View Full Version : Jimmy O'Rourke RIP

15-11-2022, 03:37 AM
My brother James sadly passed away at 2.10am this morning at the Western General hospital,Edinburgh.
Jimmy, as you all know him, requested that his funeral be private.

RIP James

Everyone knows your name.

hibeg
15-11-2022, 03:55 AM
Condolences to you and your family Mick. I saw the thread on the private message board a few days ago and was gutted to read about Jimmy’s health issue.
Suffice to say he was a hero of mine in the early 70s along with the other Tornados.
He lived the dream playing for the club he supported
So sad ��

zitelli62
15-11-2022, 04:23 AM
RIP Jimmy will always be a hibs legend.
Sad sad news.
To the angels high above.

zero-seven
15-11-2022, 04:34 AM
RIP Jimmy will always be a hibs legend.
Sad sad news.

legend for the club

will be sadly missed

15-11-2022, 04:58 AM
Very very sad news to wake up to. Thoughts and prayers to you and your family Mick, he was an extremely gifted footballer and one of the true Hibernian legends. God bless.

15-11-2022, 05:06 AM
Very sad news.

15-11-2022, 05:10 AM
Very sad news - condolences to all of the family.

To the angels high above - RIP Jimmy.

15-11-2022, 05:23 AM
Sad sad news. One of my heroes growing up.

RIP Jimmy 💚

norhfc
15-11-2022, 05:27 AM
I was lucky enough to see him play.

RIP Jimmy.

15-11-2022, 05:34 AM
very sad time, RIP jimmy :(

sincere condolences to all family and friends

great footballer, everyone knows his name

WestCoastHibby
15-11-2022, 05:34 AM
Deepest condolences, very sorry to hear

15-11-2022, 05:36 AM
My brother James sadly passed away at 2.10am this morning at the Western General hospital,Edinburgh.

RIP James

So sorry to hear this Mick, a club legend and also a lovely guy RIP Jimmy

Bridge hibs
15-11-2022, 05:38 AM
RIP Jimmy, never got to see your fantastic talents on the pitch. Sleep tight 💚

15-11-2022, 05:38 AM
Condolences to you and the rest of the family Mick.

I was aware he was in hospital, but its still a shock when hit with the finality of it.

Jimmy was not only my hero, but my friend too as he was to many on here.

I have very happy memories of Jimmy’s time Downunder, as well as his football exploits.

Jimmy was Hibs Royalty, and I’ll miss him.

15-11-2022, 05:44 AM
Sad news. Loved him as a player. Fearless and so talented. Running behind the goals after scoring that brilliant diving header in the League cup final. RIP Jimmy Hibs legend. Condolences to his family and friends.

DIXIHIBS
15-11-2022, 05:50 AM
Sad sad news. A total hero to me as a kid. Legend is a word used too often these days but Jimmy was a hibs legend. League cup final, 7-0, hatricks all over the place. Everyone knows his name. RIP.

OldEast
15-11-2022, 05:50 AM

RIP James

A true Hibs legend. My sincere condolences to the family. R I P Jimmy you absolute star.

15-11-2022, 05:51 AM
Dreadful news. My favourite Tornado. A true club great and by all accounts a lovely man. Condolences to all the family.
RIP Jimmy.

15-11-2022, 05:52 AM
What an absolute talent . Condolences to Jimmy’s family and friends . He will never be forgotten

“Everyone knows his name ……”

[emoji119][emoji119]

15-11-2022, 05:57 AM
Sorry for your loss Mick, my condolences to you and the rest of your family .

Some player
Some man

To the angels high above [emoji120]

Daniel 1875
15-11-2022, 05:58 AM
Rest in peace Jimmy. Thanks for all you did for our great club.

Austinho
15-11-2022, 06:01 AM
Very sad news.

I made these graphics a few years ago to celebrate his two goals in the 0-7 game. Hope they bring a smile to your face, condolences.

https://i.imgur.com/lU3YJQh.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/ih8y606.jpg

15-11-2022, 06:01 AM
Very sad news, a legend lost. My condolences to you, Mick.

15-11-2022, 06:09 AM
RIP Jimmy. I never seen him play because of my age, but the videos and stories I’ve heard are brilliant!

GORDONSMITH7
15-11-2022, 06:11 AM
On behalf of St. Patrick's Branch,
Wee man we salute you.

https://youtu.be/_pqwu6FLhGA

BIG G

Trinity Hibee
15-11-2022, 06:13 AM
Very sorry to hear this. A Hibs hero. RIP

15-11-2022, 06:17 AM
Very sad news, sincere condolences to your family, Mick.

SteveG
15-11-2022, 06:17 AM
RIP Jimmy a truly wonderful player and a hero of mine growing up watching the tornadoes, condolences to you and your family.

15-11-2022, 06:19 AM
Thanks Jimmy.

SonOfDavidFrancey
15-11-2022, 06:21 AM
The angels will be crowding round and telling him they were there on New Year’s Day. Rip.

15-11-2022, 06:25 AM
Fabulous player and unquestionably my greatest football hero. The man gave so many moments of joy to so many people on that grass theatre that is the football park. May he rest in peace.
Wishing you and all his family and friends deep condolences. His passing will be devastating.

RIP Jimmy Jimmy O’Rourke.

Benny Brazil
15-11-2022, 06:30 AM
So sorry for your loss Mick - Jimmy was a true legend of the club and will be greatly missed by many
RIP Jimmy

BennyB
15-11-2022, 06:31 AM
A true hibs legend and all round good guy.

RIP Jimmy

15-11-2022, 06:34 AM
Thoughts with you all.

RIP Jimmy

15-11-2022, 06:44 AM
R.I.P. Jimmy O'Rourke. Hibernian Legend

BigKev
15-11-2022, 06:44 AM
Very sad news to wake up to.

Condolences to the O’Rourke family.

RIP one of our best.

15-11-2022, 06:49 AM
That’s very sad news.
RIP Jimmy.

happiehibbie
15-11-2022, 06:49 AM
Another gone from my Childhood of the 70,s

Thanks for the memories Jimmy RIP

Willis1875
15-11-2022, 06:50 AM
Condolences to you and your family

He's here!
15-11-2022, 06:54 AM
That is such sad news. One of the greatest Hibbies of them all.

RIP Jimmy O'Rourke. Everyone knows your name.

Hibiza
15-11-2022, 06:54 AM
R.I.P Jimmy.

May21/05/16
15-11-2022, 06:55 AM

RIP James

Everyone knows your name.Condolences to you and your family

Sent from my SM-X200 using Tapatalk

Bobo
15-11-2022, 06:56 AM
Jimmy and Alan Gordon were the best forward pairing that I have seen in my time watching Hibs.

Such a sad loss, condolences to his family and loved ones, RIP Jimmy.

15-11-2022, 06:57 AM
Such sad news Mick. Condolences to you and your family.

RIP Jimmy

15-11-2022, 06:58 AM
Sincere condolences to you and all the family, Mick.
Jimmy was not only a terrific player for the Club, he was without doubt one of the most loved and respected Hibernian legends of all time. Can't believe he's gone.

RIP Jimmy

15-11-2022, 06:58 AM
RIP Jimmy, a true legend.:not worth

15-11-2022, 07:00 AM
One of my early Hibs heroes - Jimmy "Hat Trick" O'Rourke. Everyone knows his name.

Always a legend!

RIP Jimmy. Condolences to all family and friends.

Alfiembra
15-11-2022, 07:01 AM
So sad to hear of Jimmy’s passing, I feel privileged to have grown up watching him play, my all time favourite Hibby.

RIP Jimmy, everyone knows his name.

HibeeHibernian4
15-11-2022, 07:01 AM
Wonderful striker and a class act to boot.RIP Jimmy you will be sorely missed by all. Thank you for your part in delivering the first LC for the Hibees! Condolences to friends and family.

Juice-Terry
15-11-2022, 07:12 AM
Very sad. Great player and a lovely man. Condolences to his family and friends. GGTTH!

JammyDoidger
15-11-2022, 07:13 AM
RIP Jimmy, Hibs legend and a great guy. RIP.

cammy1969
15-11-2022, 07:13 AM
So sorry to hear this mick was only talking to you on the other thread a couple weeks ago about old times when jim worked the local boozer. Thoughts are with Anne, yourself and rest of the family. Sad times [emoji1184][emoji1184][emoji172][emoji172][emoji172]

15-11-2022, 07:14 AM
RIP Jimmy, you are and always will be an Hibernian legend.

AltheHibby
15-11-2022, 07:18 AM
Condolences to all your family.

RIP Jimmy, and thank you for all the joy you gave so many of us.

h185forever
15-11-2022, 07:19 AM
RIP Jimmy, you made my boyhood a lot brighter watching you play.

CL0762
15-11-2022, 07:19 AM
Sad to hear this news.

I remember phoning my Grandad (from the pitch at Hampden) to say ‘we’ve done it. We’ve finally done it).

His response

‘Aye it’s good, but it’s still no 7-0 at Tynie’.

Mr O’Rourke gave my Grandad the best footballing day of his life and the stories he used to tell me of that time, Jimmy was one of his favourites.

RIP.

15-11-2022, 07:21 AM
Mick, thanks for sharing the awful news. I'll call in next day or so.
It was in a 5 month period culminating on 1/1/73 exactly 50 years ago that Jimmy rewrote the record books. Here's a roughly chronological summary.
1. Jimmy came off the bench and scored a glorious 4th goal against Celtc in the Drybrough Cup Final and helped destroy the Celtc myth.
2. Jimmy scored consecutive hat tricks in Europe, i believe the 1st British player to achieve this.
3. In all Jimmy scored 6 hat tricks and 31 goals in a 5 month period.
4. Jimmy scored the winning goal in our LC triumph, our 1st major cup win for 70 years.
5. Jimmy scored the 1st and 6th goals in the greatest game in history.
Almost unbelievable and outstanding statistics from an outstanding player and an even better man.

bringbackbenny
15-11-2022, 07:29 AM
RIP Jimmy, a true hibs legend.

Still Smiling
15-11-2022, 07:34 AM
Jimmy, What a player! what a team! Jimmy and Alan Gordon in the box guaranteed a goal. Hope Hibs do a big tribute.

Gloucester Hibs
15-11-2022, 07:36 AM
Sad news to wake up to - a Hibs Legend. RIP Jimmy

15-11-2022, 07:36 AM
Very sad news.

I recall being in Hospitality (about 10 years ago?). Jimmy was the Hibs legend hosting our table. Absolute gentleman and I enjoyed listening to his many stories about the Tornado era. Thoroughly enjoyed his company and he was more than happy to answer questions, get photos taken and sign programes.

RIP legend

Bobby Coombe
15-11-2022, 07:37 AM
One of the greatest players I’ve ever had the privilege to watch at Easter Road. His place as a true Hibs’ legend is ever secure!

Fergos
15-11-2022, 07:40 AM

RIP James

Very sad to hear of this. I was a wee bit too young to see the great man play but my Faither made sure i knew of him and indeed all of the Tornadoes.

Condolences to all who are close to Jimmy on your loss, may he rest well and in peace.

GGTTH.

gringojoe
15-11-2022, 07:41 AM
RIP Jimmy💚💚🇳🇬🇳🇬

15-11-2022, 07:43 AM
https://i.ibb.co/v1yg2ch/2-EC1-F6-CC-0-F0-B-412-E-BB1-D-6-BA357-AA2248.jpg (https://ibb.co/b1wqp6F)

His memory goes marching on

CyberSauzee
15-11-2022, 07:43 AM
Very sad news, condolences to all Jimmy's family and many friends. A true Hibs legend.

heid the baw
15-11-2022, 07:47 AM
My condolences. I met your brother a good few times and he was a real gentleman.
He was also a wonderful, wonderful player

Torto7062
15-11-2022, 07:48 AM

RIP James

Thoughts are with all the O'Rourke family 🙏

Legend

Fanforlife
15-11-2022, 07:53 AM
R.I.P Jimmy O'Rourke,A True Hibernian Legend . I was lucky Enough To Enjoy Few Enlightening Hibernian Conversations With Him When He Had Jock,s Lodge.Long May Your Star Shine,Forever A Hibernian Hero 😪😪😪😪😪😪😪

Berwickhibby
15-11-2022, 07:53 AM
A genuine Hibby and one of my first Heroes, Jimmy made it down to Berwick for the Branches Burns Night on a couple of occasions and regaled us with stories about his time at Hibs. A true gentleman R.I.P Jimmy O’Rourke. :flag:

Trinity Hibee
15-11-2022, 07:55 AM
Mick, thanks for sharing the awful news. I'll call in next day or so.
It was in a 5 month period culminating on 1/1/73 exactly 50 years ago that Jimmy rewrote the record books. Here's a roughly chronological summary.
1. Jimmy came off the bench and scored a glorious 4th goal against Celtc in the Drybrough Cup Final and helped destroy the Celtc myth.
2. Jimmy scored consecutive hat tricks in Europe, i believe the 1st British player to achieve this.
3. In all Jimmy scored 6 hat tricks and 31 goals in a 5 month period.
4. Jimmy scored the winning goal in our LC triumph, our 1st major cup win for 70 years.
5. Jimmy scored the 1st and 6th goals in the greatest game in history.
Almost unbelievable and outstanding statistics from an outstanding player and an even better man.

Brilliant stats

15-11-2022, 07:56 AM
Condolences to you and your family Mick

Whilst too young to have seen him play, my father often talks fondly of Jimmy

15-11-2022, 07:56 AM
A very sad day especially for those of my generation who were fortunate to follow the Hibs during the 1960s and 70s. Jimmy was a fantastic servant to the club and can truly be called a legend..
Sincere condolences to his family and thanks for the memories Jimmy.

JGS56
15-11-2022, 08:07 AM
He was my goalscoring hero when I started watching Hibs in 1971.
The chant that reverberated around Easter Road when he scored still gives me goosebumps.

"Jimmy, Jimmy O'Rourke, everyone knows his name"

Very sad news. This has put a downer on my day.

RIP Jimmy.

NthCarolinaHibs
15-11-2022, 08:09 AM
Condolences to the family...I remember as a bairn writing to Jimmy for his autograph and received a signed programme and a letter from him...felt like winning the lottery 💚..
RIP Jimmy 🇳🇬💚🇳🇬

15-11-2022, 08:10 AM
Glory Glory Forever Jimmy 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

Eaststand
15-11-2022, 08:12 AM
Jimmy will be missed by many.

Condolences to you and all your family Mick

MikeyS
15-11-2022, 08:18 AM

RIP James

Sorry for your loss Mick. I knew Jimmy well from when he would come in to the Carrick Knowe Inn when his partner worked the kitchen. Every Friday he would plonk himself right in the middle of me and my mates who were only about 19/20 at the time and tell us all kinds of daft jokes and stories.

A real gent and will be sadly missed.

Roxyhibee
15-11-2022, 08:19 AM
Absolutely awful news of a true Hibernian legend. One of my all time heroes and saw him play countless times in his prime - devastating in and around the box and gave 100% ever time he played. I have a Hibs wall packed with photos and Jimmy must be in about a dozen of them.

What was obvious to anyone who watched him, was how proud he was to pull on that famous green jersey and how equally proud he was to chat about his time as a Hibs player, whether at a corporate table or sitting politely with me and my old mum in the Asda cafe having a cup of tea. A true gentleman.

We have lost one of the souls of our club and a great ambassador. Thanks for the incredible memories Jimmy. My late dad saw the famous five and Baker play and he loved you just as much, I can think of no better tribute.

15-11-2022, 08:19 AM
Sad sad news Mick, the Hibs world is a poorer place for the loss of a great Hibs man. Sincere condolences to you and your family.

Will reflect on many great memories of Jimmy today.

BristolAnn
15-11-2022, 08:21 AM

RIP James

I was so sorry to read this today. My thoughts are with you and your family.

GIBBY NEWTON
15-11-2022, 08:24 AM

RIP James

Everyone knows your name.Mickey So sad to hear of James passing memories of our family times in the Grassmarket & watching Jimmy play. May he R.I.P. condolences to the family. Gibby

sadtom
15-11-2022, 08:31 AM
Broken hearted.
My 1st ever hero.
Thoughts with his friends and family.
R.I.P Jimmy.
💚

darwenhibby
15-11-2022, 08:33 AM
RIP Jimmy
Condolences to all the O’Rourke family
Hibs have lost a favourite son

Pete70
15-11-2022, 08:34 AM
RIP Jimmy

15-11-2022, 08:35 AM
RIP to a true legend, met him numerous times over the years and was a real gent. This is such sad news as he was my all time favourite Hibs player. My thoughts are with his family at this moment in time. 😢

15-11-2022, 08:40 AM
Very sad news. Jimmy was just before my time, but you were left in no doubt from those lucky to have seen that generation play of how great a player he was, but maybe more importantly, how popular he was with the support.

Condolences to Mick and family.

15-11-2022, 08:43 AM
Before my time but a hero of my dad who is also no longer here. Always spoke about how good a player he was. Very sorry for your loss.

15-11-2022, 08:44 AM
Very, very sad news.

He was a true legend in my eyes, I have wonderful memories of Jimmy and the part he played in "Turnbull's Tornadoes"

RIP Jimmy - everyone really did know you name.

Sauerkraut
15-11-2022, 08:44 AM
26289RIP Jimmy. Everyone knew your name.:flag:

15-11-2022, 08:48 AM
RIP Jimmy
Thoughts are with you and your family Mick.
A great player and a Hero to many Hibs fans of my age.

15-11-2022, 08:49 AM
Sad news.

RIP Jimmy.

15-11-2022, 08:53 AM
Condolences to the Family. Gutted. to read this .Gave me so many happy memories as a teenager .
In an era whenHat tricks were not uncommon Jimmy scored more than his fair share of them 💜💚

15-11-2022, 08:55 AM
Such sad news to wake up to.
what an absolute hero from the past. It’s sad he won’t be around on New Year’s Day to remember and celebrate the 50th.

Mick, I don’t know you but my condolences to you and your family on your loss.

15-11-2022, 08:56 AM
RIP Jimmy, condolences to you and your family Mick.

15-11-2022, 08:56 AM
Legend 😭

chippy
15-11-2022, 09:00 AM

RIP James

So sorry to hear this. My condolences to you, John and the rest of the family and friends.

Chris Robinson

15-11-2022, 09:01 AM
Had the impression that he was under-rated during his playing days - by non-Hibbies. More fool them.
His sad passing will make the 50th anniversary of 1.1.73 more poignant. Toast his goals at 3.09pm and c.4.11pm.

15-11-2022, 09:02 AM
Terrible news. My thoughts are with the OP, his family and the Hibs family who lost a true legend.

hibsfan7
15-11-2022, 09:03 AM
A true hibs legend

r.i.p
jimmy

MagicSwirlingShip
15-11-2022, 09:07 AM
Sorry news, a real Hibs hero.

Condolences to you and your family, Mick.

15-11-2022, 09:09 AM
Very sad to hear your news Mick. Condolances to the family. My handle more or less describes what I thought about Jimmy and the memories he created for a young guy getting into watching that Hibs team.
Rest in peace Jimmy.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

15-11-2022, 09:10 AM
The world is a slightly less brilliant place today.

15-11-2022, 09:14 AM
So sad to hear this news this morning. RIP jimmy and my memories off you playing for hibs and the tornadoes. I will never forget that night against sporting Lisbon you were magnificent.

Halmyre Hibee
15-11-2022, 09:20 AM
My condolences to you and your family. Jimmy was playing when my dad took my sister & I to our first Hibs game in 1968. One of the Hibs greats who always gave 100%. RIP Jimmy.

15-11-2022, 09:20 AM
So sad. A true Hibs legend.

Sorry for your loss Mick

15-11-2022, 09:27 AM
RIP a true Hibernian legend. I saw Jimmy play against Utrecht in the old Fairs Cup and you could see he was destined for greatness, a brilliant player for us, I never forgave Turnbull for letting him go to St Johnstone.

My condolences to his family.

maturehibby
15-11-2022, 09:29 AM
on a par with Stanton in my book
Bled Green

Key West
15-11-2022, 09:29 AM
A great player, rest in peace Jimmy.

15-11-2022, 09:34 AM
A sad day, rest in peace Jimmy

Stewboy
15-11-2022, 09:37 AM
A true great. Fly high Jimmy

15-11-2022, 09:37 AM
Thoughts are with you, Mick.

"Legend" is a much overused term in football these days but Jimmy certainly deserves the tag from us. A lovely guy by all accounts as well.

leith lynx
15-11-2022, 09:48 AM
So sorry to hear of your loss Mick, Jimmy was a schoolboy hero of mine, his goals against Sporting Lisbon, the 7-0 Derby, cup final goals against Celtic, these memories will be with me forever.Another great memory is when after the Hands off Hibs rally at Easter Road, I bumped in to Jimmy in a pub in Leith and ended up singing Hibs songs together, rest in peace Jimmy O'Rourke, a true Hibernian great GGTTH.

Sioux
15-11-2022, 09:48 AM
Thoughts are with you, Mick.

"Legend" is a much overused term in football these days but Jimmy certainly deserves the tag from us. A lovely guy by all accounts as well.

The handle 'Football Legend' was created for people like Jimmy who's lives were determined by actions and deeds in the name of their football club. Hibs fans were blessed the day Jimmy signed for Hibernian FC.

A greater ambassador there will never be.

To the angels high above, and RIP Jimmy.

HibeeHibernia
15-11-2022, 09:50 AM
God rest him Mick thoughts with you and the family, RIP Jimmy O'Rourke, the definition of a true Hibernian.

Donegal Hibby
15-11-2022, 09:51 AM
Such sad news today .I'm so sorry Mick .
A True Hibs legend .
RIP Jimmy .
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/a-tribute-to-jimmy

esdxc37
15-11-2022, 09:52 AM
Rest in peace Jimmy

15-11-2022, 09:55 AM
A very nice bit of work by the Hibs media guys here.

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1592464928949997568?s=20&t=cfVh4WfvW423BWTCylpWfw

leith lynx
15-11-2022, 10:00 AM

The handle 'Football Legend' was created for people like Jimmy who's lives were determined by actions and deeds in the name of their football club. Hibs fans were blessed the day Jimmy signed for Hibernian FC.

A greater ambassador there will never be.

To the angels high above, and RIP Jimmy.

Brilliant post.

Ardenttwo
15-11-2022, 10:00 AM

RIP James

So sad news Mick A true legend and a very nice man Never to be forgotten Condolences to yourself and family

Groathillgrump
15-11-2022, 10:09 AM
Terrible news and sorry for your loss Mick.

I'm so glad to have been able to watch Jimmy play in his prime. A true Hibs legend.

RIP Jimmy.

15-11-2022, 10:09 AM
It was an absolute privilege to watch Jimmy O'Rourke play and excel in one of Hibernian's greatest sides.

Will always be a true Hibs legend.

A sad, sad day.

EL Green
15-11-2022, 10:12 AM
Very sad news. I was also privileged to have seen Jimmy play.

RIP Jimmy.

Just_Jimmy
15-11-2022, 10:13 AM
Sad news. Jimmy O'Rourke achieved every Hibs fans dream and then some.

What a legend.

Thoughts with the family Mick. Hopefully you can take some comfort from how loved he was.

Rest in peace.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

aljo7-0
15-11-2022, 10:15 AM
Very sad news. A great player and a great man.
Condolences to the family

RIP Bestie
15-11-2022, 10:18 AM
RIP Jimmy.
You lived the dream and brought so much joy to so many.

HiBremian
15-11-2022, 10:19 AM
Sad news. My favourite Hibs player of all time. Condolences to you and the family, Mick. if my memory serves me well, my mother worked in the same office as Jimmy's wife.

RIP Jimmy O'Rourke.

green.oracle
15-11-2022, 10:26 AM

RIP James

Very Sad news. Condolences to you and your family.

Our group of Hibees got to know Jimmy when he had the Corstorphine Inn. We would drink there most Saturday nights at that time. Not only was he a Hibs legend but an absolute gentleman and great company.

RIP Jimmy

15-11-2022, 10:31 AM
Such sad news, my dear late father in law took me along to Easter Road in 1970 and what I saw that day made me a hibbie for life, Jimmy and Alan Gordon, wonderful. R. I. P.

sarfoftheborder
15-11-2022, 10:35 AM
RIP Jimmy. One of the greats.

H18S NX
15-11-2022, 10:35 AM

RIP James

Everyone knows your name....So very sad to hear the news Mick,another legend gone,condolences to you and the family.

RIP Jimmy,everyone TRULY did know your name.

Sherlock Jones
15-11-2022, 10:37 AM
Cheerio Jimmy. Thanks for the memories.

ChilliEater
15-11-2022, 10:39 AM
Truly sorry for your loss Mick.

15-11-2022, 11:01 AM
Very sad news to wake up to. To this day one of my favourite ever Hibernian players.

son of haggart
15-11-2022, 11:01 AM
Sad news - one of the Hibs greats and although as a Hearts fan I rarely had fun watching him, I could appreciate what he brought to the game.A terrific player and strong personality on the pitch.

15-11-2022, 11:05 AM
Jimmy had sadly left Hibs before my first game in 1975, but even so his goal in the league cup final remains one of my all time Hibs moments, a thing of flowing grace and beauty and encapsulates everything I think of when folk talk about how they want to see this club play football.

RIP Jimmy, a true Hibs legend. Condolences to his family and friends.

hibsfan7
15-11-2022, 11:11 AM
Alan Gilzean was the first british player to score back to back hatricks in europe for dundee in 1862/1963 season

MKHIBEE
15-11-2022, 11:17 AM
Awful news, condolences to friends and family. Rest in peace Jimmy.

15-11-2022, 11:23 AM
RIP to a Hibs legend.

15-11-2022, 11:23 AM
A bit before my time but always a sad day when a Hibernian Great goes.

15-11-2022, 11:25 AM
Wednesday 21st August 1963 Hibs 3 Third Lanark 0. It was the first game of the new season and J O'Rourke was definitely the star of the show. He laid on the opener for the enigmatic John Baxter with a return pass and scored the second himself.

The following weekend's programme notes quote: "Then there was the second goal from 'Jack-in-the-Box' O'Rourke - another real beauty. The youngster timed Jim Scott's cross to perfection, and his header flashed past goalkeeper Mitchell. Jimmy rolled himself into a ball and bounced up and down until his teammates smothered him with congratulations."

My dad and I were sat in our usual spot at the bottom corner of the old south stand, looking right up the goalline (which I always maintained was slightly squint!) and I won't forget the famous celebration. Jimmy was still only sixteen if my maths is correct.

We simply do not have these characters in our game today. It's all changed. But some of us still have vivid memories of better times (in footballing terms) and Jimmy and his colleagues played a huge part in our childhoods.

15-11-2022, 11:27 AM
Alan Gilzean was the first british player to score back to back hatricks in europe for dundee in 1862/1963 season

Jimmy scored in consecutive games there was a two month gap between Gillie’s hat-tricks with games in between

A good performance nonetheless

Stuarty1875
15-11-2022, 11:35 AM
Sad news. RIP Jimmy.

Coach Jon
15-11-2022, 11:36 AM
A true Hibernian Legend.
RIP Jimmy.

Everyone knows his name.

Fanforlife
15-11-2022, 11:44 AM
Jimmy scored in consecutive games there was a two month gap between Gillie’s hat-tricks with games in between

A good performance nonethelessSure Gilzean was a Hibs fan anaw,read it somewhere ages ago,makes it a fabulous double if it is indeed the case.

vahibbie
15-11-2022, 11:49 AM
Terrible news, my sincere condolences Mick to you and the family.
Apart from his great goals one of my enduring memories of Jimmy is hanging out the window of the North British hotel swinging the league cup in 1972 while those below belted out HIS song.
Also used to see him at the old powderhall dog track, never gave me a winner, but gave us plenty on the pitch.
RIP Jimmy, well loved, well missed and well remembered.

alhibby
15-11-2022, 11:55 AM
RIP my Hero, so many happy memories of Jimmy, thoughts to all the Family

banchoryhibs
15-11-2022, 11:58 AM
Very sad news. I grew up watching the great team that he was a pivotal part of. A wonderful player and a true Hibernian legend.

My sincere condolences to all his family.

eezyrider
15-11-2022, 12:04 PM
RIP Jimmy. You were one of my heroes growing up.

EZ

15-11-2022, 12:06 PM
My thoughts go out to all Jimmy's family, Jimmy O'Rourke, the man who put the L in Legend.
Sad,sad news.
How I well remember his 2 free kicks in a game he scored the first time right in the top corner, ref made him take it again and hey it went right into the same top corner, so many great memories of his playing days. A great Hibs character, no many left.

15-11-2022, 12:11 PM
Condolences to you and your family, sad news indeed.
Remember a Jambo trying to wind him up about them qualifying for Europe and Jimmy said "Aye and they're getting sponsored by Bartholomews so they can find out where it is". Will be sadly missed.

h1bs4life
15-11-2022, 12:16 PM
Was one of the legends of the Hibs team I was brought up on.
RIP Jimmy O’Rourke one of our own.
Condolences to his family and friends

Hibees1973
15-11-2022, 12:18 PM
Devastating news.

My best wishes to his family.

I just remember seeing the Tornadoes as I was a wee boy and Jimmy was a key part of that side.

A very sad loss to everyone at Hibs.

May he rest in peace.

Trinity Hibee
15-11-2022, 12:27 PM
Some kind words over on kickback. Highly respected and enjoyed this one in particular:

“Caused me nothing but misery as a laddie Hearts fanatic growing up in the late 60s, early 70s. Was as many have said above a member of the best Hibs side in my lifetime.
Alex Edwards, Jimmy O'Rourke, Alan Gordon, Alex Cropley, and Arthur Duncan, could give anyone a game, and they did.
RIP Jimmy, a good footballer and an even better human being.“

HendoDelivered
15-11-2022, 12:31 PM
RIP to a true great.

15-11-2022, 12:34 PM
Way before my time but I think every Hibs fan, regardless of age, knows of Jimmy O'Rourke.

Sorry to hear this news and condolences to everyone who knew him.

15-11-2022, 12:36 PM
RIP Jimmy

Jimmy was a boyhood hero of mine

A local guy playing for his team with one of his pals

You could see how much he enjoyed it and how much it meant to him and that made me love him all the more

Another link to my childhood gone and as not that much older than me another reminder of my own mortality

Condolences to family

Imagine having a song about you that everyone knows your name

It’s one I will never forget

The Pointer
15-11-2022, 12:38 PM
It's seldom I get teary about the death of someone I never met, but Jimmy and Hibs were such a big part of my life in my teenage years.

Terribly sad news.

15-11-2022, 12:42 PM
Very sorry to hear this, and my sympathies to his family.

RIP.

roorky
15-11-2022, 12:43 PM
RIP Uncle Jimmy.

15-11-2022, 12:45 PM
RIP Jimmy. A Hibs legend. Condolences and much love to all his family.

Wish I could have seen him play.

Orourke73
15-11-2022, 12:49 PM

RIP James

So sorry for your loss Mick.
Everyone knows his name. My Hibernian hero

Dalkeith Boy
15-11-2022, 01:01 PM
Very sad news to hear. I was one of the lucky ones to have supported Hibs through Jimmy's tenure. What an incredible appetite he had for the game. I loved watching Jimmy, and the excitement rose the second he was on the ball as you were assured something special was going to happen. God bless you Jimmy, will never forget you.

15-11-2022, 01:04 PM
As someone who grew up watching the Tornadoes "everyone knew his name,"

A lovely man and a true Hibs "Legend"

RIP Jimmy and thanks for the memories.

15-11-2022, 01:31 PM
Sad news.

stu in nottingham
15-11-2022, 01:32 PM

RIP James

I'm deeply saddened to hear this news today. My sincere condolences to you and the family, Mick. Jimmy truly was one of our greatest men. Wonderful memories of watching him grace the turf at Easter Road. What a player he was.

God bless and keep him.

15-11-2022, 01:34 PM
Sad news, and I'd like to express my deepest sympathy to his family and friends, some of whom post on here.

15-11-2022, 02:04 PM
RIP Jimmy.

StevieT
15-11-2022, 02:10 PM
One of my all time favourite players. RIP

Stick
15-11-2022, 02:18 PM
So sad, Jimmy was part of the reason I became a hibby. My first game at any stadium, and I was hooked. Seeing Jimmy and the other tornadoes playing such wonderful football was an honour and a privilege.
Condolences to the family.

15-11-2022, 02:33 PM
My thoughts go out to all Jimmy's family, Jimmy O'Rourke, the man who put the L in Legend.
Sad,sad news.
How I well remember his 2 free kicks in a game he scored the first time right in the top corner, ref made him take it again and hey it went right into the same top corner, so many great memories of his playing days. A great Hibs character, no many left.

Even better, it was Jimmy's cousin Dennis Devlin who was in goals for Falkirk that day. Dennis was another great Hibs fan.

15-11-2022, 02:54 PM
Condolences to you and the family Mick. One of my favs during the Tornadoes days, and never got over his move to the Saintees. I remember the Hibs fans singing his name at Muirton, when we went up play following his ER departure.

RIP James.

Mcbizz1998
15-11-2022, 02:59 PM
Very sad news, well before my time but Jimmys name is well known by all Hibs supporters, of all ages which is testament to what a legend he is.

Sorry for your loss, Mick and all the best to you and your family.

Feed McGraw
15-11-2022, 03:12 PM
One of the greatest ever Hibs players and goalscorer of some of our most iconic goals. It was a great pleasure to see him play and as a Hibs supporter he lived the dream and then some. Condolences to all his family & friends. R.I.P. Jimmy, thanks for all you did for our beloved club.

Skol1972
15-11-2022, 03:41 PM
RIP Jimmy. Was a privilege to see you play. A true Hibs legend.

15-11-2022, 03:49 PM
Legend. RIP Jimmy. Condolences to his family.

15-11-2022, 03:53 PM
Never had the fortune to meet Jimmy, but the amount of praise he’s getting for being a great person off the field, is really a great tribute to him

cavalier
15-11-2022, 03:53 PM
Thank you for the tributes and personal memories/thoughts.
James loved music and in particular going to live gigs.
He travelled the UK to see his favourite band/singers.
On Sunday, our John sat with him playing old favourite songs,particularly the Everly Brothers,and of course a rendition of Turnbull's Tornadoes !
So remember him in song and recalling great games/goals ..and throw in a few jokes !

Went in to see him on Friday, was talking to John there.

My sympathies to you both Mick.

tbfhibs2
15-11-2022, 03:54 PM
RIP Jimmy, condolences to Mick and the rest of the family.

15-11-2022, 03:55 PM
RIP Jimmy.
Some lovely memories and comments on this thread.
Star of the Sporting Lisbon massacre.

15-11-2022, 04:06 PM
RIP Jimmy, you lived the dream.

Condolences to all Jimmy's family.

hibbie63
15-11-2022, 04:36 PM
A true hiibby who got to live out his dream playing for the team
he loved.
A true club legend thanks for the memories. RIP :flag:

15-11-2022, 05:28 PM
Went in to see him on Friday, was talking to John there.

My sympathies to you both Mick.

That was nice, Paul
The tributes from our own and fans of other clubs is tremendous.
Everyone.young and old,certainly knew his name.
God Bless

Greenwich_Hibby
15-11-2022, 05:38 PM
RIP Jimmy, boyhood hero and legend.

Condolences to all the family.

15-11-2022, 05:42 PM
Remember him sitting behind me at Ibrox in the 2nd leg of the league cup semi final in 1985. Crying his eyes out when we made the final. RIP Jimmy GGTTH.

15-11-2022, 06:00 PM
Absolute Hibees legend and no mistake. There's a cultural belief I heard of - can't remember where it comes from - that goes that noone truly dies until the day when noone left on this earth remembers or utters their name. That being the case, Jimmy and his fellow Tornadoes will likely outlive us all! Their memory goes marching on! 💚💚💚

15-11-2022, 06:10 PM
RIP Hibs legend.

One of the greats for ever more.

15-11-2022, 06:20 PM
Was lucky enough to see him as a player
Was lucky enough to see as a coach
Was lucky enough to to just know him
Him and and Stan Vincent a comedy double act

That was 40 years ago
Met him at Straiton about about 2 years ago
Remember me and my name which I hold close
RIP Jimmy

15-11-2022, 06:52 PM
RIP Jimmy
My childhood hero and reason for my avatar.
Condolences to Mick and family

15-11-2022, 06:55 PM
Absolute Hibees legend and no mistake. There's a cultural belief I heard of - can't remember where it comes from - that goes that noone truly dies until the day when noone left on this earth remembers or utters their name. That being the case, Jimmy and his fellow Tornadoes will likely outlive us all! Their memory goes marching on! 💚💚💚

I was too young to physically see Jimmy in real-time. But I watched the videos and listened to the stories my dad told me.

We are a lucky club to have this guy in our history books and in our hearts and minds.

15-11-2022, 08:47 PM
I had a rotten drinking experience when I was early twenties and my old man wasn't speaking to me by the morning.

Next time I saw him was that night and I was lying in bed, halfway through the Turnbull's Tornadoes DVD. Best thing Hibs have ever put out, and about the one thing that could have won me a bit of forgiveness. Sat and watched it together, mostly in silence first, then eventually filling me in on all the bits that were well before my time. Perfect.

RIP.

MGmick
15-11-2022, 09:18 PM
RIP Jimmy O'Rourke.

Thank you for the goals and memories.

I certainly "know your name".

CB Hibs 68
15-11-2022, 10:08 PM
RIP Jimmy.Made being a Hibby in the early seventies an utter joy.

15-11-2022, 10:51 PM
One of the best players ever to play for Hibs, and a gentleman too, he'll be sadly missed by so many people. God Bless Jimmy O'Rourke, RIP.

1 8 7 5
15-11-2022, 11:23 PM
Dreadful news. The Hibernian Family has lost a great.

16-11-2022, 06:27 AM
Jimmy and Alan Gordon were the best forward pairing that I have seen in my time watching Hibs.

Such a sad loss, condolences to his family and loved ones, RIP Jimmy.

I agree with you there

16-11-2022, 06:40 AM
Turnbulls Tornadoes came on this morning as I was getting the kids breakfast. Glad I served up a couple of bowls of chopped onions.

RIP Jim

The dalmeny
16-11-2022, 06:45 AM
Sad news indeed

adam middlemass
16-11-2022, 07:14 AM
Got to know Jimmy quite well when he ran the Supporters Club on Sunnyside. Was a lovely guy and a great Hibs man who was great company. Will be sadly missed. Condolences to you Mick and all the family.

16-11-2022, 08:15 AM
Jimmy was an early hero of mine and I was a bit star struck the first time I met him and continued to be star struck every meeting thereafter. He was a fabulous footballer and a lovely man with a fabulous sense of humour and a deep rooted love for Hibs.

Heartfelt condolences to all of the O’Rourke family. RIP Jimmy.

16-11-2022, 08:43 AM

RIP James

Sorry to read this sad News Mick - no time is ever long enough.
May his star continue to shine brightly in the hearts and minds of those whose lives he touched.

take care.
vP

16-11-2022, 12:13 PM
Such sad news.
Commiserations to all Jimmy’s family.
So loved by all at ER, RIP

Sheep_Nae_Mair
16-11-2022, 01:31 PM
There is an Early Day Motion in the UK Parliament in memory of Jimmy -> https://edm.parliament.uk/early-day-motion/60298/passing-of-jimmy-orourke

16-11-2022, 01:45 PM
Its taken me a couple of days to post on this thread as I just didn't have the right words, still don't. RIP Jimmy. Condolences to Mick and all the family

16-11-2022, 02:05 PM
There is an Early Day Motion in the UK Parliament in memory of Jimmy -> https://edm.parliament.uk/early-day-motion/60298/passing-of-jimmy-orourke

Well done Ian Blackford. I hope to see Ian Murray adding his name!

16-11-2022, 02:30 PM
RIP Jimmy , one of the best

BH Hibs
16-11-2022, 02:37 PM
R.I.P. Jimmy and on a personal note sorry for your loss Mick.

SideBurns
16-11-2022, 04:07 PM
Great article & photie in The Times, (aye) mostly an interview with Pat Stanton about Jimmy and their fitba life together, starting at Holy Cross.

My late father was also a mate, schoolmate, and teammate of Jimmy in that Holy Cross team of some renown. Dad used to say it was a side full of talent, but Jimmy was head & shoulders above everyone.

Condolences to Mick and the O'Rourke family from the Burns family (on behalf of ma auld man too).

Hibees1973
16-11-2022, 04:14 PM
The footage of Jimmy on the Hibs website and now on the BBC Sport pages has been brilliantly put together.

I've watched it loads of times since yesterday and has had me in bits.

Recommend everyone to watch it who haven't already.

16-11-2022, 04:55 PM
I would be pleased if anyone here, who possibly has an account on Jamboskickback, to pass on our thanks to some wonderful tributes to James on that Hearts forum.

Also to George Robertson for his tribute to Jimmy i will paste below

A poem by George Robertson, eldest brother of John.

The Sun cried today o'er Leith,
was very drab and full of grief,
because a man was going to meet the Chief,
and sign St Peter's book.

He would be there at the gate,
don't think too long he would wait,
St Pete would say, " welcome mate ",
you'll be Jimmy O'Rourke ".

And wee Jimmy he'd just say, "aye ",
With that wee glint in his eye,
"welcome mate", with a holy hand,
Peter shall say, "to this Green land".

Wee Jimmy shall wander, look around,
hear a very special sound,
a very, very, well known song,
and be at home before too long.

Jimmy, Jimmy, O'Rourke, everyone knows his name,
Jimmy, Jimmy O'Rourke, a genius of the game,
here you are up here in heaven,
where the angels remember the number seven.
.................................................. ........

Thank you! Thank you!!

Mick GGTTH

16-11-2022, 04:59 PM
I would be pleased if anyone here, who possibly has an account on Jamboskickback, to pass on our thanks to some wonderful tributes to James on that Hearts forum.

Thank you! Thank you!!

Mick GGTTH

That is stunningly moving, Mick. That wee glint in Jimmy’s eye was indicative of the man.

16-11-2022, 05:08 PM
That is stunningly moving, Mick. That wee glint in Jimmy’s eye was indicative of the man.

Jonny, Yes, it moved me to tears.

16-11-2022, 05:10 PM

Thank you! Thank you!!

Mick GGTTH

Beautiful that. Lump in the throat. Perfect tribute [emoji119]

16-11-2022, 05:10 PM

Thank you! Thank you!!

Mick GGTTH

What a wonderful tribute to your brother Mick. We don't know each other but I absolutely do understand the pain of losing a sibling. Very best wishes to you in what is undoubtedly a tough time for you.

16-11-2022, 06:10 PM
Some kind words over on kickback. Highly respected and enjoyed this one in particular:

“Caused me nothing but misery as a laddie Hearts fanatic growing up in the late 60s, early 70s. Was as many have said above a member of the best Hibs side in my lifetime.
Alex Edwards, Jimmy O'Rourke, Alan Gordon, Alex Cropley, and Arthur Duncan, could give anyone a game, and they did.
RIP Jimmy, a good footballer and an even better human being.“

a very respectful and classy thread over there, some really great posts about Jimmy

16-11-2022, 07:18 PM

a very respectful and classy thread over there, some really great posts about Jimmy

That's good to hear. I remember when Jimmy was working in the bookies near Tiny and Hearts were playing The Rangers. Some follow followers from the West recognised Jimmy and were planning on causing him some damage. Next thing a phalanx of home supporters arrived and drove the dastardly Huns out. The Rangers' hordes were a tad bemused by this behaviour until one of the Jambos said, 'he might be a Hibs ba***rd but he's our Hibs ba***rd!
Jimmy got on with everyone and everyone knows his name.

17-11-2022, 09:02 AM
That's good to hear. I remember when Jimmy was working in the bookies near Tiny and Hearts were playing The Rangers. Some follow followers from the West recognised Jimmy and were planning on causing him some damage. Next thing a phalanx of home supporters arrived and drove the dastardly Huns out. The Rangers' hordes were a tad bemused by this behaviour until one of the Jambos said, 'he might be a Hibs ba***rd but he's our Hibs ba***rd!
Jimmy got on with everyone and everyone knows his name.
Tangent, but are there any Jambo ba***rds who would get the same level of respect from Hibbies? Robbo?

Bobo
17-11-2022, 09:23 AM
Tangent, but are there any Jambo ba***rds who would get the same level of respect from Hibbies? Robbo?

I always liked Donald Ford.

Alan Anderson and Jim Cruickshank were decent Jambos as well.

17-11-2022, 09:55 AM

I agree re the 3 above. Times have changed but in the 40s, 50s and early 60s the Hibs and Hearts players socialised together regularly. They played golf, cricket and bowls together and of course the Edinburgh Select game was always the season opener. Dave Mackay and Tommy Preston were great friends. From Jimmy's era Donald Park, Chris Shevlane, Roy Barry and Jim Brown represented both clubs and Jim Jefferies remains a good friend to many Hibs players from the 70s. Of course in those days most of the players lived locally and often supported one of the Edinburgh teams. The demographics are very different now and make it hard to have such an affinity. I'd like to think however that we would be equally respectful to a Hearts legend.

17-11-2022, 11:14 AM
I agree re the 3 above. Times have changed but in the 40s, 50s and early 60s the Hibs and Hearts players socialised together regularly. They played golf, cricket and bowls together and of course the Edinburgh Select game was always the season opener. Dave Mackay and Tommy Preston were great friends. From Jimmy's era Donald Park, Chris Shevlane, Roy Barry and Jim Brown represented both clubs and Jim Jefferies remains a good friend to many Hibs players from the 70s. Of course in those days most of the players lived locally and often supported one of the Edinburgh teams. The demographics are very different now and make it hard to have such an affinity. I'd like to think however that we would be equally respectful to a Hearts legend.

Well said. 👍

17-11-2022, 11:16 AM
The recent Alan Anderson thread showed we are. Let's keep it that way.

CyberSauzee
17-11-2022, 02:58 PM

Agreed, well worth a look

https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/198509-jimmy-orourke-dies-aged-76/

Roxyhibee
17-11-2022, 03:06 PM

Agree, especially players from that era that were mentioned before. Many families or work colleagues supporting either team used to all go to the derbies together.! Unbelievable when you think how it is now, but there are plenty other factors in modern times which have irretrievably changed that.

The Pointer
17-11-2022, 10:57 PM

Thank you! Thank you!!

Mick GGTTH

A wonderful tribute Mick. I was just a teenager from Buckstone who stood on the main terrace up from the bottom penalty box who just loved watching Jimmy play. He was the guy you always expected to score and I saw him do that many times, particularly on 1/1/73.

17-11-2022, 11:39 PM

I've got only good memories of the Hearts players from the 60s. They had some great characters too. Roald Jensen anyone?
Everything is different now and the internet is largely to blame.
It polarised people and not just in football either.

18-11-2022, 07:18 AM
I've got only good memories of the Hearts players from the 60s. They had some great characters too. Roald Jensen anyone?
Everything is different now and the internet is largely to blame.
It polarised people and not just in football either.

I think Mercer takes a share of the blame

happiehibbie
18-11-2022, 07:39 AM
What a beautiful tribute

Thank you! Thank you!!

Mick GGTTH

18-11-2022, 07:46 AM

Thank you! Thank you!!

Mick GGTTH

Moving stuff. 😢

18-11-2022, 12:24 PM
I once again say thank you on behalf of the family for the wonderful tributes to James.
Yesterday a St Johnstone employee contacted me to say that Jimmy will be remembered with great affection by the club and will be mentioned in their next home game programme.
A copy will be sent to me,which i though was a lovely touch from them.
So any Hibby's up Perthshire way who maybe can't make the Hibs game that day, pop along wae yer Hibs scarf on !
Motherwell also paid tribute on their website. I thanked them also.
Jimmy made a mark at both clubs and played in games their older fans still reminisce about.

I also had personal messages from Hearts fans.
Two in particular who knew Jimmy from childhood and have been STs at Tynecastle for many years.
Jimmy had load of pals who followed the Hearts and of course he ran a bookies office near the Tynecastle Arms (Campbell's for the older fans) for about 8 years.
And he was well known and liked in Hearts pubs, Tynie Arms,The Roseburn and Dickens Bar.
Although a good few Hibbies use Dickens.

The thread in remembrance of Jimmy on JKB tells you all how well he was regarded by the older generation of fans of Hearts.
Jimmy, like most of us,was not a fan of some previous Hearts owners.They certainly do not deserve a mention here.
Lets please continue here with the memories/stories about Jimmy.:greengrin
This thread has made me both happy and sad.

From Aberdeen to Dumfries.....
Everyone knew his name !

Thank You !Thank You!

If George Robertson is reading this thread
George ,no words can really express how i feel,and still do,when i read back your wonderful tribute to my big brother.
Thank you from my heart for something so beautiful.
Mick

18-11-2022, 12:27 PM

Thank you! Thank you!!
r
Mick GGTTH

That is absolutely brilliant, well done.

18-11-2022, 01:23 PM
I once again say thank you on behalf of the family for the wonderful tributes to James.
Yesterday a St Johnstone employee contacted me to say that Jimmy will be remembered with great affection by the club and will be mentioned in their next home game programme.
So any Hibby's up Perthshire way who maybe can't make the Hibs game that day, pop along wae yer Hibs scarf on !
Jimmy made a mark at both clubs and played in games their older fans still reminisce about.

Two in particular who knew Jimmy from childhood and have been STs at Tynecastle for many years.
Jimmy had load of pals who followed the Hearts and of course he ran a bookies office near the Tynecastle Arms (Campbell's for the older fans) for about 8 years.
And he was well known and liked in Hearts pubs, Tynie Arms,The Roseburn and Dickens Bar.

The thread in remembrance of Jimmy on JKB tells you all how well he was regarded by the older generation of fans of Hearts.
Jimmy, like most of us,was not a fan of some previous Hearts owners.They certainly do not deserve a mention here.
Lets just continue here with the memories/stories about Jimmy.:greengrin

Everyone knew his name !

Thank You !Thank You!

George ,no words can really express who i feel,and still do,when i read back your wonderful tribute to my big brother.
Mick

Michael, just to add to this. When I first moved South and came back to visit Edinburgh I would usually meet Jimmy for a few quiet pints, just the two of us to catch up. We would invariably go to The Diggers, probably the best known Hearts Pub in Edinburgh. Bear in mind Jimmy had not long hung up his boots and 1/1/73 was still visible in the rear view window! We never experienced a moments difficulty, instead Jimmy was greeted respectfully and with warmth by the clientele. Jimmy's personality crossed all boundaries and of course, everyone knows his name!

18-11-2022, 01:46 PM
Michael, just to add to this. When I first moved South and came back to visit Edinburgh I would usually meet Jimmy for a few quiet pints, just the two of us to catch up. We would invariably go to The Diggers, probably the best known Hearts Pub in Edinburgh. Bear in mind Jimmy had not long hung up his boots and 1/1/73 was still visible in the rear view window! We never experienced a moments difficulty, instead Jimmy was greeted respectfully and with warmth by the clientele. Jimmy's personality crossed all boundaries and of course, everyone knows his name!

He did indeed !
His right hook could be as explosive as his right foot walloping a free kick.
Or maybe they didnae fancy a visit fae brother Billy :greengrin
Everyone knew his name, anaw !!
No, joking apart,you are correct ,he was genuine wae all he met.(mostly!)

It may well have been in The Diggers ,many years after his fitba days,when a Hearts fan at the bar thought he recognised Jimmy fae somewhere and said....
"Ah ken your face, dinnae tell me, al get it the now "!
"Goat it,he said, did you no "use to be" Jim O'Rourke that played wae the Hibs ? !"

Roars of laughter at the bar !

Fanforlife
18-11-2022, 03:47 PM

Everyone knew his name !

Thank You !Thank You!

George ,no words can really express who i feel,and still do,when i read back your wonderful tribute to my big brother.
MickGeorge, s mrs is just out of hospital Mick i will pass your message on to him though as i dont think he is on .net.

Fanforlife
18-11-2022, 04:13 PM

Everyone knew his name !

Thank You !Thank You!

MickJust been in touch with George m8,said to say he is delighted you and yours welcomed his words and thoughts, wishes he hadn't had to pen them though,as we all do.All the best GGTTH

18-11-2022, 04:17 PM
George, s mrs is just out of hospital Mick i will pass your message on to him though as i dont think he is on .net.

Hope she gets well soon.
Send them both my regards and thoughts/thanks for the outstanding poetic tribute to "wee Jimmy"

Fanforlife
18-11-2022, 04:24 PM
Hope she gets well soon.
Send them both my regards and thoughts/thanks for the outstanding poetic tribute to "wee Jimmy"
I already have done Mick,his mrs not long out and very tired so they will be taking it easy for tonight ,know for a fact George was a huge fan of Jimmy,s,he will find comfort in your kind words as well m8.

18-11-2022, 04:35 PM
I already have done Mick,his mrs not long out and very tired so they will be taking it easy for tonight ,know for a fact George was a huge fan of Jimmy,s,he will find comfort in your kind words as well m8.

A finer poetic tribute could not have been penned for a Prince or a Pope

i will bookmark and read it now and again when i think of James getting another hat trick with St Peters Wanderers FC :greengrin

Also regards to his brother John,who of course held Jimmy in high regard as a player, coach and a pal.

18-11-2022, 08:30 PM
George, s mrs is just out of hospital Mick i will pass your message on to him though as i dont think he is on .net.

Good luck to her.

Fanforlife
18-11-2022, 09:17 PM
A finer poetic tribute could not have been penned for a Prince or a Pope

i will bookmark and read it now and again when i think of James getting another hat trick with St Peters Wanderers FC :greengrin

Also regards to his brother John,who of course held Jimmy in high regard as a player, coach and a pal.💚💚👍👍

Fanforlife
18-11-2022, 09:18 PM
Good luck to her.

👍👍

deludedfool
21-11-2022, 04:02 AM
I have been a visitor for many years but have never really felt the need to post .......... however the passing of Jimmy has brought back a memory i would like to share.

I was ten years old and it was the week before my birthday standing outside Thompsons sports shop on Corstorphine Road with my mother , i had the day of school but can't remember why. i was hinting to my mum that a pair of adidas Santiago boots ( those of you that are of my age will know the boots i mean ) would be an ideal birthday present , when who should come walking towards us but the great man himself Jimmy O'Rourke.

My mum knew Jimmy as i think she worked with Jimmys mum/ mother in law at RS McColl's in Carrick Knowe .

Jimmy spoke to my mum then said to me why aren't you at school ? to which i replied why aren't you at training ? Jimmy with that familiar glint in his eye laughed and patted me on the head.

As i get older i sometimes forget things, however 51 years later that moment is still crystal clear.

One week later i got the boots , but even better i got an official Hibernian autograph book with the Tornadoes and everyone else at Easter roads autograph in it courtesy of Jimmy O'Rourke , believe me as a ten year old Hibs daft Laddie life doesn't get much better than that !

Condolences to the O'Rourke family

Jimmy ,Jimmy O'Rourke everyone knows his name

21-11-2022, 05:58 AM
I have been a visitor for many years but have never really felt the need to post .......... however the passing of Jimmy has brought back a memory i would like to share.

I was ten years old and it was the week before my birthday standing outside Thompsons sports shop on Corstorphine Road with my mother , i had the day of school but can't remember why. i was hinting to my mum that a pair of adidas Santiago boots ( those of you that are of my age will know the boots i mean ) would be an ideal birthday present , when who should come walking towards us but the great man himself Jimmy O'Rourke.

My mum knew Jimmy as i think she worked with Jimmys mum/ mother in law at RS McColl's in Carrick Knowe .

Jimmy spoke to my mum then said to me why aren't you at school ? to which i replied why aren't you at training ? Jimmy with that familiar glint in his eye laughed and patted me on the head.

As i get older i sometimes forget things, however 51 years later that moment is still crystal clear.

One week later i got the boots , but even better i got an official Hibernian autograph book with the Tornadoes and everyone else at Easter roads autograph in it courtesy of Jimmy O'Rourke , believe me as a ten year old Hibs daft Laddie life doesn't get much better than that !

Nice story, thanks for sharing

21-11-2022, 09:47 AM

What a lovely memory to have after all these years.
I mind one time being in a pub with James and a guy ,a bit worse for the drink, asked for Jimmy's autograph on a beer mat and did Jimmy have a pen.
Your experience made me think, and i once said to him,that even if your having a bad day, there are fans that adore you so give them a wee bit of your time,even the bevvied ones !

"why arent you at training!? cheeky ! :faf:

Funny story on training ,or maybe not so funny for Jimmy.
This passage from a Scotsman interview Jimmy did about 5 year ago

Turnbull took over in Leith in 1971,although O’Rourke didn’t make the most favourable first impression.
“I was late back from holiday and missed the start of pre-season training.
The previous manager,Dave Ewing, had okayed this but, as Eddie put it, effing Dave wasn’t effing in charge anymore.:eek:
I was put on double sessions for two months and I was worried Eddie was going to be like Willie MacFarlane, who I don’t think ever started me for Hibs.”