View Full Version : Men’s Prostate Health

Alfiembra
17-11-2022, 09:40 AM
Hi everyone I don’t post much here on the main board but I wanted to reach out to as many of you as I could about men’s prostate cancer.

I consider myself, for my age, to be a reasonably fit and healthy person, but 6 months ago I got diagnosed with prostate cancer. 2 days ago I had surgery to remove my prostate and I’m back home feeling like I’ve gone 10 rounds with Mike Tyson and got several months ahead of recovery.
But I’ll be ok and forever glad I’ve dealt with it.

However forget about me my message is If you are aged 50 or over please go get yourself checked if you’ve never done so before, it’s a simple blood test called a PSA test you can get done at your doctor’s surgery don’t even need to see you doctor just your practice nurse. Depending on the result of that your GP may request that you come for a physical examination and that is probably a big stumbling block for a lot of guys, but please again, park you pride at the door and get checked it could change/save your life.

I had no symptoms whatsoever but just decided it was best to get myself checked.

Paulie Walnuts
17-11-2022, 09:43 AM
Hi everyone I don’t post much here on the main board but I wanted to reach out to as many of you as I could about men’s prostate cancer.

I consider myself, for my age, to be a reasonably fit and healthy person, but 6 months ago I got diagnosed with prostate cancer. 2 days ago I had surgery to remove my prostate and I’m back home feeling like I’ve gone 10 rounds with Mike Tyson and got several months ahead of recovery.

However forget about me my message is If you are aged 50 or over please go get yourself checked if you’ve never done so before, it’s a simple blood test called a PSA test you can get done at your doctor’s surgery don’t even need to see you doctor just your practice nurse. Depending on the result of that your GP may request that you come for a physical examination and that is probably a big stumbling block for a lot of guys, but please again, park you pride at the door and get checked it could change/save your life.

I had no symptoms whatsoever but just decided it was best to get myself checked.

Great to hear you’re on the mend and a very important message.

Stick in mate. Hope you’re back to full fitness soon.

17-11-2022, 09:47 AM
I've been meaning to do this for a while but never have, however it's now on the list and reminder set to make an appointment asap.

OldEast
17-11-2022, 09:50 AM
Glad to hear you caught it and on the mend. A word about PSA. If it's high don't automatically fear cancer. A reading of 3 is classed as ok. Between that and 10 supposed to strongly signal cancer. I'm currently reading 21 and cancer free due to hugely enlarged prostate. Benign prostatic hyperplasia can give high readings. Not saying for one second you shouldn't get checked after a high reading, just don't automatically fear you have cancer

Alfiembra
17-11-2022, 09:56 AM
Glad to hear you caught it and on the mend. A word about PSA. If it's high don't automatically fear cancer. A reading of 3 is classed as ok. Between that and 10 supposed to strongly signal cancer. I'm currently reading 21 and cancer free due to hugely enlarged prostate. Benign prostatic hyperplasia can give high readings. Not saying for one second you shouldn't get checked after a high reading, just don't automatically fear you have cancer

Great message, and something I didn’t know, my PSA result was only 6.4 but enough to trigger further investigation. Excellent point that it doesn’t automatically mean cancer.

17-11-2022, 10:06 AM

My mate went through this last year so I know (to some extent) what you’ve been through. Shared a lot of lows with him but thankfully he’s now back to his old self.

Wishing you all the very best in your recovery.

Green Man
17-11-2022, 10:10 AM

Glad you got it early and will be ok. I’ve got a wee bit to go before I hit my 50s but had some discomfort in the prostate area a while back so got it checked out, I was diagnosed with prostatitis which cleared after a few weeks of antibiotics. The prospect of what might be was quite scary, and sometimes it’s the easier option to try and ignore it, but I was so glad I got checked.

big gogs
17-11-2022, 10:19 AM
Great message, and something I didn’t know, my PSA result was only 6.4 but enough to trigger further investigation. Excellent point that it doesn’t automatically mean cancer.
Hi all,very good news regarding mens health.good to read about recovery.I suffered from an enlarged prostate for over two years,my doctor prescribed tablets,they worked short term.I had the blood test ,and the more intimate procedure.I think the more intimate procedure puts a lot of men off.I was going to the toilet about 35 times a day ,and passing very little.another doctor sent me to the western,and was fitted with a catheter,I was in hospital for 5 days.I was told I would have the operation between 4 and 6 weeks ,but due to the covid out break,the hospital took in emergency’s.I had to wait 8 months on the operation a year past January.very little discomfort at the time ,all is good now.guys don’t wait ,don’t be embarrassed get it seen to.I made a huge mistake in waiting.

17-11-2022, 10:27 AM
It's a simple check. If you have any doubts, get it done.

17-11-2022, 10:38 AM
Just reading this as I'm sitting waiting on my dad at the hospital getting tests after being diagnosed with prostate cancer.

I've had the internal test before. It's a bit uncomfortable but only lasts a few seconds and certainly nothing to be fearful of.

Alfiembra
17-11-2022, 10:42 AM
Just reading this as I'm sitting waiting on my dad at the hospital getting tests after being diagnosed with prostate cancer.

I've had the internal test before. It's a bit uncomfortable but only lasts a few seconds and certainly nothing to be fearful of.

Couldn’t agree more, best wishes to your dad.

Groathillgrump
17-11-2022, 11:38 AM
Great post, Alfiembra. Glad to hear you're on the mend. :aok:

I had a similar experience to big gogs last year.

I've had BPH (benign prostatic hyperplasia) for a number of years and at first it was more of an inconvenience than anything else. A couple of years ago I was aware it was becoming more difficult to pee but because I was taking my daily medication and getting the 6 monthly blood test to check PSA (prostate specific antigen) levels I didn't raise the matter with my doctor.

Unfortunately my symptoms suddenly worsened last year when I experienced terrible abdominal pains and could hardly pee anything more than a few drops. I was Hospitalised in the Western General for 4 days and was told I needed a TURP (transurethral resection of the prostate) and would have surgery within 12 weeks. Unfortunately due to the post-pandemic NHS waiting list backlog I actually had to wait 17 months before I was finally operated on 3 weeks ago.

As others have said, if you find yourself needing to pee more often and/or have difficulty passing water, please don't hesitate to have it checked out.

17-11-2022, 11:45 AM
Had a PSA test around a year ago and the finger up the bum! (Swallow) lol but yes it is imperative these are done quickly to ensure one's health. I knew a really nice fella called Iain, he got divorced from his then wife and was looking forward to enjoying his life again at 59 only to be gone within a year due to prostrate cancer. Such a shame.

17-11-2022, 12:32 PM
Hope everyone is recovering well. The finger up the erky is nothing to worry about at all, it's as minor a procedure as you can get.

If in doubt, get checked out :aok:

17-11-2022, 02:55 PM
Please be aware that the finger up the erchie isn't binary. It's only used as an initial examination and it's not definitive.

In my mate's case, he went for a couple of MRI scans and they came back negative. It was only when him and his Mrs hounded the doctors that he still wasn't right that they sent him to the Western for a prostate biopsy.

Again, i'm only talking in my mates case - if you're having problems peeing, either getting up half a dozen times during the night or the flow isn't right then make sure you get answers to why that's happening.

Fanforlife
17-11-2022, 03:43 PM
Definitely get it checked,so glad that because of the amount of nocturnal peeing i was suffering i decided to see Dr,after this it was test after test for about 5 months, got final diagnosis that i indeed did have PC,treatment of 20 radiotherapy sessions and 9 months of hormone injections followed. This was just before pandemic set in so twice lucky treatment was finished by then,upshot is that psa levels are now down to minus.2,no need for hospital visits now just blood test every 6 months at gp,s,so advice to anyone is if in doubt check it out.

17-11-2022, 04:18 PM
Give your balls a feel whilst you are at it.

17-11-2022, 04:45 PM

I had no symptoms whatsoever but just decided it was best to get myself checked.I had the same op two years ago this month. It’s tough going at first but you will be fine in a few months and you will get checked every 3 months for your psa level. The thing I found hard to handle was the catheter it done my brain in.

big gogs
17-11-2022, 04:52 PM
Strangely enough that’s one of the many things you do as you get older,checking the contents of the toilet when answering a call of nature,checking for spots of blood,I do the bowel test every two years.the kit is sent direct to me ,it’s not pleasant ,but worth while.

gaz1875
17-11-2022, 06:07 PM
[QUOTE=Groathillgrump;7164508]Great post, Alfiembra. Glad to hear you're on the mend. :aok:

I had a similar experience to big gogs last year.

I've had BPH (benign prostatic hyperplasia) for a number of years and at first it was more of an inconvenience than anything else. A couple of years ago I was aware it was becoming more difficult to pee but because I was taking my daily medication and getting the 6 monthly blood test to check PSA (prostate specific antigen) levels I didn't raise the matter with my doctor.

Unfortunately my symptoms suddenly worsened last year when I experienced terrible abdominal pains and could hardly pee anything more than a few drops. I was Hospitalised in the Western General for 4 days and was told I needed a TURP (transurethral resection of the prostate) and would have surgery within 12 weeks. Unfortunately due to the post-pandemic NHS waiting list backlog I actually had to wait 17 months before I was finally operated on 3 weeks ago.

As others have said, if you find yourself needing to pee more often and/or have difficulty passing water, please don't hesitate to have it checked out.

I had a very similar experience Groathill without the pains. I had the TURP operation 3 years ago (Nov 30th) along with Green Laser, unfortunately needing a tidy up again, although I feel okay just the odd bit blood now and again. Having been through the above, I don't plan to hang around until it gets to a similar stage, so Green Laser again early next year hopefully. I am forever telling guys to get the blood checks and don't be ashamed to speak to the doctor. I recon I have had every possible test and investigation and although they are not pleasant the discomfort only lasts a short while it could be the difference between life and death. My PSA was 19.1 at one stage!! I had an infection and with BPH it was worryingly high. They now think my base rate if you like, is around 10.1.

Hope you are recovering well. it takes a bit time but avoid running taps haha

Alfiembra well done for raising the topic and a speedy recovery hopefully!!

17-11-2022, 09:31 PM
Thanks for raising this Alfirembra, and thanks to the admins for allowing it to keep the higher profile of the main board.

As a result of this reminder, I contacted my GPs surgery this afternoon to request a PSA check.

17-11-2022, 09:50 PM
Well brought up.

Remember a few years ago I went for a medical at work. I knew the finger up the jakzi was part the exam. We went through the whole exam and at the end he said, "get up on the couch, face down....". I said "I have been dreading this."

He said, "So have I!"

Just thought I would lighten up the mood but true story.

17-11-2022, 10:21 PM
I went and the doctor said when I stick my finger up don’t get a erection Steve I relplied who’s Steve the doc replied oh that’s me

Sheffhibee
18-11-2022, 07:57 AM
Thanks for raising this mate, my PSA was found to be high on routine blood test a year ago and after MRI and biopsy was diagnosed with prostate cancer in Feb this year. Thankfully only 3 + 3 Gleason ( low level non aggressive) and I'm on active surveillance (3 monthly bloods and annual MRI scan) Although it's difficult knowing you have cancer it's also reassuring that everything is being closely monitored and can be quickly be acted on should things change. Too many people are lost to this horrible disease because they are unaware that things aren't right and it's too late by the time they realise things are wrong. I had zero symptoms and luckily the PSA test triggered the testing regime. Please Please if you are over 50 ask your GP for a PSA test it's quick, painless and might just save your life

Alfiembra
18-11-2022, 08:17 AM
Thanks for raising this mate, my PSA was found to be high on routine blood test a year ago and after MRI and biopsy was diagnosed with prostate cancer in Feb this year. Thankfully only 3 + 3 Gleason ( low level non aggressive) and I'm on active surveillance (3 monthly bloods and annual MRI scan) Although it's difficult knowing you have cancer it's also reassuring that everything is being closely monitored and can be quickly be acted on should things change. Too many people are lost to this horrible disease because they are unaware that things aren't right and it's too late by the time they realise things are wrong. I had zero symptoms and luckily the PSA test triggered the testing regime. Please Please if you are over 50 ask your GP for a PSA test it's quick, painless and might just save your life

Yes my Gleason score was 7 only one above yourself but due to other medical conditions I have, my only option was surgery. I’m glad you’re being monitored and wish you all the best it is definitely a horrible disease because it’s so stealthy.

Also thank you to everyone that has replied and shared their knowledge I’ve learned a lot and hopefully many of you have as well. :not worth

18-11-2022, 09:14 AM
That was my Gleason score as well and I was on monitoring but I kept getting a slight pain now and again on the left side of the prostate so had another biopsy and one side off the prostate had a aggressive cancer ( I never knew you could get different types) so had to get it taken out. What I’m trying to say is if during monitoring you start to feel a bit pain down there then say something to the specialist ( probably be scott little ) .

Sheffhibee
18-11-2022, 10:28 AM
That was my Gleason score as well and I was on monitoring but I kept getting a slight pain now and again on the left side of the prostate so had another biopsy and one side off the prostate had a aggressive cancer ( I never knew you could get different types) so had to get it taken out. What I’m trying to say is if during monitoring you start to feel a bit pain down there then say something to the specialist ( probably be scott little ) .

Cheers Mate I'll keep that in mind in the future

K Kay
18-11-2022, 05:14 PM
Luckily for me it was just enlarged but running to the John every 5 mins should have been enough to think something was up but you just think your getting on in years. It really wasn’t until my back was really sore and was only managing a dribble that I went to the Dr. Get it seen to early lads, saves a lot of anguish when your waiting on results especially after a high PSA like I had.

18-11-2022, 05:18 PM
Reading a thread like this makes you realise we're all just human. Flesh and blood. Well done on raising it. Very important people get checked.

18-11-2022, 06:46 PM

great message, and glad to hear you’re doing well

18-11-2022, 06:56 PM
I had symptoms common with prostate cancer a couple of years ago, went to the GP and they never told me about the blood test, went straight to the digital examination. It was over quickly and thankfully, no cancer was found and some antibiotics did the trick.

Well worth getting checked out if you're worried about it.

18-11-2022, 10:11 PM

Brilliant post. My grandad died of prostate cancer in 1993. Although diagnosis and treatment have advanced greatly over those thirty years, I remember the terrible suffering he endured in his final months when I was a teenager. It was distressing to witness.

The very best of luck to you in your recovery, Alfiembra, and I really hope that's you cured. So many of us men find discussing such personal issues very difficult, yet we shouldn't. If you have any symptoms of prostate issues, see your doctor as soon as you can.

If anyone notices any change int their usual health in any area, get it checked. My dad was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer just this week and has a big operation this Monday. Thankfully, it looks like it has been found early and we have cause to be optimistic. A long road ahead, but we shall endure.

This is a very important thread. :aok:

18-11-2022, 10:14 PM

Aye, don't be embarrassed to discuss the baws, tae. Testicular cancer often affects younger men, so never think it can't happen to you. If you notice any changes, see your doctor.

ClermistonGreen
18-11-2022, 10:27 PM
Cheers guys , great thread .
I wish you all many more happy years of watching the Hibees !
:flag: :confused: :flag:

19-11-2022, 12:40 PM
Cheers guys , great thread .
I wish you all many more happy years of watching the Hibees !
:flag: :confused: :flag:

Many more happy years? More?

Are you on drugs?

One happy year would do! :greengrin

Green Badger
12-01-2023, 07:08 AM
Report published by prostate cancer UK showing 35% of men in Scotland diagnosed with prostate cancer when disease is already at stage 4. By comparison in London only 12.5% at stage 4 when diagnosed, I wonder why such a disparity in when the cancer is diagnosed? Second worst is Yorkshire with 20% at stage 4.

https://www.theguardian.com/society/2023/jan/12/prostate-cancer-diagnosis-lottery-sees-regions-lagging-far-behind-london

Alfiembra
12-01-2023, 11:41 AM
Report published by prostate cancer UK showing 35% of men in Scotland diagnosed with prostate cancer when disease is already at stage 4. By comparison in London only 12.5% at stage 4 when diagnosed, I wonder why such a disparity in when the cancer is diagnosed? Second worst is Yorkshire with 20% at stage 4.

https://www.theguardian.com/society/2023/jan/12/prostate-cancer-diagnosis-lottery-sees-regions-lagging-far-behind-london

Thanks for posting this, frightening statistics.

I’m retired and have had the time to get myself checked and go for treatment which, honestly, I would have been slow to consider and would have most likely ignored if I was still working.
Whether it’s a particularly Scottish thing or just a general male thing we’ve all got busy lives and don’t make time for ourselves. it’s been 2 months since my surgery and I’m doing fine, and genuinely looking forward to this year.

Please if you’ve never been checked before make the effort and the time to do so.

12-01-2023, 11:51 AM
They were actually talking about this on Radio 5 just now

I've just turned 56 so maybe it's time to book an appointment, I'll be expecting my biennial bowel test soon too

Jay
12-01-2023, 01:04 PM
They were actually talking about this on Radio 5 just now

I've just turned 56 so maybe it's time to book an appointment, I'll be expecting my biennial bowel test soon too

I'm female so will post this and leave you men and your prostates alone. But please please everybody do this test. It saved my life. I was completely symptom free and it picked up bowel cancer almost 4 yrs ago.

12-01-2023, 02:51 PM
Scots surgeon diagnosed with incurable prostate cancer after noticing foot pain - Daily Record (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/scots-surgeon-diagnosed-incurable-prostate-28936467)

A Scots surgeon who was diagnosed with incurable prostate cancer (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/cancer) after noticing a pain in his foot is urging men to get tested for the disease.
Gareth Jones, 55, was diagnosed with an advanced form of the cancer in June 2021. He quickly faced a struggle to maintain his health - both physical and emotional - to the best of his ability as he received palliative care.

As reported by Glasgow Live (https://www.glasgowlive.co.uk/news/glasgow-news/cambuslang-surgeon-diagnosed-incurable-prostate-25950134), the urologist, who lives in Cambuslang with his wife Carol, was a fitness fanatic prior to his diagnosis. He spent years taking part in Iron Man challenges including swimming, biking and running.

12-01-2023, 03:56 PM
Scots surgeon diagnosed with incurable prostate cancer after noticing foot pain - Daily Record (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/scots-surgeon-diagnosed-incurable-prostate-28936467)

A Scots surgeon who was diagnosed with incurable prostate cancer (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/cancer) after noticing a pain in his foot is urging men to get tested for the disease.
Gareth Jones, 55, was diagnosed with an advanced form of the cancer in June 2021. He quickly faced a struggle to maintain his health - both physical and emotional - to the best of his ability as he received palliative care.

As reported by Glasgow Live (https://www.glasgowlive.co.uk/news/glasgow-news/cambuslang-surgeon-diagnosed-incurable-prostate-25950134), the urologist, who lives in Cambuslang with his wife Carol, was a fitness fanatic prior to his diagnosis. He spent years taking part in Iron Man challenges including swimming, biking and running.

Wow what a shame for the guy and his family.

12-01-2023, 04:08 PM
Wow what a shame for the guy and his family.

it is, i thought it was quite scary not even a urologist noticed any signs sooner

12-01-2023, 04:25 PM
it is, i thought it was quite scary not even a urologist noticed any signs sooner

Didnt sound like he had any signs