View Full Version : David Martindale

25-11-2022, 01:52 AM
A lot been said about Martindale and whether fans would/wouldn’t want him at their club.

Good interview here with the Open goal lot - https://youtu.be/X-BWwDFz3s0

Comes across really well and just seems the type that gets Scottish football.

Seems to have done and continues to do a hell of alot for Livi.

Incredible story where he is now.

HibeeHibernia
25-11-2022, 03:52 AM
A lot been said about Martindale and whether fans would/wouldn’t want him at their club.

Good interview here with the Open goal lot - https://youtu.be/X-BWwDFz3s0

Comes across really well and just seems the type that gets Scottish football.

Seems to have done and continues to do a hell of alot for Livi.

Incredible story where he is now.

We could do a lot worse than give this guy a go but I understand also why fans don't want him :flag:

DanishJohn
25-11-2022, 08:49 AM
We could do a lot worse than give this guy a go but I understand also why fans don't want him :flag:

Totally agree with you on this. Lets give present manager a chance and see if he can turn things around. If it turns out things go from bad to worse and it looks like yet again the powers that be have made another dreadful choice during selection process then yes I would most certainly try for David Martindale.

Just have a look what he is doing at Livingston. He knows the Scottish game inside out. He has never played in the Scottish leagues other than junior level which makes his success all the more remarkable. I am tired of us bringing in guys with fancy dan ideas who talk the talk but fail miserably in walking the walk.

I accept what he done in his past is shameful but he has been judged (and accepted) his punishment. He has tried very hard in turning his life around.

If we profess to be a caring and inclusive club should the door not be open to him. ?

In the words of Alexander Pope To err is human, to forgive divine.

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 09:54 AM
A BIG NO from me .can't stick the guy , don't even think he's that good a manager either and wouldn't want him anywhere near Hibernian football club . Would be very like a Butcher appointment.

25-11-2022, 10:05 AM
A BIG NO from me .can't stick the guy , don't even think he's that good a manager either and wouldn't want him anywhere near Hibernian football club . Would be very like a Butcher appointment.

Wait, you don't think that a guy who has had the lowest budget in this league for years but has consistently finished well above the relegation places and taken them to a League cup final is not a good manager? They have been and the have looked like a top 6 side for the last couple of years, they have beaten the huns and Celtc home and away and consistently beat us and hearts, but his is not a good manager? I wish we had such a bad manager!!:rolleyes:

25-11-2022, 10:15 AM
Funnily enough I bumped into Martindale in the supermarket the other day - had his Livi training kit on so was obviously him.

I said hello and stated I was a Hibby - to which he replied - "Aw that's a shame - no only joking" or words to that effect.

I took that as I thought it was intended - as a bit of bants refering to our poor form of late - and congratulated him on what has been a quite amazing career in football management thus far.

I'm not pushing for a new manager at this stage - but if I was I would be happy for Martindale to be considered. I know he has a murky past and has done time for it - but if you look at his story since then it's one of remorse & redemption. He seems a reformed character and for me that earns him a clean slate and fair crack at the whip.

25-11-2022, 10:21 AM
Wait, you don't think that a guy who has had the lowest budget in this league for years but has consistently finished well above the relegation places and taken them to a League cup final is not a good manager? They have been and the have looked like a top 6 side for the last couple of years, they have beaten the huns and Celtc home and away and consistently beat us and hearts, but his is not a good manager? I wish we had such a bad manager!!:rolleyes:

Do we know they have the lowest budget in the league?

Halmyre Hibee
25-11-2022, 10:26 AM
Great interview. This guy has had a lot of life experiences good and bad but he knows his football having been involved at junior and senior levels. He is hard working and seems to get the best out of his players on very low budgets. Says it how it is and a great fit for Livingston. No reason why he couldn’t do the same at a club with more resources.

25-11-2022, 10:33 AM
It’s a tough one, I’m all for second chances do he would tick that box but it’s bad enough watching Livi’s style of play twice a season, never mind 18

But they do get results and isn’t that what every fan wants??

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 10:45 AM
How do you know he has the lowest budget in the league? Terry Butcher had Inverness doing well and in the top 6 too , though I never thought he was a good manager either. They play on one of the worst pitches in the premier league, I never thought there football was that great to watch as well but that's just imo . He was born in Govan and is Hun .his past history of organised crime , large scale supply of cocaine as well as money laundering , least said about that the better. If we were needing a manager I'd hope we would aim a little higher than that but if your happy with Martindale that's fine it's your opinion , me nah don't want a ex criminal , Hun fan whose footballs rank !

nickwhibs
25-11-2022, 11:20 AM
I’d be happy with Martindale at Hibs. Willing to stick by Johnson for now though

25-11-2022, 11:20 AM

A 41% win ratio at Livi is definitely not to be sniffed at.

25-11-2022, 11:31 AM
Frankly that's a bit of an OTT response.

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 11:34 AM
Frankly that's a bit of an OTT response.
In what way ?

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 11:41 AM
A 41% win ratio at Livi is definitely not to be sniffed at.
Terry Butcher also had over a 41% win ratio at Inverness before he came to Hibs , btw the " not to be sniffed" part of your post is quite witty of you considering who we are talking about .

Hibees1973
25-11-2022, 11:48 AM
Terry Butcher also had over a 41% win ratio at Inverness before he came to Hibs , btw the " not to be sniffed" part of your post is quite witty of you considering who we are talking about .

Yes, I noticed that as well.

The thing with Martindale, is that if Livi go 5 - 6 games without a win nobody give a ***t.

If he were to come to Hibs and went on a run like that, unfortunately most people at ER and on here would not be as forgiving. Much as he seems a reformed character his grim past would become another stick to beat him with along with poor results.

He comes with baggage we don't need and because of this hopefully, for me, he should never be at Hibs.

25-11-2022, 12:11 PM

Butcher had a season in the Championship with ICT, which would skew his win percentage considerably.

Paulie Walnuts
25-11-2022, 12:15 PM
Butcher had a season in the Championship with ICT, which would skew his win percentage considerably.

And he also had 5 jobs before Inverness where he was pretty crap in them all.

Martindale has had one job and done very, very well. There’s no evidence to show he’s a crap manager.

25-11-2022, 12:16 PM
And he also had 5 jobs before Inverness where he was pretty crap in them all.

Martindale has had one job and done very, very well. There’s no evidence to show he’s a crap manager.

chippy
25-11-2022, 12:26 PM
If we’re considering Martindale on here, why not Malky Mackay. Has he done his penance yet?

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 12:28 PM

So if Butcher hadn't had a bad year at Inverness his win ratio would be even higher still than Martindale's ( interesting) As to the other poster saying he had jobs before Inverness and didn't do well ( this is also true ). But when he refers to Martindale only having one job ,do you not think being in prison for being a convicted drug dealer and money launderer had something to do with that fact ?

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 12:38 PM
If we’re considering Martindale on here, why not Malky Mackay. Has he done his penance yet?
Martindale imo has done much worse than McKay . Martindale's right up there with Goodwillie for me and even discussing him as a future Hibs manager makes me feel nauseous .We are meant to be a family club yet here we are discussing potentially hiring a convicted drug dealer :rolleyes:

25-11-2022, 12:39 PM
I think the thing with martindale is livi suits him, he has a massive influence around the club, he pretty much has a say in everything and that’s likely why it works , that’s not going to be the case if he moves to a big club

Livi are also very different in they know what they are and have fairly low expectation for performance on and off the pitch . Hibs or another big club be a different beast

I’m saying that… we have tried the fancy managers with big ideas, maybe just need to get back to basics . Him with Marv should a position become available wouldn’t be the worst shout we have ever had

Paulie Walnuts
25-11-2022, 12:48 PM
So if Butcher hadn't had a bad year at Inverness his win ratio would be even higher still than Martindale's ( interesting) As to the other poster saying he had jobs before Inverness and didn't do well ( this is also true ). But when he refers to Martindale only having one job ,do you not think being in prison for being a convicted drug dealer and money launderer had something to do with that fact ?

I don’t doubt it has plenty to do with that fact. I think that’s a completely separate thing to him being a good football manager though.

25-11-2022, 01:07 PM

The league games in Martindale's win ratio of 41% are all SPL ones. So simply saying that Butcher has the same win ratio doesn't tell the whole story.

Butcher has 21 wins that were achieved in the Championship. When you remove those from his record, his win percentage is lower.

Torto7
25-11-2022, 01:07 PM

Aye I was about to post the same. Hed be the expert on sniffing. Some folk want an ex drug dealer and others want a racist. Deary me.

25-11-2022, 01:10 PM
Martindale imo has done much worse than McKay . Martindale's right up there with Goodwillie for me and even discussing him as a future Hibs manager makes me feel nauseous .We are meant to be a family club yet here we are discussing potentially hiring a convicted drug dealer :rolleyes:

This is where I am. I would think king and hard about renewing if he was appointed. I know I shouldn’t care, but I do……can you imagine the reaction from the Merricks. They would have a field day!

25-11-2022, 01:11 PM
Aye I was about to post the same. Hed be the expert on sniffing. Some folk want an ex drug dealer and others want a racist. Deary me.

If we could get a racist drug dealer that won us games, i'd settle for that.

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 01:13 PM
Aye ,nice image for a family club like Hibernian that would be. :rolleyes:

25-11-2022, 01:14 PM

Thank **** our club holds itself to a higher standard.

25-11-2022, 01:15 PM
With the utmost respect, he’d be daft to consider us and we’d be daft to consider him.

If he goes on a five or six game sticky spell at Livi, it doesn’t matter too much. He can see that out and survive. Pressure would be massively on with us if that happens plus the expectation from some of attractive football which his Livi side don’t do. Add in Iain Gordon’s Recruitment Roulette and he’d be daft.

On the other foot for the same reasons he’d not be a good fit.

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 01:16 PM

Maybe we should sign David Goodwillie to score the goals has well ?

zitelli62
25-11-2022, 01:21 PM
Would you accept him if he was a mass murderer, I know I wouldn't who knows how many people got ill or died due to his the drug's he was selling.
It's a no from me.

25-11-2022, 01:22 PM
This is where I am. I would think king and hard about renewing if he was appointed. I know I shouldn’t care, but I do……can you imagine the reaction from the Merricks. They would have a field day!

The same Merricks that appointed a bloke who had sex with a 15 yr old.

25-11-2022, 01:23 PM
Maybe we should sign David Goodwillie to score the goals has well ?

He's a little too old now.

25-11-2022, 01:23 PM
Martindale is perfectly suited to Livingston and they’re perfectly suited to him. He’s in control of everything there and it works for him and works for them. Anywhere he was to go would be a completely different way of working for him.

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 01:36 PM
I don’t doubt it has plenty to do with that fact. I think that’s a completely separate thing to him being a good football manager though.
Your calling him a good manager? This is his 3rd year at Livy , 6th place and bottom 6 ,won 3 more games than he's lost .Callum Davidson has had a 5th place and a bottom 6 , he's also won 2 cups so he must be a better or at least as good a manager as Martindale ? Ain't got a conviction for drug dealing either which is a big plus in my book!

25-11-2022, 02:44 PM

I think we all just want a good football manager and are discussing whether one potential candidate merits consideration.

HibeeHibernia
25-11-2022, 02:48 PM
Totally agree with you on this. Lets give present manager a chance and see if he can turn things around. If it turns out things go from bad to worse and it looks like yet again the powers that be have made another dreadful choice during selection process then yes I would most certainly try for David Martindale.

Just have a look what he is doing at Livingston. He knows the Scottish game inside out. He has never played in the Scottish leagues other than junior level which makes his success all the more remarkable. I am tired of us bringing in guys with fancy dan ideas who talk the talk but fail miserably in walking the walk.

I accept what he done in his past is shameful but he has been judged (and accepted) his punishment. He has tried very hard in turning his life around.

If we profess to be a caring and inclusive club should the door not be open to him. ?

In the words of Alexander Pope To err is human, to forgive divine.

:top marks totally agree with all you've said there mate what I like about him is he seems to be very street smart and somehow manages to bring in better quality than us on a shoestring budget. I reckon LJ will be shown the door by the end of January so for me he has to be top of the list.

25-11-2022, 02:54 PM
Your calling him a good manager? This is his 3rd year at Livy , 6th place and bottom 6 ,won 3 more games than he's lost .Callum Davidson has had a 5th place and a bottom 6 , he's also won 2 cups so he must be a better or at least as good a manager as Martindale ? Ain't got a conviction for drug dealing either which is a big plus in my book!

Regardless of his past he has proven beyond all reasonable doubt that he IS a good football manager - at least at the level of Livingston. Hibs would be a step up and it remains to be seen if that success could be repeated at ER.

Davidson would also be a good shout if we were looking for a new manager - accepted he has no baggage but similar to DM he still has plenty to prove.

HibeeHibernia
25-11-2022, 02:56 PM

We want a manager who can win games something our current one is incapable of doing. At least the drug dealer knows his best 11 mate. :flag:

25-11-2022, 03:12 PM
We want a manager who can win games something our current one is incapable of doing. At least the drug dealer knows his best 11 mate. :flag:

Our current manager HAS shown he is capable of winning games. Sure he's on a losing streak but no need to reinvent history.

25-11-2022, 03:14 PM

Some Hibs fans simply do not deserve success.

HibeeHibernia
25-11-2022, 03:21 PM
Our current manager HAS shown he is capable of winning games. Sure he's on a losing streak but no need to reinvent history.

against ten men he has aye

HibeeHibernia
25-11-2022, 03:22 PM
Some Hibs fans simply do not deserve success.

who are the fans that are entitled to it mate lol?

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 03:48 PM
Regardless of his past he has proven beyond all reasonable doubt that he IS a good football manager - at least at the level of Livingston. Hibs would be a step up and it remains to be seen if that success could be repeated at ER.

Davidson would also be a good shout if we were looking for a new manager - accepted he has no baggage but similar to DM he still has plenty to prove.
Two seasons he's had , a middle of the table finish and a bottom 6 . Hard team to beat on a pitch that's so shockingly bad that it works in there favour , couple of big cloggers in there team too . Good manager ? Don't think so . Probably agree he's found his level though another Butcher or Williamson sort of manager . Id actually rather Jack Ross back who had over a 48% rate at us . I'm not disregarding his past cause it's one of the main issues here .David Goodwillie was hounded out of Raith rovers for his horrible crime and that was against one person ( and rightly so) .How many people and families might there have been effected by Martindale's drug dealing ways ? He's one that should have been hounded out of there too. A manager coming into a club is supposed to Unite the support ,not divide it . Very surprised some Hibs fans on here want a Govan , Hun loving junkie dealer as manager , I'd rather Craig Levein myself.

DanishJohn
25-11-2022, 03:52 PM

OK then. I get your point about his past. Mary Magdalene was a prostitute but Jesus took a chance on her.
Another thing is the admission of guilt. Did Goodwillie ever admit guilt?
We live in a world where people convicted of terrorism become leaders of countries and hold high office.
It's only a fitba club we are talking about here.

Don't know if you have heard of Bobby Kinloch ? Anyhow if you have never heard of him let me enlighten you. He was the Hibs player who scored the winner at ER to knock out Barcelona. He was born in Govan and raised a Rangers supporter.
Jim Craig and Joe McBride ,two Celtic legends. Born in Govan.
Alex Miller. Ex Rangers player who led us to glory in 1991 in LC Win

Finally, here's two names from the past. William P Harrower and Willie McFarlane.
Mr Harrower owned Hibs (when they were a big club) Willie McFarlane played in the Hibs team that went into the European Cup 1955 and a very fine Hibs manager late 60's (signed Shades among others.) I doubt you would have wanted these two anywhere near our club because they were bookmakers.
Gambling has horrific consequences for some individuals and families, yes?

Need to draw a line somewhere. I just want to see a good Hibs team.

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 05:42 PM
OK then. I get your point about his past. Mary Magdalene was a prostitute but Jesus took a chance on her.
We live in a world where people convicted of terrorism become leaders of countries and hold high office.

Don't know if you have heard of Bobby Kinloch ? Anyhow if you have never heard of him let me enlighten you. He was the Hibs player who scored the winner at ER to knock out Barcelona. He was born in Govan and raised a Rangers supporter.

Finally, here's two names from the past. William P Harrower and Willie McFarlane.
Mr Harrower owned Hibs (when they were a big club) Willie McFarlane played in the Hibs team that went into the European Cup 1955 and a very fine Hibs manager late 60's (signed Shades among others.) I doubt you would have wanted these two anywhere near our club because they were bookmakers.

Firstly I liked Alex Miller, think he managed Hibs in some of its worst times and don't really mind if someone is from Govan or a Hun as long as they are doing there best at Hibs . You mentioned Mary Magdalene, don't think she killed anyone , Martindale's drug dealing might have though and you mention " giving a chance " what if this is the case that a families lost a loved one due to his drug dealing , do they get a second chance too? .It is also easy to admit your guilt and say sorry after you've been caught , I know Goodwillie hasn't and Martindale has but for me both crimes are right up there with some of the worst and I put the two of them in the same category of being two total ****bags which brings me to your comment " it's only a fitba club we are talking about " ,it's our football club with a great history and tradition , a family club that's got morals and principles which why I don't want some ex drug dealer who obviously hasn't got any ! "Not to be sniffed " and now you with "draw a line " quote,all rather fitting for the David Martindale thread ,don't you think? There's all sorts of addictions in the world ' bookmakers was in one today for a bet and left wouldn't hold them in the same light as a drug dealer out pushing S**t on young kids though. We all want to see a good Hibs team but come on we talking about a ex convicted drug dealer (Martindale) who's got a wee team mid table , hardly Pepe Guardiola we are talking about.

Hibiza
25-11-2022, 05:47 PM

Losing streak - massive understatement.

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 06:12 PM
[QUOTE=Hibiza;7173202]Losing streak - massive understatement.[/QUOTE
David Martindale has been on winless runs too . mainly 5 and 6 matches, suppose the good thing About having him as manager he knows ways to turn us all into happy clappers again :clapper: and the best part is we won't even care what's going on🤪

25-11-2022, 06:17 PM
[QUOTE=Hibiza;7173202]Losing streak - massive understatement.[/QUOTE
David Martindale has been on winless runs too . mainly 5 and 6 matches, suppose the good thing About having him as manager he knows ways to turn us all into happy clappers again :clapper: and the best part is we won't even care what's going on🤪

He will put it all on the line

25-11-2022, 09:59 PM
Great interview , if he was at hibs with a big say in transfers etc we would be a hard team to beat , 2 transfer windows

25-11-2022, 10:10 PM
Two seasons he's had , a middle of the table finish and a bottom 6 . Hard team to beat on a pitch that's so shockingly bad that it works in there favour , couple of big cloggers in there team too . Good manager ? Don't think so . Probably agree he's found his level though another Butcher or Williamson sort of manager . Id actually rather Jack Ross back who had over a 48% rate at us . I'm not disregarding his past cause it's one of the main issues here .David Goodwillie was hounded out of Raith rovers for his horrible crime and that was against one person ( and rightly so) .How many people and families might there have been effected by Martindale's drug dealing ways ? He's one that should have been hounded out of there too. A manager coming into a club is supposed to Unite the support ,not divide it . Very surprised some Hibs fans on here want a Govan , Hun loving junkie dealer as manager , I'd rather Craig Levein myself.
You don’t seem to know much about Martindale at all. He’s been pulling all the football strings at Livi for a lot longer than he’s officially been the manager. The job he’s done there has been outstanding. You clearly don’t like the guy for his past misdemeanours. To compare him to Butcher was a nonsense point.

25-11-2022, 10:33 PM
I’m probably in the minority but don’t think Livi play a brutal style or are ‘cloggers’.

Devlin at right back is very good going forward, both centre halves are solid and have been linked with moved away.

Centre of the park Holt was and still is a decent player, Omeonga was someone a lot on here were desperate for us to sign again and then Pitman is a very good box to box player. Stephen Kelly is another in midfield who is a very good combative player and one id have took here.

Front 3 they’ve Bruce Anderson who is small but still scores alot, Nouble who despite his size is very good on the ball and Andy Shinnie. They also have Bahoumboula who is a very tricky winger and creative.

Just because a team go slightly more direct, as in centre halves take two touches and get the ball to the forward players isn’t a bad thing. I tear my hair out at times with how little our forward players touch it compared to Porteous and Hanlon.

Just because he manages to get them all fighting and scrapping for each other and the team surely can’t be classed as a bad thing?

3 points ahead of us with a game in hand.

I’m not one that wants Johnson gone btw, I think he’s a good manager and needs time and windows and genuinely think he’ll make us consistent top 4.

But Martindale deserves a huge amount of credit.

Brings players in for penny’s and from conference leagues down south and makes them better players. Obileye, Nouble, Dykes, etc had never been heard of and have done brilliant.

Signing guys like Ambrose, Shinnie, Bahoumbule and Anderson show he wants match winners and flair players too.

You can only deal the card you’ve been dealt. His was Livi who have a 4g pitch and he’s doing brilliant. Can’t discredit him or make excuses for his success.

25-11-2022, 10:55 PM
I would be so disinterested in Hibs under Martindale. Can't understand why anyone would want him in charge.

We have a good one in LJ and he needs the time and the transfer windows to make this work.

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 11:21 PM
You don’t seem to know much about Martindale at all. He’s been pulling all the football strings at Livi for a lot longer than he’s officially been the manager. The job he’s done there has been outstanding. You clearly don’t like the guy for his past misdemeanours. To compare him to Butcher was a nonsense point.
Not really all that keen to get to know much about convicted drug dealers If you want the truth and if he's pulling so many strings there maybe he should pull one to get a decent pitch which would enhance the quality of football there though I don't think that would suit Livingston or David Martindale. Callum Davidson finished ahead of him in league and won two cups , Does that mean he's done a world class job then ? Your right about two things , I don't like the guy for two reasons , one I don't see him any better than Jack Ross or Lee johnson, he's doing ok with a wee team keeping them up the last 2 season ( 6th and bottom 6 ) much the same as butcher did with Inverness which is why we went for him and we all know how that turned out . Secondly his misdemeanors as you call them are probably in top five worst crimes going and I don't want anyone like that at our club . Your also right that it was nonsense to compare butcher with him too , butcher was of course a dedicated football and international player and family man who wasn't involved in drug dealing and money laundering .

HibeeHibernia
26-11-2022, 02:18 AM
Not really all that keen to get to know much about convicted drug dealers If you want the truth and if he's pulling so many strings there maybe he should pull one to get a decent pitch which would enhance the quality of football there though I don't think that would suit Livingston or David Martindale. Callum Davidson finished ahead of him in league and won two cups , Does that mean he's done a world class job then ? Your right about two things , I don't like the guy for two reasons , one I don't see him any better than Jack Ross or Lee johnson, he's doing ok with a wee team keeping them up the last 2 season ( 6th and bottom 6 ) much the same as butcher did with Inverness which is why we went for him and we all know how that turned out . Secondly his misdemeanors as you call them are probably in top five worst crimes going and I don't want anyone like that at our club . Your also right that it was nonsense to compare butcher with him too , butcher was of course a dedicated football and international player and family man who wasn't involved in drug dealing and money laundering .

Martindale and Davidson are both better managers than the one we have in the dugout the now. I'm sure if martindale had us winning every week and challenging the old firm for league titles you'd soon forget his drug dealing past.

26-11-2022, 06:44 AM
DM is on to a good thing at Livi, I’m genuinely not sure he’d even want to move unless he’s a boyhood Hun and they offered him a job.

He’s built a solid, competitive team but he’s doing so under no pressure whatsoever. The fact the livi are in this division is an achievement in itself, especially when you look at some of the bigger clubs that are struggling (Dunfermline, Falkirk).

I don’t want him anywhere near ER, mainly because of his past but I also think it would be a butcher style appointment and would be a total disaster.

26-11-2022, 06:45 AM

What are your thoughts on having players at the club who were done for drink driving

26-11-2022, 08:54 AM
What are your thoughts on having players at the club who were done for drink driving

And past legends?

26-11-2022, 08:58 AM
Martindale and Davidson are both better managers than the one we have in the dugout the now. I'm sure if martindale had us winning every week and challenging the old firm for league titles you'd soon forget his drug dealing past.

Johnson is a much better manager than them.

HibeeHibernia
26-11-2022, 11:50 AM
Johnson is a much better manager than them.

We'll see if he is in the next block of games cause so far this season he hasn't shown it.

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2022, 12:06 PM
It's breaking the law so still a crime and anyone doing it deserves to be punished, surprised you didn't know this ! .We have had Latapty sacked , Joe Newell fined and doing a rehabilitation scheme, Boyle fined and banned from driving and hopefully the club had there own punishment too . Let themselves and the club down .My opinions on Martindale's situation would be far stronger though I understand why a lot of people have such strong views on it when you read stories like this
https://www.northants.police.uk/news/northants/news/in-court/2022/september/drink-driver-sentenced-for-hit-and-run-on-school-group/

Paulie Walnuts
26-11-2022, 12:26 PM

Martindale took over halfway through the season that Davidson finished above him. When he took over he won 8 and drew 3 of the first 11 he took charge of. By the end of the season he’d managed 23 games, winning 9, drawing 6 and losing 8. His PPG was 1.43 compared to Davidsons 1.18.

You clearly don’t like the guy but the suggestions he’s a crap manager and similar to butcher are easily disproven. The guy has had 1 job as a manager and finished 6th and 7th with Livingston. It’s really impressive. Butcher failed near enough everywhere he went.

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2022, 12:45 PM
Martindale isn't as good as Johnson, Johnson was a professional footballer as well , Martindale wasn't , Johnson has managed before Martindale hasn't. If Martindale had us winning every week and challenging the old firm for league titles I'd be extremely worried he was dealing again and would want the entire Hibs team tested for drugs , you make him sound like if he's a Guardiola or klopp when he's nothing more than a average manager doing ok at a wee club which is his level. I personally don't think he should have been given any managers job with what he's done and I would be disgusted if we ever appointed him .He wasn't some kid that made a mistake either when he was caught, he was in his 30s and Knew the stuff he was selling killed and destroys families which shows he has no respect or compassion for human life basically he's just a lowlife ****bag to me ,who I'd never support.

26-11-2022, 12:56 PM
Martindale isn't as good as Johnson, Johnson was a professional footballer as well , Martindale wasn't , Johnson has managed before Martindale hasn't. If Martindale had us winning every week and challenging the old firm for league titles I'd be extremely worried he was dealing again and would want the entire Hibs team tested for drugs , you make him sound like if he's a Guardiola or klopp when he's nothing more than a average manager doing ok at a wee club which is his level. I personally don't think he should have been given any managers job with what he's done and I would be disgusted if we ever appointed him .He wasn't some kid that made a mistake either when he was caught, he was in his 30s and Knew the stuff he was selling killed and destroys families which shows he has no respect or compassion for human life basically he's just a lowlife ****bag to me ,who I'd never support.

Your nonsense on this thread spirals deeper and deeper. Some totally irrelevant points on this latest effort.

26-11-2022, 01:02 PM
It's breaking the law so still a crime and anyone doing it deserves to be punished, surprised you didn't know this ! .We have had Latapty sacked , Joe Newell fined and doing a rehabilitation scheme, Boyle fined and banned from driving and hopefully the club had there own punishment too . Let themselves and the club down .My opinions on Martindale's situation would be far stronger though I understand why a lot of people have such strong views on it when you read stories like this
https://www.northants.police.uk/news/northants/news/in-court/2022/september/drink-driver-sentenced-for-hit-and-run-on-school-group/

I didn't ask what the club was doing about it, I asked your thoughts on players being at the club who have done these things after you seemingly taking the moral highground regarding DM

HibeeHibernia
26-11-2022, 01:07 PM

You're entitled to your opinion mate but I think everyone should be given a second chance as no one is perfect. I don't know what not being a professional footballer has to do with him being a good manager or not some of the greatest managers ever never played the game professionally. If johnson was as good a manager as you're making out we wouldn't be sitting below mr martindales livingston currently.

26-11-2022, 01:22 PM
The same Merricks that appointed a bloke who had sex with a 15 yr old.

Yes, that's them.

26-11-2022, 01:25 PM

Are you really using a fairy tale from the bible as an argument lol

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2022, 01:25 PM
Martindale took over halfway through the season that Davidson finished above him. When he took over he won 8 and drew 3 of the first 11 he took charge of. By the end of the season he’d managed 23 games, winning 9, drawing 6 and losing 8. His PPG was 1.43 compared to Davidsons 1.18.

You clearly don’t like the guy but the suggestions he’s a crap manager and similar to butcher are easily disproven. The guy has had 1 job as a manager and finished 6th and 7th with Livingston. It’s really impressive. Butcher failed near enough everywhere he went.
Your right I don't like him and think he would be a totally uninspiring appointment , doing ok at livingston which is his level , watched Livy a few times and wasn't impressed with the way they played either. Anyhow even if Johnson does go I'd doubt Hibs board would appoint someone with his past that would only split the Hibs support which it would.

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2022, 01:41 PM
Your nonsense on this thread spirals deeper and deeper. Some totally irrelevant points on this latest effort.
What are the irrelevant points I've made or are you keeping it a secret?. My nonsense as you call it is I don't want Martindale anywhere near Hibernian football club . I don't think he's good enough and his past of being a convicted drug dealer I certainly don't like maybe your ok with that kinda stuff though I'm not. Tell you what is nonsense is people posting we are going to be challenging the old firm for league titles and everything's going to be wonderful if we appoint Martindale the Messiah. :rolleyes:

CL0762
26-11-2022, 01:41 PM

Family club like Hibernian, with a couple of current players on the books for drink driving (wonder where that would rank in amongst your ‘top 5 worst crimes ever), 1 who received a caution for throwing a glass at a girl in a club and not forget the history of players who have fallen foul of the law.

I genuinely cannot believe you think Martindale’s crime is similar to Goodwillie. Absolutely mind boggling.

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2022, 01:43 PM
Family club like Hibernian, with a couple of current players on the books for drink driving (wonder where that would rank in amongst your ‘top 5 worst crimes ever), 1 who received a caution for throwing a glass at a girl in a club and not forget the history of players who have fallen foul of the law.

I genuinely cannot believe you think Martindale’s crime is similar to Goodwillie. Absolutely mind boggling.
Why you think drug dealings ok ?

26-11-2022, 01:44 PM
Anyone who knows anyone who is addicted or even died from the crap, he peddled to make profit will perhaps not want him anywhere Hibs.

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2022, 02:33 PM
I didn't ask what the club was doing about it, I asked your thoughts on players being at the club who have done these things after you seemingly taking the moral highground regarding DM
Sorry mate , I think it's a awful thing to do ,that can lead to accidents and death and very stupid and selfish of the individual that does it and have no pity for anyone caught and punished for it . Sadly theres been a massive amount of tragedies over the years from drink driving that could easily have been prevented . My moral high ground on DM is i am totally anti drugs always have been and always will be , between gangland shootings were innocent people get killed in , people dying cause they can't get off a drug they are hooked on , countless families ripped apart by this which brings me back DM who was in his 30s when doing this and knew rightly what he was doing . Seem to remember he had over 100,000 in assets seized when he was caught. For me DM only cared about himself and had no regard for human life

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2022, 02:42 PM
You're entitled to your opinion mate but I think everyone should be given a second chance as no one is perfect. I don't know what not being a professional footballer has to do with him being a good manager or not some of the greatest managers ever never played the game professionally. If johnson was as good a manager as you're making out we wouldn't be sitting below mr martindales livingston currently.
Someone who might have died family from s**t DM sold would probably disagree about giving him a second chance. We are currently 3 points behind Livingston and seasons not over yet. Johnson will finish ahead of Livingston.

Paulie Walnuts
26-11-2022, 02:53 PM
Someone who might have died family from s**t DM sold would probably disagree about giving him a second chance. We are currently 3 points behind Livingston and seasons not over yet. Johnson will finish ahead of Livingston.

Someone who’s family member died from being hit by a drink driver might not think Martin Boyle deserves to be playing football. Should we bin him because of that?

26-11-2022, 02:57 PM
Someone who’s family member died from being hit by a drink driver might not think Martin Boyle deserves to be playing football. Should we bin him because of that?

or Joe Newell

CL0762
26-11-2022, 02:59 PM
Why you think drug dealings ok ?

Never once said that.

But dealing drugs is incomparable to raping a young girl who is unable to provide consent, whether she wanted to or not.

chippy
26-11-2022, 03:08 PM
Anyone who knows anyone who is addicted or even died from the crap, he peddled to make profit will perhaps not want him anywhere Hibs.

How does anyone get any gear? How many on here never smoked joint, snorted a line? Understand about selling to kids though, that is a red line

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2022, 03:41 PM
Never once said that.

But dealing drugs is incomparable to raping a young girl who is unable to provide consent, whether she wanted to or not.
Both of these crimes are done by horrible people who have no human regard or compassion for there fellow man or woman . Both have severe consequences for the victims and there families. Drug dealings maybe even on a larger scale effect a lot more . Both are equally horrendous crimes which you seem to find mind boggling

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2022, 03:47 PM
I think if one of our players killed someone while drink driving the club would bin them , do you not like ?

26-11-2022, 03:50 PM
This is getting very Holy Groundy

26-11-2022, 03:52 PM
What are the irrelevant points I've made or are you keeping it a secret?. My nonsense as you call it is I don't want Martindale anywhere near Hibernian football club . I don't think he's good enough and his past of being a convicted drug dealer I certainly don't like maybe your ok with that kinda stuff though I'm not. Tell you what is nonsense is people posting we are going to be challenging the old firm for league titles and everything's going to be wonderful if we appoint Martindale the Messiah. :rolleyes:

Some have already been pointed out a few above. Your ridiculous assertion about him never having played pro for starters. Irrelevant. I know Martindale’s past. I don’t like it. He’s done his time and apologised publicly. What does “Livingston is his level” even mean? He’s shown over a number of years he has an eye for a player. His teams are always organised. And its a myth that he’s only got Livi where they are due to their dodgy pitch. Not sure I’ve seen a single person suggesting we’d be challenging the uglies if he ever did end up here. Another example of your ongoing nonsense.

26-11-2022, 03:55 PM

I absolutely get the argument about Martindale's history but I also think rehabilitation and subsequent success is a powerful motivator for criminals to try another path. It is part of the package and should certainly be given consideration but I can see plus points as well as negative ones.

Happy to have a friendly wager that Livi will finish above us this year. I said they would around this time last year after watching them a few times not against us and I am of the same mind again. They play as a team and we do not. It is as simple as that. They actually play much better football that they are given credit for too and at least manage the basics 9 times out of 10. We have lots of players who on their day can be very good. Those days are few and far between though. Livi have half a team, at least, of Lewis Stevenson type performers. Never shirk a tackle, strong, committed and reliable. That gets you halfway there in most games and they also have some decent quality up top. I still think Shinnie is a better player than the majority of youngsters we have brought in and I would take Nouble in a heartbeat over anyone our recruitment team are likely to see as promising youngsters. Jason Holt would walk into our midfield to and that shows how poor we are. He is streets ahead of Kenneh and Campbell. I quite like Cadden but I doubt Livi would do a straight swap for Devlin.

We are a big enough club that we should be aiming higher than Martindale but the fact so many of us would be happy for him to manage us probably says as much about our faith in the recruitment team picking a manager as it does about Martindale.

26-11-2022, 04:11 PM
How does anyone get any gear? How many on here never smoked joint, snorted a line? Understand about selling to kids though, that is a red line

I'm one of the boring ones that have never done either!!

26-11-2022, 04:14 PM
This is getting very Holy Groundy
It’s getting very utter bollocksy.

26-11-2022, 04:19 PM
I'm one of the boring ones that have never done either!!

Never taken either cocaine or heroin but made 100s of kg of them both:greengrin:wink:

Paulie Walnuts
26-11-2022, 05:43 PM
I think if one of our players killed someone while drink driving the club would bin them , do you not like ?

As far as anyone is aware, Martindale hasn’t killed anyone either. He’s commited a crime that can lead to people dying and because of that you think he shouldn’t be able to work in football. Martin Boyle and Joe Newell have also commited a crime that can lead to people dying. Do you think they should be binned from football?

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2022, 05:53 PM
Some have already been pointed out a few above. Your ridiculous assertion about him never having played pro for starters. Irrelevant. I know Martindale’s past. I don’t like it. He’s done his time and apologised publicly. What does “Livingston is his level” even mean? He’s shown over a number of years he has an eye for a player. His teams are always organised. And its a myth that he’s only got Livi where they are due to their dodgy pitch. Not sure I’ve seen a single person suggesting we’d be challenging the uglies if he ever did end up here. Another example of your ongoing nonsense.
Would have thought being a pro footballer and working under different pro managers would have been a advantage rather than being a amateur in later years when becoming a manager . The Livingston level means he's at a much smaller club than ours and expeditions are much higher at ours . Livingston fans probably happy enough staying up and. finishing mid table ,where we would not and I think that's about his standard as a manager. The pitch is also a advantage to them imo , it's horrendously bad and no effort has been made to rectify it. You say over a number of year's he's had a eye for a player , who are they ? The number of years you mentioned ? A year n a half he's been there ,two max . Has he been somewere else ?. I suggest you go back and read some of the posts that one poster said I wouldn't care about his drug dealing ways when we were winning every week and challenging for league titles , once again you have called me out on this as nonsense, seems to be a favourite word , don't know if I'm talking to a human or a parrot. You know DM past and you don't like it but are quite willing to have a character like that at our club . Yes he's done time sentenced 2006 for 4 years when our current manager was still playing. He also had over 100,000 pounds of assets seized when caught so god knows how long he was dealing for .He did say sorry after he was caught though I doubt very much you would have heard from him if he had got away with it . I wonder how many lives he has effected with his drug dealing ways. ****bag of the highest order and should be nowhere near Hibernian football club.

Scotty Leither
26-11-2022, 06:40 PM
I’d settle for us beating Livingston in our next game against them. Our recent record against them is embarrassing.

26-11-2022, 09:40 PM
Would have thought being a pro footballer and working under different pro managers would have been a advantage rather than being a amateur in later years when becoming a manager . The Livingston level means he's at a much smaller club than ours and expeditions are much higher at ours . Livingston fans probably happy enough staying up and. finishing mid table ,where we would not and I think that's about his standard as a manager. The pitch is also a advantage to them imo , it's horrendously bad and no effort has been made to rectify it. You say over a number of year's he's had a eye for a player , who are they ? The number of years you mentioned ? A year n a half he's been there ,two max . Has he been somewere else ?. I suggest you go back and read some of the posts that one poster said I wouldn't care about his drug dealing ways when we were winning every week and challenging for league titles , once again you have called me out on this as nonsense, seems to be a favourite word , don't know if I'm talking to a human or a parrot. You know DM past and you don't like it but are quite willing to have a character like that at our club . Yes he's done time sentenced 2006 for 4 years when our current manager was still playing. He also had over 100,000 pounds of assets seized when caught so god knows how long he was dealing for .He did say sorry after he was caught though I doubt very much you would have heard from him if he had got away with it . I wonder how many lives he has effected with his drug dealing ways. ****bag of the highest order and should be nowhere near Hibernian football club.

As I said in an earlier post you clearly have no idea about David Martindale’s involvement and influence at Livingston over a number of years stretching further than the period he’s “officially” been in charge. This is getting kind of dull so I’ll leave you to it now.

26-11-2022, 09:50 PM
I’d be happy with Martindale at Hibs. Willing to stick by Johnson for now though

He won’t be anywhere near Hibs for his past, if he didn’t have a past he would be considered.

JoeT
26-11-2022, 09:54 PM
Tldr
****bag, keep him away from our kids, our club, our town

26-11-2022, 10:00 PM
Never taken either cocaine or heroin but made 100s of kg of them both:greengrin:wink:

Don’t get high on your own supply. :smokin

Hope you are well Scoops. :aok:

26-11-2022, 10:03 PM

He has been at Livi for longer than a couple of years.

Donegal Hibby
27-11-2022, 12:30 AM
He has been at Livi for longer than a couple of years.
I had actually meant as a manager but I didn't know he was there longer than that so thanks for putting me straight on that one SH . I've stated my opinion on DM going to Hibs and i am totally against it now or in the future and won't be posting on this thread again as I've made my feelings quite clear .As a Hibs supporter I'm very proud of my club and it's wonderful fans but would be extremely ashamed if DM came to our club .
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/scotland/glasgow_and_west/6160455.stm.

https://www.thefreelibrary.com/The+former+drug+dealer+football+manager+%26+the+na sty+fraudster+who...-a0649841719.
https://delphihealthgroup.com/blog/can-cocaine-kill-you/

DanishJohn
27-11-2022, 07:59 AM
I had actually meant as a manager but I didn't know he was there longer than that so thanks for putting me straight on that one SH . I've stated my opinion on DM going to Hibs and i am totally against it now or in the future and won't be posting on this thread again as I've made my feelings quite clear .As a Hibs supporter I'm very proud of my club and it's wonderful fans but would be extremely ashamed if DM came to our club .

https://www.thefreelibrary.com/The+former+drug+dealer+football+manager+%26+the+na sty+fraudster+who...-a0649841719.

You have fought very well to put over your thoughts and feelings. Perhaps the powers that be think the same as you and Martindale will not get anywhere near the club.
He might not be that good a coach. We might never know. I think the argument is not ability but about the possibility of redemption of character.

Don't know if you are in to movies. If you are I would strongly recommend that you sit down and watch a movie called "The Keeper". Its about a goalkeeper who played for Manchester City. Don't want to give too much away but it is very thought provoking and a lesson of the human spirit.

Also a great Hibs connection !

27-11-2022, 09:11 AM
Don’t get high on your own supply. :smokin

Hope you are well Scoops. :aok:

Doing ok Silv thanks. Retired from the drugs warehouse in deepest darkest Gorgie at the end of September.

It's hard after 46 years of work but getting used to it now.

Hope you are well mate.

27-11-2022, 11:17 AM
I’d go for Martindale. If the football was terrible he could perhaps revert to his old ways and take over a lucrative dealing franchise in the East stand. There have been many occasions in the last three seasons where I felt I could have benefited greatly from being on drugs while watching Hibs.

May21/05/216
27-11-2022, 01:27 PM

https://delphihealthgroup.com/blog/can-cocaine-kill-you/I agree with this post i hope he's never employed but hibernian fc

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Mark05
27-11-2022, 03:26 PM
I'm with donegal hibby on this one,he's got his second chance with Livingston and he's a good fit for their club.But I don't want him at hibs for a few reasons, one being having to listen to his interviews his voice goes right through me :greengrin

zitelli62
27-11-2022, 04:32 PM

He actually owns livingston but of course not in his name nothing comes in or out of that football club without his say so.