View Full Version : Boyler out of World Cup and the rest of the season.

20-11-2022, 09:40 AM
Martin Boyle has officially withdrawn from the Socceroo squad due to injury

Renfrew_Hibby
20-11-2022, 09:40 AM

Was never playing.

20-11-2022, 09:41 AM

Such a shame.

20-11-2022, 09:42 AM
Very sad, will be devastating.

20-11-2022, 09:42 AM
Shame for him but from a purely selfish point of view I'm glad he won't be playing and aggravating an injury making it worse. Hopefully he's available for Ibrox.

20-11-2022, 09:51 AM
Shame, real shame

HibeeHibernia
20-11-2022, 09:54 AM
Dreadful news for boyler at least he'll be fit for us though, I'm sure he'll get to the next one. :flag:

20-11-2022, 10:02 AM
Real shame for him but I see the Aussie coach saying it was always 80-20 that he wouldn’t make it… The big worry now is that he needs some kind of operation to rectify the problem.

20-11-2022, 10:09 AM
Gutted for him.

From a selfish point of view, hope the break is sufficient time for him to get the issue fixed and that it didn’t impact him for the rest of the season with us.

He's here!
20-11-2022, 10:10 AM
Shame for him but from a purely selfish point of view I'm glad he won't be playing and aggravating an injury making it worse. Hopefully he's available for Ibrox.

Hard to imagine he'll be playing for Hibs for a while.

20-11-2022, 10:12 AM
Gutted for him.

From a selfish point of view, hope the break is sufficient time for him to get the issue fixed and that it didn’t impact him for the rest of the season with us.

Yep hopefully if an op is required it can be done quickly

Zambernardi1875
20-11-2022, 10:17 AM
Should never have played the last few games for Hibs. Said so at the time. Leaving a lifetime opportunity at the mercy of Scottish footballers was a mistake Especially the way he plays

20-11-2022, 10:31 AM
Do we actually know what is injury is. Is it a meniscus tear?

20-11-2022, 11:10 AM
Do we actually know what is injury is. Is it a meniscus tear?

This is the bit that I would like to know. It’s never been clear if it was a playable injury (but only to get him through the World Cup) or a playable injury and it will get better or in fact is now deemed it needs a small opp.

I know it’s very raw for Boyle and I am gutted for him, we do need the club to be absolutely clear on what next few weeks look like. IF he needs a small opp then now is the time to get it but will he stay with the team until the end of the tournament then deal with it? Every day eats into recovery and playing for Hibs.

One thing is certain we need him back and fit.

20-11-2022, 11:15 AM
Should never have played the last few games for Hibs. Said so at the time. Leaving a lifetime opportunity at the mercy of Scottish footballers was a mistake Especially the way he plays

We employ him so of course he should have been playing

HibeeHibernia
20-11-2022, 11:22 AM

20-11-2022, 11:23 AM
Shame for him, massive opportunity missed. Though I doubt he grew up dreaming of representing Australia at a major tournament though.

To think there was posters on here who though he was pretending to be injured to miss Hibs games so he’d be ok for the World Cup…

20-11-2022, 11:27 AM
Sad for so many reasons. His personal achievement, Hibs name being used in that environment and the money that comes with it and for me watching Boyler was all I had any interest in. Hopefully, Jason gets a start and I might tune in but unless my son wants me to watch with him I can't really muster any interest.

Skol
20-11-2022, 11:33 AM

He didn’t play for hibs after the injury

20-11-2022, 11:38 AM

What games did he play?

20-11-2022, 11:43 AM

Shouldn't have played for Hibs this season tbh. Infact, no potential world cup players should actually play football ever incase they get injured....

Zambernardi1875
20-11-2022, 12:09 PM
Shouldn't have played for Hibs this season tbh. Infact, no potential world cup players should actually play football ever incase they get injured....

i said after the dundee utd game he clearly had his head fixed on the world cup and performances showed that. he wasnt at his best, therefore it was best for both boyle and hibs if he didnt play till after.

20-11-2022, 12:18 PM
i said after the dundee utd game he clearly had his head fixed on the world cup and performances showed that. he wasnt at his best, therefore it was best for both boyle and hibs if he didnt play till after.

Or he just had a poor performance?

Stop talking rubbish tbh, you've absolutely no idea what his head was fixed on.

Skol
20-11-2022, 12:18 PM

What colour is the sky in your world

20-11-2022, 12:19 PM

If he was fit then of course he should have played for us. Would you have all International players rested by their clubs before major competitions. It’s bad enough seeing our season disrupted by the World Cup, having to watch second choice line ups in the weeks leading up to it would just be adding insult to injury.

I’m gutted for Boyle though, the perils of being a pro footballer.

20-11-2022, 12:32 PM

Nonsense.

Zambernardi1875
20-11-2022, 12:38 PM
Or he just had a poor performance?

Stop talking rubbish tbh, you've absolutely no idea what his head was fixed on.

this might come to a shock for you but people are allowed a different opinion. i doubt youre this rude to people face to face

20-11-2022, 12:39 PM

Exactly, we pay him a lot of money to play for us, this nonsense about saving him to play for Australia in the World Cup is giving me the boak.

20-11-2022, 12:44 PM
Gutted for Boyler, he must be devastated at having to withdraw from the Aussie squad.
With him not involved, the little interest I had in the tournament has all but gone.

20-11-2022, 12:48 PM
this might come to a shock for you but people are allowed a different opinion. i doubt youre this rude to people face to face

I thought that's how this worked? You post made up s***e and everyone gets to guffaw at it.

CB Hibs 68
20-11-2022, 01:03 PM

Not just the players mate.Boylers injury was down to the ineptitude of the referee.Feel really sorry for him.

20-11-2022, 01:10 PM

See, opinions are usually based on something. Yours is just totally made up. Based on nothing whatsoever.

If you said it in a conversation to me in person, I'd also tell you it was rubbish. Don't really see what is wrong with that.

Superfurry72
20-11-2022, 01:18 PM
Yep hopefully if an op is required it can be done quickly

Can’t be serious long-term as he’s staying in Qatar for as long as Australia are in it

Hibees1973
20-11-2022, 01:25 PM
Can’t be serious long-term as he’s staying in Qatar for as long as Australia are in it

Is this true?

Surely there has to be some clarity provided by Hibs on Boyle's fitness. We have heard on numerous occasions the expected timescales of the likes of Magennis, Mitchell, McGeady, etc only for them to break down and not being available to play.

Hibs have made a huge investment bringing Boyle back. Does he require an op or just rest.

We need Hibs to announce what the situation is and will he be fit and ready for the Rangers game on 15 December.

CentreForward
20-11-2022, 01:27 PM
Obviously gutting for him, but again from a selfish point of view does this mean that we will now lose out on a lot of money for him no longer being involved? Think we were getting paid for every day he was there and possibly for Irvine too.

Zambernardi1875
20-11-2022, 01:45 PM
See, opinions are usually based on something. Yours is just totally made up. Based on nothing whatsoever.

If you said it in a conversation to me in person, I'd also tell you it was rubbish. Don't really see what is wrong with that.

What part is made up?

20-11-2022, 01:48 PM
What part is made up?

You saying his head was not at Hibs because he was thinking of the world cup. Totally made up.

Zambernardi1875
20-11-2022, 01:50 PM
You saying his head was not at Hibs because he was thinking of the world cup. Totally made up.

In my opinion his performances reflected it.

20-11-2022, 02:11 PM
Is this true?

Surely there has to be some clarity provided by Hibs on Boyle's fitness. We have heard on numerous occasions the expected timescales of the likes of Magennis, Mitchell, McGeady, etc only for them to break down and not being available to play.

Hibs have made a huge investment bringing Boyle back. Does he require an op or just rest.

We need Hibs to announce what the situation is and will he be fit and ready for the Rangers game on 15 December.

Sad news for Boyle, hope his head is ok must be gutted.

Don't think now is the time for any statements from Hibs.

20-11-2022, 02:23 PM
Really gutting to hear that and Martin must be devastated.

Up-the-slope
20-11-2022, 02:23 PM
Maybe a less important point, but hibs were due significant cash (iirc £10k per day) if he was in squad for as long as participating. (i did wonder about some teams signings in summer having one eye on their world cup participation and it being a likely 'income' or contribution to contract being offered :dunno:)

edit,,, did a check

was pretty close to correct.

THE BIGGER PICTURE: They state that clubs will be able to receive around USD 10,000 for each one of the days the relevant player remains with his national team during the FIFA World Cup 2022 and the official preparation period, which equates to just under £9,000 at the time of writing. All clubs a player has played for in the two years prior to the tournament will be compensated.

[/FONT][/COLOR]

20-11-2022, 02:32 PM
Hope this massive disappointment doesn’t affect his head for the rest of the season. Hopefully he gets over the mental anguish as well as the physical injury so that he can kick on positively for the rest of the season.

20-11-2022, 02:35 PM
That's rough, gutted for him.

We all know his love for us and would have loved to see him as one of us against that standard of opposition. Genuinely thought with his pace he could make an impact anywhere.

Superfurry72
20-11-2022, 02:42 PM
Is this true?

Said it himself on his Instagram post about the injury so a decent source!

20-11-2022, 02:46 PM
Is this true?

:cb You dont play poker by any chance do you, why would we release info like that. Really sorry for the lad, the world cup has even less interest for this Hibs supporter now.
That ref and the St midden player should get whats coming to them.

Zambernardi1875
20-11-2022, 02:47 PM
Maybe a less important point, but hibs were due significant cash (iirc £10k per day) if he was in squad for as long as participating. (i did wonder about some teams signings in summer having one eye on their world cup participation and it being a likely 'income' or contribution to contract being offered :dunno:)

edit,,, did a check

was pretty close to correct.

THE BIGGER PICTURE: They state that clubs will be able to receive around USD 10,000 for each one of the days the relevant player remains with his national team during the FIFA World Cup 2022 and the official preparation period, which equates to just under £9,000 at the time of writing. All clubs a player has played for in the two years prior to the tournament will be compensated.

[/FONT][/COLOR]

Which is why with the money involved and the effect it could have on his rest of season, Hibs should’ve managed the whole process up to the World Cup better, a complete lack of foresight by Hibs. Incredibly nieve Hibs didn’t weigh up the positives of him going there over missing a few games.

20-11-2022, 02:53 PM
If Boyle is staying with the squad while they remain in WC then odds are it will be for next 9-10 days only unless they progress.

I am assuming all the Hibs squad have a week or two off.

20-11-2022, 03:16 PM
Absolutely devastating for Martin

Not going could mentally affect him just as much as any physical injury so hopefully the club in conjunction with Australia are giving him all the suppprt he needs

20-11-2022, 03:59 PM
Which is why with the money involved and the effect it could have on his rest of season, Hibs should’ve managed the whole process up to the World Cup better, a complete lack of foresight by Hibs. Incredibly nieve Hibs didn’t weigh up the positives of him going there over missing a few games.

When should they have stopped playing him in your opinion and where do you draw the line?

Hibs weren’t naive. If they’d stopped playing him earlier we’d probably be in an even worse position in the league.

20-11-2022, 03:59 PM
Absolutely gutted for Martin - and that's also my prime interest in watching any of this bad joke of a WC tournament extinguished.

Would have loved to have seen Boyle getting torn into some World Class defences but it's not to be.

Bamboozled by some opinions on here though - seeming to say we should basically not have played Boyle at all this seaon lest he pick up a knock - he IS a Hibs player FFS!

20-11-2022, 04:16 PM
When should they have stopped playing him in your opinion and where do you draw the line?

Hibs weren’t naive. If they’d stopped playing him earlier we’d probably be in an even worse position in the league.

Yep bizarre. Don't play him in case he gets injured. May as well not have bothered signing him at all :greengrin

Donegal Hibby
20-11-2022, 04:33 PM
Boyle could have got a injury that kept him out a year so maybe we shouldn't have played him from when he signed for us , just wrap him up in cotton wool , maybe that would have made you happy?. French striker Karim Benzema was ruled out of world cup for a injury while training with France , how naive of them, a total lack of foresight by the French don't you think? Bottom line is if Boyle's fit , he plays , we pay his wages and that's his job to play football. Think your making to much of this , it's not the clubs fault , it's no one's fault just one of our players having had some extremely bad luck

CB Hibs 68
20-11-2022, 05:37 PM
Boyle could have got a injury that kept him out a year so maybe we shouldn't have played him from when he signed for us , just wrap him up in cotton wool , maybe that would have made you happy?. French striker Karim Benzema was ruled out of world cup for a injury while training with France , how naive of them, a total lack of foresight by the French don't you think? Bottom line is if Boyle's fit , he plays , we pay his wages and that's his job to play football. Think your making to much of this , it's not the clubs fault , it's no one's fault just one of our players having had some .extremely bad luck Could not agree more.

20-11-2022, 06:05 PM
Absolutely devastating for Martin

Not going could mentally affect him just as much as any physical injury so hopefully the club in conjunction with Australia are giving him all the suppprt he needs

Just a thought, but if the WC is indeed now a bust for Martin Boyle then the next few years are vitally important for him, in the end unless he actually immigrates to OZ nobody will really give a stuff that he played for them in the WC or not. His only remaining route for a wee bit of fitba immortality is to pick up a medal with Hibs ..... So the idea now has to be put it behind him and concentrate on being the best Hibs player he possibly can be.

Zambernardi1875
20-11-2022, 06:18 PM
Boyle could have got a injury that kept him out a year so maybe we shouldn't have played him from when he signed for us , just wrap him up in cotton wool , maybe that would have made you happy?. French striker Karim Benzema was ruled out of world cup for a injury while training with France , how naive of them, a total lack of foresight by the French don't you think? Bottom line is if Boyle's fit , he plays , we pay his wages and that's his job to play football. Think your making to much of this , it's not the clubs fault , it's no one's fault just one of our players having had some extremely bad luck

difference is benzema has won nearly everything in football, played in the biggest games and against the best players ever. his club wont be hit that much financially by him not going. this is a total one off for boyle, a golden ticket, as ive already posted, after the utd game, im my opinion he looked off it,shouldny of played after that. but who gives a **** about boyle eh! its all about hibs.

20-11-2022, 06:31 PM
difference is benzema has won nearly everything in football, played in the biggest games and against the best players ever. his club wont be hit that much financially by him not going. this is a total one off for boyle, a golden ticket, as ive already posted, after the utd game, im my opinion he looked off it,shouldny of played after that. but who gives a **** about boyle eh! its all about hibs.

Well yes it is about hibs, we are his employers

20-11-2022, 06:40 PM

It is, yes. This isn't Martin Boyle.net. We weren't going to drop him because you thought he looked off it.

20-11-2022, 06:40 PM
Just a thought, but if the WC is indeed now a bust for Martin Boyle then the next few years are vitally important for him, in the end unless he actually immigrates to OZ nobody will really give a stuff that he played for them in the WC or not. His only remaining route for a wee bit of fitba immortality is to pick up a medal with Hibs ..... So the idea now has to be put it behind him and concentrate on being the best Hibs player he possibly can be.

He already has a medal with Hibs tbf. He isn't going to change his mentality, he'll still play for Aus.

Donegal Hibby
20-11-2022, 06:43 PM
It's not about Benzema winning more or playing in the biggest game's,the point was any player can get injured , it's not anyone's fault . Not France's for Benzema, not Hibs for Boyle either . It's just bad luck nothing more nothing less. He's our best player ,would be daft not to play him if he's fit . Every Hibs fan cares about Boyle and are gutted for him as the club is too I'm sure , as to it's all about Hibs of course it is , he's a Hibs player why wouldn't it be ? .Graham Arnold even thanked Hibs for the way they handled it yet your blaming the club ? Your not making any sense there !

Donegal Hibby
20-11-2022, 07:15 PM
Boyles staying out with the Aussies
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-winger-martin-boyle-takes-on-australia-vibe-manager-role-after-being-forced-out-of-world-cup-3925176

20-11-2022, 10:11 PM
If he needs an op he should be coming home now to have it and beginning his recovery.

Not staying out in Qatar for bants.

21-11-2022, 12:49 AM
If he needs an op he should be coming home now to have it and beginning his recovery.

Not staying out in Qatar for bants.

Presume he doesn’t need an operation.

Not seen anything that has been published that says he needs an operation, and it certainly didn’t sound like he did before leaving when LJ said he hoped he’d have him available for at least one game prior to his leaving.

Assuming he doesn’t need an op, then he is in the best place now for his recovery, both physically and mentally.

The temporary role he now has will enable him to still be involved in the WC and cushion the blow, and physically the Socceroos are staying at the world renowned Aspire Sports Injuries centre in Doha, which as I say is one of the top Sports Medicine facilities in the world.

Donegal Hibby
21-11-2022, 01:25 AM

Not seen anything that has been published that says he needs an operation, and it certainly didn’t sound like he did before leaving when LJ said he hoped he’d have him available for at least one game prior to his leaving.

Assuming he doesn’t need an op, then he is in the best place now for his recovery, both physically and mentally.

The temporary role he now has will enable him to still be involved in the WC and cushion the blow, and physically the Socceroos are staying at the world renowned Aspire Sports Injuries centre in Doha, which as I say is one of the top Sports Medicine facilities in the world.
It's awful disappointing for him and such a blow not to play for his country but I feel this might soften the blow for him a bit with him still feeling apart of things and I am glad he's still out . Good luck Australia 🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺

21-11-2022, 06:57 AM
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/soccer/devastating-news-boyle-ruled-out-of-world-cup-as-hrustic-cleared-to-face-france-20221120-p5bzsj.html

21-11-2022, 08:02 AM

Hey, if he doesn’t need treatment or rehabilitation then yes, best place for him.

I hope it’s just a rest he needs.

Point is if he needs to do something to get fit, he needs to be doing it, as if he were back in Edinburgh.

Feel gutted for the lad.

21-11-2022, 08:25 AM
It sounded like we left him out the last couple of games before the break as a precaution so that he would be fit for the WC. Look like it's just come too soon for him. Right now i'm expecting him to play at Ibrox unless the club tell us something else.

GreenGray
21-11-2022, 08:51 AM
Is it normal for in injured players to stay with their country? Do they not typically return to their club to receive treatment and rehabilitation?

21-11-2022, 09:42 AM
Is it normal for in injured players to stay with their country? Do they not typically return to their club to receive treatment and rehabilitation?

Normally I think they would but think these are different circumstances

He’s in a place that they probably have facilities for rehab that far exceed our own. He went out there early to make use of them. Also, it keeps him involved in some way with the World Cup which might help him mentally in some way.

h1bs4life
21-11-2022, 09:50 AM
Absolutely gutted for Boyle if he requires treatment and he can get in Qatar it’s the place for him to be hopefully he will be fit for the Huns game.
The bigger picture he gets some rough treatment in Scotland with no protection from the hammer throwers with refs more interested in looking to book him for diving rather than give him any protection.

21-11-2022, 10:16 PM
Absolutely gutted for Boyle if he requires treatment and he can get in Qatar it’s the place for him to be hopefully he will be fit for the Huns game.
The bigger picture he gets some rough treatment in Scotland with no protection from the hammer throwers with refs more interested in looking to book him for diving rather than give him any protection.

He won’t get any better treatment anywhere in the world than where he is now.

Haven’t heard anything to suggest whether he will or won’t be fit to face Sevco, but I’m not optimistic.

His injury has not exactly been the most transparent, and if it ruled him out of a World Cup finals, It suggests to me that it is more than a just 3 or so weeks away from being ok.

21-11-2022, 10:19 PM

He is in the renowned Aspire sports medicine centre.

Wouldn’t get better treatment anywhere else.

22-11-2022, 05:44 AM

Spot on ridiculous some of the challenges he gets

OsiersHibs
22-11-2022, 10:34 AM
Must be a monumental disappointment for him. Will be a tough one to get over for him.

HibeeHibernia
22-11-2022, 02:18 PM
does anyone know what's actually wrong with him it looked a nothing challenge at the time

itslegaltender
22-11-2022, 05:12 PM
he was off form in the few games before he got the injury, wonder if he was carrying a knock?

22-11-2022, 06:10 PM
Currently lying in a hospital bed with his knee all bandaged up…that’s not good.

22-11-2022, 06:13 PM
Currently lying in a hospital bed with his knee all bandaged up…that’s not good.

At least whatever it is is getting sorted and the folk demanding he come home instantly can stop moaning now

22-11-2022, 06:13 PM

Boyle? Has he had surgery

22-11-2022, 06:14 PM

Assume so. Was ok his Instagram story. He’s watching Oz game from his hospital bed

Hoping it’s potentially a tidy up with a short recovery time but that’s wishful thinking

22-11-2022, 06:18 PM

Looks like it. He's just posted on Instagram with a caption of supporting his team mates tonight and he's clearly lying in a hospital.

Not great at all.

22-11-2022, 06:19 PM
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/soccer/devastating-news-boyle-ruled-out-of-world-cup-as-hrustic-cleared-to-face-france-20221120-p5bzsj.html

Didn't play in the cup final but played a "vibe manager" role for several days afterwards.

22-11-2022, 06:36 PM
Looks like he is in hospital , thought it was something he was just nursing to get better and staying out in Qatar to enjoy the atmosphere and support players but looks like he has needed an operation

From insta looks like his family is at the game

Slim Shady
22-11-2022, 06:43 PM
Surgery to repair tear in his meniscus. Could be back within 4-6 weeks.

Paulie Walnuts
22-11-2022, 06:47 PM
Surgery to repair tear in his meniscus. Could be back within 4-6 weeks.

Is that definite? As there’s numerous posts on social media (yes, I know) saying it’s an ACL.

22-11-2022, 06:51 PM
WTF have the medical team been thinking letting him travel about the place, madness so it is, did we even send him for a scan while he was back here in Edinburgh, this is a joke from Hibs, now means he might be flying back home within the next 10 days which is another worry, this has not been dealt with professionally.

22-11-2022, 06:52 PM
Is that definite? As there’s numerous posts on social media (yes, I know) saying it’s an ACL.

Surely if it was an ACL, would have been diagnosed before now

22-11-2022, 06:53 PM
WTF have the medical team been thinking letting him travel about the place, madness so it is, did we even send him for a scan while he was back here in Edinburgh, this is a joke from Hibs, now means he might be flying back home within the next 10 days which is another worry, this has not been dealt with professionally.

He went for a scan and it didn’t show any major damage.

He’s now benefitting from some of the top sports medical facilities in world.

22-11-2022, 06:56 PM
Surely if it was an ACL, would have been diagnosed before now

IMO, he was always going to need something done to fix the issue.

I thought it was pretty clear they were basically trying to patch him up and get him fit enough to play in the World Cup.

If it was an ACL then surely, as you say, that would have been diagnosed straight away and that would never have been happening.

22-11-2022, 06:56 PM
He went for a scan and it didn’t show any major damage.

He’s now benefitting from some of the top sports medical facilities in world.

The biggest worry for me, is he’s now onto his 3rd knee operation, which is not good for Martin and Hibs
Have they all been on the same knee

22-11-2022, 07:00 PM

I thought we were told after the scan Hibs sent him for in England that it was a nick in his meniscus - not too bad and might not stop him playing, but will cause a bit of pain until it heals or dealt with?

I assume the decision has been made to deal with it and get him back for 2nd half of the season.

Mikey_1875
22-11-2022, 07:04 PM
Not great news if true. Will put him touch and go for the Derby.

Trinity Hibee
22-11-2022, 07:05 PM
I thought we were told after the scan Hibs sent him for in England that it was a nick in his meniscus - not too bad and might not stop him playing, but will cause a bit of pain until it heals or dealt with?

I assume the decision has been made to deal with it and get him back for 2nd half of the season.

Yeah I think the club were trying to give him a chance of making the World Cup which you can understand. Unfortunately it’s not worked out. Hopefully he’s back ready for the derby

22-11-2022, 07:16 PM

Geeeez , I doubt they have put there top signing who they spend plenty cash on with wages at risk.. more likely they wanted to give him best chance to play in World Cup . I’m sure the Australian physios are looking after him

22-11-2022, 07:33 PM
How the **** is this coming out on social media and not from the club?

We must have been fully aware of the situation as he is our player and it always down to the club to do a final assessment of a player not the international team when they deem he is not fit enough to play.

22-11-2022, 07:40 PM

bit of an overreaction i think :greengrin

22-11-2022, 07:47 PM

I don’t think it is. Even if it’s a small op it now looks this will have been known at the time but they hoped to get him through the World Cup. The travel and being away from the club is far from ideal. He has hardly been training so it’s not a new injury or worsened.

22-11-2022, 07:52 PM
I don’t think it is. Even if it’s a small op it now looks this will have been known at the time but they hoped to get him through the World Cup. The travel and being away from the club is far from ideal. He has hardly been training so it’s not a new injury or worsened.

Or possibly it was worse than first feared, further scans/specialists/doctors have advised differently?

Sometimes if a player needs surgery, they will wait until the end of the season if they can get through without it. Maybe they seen this break as an opportunity to get it out the way when they realised he wasn’t going to be able to play through it for a few more weeks.

None of us know, pointless blaming Hibs medical team. It’s just another thing to try and give the club **** for :dunno:

22-11-2022, 08:17 PM
Or possibly it was worse than first feared, further scans/specialists/doctors have advised differently?

Sometimes if a player needs surgery, they will wait until the end of the season if they can get through without it. Maybe they seen this break as an opportunity to get it out the way when they realised he wasn’t going to be able to play through it for a few more weeks.

None of us know, pointless blaming Hibs medical team. It’s just another thing to try and give the club **** for :dunno:

Things might have changed but he hasn’t been playing or training and he was down south for a scan that we were told showed nothing material. I don’t give the club critisism randomly but we shouldn’t need to have to speculate about our top player being in a hospital bed with a big bandage on his knee when the club haven’t said a word.

Keyser Sauzee
22-11-2022, 08:24 PM
Is he still in Qatar?

22-11-2022, 08:36 PM

Aye, lets rip into the club without even knowing a fraction of the facts. 🙄

22-11-2022, 08:39 PM
How the **** is this coming out on social media and not from the club?

We must have been fully aware of the situation as he is our player and it always down to the club to do a final assessment of a player not the international team when they deem he is not fit enough to play.

I always thought it was down to medical experts.

22-11-2022, 08:39 PM
Is he still in Qatar?

Boyle said he was "grateful to be kept in camp" so I would assume so.

Hibees1973
22-11-2022, 08:44 PM
It does seem a bit odd the way this has been handled.

The Australian Federation made a point of thanking Hibs for doing all they could for Boyle to play in the World Cup.

Appears they have waited until as late as possible to see if he is fit to play against France, then said a couple of days before the game he won't make it then he goes under the knife today for an op.

Boyle got injured on 29 Oct. If you give a few days for a initial diagnosis, Boyle could have had this op 3 weeks ago. Instead he was given another 3 weeks to see if he was OK, then we find out a couple of days later he is not, then he has an op.

So 3 weeks wasted.

No wonder the Australian Federation thanked us for being so accommodating.

Given our plummeting League position and an extremely difficult first 4 games when we get back, given the form we are in, it will be interesting to read the comments on here if Boyle is not fit for the Rangers game on 15 December.

Know some will feel this is unsympathetic, but if we are in the bottom 3 come the new year there won't be much sentiment on here.

22-11-2022, 08:49 PM

Yep.

Don’t know the full details so won’t rush to knee jerk criticism.

What I DO know is that where he is located..the Aspire Complex, is one of, if not THE top sports injury diagnostic and treatment centres in the world.

While there may be questions about telling the punters, I have no doubts whatsoever that Martin has been receiving the best possible treatment available anywhere in the world, with total communication between The medical staff and Hibs.

Far from being ‘not handled professionally’…the fact that Martin came to Doha may well have been a bonus in medical terms.

22-11-2022, 08:50 PM

The Australian Federation made a point of thanking Hibs for doing all they could for Boyle to play in the World Cup.

Appears they have waited until as late as possible to see if he is fit to play against France, then said a couple of days before the game he won't make it then he goes under the knife today for an op.

Boyle got injured on 29 Oct. If you give a few days for a initial diagnosis, Boyle could have had this op 3 weeks ago. Instead he was given another 3 weeks to see if he was OK, then we find out a couple of days later he is not, then he has an op.

So 3 weeks wasted.

Given our plummeting League position and an extremely difficult first 4 games when we get back, given the form we are in, it will be interesting to read the comments on here if Boyle is not fit for the Rangers game on 15 December.

Know some will feel this is unsympathetic, but if we are in the bottom 3 come the new year there won't be much sentiment on here.

Boyle deserved the chance to play at the world cup, hibs gave him that chance. It's almost like people do not want players to be treated like human beings, just make them football robots instead.

We should be able to cope without Boyle and there was nothing in the games he missed that the other players on the pitch should have found remotely difficult to handle even though they did.

22-11-2022, 08:51 PM

So 3 weeks wasted.

Very unlike you to take a negative view of things.

22-11-2022, 08:51 PM

You think, he will have to do a lot of travelling on planes coaches etc which will not be good for his recovery, I get he is in a good place to get this treatment but imo Hibs should have brought him home and got the surgery in the UK, for me something just not right here.

22-11-2022, 08:53 PM
Very unlike you to take a negative view of things.
😀👍

22-11-2022, 09:12 PM
You think, he will have to do a lot of travelling on planes coaches etc which will not be good for his recovery, I get he is in a good place to get this treatment but imo Hibs should have brought him home and got the surgery in the UK, for me something just not right here.

Pretty sure the medical experts would have considered any effects of travel etc in their decision though wouldn’t you think?

22-11-2022, 09:17 PM
Aye, lets rip into the club without even knowing a fraction of the facts. 🙄

Facts are he got injured and the manager said he would light a candle and hope he would make the World Cup, week later LJ said he would be fit for the World Cup but it would be 50/50 if he played for Hibs before leaving, he has rested most of that time so nothing would aggravate his injury, he is now sitting in a hospital after having surgery and we don’t know how long he will be out for, so LJ said he would be fit for the WC and he must have got that advice from Hibs medical team, as I have said the travelling won’t be good for him and might see him out for a longer period, thems the facts.

22-11-2022, 09:27 PM
Facts are he got injured and the manager said he would light a candle and hope he would make the World Cup, week later LJ said he would be fit for the World Cup but it would be 50/50 if he played for Hibs before leaving, he has rested most of that time so nothing would aggravate his injury, he is now sitting in a hospital after having surgery and we don’t know how long he will be out for, so LJ said he would be fit for the WC and he must have got that advice from Hibs medical team, as I have said the travelling won’t be good for him and might see him out for a longer period, thems the facts.

For a post supposedly stating facts, there’s a fair bit of guesswork in there. I’ll leave it at that. I’ll trust our medical team, LJ and the Aussies have been in regular contact throughout and there’s absolutely nothing untoward. You keep firing away though.

22-11-2022, 09:38 PM

So, the advice from the Hibs medical team was wrong?

22-11-2022, 09:43 PM

Is that your medical opinion having examined him? As an aside, I'm sure he's not flying Ryan Air......

23-11-2022, 05:27 AM
Ron's son's fault?

Slim Shady
23-11-2022, 05:38 AM

23-11-2022, 05:44 AM

Makes sense to get op in a renowned sports medical facility when break in the season. He would have been hoping he could have played through it. Obviously wasn't able to hopefully back playing at full speed for rest of the season.

23-11-2022, 05:47 AM
Is that your medical opinion having examined him? As an aside, I'm sure he's not flying Ryan Air......

Unless Porto has gotten a private jet 😁

23-11-2022, 05:51 AM
Yep.

Don’t know the full details so won’t rush to knee jerk criticism.

What I DO know is that where he is located..the Aspire Complex, is one of, if not THE top sports injury diagnostic and treatment centres in the world.

While there may be questions about telling the punters, I have no doubts whatsoever that Martin has been receiving the best possible treatment available anywhere in the world, with total communication between The medical staff and Hibs.

Far from being ‘not handled professionally’…the fact that Martin came to Doha may well have been a bonus in medical terms.

Totally agree.

23-11-2022, 08:16 AM

So 3 weeks wasted.

This was the point I was making earlier in the thread.

We (Hibs) are now 3 weeks behind schedule on recovery.

I’m no doctor, but how was he ever going to play without aggravating it further? Cortisone injection and hope for the best?

Hibs really do need to come out and tell us what’s up.

23-11-2022, 08:18 AM
Boyle deserved the chance to play at the world cup, hibs gave him that chance. It's almost like people do not want players to be treated like human beings, just make them football robots instead.

We should be able to cope without Boyle and there was nothing in the games he missed that the other players on the pitch should have found remotely difficult to handle even though they did.

Sort of proving the point that we did need Boyle and could do with him back and firing ASAP.

23-11-2022, 08:48 AM
Ive had a couple of tears of my cartlidge when i played, and both times i managed to play until the operation.

It was a little painful but not enough to stop me playing. A bit of swelling after games, but some rest and ice and that came down very quickly.

Now i did not have a world cup to look forward to, and i was not paid anywhere near the amount Martin is on.

I can see both sides here, he wanted to play in the world cup, who wouldnt?

But at some stage he will have needed to go in and have it cleaned up, and that will have been in Hibs time, so he will miss games for us.

If he was not a Hibs player, none of us would give a toss, and probably understand why they tried.

FFS he's not even Australian. :wink:

23-11-2022, 09:06 AM
Cummings performance has been called minging by a former Australia player.

23-11-2022, 09:14 AM
I had a torn meniscus earlier this year. I got advice from a friend who's a physio at an EPL team. He said that usually they avoid any kind of surgery to begin with. Rather it's rest, icing etc until it settles down. If the rest doesn't work then they'll consider surgery which can range from very minor to more serious. Given that Hibs, along with Oz FA sent Boyle to a specialist in Manchester who then cleared him to travel it appears we've followed the pattern as above. The rest hasn't worked and given Martin won't be playing for at least another 3 weeks, it seems an ideal time to fix the problem. Hopefully Martin's procedure falls into the minor category and he's fully fit soonest.
I'm struggling to find any reason to attach any blame to our club on this occasion.

23-11-2022, 10:02 AM
I had a torn meniscus earlier this year. I got advice from a friend who's a physio at an EPL team. He said that usually they avoid any kind of surgery to begin with. Rather it's rest, icing etc until it settles down. If the rest doesn't work then they'll consider surgery which can range from very minor to more serious. Given that Hibs, along with Oz FA sent Boyle to a specialist in Manchester who then cleared him to travel it appears we've followed the pattern as above. The rest hasn't worked and given Martin won't be playing for at least another 3 weeks, it seems an ideal time to fix the problem. Hopefully Martin's procedure falls into the minor category and he's fully fit soonest.
I'm struggling to find any reason to attach any blame to our club on this occasion.

Absolutely all seems sensible imo

23-11-2022, 10:20 AM

If it’s Zeljko Kalac, then I wouldn’t get too excited about it.

If anyone was minging when they played for theSocceroos it’s him.

23-11-2022, 12:18 PM
We want players to show loyalty to us yet when it comes to showing them loyalty, in this case giving Boyle as much chance as possible at playing in the World Cup the club is daft

For all we know Boyle could have had a wee tidy up operation at a top notch hospital because he wasn’t able to play and is now doing his recovery in a warm country while cheering on the country he helped get to the finals

The alternative would be we told him he couldn’t go , potentially stop him playing in a once in a life time tournament which would rightly piss him off. To me it seems we have done the right thing for him as a person

23-11-2022, 12:26 PM

To be fair it was pretty ineffective. He ran about a bit and didn’t get anywhere near the ball. That said, neither did a lot of the Aussie players and he got no service to work with.

23-11-2022, 01:01 PM
Hadn’t realised Boyle’s done his ACL…out for rest of season…just announced by club ..been so unlucky with major injuries

TelaStella
23-11-2022, 01:02 PM
Out for rest of season. Just confirmed.

23-11-2022, 01:02 PM
The Club can confirm that @MartinBoyle9 will miss the rest of the 2022/23 season after undergoing surgery on his knee.Everyone at Hibernian FC wishes Martin the best with his recovery and look forward to seeing him back on the pitch as soon as possible.

23-11-2022, 01:03 PM
Well that’s us ****ed.

JamesHFC
23-11-2022, 01:04 PM
Slowly starting to lose interest in this season.

Oh dear god

What a ****ing nightmare.

Paulie Walnuts
23-11-2022, 01:11 PM
So it is an ACL.

What a ****ing crap season this is turning into yet again.

Concerning that he’s having yet another knee op. He’s came back stronger the last two times but not many players will get through that many major knee operations and return to their best. Hopefully Martin can be in the minority.

23-11-2022, 01:13 PM
Firstly, awful news for Boyle and really feel for him. Missing a World Cup is devastating enough never mind out for the rest of the season.

Secondly I actually really feel for the club, they’ve paid a huge amount to get Boyle back to the club and he’s our best player. We’re struggling at the moment but the thought was after the break we’d be stronger with key players and our goal threats back.

Now Boyle is fit it genuinely changes the dynamic of the whole team.

Huge transfer window coming up as we need to find a way of scoring goals and quick.

23-11-2022, 01:13 PM
Bit mental that it took further scans in Qatar to realise how ****ed it was, should it not have been picked up right away?

23-11-2022, 01:14 PM
Our season is goosed.

And just think he would have been fine if that arse hole referee has blown his whistle on initial challenge rather than delay.

Paulie Walnuts
Bit mental that it took further scans in Qatar to realise how ****ed it was, should it not have been picked up right away?

Silver took quite a bit of stick on this thread for criticising the club but how on earth has this been missed?

Our injury record has been horrendous for ages to the point it can’t just be bad luck and now we’ve not even noticed our player has a ruptured ACL. Just what is going on at Hibs?

That is just unbelievable, they were giving him every chance to be fit for the World Cup? How did they not know he had done his ACL?

We can’t seem to win games without him so that’s our season truly compromised if it wasn’t already looking bad.

Get well soon Martin.

23-11-2022, 01:16 PM
This season is a write off. We’re so reliant on him and I have no confidence we’ll do decent enough business in the window to deal with his absence.

23-11-2022, 01:18 PM

Silver took quite a bit of stick on this thread for criticising the club but how on earth has this been missed?

Our injury record has been horrendous for ages to the point it can’t just be bad luck and now we’ve not even noticed our player has a ruptured ACL. Just what is going on at Hibs?

In fairness to the club I don’t think this is something they can be classed as missing, they wouldn’t have done this in house and I’m sure he went down to England for scans?

23-11-2022, 01:19 PM
That’s dreadful news for the player and a huge worry for the team.

Make this season stop!

hibsforeurope
23-11-2022, 01:21 PM

It's quite a big jump from potentially being fit in a few weeks to play in the WC to then needing an operation and out for the season.

I'm beginning to wonder if the unusually long injury list is more than just bad luck. if major things like this are being missed/misdiagnosed what else could have been prevented.

23-11-2022, 01:22 PM
We want players to show loyalty to us yet when it comes to showing them loyalty, in this case giving Boyle as much chance as possible at playing in the World Cup the club is daft

For all we know Boyle could have had a wee tidy up operation at a top notch hospital because he wasn’t able to play and is now doing his recovery in a warm country while cheering on the country he helped get to the finals

The alternative would be we told him he couldn’t go , potentially stop him playing in a once in a life time tournament which would rightly piss him off. To me it seems we have done the right thing for him as a person

This aged well for me [emoji85]

Gutted he is out for the rest of the season, worrying that it was missed tho . Maybe just aswell he had surgery in over in Qatar as seems like they are better

23-11-2022, 01:23 PM
In fairness to the club I don’t think this is something they can be classed as missing, they wouldn’t have done this in house and I’m sure he went down to England for scans?

Looks like whoever did it missed something that seems pretty obvious with a player with historic knee problems, he could have been a month into recovery by now if it had been found right away

Really bad news - our best player and if he hadn’t re-signed we would probably be lower in table.

The way it happened was ridiculous too.

Probably won’t see him playing till this time next season.

Would love to see our injury list last few years - seems we always have 1 or 2 long term injuries.

Need to add quality in transfer window before this news and now even more so.

Am I correct in thinking that he was looked at here, sent to Manchester for a scan and to see a specialist, flew out to Qatar with Australia, possibly trained with view to play and then discovered he needed an operation.
So many opportunities to deal with it missed.

Paulie Walnuts
23-11-2022, 01:24 PM

Whether it’s done in house or elsewhere our injury record has gone well beyond bad luck imo.

Something is amiss on the medical side, whether we’re out sourcing stuff to hopeless companies (potentially the case here) or the medical team aren’t up to scratch when it comes to getting players back fit (Magennis, Mitchell, McGeady). You don’t get the amount of injuries and players unable to make any sort of comeback in reasonable time frames by coincidence.

We even had Jack Ross come out about 8 or 9 weeks after Magennis got injured previously saying that we had no idea what was wrong with him. He only came back from that same injury about a month or so ago. Nobody managed to diagnose that within 2-3 months and nobody even noticed our best and most expensive player had a ruptured ACL.

It’s a shambles.

Aldoo
This season is a write off. We’re so reliant on him and I have no confidence we’ll do decent enough business in the window to deal with his absence.

The season is not a write off until we are safe from relegation which is a very real issue!!

Looking forward to the 23/24 season already.

23-11-2022, 01:27 PM
I think now what’s perplexing most fans who aren’t doctors or physios is how a miniscus (minibus) tear that rest will help, can suddenly turn into a season ending ACL rupture.

Can any medics clarify?

AugustaHibs
23-11-2022, 01:28 PM
I think now what’s perplexing most fans who aren’t doctors or physios is how a minibus tear that rest will help, can suddenly turn into a season ending ACL rupture.

Can any medics clarify?

The wheels are coming off our season.

23-11-2022, 01:31 PM
The wheels are coming off our season.

Haha, edited. Otherwise we’d go round and round that typo.

23-11-2022, 01:32 PM
I think now what’s perplexing most fans who aren’t doctors or physios is how a minibus tear that rest will help, can suddenly turn into a season ending ACL rupture.

Can any medics clarify?

We'll clearly need to sign a new coach to replace him

23-11-2022, 01:32 PM
That’s an absolute catastrophe.

23-11-2022, 01:33 PM
We'll clearly need to sign a new coach to replace him

I’m going to re-edit just to carry on the bus puns.

Is that fare?

23-11-2022, 01:34 PM
Some good away days in the championship

23-11-2022, 01:38 PM
Whether it’s done in house or elsewhere our injury record has gone well beyond bad luck imo.

Something is amiss on the medical side, whether we’re out sourcing stuff to hopeless companies (potentially the case here) or the medical team aren’t up to scratch when it comes to getting players back fit (Magennis, Mitchell, McGeady). You don’t get the amount of injuries and players unable to make any sort of comeback in reasonable time frames by coincidence.

We even had Jack Ross come out about 8 or 9 weeks after Magennis got injured previously saying that we had no idea what was wrong with him. He only came back from that same injury about a month or so ago. Nobody managed to diagnose that within 2-3 months and nobody even noticed our best and most expensive player had a ruptured ACL.

It’s a shambles.

Sometimes it’s bad luck, sometimes it’s players who have a history of injury issues so it can’t be classed as a huge surprised

Magennis and Mitchell were both known as injury prone whilst Boyle and McGeady both had knee troubles.

Unfortunately the size of club we are we need to take risks sometimes and hope a player gets past his injury issues - if they were fully fit all the time we might not get them.

Let’s not pretend other clubs don’t have the same issues though and it’s only Hibs that get reoccurring injuries.

Aberdeen, Heart and rangers all have/had a huge amount of players out injured too

MelbourneHibees
23-11-2022, 01:40 PM
How much do we think we sacrificed in expected transfer fee to get him back? About 2 million or so? Cannot catch a *****ing break.

23-11-2022, 01:42 PM
have to wonder if he's done it during a training session with the Australia Team.

twice now he's been away with Australia and done his knee whilst at Hibs, have to wonder if the club start saying they won't release him for international duty?

23-11-2022, 01:44 PM
For **** sake.

That is all.

Paulie Walnuts
23-11-2022, 01:44 PM
Sometimes it’s bad luck, sometimes it’s players who have a history of injury issues so it can’t be classed as a huge surprised

Magennis and Mitchell were both known as injury prone whilst Boyle and McGeady both had knee troubles.

Unfortunately the size of club we are we need to take risks sometimes and hope a player gets past his injury issues - if they were fully fit all the time we might not get them.

Let’s not pretend other clubs don’t have the same issues though and it’s only Hibs that get reoccurring injuries.

Aberdeen, Heart and rangers all have/had a huge amount of players out injured too

Na, not for me. We have far too many injuries, far too often they take a hell of a lot longer than we’re told to recover and far too often they break down again shortly after.

McGeady has been out for what, 5 months now? We were told 6 weeks to begin with. Boyle is out for the season (7 months from injury) having initially been told a few weeks hopefully. Turns out we didn’t even know he had an existing serious injury. Magennis didn’t get diagnosed until at least 2 months after his injury was sustained. He comes back and breaks down straight away every time.

The medical side of things needs addressed at Hibs from our in house team to the companies we outsource to. Other teams may well have injuries but we’ve been having them for numerous seasons in a row. Other teams also don’t regularly have guys out for months upon months when they are initially expected to be out for a few weeks and to be quite honest I’ve never heard of anyone else not knowing their player has a pre existing ruptured ACL, something that’s generally considered the worst injury you can get in football.

23-11-2022, 01:48 PM
I think now what’s perplexing most fans who aren’t doctors or physios is how a miniscus (minibus) tear that rest will help, can suddenly turn into a season ending ACL rupture.

Can any medics clarify?

I blame the coach personally.

23-11-2022, 01:49 PM
Na, not for me. We have far too many injuries, far too often they take a hell of a lot longer than we’re told to recover and far too often they break down again shortly after.

McGeady has been out for what, 5 months now? We were told 6 weeks to begin with. Boyle is out for the season (7 months from injury) having initially been told a few weeks hopefully. Turns out we didn’t even know he had an existing serious injury. Magennis didn’t get diagnosed until at least 2 months after his injury was sustained. He comes back and breaks down straight away every time.

The medical side of things needs addressed at Hibs from our in house team to the companies we outsource to. Other teams may well have injuries but we’ve been having them for numerous seasons in a row. Other teams also don’t regularly have guys out for months upon months when they are initially expected to be out for a few weeks and to be quite honest I’ve never heard of anyone else not knowing their player has a pre existing ruptured ACL.

Have to agree with this to an extent, as you say in your post we seem to have initial injuries that suddenly become season enders. Its a very strange situation.

chippy
23-11-2022, 01:50 PM
Time to try out the under 19s. Josh O’Connor is a speed merchant , Ethan Laidlaw too. Put both of them in next 2 friendlie

23-11-2022, 01:51 PM
Sign Griffiths. He'll replace the goals and keep us up.

23-11-2022, 01:55 PM
How much do we think we sacrificed in expected transfer fee to get him back? About 2 million or so? Cannot catch a *****ing break.

Did they pay the full balance that was due to us? If they did then any money we paid will be money we already received.

23-11-2022, 01:57 PM
I’m going to re-edit just to carry on the bus puns.

Is that fare?

It's Mega!

23-11-2022, 02:03 PM
Ok, now we're in serious relegation trouble.

23-11-2022, 02:07 PM
Sign Griffiths. He'll replace the goals and keep us up.
Why couldn’t he do that at Falkirk two leagues below us?

23-11-2022, 02:09 PM
have to wonder if he's done it during a training session with the Australia Team.

twice now he's been away with Australia and done his knee whilst at Hibs, have to wonder if the club start saying they won't release him for international duty?

Did he train with the Australian squad. ?

23-11-2022, 02:10 PM
Ooft, this is awful news, someone needs their arse kicked.

How do you miss a cruciate tear in a scan, where did we send him to get it done, the gorgie farm?

23-11-2022, 02:12 PM

Hibs cannot do that unless it's for friendlies.

23-11-2022, 02:14 PM
Serious concerns for us now.

I can see a long slow march to the end of the season with little to play for unless we can get players of proven ability IN.

23-11-2022, 02:19 PM
How on earth can you go from possibly being fit for the World Cup in a few weeks' time to being out for 6-9 months in the space of a couple of weeks? :confused:

This is absolutely horrific news and puts us in real danger of relegation now in my opinion.

23-11-2022, 02:24 PM
Ooft, this is awful news, someone needs their arse kicked.

How do you miss a cruciate tear in a scan, where did we send him to get it done, the gorgie farm?

He would have had 2 scans, 1 in Edinburgh where it might not have been picked up but I doubt it but no chance the specialist in Manchester missed this, something just doesn’t add up here.

I could hazard a guess but I would just get slated for putting the boot in to the club.

CB Hibs 68
23-11-2022, 02:26 PM
He would have had 2 scans, 1 in Edinburgh where it might not have been picked up but I doubt it but no chance the specialist in Manchester missed this, something just doesn’t add up here.

I could hazard a guess but I would just get slated for putting the boot in to the club.Go on tell us?

23-11-2022, 02:28 PM

I could hazard a guess but I would just get slated for putting the boot in to the club.

You think they knew he had an ACL injury yet still sent him to the World Cup ? Not a chance that happened imo……it’s much more likely that deeper investigations, likely when they where tidying up his knee, has shown his ACL condition more clearly

23-11-2022, 02:34 PM
You think they knew he had an ACL injury yet still sent him to the World Cup ? Not a chance that happened imo……it’s much more likely that deeper investigations, likely when they where tidying up his knee, has shown his ACL condition more clearly

23-11-2022, 02:36 PM
Looking forward to the 23/24 season already.

Aye, I enjoyed the championship last time anaw

Stuarty1875
23-11-2022, 02:42 PM
Gutted for Boyle. Wishing him a speedy recovery.

Our record without him is abysmal. Got to worry for the rest of the season.

23-11-2022, 02:46 PM
Gutted for Boyle. Wishing him a speedy recovery.

Our record without him is abysmal. Got to worry for the rest of the season.

I don't know when or even if some of our forwards will come good, but without Boyle I think all we have to go on is one half against St Mirren and half an hour against ten man St Johnstone.

There's absolutely no evidence aside from that we have players who can regularly win games.

MelbourneHibees
23-11-2022, 02:51 PM
Did they pay the full balance that was due to us? If they did then any money we paid will be money we already received.

No I believe they had only paid us a portion of it.

Paulie Walnuts
23-11-2022, 02:55 PM
I don't know when or even if some of our forwards will come good, but without Boyle I think all we have to go on is one half against St Mirren and half an hour against ten man St Johnstone.

There's absolutely no evidence aside from that we have players who can regularly win games.

We never had him against St J away, some of the Hearts game, some of the Livi game and all of Aberdeen, Ross County and Killie before the break.

Other than St J away we were losing until he came on or lost every single one of those games.

He's here!
23-11-2022, 03:05 PM
The season is not a write off until we are safe from relegation which is a very real issue!!

Agreed. Devastating for Boyle but for Hibs it puts us in all kinds of trouble.

McGruber
23-11-2022, 03:14 PM
Unbelievable. We were told the news from the specialist was best case scenario. Gutted.

Couple weeks ago it was poor but hanging on to the hope we kick on after the break with Boyle, Nisbet, McGeady & Maggenis all back fit and firing.
Now Boyle is out, McGeady looks unlikely to kick a ball, Maggenis has another '2 week' injury. Nisbet will come back into a team creating naff all.

Brutal

23-11-2022, 03:28 PM
This is absolutely horrific news and puts us in real danger of relegation now in my opinion.

Hate to say it but, that's where I am too. 😢

23-11-2022, 03:30 PM
Our record with injuries is brutal. I'm not sure if it's recruitment signing injury prone players, something on the medical side or just bad luck but Boyle, Magennis, McGeady and Nisbet all currently out with or having recently had serious, long term injuries doesn't sit right with me.

Trinity Hibee
23-11-2022, 04:05 PM
Oh great. Another season of pish now. This is what happens when you rely heavily on one player. Lost for words with how we’ve recruited. It’s hardly like Boyle’s been injury free throughout his career yet we pin all our hopes on him.

23-11-2022, 04:07 PM
Unbelievable. We were told the news from the specialist was best case scenario. Gutted.

Couple weeks ago it was poor but hanging on to the hope we kick on after the break with Boyle, Nisbet, McGeady & Maggenis all back fit and firing.
Now Boyle is out, McGeady looks unlikely to kick a ball, Maggenis has another '2 week' injury. Nisbet will come back into a team creating naff all.

Brutal

Hibs do not create ''naff all'', though? Like, that cannot be labeled against this team at all.

Why does McGeady look unlikely to kick a ball? Have I missed something?

He's here!
23-11-2022, 04:25 PM
Oh great. Another season of pish now. This is what happens when you rely heavily on one player. Lost for words with how we’ve recruited. It’s hardly like Boyle’s been injury free throughout his career yet we pin all our hopes on him.

It's already been a season of mostly pish. Unless we pull a remarkable rabbit or two out of the hat in January (and as you say, our recruitment thus far bar Boyle and Marshall makes that seem unlikely) we're set for a long struggle against the drop.

23-11-2022, 04:26 PM

It's shocking news for Hibs and even worse for LJ.

Without MB, Hibs are blunt fodder for other teams - a position which the Owner and management must recognise. Unless they actually do something constructive and effective to address that, LJ will be out within a couple of months and Hibs embroiled in a relegation battle. If the owner thinks otherwise, then we need a new owner.

23-11-2022, 04:29 PM
Hibs do not create ''naff all'', though? Like, that cannot be labeled against this team at all.

For Ross County and Kilmarnock games, that's surely exactly what can Hibs can be labelled with?

Hibees1973
23-11-2022, 04:30 PM
FFS.

Think our odds on being relegated will have shortened on the basis of this.

Never mind Ron's son will pluck out some prospect from FC Thunderstorm in the Tanzanian 5th division.

No need to worry.

Trinity Hibee
23-11-2022, 04:31 PM
FFS.

Never mind Ron's son will pluck out some prospect from FC Thunderstorm in the Tanzanian 5th division.

No need to worry.

That would be funny if it wasn’t so probable

23-11-2022, 04:33 PM
It's shocking news for Hibs and even worse for LJ.

Without MB, Hibs are blunt fodder for other teams - a position which the Owner and management must recognise. Unless they actually do something constructive and effective to address that, LJ will be out within a couple of months and Hibs embroiled in a relegation battle. If the owner thinks otherwise, then we need a new owner.

Our owner thought we had a good window last January so I wouldn’t be holding my breath expecting them to address our shortcomings this coming one.

23-11-2022, 04:33 PM
For Ross County and Kilmarnock games, that's surely exactly what can Hibs can be labelled with?

Ross County absolutely. Mainly due to our forwards losing the ball with every touch.

Kilmarnock I didn't see so I cant really comment. Didn't we score a goal that was a bawhair offside?

23-11-2022, 04:38 PM

The fact he had a non contact recurrence of his previous injury , must put a question mark over whether he will return to first team football . Even if he does will he as be anywhere near the level he could perform at before the first of those two ?

I’d say it’s fair to suspect he’s unlikely to be a major player for us , even if he does get back playing

23-11-2022, 04:43 PM
The fact he had a non contact recurrence of his previous injury , must put a question mark over whether he will return to first team football . Even if he does will he as be anywhere near the level he could perform at before the first of those two ?

I’d say it’s fair to suspect he’s unlikely to be a major player for us , even if he does get back playing

He got injured when a Norwich player fouled him, didn't he?

Trinity Hibee
23-11-2022, 04:44 PM

St Mirren aye but the article seems to suggest there was something already there that hadn’t been detected no?

23-11-2022, 04:46 PM
St Mirren aye but the article seems to suggest there was something already there that hadn’t been detected no?

I'm speaking about McGeady.

Boyle will play football again, nothing to worry about there IMO. Zlatan is doing it at 40, Boyle can do it at 29

23-11-2022, 04:46 PM

Nope. There was no contact.

Trinity Hibee
23-11-2022, 04:48 PM
I'm speaking about McGeady.

Boyle will play football again, nothing to worry about there IMO. Zlatan is doing it at 40, Boyle can do it at 29

Ah sorry

23-11-2022, 05:12 PM
Only way we managed to replace Boyle was by signing Boyle.

It’s pretty difficult to replace what he does and the numbers he gets but the fact we’re so reliant on him given the money we’ve spent and number of players we’ve signed is grim.

Not looking forward to the remainder of this season.

23-11-2022, 05:13 PM

If we're pinning our hopes on McGeady we are goosed.

MelbourneHibees
23-11-2022, 05:23 PM
If we are being honest he has underperformed since we got him back. But the potential for him to turn a game around is always there. A bad loss.

Hibees1973
23-11-2022, 05:25 PM
If we're pinning our hopes on McGeady we are goosed.

Exactly what I thought.

Never mind we have Bojang, Melkersen, Henderson, McKirdy, Youan and whole load of forwards to pick from that Ron's son recruited.

Yes, we are f****d.

23-11-2022, 05:28 PM
Can't see McGeady making any contribution at all.

He was already behind folk fitness and match sharpness wise pre-season and that'll be even worse now.

23-11-2022, 05:30 PM
Only way we managed to replace Boyle was by signing Boyle.

It’s pretty difficult to replace what he does and the numbers he gets but the fact we’re so reliant on him given the money we’ve spent and number of players we’ve signed is grim.

Not looking forward to the remainder of this season.

Given all that’s happened so far this season, avoiding relegation must be the priority.

23-11-2022, 05:30 PM
Boyle he said it was only visible that he needed his ACL repaired when he was getting his op.

Struggling to see how anyone can blame Hibs for this

23-11-2022, 05:34 PM
Boyle he said it was only visible that he needed his ACL repaired when he was getting his op.

That gives a clear understanding of it ..people are gutted , and somewhat naturally looking to blame someone…somethings are just exposed at really unhelpful moments ..this ACL injury looks like one of those moments…

Scotty Leither
23-11-2022, 05:40 PM
I hope our recruitment team is working every day of this WC break on the manager’s instructions as to precisely what first team STARTERS that he wants in the door, but I don’t hold out any hope for that under our posted-missing owner.

23-11-2022, 05:59 PM
FFS.

No need to worry.

does Ian scout the players too?

23-11-2022, 06:04 PM
does Ian scout the players too?

Yes

GreenGray
23-11-2022, 06:09 PM
That gives a clear understanding of it ..people are gutted , and somewhat naturally looking to blame someone…somethings are just exposed at really unhelpful moments ..this ACL injury looks like one of those moments…

Exactly, there’s no point speculating. When it comes to injuries no one is to blame, just like McGeady, Mcginnes etc it’s an injury ffs no one can predict the future.

Plenty other teams have had injury issues, our issue is our squad depth is non existent.

23-11-2022, 06:20 PM
Brutal news. Do you think anyone would notice if we just didn't come back after the break?

LeithMike
23-11-2022, 06:20 PM

Probably true but given we missed a critical clause in Rocky’s loan agreement; didn’t manage to identify a suspended player for a league cup fixture and generally seem unable to spot a player that will actually improve our team then you can see why some of the mud is being thrown Hibs way.

23-11-2022, 06:28 PM
the Canadians giving a good account of themselves here

23-11-2022, 06:35 PM
What a shocker for both Hibs and Boyle and I wish him a speedy recovery.

23-11-2022, 06:40 PM
FFS.

No need to worry.

That made me laugh (in an ironic way)

thebausburst
23-11-2022, 06:58 PM
Gutted for Boyler, clear the worst possible news for Hibs and LJ as we are so reliant on Boyle you have to fear for the rest of the season

23-11-2022, 07:03 PM
This is really really terrible news. William Hill have halved the odds on Hibs to finish bottom from 80/1 to 40/1.

23-11-2022, 07:05 PM
Not sure what we were previously but we're currently 20/1 to finish in the bottom two this season.

Based on the odds the bookies reckon we'll finish 6th. I'd bite your hand off for that right now.

23-11-2022, 07:07 PM
This is really really terrible news. William Hill have halved the odds on Hibs to finish bottom from 80/1 to 40/1.

That means a 2.5% chance..seems a bit optimistic given our current form and injury list

Paulie Walnuts
23-11-2022, 07:20 PM

No, he didn’t. He said it was only visible when he was needing his op, not when he was getting it.

That would suggest it was spotted before the op happened but hadn’t been caught previously as we pretty much knew already. We didn’t seem to catch the ruptured ACL somehow and we also didn’t seem to manage to work out that he’d need an operation for his miniscus seeing as we thought he’d be available in a matter of weeks.

The op for the miniscus has only come about once he’s been taken off us and the ACL rupture also hasn’t been noticed until someone else was taking care of him. It’s desperately poor stuff.

23-11-2022, 07:27 PM
Yes

Do we no longer having a scouting department? i highly doubt he is doing all the identifying, scouting and recruiting solely.

23-11-2022, 07:30 PM
Do we no longer having a scouting department? i highly doubt he is doing all the identifying, scouting and recruiting solely.

Nothing suggesting he is the only Scout. But he is one ..

23-11-2022, 07:32 PM

We sacked out Head Scout during Covid, he’s working for another team now
I think Eddie May watches the loan players. Other than him, no idea who else is around

23-11-2022, 07:33 PM
If we are being honest he has underperformed since we got him back. But the potential for him to turn a game around is always there. A bad loss.

He hasn't underperformed

Paulie Walnuts
23-11-2022, 07:40 PM
He hasn't underperformed

Probably slightly on the harsh side to say he’s underperformed but by his own standards I don’t think he’s played great overall.

23-11-2022, 08:07 PM
Probably slightly on the harsh side to say he’s underperformed but by his own standards I don’t think he’s played great overall.

Think he has been good but not great last few games he has been carrying an injury no doubt

Donegal Hibby
23-11-2022, 08:28 PM
Article on Boyle
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/martin-boyles-hibs-season-ending-25591590

23-11-2022, 08:38 PM
Probably true but given we missed a critical clause in Rocky’s loan agreement; didn’t manage to identify a suspended player for a league cup fixture and generally seem unable to spot a player that will actually improve our team then you can see why some of the mud is being thrown Hibs way.

Yeah.

Hibs don’t exactly give off an “attention to detail” vibe right now so when you look around at the number of crocks, the potential importance of them to the team and the fact that a number of them had major injury issues of one type of another at some point over the few years prior to joining Hibs then you maybe start to wonder if it’s bad luck that we’ve had a part in bringing on ourselves.

23-11-2022, 08:50 PM
This is a really **** season.:grr:

23-11-2022, 08:56 PM
That means a 2.5% chance..seems a bit optimistic given our current form and injury list

Yeah - still far too big odds.

CB Hibs 68
23-11-2022, 08:58 PM
Yeah.

Hibs don’t exactly give off an “attention to detail” vibe right now so when you look around at the number of crocks, the potential importance of them to the team and the fact that a number of them had major injury issues of one type of another at some point over the few years prior to joining Hibs then you maybe start to wonder if it’s bad luck that we’ve had a part in bringing on ourselves. Think it is just bad luck myself.Who could have foreseen the ineptitude of the referee in the St Mirren game allowing play to carry on which resulted in Martins injury.I am seriously pissed off about this news.For what it’s worth before LJ gets lambasted I am sticking with him till at least the new year.

23-11-2022, 10:38 PM

Just as well he DID join the Socceroos in Qatar where the extent of the injury was finally identified!

23-11-2022, 11:31 PM
Just as well he DID join the Socceroos in Qatar where the extent of the injury was finally identified!

[emoji106]

HibeeHibernia
24-11-2022, 04:43 AM
Obviously we couldn't have had both Nisbet and Boyle fit and raring to go for the second half of the season eh what a nightmare man we must have the worst luck in world football.

24-11-2022, 05:33 AM

Yeah and he is doing all the medical scans as well now, just to give us one target to aim all the angst at! And he is doing the ACL op as well, just in case t goes wrong 🤣

24-11-2022, 06:49 AM
Am I correct in thinking that he was looked at here, sent to Manchester for a scan and to see a specialist, flew out to Qatar with Australia, possibly trained with view to play and then discovered he needed an operation.
So many opportunities to deal with it missed.

Martin never trained with the rest of the squad once, not once.

24-11-2022, 06:52 AM
Did he train with the Australian squad. ?

No

Not once

24-11-2022, 08:20 AM
Yeah and he is doing all the medical scans as well now, just to give us one target to aim all the angst at! And he is doing the ACL op as well, just in case t goes wrong 🤣

to be fair, since asking the question i did find an old article that discusses his role and his involvement in scouting prior to getting the recruitment role.

it would be interesting to know exactly how players are identified as the article suggested primarily it is data driven, then live scouting but surely we have scouts watching games to identify players aswell initially? :dunno:

Sioux
24-11-2022, 10:22 AM

to be fair, since asking the question i did find an old article that discusses his role and his involvement in scouting prior to getting the recruitment role.

it would be interesting to know exactly how players are identified as the article suggested primarily it is data driven, then live scouting but surely we have scouts watching games to identify players aswell initially? :dunno:

Do you really think that scouting is carried out by flat capped local gents watching games and then reporting to clubs?

That might have been the case some 50/60 years ago. Now you'd need a cast of thousands to cover all potential target areas.

24-11-2022, 11:46 AM
Do you really think that scouting is carried out by flat capped local gents watching games and then reporting to clubs?

That might have been the case some 50/60 years ago. Now you'd need a cast of thousands to cover all potential target areas.

I would imagine, as said in my post, that we do have actual scouts aswell and not just solely 1 method. Not sure if they would wear flat caps or not though :dunno:

24-11-2022, 11:58 AM
Just out of curiousity I had a look to see what the reaction to Boyles injury was on Sickback and if you ever had any doubts about the mentality of those weirdos there is some pretty dreadful stuff on there. I trawled through for a while to see if anyone had any sympathy for Boyle and gave up in disgust. The administrators over there are obviously no better than the clowns that are posting.

I'm Spartacus
24-11-2022, 12:01 PM

He floated about like a used Greggs bag on London Road.

I'm Spartacus
24-11-2022, 12:05 PM

I can't understand this, wouldn't the scan have shown up exactly what was required?

Donegal Hibby
24-11-2022, 12:06 PM
Just out of curiousity I had a look to see what the reaction to Boyles injury was on Sickback and if you ever had any doubts about the mentality of those weirdos there is some pretty dreadful stuff on there. I trawled through for a while to see if anyone had any sympathy for Boyle and gave up in disgust. The administrators over there are obviously no better than the clowns that are posting.
I had a look too and give up in disgust as well , it's no wonder we call it sickback btw ,some awful comments from some very small minded people over there !