on their feet, lack of cheating and gamesmanship, no time wasting of note. Some really promising players - you’ll do well to see a brighter prospect at Easter Road or at any Scottish ground than Lucy Parry. What a genuinely talented player. It’s a privilege to watch her. She’s got a big future in front of her and hopefully will graduate from England U19 to full Lioness. I hope a lot of the kids there yesterday- girls and boys - were inspired.