View Full Version : Middlesbrough Match

Fuzzywuzzy
22-11-2022, 09:24 AM
Just having a look online at tickets for this. Looks like it will be a very poor crowd. Hunners of blue dots

22-11-2022, 09:27 AM
Just having a look online at tickets for this. Looks like it will be a very poor crowd. Hunners of blue dots

I'm surprised anyone would pay to see a friendly in late November.

22-11-2022, 09:38 AM
Middlesbrough have sold more than 1200 tickets for this
Wonder what sort of team we’ll have out

22-11-2022, 09:41 AM
I'm surprised anyone would pay to see a friendly in late November.

IIRC, we had a pretty poor crowd against Norwich as well.

Which was a shame, as it was a decent game.

22-11-2022, 10:02 AM
People generally aren’t interested in friendlies in the middle of summer nevermind in the freezing months and weeks leading up to Christmas when people are already watching their money

22-11-2022, 10:03 AM
I had / have no idea when it's being played and as posted above, friendlies are dire in the summer, never mind a bitter winter day / evening.

22-11-2022, 10:05 AM
Middlesbrough have sold more than 1200 tickets for this
Wonder what sort of team we’ll have out

Could outnumber us.

22-11-2022, 10:09 AM
Only one stand open and around a few hundred sold.

22-11-2022, 10:11 AM
I had / have no idea when it's being played and as posted above, friendlies are dire in the summer, never mind a bitter winter day / evening.

This Saturday 1pm

22-11-2022, 10:19 AM
Is it not a season ticket game?

22-11-2022, 10:23 AM
Is it not a season ticket game?

Will behind the goals be open?

22-11-2022, 10:26 AM

???

22-11-2022, 10:29 AM

:faf: wheesht you, ya boaby!

22-11-2022, 10:49 AM

No but the singing section in the North Stand is

22-11-2022, 10:51 AM
With it being an early KO and my son playing football we won't be able to attend unfortunately.

22-11-2022, 12:11 PM
There will be 6-7k at this game despite the comments above.

22-11-2022, 12:14 PM
If the game was in Middlesbrough, I think we would have taken a decent support. Would have been an enjoyable away day/weekend.

Sadly we don't seem to do friendlies in England any more.

22-11-2022, 12:20 PM
I’m away for the weekend. Don’t think any of the 6 of us who have season tickets together are going.

Mcbizz1998
22-11-2022, 12:27 PM
£20 to get into the Albion for this. Might give that a go as want to see the new hospitality set up.

22-11-2022, 12:27 PM
Suspect Nisbet will feature and perhaps game time also for Mcgennis and Mitchell.

22-11-2022, 12:38 PM
Suspect Nisbet will feature and perhaps game time also for Mcgennis and Mitchell.

Are they both fit again?

22-11-2022, 12:40 PM
If the game was in Middlesbrough, I think we would have taken a decent support. Would have been an enjoyable away day/weekend.

Would have been class if it was in Middlesbrough.

Basildon Hibs
22-11-2022, 01:24 PM
Would have been class if it was in Middlesbrough.

'Class'? You've obviously never been to Middlesbrough..🤣

22-11-2022, 01:34 PM
'Class'? You've obviously never been to Middlesbrough..🤣

Class for me as only an hour away ☺️

22-11-2022, 07:41 PM

Something that annoys me as an English based Hibee.

Got the League cup league format to thank for that.

22-11-2022, 07:52 PM

If Carlsberg did friendlies in England .............
I doubt Middlesbrough would be near the top.

23-11-2022, 07:36 AM

When Carlsberg did do friendlies Villa & Oldham away were great trips.

DIXIHIBS
23-11-2022, 08:05 AM

Ran a bus to both these games. Great trips and big support at both.

23-11-2022, 09:35 AM

It is a bit of a toilet (apologies to our upcoming guests). 😀

23-11-2022, 09:36 AM

IIRC the Oldham trip was the first time I ever had a pint in a pub! 😀

23-11-2022, 09:42 AM
Only one stand open and around a few hundred sold.

The West is open and folk on here have said the North as well.

23-11-2022, 09:55 AM
After moaning that our Christmas eve game might be changed to a lunchtime KO needless to say I'm not that bothered about a lunchtime friendly. I am however seriously considering going to the women's game the next day at a far more sociable KO time :greengrin

Donegal Hibby
23-11-2022, 12:07 PM
Michael Carrick seems to have turned the fortune's at Middlesbrough picking up 10 point's from a possible 15 . Preview of the game
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/preview-middlesbrough-h

23-11-2022, 06:43 PM
Will be nice to see Nisbet feature again and let's hope he can regain his form over time that had him scoring goals and Scotland call ups.

23-11-2022, 09:44 PM
People generally aren’t interested in friendlies in the middle of summer nevermind in the freezing months and weeks leading up to Christmas when people are already watching their money

Forecast says it'll be 11 degrees and dry. Tickets are a fiver for season ticket holders.

23-11-2022, 10:11 PM
I think we should fill in the corners and only sell tickets for those areas for games like this;-/

25-11-2022, 05:43 AM
£20 for the Albion. Bargain day out.

25-11-2022, 09:52 AM
Just got 3 tickets and now looking forward to it much to my surprise.

25-11-2022, 10:08 AM
Is this on PPV? Can't see anything from Hibs but would seem like a good idea?

25-11-2022, 10:40 AM
Is this on PPV? Can't see anything from Hibs but would seem like a good idea?

Don't look like it, I would assume it would of been announced now but hopefully announced later.

25-11-2022, 10:40 AM

Great deal.

25-11-2022, 11:45 AM
Great deal.

That’s just for entry though isn’t it …

25-11-2022, 11:59 AM

And a match ticket.

25-11-2022, 12:18 PM
Would expect everyone available to get some minutes including youngsters and the same for Boro.

Michael Carrick has taken a large squad north of the border and a number of players handed the opportunity of game time against the SPL outfit.

Nothing On boro site either for ppv.

25-11-2022, 04:00 PM

Plus ticket in West Upper Executive.

LewysGot2
25-11-2022, 04:20 PM
After moaning that our Christmas eve game might be changed to a lunchtime KO needless to say I'm not that bothered about a lunchtime friendly. I am however seriously considering going to the women's game the next day at a far more sociable KO time :greengrin
The women’s game is going to have a much bigger crowd. And it’s a competitive game versus THEM :greengrin

1875Sean
25-11-2022, 04:32 PM
The women’s game is going to have a much bigger crowd. And it’s a competitive game versus THEM :greengrin

Plus it’s free

26-11-2022, 09:13 AM
Murray Aiken, Murray Johnson, Oscar MacIntyre, and Kanayo Megwa will all be included in the squad for the visit of Middlesbrough on Saturday and will hope to stake a claim for further first-team involvement during the remainder of the campaign.

26-11-2022, 09:15 AM
Murray Aiken, Murray Johnson, Oscar MacIntyre, and Kanayo Megwa will all be included in the squad for the visit of Middlesbrough on Saturday and will hope to stake a claim for further first-team involvement during the remainder of the campaign.

That’s good to hear
Wonder if Marshall won’t be involved, and it will be Dabrowski/Johnson in goals today

26-11-2022, 09:19 AM

Had hoped for O'Connor and Laidlaw

26-11-2022, 10:45 AM
Nisbet starting

26-11-2022, 10:48 AM
Had hoped for O'Connor and Laidlaw I have only seen O'Connor 5 or 6 times but he looks miles away from a 1st team player to me. Laidlaw I had hoped would feature too.

Ashtead Hibs
26-11-2022, 10:50 AM
What’s keeping Magennis out?

26-11-2022, 10:51 AM
Good to see Nisbet playing today

26-11-2022, 10:52 AM
What’s keeping Magennis out?

Hamstring injury.

26-11-2022, 10:55 AM
Nisbet starting

26-11-2022, 11:02 AM
That’s good to hear
Wonder if Marshall won’t be involved, and it will be Dabrowski/Johnson in goals today

Marshall starts as does Fish and Nisbet.

26-11-2022, 11:11 AM
Marshall starts as does Fish and Nisbet.

Dabrowski not involved at all. If he’s not injured, pointless in playing Marshall today

HibeeHibernia
26-11-2022, 11:22 AM
is this game on hibs tv?

26-11-2022, 11:34 AM
3-5-2? 4-3-3?

26-11-2022, 11:53 AM
The return of Duncan Watmore to Easter Rd

26-11-2022, 12:00 PM
433 I think

26-11-2022, 12:03 PM
Are block 7 watching the world cup

26-11-2022, 12:04 PM
Looks like 442 with Mitchell on right

26-11-2022, 12:06 PM
Shame can't watch the game. Sure a few Middlesbrough fans would have baught it too.

Hopefully a few updates on this thread.

26-11-2022, 12:09 PM
is this game on hibs tv?

26-11-2022, 12:10 PM
Good crowd from down South best part of a thousand. Loads of Police for a friendly

26-11-2022, 12:11 PM
Decent start from Hibs. Shot on target from McKirdy which Keeper took two attempts to gather

26-11-2022, 12:20 PM
Our back 4 really narrow when they have ball. Borough able to get it to wide man too easy.

26-11-2022, 12:21 PM
What’s the team? Any of the youngsters starting?

26-11-2022, 12:22 PM
Rocky lucky not to concede pen

26-11-2022, 12:24 PM
Good crowd from down South best part of a thousand. Loads of Police for a friendly

No surprise is it, a visit to Edinburgh for them is like a visit to paradise.

26-11-2022, 12:25 PM
No youngsters. Fish starting and doing well so far. Borough starting to take a bit more control

26-11-2022, 12:28 PM
Rocky down in pain but looks like he will be ok

26-11-2022, 12:29 PM
McKirdy forces save. Decent pace shown

26-11-2022, 12:31 PM
Heard loads o battles over the bridge before the game. The eighties are returning it seems like.

HibeeSince85
26-11-2022, 12:32 PM
Mitchell looks lost out there, just keeps getting in Caddens way. I'm not a fan of the formation tbh

26-11-2022, 12:37 PM
What’s the team? Any of the youngsters starting?

Marshall
Cadden
Bushiri
Fish
Mitchell
Stevenson
Newell
Campbell
McKirdy
Youan
Nisbet

26-11-2022, 12:40 PM
Mitchell looks lost out there, just keeps getting in Caddens way. I'm not a fan of the formation tbh

Mitchell playing wide right?

26-11-2022, 12:43 PM
Even in friendlies referees are horrendous. McKirdy nearly gets his top taken off but foul against Hibs. We are back on top after a 10 min spell from Borough

HibeeSince85
26-11-2022, 12:43 PM
Mitchell playing wide right?

He is so far back sometimes he looks like he is playing RWB.

I just think when you have Cadden in the team who likes to bomb on Mitchell seems a bit redundant.

26-11-2022, 12:46 PM
Cheers for updates. Sounds like not a lot happening.

26-11-2022, 12:49 PM
Decent half from Hibs apart from a short spell.

26-11-2022, 12:49 PM
He is so far back sometimes he looks like he is playing RWB.

I just think when you have Cadden in the team who likes to bomb on Mitchell seems a bit redundant.

It’s a funny one because I’m theory I can see it working.

Mitchell cutting in and has the option of Cadden bombing forward on the overlap, if he doesn’t use him it’s created space for him to play with the front 2.

26-11-2022, 12:50 PM
McKirdy looking pretty good. Think him and Nisbet could be a great partnership.

Mitchell hasn't been great but looks like he's not entirely sure where he should be playing.

26-11-2022, 12:51 PM
Marshall saves from their first shot on target. Pretty dire first half, typical friendly. I thought Fish looked decent. Strong and composed and surprised his team mates by passing the ball in front of them. Mitchell had some good moments but also one shocking pass that could have led to a chance for Borough. Nisbet not involved, Stevenson good after a shaky start. McKirdy the pick of the forward players for me simply because he looks like he wants to score and has had a couple of shots on target

26-11-2022, 12:51 PM

Encouraging to hear. :thumbsup:

26-11-2022, 12:53 PM
Has there been trouble between fans

26-11-2022, 12:54 PM

Not that I’ve seen.

HibeeSince85
26-11-2022, 12:55 PM
Not seen any trouble but there was a massive amount of police for a friendly from Elm Row to ER

26-11-2022, 12:59 PM
Looks like Hanlon and Porteous will come on and Melkerson and Taveres judging by who is warming up. I'd have given McIntyre a half but he is warming up so looks like Cabraja will replace Lewis

26-11-2022, 01:04 PM
4 laddies having a slow motion warm up for Hibs and I didn't see a coach. Middlesbrough occupying both goals, every sub on pitch with multiple coaches. Looks a tad 7nprofessional to me

26-11-2022, 01:06 PM
How was Youan?

26-11-2022, 01:07 PM
Loads of changes. Henderson, Melks, Cabraja, Taveres, Kenneh, Hanlon and Megwa

26-11-2022, 01:07 PM
So no Magennis once again. At least he got another couple of holidays in during that wee break we had.

26-11-2022, 01:08 PM
Not seen any trouble but there was a massive amount of police for a friendly from Elm Row to ER

Double time on a Saturday??

26-11-2022, 01:09 PM
So no Magennis once again. At least he got another couple of holidays in during that wee break we had.

Wonder if we'll bank on him getting fit and not signing another midfielder in the window again.

26-11-2022, 01:16 PM
Wonder if we'll bank on him getting fit and not signing another midfielder in the window again.

We will, probably like the last three managers done as well.

PHeffernan
26-11-2022, 01:17 PM

Banking on him being fully fit on 15th December.
He is training but no point in playing him today.
The best thing for a hamstring strain is time and the worst thing would be pushing it to it's limit in a game.

Great ball from Youan and Tavares misses sitter at back post

HibeeSince85
Chance for Tavares at the back post but he heads wide. Hibs start the second half well.

26-11-2022, 01:19 PM
All Hibs this half and Henderson forces good save after a crunching tackle from Megwa gets us forward. Their player still recovering. Megwa looks really confident

26-11-2022, 01:19 PM

There were a good 100+ Boro casuals being escorted along Waterloo place by dozens of police around 12pm.

HibeeSince85
26-11-2022, 01:22 PM
Some good play by Hibs in the second half, well on top. Henderson chose the wrong option a minute or so ago there trying to play in Youann

HibeeSince85
26-11-2022, 01:23 PM
1-0 Boro

26-11-2022, 01:23 PM
1 nil Borough. First time in our half. Shock horror a cross and headed in 6 yards out with noon near him

26-11-2022, 01:25 PM
That's it, I'm driving over to ER right now just to boo.

26-11-2022, 01:27 PM
Plus la change.

HibeeSince85
26-11-2022, 01:28 PM
2-0

1 nil Borough. First time in our half. Shock horror a cross and headed in 6 yards out with noon near him

Not been able to defend crosses for a couple seasons now

Get Martindale in 😁

26-11-2022, 01:29 PM
Kenneh tackles Campbell and he is badly injured. Borough run up park for their second.

dmc1875
So Hibs huff and puff then we go 1-0 down out of the blue - friendly following the same league game pattern

Oh it’s 2-0 now

Another cross into the box another goal?

HibeeSince85
Goal came after Kenneh and Campbell clattered into each other, Boro break up the park and score.

No surprise that Hanlon comes on and the defence falls to pieces. Time for him to move on.

No goals in this team and can’t defend crosses.

Lack of quality middle to front is diabolical.

26-11-2022, 01:30 PM
Campbell off but might not be as bad as first looked. We have been by far the best team in second half too

Berwickhibby
I know this only a friendly, but the reoccurring free headers in the box is concerning

Ffs

HibeeSince85
26-11-2022, 01:31 PM
Murray Johnson on in goals for Hibs

26-11-2022, 01:31 PM
Porteous playing centre mid

26-11-2022, 01:32 PM
Genuinely can’t see Johnson last much longer than the next 4 games unfortunately

*competitive games

26-11-2022, 01:33 PM
It may only be a friendly to keep players fit as levels up during the world cup but it seems the same failings that have plagued us all season can't be improved by coaching alone. Same defenders struggling to do the basics. Midfield that lack vision and pace. Strikers that rarely score. January needs to be huge. Players that aren't cutting for whatever reason need shipped out one way or another.

26-11-2022, 01:34 PM
Genuinely can’t see Johnson last much longer than the next 4 games unfortunately

*competitive games

If he goes then there's needs to be changes at Board level and throughout club management. We can't keep doing the same dance.

26-11-2022, 01:34 PM

What?!?

26-11-2022, 01:36 PM
Hanlon and Porteous on and we lose two goals.

26-11-2022, 01:36 PM
If he goes then there's needs to be changes at Board level and throughout club management. We can't keep doing the same dance.

Aye agreed.

I’m like a broken record but IG needs to move on. BK into a commercial role only and get a DoF (or something similar) in place

HibeeSince85
26-11-2022, 01:37 PM
What?!?

He's playing beside Kenneh in the middle of the park

26-11-2022, 01:38 PM

…I’m…im lost. So who the **** is playing in defence? Is this more selection tombola?

26-11-2022, 01:39 PM
Folk moaning about the defence but when we don’t score it puts pressure on the defence. We won’t avoid a relegation dogfight with 0-0 draws!

26-11-2022, 01:39 PM

Could be worse he could be playing centre forward, or centre half.

26-11-2022, 01:40 PM
…I’m…im lost. So who the **** is playing in defence? Is this more selection tombola? Megwa Fish Hanlon McIntyre

HibeeSince85
…I’m…im lost. So who the **** is playing in defence? Is this more selection tombola?

McIntyre, Hanlon, Fish, Megwa

If that doesn’t set alarm bells ringing about Lee Johnson and our pathetic recruitment in that position then I’m not sure what else will.

I’ve resigned myself to a bottom four finish already as we cannot score, lose cheap goals and our central midfield is honking.

Crunchie
26-11-2022, 01:44 PM
Hanlon and Porteous on and we lose two goals.
It can't be Hanlon's fault.

Aitken on for Fish and Porteous can now drop back

How did Nizzy do?

Get Martindale in [emoji16]

No thanks

h185forever
26-11-2022, 01:45 PM

*competitive games

If he does go and I’m still on the fence , can we afford to wait 4 games ?

A new manager surely needs those games to assess the squad and identify what he needs for the transfer window.

We would really need to bring in someone who knows the SPFL or we’re going to have a very worrying second half of the season.

I don’t envy the task he would face.

I’ve no idea what Martindale did but if he’s served his time we could do worse than get him and big Marv in give us some hope.

26-11-2022, 01:47 PM
How did Nizzy do?

Zero service. One ball in to his feet and he put McKirdy through with a good touch.

26-11-2022, 01:47 PM
If he does go and I’m still on the fence , can we afford to wait 4 games ?

A new manager surely needs those games to assess the squad and identify what he needs for the transfer window.

We would really need to bring in someone who knows the SPFL or we’re going to have a very worrying second half of the season.

I don’t envy the task he would face.

I’ve no idea what Martindale did but if he’s served his time we could do worse than get him and big Marv in give us some hope.

I reckon he’ll get the next 4 games to see how things go but 4 defeats would probably see him emptied.

Which will continue to be the case until we sort out our terrible recruitment

26-11-2022, 01:52 PM
Yaaas 3 points in the prediction league

26-11-2022, 01:54 PM
We shouldn't have changed the whole team at half time. I'm livid . Another three points dropped.

26-11-2022, 01:55 PM

Just the 1 point for me, I went a bit too ambitious and predicted a 2-1 defeat.

hibbyboy1
26-11-2022, 02:02 PM
Does this include drinks

26-11-2022, 02:07 PM

*competitive games

I thnk if we get pumped at Ibrox he'll be away. Won't solve a thing though. The football department at the club needs completely restructured, with people brought in who know what they're doing.

A complete lack of quality throughout the squad (apart from goalkeeper) and long term injuries to the few outfield players who have any quality, has left us as realistic relegation candidates sadly.

26-11-2022, 02:09 PM
I thnk if we get pumped at Ibrox he'll be away. Won't solve a thing though. The football department at the club needs completely restructured, with people brought in who know what they're doing.

A complete lack of quality throughout the squad (apart from goalkeeper) and long term injuries to the few outfield players who have any quality, has left us as realistic relegation candidates sadly.

Aye you’re right.

Continue to be a revolving door until the football department is sorted. That includes the hiring of managers, last couple have been uninspiring now.

26-11-2022, 02:11 PM
Little cause for optimism on the back of that today other than Will Fish looking decent and Nisbet being back. So, so toothless and Hanlon just made the defence worse.

Only a friendly, I know, but given whats went before and the fixtures to come, some positivity and even a goal would have been something to cling to. Worrying times...

26-11-2022, 02:12 PM
Results in friendly matches so far this season is: W3, D0, L1

Not a bad record

26-11-2022, 02:15 PM

Not defending the decisions but is a friendly not exactly the right time to try out the weird and wacky?

We've got 3 CH's but it's hard to know which one to leave out, Rocky certainly doesn't deserve to be left out. Our midfield is absolutely pish. Porto is a decent footballer.

A bit like the Mitchell on the right cutting in, with Cadden attacking from deep - these aren't nonsensical ideas but I'd have concerns if Hibs tried them in a competitive match for the first time.

No real harm done from trying it, no?

I mean, like everyone else, I'd rather we signed suitable players to play in their best positions but we are where we are.

Yorkshire HFC
26-11-2022, 02:16 PM

USA are building a team for 4 years time.

Johnson should have been / be told that all (LOL) he has to do for the first two seasons is keep us in the top league - give him time to put his thinking into practice and build a team - have a long term strategy. Then watch us fly.

But I know that's not the Hibs way.

26-11-2022, 02:18 PM
Not defending the decisions but is a friendly not exactly the right time to try out the weird and wacky?

We've got 3 CH's but it's hard to know which one to leave out, Rocky certainly doesn't deserve to be left out. Our midfield is absolutely pish. Porto is a decent footballer.

A bit like the Mitchell on the right cutting in, with Cadden attacking from deep - these aren't nonsensical ideas but I'd have concerns if Hibs tried them in a competitive match for the first time.

I mean, like everyone else, I'd rather we signed suitable players to play in their best positions but we are where we are.

Pretty much my thoughts. Not going to get too worked up about a friendly match.

26-11-2022, 02:19 PM

I know what you’re saying and I’d normally agree but Porteous is not going to be the answer. And even if he is he’s going to leave the club, probably in January. It’s not even a sticking plaster, it’s an old rag.

26-11-2022, 02:21 PM
Not too bothered about this tbh, friendlies are just glorified friendlies anyway.

26-11-2022, 02:22 PM
friendlies are just glorified friendlies anyway.

🤔

hibeg
26-11-2022, 02:24 PM

Looks like the runaway leader didn’t even predict a score this week, giving the rest of us a chance :greengrin

26-11-2022, 02:25 PM

Johnson should have been / be told that all (LOL) he has to do for the first two seasons is keep us in the top league - give him time to put his thinking into practice and build a team - have a long term strategy. Then watch us fly.

Building is fine but you actually need to punch your weight as you go.

No Hibs manager should ever, ever be told all they need to do is keep us in the league.

26-11-2022, 02:29 PM
No surprise that Hanlon comes on and the defence falls to pieces. Time for him to move on.
😂😂😂😂😂

26-11-2022, 02:32 PM
Results in friendly matches so far this season is: W3, D0, L1

Not a bad record

But he can't win the big friendlies!

26-11-2022, 02:34 PM

No Hibs manager should ever, ever be told all they need to do is keep us in the league.

Building is also fine if you are actually building. Signing lots of young players like Tavares, Bojang, Henderson, Delfiere, Hague, Tait, Mackay, Melkerson, at great expense, where none of them look like they will end up making it at Hibs, isn’t building.

How far off are the U19s when folk say they aren’t ready, yet we persist with Youan, Bojang, Melkerson, Tavares & Henderson who also aren’t ready. It just feels like we’re repeating last season of not trying anything different. Where we kept playing Drey Wright despite the fact he wouldn’t be here this season and doing the basics adequately was seen as progress.

hibeg
26-11-2022, 02:37 PM

Mitchell hasn't been great but looks like he's not entirely sure where he should be playing.

I also think McKirdy will come good. He was excellent with Swindon over the last couple of years
Give the lad a chance, he can score goals in this league :agree:

26-11-2022, 02:38 PM
I think the Porteous in midfield thing came about because of Campbell getting injured. Kenneh tackled him as the subs were waiting to come on. I think the sun was meant to be Porteous for Fish then Aiken for Campbell later on. The injury caused a rethink.

That confirmed though that Porteous should never play in midfield. He was horrific in there.

Yorkshire HFC
26-11-2022, 02:43 PM

How can a Hibs manager build anything under these conditions? All he can do is park the bus against the good teams and hoof the ball up front and try and get a scrappy goal and hang on to a 1 - 0 lead against the others. How is any manager going to improve Hibs under these conditions?

Have we not learnt that the best chance of success is giving a manager time to build his team?

Sacking a manager and expecting the new manager to completely change the culture of the club in 10 games - how often does that work?

Dmas
26-11-2022, 02:43 PM
It may only be a friendly to keep players fit as levels up during the world cup but it seems the same failings that have plagued us all season can't be improved by coaching alone. Same defenders struggling to do the basics. Midfield that lack vision and pace. Strikers that rarely score. January needs to be huge. Players that aren't cutting for whatever reason need shipped out one way or another.

I think players need to be moved on, I’ve no names to list but there’s no improvement on field with 3 managers now, the jury is out on the manager I’m not going to deny that but the evidence is clear that some players either aren’t good enough or aren’t doing anything to change or help us move forward so need moving on it’s up to the manager to decide who that is if he doesn’t do it he’ll be the one moving on

26-11-2022, 02:44 PM
I also think McKirdy will come good. He was excellent with Swindon over the last couple of years
Give the lad a chance, he can score goals in this league :agree:

Don’t doubt that but he’ll struggle when there’s nothing being created for him.

Torto7
26-11-2022, 02:44 PM
Porteous in Midfield isnt the worst idea imo.

26-11-2022, 02:45 PM
How can a Hibs manager build anything under these conditions? All he can do is park the bus against the good teams and hoof the ball up front and try and get a scrappy goal and hang on to a 1 - 0 lead against the others. How is any manager going to improve Hibs under these conditions?

Have we not learnt that the best chance of success is giving a manager time to build his team?

Sacking a manager and expecting the new manager to completely change the culture of the club in 10 games - how often does that work?

Do you think he’s getting the chance to build his own team?

Some of the players we’ve brought in reek of IG/recruitment team influence

Stubbsy90+2
26-11-2022, 02:49 PM

Lee Johnson isn’t building anything. He’ll continue to be given the crap our recruitment team offer him up and we’ll continue to be crap because of it.

big gogs
26-11-2022, 03:00 PM

Lee Johnson isn’t building anything. He’ll continue to be given the crap our recruitment team offer him up and we’ll continue to be crap because of it.
If it’s true lee Johnson isn’t signing the players,I can see the manager walking away. This team must have cost a fortune ,sadly delivering nothing .over to you Ron gordon.

26-11-2022, 03:09 PM

if not LJ needs to stop saying that he passes off on the signings

Dmas
26-11-2022, 03:12 PM

Say you’re right why is happy to put his name and ‘contacts’ to some of the players that have been brought in? Tavares Bojang and Myko all been signed as he has tracked or been alerted too by people he knows, he’s also put the finishing touches to mcgeady coming and signed his mates boy, it doesn’t look as cut and dry as IG is just handing him players and he’s having to get on with it

26-11-2022, 03:30 PM
I think the Porteous in midfield thing came about because of Campbell getting injured. Kenneh tackled him as the subs were waiting to come on. I think the sun was meant to be Porteous for Fish then Aiken for Campbell later on. The injury caused a rethink.

That confirmed though that Porteous should never play in midfield. He was horrific in there.
pretty sure that Campbell being injured was what triggered the opportunity to be moved back to Centre Half. That was a relief as he will never be a midfielder.

26-11-2022, 03:37 PM
Say you’re right why is happy to put his name and ‘contacts’ to some of the players that have been brought in? Tavares Bojang and Myko all been signed as he has tracked or been alerted too by people he knows, he’s also put the finishing touches to mcgeady coming and signed his mates boy, it doesn’t look as cut and dry as IG is just handing him players and he’s having to get on with it

Tavares, Bojang and Yoan all look like they may have been bought on the evidence of highlight reels. They certainly have the odd flash of excellent play but it is only that. Youan in particular is poor for the vast majority of his play and then comes up with a great bit of play. He put what should have been an assist over for Taveres today and beat their fullback for pace and got a ball across in the first half. For most of the rest of the game he was very poor. The other two it is harder to tell as they haven't had teh minutes but I can't see them being regulars in a good Hibs side. We need to get more players in the team who are 7/10 every week particularly in the areas higher up the pitch.

26-11-2022, 03:39 PM

That’s a really good point. You can’t have a manager who has no say on players on one hand but has used contacts to bring in players on the other

The idea he hasn’t got a say on signings is laughable. No manager would work under those conditions.

26-11-2022, 03:40 PM

Our best chance of success is to sign good players.

Doesn’t matter how much time you give someone, if you/they sign crap players then you won’t get very far and we have signed too many crap players over the last 18 months.

Manager will get time if it’s obvious they have you going in the right direction, saw that with Stubbs in the Championship.

LewysGot2
26-11-2022, 03:40 PM
Having just finally got back from the game and still freezing cold, I've not read through the thread and there's probably not huge numbers of people on here who did go. There's not much market for mid season friendlies against teams that we'd not associate the word glamour with.

Johnson seemed to have the pre match strategy of giving most people in the squad 45 mins, with the odd exception. So squad one was half fringe players and half first team and the second half team was sort of the same but with a slant towards the Under 19s getting a run out.

Was there any highlights? Not really. Were there some positives? Yes. Nisbet got 45 mins of football after a year out injured. He had some bits and pieces of good link up play. He'll have been delighted to be out there. Will Fish strolled through the match. Oscar McIntyre showed he has all the attributes to make it. Josh Campbell was hard working and him going off was one of the reasons we lost. The goals were counter attacks and down the flank where the promising young Megwa was "protected" by Jair in front of him. Or not.

The difference between the teams was they had the bit of quality needed to turn counter attacks into actual goals. Chuba Akporn was the one player they had where the quality definitely counted.

The predictability of the tiresome England-Scotland thing was boring. The bizarre thought that people from Middlesbrough think Edinburgh is a s*ithole was daft enough, the GSTK/Scotland get battered stuff unoriginal. The dafties in our lot still singing about Lizzie is just cringeworthy stuff. One thing that came straight out of the stereotypical "English fan abroad" playbook was the sight of balding, tattooed, toothless "dressers" being corralled by the polis outside the MashTun like neanderthal extras from Green Street, the Channel 5 remake. Misogynist keech being shouted at women just going about their business, racist tropes being exchanged with some of our dafties was all too predictable and pitiful. These sad old Boris got Brexit done men need to get a life.

On to tomorrow though and I hope -and think - our Women's team will deliver a better product and result. Get along to support them if you can.

26-11-2022, 03:42 PM
How did Fish, Youan and Tavares do?

26-11-2022, 03:46 PM
Having just finally got back from the game and still freezing cold, I've not read through the thread and there's probably not huge numbers of people on here who did go. There's not much market for mid season friendlies against teams that we'd not associate the word glamour with.

Johnson seemed to have the pre match strategy of giving most people in the squad 45 mins, with the odd exception. So squad one was half fringe players and half first team and the second half team was sort of the same but with a slant towards the Under 19s getting a run out.

Was there any highlights? Not really. Were there some positives? Yes. Nisbet got 45 mins of football after a year out injured. He had some bits and pieces of good link up play. He'll have been delighted to be out there. Will Fish strolled through the match. Oscar McIntyre showed he has all the attributes to make it. Josh Campbell was hard working and him going off was one of the reasons we lost. The goals were counter attacks and down the flank where the promising young Megwa was "protected" by Jair in front of him. Or not.

The difference between the teams was they had the bit of quality needed to turn counter attacks into actual goals. Chuba Akporn was the one player they had where the quality definitely counted.

The predictability of the tiresome England-Scotland thing was boring. The bizarre thought that people from Middlesbrough think Edinburgh is a s*ithole was daft enough, the GSTK/Scotland get battered stuff unoriginal. The dafties in our lot still singing about Lizzie is just cringeworthy stuff. One thing that came straight out of the stereotypical "English fan abroad" playbook was the sight of balding, tattooed, toothless "dressers" being corralled by the polis outside the MashTun like neanderthal extras from Green Street, the Channel 5 remake. Misogynist keech being shouted at women just going about their business, racist tropes bring exchanged with some of our dafties was all too predictable and pitiful. These sad old Boris got Brexit done men need to get a life.

On to tomorrow though and I hope -and think - our Women's team will deliver a better product and result. Get along to support them if you can.

Re the point on Josh Campbell, we were 2-0 down when he went off.

Thought the midfield were dreadful in possession today. The lack of ability to do something positive with the ball in that area of the pitch is depressing.

LewysGot2
26-11-2022, 03:48 PM

Thought the midfield were dreadful in possession today. The lack of ability to do something positive with the ball in that area of the pitch is depressing.

Aye , he was on the ground at one of those goals having been halfed by a challenge from his team mate Kenneh. We may still have lost the game had he stayed on but it got worse after he went off

HIBS NUTS
26-11-2022, 03:51 PM
For the first time in many years i missed a home game.
Basically because it’s a pointless, mid way through a mid term break.
It didn’t matter if we won, equally it didn’t matter if we lost.
Our season will not be determined how any player played in this game.

26-11-2022, 03:53 PM
How did Fish look? Will be interesting to see what happens with him in January with also the porteous story today.

26-11-2022, 03:56 PM
How did Fish look? Will be interesting to see what happens with him in January with also the porteous story today.
Our best player by a long way. Composed, strong, read the game well and also passed it simply and accurately.

26-11-2022, 03:58 PM
Aye , he was on the ground at one of those goals having been halfed by a challenge from his team mate Kenneh. We may still have lost the game had he stayed on but it got worse after he went off

Still don’t really think we can him being taken off as being one of the reasons for losing. Thought we were poor throughout, except for a wee spell at the start of the second half.

Thought the incident that got Campbell just summed up the shambles that is our midfield nicely.

26-11-2022, 04:01 PM

We were but the second happened as he was on the floor having been injured by Kenneh. It will be interesting to see if it is a bad one because he immediately signalled he was done and the injury was to his knee which twisted. It wouldn't surprise me if he is out for a while. I don't think he had much to do with the score either positively or negatively and it was one of his poorer games which have been a feature lately. He seems to have runs of good and bad form but you would expect that from a youngster

26-11-2022, 04:04 PM
One thing that came straight out of the stereotypical "English fan abroad" playbook was the sight of balding, tattooed, toothless "dressers" being corralled by the polis outside the MashTun like neanderthal extras from Green Street, the Channel 5 remake. ...These sad old Boris got Brexit done men need to get a life.

But did our bunch of toothless, bald, tattooed neanderthals win the pavement dancing?

26-11-2022, 04:04 PM
How can a Hibs manager build anything under these conditions?

All he can do is park the bus against the good teams and hoof the ball up front and try and get a scrappy goal and hang on to a 1 - 0 lead against the others. How is any manager going to improve Hibs under these conditions?

100%! The voice of reason.

Friendlies are the ideal opportunity to experiment. The vast majority of us acknowledge that and the board will be sticking with the current management team for the next season and a half at least.

The wrist-slashers don't have the mettle to stick around whilst we develop the squad but I'm happy we are adopting a build for the future approach.

As Ivan Sproule said earlier this week. It's time for stability.

26-11-2022, 04:08 PM

Friendlies are the ideal opportunity to experiment. The vast majority of us acknowledge that and the board will be sticking with the current management team for the next season and a half at least.

The wrist-slashers don't have the mettle to stick around whilst we develop the squad but I'm happy we are adopting a build for the future approach.

If results don’t improve quickly, I don’t know what you’ve seen from this board that makes you think they’ll stick with LJ for that period of time.

26-11-2022, 04:14 PM

Said on the PM board, I think fish will play in place of porteous rather than signing a direct replacement, is he good enough? time will tell

26-11-2022, 04:16 PM

There's no way that any Hibs manager should be told that all they have to do is keep us in the league for a couple of seasons while we embark on a long term strategy which may or may not work.

We have the 5th highest budget in the league, we should be nowhere near the likes of 9th or 10th place or worrying about winning a relegation play off.

LewysGot2
26-11-2022, 04:17 PM
Said on the PM board, I think fish will play in place of porteous rather than signing a direct replacement, is he good enough? time will tell

He impressed today :agree:

26-11-2022, 04:20 PM
How did Fish, Youan and Tavares do?
Fish was very good and deserved MOTM. Youan is not going to make it at Hibs. Looks comfortable on the ball but other than one decent cross he was running into trouble and often pickpocketed. If he can’t produce with the freedom a mid term friendly gives he isn’t going to. Tavares possibly had his best game time to date. Unfortunately he isn’t physical enough to make it either. Fish the only bright spot really but might add Nisbet getting time on the park and the young full backs Megwa and McIntyre did just fine but both need to fill out sharpish.

LewysGot2
26-11-2022, 04:46 PM
One other positive :greengrin

Nae VAR!:flag:

Hillsidehibby
26-11-2022, 05:50 PM
But did our bunch of toothless, bald, tattooed neanderthals win the pavement dancing?
What I saw was they gave it back big time

Stubbsy90+2
26-11-2022, 05:53 PM

If we carry on as we are there’s absolutely no chance we’ll have LJ here at the end of next season. This board have shown that.

26-11-2022, 05:59 PM
We were but the second happened as he was on the floor having been injured by Kenneh. It will be interesting to see if it is a bad one because he immediately signalled he was done and the injury was to his knee which twisted. It wouldn't surprise me if he is out for a while. I don't think he had much to do with the score either positively or negatively and it was one of his poorer games which have been a feature lately. He seems to have runs of good and bad form but you would expect that from a youngster
Kenneh seems to be making a habit of this.

26-11-2022, 06:07 PM
What I saw was they gave it back big time

Good. As long as our knuckle dragging pricks won.

But then again, nobody really wins in these situations do they?

26-11-2022, 06:25 PM
Fish was very good and deserved MOTM. Youan is not going to make it at Hibs. Looks comfortable on the ball but other than one decent cross he was running into trouble and often pickpocketed. If he can’t produce with the freedom a mid term friendly gives he isn’t going to. Tavares possibly had his best game time to date. Unfortunately he isn’t physical enough to make it either. Fish the only bright spot really but might add Nisbet getting time on the park and the young full backs Megwa and McIntyre did just fine but both need to fill out sharpish.

Cheers for that.

Youan’s ability to take a good touch and his awful decision making/how much he overruns it drives me mental.

I genuinely think Tavares will come good. He’s got good pace, movement and an ability to drop his shoulder. Just need to get him on the ball more and him to get used to the league. I also think when the team is firing and confident it’s easier to draft him in than our current state.

Happy to hear folk praising McKirdy too

26-11-2022, 06:29 PM
Cheers for that.

Youan’s ability to take a good touch and his awful decision making/how much he overruns it drives me mental.

I genuinely think Tavares will come good. He’s got good pace, movement and an ability to drop his shoulder. Just need to get him on the ball more and him to get used to the league. I also think when the team is firing and confident it’s easier to draft him in than our current state.

Happy to hear folk praising McKirdy too

McKirdy was lively first half. But they have very little to work with and just have to feed off scraps up there.

Tavares was involved plenty second half but the best thing I could say about him is that he tried to be positive. Real lack of quality in good positions though.

26-11-2022, 06:33 PM
McKirdy was lively first half. But they have very little to work with and just have to feed off scraps up there.

Tavares was involved plenty second half but the best thing I could say about him is that he tried to be positive. Real lack of quality in good positions though.

Just watched the highlights there but him at least going at the full back with directness and a bit of skill was good to see. How Henderson never gave him a better pass to run on to I’ll never know. Feel for Tavares missing the sitter

Two brutal goals to concede and doesn’t look good for Hanlon and Cabraja.

Loved Megwa’s crunching tackle.

Hillsidehibby
26-11-2022, 06:58 PM
Good. As long as our knuckle dragging pricks won.

But then again, nobody really wins in these situations do they?

Not really but I’m sure they are not worried about your opinion

26-11-2022, 07:08 PM

The predictability of the tiresome England-Scotland thing was boring. The bizarre thought that people from Middlesbrough think Edinburgh is a s*ithole was daft enough, the GSTK/Scotland get battered stuff unoriginal. The dafties in our lot still singing about Lizzie is just cringeworthy stuff. One thing that came straight out of the stereotypical "English fan abroad" playbook was the sight of balding, tattooed, toothless "dressers" being corralled by the polis outside the MashTun like neanderthal extras from Green Street, the Channel 5 remake. Misogynist keech being shouted at women just going about their business, racist tropes being exchanged with some of our dafties was all too predictable and pitiful. These sad old Boris got Brexit done men need to get a life.

Nice report, kind of puts you off football though.

26-11-2022, 07:09 PM
Just watched the highlights there but him at least going at the full back with directness and a bit of skill was good to see. How Henderson never gave him a better pass to run on to I’ll never know. Feel for Tavares missing the sitter

Just watched them too. Those are horrendous goals to lose. Crosses come in too easy but I'll excuse Megwa as Tavares is hopeless in front of him. Hanlon very poor for the first but Cabraja is shocking for both. It is like he has never played left back before. He can see the danger in front of him and just watches the goals go in. Those goals looked like we couldn't care less to me. I know it is a friendly but it was a good chance to get a goal or two and get fans back on side.

26-11-2022, 07:33 PM

I’ve been really disappointed with Cabraja after a reasonably bright start to his Hibs career. He gets caught up top too often and doesn’t seem to have the pace to recover. Far from our single biggest problem but it does need addressed.

26-11-2022, 07:57 PM
Not really but I’m sure they are not worried about your opinion

Well that’s my evening ruined.

Musselbound
26-11-2022, 08:40 PM

Agree with most of that. Fish looks like he could come in and do a job. Youan got more game time than a number of others for some reason. but I'd be quite happy to see his loan cut short now.

26-11-2022, 08:43 PM
I’ve been really disappointed with Cabraja after a reasonably bright start to his Hibs career. He gets caught up top too often and doesn’t seem to have the pace to recover. Far from our single biggest problem but it does need addressed.

I'm not even convinced he had a great start and I'd still put Lewis in before Cabraja. So many issues in the team it is hard to know where to start

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2022, 08:51 PM
He impressed today :agree:
So what your saying is he doesn't look out of plaice?😂

26-11-2022, 08:56 PM
So what your saying is he doesn't look out of plaice?😂

I knew someone would take the bait! :fishin:

27-11-2022, 06:16 AM
Fish looked really good and it was nice to see Nisbet back, the young guys looked good. Other than that there's not a lot to see.....Youhan, Stevenson, Tavares, Hanlon, Kenneh, Cabraja all showing why we are in free fall.

27-11-2022, 09:42 AM
Any word on what is up with Kukharevych? Johnson just said he was ‘obviously out’ in his interview but didn’t mention what is actually wrong.

27-11-2022, 10:15 AM
Any word on what is up with Kukharevych? Johnson just said he was ‘obviously out’ in his interview but didn’t mention what is actually wrong.

He was called up by Ukraine under 21s last week but didn't play. Reports suggest he arrived with an injury but didn't specify what is actually wrong with him.

Hibiza
27-11-2022, 07:43 PM
He was called up by Ukraine under 21s last week but didn't play. Reports suggest he arrived with an injury but didn't specify what is actually wrong with him.

Apparently earache - having to listen to endless stories.

28-11-2022, 09:38 AM
Groundhog Day

https://youtu.be/oRk8a5ZE6MQ

Basildon Hibs
29-11-2022, 06:59 PM
If it’s true lee Johnson isn’t signing the players,I can see the manager walking away. This team must have cost a fortune ,sadly delivering nothing .over to you Ron gordon.

Johnson said that he himself had final say on signings. Ergo, he didn't have to sign the dross he has.